Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

The most responsible physician: A key link in the coordination of care

Originally published December 2012
P1205-1-E

Patients often require concurrent care from more than one healthcare provider in hospitals and healthcare institutions. Patients of large clinics or other healthcare facilities may also be cared for by more than one physician. Identifying the most responsible physician (also known as the most responsible practitioner) and properly managing handovers of care can improve patient safety and reduce medico-legal risk for physicians.

What does it mean to be the most responsible physician?

The term most responsible physician (MRP) generally refers to the physician who has overall responsibility for directing and coordinating the care and management of an individual patient at a specific point in time. With expanding scopes of practice of other regulated health professionals, it is possible in some circumstances that a non-physician might also be considered the most responsible practitioner. At least one court has described the role of the MRP as follows:

... the practitioner most responsible for the in-hospital care of a particular patient. The MRP is responsible for writing and clarifying orders, and providing a plan of care, obtaining consultations as appropriate, coordinating care, as well as the discharge process. 1

The identity of who will act as MRP for a patient should be determined early, and based on the particular circumstances of each case. It should be clear in the patient's medical record which physician is designated as MRP. While typically the attending or admitting physician will be the MRP, this may not always be the case.

Physicians should be aware of any policies in their hospital or institution that might define the expectations of the MRP. Many hospitals, for example, have policies that set out the responsibilities of the MRP for managing patient care during regular or on-call coverage. Some hospital policies may use the terms attending or admitting physician to designate these types of responsibilities. Physicians should also be familiar with similar policies at clinics and other facilities where patient care may be shared with other professionals.

Who has responsibility?

In hospitals, healthcare institutions and facilities, more than one healthcare professional might owe a duty of care to an individual patient. For example, when referring a patient to a specialist, the MRP's original duty owed to the patient is effectively suspended: the MRP is generally not legally responsible for the care provided to the patient by the consultant, even though the MRP continues to be responsible for coordinating the patient's ongoing care.

There are, however, limitations on the extent to which an MRP may rely on the duty of others. In a recent case the standard of care of an MRP has been described as follows:

An MRP is not absolved of responsibility with respect to a medical condition simply because that medical problem is beyond the expertise of the MRP ... the MRP is responsible for a plan of care.2

When the MRP relinquishes the care of a patient to another physician, it is incumbent on the MRP to take reasonable steps regarding the patient's continued care until the new treating physician can assume caring for the patient. The MRP might also be expected to coordinate the care of a patient receiving concurrent treatment from different specialists, including for example, arranging other consults.

The MRP and the consultant should clarify their respective roles in ordering investigations and treatments and providing follow-up care. This information should be clearly documented in the medical record. It is helpful if patients and families are also made aware of who is most responsible for care at particular points in time and encouraged to raise their questions and concerns.

Responsibility for disclosing adverse events

If an adverse event (accident in Québec) occurs, the MRP should coordinate with the hospital, institution, or facility to determine when disclosure will be made to the patient, what information will be provided, and which person will initiate the discussion with the patient. In many cases, this responsibility falls on the physician most directly involved in the patient's care at the time, which may be the MRP. However, the MRP may not always be the appropriate person to lead the disclosure discussion, especially where system failure was identified or where another healthcare professional was involved.

Minimizing liability

Misunderstandings about who among the healthcare team is responsible for a patient's care may compromise that care, and may result in an adverse event and increased medico-legal risk. If the hospital or healthcare facility does not already have a policy or procedure in place outlining the expectations of the MRP, the physicians may want to establish protocols to help prevent potential breakdowns in the chain of communication both among healthcare team members and with the patient, and thereby help ensure that inconsistency or redundancy in care is avoided. Such protocols should address:

  • who is the MRP when a patient is admitted
  • procedures for the handover of care to another healthcare professional
  • ongoing responsibilities of the MRP, if any, to coordinate the patient's care
  • expectations among the healthcare team members for effective communication regarding patient care 
  • the method (channel) for communicating information to the MRP
  • a system is in place to ensure the MRP knows that he or she is expected to take action

 

The aim is to have systems in place that make it reasonably clear to all involved in an individual patient's care which physician is responsible for the patient at any given time. When possible, care handovers should be face-to-face and focus on the transfer of key information such as the patient's diagnosis, the status of investigations and treatments, and anticipated possible problems and strategies to address them. As always, it is important to document relevant clinical information in the patient's medical record.


References

  1. Manary v. Dr. Martin Strban, et al., 2011 ONSC 176
  2. Ibid.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Le médecin le plus responsable : un lien critique dans la coordination des soins

Publié initialement en décembre 2012
P1205-1-F

En milieu hospitalier et dans les établissements de soins de santé, les patients exigent souvent des soins simultanés de plus d'un professionnel de la santé. Les patients dans les grandes cliniques ou d'autres établissements de santé peuvent également recevoir des soins de plus d'un médecin. La détermination du médecin le plus responsable (aussi désigné le professionnel le plus responsable) et la gestion appropriée des transferts de soins peuvent améliorer la sécurité des patients et réduire le risque médico-légal pour les médecins.

Que signifie être le « médecin le plus responsable »?

