Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

The new realities of medical care

Originally published September 2012
P1203-14-E

It might be an understatement to say the practice of medicine is not what it used to be.

The healthcare environment is changing, largely influenced by fiscal constraints, human resource issues, alternative models of healthcare delivery, and a growing malaise about the long-term sustainability of the healthcare system. Concurrently, new technologies and medical advancements are generating impressive treatment options that can cure illness or prolong life to an extent unimaginable only a decade ago.

While these changes are affecting the practice of medicine, physicians continue to address the clinical, administrative, research, teaching, and policy dimensions of healthcare delivery. With a common conviction in the importance of quality patient care, physicians are eager to embrace progress, while also mindful of the emerging risk management considerations implicit in change.

One area of medicine which has changed considerably is the relationship between patients and physicians. Today, patients are highly engaged in their care.

Patients as partners in care

Patient-centred care is now a recognized model of healthcare delivery.

Several studies have confirmed the benefits of this model, stating that "patient-centered practice is associated with improved health status (less discomfort, less concern, and better mental health) and increased efficiency of care (fewer diagnostic tests and referrals)."1

For some physicians, patient empowerment may be viewed as a significant departure from an earlier model in which medicine was largely physician-centred. In this new paradigm, patients' beliefs, values, and knowledge are important elements in the discussion about the care plan. The CMPA has published articles on physician-patient communications, emphasizing the importance of active listening. The ability to listen and to understand a patient's viewpoint, given the hectic pace of healthcare delivery, is not easily achieved. For additional strategies related to effective physician-patient communications, members may wish to read the CMPA article, "Physician-patient communication: Making it better."

Beyond making the final decision on their care, patients are also seeking diverse opinions and perspectives on their medical conditions and therapeutic options. With information so readily available, patients may challenge recommended treatment plans. This exchange between physician and patient is part of the consent dialogue. Physicians should avoid what may be perceived as a paternalistic approach in language, tone, and body positioning and engage fully with patients. Active and responsive engagement with patients is an important part of a quality healthcare experience.

Patient empowerment may also drive patients towards stronger consumer behaviour. This may include participating in physician rating websites and sharing healthcare experiences on social media sites. While most patients will provide a fair assessment of their experience, others may resort to these websites to convey dissatisfaction with the care received. It is understandable that rating websites may cause discomfort to physicians. While it may be tempting to ask patients to refrain from using such websites, this approach will likely invoke the opposite reaction. Ignoring these sites is also not advisable. Physicians should monitor what is being said about them. To encourage open and direct communication, physicians and their staff should encourage patients to discuss issues in person so any problems can be resolved instead of being allowed to escalate.

Key points

  • Physicians should promote patient involvement in all aspects of care.
  • Physicians may explore communication techniques that facilitate the active engagement of patients in decision-making.
  • Recognizing that some patients will want to voice their viewpoints on the care received, physicians may consider implementing a feedback system in their practice.

Restraint in the healthcare system

There are very few areas of healthcare that are not confronted with some form of fiscal restraint.

As demands for healthcare services continue to outpace resources in some areas, physicians are tasked with managing their wait-time lists and, on occasion, with prioritizing patient procedures. These decisions carry medico-legal implications and mitigating these risks will benefit physicians and patients.

Physicians have a duty of care to patients. This duty may extend to resource allocation, and ensuring patient care is not compromised. In an environment of constrained resources, or when faced with an unexpected shortage of medication or supplies, physicians should engage with hospital officials or health authorities to request resources to meet patient needs. This advocacy work, if not handled professionally, may be interpreted as a challenge to the leadership of the hospital or health authority. To avoid this perception, physicians should work with the hospital administration and channel requests for resources in writing, using a professional tone and providing the facts to support the allocation of necessary resources. 

To reduce medico-legal exposure, physicians should ensure that they meet the standard of care of a reasonably competent physician in similar circumstances. While the courts are willing to consider the resources available to physicians when assessing whether the standard of care was met, physicians are still expected to do the best they can within resource constraints.

Similarly, fiscal realities cannot supersede medical judgment. Physicians should acknowledge the financial pressures confronting the facilities and hospitals in which they practise. However, medical judgment should not be compromised by cost considerations. For example, when considering diagnostic tests, physicians may consider alternative tests that would cost less but still give the information needed to diagnose or treat the patient.

