Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Technology unleashed - The evolution of online communication

Originally published June 2012
P1202-1-E

Electronic health records, email, web portals, social media, smartphones, and tablets. How should physicians weigh the pros and cons of using increasingly popular technologies?

Besides the number of technologies in their practice environment, physicians may also be encountering more patients eager to book medical appointments and check their medical records online. Some may even want to "friend" their physician on Facebook.

When considering whether to use new information technologies, either professionally or personally, physicians should assess the potential benefits and consider the medico-legal risks. When harnessing the potential of the digital age, the key is to know the risk and how to mitigate it.

Information technology is a reality of medical practice and this presents an opportunity to learn how to integrate these new methods into daily practice. The first step is to learn about the platforms, and then reflect on whether and how each might be used in practice.

Understanding the technology, assessing the risk

Electronic medical records

Implementation of electronic medical records (EMRs) in medical practice continues and many practitioners have embraced the possibilities of improved care through the use of EMRs.

The 2010 National Physicians Survey found that 39% of practising physicians now use EMRs1. With 82% of second-year residents reporting that they intend to use EMRs, the use of EMRs is expected to continue rising.

The EMR is a foundational electronic platform that facilitates access to medical records on various digital devices. While most family physicians access records in their office, specialists are more likely to access EMRs from hospitals or health centres. Many physicians surveyed can access the records from home, and close to half of the youngest physicians surveyed access records from a laptop.

Electronic medical records are poised to be accessed increasingly from mobile devices. Using a system which is certified in the physician's jurisdiction is key to the security of patient files and to help meet the legal obligations of privacy and confidentiality. The CMPA has written extensively on the use and implementation of EMRs ("Electronic Records Handbook"), as well as on privacy and confidentiality. These resources are available on the CMPA website.

 

Email

While email technology is almost two decades old, the medical community has been cautious in adopting it to interact with patients.

According to the 2010 National Physicians Survey, only 16% of physicians use email with patients for clinical purposes. Meanwhile, 58% use email to contact professional colleagues.

There are several potential risk areas in email communication including privacy and security, timeliness of responses, and clarity of communication. Before engaging in email communication, members should review any applicable statutory or regulatory authority (College) requirements that may impact the use of email for transmitting patient health information. Consent by the patient to this form of communications is also important. As well, all emails and attachments should have adequate encryption.

The CMPA has written extensively on the medico-legal risks of using email for professional purposes. For additional information on how best to mitigate the risk of using email, including patient consent forms, see "Consent to use electronic communications [PDF, DOC]".

 

Web portals

The full potential of web portals has yet to be harnessed, but the promise of timely communication with patients is enticing.

Several specialized websites provide private online environments designed for physician interaction with patients. One of the longest standing web portals, mydoctor.ca, was created in 2008 by the Canadian Medical Association. It is only one of several "health portals."2

These portals allow physicians to share medical information with patients, prescribe directly to patients, provide information on a physician's schedule, allow patients to book appointments, provide alerts to patients regarding follow-up care, and allow patients to view their medical history and test results. Most sites also provide secure messaging between the physician and patient, and some provide online networking environments where patients can share information with other patients.

Information stored on portals can be accessed from desktop computers as well as mobile devices, allowing patients and their physicians to monitor health indicators such as blood pressure or blood-glucose levels.

Like all uses of technology, physicians must weigh the potential benefits and the medico-legal risks. While providing patients with information online may empower patients and encourage them to become active participants in their own healthcare, some patients may misinterpret results and jump to conclusions. And, as with all online correspondence, lack of clarity and miscommunication can add complexity to doctor-patient relationships.

Physicians who want to make their services available through a web portal should ensure the chosen platform has adequate security systems to protect patient information and that the requirements of the applicable privacy legislation are respected. Patients should be made aware that portals should never be used for urgent or time-sensitive health issues. Informed consent is key and the physician should keep a record of the patient's agreement to this use of technology.

 

Mobile devices

In some hospitals, physicians are putting away the standard clipboard and pencil, and are instead opting for the use of tablets.

