Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

The challenges of relieving chronic pain with opioids

Originally published March 2012 / revised November 2015 
P1201-6-E

Caring effectively for patients who have chronic, non-cancer pain is a complex challenge for Canadian physicians. Management of chronic non-cancer pain can present significant patient safety and medico-legal issues. Prescription opioid use has increased substantially and deaths from overdose of prescription opioids have more than doubled in Canada since the early 1990s.1

When starting a new practice or taking over another physician's practice, physicians can expect to have some patients who request treatment with opioids. The CMPA regularly receives calls from physicians who express discomfort with the challenges envisioned with this group of patients. Generally, medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) in all of the provinces and territories emphasize that "clinical competence and scope of practice must not be used as a means of unfairly refusing patients with complex healthcare needs or patients who are perceived to be otherwise difficult."2

Given the high prevalence of chronic pain, it would be expected that to care for these patients a physician would either have the knowledge, seek out the knowledge, or consult appropriately. Colleges in all provinces and territories are clear that suffering from chronic pain is not a reason to refuse a patient into one's practice. Physicians who are uncomfortable caring for patients with chronic pain should seek out appropriate consultation and continuing professional development opportunities. It would be prudent to be familiar with the resources available on the various College websites to assist in providing care.

However, a physician, initiating a patient-doctor relationship with a patient who is taking opioids for chronic pain, is not obligated to continue the treatment. The physician may choose to suggest a tapering of the opioids, a more appropriate, longer-acting opioid, or the use of alternate pain management.

Case examples

Case 1

A 64-year-old male with chronic pain following a motor vehicle accident complained to a College that his physicians did not provide him with prescriptions for a opioid analgesic.

After reviewing the matter, the College wrote that the prescribing physicians are under no obligation to provide medications, treatments, or investigations that they do not feel are appropriate. Further, the College stated that a patient is under no obligation to attend a particular physician and a physician is under no obligation to treat a particular patient, unless it is an emergency.

For patients with chronic pain, it is generally accepted that the treating physician should document previous investigations and interventions, both pharmacologic and non-pharmacologic, which have been used to treat the pain. The physician should make reasonable attempts to ask the patient about the evidence for the effect these treatments have had. Medical records from previous caregivers and prescribers should be obtained. There should be a review of the cause of the pain as well as of other medical conditions that might be aggravating or prolonging the pain, with further testing or consultation, if required. The ultimate decision of whether the medication will be prescribed remains with the physician.

When opioids have been prescribed for chronic pain, failure to closely monitor patient status may result in complaints to Colleges or legal actions.

 

Case 2

An adult female with a history of depression and anxiety, chronic pain, and carpal tunnel syndrome complained to a College that her family physician had overprescribed medications leading to addiction and had not recommended tapering or discontinuing her medications despite deterioration in her general health and addiction.

A review of the file revealed overlapping prescriptions for short- and long-acting opioids, as well as other psychiatric medications. The College expert found deficiencies in the documentation of the patient's initial history and physical examination, and severely deficient reassessments. Opioid medications had been escalated with no rationale documented in the medical record. The effect of the medications on the patient's pain was not described. The College instructed the physician to enroll in a record-keeping course and in a opioid prescribing course.

Although opioids have been shown to decrease pain in some types of chronic conditions, their effect on the functional status of patients is not at all clear. There can be significant side effects to the use of opioids. It is, therefore, prudent for physicians who are contemplating the use of opioid medication for a patient to undertake and document a complete informed consent discussion, including the potential risks, benefits, and alternatives. Inquiring into the presence or absence of risk factors for addiction is advisable. Documenting the rationale for the choice of each pharmacologic or non-pharmacologic treatment is also important.

Physicians choosing opioid medications as part of the treatment plan may consult one of the published guidelines on this topic and incorporate into their practice some of the tools for treating these challenging conditions. It is generally recommended that opioids only be prescribed for one patient by one physician. Permission should be requested for access to any pharmacy patient profiles, if available, and random urine drug screens should be considered. Warning signs of abuse such as requests for early renewal and lost prescriptions should be monitored closely and acted upon appropriately.

