Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

The engaged and empowered patient

Originally published August 2012
W12-004-E

Today's physicians recognize that many patients are making their well-being a priority and are often taking a more active role in managing their healthcare. Physicians should be aware of the medico-legal implications of this rise in patient engagement and of the accompanying physician accountabilities.

Patient engagement in their own healthcare

In September 2011, the Health Council of Canada (HCC) released a report on patient engagement in primary care.1 This research found that about half of Canadians feel involved and are actively participating in their healthcare. The report noted that engaged patients are happier with their care and more likely to participate in disease prevention, screenings, and health promotion activities.

Many patients want to be engaged in their own healthcare. These patients take an interest in their health, come to appointments with clear questions and concerns, are involved in their care plan, and adhere to agreed upon recommended tests and treatments. The growth of the Internet and the increasing promotion of good health have helped prompt and facilitate this engagement. Patients may carry out their own research on relevant health topics and seek in-depth explanations from their primary care and specialist physicians.

Physicians treating engaged and informed patients can usually work effectively with their patients to identify and achieve desired health goals and outcomes. If patients present with incomplete or inaccurate information, it is important for doctors to present the facts, address misinformation, and answer questions.

Patient rights and patient charters

Recognizing the increasing number of engaged and empowered patients, many healthcare organizations have developed statements about patients' rights and responsibilities. For patients, knowing and understanding their rights and responsibilities can help to make relationships with healthcare providers mutually beneficial. Patient rights often relate to treatment with respect, privacy, confidentiality, standards of care, and participation in decision-making. Patient responsibilities relate to providing complete information, keeping appointments, complying with the treatment plan, and following rules and guidelines about patient conduct.

In all Canadian jurisdictions, patients have the right to make decisions about their own health. Specifically, patients have the right to ask questions about their healthcare, and seek second opinions, if desired.

Physicians should know and respect patient rights and be aware of patient charters. Doctors may wish to discuss their approach to patient engagement and clarify areas of responsibility with their patients. When both parties meet their responsibilities, the likelihood of successful outcomes and satisfied patients grows.

Access and time with patients

Patients rely on timely access to healthcare to address their health needs. The Health Council of Canada report on patient engagement found the biggest barrier to patient engagement is time, and those patients with long waits or who felt they didn't have enough time with their doctor did not feel as engaged in their care.2

While patients recognize that waiting is often inevitable, they should be kept informed of any changes to the waiting period. Physicians should therefore be aware of their wait lists and actively manage these. Physicians remain responsible to place patients in the queue and to adjust that placement based on changing clinical priorities. The need to make reasonable attempts to manage the queue so it adapts to patients' changing clinical needs cannot be overstated. This requires telling patients how to recognize symptoms that indicate they need further medical attention. For more details, see the CMPA's publication, Wait times — a medical liability perspective.

Patients and families want and deserve sufficient time with their doctors. This includes time to follow up on current health issues, as well as time to discuss concerns or to ask questions. Physicians are encouraged to give patients the opportunity to express their health concerns, and use their clinical judgment to decide which health concerns could be deferred to a subsequent visit. While physicians need to be effective time managers today more than ever, they should always be respectful and diplomatic in their approach with patients.

Some physicians attempt to manage their time by limiting patients to one medical issue per visit. They communicate this to patients by posting signs in their offices or placing notices on their websites. This approach, however, has the potential to raise other problems and expose physicians to medico-legal risks and to complaints to medical regulatory authorities (Colleges). Colleges in a number of provinces have advised against this practice. Even though physicians are trained to be on the alert for urgent or emerging health issues while attending to patients, the risk of not detecting serious health problems may increase if patients are limited to one issue per visit. The risk may also increase if a patient misunderstands the reasons for placing limits and perceives such a policy to be rigid or insensitive.

Informed consent

Empowered patients will want to understand the risks and benefits of diagnostic investigations and treatments, including alternative therapeutic options, before consenting. The explanation given by the doctor, and the dialogue between doctor and patient about the proposed treatment, are important elements of the consent process. The consent form is complementary to the explanations given and is a written confirmation that the patient agreed to what was proposed. The CMPA recommends that members familiarize themselves with its guide on consent, Consent: A guide for Canadian physicians, as it outlines the obligations associated with consent.

Patient safety issues

Empowered patients are more likely aware of patient safety issues, including the importance of managing medication, controlling and preventing infection, and avoiding falls.

Moreover, engaged patients understand the value of informed consent, reporting incidents and near misses, as well as the importance of disclosing an adverse event. Physicians should be mindful of this, and follow the CMPA's advice on how to communicate with patients if an unanticipated poor clinical outcome has occurred during care. Doctors can access the CMPA's publication, Communicating with your patient about harm: Disclosure of adverse events.

