Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

The aging patient — Responding to changing demographics

Originally published March 2012
P1201-4-E

As the Canadian population ages, physicians will treat a greater number of older adults. While physicians' fundamental responsibilities do not vary due to a patient's age, there are medico-legal considerations to keep in mind when caring for an aging patient. Physicians may have to adapt their approach for this demographic.

Communicating with older adults

Physician-patient communication takes on added significance when dealing with an elderly patient population.

The factors contributing to an effective physician-patient exchange such as politeness, parity,1 and patience become more important2. There are also a number of other communication-related issues that are particularly relevant to aging adults3.

Sufficient time

When scheduling appointments, physicians should plan to spend extra time with older patients. Time is needed to establish rapport, listen attentively, share information, examine the patient, provide education and counselling, and provide opportunities for patient questions or feedback. Physicians should be mindful that some older patients may not ask questions or challenge their doctor because of generational differences, reluctance to complain, or fear of hearing the diagnosis. Doctors should take the time needed to check understanding, discuss options, and invite questions.

Sensory impairments

Older adults may have an increased incidence of sensory impairments such as hearing or vision loss, so physicians may sometimes need to speak more slowly and clearly. Facing the patient directly, maintaining eye contact, writing out important terms, and using printed materials with easy-to-read typefaces or pictures may also be helpful. As with all patients, it is beneficial to use plain language and frequently check patient understanding. Physicians should also remember that aging patients, with or without sensory impairments, want to be treated as equals and not paternalistically.

Awkward topics

Confronting topics such as memory loss, cognitive impairment, and loss of independence (such as giving up a driver's licence) can create discomfort for physicians and patients alike. Approaches to help physicians discuss awkward topics include generalizing the information, telling anecdotes without breaching confidentiality, and providing relevant literature to the patient and family members.

In all cases, discussions with patients should be documented in the medical record. This is important for continuity of care and provides the best evidence of the physician-patient discussion.

Continuity of care

Continuity of care generally refers to the process by which the patient and healthcare professionals collaborate in the management of the patient's care. The ultimate goal of continuity of care is quality and safety of care. The following continuity of care issues are particularly relevant to caring for aging patients.

Collaborative work

Many aging patients have multiple health conditions that require care by more than one physician, and sometimes by other healthcare professionals. Physicians should work collaboratively with other health professionals, communicate fully and promptly in writing or by telephone with other care providers, and engage patients in their medical care. In working with other healthcare professionals, physicians should also be aware of scopes of practice, roles and responsibilities, and applicable policies and procedures. Timely follow-up on test results and effective patient handovers between physicians are also beneficial to the patient's safety.

Informed discharge

In Canada, the courts have elaborated on the duty of physicians to appropriately inform patients in the post-operative or post-discharge period. A physician should conduct a full discussion with the patient about post-treatment risks or complications, informing the patient of clinical signs and symptoms that would indicate the need to seek further medical attention. Standardized discharge instructions may assist physicians in this regard. It is particularly important that physicians make efforts to ascertain whether aging patients appear to understand the instructions. One approach is to ask patients to summarize their discharge instructions and to ask if they have any questions. Printed information in a large font and clear illustrations may also help older adults.

It may be appropriate to involve family members in the care of elderly patients. This does not negate a physician's obligation to privacy and confidentiality. Any discussion regarding the health of an elderly patient should only be done with express consent of the mentally capable patient. If consent is granted by the patient, it should be documented in the patient's medical record.

Medication issues

Managing medications for aging patients can be challenging. Issues include multiple medications which may lead to drug interactions, age-related changes that may affect a drug's effect, as well as negative side effects.

There are a number of medico-legal issues associated with medications and elderly patients. These commonly include inadequate patient evaluation prior to prescribing, incorrect dispensing or administering of a medication by other healthcare professionals, prescribing or administering an incorrect dosage of a medication, delaying or failing to prescribe or administer an indicated medication, and prescribing a medication with significant contraindications. Physicians should take extra care when prescribing and managing medications for older adults.

Medication reconciliation is another important aspect of medication management for aging patients. Accurate and complete medication information must be communicated at all transitions of care. Physicians are a part of the multidisciplinary team and should be involved in medication reconciliation at admission, during in-hospital transfer, and when elderly patients are discharged.