Many physicians have found opioid treatment contracts that outline the responsibilities of the patient and the physician are useful in managing these patients, especially in regard to escalation of dose and lost prescriptions. The elements of the contract, including the consequences for non-adherence, should be clearly documented.

Patients with chronic pain who are on opioid medications but do not have a primary care physician can be especially challenging. A cautious approach is prudent.

 

Case 3

A 43-year-old female with fibromyalgia and no family doctor presented to an emergency department from time to time for treatment.

After seeing her more than once, the emergency physician suggested she seek help for her chronic pain at a methadone clinic. Some time later on a subsequent visit, the doctor told her he would no longer renew her medication in the emergency department because he had learned she was double doctoring and was insisting on lengthy repeats of her medication. The patient complained. The College felt that the doctor's eventual decision to stop providing medication refills and his suggestion the patient find more suitable follow-up care were the correct approaches to take under the circumstances.

Having an overly accommodating approach to patient requests for opioid refills in the emergency department or walk-in clinic can have dire consequences.

 

Case 4

A 40-year-old male presented to a walk-in clinic complaining of chronic back pain and requesting a prescription refill for his fentanyl patch.

He said his own doctor was on leave. The doctor who saw him provided a prescription for 10 more patches. A few hours later this man was found dead, having extracted and injected the fentanyl. His wife complained to the College. The College acknowledged that it can be difficult, especially on a weekend or after hours, to reach a family physician to confirm information about a patient. However, the physician would have been alerted to a possible problem if he had consulted the prescription information program available in his province as this patient had actually received a prescription sufficient for 60 days just 3 weeks prior. The College also stated they would expect that patients be advised of the risks of fentanyl patches and of using the patches in any way other than application to the skin.

Members working in walk-in clinics and emergency departments frequently call the Association to ask if they can refuse to provide opioid refills. As noted in case 1, the decision to prescribe is ultimately the physician's. If physicians decide to provide a refill, it may be prudent to only prescribe a small carrying dose sufficient for a holiday period or weekend until patients can contact their usual prescriber. Physicians should be especially skeptical if patients are unable to identify their prescriber. Members have also asked if signs indicating that opioids will not be prescribed can be posted. Medical facilities contemplating such signage should consider the pros and cons of doing so. If such signs were to be posted, these should not prevent physicians from prescribing opioids when the physician determines that opioids are in fact indicated.

Unfortunately, some individuals with opioid addictions may go to great lengths to acquire these drugs. Members may find some useful precautions to avoid prescription opioid misuse within the available Canadian guidelines. Issues of prescription fraud are reviewed in the article, "Responding to prescription fraud". Prescription fraud and aggressive or abusive behaviour are common evidence of loss of trust in the physician-patient relationship. Members facing the difficult task of terminating this relationship are directed to the article, "Ending the doctor-patient relationship," and should also consult the relevant College policy on this topic.

CMPA members with further questions on this challenging topic are encouraged to contact the CMPA for advice.


Resources and references

National Opioid User Guideline Group, National Pain Centre, McMaster University, "Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain," April 30, 2010. Retrieved on December 20, 2011 from http://nationalpaincentre.mcmaster.ca/opioid/

Collège des médecins du Québec, « Douleur chronique et opioides : l'essentiel ». Retrieved on December 20, 2011. http://www.cmq.org/fr/Public/Profil/Commun/AProposOrdre/Publications/
~/media/75D08BE5562E45199E184536F9371876.ashx?sc_lang=fr-CA&71028

  1. Dhalla, I.A., Mamdani, M.M., Sivilotti, M.L.A., Kopp, S., Qureshi, O., Juurlink, D.N. Prescribing of opioid analgesics and related mortality before and after the introduction of long-acting oxycodone. Canadian Medical Association Journal (2009) Vol.181, no.12 p.891-6.
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Policy # 1-09, Accepting New Patients, April 2009. Retrieved on February 15, 2012 from http://www.cpso.on.ca/policies/default.aspx?ID=2506

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Les défis posés par le soulagement de la douleur chronique à l'aide d'opioïdes

Publié initialement en mars 2012/ révisé en novembre 2015
P1201-6-F

Les médecins canadiens doivent faire face à un défi complexe lorsqu'ils traitent des patients souffrant de douleur chronique non cancéreuse. De nombreux problèmes d'ordre médico-légal et en matière de sécurité des patients peuvent survenir dans le traitement de ce type de douleur. En effet, le recours aux opioïdes s'est accru substantiellement et les décès par surdose ont plus que doublé depuis le début des années 90 au Canada1.