These tablets — essentially small computers — provide access to email and the Internet, and allow the viewing of learning videos or podcasts. Tablets can interface with other computers wirelessly and can provide access to medical facts, drug-related information, medical calculators, as well as word processors and spreadsheet software. These devices can make the interface with EMRs almost seamless.

Similarly, smartphones are creating an opportunity for doctors and other healthcare professionals to access information wherever they may be — whether working shift in a hospital, or seeing patients in daily office practice.

Some physicians are using mobile devices for remote monitoring of patient care, bridging the distance between physician and patient — a kind of long-distance house call. For example, a physician who is out-of-town may check on patients with chronic conditions such as diabetes or high blood pressure, or visually verify post-operative incisions.

There are a number of precautions that physicians need to consider to avoid medico-legal difficulties. If accessing EMRs from a mobile device, for example, the physician should verify that patient information is encrypted and security levels are adequate to meet the privacy requirements of the jurisdiction. Devices should be password protected, and it may be possible to remotely lock or "wipe" all information from the device should it be stolen or lost. Such measures help ensure that the content stored on the device is not viewed by unauthorized users, even inadvertently.

 

Social media

Canadian physicians are becoming increasingly aware of the potential of social media — particularly for learning and sharing knowledge — and some medical organizations and societies now use social media tools.

The 2010 National Physicians Survey reports that more than 51% of physicians were using Facebook for personal reasons, while 20% were using other platforms such as Twitter and LinkedIn. The same survey notes that 22% of physicians used online discussion forums with other physicians for professional purposes.

However, online networking is raising issues related to professionalism and ethics, and even personal use of social media by physicians can prompt questions concerning privacy and confidentiality.

Whether a physician has found an audience on a micro-blogging site such as Twitter, posts videos on YouTube, connects with colleagues through LinkedIn, or blogs about health-related issues, keeping patient information confidential and secure is paramount.

The line between professional and personal is often blurry for physicians. Some Colleges have issued guidelines about the use of social media and physicians should check regularly for new policies and updates. Physicians should consider the following:

  • Social media platforms should be treated as virtual public spaces, used by millions and potentially accessible by anyone.3
  • Physicians who communicate through social media, on web portals, or via email should be mindful that they are governed by the same professional and ethical standards as would apply in a physical environment (e.g. hospital setting, family practice).
  • The laws on defamation, copyright, and plagiarism apply equally to the web and social media as to print and verbal communication.
  • Privacy legislation and licensure require that physicians guard against disclosing any information that could identify a patient. These requirements apply no matter the technology or electronic platform.
  • Physicians considering the use of social media should review the policies or guidelines of their College. The Canadian Medical Association has also published guidelines entitled Social media and Canadian physicians – Issues and rules of engagement.
  • Physicians who use social media are advised to activate the strictest privacy settings whenever possible. On Facebook or LinkedIn, for example, users can adjust privacy settings within the profile sections of their pages. Remember, however, that even though privacy settings have been adjusted, confidential information should not be shared on public social sites.

The field of technology evolves rapidly, often prompting questions regarding risks and benefits. When in doubt about the use of new technologies and of social media, members should not hesitate to call the CMPA for advice or guidance.


References

  1. 2010 National Physician Survey. Retrieved on February 2012 from: http://www.nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/nps/home-e.asp
  2. mydoctor.ca is hosted by the Canadian Medical Association. There are also several privately owned web portals including mypatientaccess.ca, HealthConnex, myOSCAR, etc.
  3. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, "Social media and Online Networking Forums," September 2010.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Croissance effrénée de la technologie — L'évolution des communications en ligne

Publié initialement en juin 2012
P1202-1-F

Dossiers médicaux électroniques, courrier électronique, portails web, médias sociaux, téléphones intelligents et tablettes électroniques : comment les médecins doivent-ils évaluer les avantages et les inconvénients des technologies de plus en plus populaires?