A particular concern is the unintentional discontinuance of medication for seniors being discharged from hospital. Discontinuing a medication can have serious consequences such as hospital readmissions, visits to the emergency department, and even death.4

Physicians should review the list of patient medications when receiving the patient from home, the community, or from within a hospital, and also when transferring or discharging the patient. Changes in medications made during a hospital visit should be reviewed carefully with aging patients prior to discharge or transition. The use of established medication management systems (e.g. preprinted forms or integrated computer systems) should be considered to facilitate continuity of care.

Mandatory reporting

Physicians have reporting obligations that may be specific to aging patients. For example, physicians should be aware of their reporting obligations when health conditions may make it dangerous for an individual to drive.

Elder abuse and neglect encompass a range of behaviours including emotional, financial, physical, and sexual abuse, and neglect by other individuals5. Physicians may be among the first to see the effects of elder abuse. Doctors should be attentive to the signs of abuse and neglect. When physicians have reasonable grounds to suspect that a nursing home resident has suffered or may suffer harm due to unlawful conduct, incompetent care, treatment, or neglect, they may be required by provincial or territorial legislation to report this information.

Self-neglect among older adults is also a reality. Signs of self-neglect may include little or no personal care, inability to keep up social contacts, refusing medication, a disoriented or incoherent manner, unsafe living conditions, and alcohol or drug dependence6. Physicians must address self-neglect among older adults, and public health and interdisciplinary approaches may also be required.

The exact requirements for mandatory reporting and those related to elder abuse vary by province and territory, so physicians should be aware of the regulations in their jurisdiction and may consider their regulatory authority (College) as a source of information. Members may also contact the CMPA for guidance and to discuss specific cases in confidence.

Capacity

Legally, an adult patient is capable of consenting to investigation and treatment unless there is a reason to believe otherwise — regardless of age.

A patient who is able to understand the nature and anticipated effects of a proposed investigation or treatment, including the consequences of refusing, is generally considered mentally capable of giving consent. Physicians should remember that incapacity can be temporary, and so it may be necessary to reassess capacity at appropriate intervals. Physicians should strive to resolve issues concerning capacity to consent through discussions with the aging patient and family. To help avoid medico-legal issues associated with capacity and consent, physicians should keep relevant, detailed notes in the medical record.

Consent

With few exceptions, physicians must obtain valid consent before treatment is administered to a patient.

To help meet the legal standards applicable to the law of consent, physicians should discuss the nature and anticipated effect of any proposed treatment with the patient, including risks and alternatives. The patient should always be given the time to ask questions. Some aging patients may also have health issues or circumstances that may require a physician to disclose rare, but possible side effects or drawbacks to a treatment. Physicians should be careful about accepting waivers from aging patients and should seek to engage them in decisions related to their health and care. The CMPA has numerous resources on consent, including articles such as "Is this patient capable of consenting?", an eLearning activity, "Informed Consent", and the booklet, Consent: A guide for Canadian physicians.

Substitute consent and decision

A person suffering from mental incapacity may still retain sufficient mental ability to give valid consent to medical treatment. This depends on whether the patient is able to adequately appreciate the nature of the proposed treatment, its anticipated effect, and the alternatives. This is no different for an aging patient.

Provincial and territorial legislation provide a means to obtain substitute consent when a patient is incapable of giving valid consent. Substitute decision-makers are expected to act in compliance with any prior expressed wishes of the patient or in accordance with the best interests of the patient if there were no prior expressed wishes.

Most provinces and territories have legislation that enables patients to execute an advance directive as to future care in the event they become incapacitated or unable to communicate their wishes. While anyone can execute an advance directive, these may be more common among aging adults. Physicians should be aware of this possibility and, when appropriate, discuss this with the individual or substitute decision-maker.

End-of-life decisions

In treating aging patient populations, physicians will find themselves involved in end-of-life decisions. Ethical factors and clinical judgment may sometimes be at odds with the wishes of the patient or family. Disagreements between physicians and families over therapy, the withdrawal of treatment, and do not resuscitate (DNR) orders can occur.

From a medico-legal perspective, competent patients have the right to make decisions about their treatment, including DNR orders. When the patient is not competent, the appropriate substitute decision-maker should be involved in DNR decisions. Above all, any decision to issue a DNR order should never be arbitrary. The wishes and best interest of the patient are paramount when making end-of-life decisions. CMPA members can contact the Association for specific advice whenever there is a disagreement with the patient, family member, or substitute decision-maker regarding recommended treatment decisions for end-of-life care. There is also more information in the CMPA article, "End-of-life care — Support, comfort, and challenging decisions"

Contact the CMPA

As the Canadian population ages, physicians may need to adjust their practices to better meet the needs and expectations of older adults. Members are encouraged to contact the CMPA when they have medico-legal questions pertaining to the care of aging patients. The CMPA's medical officers are experienced, well informed, and can provide guidance to assist members reduce the medico-legal risks associated with treating older patients.