Lorsqu'un médecin met sur pied un nouveau cabinet ou lorsqu'il prend la relève auprès de la clientèle d'un collègue, il peut s'attendre à recevoir des patients qui exigeront d'être traités à l'aide d'opioïdes. L'ACPM reçoit régulièrement des appels de médecins qui manifestent leur malaise avec les défis posés par cette catégorie de patients. De façon générale, les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires préconisent que « la compétence clinique et le champ d'exercice ne devraient pas être invoqués comme raison pour refuser injustement de traiter des patients ayant des besoins complexes en matière de soins ou encore des patients qui pourraient être perçus comme étant difficiles » 1.

Puisque la douleur chronique a une prévalence élevée, on s'attendrait à ce que les médecins aient les connaissances voulues ou encore cherchent à acquérir les connaissances ou consultent les ressources appropriées pour soigner ces patients. Voilà pourquoi les Collèges de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ont des directives claires à ce sujet; un patient souffrant de douleur chronique ne devrait pas se voir refuser l'accès aux soins dispensés dans un cabinet médical. Les médecins qui ne sont pas à l'aise avec le traitement de patients souffrant de douleur chronique devraient obtenir la consultation appropriée et chercher à parfaire leurs connaissances par un développement professionnel approprié. Il serait aussi prudent que les médecins se familiarisent avec les ressources offertes sur le site web du Collège de leur province ou territoire pour fournir une assistance dans les soins à prodiguer.

Toutefois, un médecin qui amorce une relation médecin-patient avec une personne prenant des opioïdes pour le traitement de sa douleur chronique n'est pas dans l'obligation de poursuivre le traitement. Il peut en effet choisir de suggérer au patient de diminuer progressivement les opioïdes, d'utiliser un opioïde plus approprié et à durée d'action plus longue ou d'avoir recours à d'autres moyens pour traiter la douleur.

Exemple de cas

Cas 1

Un homme de 64 ans, souffrant de douleur chronique depuis un accident d'automobile, dépose une plainte au Collège parce que ses médecins ne lui ont pas prescrit d'analgésique opioïde.

Après avoir passé en revue l'instance, le Collège a répondu que les médecins prescripteurs n'ont aucune obligation de fournir les médicaments, les traitements ou les investigations qu'ils ne jugent pas appropriés. De plus, le Collège a déclaré qu'un patient n'a aucune obligation de consulter un médecin particulier et qu'un médecin n'a aucune obligation de traiter un patient particulier, à moins qu'il s'agisse d'une situation d'urgence.

Pour les patients souffrant de douleur chronique, il est généralement accepté que le médecin traitant documente les investigations et les interventions antérieures utilisées pour traiter la douleur, qu'elles soient pharmacologiques ou non. Le médecin doit essayer, autant que possible, de demander au patient de lui démontrer les effets ressentis de ces traitements. Tout dossier médical d'un soignant ou d'un prescripteur antérieur doit être obtenu. La cause de la douleur doit être passée en revue de même que les autres problèmes médicaux qui pourraient aggraver ou prolonger la douleur. Au besoin, d'autres examens ou d'autres consultations peuvent être demandés. C'est au médecin que revient ultimement la décision de prescrire le médicament.

Lorsque des opioïdes sont prescrits pour traiter la douleur chronique, le défaut de surveiller étroitement l'état du patient pourrait entraîner des plaintes auprès du Collège ou des poursuites.

 

Cas 2

Une femme, ayant des antécédents de dépression, d'anxiété, de douleur chronique et de tunnel carpien, dépose une plainte au Collège parce que son omnipraticien lui a prescrit un nombre élevé de médicaments. Cette situation a entraîné une accoutumance. De plus, le médecin n'avait pas recommandé de diminuer progressivement ou de cesser les médicaments malgré la détérioration de son état général et son accoutumance.