Online support to patients

The growth of health websites and electronic health records are adding to patients' awareness and heightened expectations of digital information and communications. Physicians should seek to understand what their patients' expectations are of electronic communication (e.g. email, health information on physician websites, health portals), and determine how best to meet patient needs while managing the privacy requirements set by legislation and the Colleges. Physicians should be aware of privacy legislation and inform patients about the use of technology in their practice. The CMPA website has more information and guidance on protecting patient health information in an electronic environment, such as the article, "Privacy and a wired world – Protecting patient health information".

Patient advocacy

Patient engagement is also evident when groups of patients become involved in service delivery planning or in advocating for more resources. Patients may solicit physician involvement in advocacy work, recognizing the influence and profile a medical professional can bring to a specific issue. While doctors often want to support their patients, advocacy can place physicians in a precarious situation with health authorities or hospitals. The CMPA believes doctors should advocate for the interests of patients, while being cognizant that inappropriate or overzealous advocacy may be disruptive to the provision of care.

Patient engagement at the system level

In many cases, successful programming is based on patient and community involvement and needs-based planning. Patient advisory groups can also help to plan, develop, implement, and evaluate health services. Where appropriate, physicians should encourage patients to take an active role in health services planning. Doctors should try to be familiar with opportunities for patient engagement.

Patients can also engage in system-level activities, for example, by providing input and helping to plan broader community health services or health policy. In 2011, the Health Council of Canada hosted a widely-attended national symposium on patient engagement and indicated that such engagement is crucial to the future of the healthcare system. The HCC also noted that engaging patients in planning and designing healthcare services is an important means to improving the quality of care and to strengthening accountability in the system.3

By working with patients in health systems planning and in appropriate quality improvement initiatives, physicians play a central role as health system leaders. Together, patients and physicians can be a force for change and contribute positively to a high quality healthcare system.

Contact the CMPA

Physicians value patient engagement and empowerment. Engaged patients generally contribute positively and productively to their own healthcare and to the healthcare system. At the same time, patient engagement can add to the already complex healthcare environment in which members practise. Members should not hesitate to contact the Association for advice. CMPA medical officers, physicians with extensive medico-legal experience, can provide guidance on specific cases or general issues.


  1. Health Council of Canada. "How Engaged are Canadians in their Primary Care?" September 2011. Retrieved June 2012 from: http://www.healthcouncilcanada.ca/rpt_det_gen.php?id=148&rf=2
  2. Ibid., 10
  3. Health Council of Canada. "Turning what we know into action: A commentary on the National Symposium on Patient Engagement." 2012. Retrieved June 2012 from: http://www.healthcouncilcanada.ca/rpt_det_gen.php?id=321

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Le patient responsabilisé qui prend part à ses soins

Publié initialement en août 2012
W12-004-F

Les médecins d'aujourd'hui reconnaissent que de nombreux patients mettent leur bien-être en priorité et jouent souvent un rôle plus actif dans la gestion de leurs soins de santé. Les médecins doivent être conscients des répercussions médico-légales de la participation accrue des patients, ainsi que de leurs responsabilités afférentes.

La participation du patient envers ses soins de santé

En septembre 2011, le Conseil canadien de la santé (CCS) publiait un rapport sur la participation des patients dans les soins primaires.1 Cette recherche a démontré qu'environ la moitié des Canadiens se sentent impliqués dans leurs soins de santé et y participent activement. Le rapport précise que les patients qui prennent part à leurs soins sont plus satisfaits, et davantage enclins à participer à la prévention et au dépistage des maladies, ainsi qu'aux activités de promotion de la santé.

Nombreux sont les patients qui veulent participer à leurs soins de santé. Ces patients s'intéressent à leur santé, se présentent aux rendez-vous avec des préoccupations et des questions précises, participent à leur plan de soins et donnent suite aux examens et aux traitements recommandés dont ils ont convenu avec leur médecin. La croissance d'Internet et le regain de la promotion d'une bonne santé ont contribué à susciter et à favoriser une telle participation. Les patients peuvent effectuer leurs propres recherches sur des sujets de santé pertinents et obtenir des explications détaillées auprès de leur médecin de soins primaires et de spécialistes.

Les médecins traitant des patients informés qui prennent part à leurs soins peuvent généralement travailler de façon efficace avec eux en vue de déterminer et d'atteindre les buts et les résultats désirés en matière de santé. Si un patient se présente avec des renseignements incomplets ou erronés, il importe que le médecin énonce les faits, corrige toute information erronée, et réponde aux questions.