  1. "Parity refers to communication among equals. This includes avoiding what may be perceived as a paternalistic approach in language, tone and body positioning." CMPA Perspective, December 2010. "Physician-patient communication: Making it better." p. 10
  2. Ibid.
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Age-Old Challenge: Special considerations when communicating with older patients. Accessed online on November 30, 2011
  4. Bell, C.M., Brener, S.S., Gunrag, N., Huo, C., Bierman, A.S., Scales, D.C., Bajcar, J., Zwarenstein, M., Urbach, D.R., "Association of ICU or hospital admission with unintentional discontinuation of medications for chronic diseases," Journal of the American Medical Association (2011) Vol 306, no 8 p. 840-847
  5. Mosqueda, L., Dong, XinQi, "Elder Abuse and Self-neglect," Journal of the American Medical Association (2011) Vol 305, no. 5 p. 532-540. Retrieved on November 17, 2011 from: http://jama.ama-assn.org/content/306/5/532.abstract
  6. O'Brien, S., What are the Signs of Elder Self-Neglect? Retrieved on November 30, 2011 from: http://seniorliving.about.com/od/elderabuse/f/signs-of-elder-self-neglect.htm.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le vieillissement des patients – Répondre aux changements démographiques

Publié initialement en mars 2012
P1201-4-F

Au fur et à mesure que la population canadienne vieillit, les médecins sont appelés à prendre en charge un plus grand nombre de personnes âgées. Même si les responsabilités fondamentales du médecin ne varient pas en fonction de l'âge du patient, il faut tenir compte de certaines considérations médico-légales lorsque l'on traite une personne âgée. Le médecin pourrait devoir adapter son approche lorsqu'il soigne des patients de cette catégorie démographique.

La communication avec les personnes âgées

La communication médecin-patient revêt une plus grande importance lorsqu'il s'agit de soigner des personnes âgées.

Les facteurs contribuant à un échange efficace entre le médecin et son patient, tels que la politesse, la parité1 , et la patience, jouent un plus grand rôle2. Il existe également un certain nombre d'autres problèmes liés à la communication qui s'appliquent en particulier aux personnes âgées3.

Le facteur temps

Lorsqu'ils planifient leurs rendez-vous, les médecins devraient prévoir plus de temps pour les patients âgés. Il faut en effet plus de temps pour établir une relation avec le patient, l'écouter attentivement, lui fournir des renseignements, procéder à l'examen, lui prodiguer de l'enseignement et des conseils, et lui offrir des occasions de poser des questions ou de faire des commentaires. Les médecins devraient se rappeler que certaines personnes âgées peuvent ne pas poser de questions ou ne pas remettre en question les conseils du médecin en raison de différences générationnelles, de leur réticence à se plaindre ou de leur crainte à l'endroit du diagnostic. Les médecins devraient prendre le temps nécessaire pour s'assurer que le patient comprend, pour discuter avec lui des options possibles et pour l'inviter à poser des questions.

Les déficiences sensorielles

Les personnes âgées peuvent avoir davantage de déficiences sensorielles, telles qu'une perte auditive ou visuelle. Les médecins doivent donc parfois leur parler plus lentement et clairement. Il peut être nécessaire de se placer devant le patient pour lui parler, de conserver un contact visuel, d'écrire les termes importants et de lui remettre des documents ou des images faciles à lire ou à comprendre. Comme avec tous les patients, le médecin devrait toujours utiliser un langage clair et vérifier fréquemment si la personne a compris. Les médecins devraient aussi se rappeler que les patients âgés, ayant ou non des déficiences sensorielles, veulent être traités comme des égaux et non comme des enfants.

Les sujets délicats

Tant les médecins que les patients peuvent ne pas se sentir à l'aise d'aborder certains sujets tels que la perte de mémoire, les déficits cognitifs et la perte d'indépendance (comme la perte du permis de conduire). Les approches visant à aider les médecins à discuter de sujets délicats comprennent entre autres la généralisation des renseignements, le recours à des anecdotes n'entachant pas la confidentialité, et la présentation de documents d'information pertinents pour le patient et sa famille.