Une analyse de son dossier révèle un chevauchement d'ordonnances pour des opioïdes à courte et à longue durée d'action de même que d'autres médicaments utilisés dans le traitement de problèmes de santé mentale. L'expert du Collège a trouvé des manquements dans la consignation au dossier de l'évaluation initiale et de l'examen physique, ainsi que des manquements importants dans les réévaluations effectuées par la suite. La posologie des médicaments avait été augmentée sans justification indiquée au dossier. Il n'y avait pas de description de l'effet des médicaments dans le soulagement de la douleur. Le Collège a obligé le médecin à s'inscrire à un cours sur la tenue de dossier et sur les exigences des ordonnances pour les substances contrôlées.

Bien que les opioïdes aient démontré leur action pour réduire la douleur dans certaines maladies chroniques, leur effet sur l'état fonctionnel du patient n'est pas bien connu. Il peut y avoir des effets secondaires importants liés à l'usage d'opioïdes. Il est alors prudent pour les médecins qui envisagent le recours à des opioïdes d'avoir avec le patient une discussion entourant le consentement éclairé, y compris les risques possibles, les avantages ainsi que les autres modalités de traitement, et de documenter ce fait au dossier. Il est aussi utile de questionner la présence ou l'absence de facteurs de risque pour l'accoutumance. La documentation de la justification pour le choix de chaque traitement pharmacologique ou non pharmacologique importe également.

Les médecins qui choisissent de prescrire des opioïdes dans le cadre d'un plan de traitement peuvent consulter les lignes directrices publiées sur ce sujet et intégrer dans leur pratique quelques-uns des outils de traitement pour ces problèmes difficiles. Il est généralement recommandé que les opioïdes soient prescrits à un patient par un seul médecin. Une autorisation est requise pour avoir accès au profil pharmaceutique du patient, s'il y en a un, et le dépistage aléatoire de drogue dans l'urine devrait être envisagé. Les signes avant-coureurs d'abus, tels que les renouvellements hâtifs ainsi que les ordonnances perdues, doivent être surveillés étroitement et un suivi approprié mis en œuvre.

De nombreux médecins ont mentionné que les contrats de traitement avec narcotiques qui précisent les responsabilités du patient et du médecin sont utiles pour gérer les soins de ces patients, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à l'escalade des doses et des ordonnances perdues. Les éléments du contrat, y compris les conséquences du non-respect doivent être documentés clairement.

Les patients souffrant de douleur chronique et prenant des opioïdes, mais n'ayant pas de médecin de soins primaires, peuvent représenter un défi important. Une approche prudente est donc de mise.

 

Cas 3

Une femme de 43 ans souffre de fibromyalgie et n'a aucun omnipraticien. Elle se présente au Service d'urgence de temps à autre pour des traitements.

Après avoir rencontré la patiente plus d'une fois, l'urgentologue lui suggère d'obtenir de l'aide pour sa douleur chronique auprès d'une clinique de méthadone. Quelques temps plus tard, lors d'une autre visite, le médecin lui dit qu'il ne peut plus renouveler ses médicaments au Service d'urgence parce qu'il a appris qu'elle voyait un autre médecin et qu'elle insistait pour obtenir des renouvellements pour une plus longue période. Par la suite, la patiente dépose une plainte au Collège. Le Collège a jugé que la décision éventuelle du médecin de cesser de renouveler ses médicaments ainsi que sa suggestion de trouver un endroit plus approprié pour le suivi étaient les approches pertinentes dans les circonstances.

Le fait d'avoir une approche trop conciliante face aux demandes de renouvellement d'opioïdes, au Service d'urgence ou à une clinique sans rendez-vous, peut avoir des conséquences désastreuses.

 

Cas 4

Un homme de 40 ans se présente à une clinique sans rendez-vous pour des douleurs lombaires chroniques et demande de renouveler une ordonnance de timbres de fentanyl.