Beyond direct patient care, physicians may also be engaged in cost containment reviews to identify short- or long-term solutions to fiscal pressures. Physicians in leadership positions (chief of staff, division, or department) are regularly asked to contribute or to lead these program reviews. In this capacity, physicians become advocates for the societal good. This dual responsibility, to an individual patient and to society, may cause conflicting imperatives for physicians. 

Many Colleges have advanced codes of ethics which provide direction to physicians in this regard. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of New Brunswick acknowledges these responsibilities, advancing that "the physician should consider the well-being of other patients, of society and of colleagues, as well as his/her own well-being, but that of the patient being treated at the time must be the physician's primary concern."2

Key points

  • When faced with resource constraints that impact patient care, physicians should work collaboratively with administrators and health authorities to identify solutions.
  • Physicians should consider the fiscal environment in which they practise, but cost considerations should not supersede medical judgment.
  • When confronted with a dilemma between patient and societal good, a physician's primary duty remains the well-being of the patient.

Technology and medical advancements

Despite the fiscal environment, the pace of technological advancements in the 21st century is unprecedented.

Medical advancements are no exception and new treatment options are continually being developed to address patients' medical conditions. As new studies emerge regularly on the efficacy of diagnostics, treatments, and medications, keeping up to date on clinical practice guidelines and accepted practices can prove challenging for physicians.

The obligations placed on physicians to keep abreast of new medical advancements can be daunting. However, a physician holds a duty to patients to provide care in accordance with recognized and accepted practice. When considering new procedures or technologies, it is prudent to be familiar with how and when these should be employed, and be satisfied that they are recognized by a respected body of peers. If a physician feels the care required by a patient extends beyond his or her clinical competence or experience, it is prudent to refer the patient to another physician who can provide the necessary care.

Physicians are also faced with keeping current with rapidly evolving clinical technology relevant to their practice. The use of technology may give rise to patient safety concerns, so effective technology management plans are required to mitigate risk. Whether in a clinic or hospital setting, physicians are encouraged to develop or to be aware of the patient safety initiatives directly related to technology.

Responsibility and accountability for clinical technology will generally rest with the hospital, or in the case of a physician-owned clinic, with the physician owner(s).  Irrespective of the setting, a physician who relies on technology for treatment and care should be knowledgeable and experienced in its use.

Patients may also seek to leverage medical advancements. Armed with information acquired through the Internet or other sources, patients may request treatment options or procedures that extend beyond the accepted standard of care. Physicians are not obligated to comply with a patient's request of this nature. If a physician believes the requested treatment may not be beneficial, or could even cause harm, it is important to share this information with the patient. Doctors can also explain their obligation to provide care that is supported by current clinical evidence. The patient's request and the ensuing discussion regarding treatment options should be noted in the patient's medical record.

Key points

  • If the required treatment extends beyond a physician's clinical competence or experience, the physician should refer the patient to another doctor.
  • Physicians considering new procedures should be satisfied that these procedures are recognized by a respected body of peers.
  • Physicians may counsel patients not to pursue treatments which may be harmful, and decline to perform treatments that are not supported by current clinical evidence.

Expectations of physicians

As technology promotes rapidity, it also conjures new expectations of healthcare delivery.

Physicians are regularly confronted with scheduling conflicts between clinic hours, operating room time, on-call duties, clinical rounds, ongoing professional development, and administrative responsibilities. The stresses and demands of medical care give rise to physician fatigue and associated medico-legal risks.

Colleges generally expect physicians to be aware of their capacity to provide competent clinical care and to ensure they are clinically fit to provide treatment or care. Likewise, courts have ruled that physicians should know whether they are capable of providing the necessary care. Hospitals also have a duty to patients, and this includes meeting the provision of competent personnel and adequate facilities to meet the needs of the community. 

If a physician is unable to properly care for a patient due to scheduling conflicts or pressures, it is advisable to notify the administration of the hospital as promptly as possible. Since the hospital shares a responsibility to patients, a collaborative examination of resource and personnel allocation will benefit all involved.

Physicians often put aside their own well-being to respond to a patient's urgent or emergent clinical needs. Physicians also acquiesce to hospital or clinic requests to take on additional shifts or on-call duties. From a medico-legal perspective, physicians are independent professionals who are usually responsible for their own acts and omissions. It is the individual physician's responsibility to ensure that working conditions do not compromise his or her ability to meet the requisite standard of care.

