Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Risk management in cataract surgery

Originally published September 2012
P1203-16-E

Cataract surgery is a common and safe surgical operation in Canada. This article reviews the medico-legal issues related to the procedure as experienced by CMPA member ophthalmologists. It focuses on issues identified in the pre-operative, intra-operative, and post-operative periods of cataract surgery.

The CMPA conducted a review of medico-legal cases involving ophthalmologists between 2006 and 2011. A total of 381 cases specific to non-cosmetic ophthalmology were reviewed, of which 281 cases were closed. In 65% of cases, the care provided was supported by peer experts and the outcome for the physician was favourable. The main reasons patients initiated a legal action or complaint were allegations of inadequate assessment and lack of informed consent. Of these 381 cases, cataract surgery was the most frequent reason patients sought treatment (37%). The extracapsular phacoemulsification technique was used in 89% of these cases.

Pre-operative issues

 

The main pre-operative medico-legal issues were patient assessment and informed consent.

Patient assessment

Peer experts retained to review the care in this series of cases were of the opinion that pre-operative care should have included the following:

  • a comprehensive medical and ophthalmic history including:
    • medications and allergies
    • pre-existing medical conditions (e.g. diabetes, hypertension)
    • ophthalmic conditions (e.g. history of a blocked tear duct)
  • an adequate patient assessment including:
    • visual acuity assessment
    • a careful and complete ocular examination (e.g. to identify other ocular conditions including retinal problems)
    • appropriate examinations such as intraocular pressures (IOP)
    • determination of the correct intraocular lens (IOL)
    • evaluation of patient and surgeon factors that might influence the decision to use a particular anaesthetic technique
  • detailed, clear, and legible documentation of:
    • the medical and ophthalmic history
    • the patient's assessment
    • consultations or referrals in the medical record

Informed consent

Based on Canadian legal judgments, the following suggestions may assist ophthalmologists. 

The physician should disclose to the patient the nature of the proposed cataract surgery, any material risks, and any special risks.1 Even if a risk is a mere possibility that ordinarily might not be disclosed, if it carries serious consequences, for example blindness, it must be regarded as a material risk and requires disclosure.

Physicians should be alert to a patient's specific risks related to the proposed treatment and should discuss these with the patient. A patient's special circumstances might require disclosure of potential, although uncommon, hazards of the treatment when ordinarily these might not be seen as material (e.g. the risk associated with operating on a functionally monocular patient).

Although consent discussions tailored to the patient's particular circumstances are most important and should not be replaced, these can be supplemented by print materials. The patient should have the opportunity to further discuss the therapeutic choices and risks.

Where a part or all of the treatment is to be delegated (e.g. to a resident or anaesthesiologist), patients have a right to know who will be involved in their care.

Peer experts were of the opinion that informed consent should have included:

  • information about the different anaesthetic techniques available and associated risks
  • the opportunity for the patient to have questions answered by the ophthalmologist, rather than routinely answered by staff

Patients may have unrealistic expectations related to their visual acuity following cataract surgery. For example, to minimize misunderstandings it is helpful prior to surgery to discuss the possibility of requiring corrective lenses after surgery.

The experts also noted that the consent discussion should have been appropriately documented.

 

Intra-operative issues


The most frequent intra-operative issues were related to capsular tear, selection of the wrong IOL power, and injury from retrobulbar injection. Although peer experts in the analyzed cases considered intra-operative capsular tear and retrobulbar injection injury inherent risks of cataract surgery, they were critical of the items described below.

Intra-operative capsular tear with or without lens fragment retention and vitreous loss

  • not considering the patient's capacity to cooperate during surgery  
  • failure to detect the presence of vitreous body in the operative wound or to recognize the retained lens fragments during surgery
  • failure to perform an anterior vitrectomy
  • scant operative notes not reflective of the surgical events (e.g. no mention of a capsular tear or retention of lens fragments)
  • illegible or altered operative notes

Selection of the wrong intraocular lens power

  • choosing the wrong lens power because of an altered OR list that resulted from inadequate annotations
  • failure to verify that the correct IOL lens was selected for the correct patient and the correct eye prior to the start of surgery

Injury from retrobulbar or peribulbar injection

There is a range of anaesthesia options for cataract surgery (e.g. topical, general, retrobulbar, and peribulbar), with topical anaesthesia currently being the most popular technique. However, the choice of anaesthesia depends on both patient and surgeon factors. Although injury from retrobulbar anaesthesia may occur, experts commented that this choice of anaesthesia is still appropriate in specific circumstances.