Outre les nombreuses technologies utilisées dans leur pratique, les médecins peuvent aussi faire face à un plus grand nombre de patients désireux de prendre rendez-vous ou de vérifier leur dossier médical en ligne. Certains patients pourraient même vouloir devenir l'« ami » de leur médecin sur Facebook.

Lorsqu'ils envisagent d'utiliser de nouvelles technologies de l'information, que ce soit à des fins professionnelles ou personnelles, les médecins doivent évaluer les avantages possibles et prendre en considération les risques médico-légaux. Quand il s'agit d'exploiter le potentiel qu'offre l'ère numérique, la solution consiste à connaître les risques et la manière de les atténuer.

La technologie de l'information fait partie de la réalité d'une pratique médicale. Cet article donne l'occasion aux médecins d'apprendre comment intégrer ces nouvelles méthodes dans leur pratique quotidienne. La première étape consiste à en savoir davantage sur les plateformes, puis à déterminer si elles peuvent être utilisées dans leur pratique et de quelle façon.

COMPRENDRE LA TECHNOLOGIE ET ÉVALUER LE RISQUE

Les dossiers médicaux électroniques

La mise en place des dossiers médicaux électroniques (DME) dans la pratique médicale se poursuit, et de nombreux médecins ont accueilli favorablement les possibilités d'améliorer les soins grâce aux DME.

Selon le Sondage national des médecins de 2010, 39 % des médecins utilisent désormais les DME.1 Puisque 82 % des résidents de deuxième année disent avoir l'intention d'utiliser des DME, le recours aux DME devrait continuer à croître.

Le DME est une plateforme électronique fondamentale qui facilite l'accès aux dossiers médicaux à partir de divers appareils numériques. La plupart des médecins de famille consultent les dossiers dans leur cabinet, mais les spécialistes sont plus susceptibles d'accéder aux DME dans des hôpitaux ou des centres de santé. De nombreux médecins interrogés peuvent accéder aux dossiers à partir de leur domicile, et près de la moitié des médecins plus jeunes ont répondu qu'ils consultaient les dossiers à l'aide d'un ordinateur portatif.

Les dossiers médicaux électroniques sont en voie d'être de plus en plus consultés à partir d'appareils mobiles. L'utilisation d'un système autorisé dans la province du médecin est essentielle pour assurer la sécurité des dossiers des patients et pour satisfaire aux obligations légales en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et de confidentialité. L'ACPM s'est largement penchée sur l'utilisation et la mise en place des DME (Guide sur les dossiers électroniques), ainsi que sur la protection des renseignements personnels et la confidentialité. Ces ressources peuvent être consultées sur le site web de l'Association.

 

Courrier électronique

Bien que la technologie du courrier électronique remonte à près de deux décennies, le milieu médical s'est montré prudent quant à son adoption pour interagir avec les patients.

Selon le Sondage national des médecins de 2010, seulement 16 % des médecins se servent du courrier électronique pour communiquer avec les patients à des fins médicales. Par contre, ils l'utilisent dans une proportion de 58 % pour communiquer avec des collègues de la profession.

La communication électronique comporte plusieurs domaines de risques possibles, notamment la protection des renseignements personnels et la sécurité, le délai de réponse et la clarté de la communication. Avant de s'adonner aux communications électroniques, les membres devraient prendre connaissance des exigences législatives et des exigences de leur organisme de réglementation (Collège) qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur l'utilisation du courrier électronique pour transmettre les renseignements médicaux des patients. Il convient aussi d'obtenir le consentement du patient pour ce mode de communication. De plus, tous les courriels et toutes les pièces jointes doivent être chiffrés de façon appropriée.

L'ACPM a beaucoup écrit au sujet des risques médico-légaux associés à l'utilisation du courrier électronique à des fins professionnelles. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'atténuation des risques liés à l'utilisation du courrier électronique, y compris les formulaires de consentement des patients, consultez l'article « Formulaire type de consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique [PDF, DOC] » sur le site de l'Association.

 

Portails web

Le plein potentiel des portails web reste encore à être exploité, mais la promesse de communications rapides avec les patients est séduisante.