Droits et chartes des patients

Reconnaissant le nombre croissant de patients responsabilisés qui prennent part à leurs soins, de nombreux organismes de santé ont élaboré des énoncés portant sur les droits et les responsabilités des patients. Pour le patient, une connaissance et une compréhension de ses droits et responsabilités peut contribuer au caractère mutuellement avantageux de ses relations avec les professionnels de la santé. Les droits des patients se rapportent souvent au respect, à la protection des renseignements personnels, à la confidentialité, aux normes de soins et à la participation dans la prise de décision. Les responsabilités des patients renvoient à l'importance de fournir des renseignements complets, de se présenter aux rendez-vous, d'observer le plan de traitement, et de respecter les règles et les directives en matière de conduite des patients.

Dans toutes les provinces et les territoires canadiens, les patients ont le droit de prendre des décisions par rapport à leur propre santé. Précisément, ils ont le droit de poser des questions au sujet de leurs soins de santé et d'obtenir un deuxième avis, s'ils le veulent.

Les médecins devraient connaître et respecter les droits des patients et être conscients des chartes des patients. Le médecin peut choisir de discuter avec ses patients de son approche relative à la participation des patients et préciser les domaines de responsabilité. La probabilité de résultats favorables et de satisfaction chez les patients augmente lorsque les deux parties s'acquittent de leurs responsabilités.

L'accès et le temps avec les patients

Les patients comptent sur un accès en temps opportun aux soins de santé pour répondre à leurs besoins de santé. Le rapport du Conseil canadien de la santé sur la participation des patients a révélé que le temps est le plus important obstacle à la participation des patients, et que les patients qui font face à de longues attentes ou qui estiment qu'ils n'ont pas eu suffisamment de temps avec leur médecin sentent qu'ils s'investissent moins dans leurs soins.2

Bien que les patients reconnaissent que l'attente est souvent inévitable, ils doivent être informés de tout changement dans la période d'attente. Les médecins doivent donc être conscients de leur liste d'attente et la gérer activement. Les médecins demeurent responsables de placer les patients sur la liste d'attente et d'ajuster leur position dans la liste en fonction de priorités cliniques qui évoluent. On ne saurait trop insister sur le fait que les médecins doivent déployer des efforts raisonnables pour veiller à ce que la liste d'attente demeure adaptable aux conditions cliniques changeantes. Ils doivent pour cela montrer aux patients comment reconnaître les symptômes pouvant les alerter à la nécessité d'obtenir des soins médicaux. Pour plus de détails, vous référer à la publication de l'ACPM, Les temps d'attente – perspective de la responsabilité médicale.

Les patients et leur famille veulent et méritent que leur médecin passe suffisamment de temps avec eux. Cela inclut du temps pour assurer le suivi des problèmes de santé actuels, ainsi que du temps pour discuter de leurs préoccupations ou poser des questions. Les médecins sont encouragés à laisser les patients exprimer leurs inquiétudes concernant leur santé, et à exercer leur jugement clinique pour décider des problèmes qui peuvent attendre la prochaine consultation. Bien qu'il soit plus important que jamais que les médecins gèrent leur temps de façon efficace, ils doivent toujours être respectueux et diplomates dans leur approche avec les patients.

Certains médecins tentent de gérer leur temps en limitant leurs patients à un problème médical par consultation. Ils communiquent cette restriction à leurs patients à l'aide d'affiches dans leur cabinet ou d'avis sur leur site web. Or, cette approche est susceptible d'entraîner d'autres problèmes et d'exposer les médecins à des risques médico-légaux et à des plaintes aux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges). Dans plusieurs provinces, les Collèges ont déconseillé une telle pratique. La formation que reçoivent les médecins les incite à être vigilants pour déceler les problèmes de santé urgents ou nouveaux. Toutefois, le risque de ne pas pouvoir dépister des problèmes de santé graves peut augmenter si les patients sont limités à un problème par consultation. De plus, le risque peut s'accroître si un patient comprend mal les raisons d'une telle limite et s'il perçoit cette restriction comme un manque de délicatesse qu'on lui impose avec rigueur.

Consentement éclairé

Les patients qui prennent part à leurs soins veulent comprendre les risques et les avantages des investigations de diagnostic et des traitements, y compris les autres options thérapeutiques, avant d'y consentir. L'explication fournie par le médecin, et le dialogue entre le médecin et le patient au sujet du traitement proposé, sont des éléments importants du processus de consentement. Le formulaire de consentement complète les explications fournies et constitue une confirmation écrite que le patient a accepté ce qui a été proposé. L'ACPM recommande à ses membres de prendre connaissance de son guide sur le consentement, Le consentement : Guide à l'intention des médecins du Canada, qui décrit les obligations liées au consentement.

Enjeux liés à la sécurité des patients

Les patients responsabilisés sont davantage aptes à être conscients des enjeux liés à leur sécurité, notamment l'importance de gérer les médicaments, de prévenir et de lutter contre les infections, et d'éviter les chutes.