 

Post-operative issues


In addition to retained fragments following a capsular tear, other post-operative complications included retinal detachment, infection (e.g. endophthalmitis, Toxic Anterior Segment Syndrome [TASS]), and corneal edema. Physicians have an obligation to properly inform patients of complications in the post-operative or post-discharge period, most specifically about clinical signs and symptoms that may indicate the need to seek immediate assessment.

Ophthalmologists also have a duty to provide or arrange adequate follow-up care for patients after cataract surgery. Care may be transferred to another healthcare professional such as an optometrist. It is the ophthalmologist's duty to be satisfied that the follow-up care can be adequately provided by an optometrist or if an ophthalmologist should provide the care. In some regions, ophthalmologists are more likely to work with family physicians or other healthcare professionals, and the same principles apply. Effective communication is essential. The individual providing the follow-up care should be made to feel welcome to call the operating surgeon if concerns arise.

Peer experts in the cases analyzed identified the following themes related to post-operative care:

  • unclear advice to patients of any changes to their treatment plan (e.g. presence of bandage contact lens)
  • the lack of reasonable post-operative discharge instructions
  • the failure to promptly assess a patient who develops sudden or progressing visual symptoms (e.g. post-surgical loss of vision)

The peer experts were also of the opinion that the documentation in the medical record should have been more consistent and detailed (e.g. relevant findings at follow-up visits).

They further commented that an office policy for staff to follow when communicating with a patient or physician about a patient's concerns would be helpful. The policy should include the requirement to document the communication.

Peer experts in the cases analyzed identified the following themes:

  • inadequate follow-up care of the patient by not performing thorough eye examinations
  • less than timely referral to a retinal specialist when fragments were found post-operatively or if a retinal detachment occurred
  • inadequate communication when transferring care to optometrists or other health professionals

Case example

This case illustrates the importance of documenting the consent discussion and providing adequate follow-up care after cataract surgery.

A 73-year-old diabetic patient with glaucoma and bilateral cataracts underwent cataract extraction of the left eye. During phacoemulsification, the ophthalmologist realized the posterior capsule had ruptured and an anterior vitrectomy was performed. An IOL implant was attempted but abandoned. Peripheral iridectomy was performed and the wound was sutured.

The next day, the patient's left eye intraocular pressure (IOP) was 16 mmHg and he could count fingers when his vision was tested.

The ophthalmologist noted inflammation and prescribed topical anti-inflammatory, antibiotic, and dilator drops.

The patient was seen 1 week later and a nuclear fragment was identified in the anterior chamber. The patient's IOP, vision, and inflammation remained unchanged, and the treatment for the inflammation was continued. Two weeks later, the patient underwent phacoemulsification of the retained lens fragment in the anterior chamber. One week later, the patient complained of absence of light perception in the left eye. The patient was referred to a retinal specialist 7 days later who confirmed a total retinal detachment. The patient subsequently developed phthisis bulbi (atrophy) and never recovered vision in his left eye. 

Peer experts in this case agreed with the ophthalmologist's decision to operate on a well documented, progressive cataract. However, they were critical of the following aspects of the ophthalmologist's work:

  • inadequate documentation, including the consent discussion, in the medical record
  • failure to perform a thorough examination of the vitreous following intra-operative posterior capsule rupture
  • inadequate post-operative follow-up care. The ophthalmologist did not perform an examination of the retina or ocular ultrasound and did not look beyond the absence of a lens to determine the reasons for the patient's visual loss. He also failed to inspect the vitreous during the second surgery.

Experts agreed that a timely referral to a retinal specialist before the second operation would have been prudent. Without expert support, a settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the ophthalmologist.

Identified risks

Based on the experts' opinions for the cases analyzed, the following risk management considerations are suggested.

