Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

The enduring value of trust — Professionalism with patients and families

Originally published October 2012
P1204-2-E

Trust, loyalty, and honesty are the foundations of a good doctor-patient relationship and of professionalism in the practice of medicine. Applying these values in everyday practice can be, at times, a challenge for physicians.

How do physicians demonstrate to patients and their families the high standard of professionalism that is expected of them, particularly when faced with difficult and often highly stressful situations?

Trust and loyalty

The requirements of the Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics and the Collége des Médecins du Québec Code of Ethics of Physicians define the general responsibilities of physicians. In addition to the provision of clinical care, this may include initiating and dissolving a doctor-patient relationship, effectively communicating treatment and care options, and protecting privacy and confidentiality.

The special relationship of trust between physicians and their patients, known as a fiduciary relationship, requires that physicians always act in their patients' best interests. In order to uphold the required standards of professionalism, physicians must maintain appropriate boundaries — a professional distance — with patients. Professional conduct for physicians includes maintaining appropriate relationships with patients, as well as setting limits on the nature of relationships with patients, on accepting gifts, and on treating one's family members and friends.

Given the unique situations in which physicians can find themselves, determining appropriate boundaries may not always be straightforward. When in doubt, physicians can obtain guidance from medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) or the CMPA.

Courts have long recognized that the doctor-patient relationship is built on trust; this relationship of trust is recognized as fiduciary duty. Physicians must act in good faith and demonstrate loyalty toward the patient, never placing their personal interest ahead of the patient's.

Honesty

Physicians should take care to be honest in their communications with patients and families. However, there are many situations in which these communications will necessarily be difficult, both for the physician and the patient (and family). The skills that enable effective communications in positive circumstances are not necessarily sufficient to fulfill the full range of requirements during more difficult clinical scenarios.

Accordingly, physicians should develop skills in interviewing patients, breaking bad news, or denying a request for an unnecessary diagnostic test.

Physicians must also be honest with patients when it comes to clinical research. In fact, the ethical principles governing clinical care and research can be fundamentally distinct. If doctors clearly tell patients that the goal of clinical research is not primarily to optimize their clinical care but to advance knowledge for the benefit of future patients, then both patients and doctors will have a more transparent view of research. In this way, patients may be viewed as partners in the process of advancing medical knowledge.1

Honesty and compassion are also essential when disclosing harm from healthcare delivery to patients. Despite a physician's best efforts, poor clinical outcomes, including adverse events (accidents in Québec), can happen. Disclosure is the process by which an adverse event is communicated to the patient. Physicians and other healthcare providers have ethical, professional, and legal obligations to disclose adverse events. Disclosure is more likely to be effective when the physician possesses the necessary communication skills related to content, manner, and listening.

  • Content refers to the words, tone, and presentation of facts.
  • Manner refers to the physician's appearance and demeanour, and attentiveness to the patient's needs.
  • Effective listening includes sensitivity to language barriers, checking that the patient appears to have a good understanding of the situation, and responding to questions.

Physicians should disclose adverse events to patients as soon as it is reasonable to do so, and details from the disclosure discussion should be documented in the medical record. Following harm from healthcare delivery, patients have clinical, emotional, and information needs. The initial disclosure should focus on the clinical situation and mitigating harm. Discussions should be limited to the facts and should avoid speculation. After an appropriate analysis, additional facts related to the reasons for the harm should be discussed with the patient. Physicians are encouraged to provide an appropriate apology at every disclosure meeting. Patients and families will wish to learn of safety improvements to prevent similar events, if possible.

The CMPA has published extensively on effective disclosure (see Communicating with your patient about harm: Disclosure of adverse events) and members are encouraged to contact the Association for advice.

Respect

Physicians demonstrate their professionalism when they show respect for their patients and families. Lengthy waits at the doctor's office, rushed appointments, and interruptions can all be interpreted by patients as signs of disrespect. While unexpected situations and complex patients can be difficult to plan for, physicians should follow good practices in appointment scheduling. Physicians should also recognize that, while they may see many patients in the course of a single day, each of these patients is individually assessing the manner in which they have been treated, both clinically and professionally.

One way a growing number of physicians manage their appointment schedules is by implementing a one-problem-per-visit policy. Some patients may see this practice as disrespectful, which may further expose doctors to medico-legal difficulties. Although physicians are trained to listen carefully to a patient's health concerns, the risk of not detecting serious health problems may increase if patients feel constrained when speaking with their physician. Patients should be allowed sufficient time to describe fully the reasons for the visit. Following this, doctors should prioritize the problem list and arrange appropriate follow-up visits, as required.