De façon générale, le terme médecin le plus responsable (MPR) renvoie au médecin investi de la responsabilité globale de gérer et de coordonner les soins et la prise en charge d'un patient à un moment précis. Par suite de l'élargissement des champs d'exercice d'autres professionnels de la santé réglementés, il est possible que dans certaines circonstances, un professionnel de la santé non médecin soit considéré le professionnel le plus responsable. Au moins un tribunal a décrit le rôle du MPR ainsi :

. . . le professionnel principalement responsable des soins intrahospitaliers d'un patient. Il relève de la responsabilité du MPR de rédiger et de préciser les ordonnances, de formuler un plan de soins, d'obtenir des consultations au besoin, de coordonner les soins, et de gérer le processus du congé.1

L'identité de la personne qui agit à titre de MPR pour un patient doit être déterminée tôt et en fonction des circonstances particulières à chaque cas. Le nom du médecin désigné MPR doit figurer clairement dans le dossier médical du patient. Bien que le médecin traitant ou le médecin chargé de l'admission soit généralement le MPR, cela n'est pas toujours le cas.

Les médecins doivent connaître toute politique de leur hôpital ou de leur établissement qui définit les attentes envers le MPR. À titre d'exemple, de nombreux hôpitaux ont en place des politiques qui précisent les responsabilités du MPR en matière de gestion des soins du patient pendant les heures régulières ou de garde. Certaines politiques hospitalières privilégient les termes médecin traitant ou médecin chargé de l'admission pour désigner ces responsabilités. Les médecins doivent aussi connaître les politiques semblables dans les cliniques et autres établissements où les soins du patient peuvent être partagés avec d'autres professionnels.

Qui est responsable?

Dans les hôpitaux et les établissements de soins, il peut arriver que plus d'un professionnel de la santé ait un devoir de diligence envers un patient. À titre d'exemple, lorsque le MPR dirige un patient vers un spécialiste, le devoir original qu'avait le MPR envers le patient est effectivement suspendu : le MPR n'est généralement pas légalement responsable des soins prodigués au patient par le spécialiste, même si le MPR demeure responsable de la coordination des soins continus du patient.

Or, il existe des limites en ce qui concerne la mesure selon laquelle le MPR peut compter sur le devoir d'autrui. Dans une cause récente, la norme de diligence qui s'applique à un MPR a été décrite ainsi :

Un MPR n'est pas exonéré de responsabilité par rapport à un problème médical simplement parce que ce problème est au-delà de son expertise . . . le MPR est responsable d'un plan de soins.2

Lorsque le MPR confie les soins d'un patient à un autre médecin, il lui incombe de prendre des mesures raisonnables en ce qui a trait aux soins continus jusqu'à ce que le nouveau médecin traitant puisse assumer les soins de ce patient. Il peut également être attendu que le MPR coordonne les soins d'un patient qui est traité simultanément par différents spécialistes, notamment, par exemple, qu'il prévoie d'autres consultations.

Le MPR et le spécialiste doivent clarifier leurs rôles respectifs en regard de l'ordonnance d'investigations et de traitements, et de la prestation de soins de suivi. Cette information doit être documentée clairement dans le dossier médical. Il est également utile d'informer le patient et sa famille de la personne principalement responsable des soins à des moments précis et de les encourager à exprimer leurs questions et leurs préoccupations.

Responsabilité de la divulgation des événements indésirables

S'il survient un événement indésirable (accident au Québec), le MPR devrait coordonner avec l'hôpital ou l'établissement la détermination du moment de la divulgation au patient, des renseignements qui seront communiqués, et de la personne qui initiera la discussion avec le patient. Souvent, cette responsabilité incombe au médecin qui participe le plus directement aux soins du patient au moment de la survenue de l'événement, ce qui peut s'avérer le MPR. Toutefois, le MPR n'est pas toujours la personne appropriée pour diriger la discussion entourant la divulgation, notamment lorsqu'il est question d'une défaillance du système ou lorsqu'un autre professionnel de la santé est impliqué.

Réduire la responsabilité

Les malentendus à savoir quel membre de l'équipe de soins est responsable des soins du patient peuvent compromettre ces soins, entraîner un événement indésirable et augmenter le risque médico-légal. Si l'hôpital ou l'établissement de soins n'a pas déjà mis en place une politique ou une procédure précisant les attentes envers le MPR, les médecins peuvent envisager d'établir des protocoles pour contribuer à prévenir les éventuels bris de chaîne de communication parmi les membres de l'équipe de soins et avec le patient, et ainsi contribuer à éviter les incohérences et la redondance dans les soins. De tels protocoles devraient aborder les éléments suivants :

  • la personne qui est le MPR lorsqu'un patient est admis
  • les procédures liées au transfert des soins vers un autre professionnel de la santé
  • les responsabilités permanentes du MPR, s'il en est, en matière de coordination des soins du patient
  • les attentes parmi les membres de l'équipe par rapport à la communication efficace liée aux soins du patient
  • la méthode (voie) à suivre pour communiquer de l'information au MPR
  • l'existence d'un système pour veiller à ce que le MPR sache qu'il est attendu qu'il passera à l'action

 

L'objectif visé est la mise en place de systèmes faisant

en sorte qu'il est raisonnablement clair, pour toutes les personnes qui participent aux soins du patient, quel médecin est responsable de ce patient à tout moment. Lorsque la chose est possible, les transferts de soins devraient se faire en face à face et mettre l'accent sur la transmission de renseignements clés tels le diagnostic du patient, l'état des investigations et des traitements, ainsi que les problèmes possibles anticipés et les stratégies pour les régler. Comme c'est toujours le cas, il est important de documenter les renseignements cliniques pertinents dans le dossier médical du patient.


Références

  1. Manary v. Dr. Martin Strban, et al., 2011 ONSC 176
  2. Ibid.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.