Dans tous les cas, les discussions tenues avec les patients devraient être documentées au dossier médical. Une telle mesure permet d'assurer la continuité des soins, et sert de preuve qu'une discussion a eu lieu entre le médecin et le patient.

La continuité des soins

On entend par continuité des soins le processus par lequel le patient et les professionnels de la santé collaborent à la gestion des soins, et dont le but ultime est la qualité et la sécurité des patients. Les points suivants revêtent une importance particulière dans la continuité des soins aux personnes âgées.

Les soins interprofessionnels

Un grand nombre de personnes âgées ont de multiples problèmes de santé exigeant des soins de plusieurs médecins et parfois même d'autres professionnels de la santé. Les médecins devraient collaborer avec les autres professionnels de la santé, communiquer ouvertement et promptement avec eux, par écrit ou par téléphone, et encourager les patients à participer à leurs soins. Lorsqu'ils travaillent avec d'autres professionnels de la santé, les médecins devraient être conscients des champs d'exercice et des rôles et responsabilités de chacun, ainsi que des politiques et des procédures en vigueur. Un suivi en temps opportun des résultats d'analyses et d'examens, ainsi que des transferts des soins efficaces entre les médecins, sont des mesures utiles pour assurer la sécurité des patients.

Le congé éclairé

Au Canada, les tribunaux ont précisé en quoi consiste le devoir ou l'obligation des médecins d'informer convenablement les patients au moment du congé sur le suivi postopératoire ou les précautions à suivre. Le médecin devrait avoir une discussion exhaustive avec le patient pour l'informer des risques et des complications d'un traitement ainsi que des signes et symptômes cliniques exigeant un suivi médical. À cet égard, le médecin peut trouver utile d'avoir recours à des instructions uniformisées au moment du congé. Il est particulièrement important de vérifier si un patient âgé semble comprendre les instructions qui lui sont données. Le médecin peut, par exemple, demander au patient de résumer les instructions reçues et lui demander s'il a des questions. Les renseignements imprimés en gros caractères et les illustrations claires peuvent aussi aider les personnes âgées à mieux comprendre.

Il peut également être approprié de faire participer des membres de la famille aux soins d'une personne âgée. Une telle approche ne réduit pas l'obligation du médecin à protéger les renseignements personnels et à respecter la confidentialité à l'égard de ses patients. Toute discussion concernant la santé d'une personne âgée ne devrait avoir lieu qu'avec le consentement explicite du patient mentalement apte. Si le patient accorde son consentement, ce fait devrait être consigné dans son dossier médical.

Les problèmes de médication

La gestion des médicaments chez les personnes âgées peut poser un défi. Entre autres problèmes, il faut citer les interactions causées par la polypharmacie, les changements liés au vieillissement pouvant nuire à l'efficacité d'un médicament, ainsi que les effets indésirables.

Il y a aussi un certain nombre de problèmes médico-légaux associés à la médication des personnes âgées. Ces problèmes comprennent souvent une évaluation inadéquate du patient avant la prescription d'un médicament, l'exécution incorrecte d'une ordonnance ou l'administration inappropriée d'un médicament par un autre professionnel de la santé, la prescription ou l'administration d'un mauvais dosage d'un médicament, un délai dans la prescription ou l'administration d'un médicament indiqué et la prescription d'un médicament comportant d'importantes contre-indications. Les médecins devraient prendre des précautions supplémentaires lorsqu'ils prescrivent et gèrent les médicaments pour des personnes âgées.

Le bilan comparatif représente un autre aspect important de la gestion des médicaments chez les personnes âgées. Il importe que des renseignements exacts et complets sur les médicaments prescrits soient communiqués à toutes les transitions jalonnant le continuum des soins. Comme les médecins font partie de l'équipe interprofessionnelle, ils doivent participer au bilan comparatif des médicaments au moment de l'hospitalisation d'une personne âgée, lors de son transfert intrahospitalier et lorsqu'elle reçoit son congé.

Il faut s'inquiéter en particulier de l'arrêt involontaire des médicaments chez les personnes âgées qui reçoivent leur congé de l'hôpital, ce qui peut entraîner de graves conséquences, comme la réhospitalisation, la visite à l'urgence, et même le décès du patient4.