Responding to third party requests is another important way physicians demonstrate respect. Completing medical reports for insurers, lawyers, or other third parties on behalf of patients is important, and is a sign of professionalism. If the patient has authorized the release of the information, and the physician has information required for the report, then a timely, clear, and factual report should be provided. If circumstances preclude a prompt response, physicians should send a reply acknowledging receipt of the request and an indication as to when a full report can be expected. Physicians should indicate in advance the fees that will be applicable to complete such a report.

Conflict

Most physicians experience difficult doctor-patient relationships at some point in their practices and may occasionally feel it necessary to end such a relationship. In these circumstances, physicians are ethically permitted to end a doctor-patient relationship provided the patient does not need urgent or emergent care, and the patient is given adequate notice to find another physician. In Québec, a physician is also required to have reasonable and just cause to end the relationship. Human rights legislation, College policies, and codes of ethics that prohibit discrimination in the provision of medical services may also affect a physician's ability to terminate a doctor-patient relationship.

Conflict in a doctor-patient relationship can stem from many sources including, but not limited to, inappropriate or threatening patient behaviour, unfounded expectations of clinical outcomes, or a patient's provision of deliberately misleading information. Physician factors, for example poor communication or a chronically late medical office, can also lead to conflict with patients. As a professional, it is the physician's responsibility to manage the conflict in a way that demonstrates compassion and respect — and that does not open the physician to potential medico-legal difficulties. In most cases, physicians will want to resolve challenging patient relationships by understanding the reasons behind a patient's behaviour.

In keeping with good practice, physicians are reminded to examine their communication style, attitudes, conduct, office practices, and other factors that might negatively impact their rapport with patients. Physicians may find it beneficial to enlist help from colleagues. Behaving professionally with patients and families can also help to minimize conflict and contribute to quality care.

If desired by both parties, a damaged doctor-patient relationship can be successfully restored, even after a patient has complained to a hospital or College. Communicating openly and honestly, clarifying mutual expectations, and setting ground rules for moving forward can contribute toward rebuilding a trusting and effective connection between doctor and patient. Seeking feedback from patients and families may also help to strengthen the doctor-patient relationship.

Emerging issues

Several factors are changing the dynamics that have characterized the physician-patient relationship; many of these deal with the changing expectations of patients. The fiduciary relationship between a physician and his or her patient has long been founded, in part, on the imbalance in relevant knowledge between the 2 parties. However, through their access to a wide range of sources, patients now have more information about medical conditions, diagnoses, and procedures. Some patients are now better informed about their clinical conditions and care options, while others possess incomplete or inaccurate information.

The proliferation of information may also be contributing to unrealistic expectations about clinical outcomes. While a fictional television depiction of a certain procedure or media reporting of improved clinical results do not make such outcomes applicable in every case, they do serve to raise patient expectations. These potentially unrealistic expectations have implications for the physician-patient relationship and, should the outcomes not be achieved, could create possible medico-legal exposures.

Expanding channels of communication also introduce new possibilities and risks for physicians. Electronic health records, email, web portals, smartphones, and tablets are just some of the tools that result in both challenges and opportunities for doctors. As these technologies evolve, physicians will be faced with new prospects to help deliver superior and safe patient care. Professionalism requires physicians to ensure that any patient or situation cannot be identified by the sum of information available online.2 Medical professionalism in the virtual world will be strengthened by physicians' commitment to confidentiality and privacy.

The influence of social media will also introduce new complexities in the physician-patient relationship. Social networking services such as Facebook are expected to grow and physicians will have to assess the potential benefits and risks of these social utilities. While social media undoubtedly enhances connections among people, physicians must be cautious in their use of this technology and should be guided by their continued commitment to confidentiality and privacy. Physicians should assess the potential benefits and know the risks associated with social media and other new technologies. Doctors may be surprised by how easily accessible and durable their online information is.3 Many Colleges have guidelines on the use of social media. CMPA members can also read the article, "Technology unleashed — The evolution of online communication" recently published by the Association.

The CMPA case files indicate that 89% of closed cases related to professionalism are College cases, and the majority of these result in an unfavourable outcome for the physician. Some of the physician behaviours identified in these cases include unprofessional comments, lack of sensitivity, a dismissive or demeaning tone, and angry outbursts. CMPA members are encouraged to reflect on their communication style and behaviours with patients.