Il dit que son propre médecin est en congé. Le médecin qui voit le patient à la clinique sans rendez-vous lui remet une ordonnance pour 10 timbres. Quelques heures plus tard, cet homme est retrouvé mort; il a extrait et s'est injecté le fentanyl. Sa conjointe dépose une plainte au Collège. Le Collège a reconnu qu'il peut être difficile, en particulier les fins de semaine ou en-dehors des heures régulières, de joindre un omnipraticien pour confirmer les renseignements au sujet d'un patient. Cependant, le médecin aurait été alerté à la possibilité d'un problème s'il avait consulté le programme d'information des médicaments d'ordonnances de la province du patient; il aurait su que ce patient avait reçu, trois semaines plus tôt, une ordonnance pour 60 jours. Le Collège a aussi déclaré que les patients devraient être informés des risques associés aux timbres de fentanyl et de tout usage des timbres autre que l'application cutanée.

Les membres qui travaillent en cliniques sans rendez-vous ou aux services d'urgence appellent souvent l'Association pour demander s'ils peuvent refuser de fournir des renouvellements d'opioïdes. Tel que mentionné dans le premier cas, la décision de prescrire revient ultimement au médecin. Si le médecin décide de fournir des renouvellements, il serait prudent qu'il ne prescrive qu'une petite quantité suffisante pour couvrir la période de vacances ou la fin de semaine, jusqu'à ce que le patient puisse communiquer avec son prescripteur habituel. Le médecin devrait se méfier en particulier de tout patient qui ne peut identifier son prescripteur. Les membres ont également demandé s'il était possible pour eux d'afficher un avis indiquant qu'ils ne prescrivent pas d'opioïdes. Les établissements de soins qui envisagent d'afficher ce genre d'avis devraient considérer les avantages et les inconvénients d'une telle démarche. Si des avis sont affichés, les médecins ne devraient pas exclure la prescription d'opioïdes lorsqu'ils déterminent que ce médicament s'avère le traitement de choix.

Malheureusement, certaines personnes ayant une accoutumance aux opioïdes ne reculent devant rien pour se procurer ces médicaments. Les membres peuvent trouver des renseignements utiles sur les précautions qui s'imposent concernant le mauvais usage des ordonnances d'opioïdes dans les lignes directrices en vigueur au Canada. Les problèmes de fraude en matière d'ordonnances sont passés en revue dans l'article « Comment réagir à la fraude en matière d'ordonnances » publié sur le site cmpa-acpm.ca. La fraude en matière d'ordonnances et les comportements agressifs ou abusifs sont des manifestations courantes de la perte de confiance dans la relation médecin-patient. Les membres qui doivent faire face à la tâche difficile de mettre fin à cette relation peuvent consulter l'article « Mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient » publié sur le site cmpa-acpm.ca. Ils devraient aussi consulter la politique du Collège en lien avec ce sujet.

Les membres de l'ACPM qui auraient d'autres questions sur cet enjeu sont invités à communiquer avec l'Association pour obtenir des conseils.


 

Ressources et références :

National Opioid User Guideline Group, National Pain Centre, McMaster University, « Canadian Guideline for Safe and Effective Use of Opioids for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain », 30 avril 2010. Consulté le 20 décembre 2011, http://nationalpaincentre.mcmaster.ca/opioid/

Collège des médecins du Québec, « Douleur chronique et opioïdes : l'essentiel ». Consulté le 20 décembre 2011, http://www.cmq.org/fr/Public/Profil/Commun/AProposOrdre/ Publications/~/media/75D08BE5562E45199E184536F9371876.ashx?sc_lang=fr-CA&71028

  1. Dhalla, I.A., Mamdani, M.M., Sivilotti, M.L.A., Kopp, S., Qureshi, O., Juurlink, D.N. « Prescribing of opioid analgesics and related mortality before and after the introduction of long-acting oxycodone ». Canadian Medical Association Journal (2009) Vol.181, no 12 p. 891-896.
  2. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, Politique no 1-09 « Accepting New Patients », avril 2009. Consulté le 15 février 2012, http://www.cpso.on.ca/policies/policies/default.aspx?ID=2506.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.