Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Risk management when using drugs or medical devices off-label

Originally published September 2012
P1203-15-E

Using medications or medical devices off-label may benefit patients, but can lead to medico-legal risks for physicians — risks that include uncertainty about the efficacy of the drug or product, and possible adverse reactions.

The term off-label refers to using licensed medications or medical devices outside of the condition or indication for which the licence was issued. This use differs from administering medications or using devices that have never been considered for a licence. Prescribing a drug in a way that is inconsistent with the label of any product for which a drug identification number has been issued by Health Canada is considered off-label use of the drug. Off-label use can also include prescribing different dosages or frequencies, lengthening or shortening the duration of treatments, or using different routes of administration than indicated on the drug label. Health Canada does not regulate the off-label use of medications or devices and takes the position that physicians' prescribing practices fall under the jurisdiction of provincial and territorial medical regulatory authorities (Colleges).

Examples of off-label use include prescribing tricyclic antidepressants for patients with chronic pain or fibromyalgia, using antipsychotic medications to treat agitation in dementia patients, or using a dose of a medication above the designated upper limit. Off-label prescribing may be more frequent in the pediatric population, since most drugs are approved on the basis of clinical trials conducted with adults.

What the CMPA's cases revealed

The CMPA frequently receives calls from members asking for medico-legal advice on the off-label use of medications or devices, and has a number of files on the matter involving legal actions or College complaints.

A review of the cases highlighted the importance of physicians taking the following actions:

  • Reviewing the available medical literature (e.g. guidelines from medical specialty organizations) and considering if the proposed off-label use of the medication or product has gained enough acceptance among peers.
  • Taking reasonable precautions to ensure that the prescription or use of the drug or device is the appropriate treatment for the patient's condition.
  • Advising patients that a drug or device is not approved for their particular condition.
  • Obtaining and documenting the appropriate informed consent before using the drug or device off-label.

Case examples

Case 1:

A 16-year-old male had a history of alcohol dependency, and severe generalized anxiety and oppositional defiance disorder.

The patient's psychiatrist talked to him and his parents about treatment with paroxetine 30 mg OD. The discussion included the material risks of using the medication. The courts consider material risks to be, generally, the ones a reasonable person, in the same circumstances, would want to know before consenting to an investigation or treatment. Following the discussion, the psychiatrist prescribed paroxetine. Based on the product monograph, paroxetine was not indicated for use in patients below the age of 18 years.

The patient experienced good control of his anxiety after he was started on paroxetine. After a pharmaceutical warning about the increased risk of suicide in adolescents on paroxetine was sent to physicians, the patient's psychiatrist made plans to admit him to hospital in this particular case. In hospital the patient's paroxetine was tapered and he was started on olanzapine. He was discharged two months later and committed suicide.

The patient's parents complained to the College that they had not been advised that the use of paroxetine to treat this condition was off-label. The College was supportive of the physician's care, stating that the lack of clinical trials in patients under the age of 18 did not imply that the medication was unsafe for patients under age 18. The College highlighted the importance of obtaining informed consent when prescribing drugs off-label.

 

Case 2:

A 92-year-old female with a history of dementia was assessed by a psycho-geriatrician, who felt that the patient's depression was affecting her behaviour.

He recommended olanzapine and citalopram to improve her sleep, and day-time orientation. The specialist also recommended an assessment of cardiovascular risk factors before prescribing olanzapine. Based on the specialist's recommended treatment, the patient's family physician started the patient on olanzapine and citalopram. The patient died three months later.

The family complained to College about the family physician's care stating that olanzapine was approved for the treatment of schizophrenia and bipolar disorder and was not indicated for the elderly with dementia, so was being used off-label. The College supported the care provided by the family physician and acknowledged that he had followed the psycho-geriatrician's recommendations. There were no absolute contraindications to the use of olanzapine in an elderly patient with dementia. It also stated that physicians are advised to assess the risks and benefits of the use of olanzapine in elderly patients with dementia.

 

Case 3:

A 25-year-old female went to her family physician to have a tattoo removed from her arm.

The family physician discussed treatment options, including treatments with a diode laser therapy that was approved only for hair removal. He advised her that there was a risk of poor healing with all techniques, but he did not discuss the specific risks associated with use of laser treatment or that the laser had not been approved for this use.

The patient suffered a second degree burn from the treatment and, as a result, started a legal action. An expert confirmed that the device was not medically approved for this use and said that the use of diode laser for tattoo removal did not conform to the standard of care at the time the patient was treated. In addition, experts in the case criticized the family physician's consent discussion given the device was being used off-label. The matter was settled on behalf of the defendant physician.