Concluding thoughts

Professionalism with patients and families involves both concrete actions such as developing knowledge and skills in the doctor-patient relationship, and demonstrating important characteristics such as trustworthiness, honesty, and respect. Physicians should disclose adverse events to patients, and should consider apologizing when appropriate. In this respect, doctors are encouraged to reflect on professionalism from the point of view of patients and families.

Physicians are also encouraged to recognize that patient expectations, be it of clinical outcomes, communications, or medical information, are changing. Physicians need to consider how this impacts their practice and their relationships with patients. Doctors are also advised to recognize that professionalism transcends merely responding to patient wishes. In denying requests for unnecessary diagnostic tests or refusing to renew inappropriate prescriptions, physicians can rely on their commitment to professional standards and ethics to guide their decision-making. In this respect, as in many others, the principles of professionalism are more than rules to be followed; they set the parameters to guide informed judgment.


References

  1. Truog, R., "Patients and doctors – The evolution of a relationship," New England Journal of Medicine (2012) Vol. 355, no.7 p.583-584
  2. Australian Medical Association Council of Doctors-in-Training, New Zealand Medical Association Doctors-in-Training Council, New Zealand Medical Students' Association, Australian Medical Students' Association, "Social Medical and the Medical Profession: A guide to online professionalism for medical practitioners and medical students". 2010. Page 3. Retrieved July 2012 from: http://ama.com.au/socialmedia
  3. Ibid., 7

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

La confiance inhérente au professionnalisme : une valeur qui a toujours la cote chez les patients et leur famille

Publié initialement en octobre 2012
P1204-2-F

La confiance, la fidélité et la franchise sont les fondements d'une bonne relation entre le médecin et son patient, ainsi que du professionnalisme dans l'exercice de la médecine. Cependant, l'application de ces valeurs à sa pratique au jour le jour peut parfois représenter un défi de taille pour les médecins.

Comment les médecins peuvent-ils donc faire preuve du haut de gré de professionnalisme que l'on attend d'eux envers leurs patients et leur famille, en particulier lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à des situations difficiles et souvent assorties d'un niveau de stress élevé?

Confiance et fidélité

Les exigences du Code de déontologie de l'AMC et du Code de déontologie des médecins du Collège des médecins du Québec définissent les responsabilités générales des médecins. En outre de la prestation des soins cliniques, ces responsabilités peuvent comprendre l'établissement et l'interruption d'une relation entre le médecin et son patient, la description efficace des options quant aux soins et aux traitements et la protection de la vie privée et de la confidentialité.

Le lien de confiance spécial qui se crée entre le médecin et son patient, également appelé relation fiduciaire, exige des médecins qu'ils agissent toujours en tenant compte des intérêts fondamentaux de leurs patients. Pour personnifier les normes de professionnalisme qu'on attend d'eux, les médecins doivent éviter de franchir certaines barrières – une distance professionnelle, en quelque sorte – avec leurs patients. Pour un médecin, se conduire en professionnel veut dire entretenir une relation appropriée avec ses patients, en plus d'établir des limites quant à la nature de cette relation, à l'acceptation de cadeaux et au traitement de membres de leur famille et de leurs amis.

Étant donné les situations uniques dans lesquelles se trouvent de nombreux médecins, il n'est pas toujours simple de savoir comment imposer ces limites. En cas de doute, les médecins peuvent demander conseil à leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ou à l'ACPM.

Les tribunaux reconnaissent depuis longtemps que la relation entre le médecin et ses patients repose sur la confiance; ce lien de confiance entre les deux parties est en fait une obligation fiduciaire. Les médecins doivent être de bonne foi et fidèles envers leurs patients, et se garder de placer leurs intérêts personnels avant ceux du patient.

Franchise

Les médecins doivent faire preuve de franchise dans leurs contacts avec les patients et leur famille. Cependant, il y a de nombreuses situations où ces contacts seront nécessairement difficiles, tant pour le médecin que pour le patient (et sa famille). Les compétences qui permettent aux médecins de communiquer efficacement dans des circonstances plus heureuses ne suffisent effectivement pas toujours à répondre aux nombreux besoins qui se présentent quand la situation clinique est plus difficile. Les médecins devraient donc développer des habiletés utiles pour les discussions avec leurs patients, annoncer une mauvaise nouvelle ou refuser une demande pour un examen diagnostic injustifié.

