Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

The impact of medical tourism on Canadian physicians

Originally published April 2012
W12-003-E

Foreign medical tourism can have an impact on Canadian physicians' practices and entail medico-legal consequences, in particular when patients return to Canada for follow-up care from medical procedures performed in other countries. Faced with incomplete or missing clinical documentation, and at times dealing with emergent complications, Canadian physicians may be challenged with how to handle such situations while arranging appropriate continuity of care for their patients.

Why do Canadians seek care abroad?

Medical tourism refers to patients travelling abroad to obtain timely medical services that are often not paid for by the Canadian healthcare system.

Canadians engaged in medical tourism often see it as an alternative to lengthy waiting lists or as a way to obtain treatment that may not be covered by their provincial health plan. Some individuals also seek procedures that may be unavailable domestically. Patients receive treatments ranging from cosmetic procedures and diagnostic examinations to organ transplants, in vitro fertilization, cancer and neurologic therapies, and bariatric surgery.

 

Duty of care

Most patients who return home following out-of-country procedures are likely to seek continued care from their Canadian physicians, possibly including treatment for complications and other issues.

When a patient seeks healthcare elsewhere, this does not necessarily negate the existing doctor-patient relationship. The duty of care that arises from the doctor-patient relationship imposes an obligation on physicians to appropriately treat patients in accordance with current and accepted standards of practice in Canada. Although the Canadian physician may not have provided or recommended the out-of-country treatment, the goal is always to provide continuity of care to the extent possible. Physicians and patients share this responsibility.

 

Referrals and coordination of care

Physicians have a general right to refuse to treat patients in specific circumstances.

There are exceptions, such as in cases of emergency or where an existing relationship requires the physician to provide care. When there is an existing doctor-patient relationship, there is an obligation on the part of the physician to provide reasonable care irrespective of where the patient may have received earlier treatment.

Canadian physicians may be aware that treatments recognized as safe and effective are offered abroad, but be unfamiliar with the quality and experience of a specific physician or facility providing the service. Consequently, Canadian physicians may be reluctant to provide a referral. Similarly, if physicians believe they do not have the knowledge required to provide an opinion on a particular treatment, including the potential risks and benefits, they should advise the patient accordingly and make a note in the medical record. A reasonable approach might be to inform the patient that such facilities exist, but that the physician does not have sufficient information to recommend or endorse them. The patient is then in a position to investigate and arrange for the treatment.

Occasionally, patients will want to avoid lengthy wait times by seeking a referral to an out-of-country specialist. If, in the physician's judgment, the wait time and treatment options in Canada are reasonable given the patient's circumstances, the physician may consider declining to formally initiate an out-of-county referral. Whether or not a referral is made, physicians may want to advise patients to check with their provincial health plan concerning eligibility for possible reimbursement of medical expenses paid abroad.

A patient may learn of healthcare services available abroad via the Internet, e.g. through the websites of medical tourism brokers. A recent analysis of Canadian broker websites suggests this information is generally biased, favouring the benefits of the foreign treatment while downplaying or omitting the clinical safety risks.1 Reliance on such information may lead patients to underestimate the risks and consent to treatment without being adequately informed.

Irrespective of whether the physician refers the patient for care outside of Canada, the duty of care to the patient is not necessarily negated when the patient decides to go abroad as a medical tourist. The CMA Code of Ethics and Québec's Code of ethics of physicians stipulate that a physician's responsibility toward the patient continues until such time as another physician has assumed responsibility for that patient. The CMA also suggests that a physician should cooperate with the subsequent treating physician to ensure that the patient has continuous care. The failure to coordinate the care of a patient, to ensure an appropriate handover of care, or to ensure appropriate communication among healthcare providers, may expose the physician to a legal action or complaint to the provincial or territorial medical regulatory authority (College).

 

Impact on the transferring physician

While the receiving physician has a responsibility to obtain information pertinent to making a diagnosis and treating the patient, if the transferring physician continues to advocate for the patient and help to ensure a smooth handover, the medico-legal risks to the transferring physician in the event of an adverse outcome will be minimized.

When a patient is deciding whether to pursue out-of-country medical care, Canadian physicians may be asked to provide professional advice. The patient should be generally encouraged to think carefully about the risks and benefits of the treatment, if known, and of receiving medical care abroad.

If the patient chooses to pursue the out-of-country treatment, whether on their own or with a referral from their Canadian physician, it is appropriate to assist the patient by honouring the request to provide pertinent information from the physician's medical record to a specified individual or company.

The transferring physician may consider discussing with the patient strategies for minimizing the health risks of going abroad, such as obtaining vaccinations before leaving Canada, taking anti-rejection drugs for organ transplantations, and seeing a Canadian specialist before departure to help prepare for the possibility of post-operative complications. Physicians should try to keep the lines of communication open to the extent possible, keeping in mind the principle of patient autonomy — the right of patients to make decisions about their personal health based on information, but not influence, from their physicians.