As physicians and other professionals examine the issue of fatigue and work schedules, the numerous factors influencing medical care, such as technological advancements and patient-centred care, will render this examination challenging. The medico-legal considerations for physicians centre on the ethical duty to act in the best interests of their patients. This may mean that if a physician feels that his or her on-call schedule endangers patient care, reasonable steps are taken to ensure patients do not suffer as a result and that the physician is able to continue providing an adequate level of care for patients.

Key points

  • Physicians should consider their level of fatigue and if they are clinically fit to provide treatment or care.
  • Physicians may work with hospitals or health authorities to establish the appropriate schedules and level of human resources to meet the community's needs.
  • A physician's schedule should ensure the provision of safe medical care, recognizing his or her ethical duty to act in the best interest of patients.

A final word

Change has become a constant for Canadian physicians who are adapting to a healthcare environment which continuously strives for high-quality patient care. As the boundaries of medical practice evolve, physicians are encouraged to embrace new realities, while considering the medico-legal implications of change.

The CMPA is available to assist members who may have questions regarding their professional and medico-legal obligations in this constantly evolving medical environment.


References

  1. Stewart, Moira, Brown, Judith Belle, Donner, Allan, McWhinney, Ian R., Oates, Julian, Weston, W.Wayne, Jordan, John, "The impact of family-centered care on outcomes," The Journal of Family Practice (September 2000) Vol. 49, no.9. Retrieved on May 1, 2012 from:  http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/ome/mcrtp/docs/Kravitz%20The%20impact%20of%20patient-centered%20care%20on%20outcomes..pdf
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of New Brunswick, Code of Ethics. Retrieved on May 1, 2012 from: http://www.cpsnb.org/english/code-of-ethics.html

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les nouvelles réalités des soins médicaux

Publié initialement en septembre 2012
P1203-14-F

Ce serait une litote de dire que l'exercice de la médecine n'est plus ce qu'il était jadis.

L'évolution du milieu des soins de santé est largement influencée par les contraintes fiscales, les problèmes de ressources humaines, les nouveaux modèles de prestation des soins de santé, ainsi qu'un malaise grandissant par rapport à la viabilité à long terme du système de soins de santé. En parallèle, les nouvelles technologies et les progrès de la médecine créent d'impressionnantes options thérapeutiques qui peuvent guérir la maladie ou prolonger la vie à un point qu'il aurait été impossible d'imaginer il y a seulement une décennie.

Ces changements ont une incidence sur l'exercice de la médecine. Or, les médecins continuent de gérer toutes les dimensions de la prestation des soins de santé, notamment les dimensions cliniques, administratives et politiques, ainsi que celles liées à la recherche et à l'enseignement. Partageant la conviction de l'importance de la qualité des soins, c'est avec enthousiasme que les médecins s'ouvrent aux progrès, tout en tenant compte des considérations émergentes en matière de gestion des risques qui sont implicites au changement.

La relation entre les patients et les médecins est un domaine de la médecine qui a évolué considérablement. De nos jours, les patients prennent une part active dans leurs soins.

Les patients à titre de partenaires des soins


Les soins axés sur le patient constituent désormais un modèle reconnu de prestation des soins de santé.

De nombreuses études ont confirmé les avantages de ce modèle, précisant que « la pratique axée sur le patient est associée à un état de santé amélioré (diminution de l'inconfort, réduction des préoccupations et meilleure santé mentale) ainsi qu'à l'efficacité accrue des soins (réduction des examens de diagnostic et des demandes de consultation).1

Certains médecins peuvent estimer que l'autonomisation des patients constitue une importante déviation d'un modèle antérieur où la médecine était principalement axée sur les médecins. Selon ce nouveau paradigme, les croyances, les valeurs et les connaissances des patients s'avèrent des éléments importants de la discussion au sujet du plan de soins. L'ACPM a publié des articles portant sur la communication médecin-patient, lesquels soulignent l'importance de l'écoute active. Étant donné le rythme effréné de la prestation des soins de santé, il n'est pas toujours facile d'écouter et de comprendre le point de vue du patient. Les membres à la recherche de stratégies supplémentaires liées aux communications médecin-patient efficaces sont invités à lire l'article de l'ACPM « Améliorer la communication médecin-patient ».

En plus de prendre la décision finale par rapport à leurs soins, les patients recherchent également des opinions et des perspectives diversifiées sur leurs maladies et leurs options thérapeutiques. En cette ère où l'information est si facilement disponible, les patients peuvent remettre en question les plans de traitement recommandés. Cet échange entre le médecin et le patient fait partie du dialogue sur le consentement. Les médecins doivent éviter ce qui pourrait être perçu comme une approche paternaliste aux niveaux du langage, du ton et de l'attitude corporelle, et s'engager pleinement auprès de leurs patients. L'engagement actif et attentif auprès des patients est une composante importante d'une expérience de soins de santé de qualité.