Les médecins doivent également parler franchement aux patients dans le contexte des recherches cliniques. En fait, les principes éthiques qui régissent les soins et la recherche cliniques peuvent être diamétralement opposés. Les patients et les médecins auront une vision plus transparente de la recherche si les médecins expliquent clairement aux patients que la recherche clinique n'a pas pour objectif premier d'optimiser leurs soins, mais bien d'améliorer les connaissances du sujet, pour que d'autres patients à l'avenir puissent en profiter. Dans cette optique, les patients peuvent être considérés en tant que partenaires du progrès de la médecine.1

La franchise et la compassion sont également indispensables au moment de divulguer un événement indésirable qui tire son origine des soins prodigués. Même si le médecin a fait tout ce qu'il fallait, il arrive parfois qu'un résultat défavorable, dont un événement indésirable (accident au Québec) survienne. On entend par divulgation le processus selon lequel un événement indésirable est signalé au patient. Les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé sont tenus de divulguer ces événements indésirables en raison de leurs obligations déontologiques, professionnelles et juridiques. Cette divulgation est plus susceptible d'être efficace si le médecin possède les habiletés de communication nécessaires quant au contenu, à la méthode et aux capacités d'écoute.

  • Le contenu désigne les termes choisis, le ton et la façon de présenter des faits.
  • La méthode désigne l'apparence du médecin et son comportement, ainsi que l'attention qu'il porte aux besoins du patient.
  • Les capacités d'écoute efficace englobent la prise en compte des barrières linguistiques, la vérification de la compréhension du patient et la réponse aux questions.

Les médecins doivent divulguer à leurs patients tout événement indésirable aussi tôt qu'il est raisonnable de le faire, et tous les détails sur cette discussion doivent être consignés au dossier médical. Après avoir subi un préjudice causé par la prestation des soins, les patients ont des besoins cliniques et émotionnels et doivent être bien renseignés. La divulgation initiale doit graviter autour de la situation clinique et de l'atténuation de tout préjudice. Le médecin doit s'en tenir aux faits et éviter de spéculer. Après une analyse appropriée des faits qui expliquent le préjudice, il doit en discuter avec son patient. Il est souhaitable que le médecin présente des excuses appropriées lors de toute discussion de cette nature. Les patients et leur famille voudront connaître les améliorations que le médecin aura apportées à ses soins en vue de les rendre plus sécuritaires et d'éviter des événements semblables à l'avenir, dans la mesure du possible.

L'ACPM a publié de nombreux articles sur la divulgation efficace (voir en particulier La communication avec le patient lors d'un préjudice : divulgation d'événements indésirables). L'Association invite ses membres à communiquer avec elle s'ils ont besoin de conseils.

Respect

Les médecins font preuve de professionnalisme en témoignant du respect à la fois envers leurs patients et leur famille. Les patients peuvent interpréter les longues périodes d'attente dans leur salle d'attente, les rendez-vous accélérés et les interruptions en tant que manque de respect. Bien qu'il soit difficile de prévoir les situations inattendues et le déroulement d'un rendez-vous avec des patients dont le cas est complexe, les médecins devraient tout de même respecter les bonnes pratiques de prise de rendez-vous. Les médecins doivent également être conscients que chaque patient qu'ils reçoivent dans leur cabinet en une journée porte un jugement sur la façon dont il a été traité, tant sur le plan clinique que professionnel, alors qu'eux-mêmes voient de nombreux patients au cours de la journée.

De plus en plus de médecins adoptent cependant la politique d'« un problème par visite » pour arriver à gérer leur calendrier de rendez-vous. Or, certains patients pourraient estimer que cette pratique est un manque d'égard envers les patients, ce qui peut constituer une nouvelle source de problèmes médico-légaux pour les médecins. Bien que les médecins soient formés pour écouter attentivement leurs patients afin de relever leurs inquiétudes par rapport à leur santé, le risque que de graves problèmes passent inaperçus peut augmenter si les patients se sentent sous l'effet de la contrainte lorsqu'ils parlent à leur médecin. Il faut donc accorder suffisament de temps aux patients pour qu'ils puissent décrire en détail les motifs de la visite. Une fois qu'ils ont reçu la description des problèmes, les médecins devraient les classer en ordre de priorité et organiser des visites de suivi appropriées, s'il y a lieu de le faire.