How to minimize the risk of liability when using medications or medical devices off-label

  • Determine if the proposed use of the medication or device constitutes an off-label use.
  • Consider if there is sufficient support from the medical literature (e.g. guidelines from medical specialty organizations) for the off-label use of the medication or product. Is the use in keeping with the present standards of practice?
  • Document the rationale for using the medication or device off-label.
  • Obtain a detailed history from patients and examine them to determine if they have a condition that would place them at increased risk of potential side-effects from the off-label use of the drug or device.
  • Obtain and document patients' consent after an appropriate discussion of the potential risks and benefits, and after a discussion about the medication or device being used in an off-label fashion.
  • Document any questions asked by patients and the answers provided.
  • Carefully monitor patients for side-effects during or following on an off-label treatment.

CMPA members with further questions on this challenging topic are encouraged to contact the CMPA for advice.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Gérer les risques de l’emploi non conforme de médicaments et d’appareils médicaux

Publié initialement en septembre 2012
P1203-15-F

Dr Ann Cranny, médecin-conseil


Bien que l'emploi non conforme de médicaments ou d'appareils médicaux puisse être bénéfique pour les patients, il peut engendrer des risques médico-légaux pour les médecins, notamment une incertitude par rapport à l'efficacité du médicament ou du produit, ainsi que la possibilité de réactions indésirables.

Le terme emploi non conforme signifie l'utilisation de médicaments ou d'appareils médicaux homologués à des fins autres que le problème ou l'indication pour laquelle l'homologation a été émise. Cette utilisation diffère de l'administration de médicaments ou de l'utilisation d'appareils qui n'ont jamais fait l'objet d'une homologation. La prescription d'un médicament qui est incompatible avec l'étiquette de tout produit pour lequel Santé Canada a émis un numéro d'identification du médicament équivaut à un emploi non conforme. Ceci peut également inclure la prescription de posologies ou de fréquences différentes, le prolongement ou le raccourcissement de la durée des traitements, ou le recours à des voies d'administration autres que celles indiquées sur l'étiquette du médicament. Santé Canada ne réglemente pas l'emploi non conforme de médicaments ou d'appareils, mais prend plutôt la position que les pratiques de prescription des médecins relèvent de la compétence des organismes provinciaux/territoriaux de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges).

À titre d'exemples d'emplois non conformes, notons la prescription d'antidépresseurs tricycliques pour les patients souffrant de douleur chronique ou de fibromyalgie, l'utilisation d'antipsychotiques pour traiter l'agitation chez les patients atteints de démence, ou l'utilisation d'une posologie supérieure à la dose maximale désignée pour un médicament. Il est possible que l'emploi non conforme soit plus fréquent au sein de la population pédiatrique, étant donné que la majorité des médicaments sont approuvés à la suite d'essais cliniques menés auprès d'adultes.

Ce que révèlent les dossiers de l'ACPM

L'ACPM reçoit fréquemment des appels de membres demandant des conseils médico-légaux liés à l'emploi non conforme de médicaments ou d'appareils médicaux, et elle compte un certain nombre de dossiers portant sur cette question, lesquels sont associés à des actions en justice ou à des plaintes au Collège.

Une analyse de ces dossiers a mis en lumière l'importance pour les médecins d'entreprendre les actions suivantes :

  • Passer en revue la littérature médicale à leur disposition (p. ex. les directives d'organisations de médecins spécialistes) et évaluer si l'emploi non conforme du médicament ou du produit qui est proposé est largement accepté par leurs pairs.
  • Prendre des précautions raisonnables pour veiller à ce que la prescription ou l'utilisation du médicament ou de l'appareil constitue un traitement approprié dans le cas de ce patient.
  • Informer les patients qu'un médicament ou un appareil n'est pas approuvé pour leur problème en particulier.
  • Obtenir et documenter le consentement éclairé approprié avant d'utiliser le médicament ou l'appareil à des fins non conformes par le fabricant.

Exemples de cas

Cas 1 :

Un jeune homme de 16 ans a des antécédents de dépendance à l'alcool, d'anxiété généralisée sévère et de trouble oppositionnel avec provocation.

Son psychiatre discute avec le patient et ses parents d'un traitement à la paroxétine à raison de 30 mg, une fois par jour. Les risques importants de l'utilisation de ce médicament sont précisés dans le cadre de la discussion. De façon générale, les tribunaux estiment que les risques importants sont ceux qu'une personne raisonnable, dans les mêmes circonstances, voudrait savoir avant de consentir à une investigation ou un traitement. À la suite de la discussion, le psychiatre prescrit de la paroxétine. Selon la monographie du produit, la paroxétine n'est pas indiquée chez les patients de moins de 18 ans.