Any discussions concerning the availability, nature, benefits, and risks of out-of-country medical services should be documented in the patient's medical record.

 

Follow-up care

It is appropriate for Canadian physicians to request that patients provide information about the out-of-country medical care, including from their foreign medical record.

Such information can assist in providing follow-up care. As noted earlier, in the context of an existing doctor-patient relationship, the physician owes a duty to provide reasonable care to the patient. A physician should generally use reasonable care and diligence in treating a patient within the limits of the physician's knowledge and resources.

The way ahead

Guidelines on medical tourism from the Public Health Agency of Canada may help both physicians and patients appreciate and mitigate the risks of seeking medical care abroad.2 Physicians may want to contact their College about any relevant guidelines or policy statements, or both.

Members are also encouraged to contact the CMPA for advice about their particular situation.

References

  1. Penney, K., Snyder, J., Crooks, V., Johnston, R. "Risk communication and informed consent in the medical tourism industry: A thematic content analysis of Canadian broker websites", BMC Med Ethics, 2011; p 12-17.
  2. Public Health Agency of Canada. See http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/tmp-pmv/info/care-soin-eng.php

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

L'impact du tourisme médical sur les médecins canadiens

Publié initialement en avril 2012
W12-003-F

Le tourisme médical à l'étranger peut avoir des conséquences sur les médecins canadiens et occasionner des répercussions médico-légales, surtout lorsque les patients reviennent au Canada et qu'ils doivent recevoir des soins de suivi à la suite d'interventions effectuées dans d'autres pays. Les médecins canadiens qui se trouvent dans cette situation peuvent se demander comment gérer les soins et organiser la continuité des soins pour leurs patients quand la documentation est incomplète ou manquante et, parfois, quand des complications surviennent.

Pourquoi les Canadiens se font-ils soigner à l'étranger?

On entend par tourisme médical, le déplacement des patients à l'étranger pour obtenir des services médicaux quand ils en ont besoin. Souvent, ces soins ne sont pas remboursés par le système de soins de santé du Canada.

Les Canadiens qui optent pour le tourisme médical y voient fréquemment une solution de rechange aux longues listes d'attente ou une façon d'obtenir un traitement qui n'est pas nécessairement remboursé par les systèmes de soins de santé provinciaux. Par contre, certains recherchent aussi des traitements qui ne seraient pas encore offerts au pays. Ces patients reçoivent des traitements allant des interventions esthétiques et d'examens diagnostiques jusqu'aux transplantations d'organes, à la fertilisation in vitro, à des traitements pour les affections neurologiques et le cancer, ainsi qu'à des chirurgies bariatriques.

 

Devoir de diligence

La plupart des patients qui rentrent au pays après avoir subi des interventions à l'étranger auront probablement besoin de consulter un médecin canadien par la suite, en raison de complications d'un traitement ou d'autres problèmes.

L'obtention de soins médicaux ailleurs que chez son médecin n'annule pas nécessairement la relation médecin-patient existante. En effet, le devoir de diligence découlant de la relation médecin-patient oblige les médecins à traiter les patients de façon appropriée et selon les normes de pratique actuelles et acceptées dans l'exercice de la médecine au Canada. Bien que les médecins canadiens n'aient ni effectué ni recommandé un traitement à l'étranger, l'objectif d'assurer la continuité des soins dans la mesure du possible demeure néanmoins. Les médecins et les patients partagent cette responsabilité.

 

Les demandes de consultation et la coordination des soins

Les médecins ont généralement le droit de refuser de traiter des patients lors de circonstances particulières, sauf en situations d'urgence ou lorsqu'une relation existante exige que ce dernier prodigue les soins.

Lorsqu'une relation médecin-patient existe, le médecin est tenu de prodiguer des soins raisonnables, peu importe où le patient aurait déjà reçu un autre traitement.

Les médecins canadiens peuvent reconnaître que des traitements offerts à l'étranger soient reconnus sécuritaires et efficaces, mais ils peuvent aussi ne pas connaître la qualité du travail et l'expérience d'un médecin en particulier ou de l'établissement prodiguant le service. Par conséquent, les médecins canadiens peuvent hésiter à demander une consultation. Dans le même ordre d'idées, si les médecins croient qu'ils n'ont pas les connaissances requises pour fournir une opinion sur un traitement en particulier, dont les risques et les avantages éventuels, ils devraient en informer le patient et consigner une note à cet effet dans le dossier médical. Informer le patient que de tels établissements existent, mais qu'il n'a pas suffisamment d'information pour les recommander ou les endosser serait une approche raisonnable pour un médecin. Le patient pourra alors se renseigner et entreprendre les démarches de traitement.

Parfois, des patients tenteront d'éviter les longues listes d'attente en demandant une consultation auprès d'un spécialiste à l'étranger. Si, selon le jugement du médecin, les temps d'attente et les modalités de traitement au Canada sont raisonnables compte tenu de la situation du patient, il pourrait envisager de refuser d'entreprendre officiellement une demande de consultation à l'étranger. Peu importe si le patient est dirigé ou non en consultation, les médecins devraient conseiller aux patients de vérifier leur admissibilité au remboursement par leur système de santé provincial des dépenses médicales engagées à l'étranger.