Par ailleurs, l'autonomisation des patients peut favoriser chez eux l'adoption d'un comportement du consommateur. Cela peut inclure la participation à des sites web où l'on évalue le rendement des médecins, ainsi que le partage d'expériences de soins de santé sur des sites de médias sociaux. Alors que la majorité des patients fourniront une évaluation équitable de leur expérience, d'autres peuvent utiliser ces sites pour exprimer leur insatisfaction par rapport aux soins reçus. Il est compréhensible que les médecins se sentent mal à l'aise face aux sites web d'évaluation. Bien que vous puissiez être tenté de demander à vos patients d'éviter d'utiliser de tels sites, il est probable que cette approche suscite une réaction contraire. Par contre, il n'est pas conseillé d'ignorer ces sites. Les médecins devraient surveiller ce qui est écrit à leur sujet. Dans l'optique de favoriser une communication ouverte et directe, les médecins et les membres de leur personnel devraient encourager les patients à discuter des problèmes en personne de façon à ce que toute situation puisse être réglée au lieu lui permettre de prendre de l'ampleur.

Points clés

  • Les médecins devraient promouvoir la participation des patients dans tous les aspects des soins.
  • Les médecins peuvent explorer les techniques de communication qui favorisent l'engagement actif des patients dans la prise de décision.
  • Conscients que certains patients voudront exprimer leur opinion par rapport aux soins reçus, les médecins peuvent envisager de mettre en place un système de rétroaction au sein de leur pratique.

Contraintes dans le système de soins de santé


Rares sont les domaines des soins de santé qui ne sont pas confrontés à une forme ou une autre de compression budgétaire.

Alors que la demande pour les services de soins de santé continue de dépasser les ressources dans certains domaines, les médecins doivent gérer leurs listes d'attente et, à l'occasion, établir la priorité des interventions chez les patients. Si de telles décisions entraînent des répercussions médico-légales, la réduction de ces risques sera bénéfique pour les médecins et les patients.

Les médecins ont un devoir de diligence envers leurs patients. Ce devoir peut s'étendre à l'allocation des ressources et à la responsabilité de veiller à ce que les soins aux patients ne soient pas compromis. Dans un milieu où les ressources sont limitées, ou lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à une pénurie inattendue de médicaments ou de fournitures, les médecins devraient s'entretenir avec les représentants de l'hôpital ou les autorités en matière de santé afin de demander les ressources nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins des patients. S'il n'est pas effectué de façon professionnelle, un tel travail de plaidoyer peut être perçu comme une remise en question de la gestion de l'hôpital ou de l'autorité en matière de santé. Afin d'éviter une telle perception, les médecins devraient travailler avec l'administration de l'hôpital et acheminer les demandes de ressources par écrit, privilégiant un ton professionnel et présentant les faits qui appuient l'allocation des ressources nécessaires.

Afin de réduire leur exposition à des risques médico-légaux, les médecins doivent s'assurer de respecter la norme de pratique qu'un médecin raisonnablement compétent aurait observée dans des circonstances semblables. Même si les tribunaux sont disposés à tenir compte des ressources disponibles pour les médecins lorsqu'ils cherchent à déterminer si la norme de pratique a été respectée, ils s'attendent néanmoins à ce qu'un médecin fasse du mieux possible, compte tenu des ressources limitées.

De manière semblable, les réalités fiscales ne peuvent l'emporter sur le jugement médical. Les médecins devraient reconnaître les pressions financières auxquelles sont confrontés les établissements et les hôpitaux dans lesquels ils exercent. Toutefois, le jugement médical ne doit pas être compromis par des considérations financières. À titre d'exemple, lorsqu'ils envisagent des examens de diagnostic, les médecins peuvent songer à d'autres examens moins coûteux mais qui fourniront tout de même les renseignements nécessaires pour poser un diagnostic ou traiter le patient.

Au-delà des soins directs aux patients, les médecins peuvent également prendre part à des examens visant la restriction des coûts pour identifier des solutions à court et à long terme aux pressions financières. Les médecins qui occupent des postes de cadres (médecin-chef, directeur médical) sont périodiquement appelés à contribuer à de tels examens de programmes ou encore à les diriger. À ce titre, les médecins deviennent des intervenants pour le bien de la société. Cette double responsabilité, envers un patient individuel et envers la société, peut créer des impératifs conflictuels pour les médecins.