Le patient commence la prise de paroxétine et son anxiété est bien contrôlée. Toutefois, comme un avertissement est diffusé aux médecins au sujet du risque accru de suicide chez les adolescents prenant de la paroxétine, le psychiatre prend des dispositions dans ce cas particulier pour faire hospitaliser le patient. À l'hôpital, la paroxétine du patient est progressivement diminuée pour être remplacée par de l'olanzapine. Le patient reçoit son congé deux mois plus tard et se suicide.

Les parents du patient déposent une plainte au Collège, affirmant qu'ils n'ont pas été informés que l'utilisation de la paroxétine pour traiter cette maladie constituait un emploi non conforme. Le Collège appuie les soins du médecin, précisant que l'absence d'essais cliniques menés auprès de patients de moins de 18 ans ne signifie pas que le médicament n'est pas sécuritaire pour les patients de ce groupe d'âge. Le Collège souligne l'importance d'obtenir un consentement éclairé lors de la prescription d'un médicament pour un emploi non conforme.

 

Cas 2 :

Une femme de 92 ans ayant des antécédents de démence est évaluée par un psychogériatre, qui est d'avis que la dépression de la patiente a un effet sur son comportement.

Il recommande de l'olanzapine et du citalopram pour améliorer le sommeil et l'orientation temporelle de la patiente. Le spécialiste recommande également une évaluation des facteurs de risque cardiovasculaire avant de prescrire de l'olanzapine. En fonction du traitement recommandé par le spécialiste, l'omnipraticien de la patiente lui prescrit de l'olanzapine et du citalopram. La patiente décède trois mois plus tard.

La famille dépose une plainte au Collège relative aux soins prodigués par l'omnipraticien, affirmant que l'olanzapine est approuvée pour traiter la schizophrénie et le trouble bipolaire et qu'elle n'est pas indiquée pour les personnes âgées souffrant de démence. Il s'agissait donc d'un emploi non conforme. Le Collège appuie les soins de l'omnipraticien et reconnaît qu'il a suivi les recommandations du psychogériatre. Il n'existait aucune contre-indication absolue à l'utilisation de l'olanzapine chez une personne âgée atteinte de démence. Le Collège affirme également qu'il est conseillé aux médecins d'évaluer les risques et les avantages de l'utilisation de l'olanzapine chez les personnes âgées souffrant de démence.

 

Cas 3 :

Une femme de 25 ans consulte son omnipraticien pour faire enlever un tatouage sur son bras.

L'omnipraticien discute des options thérapeutiques, y compris les traitements à l'aide d'une thérapie au laser diode qui est approuvée uniquement pour l'épilation. Il l'informe du risque d'une mauvaise cicatrisation avec toutes les techniques, sans toutefois discuter des risques spécifiques associés à l'utilisation d'un traitement au laser, ni préciser que le laser n'a pas été approuvé en vue d'une telle utilisation.

La patiente subit une brûlure du deuxième degré par suite du traitement et elle intente une action en justice en conséquence. Un expert confirme que l'appareil n'est pas approuvé sur le plan médical pour une telle utilisation et affirme que l'emploi du laser diode pour un détatouage ne respectait pas la norme de pratique à l'époque où la patiente a été traitée. De plus, les experts dans cette cause ont critiqué la discussion tenue par l'omnipraticien en vue d'obtenir le consentement, étant donné l'emploi non conforme de l'appareil. La cause a été réglée au nom du médecin défendeur.

Comment réduire le risque de responsabilité lors de l'emploi non conforme de médicaments ou d'appareils médicaux

  • Déterminer si l'utilisation proposée du médicament ou de l'appareil constitue un emploi non conforme.
  • Évaluer si la littérature médicale (p. ex. les directives d'organisations de médecins spécialistes) fournit un appui suffisant à l'emploi non conforme du médicament ou du produit. L'utilisation est-elle conforme aux normes de pratique actuelles?
  • Documenter la justification de l'emploi non conforme du médicament ou de l'appareil.
  • Obtenir une anamnèse détaillée des patients et effectuer un examen physique afin de déterminer s'ils ont un problème qui augmenterait les risques d'effets secondaires possibles liés à l'emploi non conforme du médicament ou de l'appareil.
  • Obtenir et documenter le consentement des patients à la suite d'une discussion appropriée des risques et des avantages éventuels, et après avoir discuté de l'emploi non conforme du médicament ou de l'appareil.
  • Documenter toute question posée par les patients ainsi que les réponses fournies.
  • Surveiller attentivement les patients pour la présence d'effets secondaires pendant et à la suite d'un traitement non conforme.

Les membres de l'ACPM qui ont des questions supplémentaires sur ce sujet épineux sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir conseil.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.