Plusieurs sites web spécialisés offrent des environnements en ligne privés conçus pour permettre aux médecins d'interagir avec les patients. Le plus ancien portail web de ce genre, monmedecin.ca, a été créé en 2008 par l'Association médicale canadienne. Il s'agit seulement d'un des nombreux « portails sur la santé ».2

Ces portails permettent aux médecins d'échanger des renseignements médicaux avec les patients, d'envoyer une ordonnance directement aux patients, de fournir de l'information sur leur horaire, de prendre les rendez-vous des patients, d'envoyer des rappels aux patients au sujet d'un suivi, et de donner la possibilité aux patients de consulter leur dossier médical et leurs résultats d'examens. La plupart des sites permettent aussi l'envoi de messages sécurisés entre le médecin et le patient, et certains offrent un environnement de réseautage en ligne où les patients peuvent échanger de l'information avec d'autres patients.

Il est possible d'accéder à l'information de ces portails à partir d'un ordinateur de bureau ainsi que d'appareils mobiles, ce qui permet aux patients et à leurs médecins de surveiller des indicateurs de santé comme la tension artérielle ou la glycémie.

Comme dans le cas de toute technologie, les médecins doivent évaluer les avantages et les risques médico-légaux possibles. Il est vrai que donner de l'information en ligne aux patients peut permettre à ceux-ci d'avoir prise sur leur vie et les encourager à participer activement à leurs propres soins de santé, mais certains d'entre eux pourraient mal interpréter les résultats et sauter aux conclusions. Par conséquent, comme pour toute correspondance en ligne, un manque de clarté et de mauvaises communications peuvent rendre encore plus complexes les relations médecin-patient.

Les médecins qui souhaitent offrir leurs services par l'intermédiaire d'un portail web doivent s'assurer que la plateforme est dotée de systèmes de sécurité adéquats pour protéger les renseignements sur les patients et que les exigences des lois applicables en matière de protection des renseignements personnels sont respectées. Il faut aussi informer les patients de ne jamais utiliser un portail lorsqu'ils ont un problème de santé urgent ou qui demande une réponse rapide. Le consentement éclairé est essentiel, et les médecins devraient garder en dossier l'accord du patient pour l'utilisation de la technologie.

 

Appareils mobiles

Dans certains hôpitaux, les médecins mettent de côté les traditionnels crayons et planches à pince, et optent plutôt pour les tablettes électroniques.

Ces dernières sont essentiellement de petits ordinateurs qui donnent accès au courrier électronique et à Internet et qui permettent de regarder des vidéos d'apprentissage ou des balados. Les tablettes peuvent interagir avec d'autres ordinateurs grâce à un réseau sans fil et donner accès à des données médicales, à de l'information sur les médicaments, à des calculateurs médicaux, ainsi qu'à des logiciels de traitement de texte et à des tableurs. Ces appareils peuvent rendre presque imperceptible l'interface avec les DME.

Les téléphones intelligents donnent aussi la possibilité aux médecins et aux autres professionnels de la santé d'avoir accès à l'information peu importe où ils se trouvent, que ce soit pendant un quart de travail à l'hôpital ou lors d'une consultation en cabinet.

Certains médecins utilisent les appareils mobiles pour surveiller à distance les soins, abolissant ainsi la distance entre le médecin et le patient; il s'agit en quelque sorte d'une visite à domicile faite à distance. À titre d'exemple, un médecin qui se trouve en dehors de la ville peut vérifier l'état de patients souffrant de maladies chroniques, comme le diabète ou l'hypertension, ou inspecter visuellement des incisions après une intervention chirurgicale.

Les médecins doivent prendre un certain nombre de précautions pour éviter d'avoir des problèmes médico-légaux. S'ils consultent des DME à partir d'un appareil mobile, les médecins doivent s'assurer que les renseignements sur le patient sont chiffrés et que les niveaux de sécurité satisfont aux exigences de la province en matière de protection de renseignements personnels. Les appareils doivent être protégés par mot de passe, et il faut être en mesure de verrouiller ou d'effacer à distance toute information contenue dans un appareil au cas où il serait volé ou perdu. De telles mesures permettent de veiller à ce que des utilisateurs non autorisés ne puissent pas voir, même par mégarde, les renseignements que renferme l'appareil.