Répondre à des demandes de tiers est un autre moyen important pour les médecins de faire preuve de respect. En effet, remplir des rapports médicaux au nom de leurs patients à la demande d'assureurs, d'avocats ou d'autres tiers est un geste important et un signe de professionnalisme. Si le patient a autorisé la divulgation de l'information et si le médecin possède l'information requise pour établir le rapport, le principe du professionalisme dicte qu'un rapport clair et factuel soit établi sans délai. Si les circonstances empêchent le médecin de le faire, ce dernier devrait accuser réception de la demande et préciser dans sa réponse quand le demandeur peut s'attendre de recevoir le rapport entier. Les médecins doivent également indiquer à l'avance quels sont les frais applicables à la rédaction du rapport.

Conflits

Tôt ou tard, la plupart des médecins doivent composer avec une relation difficile avec un patient en particulier, puis, à l'occasion, juger nécessaire de mettre fin à la relation. Dans ces circonstances, mettre fin à la relation entre le médecin et son patient ne constitue pas une entorse aux principes de la déontologie, à condition que le patient n'ait pas besoin de soins urgents ou émergents et qu'il ait reçu un préavis dans un délai raisonnable pour se trouver un autre médecin. Au Québec, un médecin est tenu d'avoir un motif raisonnable et justifié pour mettre fin à la relation. Les lois sur les droits de la personne, les politiques des divers collèges et les codes de déontologie, qui interdisent tous la discrimination dans la prestation de services médicaux, peuvent aussi empêcher les médecins de mettre fin à une relation conflictuelle avec un patient.

Ces conflits peuvent avoir de nombreuses origines, y compris, sans s'y limiter, un comportement inacceptable ou menaçant du patient, des attentes non fondées envers les résultats cliniques ou la communication intentionnelle par le patient de renseignements inexacts. Des facteurs liés au médecin, par exemple, des communications inefficaces ou des retards chroniques dans son cabinet, peuvent également engendrer des conflits avec les patients. Le médecin, en qualité de professionnel, est responsable de gérer le conflit tout en affichant empathie et respect et d'éviter qu'il dégénère en l'exposant à des difficultés médico-légales éventuelles. Dans la plupart des cas, il est conseillé de tenter de désamorcer les relations conflictuelles en cherchant à savoir pourquoi un patient agit comme il le fait.

Selon les règles des bonnes pratiques, les médecins ne doivent pas perdre de vue leur style de communication, leur comportement, les pratiques de leur cabinet et d'autres facteurs qui pourraient avoir un effet néfaste sur la qualité de leur relation avec leurs patients. Pour ce faire, les médecins pourraient juger utile de demander l'aide de leurs collègues. En agissant selon les principes du professionnalisme avec les patients et leur famille, les médecins peuvent à la fois réduire le risque de conflits et améliorer la qualité des soins.

Si chaque partie y met du sien, une relation écorchée entre le médecin et son patient peut être rétablie, même après qu'un patient se soit plaint auprès d'un hôpital ou d'un Collège. Des communications ouvertes et franches, la clarification des attentes mutuelles et l'établissement de règles de base pour l'avenir peuvent tous rétablir la confiance et un lien fonctionnel entre le médecin et son patient. Le fait de demander leur avis aux patients et à leur famille peut également contribuer à renforcer la relation entre le médecin et son patient.

Les problèmes émergents

Plusieurs facteurs modifient la dynamique qui caractérisait autrefois la relation entre le médecin et son patient, dont nombre sont rattachés aux nouvelles attentes des patients.

La relation fiduciaire entre un médecin et son patient a longtemps été caractérisée en partie par le déséquilibre entre les connaissances médicales de chacun. Toutefois, les patients sont maintenant mieux renseignés au sujet de leur affection médicale, de leurs diagnostics et des interventions possibles, puisqu'ils ont accès à une vaste gamme de ressources. Certains patients sont maintenant mieux renseignés au sujet de leur état de santé et des options qui s'offrent à eux en matière de soins, tandis que d'autres trouvent des renseignements incomplets ou inexacts.

La prolifération de l'information pourrait également contribuer à des attentes irréalistes quant aux résultats cliniques. La représentation d'une certaine intervention dans une émission de télévision fictive ou un reportage dans les médias sur une percée qui améliore les résultats cliniques sont loin de garantir que ces résultats s'appliquent à toutes les situations. Par contre, il ne fait aucun doute qu'ils contribuent à augmenter les attentes des patients. Ces attentes, qui risquent d'être irréalistes, ont des répercussions sur la relation entre le médecin et son patient et exposent le médecin à des risques médico-légaux si le patient n'obtient pas les résultats souhaités.