Un patient pourrait apprendre l'existence de services de santé à l'étranger en consultant Internet, p. ex., des sites web de courtiers en tourisme médical. Une analyse récente de sites web de courtiers en tourisme médical révèle que ces renseignements sont généralement erronés; les bienfaits du traitement à l'étranger sont décrits avantageusement tout en minimisant ou en omettant les risques de sécurité clinique1 . Les patients qui se fient à de tels renseignements pourraient sous-estimer les risques et consentir au traitement sans être informés adéquatement.

Peu importe si le médecin dirige ou non le patient à l'étranger pour y recevoir des soins, le devoir de diligence envers le patient n'est pas nécessairement annulé lorsque le patient décide de faire du tourisme médical. Le Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) ainsi que le Code de déontologie des médecins du Québec stipulent tous les deux que la responsabilité professionnelle du médecin envers un patient se poursuit jusqu'à ce qu'un autre médecin prenne le patient en charge. L'AMCsuggère également qu'un médecin devrait coopérer avec le médecin traitant qui prend la relève pour assurer la continuité des soins. Le défaut de coordonner les soins d'un patient, de veiller au transfert des soins approprié ou d'assurer une bonne communication entre les professionnels de la santé pourrait exposer le médecin à une action en justice ou à une plainte auprès de l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine de la province ou du territoire (Collège).

 

Conséquences pour le médecin traitant

Bien que la responsabilité d'obtenir les renseignements pertinents pour établir un diagnostic et traiter le patient incombe au médecin consultant, ses risques médico-légaux seront minimisés dans l'éventualité d'un résultat défavorable si le médecin traitant défend toujours les intérêts du patient et collabore pour veiller à ce que le transfert des soins se fasse sans anicroches.

Un patient qui se demande s'il devrait envisager d'obtenir des soins médicaux à l'étranger pourrait demander des conseils professionnels à un médecin canadien. De façon générale, il faut encourager le patient à peser les risques et les avantages du traitement, s'ils sont connus, de recevoir des soins médicaux à l'étranger.

Si le patient choisit d'aller de l'avant avec les traitements à l'étranger, de son propre chef ou avec une demande de consultation d'un médecin canadien, il est acceptable d'aider le patient en acquiesçant à la demande de fournir les renseignements pertinents provenant du dossier médical du médecin et en les transmettant à la personne ou à l'entreprise concernée.

Il serait bon que le médecin traitant propose différentes stratégies au patient afin de minimiser les risques pour la santé de se faire soigner à l'étranger, comme recevoir les vaccins appropriés avant de quitter le Canada, prendre des médicaments antirejet lorsqu'il y aura transplantation d'organe et rencontrer un médecin spécialiste canadien avant le départ pour l'étranger, pour l'aider à se préparer à l'éventualité de complications postopératoires. Les médecins devraient tenter de garder les voies de communication ouvertes dans la mesure du possible tout en gardant à l'esprit le principe de l'autonomie du patient, soit le droit des patients de prendre des décisions au sujet de leur santé personnelle en se fondant sur des renseignements, et non sur l'influence de leur médecin.

Toute discussion entourant la disponibilité, la nature, les avantages et les risques des services médicaux à l'étranger devrait être documentée dans le dossier médical du patient.

 

Soins de suivi

Il est aussi pertinent pour les médecins canadiens d'exiger que leurs patients les tiennent au courant des soins médicaux prodigués à l'étranger, y compris ceux inclus dans le dossier médical étranger.

Ces renseignements peuvent contribuer à fournir un suivi des soins. Tel que mentionné précédemment, dans le contexte d'une relation médecin-patient existante, le médecin a le devoir de prodiguer des soins raisonnables au patient. De façon générale, un médecin devrait avoir recours à des modalités de traitement raisonnables, faire preuve de diligence et traiter uniquement dans les limites de ses connaissances et de ses ressources.

L'avenir

Les recommandations concernant le tourisme médical publiées par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada peuvent aider les médecins et les patients à prendre connaissance des risques associés aux soins médicaux à l'étranger et à les atténuer2. Les médecins peuvent aussi communiquer avec leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) s'ils désirent des lignes directrices ou des énoncés de politique.

L'ACPM encourage aussi ses membres à communiquer avec l'Association s'ils désirent des conseils au sujet de leur propre situation.

Références

  1. Penney, K., Snyder, J., Crooks, V., Johnston, R. « Risk communication and informed consent in the medical tourism industry: A thematic content analysis of Canadian broker websites », BMC Med Ethics, 2011; p 12-17.
  2. Agence de la santé publique du Canada. « Recevoir des soins médicaux dans d'autres pays ». Voir http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/tmp-pmv/info/care-soin-fra.php

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.