 

Médias sociaux

Les médecins au Canada sont de plus en plus conscients du potentiel des médias sociaux, notamment pour l'acquisition et le partage de connaissances. Voilà pourquoi certaines organisations et sociétés médicales se servent maintenant d'outils de médias sociaux.

Le Sondage national des médecins de 2010 rapporte que plus de 51 % des médecins utilisent Facebook à des fins personnelles, et que 20 % d'entre eux se servent d'autres plateformes comme Twitter et LinkedIn. Selon le même sondage, 22 % des médecins se rendent sur des forums pour discuter avec d'autres médecins à des fins professionnelles.

Par contre, le réseautage en ligne soulève des problèmes sur le plan du professionnalisme et de l'éthique; même un usage personnel des médias sociaux par les médecins suscite des interrogations quant à la protection des renseignements personnels et à la confidentialité.

Qu'il s'agisse pour un médecin de trouver des adeptes sur un site de microblogage comme Twitter, d'afficher des vidéos sur YouTube, d'établir des liens avec des collègues à l'aide de LinkedIn ou de bloguer sur des questions de santé, il est primordial de veiller à la confidentialité et à la sécurité des renseignements sur les patients.

La frontière entre la vie professionnelle et la vie personnelle est souvent floue pour les médecins. Certains Collèges ont publié des lignes directrices sur l'utilisation des médias sociaux; les médecins devraient vérifier régulièrement s'il y a de nouvelles politiques ou des mises à jour. Les médecins devraient prendre en considération les points suivants :

  • Les plateformes de médias sociaux doivent être traitées comme des espaces publics virtuels, utilisés par des millions de personnes et accessibles à tous.3
  • Les médecins qui communiquent par l'intermédiaire des médias sociaux, sur des portails web ou à l'aide du courrier électronique doivent savoir qu'ils sont assujettis aux mêmes normes professionnelles et éthiques qui s'appliquent à un environnement physique (p. ex. milieu hospitalier et pratique de médecine familiale).
  • Les lois sur la diffamation, le droit d'auteur et le plagiat s'appliquent au web et aux médias sociaux au même titre que les communications imprimées et verbales.
  • Les lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels et le permis d'exercice exigent que les médecins prennent soin de ne pas divulguer de l'information qui pourrait permettre d'identifier un patient. Ces exigences s'appliquent peu importe la technologie ou la plateforme électronique utilisée.
  • Les médecins qui songent à utiliser les médias sociaux doivent prendre connaissance des politiques et des lignes directrices de leur Collège. L'Association médicale canadienne a aussi publié des lignes directrices intitulées « Les médias sociaux et les médecins canadiens - enjeux et règles d'engagement ».
  • On conseille aux médecins qui se servent des médias sociaux d'utiliser les paramètres de confidentialité les plus rigoureux lorsque cela est possible. Sur Facebook ou LinkedIn, par exemple, les utilisateurs peuvent modifier ces paramètres dans les sections de leur page définissant leur profil. Il faut toutefois se rappeler que même si des paramètres de confidentialité rigoureux sont utilisés, les renseignements confidentiels ne devraient pas être communiqués sur les sites sociaux ouverts au public.
  • Le domaine de la technologie évolue rapidement et suscite souvent des questions au sujet des risques et des avantages. S'ils ont des doutes quant à l'utilisation de nouvelles technologies et des médias sociaux, les membres ne devraient pas hésiter à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

Références

  1. Sondage national des médecins 2010. Consulté en ligne en février 2012 à : http://www.nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/ nps/home-f.asp
  2. Le portail monmedecin.ca est hébergé par l'Association médicale canadienne. Il existe aussi plusieurs portails web privés, notamment mypatientaccess.ca, HealthConnex, myOSCAR, etc.
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, « Social media and Online Networking Forums », septembre 2010.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.