De nombreux Collèges ont produit des codes de déontologie qui fournissent une orientation pour les médecins à cet égard. À titre d'exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Nouveau-Brunswick reconnaît ces responsabilités, stipulant que : « Le médecin doit prendre en considération le bien-être des autres patients, de la société et des collègues, ainsi que son propre bien-être, mais il doit avant tout se préoccuper de celui du patient en sa présence. »2

Points clés

  • Lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à des ressources limitées qui ont une incidence sur les soins des patients, les médecins devraient travailler en collaboration avec les administrateurs et les autorités en matière de santé en vue d'identifier des solutions.
  • Les médecins devraient tenir compte de l'environnement fiscal dans lequel ils exercent la médecine. Toutefois, les considérations financières ne doivent pas l'emporter sur le jugement médical.
  • Lorsqu'il est confronté à un dilemme entre le bien d'un patient et le bien de la société, le devoir premier du médecin demeure le bien-être du patient.

En dépit de l'environnement fiscal, les progrès technologiques du 21e siècle se multiplient à un rythme sans précédent.

Les progrès de la médecine ne font pas exception : de nouvelles options thérapeutiques sont continuellement mises au point dans le but de traiter les maladies des patients. Or, la publication régulière de nouvelles études portant sur l'efficacité des outils de diagnostic, des traitements et des médicaments peut poser un défi pour les médecins qui tentent de se tenir au fait des lignes directrices en matière de pratique clinique et des pratiques acceptées.

L'obligation imposée aux médecins de s'accorder aux nouveaux progrès de la médecine peut être intimidante. Or, un médecin a un devoir envers ses patients de prodiguer des soins conformément aux pratiques reconnues et acceptées. Lorsque vous envisagez de nouvelles interventions ou technologies, il est prudent d'être bien renseigné sur la façon et le moment de les utiliser, et d'être satisfait qu'elles sont reconnues par un groupe respecté de pairs. Si un médecin est d'avis que les soins requis par un patient dépassent les limites de sa compétence ou de son expérience clinique, il est également prudent de diriger ce patient vers un autre médecin qui peut prodiguer les soins nécessaires.

Les médecins doivent aussi se tenir au fait de la technologie clinique pertinente à leur pratique, qui est elle aussi en évolution rapide. Puisque l'utilisation de la technologie peut engendrer des préoccupations en matière de sécurité des patients, des plans efficaces de gestion de la technologie s'avèrent nécessaires pour atténuer les risques. Que ce soit dans une clinique ou en milieu hospitalier, les médecins sont encouragés à élaborer des initiatives en matière de sécurité des patients qui sont directement liées à la technologie ou à se familiariser avec celles qui existent.

La responsabilité et la responsabilisation en matière de technologie clinique incombe généralement à l'hôpital ou, dans le cas de cliniques appartenant à des médecins, aux médecins propriétaires. Quel que soit le milieu, un médecin qui a recours à la technologie clinique aux fins de traitement et de soins doit être bien renseigné et expérimenté en ce qui concerne son utilisation.

Les patients peuvent également chercher à miser sur les progrès de la médecine. Armés d'information acquise dans Internet ou d'autres sources, les patients peuvent demander des options thérapeutiques ou des interventions qui s'étendent au-delà de la norme de pratique acceptée. Les médecins ne sont pas tenus de donner suite à de telles demandes d'un patient. Si un médecin estime que le traitement demandé puisse ne pas être utile, ou qu'il puisse causer un préjudice, il est important de partager cette information avec le patient. Le médecin peut également expliquer son obligation de prodiguer des soins qui sont appuyés par des données probantes cliniques courantes. La demande du patient et la discussion qui s'ensuit au sujet des options thérapeutiques devraient être consignées au dossier médical du patient.

Points clés

  • Si le traitement requis dépasse les limites de la compétence ou de l'expérience clinique d'un médecin, celui-ci devrait diriger le patient vers un autre médecin.
  • Les médecins qui envisagent de nouvelles interventions doivent être satisfaits qu'elles sont reconnues par un groupe respecté de pairs.
  • Les médecins peuvent conseiller à leurs patients de ne pas entreprendre des traitements qui peuvent être nuisibles, et refuser d'effectuer des traitements qui ne sont pas appuyés par des données probantes cliniques courantes.