Les médecins devraient revoir la liste des médicaments lorsqu'ils traitent un patient, que ce dernier arrive de chez lui, de la collectivité ou d'un service hospitalier, et aussi au moment de son transfert ou de son congé. Les changements apportés à la médication lors de la visite d'un patient à l'hôpital devraient être revus en détail avec le patient avant son congé ou lors du transfert des soins. Pour faciliter la continuité des soins, les médecins peuvent avoir recours à des systèmes établis de gestion des médicaments (p. ex., des formulaires préimprimés ou des systèmes intégrés de gestion des médicaments).

La déclaration obligatoire

Les médecins ont des obligations relatives à la déclaration pouvant s'appliquer en particulier aux patients âgés. Par exemple, ils doivent connaître leurs obligations de déclaration lorsque l'état de santé d'un patient peut affecter son aptitude à conduire de façon sécuritaire.

Les mauvais traitements et la négligence à l'égard des personnes âgées englobent toute une gamme de comportements dont la violence psychologique, l'exploitation financière, la violence physique ou l'exploitation sexuelle, ainsi que la négligence de la part d'autres personnes5. Les médecins peuvent être parmi les premiers à en constater les effets. Ils devraient donc être attentifs aux signes de mauvais traitements et de négligence. Lorsqu'un médecin a des motifs raisonnables de soupçonner qu'un résident dans un établissement de soins de longue durée a subi ou risque de subir un préjudice en raison d'inconduite, de soins ou de traitements incompétents, ou de négligence, il peut être tenu par la loi provinciale ou territoriale de signaler ce renseignement.

L'autonégligence est aussi une réalité bien présente chez les personnes âgées. Ses signes peuvent inclure un manque ou une absence de soins personnels, l'incapacité de maintenir des contacts sociaux, le refus de prendre ses médicaments, un comportement désorienté ou incohérent, des conditions de vie dangereuses, ainsi que l'alcoolisme ou la toxicomanie6. Les médecins doivent réagir lorsqu'ils constatent qu'une personne âgée montre des signes d'autonégligence et faire intervenir les services de santé publique et d'une équipe interprofessionnelle le cas échéant.

Les exigences exactes relatives à la déclaration obligatoire de négligence et des mauvais traitements à l'égard des personnes âgées varient d'une province et d'un territoire à l'autre. Les médecins doivent donc connaître les règlements qui s'appliquent à leur situation et se tourner vers l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) pour obtenir des renseignements. Les membres peuvent aussi communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils et discuter en toute confidentialité de situations particulières.

L'aptitude

Sur le plan juridique, un patient adulte est considéré apte à consentir à des investigations et à des traitements à moins qu'une raison ne laisse sous-entendre qu'il ne l'est pas, et ce, quelque soit son âge.

Un patient qui est en mesure de comprendre la nature et les effets prévus d'une investigation ou d'un traitement qui lui est proposé, y compris les conséquences de son refus, est généralement considéré mentalement apte à consentir. Les médecins ne doivent pas oublier que l'inaptitude peut n'être que temporaire. Il peut donc être nécessaire de réévaluer le patient à des intervalles appropriés et de chercher à résoudre les problèmes relatifs à l'aptitude à consentir en discutant avec le patient âgé et sa famille. Pour éviter les problèmes médico-légaux associés à l'aptitude et au consentement, les médecins devraient rédiger des notes pertinentes et détaillées au dossier médical du patient.

Le consentement

À quelques exceptions près, les médecins doivent obtenir un consentement valide du patient avant de procéder au traitement.

Pour respecter les normes juridiques s'appliquant au droit du consentement, les médecins devraient discuter de la nature et de l'effet prévu de tout traitement proposé à un patient, y compris les risques et les autres solutions possibles. Pour sa part, le patient devrait toujours avoir suffisamment de temps pour poser des questions. Parfois, en raison de problèmes de santé ou de circonstances particulières, le médecin peut se trouver obligé d'informer un patient âgé des effets secondaires rares mais possibles, ou des désavantages du traitement qui lui est proposé. Le médecin devrait faire preuve de prudence avant d'accepter qu'un patient âgé ne signe un formulaire de renonciation et il devrait l'encourager à participer aux décisions concernant sa santé et ses soins. L'ACPM publie sur son site web, cmpa-acpm.ca, de nombreuses ressources sur le consentement, dont des articles tels que « Ce patient est-il apte à donner son consentement? », un atelier d'apprentissage en ligne, « Consentement éclairé » et le livret Le consentement : Guide à l'intention des médecins du Canada.