Pre-operative

  • A comprehensive pre-operative assessment should include a complete medical and ophthalmic history as well as a comprehensive eye examination.
  • Care should be exercised to determine the correct IOL.
  • Significant risks, complications, and anticipated outcomes associated with the proposed surgery and available alternatives should be part of the consent discussion. The patient should also be given the opportunity to further discuss the therapeutic choices and risks.
  • Complete, timely, and legible documentation, which should include the patient's medical and ocular history, assessment, and consent discussion, may be a physician's best defence if the care is called into question.

Intra-operative

  • Considering the patient's capacity to cooperate during cataract surgery may help in determining the optimal anaesthesia technique.
  • Recognizing and managing intra-operative capsular tears promptly may reduce associated complications and prevent the need for subsequent procedures.
  • Operative notes should be detailed, legible, and reflect any surgical events.
  • Modifications to the operative notes, or any medical records, must be made carefully and accurately according to applicable regulations and guidelines, such as policies published by medical regulatory authorities (Colleges).

Post-operative

  • The patient should be made aware of any need for follow-up, who will be providing the follow-up, and how the arrangements will be made.
  • The patient and family should be informed about how to recognize the symptoms and signs that would alert them to seek immediate treatment. The advice should be tailored to the patient's specific clinical situation.
  • The discussion and advice should be documented in the medical record.
  • A patient who develops sudden or progressing visual symptoms should be promptly assessed.

References

  1. Canadian courts generally consider material risks as being those a reasonable person, in the same circumstances, would want to know before consenting to an investigation or treatment. This would include complications that occur commonly, and also those that occur rarely but have significant consequences. A court may consider the patient's physical or psychological makeup will make even an uncommon risk special or more important for that patient.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Gestion des risques lors du traitement chirurgical des cataractes

Publié initialement en septembre 2012
P1203-16-F

Le traitement chirurgical des cataractes est une intervention courante et sécuritaire au Canada. Cet article passe en revue les problèmes médico-légaux vécus par les ophtalmologistes membres de l'ACPM. L'article fait aussi le point sur les problèmes survenus en période préopératoire, peropératoire et postopératoire du traitement chirurgical des cataractes.

L'ACPM a analysé ses dossiers médico-légaux pour la période portant entre 2006 et 2011 et mettant en cause des ophtalmologistes. Au total, 381 dossiers d'ophtalmologie non esthétique ont été analysés, dont 281 sont conclus. Dans 65 % de ces dossiers, les soins prodigués ont reçu l'appui des experts et le résultat a été favorable pour le médecin. Des allégations d'évaluation inadéquate et l'absence d'un consentement éclairé étaient les principaux instigateurs d'une action en justice. Dans ces 381 dossiers, le traitement chirurgical des cataractes était la raison la plus fréquente pour laquelle les patients cherchaient un traitement (37 %). La phacoémulsification capsulaire a été utilisée dans 89 % de ces cas.

Problèmes en période préopératoire

L'évaluation des patients et le consentement éclairé constituaient les problèmes les plus fréquents en période préopératoire.

Évaluation du patient

Les experts ayant analysé les soins dans ce type de dossier étaient d'avis que les soins préopératoires aurait dû comprendre les éléments suivants :

  • des antécédents médicaux et ophtalmiques incluant :
    • les médicaments et les allergies
    • une maladie concomitante (p. ex., diabète, hypertension)
    • une maladie ophtalmique (p. ex., antécédents d'obstruction du canal lacrymal)
  • une évaluation adéquate du patient incluant :
    • l'évaluation de l'acuité visuelle
    • l'examen oculaire minutieux et complet (p. ex., pour déterminer la présence d'autres maladies intraoculaires tels les problèmes rétiniens)
    • les examens appropriés tels que la pression intraoculaire (PIO)
    • le choix d'une lentille intraoculaire (LIO) adéquate
    • l'évaluation du patient et les facteurs qui pourraient influencer la décision du chirurgien d'utiliser une technique anesthésique particulière
  • une documentation détaillée, claire et lisible :
    • des antécédents médicaux et ophtalmiques
    • de l'évaluation du patient
    • des consultations ou des demandes de consultation dans le dossier médical.