Qui plus est, les patients qui prennent part à leurs soins comprennent la valeur du consentement éclairé, de la déclaration d'accidents et d'échappées belles, ainsi que l'importance de la divulgation d'un événement indésirable. Les médecins doivent être attentifs à cette réalité, et suivre les conseils de l'ACPM sur la communication avec le patient advenant la survenue d'un résultat clinique défavorable imprévu lié aux soins. Les médecins peuvent accéder à la publication de l'ACPM, La communication avec le patient lors d'un préjudice : Divulgation des événements indésirables.

Soutien en ligne pour les patients

La prolifération des sites web liés à la santé et des dossiers électroniques de santé rehausse la sensibilisation des patients et augmente leurs attentes en matière d'information et de communications numériques. Les médecins devraient tenter de cerner les attentes de leurs patients relatives aux communications électroniques (p. ex. courriels, information en matière de santé sur les sites web de médecins, portails sur la santé), et déterminer le meilleur moyen de répondre aux besoins du patient tout en respectant les exigences relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels prévues par la loi et les Collèges. Les médecins devraient connaître la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels et informer les patients au sujet de leur utilisation de la technologie dans leur pratique. Le site web de l'ACPM prévoit de l'information supplémentaire et des conseils sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé des patients dans un environnement électronique, tel l'article, « La vie privée dans un monde branché – protection des renseignements sur la santé des patients ».

Défense des droits des patients

La participation des patients est également évidente lorsque des groupes de patients s'engagent dans la planification de la prestation de services ou revendiquent des ressources supplémentaires. Reconnaissant l'influence et le profil qu'un professionnel médical peut apporter à une cause, les patients peuvent solliciter la participation du médecin à leur travail de défense des droits. Bien que souvent, les médecins veuillent appuyer leurs patients, la défense des droits peut placer les médecins dans une situation précaire vis-à-vis des autorités de la santé ou des hôpitaux. L'ACPM estime que les médecins devraient défendre les intérêts des patients, tout en étant conscients du fait qu'une défense inappropriée ou exagérée des droits peut entraver la prestation des soins.

Participation des patients au niveau systémique

Dans bien des cas, une programmation réussie se fonde sur la participation des patients et de la communauté et sur une planification axée sur les besoins. Les groupes consultatifs de patients peuvent également contribuer à la planification, l'élaboration, la mise en œuvre et l'évaluation des services de santé. Le cas échéant, les médecins devraient encourager leurs patients à jouer un rôle actif dans la planification des services de santé. Les médecins devraient tenter de se familiariser avec les occasions de participation pour les patients.

Les patients peuvent également participer à des activités au niveau systémique, par exemple, en formulant des commentaires et en contribuant à la planification de services de santé communautaires plus vastes ou à l'élaboration de politiques en matière de santé. En 2011, le Conseil canadien de la santé, qui animait un symposium national sur la participation des patients ayant attiré une nombreuse assistance, a précisé qu'une telle participation s'avère essentielle à l'avenir du système de soins de santé. Le CCS a également souligné que faire participer les patients à la planification et à la conception des services de santé est un moyen important d'améliorer la qualité des soins et de renforcer la responsabilisation au sein du système.3

En travaillant avec les patients à la la planification des systèmes de santé et des initiatives appropriées d'amélioration de la qualité, les médecins jouent un rôle essentiel à titre de chefs de file du système de santé.

Ensemble, les patients et les médecins peuvent constituer des forces du changement et contribuer de manière positive à un système de soins de santé de grande qualité.

Communiquez avec l'ACPM

Les médecins valorisent la participation et la responsabilisation des patients. De façon générale, les patients qui prennent part à leurs soins apportent une contribution positive et productive à leurs propres soins de santé et au système de santé. En même temps, la participation et des patients peut ajouter à la complexité du milieu des soins de santé au sein duquel les membres exercent. Les membres ne doivent pas hésiter à communiquer avec l'Association pour obtenir des conseils. Les médecins-conseils de l'ACPM, des médecins ayant une longue expérience médico-légale, peuvent offrir une orientation relative à des cas précis ou à des questions générales.


  1. Conseil canadien de la santé. « Quelle part les Canadiens prennent-ils à leurs soins de santé primaires? » Septembre 2011. Obtenu en juillet 2012 sur le site : http://www.healthcouncilcanada.ca/rpt_det_gen.php?id=148&rf=2
  2. Ibid., 10
  3. Conseil canadien de la santé. « Passer du savoir à l'action : Commentaires à propos du Symposium national sur la participation des patients. » 2012. Obtenu en juillet 2012 sur le site : http://www.conseilcanadiendelasante.ca/rpt_det_gen.php?id=321

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.