Le consentement subrogatoire et la décision au nom d'autrui

Une personne souffrant d'une incapacité mentale peut encore disposer d'une aptitude suffisante pour donner un consentement valide à un traitement médical. Tout dépend de la capacité du patient à comprendre adéquatement la nature du traitement proposé, ses effets prévus et les autres choix qui lui sont offerts. Il en va de même pour un patient âgé.

La législation provinciale et territoriale permet l'obtention d'un consentement subrogatoire lorsqu'un patient est inapte à accorder un consentement valide. Les décideurs remplaçants sont alors tenus de respecter les souhaits exprimés préalablement par le patient ou d'agir dans l'intérêt véritable du patient si aucune volonté précise n'a été exprimée.

La plupart des provinces et des territoires ont des lois permettant aux patients d'émettre des directives préalables quant à leurs soins dans l'éventualité où ils seraient incapables de communiquer leurs volontés ou inaptes à le faire. Bien que toute personne puisse établir des directives préalables, ce sont le plus souvent les personnes âgées qui le font. Les médecins devraient être au fait de cette possibilité et devraient, le cas échéant, en discuter avec le patient ou son décideur remplaçant.

Les décisions en fin de vie

Les médecins soignant des personnes âgées peuvent se trouver impliqués dans les décisions en fin de vie. En effet, les obligations déontologiques et le jugement clinique peuvent parfois entrer en conflit avec les volontés exprimées par le patient ou sa famille. Des désaccords peuvent survenir entre les médecins et les familles au sujet d'un traitement, de l'arrêt d'un traitement et des ordonnances de non-réanimation.

D'un point de vue médico-légal, les patients aptes à consentir ont le droit de prendre des décisions à l'égard de leur traitement, y compris des ordonnances de non-réanimation. Lorsque le patient n'est pas apte à consentir, le décideur remplaçant désigné devrait participer aux décisions de non-réanimation. Avant tout, aucune décision d'émettre une ordonnance de non-réanimation ne devrait être prise de façon arbitraire. Ce sont en effet les volontés et les intérêts du patient qui priment lorsqu'il faut prendre des décisions en fin de vie. Les membres de l'ACPM peuvent communiquer avec l'Association pour obtenir des conseils précis lorsqu'il existe des divergences d'opinions avec le patient, un membre de sa famille ou le décideur remplaçant en ce qui a trait aux décisions de traitement recommandé pour les soins en fin de vie. Les membres peuvent aussi obtenir plus de renseignements dans l'article de l'ACPM « Les soins en fin de vie – soutien, réconfort et décisions difficiles » dans le site web de l'ACPM au cmpa-acpm.ca.

Appelez l'ACPM

À mesure que vieillit la population canadienne, les médecins sont appelés à adapter leurs approches pour mieux répondre aux besoins et aux attentes des personnes âgées. Les membres sont encouragés à communiquer avec l'ACPM lorsqu'ils ont des questions médico-légales au sujet des soins aux personnes âgées. Les médecins-conseils chevronnés de l'ACPM sont bien informés et peuvent offrir des conseils pour aider les membres à réduire les risques médico-légaux associés au traitement des patients âgés.



  1. « La parité se réfère à la communication d'égal à égal. Pour y parvenir, il s'agit d'éviter ce qui pourrait être perçu comme une approche paternaliste aux niveaux du langage, du ton et de l'attitude corporelle. » Perspective ACPM, décembre 2010. « Améliorer la communication médecin-patient ». p. 10
  2. Ibid.
  3. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l' Ontario. « Age-Old Challenge: Special considerations when communicating with older patients ». Consulté en ligne le 30 novembre 2011
  4. Bell, C.M., Brener, S.S., Gunrag, N., Huo, C., Bierman, A.S., Scales, D.C., Bajcar, J., Zwarenstein, M., Urbach, D.R., « Association of ICU or hospital admission with unintentional discontinuation of medications for chronic diseases », Journal of the American Medical Association (2011) Vol. 306, no 8 p. 840-847
  5. Mosqueda, L., Dong, XinQi, « Elder Abuse and Self-neglect, » Journal of the American Medical Association (2011) Vol. 305, no 5 p. 532-540. Consulté en ligne le 17 novembre 2011 à : http://jama.ama-assn.org/content/306/5/532.abstract
  6. O'Brien, S., « What are the Signs of Elder Self-Neglect? » Consulté en ligne le 30 novembre 2011 à : http://seniorliving.about.com/od/elderabuse/f/signs-of-elder-self-neglect.htm.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.