Attentes des médecins


La technologie allant de pair avec la rapidité, elle donne lieu à de nouvelles attentes en matière de prestation des soins de santé.

Les médecins sont régulièrement confrontés à des conflits d'horaire entre les heures de clinique, le temps en salle d'opération, les tâches liées à la garde, les réunions cliniques, le développement professionnel continu et les responsabilités administratives. Les stress et les exigences des soins médicaux peuvent contribuer à la fatigue chez les médecins et aux risques médico-légaux qui y sont associés.

De façon générale, les Collèges s'attendent à ce que les médecins soient conscients de leur capacité à prodiguer des soins compétents et qu'ils s'assurent d'être aptes à prodiguer des traitements ou des soins. De manière semblable, les tribunaux ont déterminé que les médecins devraient savoir s'ils sont en mesure de prodiguer les soins nécessaires. Les hôpitaux ont également un devoir envers les patients, ce qui inclut la dotation en personnel compétent et en installations adéquates pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté.

Si un médecin est incapable de prodiguer des soins adéquats à un patient en raison de conflits ou de compressions d'horaires, il lui est recommandé d'informer l'administration de l'hôpital le plus rapidement possible. Puisque l'hôpital partage une responsabilité envers les patients, un examen concerté de l'allocation des ressources et du personnel sera bénéfique pour toutes les parties impliquées.

Les médecins mettent fréquemment de côté leur propre bien-être afin de répondre aux besoins cliniques urgents ou extrêmement urgents d'un patient. Ils consentent également aux demandes d'un hôpital ou d'une clinique d'accepter des quarts de travail ou des tâches de garde supplémentaires. D'une perspective médico-légale, les médecins sont des professionnels autonomes qui sont généralement responsables de leurs propres actes et omissions. Il relève de la responsabilité du médecin de veiller à ce que les conditions de travail ne compromettent pas sa capacité à respecter la norme de pratique exigée.

Alors que les médecins et autres professionnels étudient la question de la fatigue et des horaires de travail, les multiples facteurs qui influent sur les soins médicaux, tels les progrès technologiques et les soins axés sur les patients, viendront compliquer cet examen. Les considérations médico-légales pour les médecins tournent autour du devoir déontologique d'agir dans l'intérêt de leurs patients. Cela peut signifier que si un médecin estime que son horaire de garde met en danger les soins aux patients, des mesures raisonnables sont prises pour veiller à ce que les patients n'en souffrent pas les conséquences et que le médecin soit en mesure de continuer à prodiguer un niveau adéquat de soins aux patients.

Points clés

  • Les médecins devraient évaluer leur niveau de fatigue et leur aptitude, au plan clinique, à prodiguer des traitements ou des soins.
  • Les médecins peuvent travailler avec les hôpitaux et les autorités en matière de santé à l'établissement d'horaires et de niveaux de ressources humaines qui sont appropriés pour répondre aux besoins de la communauté.
  • L'horaire du médecin devrait assurer la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires, reconnaissant son devoir déontologique d'agir dans l'intérêt de ses patients.

Le mot de la fin

Le changement est devenu une constante pour les médecins du Canada qui s'adaptent à un milieu de soins de santé continuellement à la poursuite de soins de qualité pour les patients. Au fil de l'évolution des limites de l'exercice de la médecine, les médecins sont encouragés à s'ouvrir aux nouvelles réalités, tout en tenant compte des répercussions médico-légales du changement.

L'ACPM est disponible pour venir en aide aux membres qui ont des questions au sujet de leurs obligations professionnelles et médico-légales en cet environnement médical en évolution constante.


Références

  1. Stewart, Moira, Brown, Judith Belle, Donner, Allan, McWhinney, Ian R., Oates, Julian, Weston, W.Wayne, Jordan, John., « The impact of family-centered care on outcomes, » The Journal of Family Practice (Septembre 2000), vol. 49, no 9. Consulté en ligne le 1er mai 2012 : http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/ome/mcrtp/docs/Kravitz%20The%20impact%20of%20patient-centered% 20care%20on%20outcomes.pdf
  2. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens du Nouveau-Brunswick, Code de déontologie. Consulté en ligne le 1er mai 2012 : http://www.cpsnb.org/french/code-of-ethics-fr.html
  3. 2 Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, « How changes in medical technology affect health care costs », mars 2007. Consulté en ligne le 1er mai 2012 : http://www.kff.org/ insurance/snapshot/chcm030807oth.cfm

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.