Consentement éclairé

Inspirées de jugements rendus par des tribunaux canadiens, les suggestions ci-dessous pourraient aider les ophtalmologistes.

Le médecin doit divulguer au patient la nature de l'intervention chirurgicale proposée pour les cataractes, les risques importants et les risques propres au patient.1 Même si le risque est infime et n'est habituellement pas divulgué, il doit être considéré en tant que risque important et être divulgué si des conséquences graves risquent de survenir, comme la cécité.

Les médecins doivent déterminer les risques propres au patient en fonction du traitement proposé et en parler avec leurs patients. Des circonstances particulières chez un patient pourraient exiger la divulgation des dangers éventuels du traitement, même s'ils sont rares, alors qu'habituellement, cette situation ne serait pas jugée aussi importante (p. ex., le risque associé à une intervention chirurgicale sur un patient ayant une perte de vision fonctionnelle monoculaire).

Bien que des discussions entourant le consentement axées sur les circonstances particulières du patient soient très importantes et ne doivent pas être remplacées, elles peuvent être complétées par des documents papier. Le patient devrait avoir l'occasion de discuter en détails des modalités de traitement et des risques.

Lorsqu'une partie ou la totalité des traitements doit être déléguée (p. ex., à un résident ou à un anesthésiologiste), les patients ont le droit de savoir qui participera à leurs soins.

Quant à la discussion entourant le consentement éclairé, les experts étaient d'avis qu'elle aurait dû :

  • inclure des renseignements concernant les diverses formes d'anesthésie accessibles ainsi que leurs risques
  • offrir une occasion pour le patient de poser des questions à l'ophtalmologiste plutôt que de laisser le personnel y répondre.

Les patients ont parfois des attentes irréalistes quant à leur acuité visuelle à la suite du traitement chirurgical des cataractes. Pour minimiser les malentendus, entre autres, il est utile, avant l'intervention, de parler de la possibilité de devoir porter des verres correcteurs après l'intervention.

Les experts ont également soulevé que la discussion entourant le consentement aurait dû être documentée adéquatement.

 

Problèmes en période peropératoire

Les problèmes peropératoires les plus fréquents étaient associés à la rupture capsulaire, au choix d'une LIO de mauvaise puissance et aux lésions suivant une injection rétrobulbaire. Bien que dans les dossiers analysés, les experts aient classé la rupture capsulaire peropératoire et les lésions à la suite de l'injection rétrobulbaire parmi les risques inhérents au traitement chirurgical des cataractes, ils ont, par contre, formulé des critiques au sujet des éléments suivants :

Rupture capsulaire peropératoire avec ou sans fragments du cristallin et pénétration de l'espace vitré

  • le fait de ne pas considérer la capacité du patient de coopérer pendant l'intervention
  • le défaut de déceler la présence du corps vitré dans la plaie opératoire ou de déceler la présence de fragments du cristallin pendant l'intervention
  • le défaut d'effectuer une vitrectomie antérieure
  • un protocole opératoire incomplet qui ne reflète pas les événements survenus pendant l'intervention (p. ex., aucune mention de la rupture capsulaire ou de la présence de fragments du cristallin)
  • un protocole opératoire illisible ou modifié.

Choix d'une lentille intraoculaire de mauvaise puissance

  • le choix d'une LIO de mauvaise puissance en raison d'une modification de la liste opératoire, résultant en des annotations erronées
  • le défaut de vérifier le choix de la bonne LIO pour le bon patient et le bon œil avant de commencer l'intervention.

Lésion à la suite d'une injection rétrobulbaire ou péribulbaire

Il existe diverses modalités d'anesthésie pour le traitement chirurgical des cataractes (p. ex., topique, générale, rétrobulbaire ou péribulbaire), mais l'anesthésie topique est la technique la plus courante à l'heure actuelle. Le choix d'une modalité d'anesthésie se fait autant en fonction de facteurs liés au patient qu'au chirurgien. Bien que des lésions puissent survenir lors d'une anesthésie rétrobulbaire, les experts ont indiqué que cette modalité d'anesthésie est encore pertinente dans certaines circonstances.