L'augmentation du nombre de voies de communication amène également de nouvelles possibilités et de nouveaux risques pour les médecins. Les dossiers de santé électroniques, le courriel, les portails web, les téléphones intelligents et les tablettes ne sont que quelques exemples d'outils qui représentent à la fois des difficultés et des outils pratiques pour les médecins. À mesure de l'évolution de ces technologies, les médecins devront s'adapter à de nouvelles façons de faire pour offrir des soins supérieurs et sécuritaires à leurs patients. Pour observer les principes du professionnalisme, les médecins devront s'assurer qu'un patient ou une situation ne puisse pas être identifié par la somme des renseignements qui se trouvent en ligne.2 Dans le monde virtuel, le professionnalisme médical sera renforcé par l'engagement des médecins envers la confidentialité et la protection des renseignements personnels.

L'influence des médias sociaux amènera également son lot de nouveaux défis dans la relation entre le médecin et son patient. Les sites de réseaux sociaux comme Facebook devraient continuer d'attirer des utilisateurs, et les médecins auront à peser les risques par rapport aux avantages de l'utilisation de ces outils. Bien qu'il ne fasse aucun doute que les médias sociaux améliorent les relations entre les gens, les médecins doivent jouer de prudence en utilisant cette technologie et garder à l'esprit leur engagement continu envers la confidentialité et la protection des renseignements personnels. Les médecins doivent également peser les avantages potentiels et les risques assortis aux médias sociaux et aux autres technologies émergentes. De nombreux médecins seraient surpris de savoir à quel point les renseignements qu'ils publient en ligne sont facilement accessibles et durent longtemps.3 De nombreux collèges ont instauré des lignes directrices sur l'utilisation des médias sociaux. Les membres de l'ACPM peuvent également consulter l'article intitulé « Croissance effrénée de la technologie – L'évolution des communications en ligne » récemment publié par l'Association.

Les dossiers de cas de l'ACPM indiquent que 89 % des dossiers conclus sur le professionnalisme mettaient en cause un collège, et que la majorité de ces derniers se sont soldés par un résultat défavorable pour le médecin. Ces dossiers font état de comportements de la part des médecins comme des commentaires indignes de la profession, un manque de délicatesse, un ton indifférent ou condescendant et des débordements de colère. L'ACPM invite ses membres à se pencher sur leur style de communication et à la façon dont ils agissent avec leurs patients.

Conclusion

Les principes du professionnalisme devant les patients et leur famille comprennent à la fois des mesures concrètes, comme développer des connaissances et des habiletés dans le cadre de la relation et aspirer à des qualités importantes comme la confiance, la franchise et le respect. Les médecins doivent divulguer les événements indésirables aux patients et songer à présenter leurs excuses, si la situation s'y prête. À cet égard, les médecins devraient essayer de considérer le professionnalisme selon la perspective des patients et de leur famille.

Ils devraient également garder à l'esprit que les attentes des patients, que ce soit envers les résultats cliniques, les communications ou les renseignements, évoluent constamment. Les médecins doivent songer aux répercussions de ces changements sur leur pratique et leurs relations avec leurs patients.

Les médecins seraient également avisés de reconnaître que le professionnalisme va bien au-delà de la réponse aux demandes des patients. En effet, si la situation exige de refuser des demandes de tests diagnostics inutiles ou de renouveler une ordonnance inadéquate, les médecins peuvent se référer aux normes qui régissent la profession et à leur code de déontologie pour prendre leur décision. Dans ces situations comme dans bien d'autres, les principes du professionnalisme sont bien plus que des règles à respecter : ils établissent les balises d'un jugement éclairé.


Références

  1. Truog, R., « Patients and doctors – The evolution of a relationship », New England Journal of Medicine (2012), vol. 355, no 7 p.583-584
  2. Council of Doctors-in-Training de l'Australian Medical Association, Doctors-in-Training Council de la New Zealand Medical Association, New Zealand Medical Students' Association et Australian Medical Students' Association, « Social Medical and the Medical Profession: A guide to online professionalism for medical practitioners and medical students ». 2010. Page 3. Extrait en juillet 2012 à l'adresse : http://ama.com.au/socialmedia
  3. Ibid., 7

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.