 

Problèmes en période postopératoire

En plus de la présence de fragments à la suite d'une rupture capsulaire, le décollement de rétine, les infections (p. ex., l'endophtalmie et le syndrome de toxicité du segment antérieur) et l'œdème de la cornée font partie des autres complications postopératoires. Les médecins ont l'obligation d'informer adéquatement les patients sur les complications qui se présentent en période postopératoire ou à la suite du congé; en particulier, ils doivent expliquer les signes et les symptômes cliniques qui doivent être évalués immédiatement.

Les ophtalmologistes doivent aussi prodiguer ou planifier des soins de suivi adéquats à la suite du traitement chirurgical des cataractes. Certains soins peuvent être délégués à un autre professionnel de la santé, tel un optométriste. Il incombe alors à l'ophtalmologiste de déterminer si les soins de suivi peuvent être prodigués adéquatement par un optométriste ou si c'est un ophtalmologiste qui doit fournir les soins. Dans certaines régions, les ophtalmologistes travaillent selon toute probabilité en collaboration avec des omnipraticiens ou d'autres professionnels de la santé; les mêmes principes s'appliquent. Il est essentiel de communiquer efficacement. Il faut encourager le professionnel qui s'occupera des soins de suivi à communiquer avec le chirurgien si des problèmes surviennent.

En analysant les dossiers, les experts ont dégagé les thèmes suivants dans la période des soins postopératoires :

  • les conseils donnés aux patients ne précisaient pas les changements apportés à leur plan de traitement (p. ex., présence de pansement ou de lentille intraoculaire)
  • les instructions concernant les soins postopératoires reçues au moment du congé étaient insuffisantes
  • un patient présentant des symptômes visuels soudains ou progressifs (p. ex., perte d'acuité visuelle à la suite de l'intervention chirurgicale) n'était pas évalué promptement

Les experts étaient aussi d'avis que la documentation dans les dossiers médicaux aurait dû être plus uniforme et détaillée (p. ex., mentionner les observations pertinentes lors des visites de suivi).

Ces experts ont d'ailleurs proposé qu'il serait utile d'avoir une politique pour les membres du personnel lorsque ceux-ci communiquent avec un patient ou un médecin relativement à des problèmes avec un patient. Cette politique devrait stipuler qu'il est absolument nécessaire de documenter la communication.

Lors de leur analyse des dossiers, les experts ont dégagé les thèmes suivants :

  • des soins de suivi inadéquats lorsqu'aucun examen oculaire complet n'était effectué chez le patient
  • un délai moins qu'optimal avant de diriger un patient en consultation auprès d'un spécialiste de la rétine lorsque des fragments sont repérés en période postopératoire ou si un décollement de la rétine survient
  • une communication inadéquate lors du transfert des soins à un optométriste ou à un autre professionnel de la santé.

 

Exemple de cas

Ce cas illustre l'importance de documenter la discussion entourant le consentement et de prodiguer des soins de suivi appropriés après le traitement chirurgical des cataractes.

Un patient diabétique de 73 ans, souffrant de glaucome et de cataractes bilatérales, subit l'extraction d'une cataracte à l'œil gauche. Pendant la phacoémulsification, l'ophtalmologiste constate que la capsule postérieure s'est rupturée, et une vitrectomie antérieure est réalisée. Il tente d'insérer une lentille intraoculaire, mais doit abandonner cette intervention. Il procède donc à une iridectomie périphérique, et la plaie est suturée.

Le lendemain, la pression intraoculaire du patient est de 16 mm Hg, et ce dernier peut compter les doigts d'une main à son dernier examen de la vue.

L'ophtalmologiste remarque une inflammation et prescrit des anti-inflammatoires topiques, une antibiothérapie et des gouttes mydriatiques.

Le patient est revu une semaine plus tard et des fragments du noyau sont observés dans la chambre antérieure. La pression intraoculaire, l'acuité visuelle et l'inflammation demeurent inchangées, et le traitement anti-inflammatoire se poursuit. Deux semaines plus tard, le patient subit une phacoémulsification des fragments décelés dans la chambre antérieure. Une semaine plus tard, le patient dit qu'il ne peut pas percevoir la lumière avec l'œil gauche. Le patient est alors dirigé vers un spécialiste de la rétine sept jours plus tard, et ce dernier confirme un décollement total de la rétine. Par la suite, le patient présente une phtisie (atrophie) du globe et ne recouvre jamais la vision dans son œil gauche.

Les experts ont accordé leur appui à la décision de l'ophtalmologiste d'opérer une cataracte progressive et bien documentée. Cependant, ils ont critiqué les aspects suivants du travail de l'ophtalmologiste :

  • une documentation inadéquate dans le dossier médical, dont la discussion entourant le consentement
  • le défaut d'effectuer un examen méticuleux du corps vitré suivant la rupture capsulaire postérieure en période peropératoire
  • des soins de suivi inadéquats en période postopératoire. Pour déterminer les raisons de la perte visuelle du patient, l'ophtalmologiste n'a pas effectué un examen de la rétine ou procédé à une échographie oculaire et n'a pas poussé son examen au-delà de l'absence de cristallin. De plus, il n'a pas inspecté le corps vitré lors de la deuxième intervention chirurgicale.

Les experts étaient d'avis qu'une demande de consultation à un spécialiste de la rétine, en temps opportun et avant de procéder à la seconde intervention, aurait été une approche prudente. L'ACPM a donc conclu une transaction avec le patient au nom de l'ophtalmologiste, puisque les experts ne pouvaient accorder leur appui.

Risques établis

Selon les avis des experts dans les dossiers analysés, voici les considérations en matière de gestion des risques qu'ils ont suggérées :

Période préopératoire

  • Une évaluation préopératoire détaillée devrait comprendre les antécédents médicaux et ophtalmiques complets de même qu'un examen visuel détaillé.
  • La LIO doit être choisie soigneusement.
  • Les risques importants, les complications et les résultats prévus de l'intervention proposée, ainsi que les autres modalités de traitement possibles doivent faire partie de la discussion entourant le consentement. Le patient devrait aussi avoir l'occasion de parler davantage des possibilités de traitement et des risques qu'ils comportent.
  • Une documentation complète, lisible et faite au moment opportun, dont les antécédents médicaux et oculaires du patient, les résultats de l'évaluation et la discussion entourant le consentement pourrait bien être la meilleure défense d'un médecin si les soins sont remis en question.

Période peropératoire

  • La prise en compte de la capacité du patient à coopérer pendant le traitement chirurgical de la cataracte pourrait servir à déterminer la technique d'anesthésie optimale.
  • Le fait de reconnaître et de gérer promptement les ruptures capsulaires en période peropératoire pourrait réduire les complications afférentes et éviter les interventions subséquentes.
  • Le protocole opératoire doit être détaillé et lisible, et refléter tous les événements chirurgicaux.
  • Les modifications apportées au protocole opératoire, ou à tout dossier médical, doivent être faites rigoureusement et être conformes aux règlements et aux lignes directrices en vigueur, telles que les politiques publiées par les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges).

Période postopératoire

  • Le patient doit être informé des circonstances où il doit faire un suivi, du responsable du suivi et des arrangements qui seront pris.
  • Le patient et les membres de sa famille doivent recevoir des conseils en vue de pouvoir reconnaître les signes et symptômes requérant un traitement immédiat. De plus, les conseils doivent être adaptés à la situation clinique particulière du patient.
  • Les discussions et les conseils doivent être documentés dans le dossier médical.
  • Un patient qui présente des symptômes visuels soudains ou progressifs devrait être évalué rapidement.

Références

  1. De façon générale, les tribunaux canadiens considéreront que les risques importants sont ceux qu'une personne raisonnable, dans les mêmes circonstances, aimerait connaître avant de consentir à une investigation ou à un traitement. Ces risques devraient inclure les complications courantes et celles qui surviennent rarement mais dont les conséquences sont importantes. Un tribunal pourrait conclure qu'une maladie physique ou psychologique pourrait faire en sorte que même un risque non fréquent pourrait devenir plus important pour ce patient.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.