Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

The voice of professionalism within the system of care

Originally published October 2012
P1204-4-E

Physicians assume key responsibilities in healthcare including the provision of much needed medical care, research into new treatments, teaching the future generation of doctors, and managing healthcare facilities, centres, or clinics. In all of these roles, physicians are expected to embody professionalism and to fulfill the obligations expected of the profession.

Physicians as advocates

In support of quality care, physicians may struggle to find the appropriate balance between meeting the needs of individual patients and the wider needs of society. Obligations placed on doctors vary depending on whether they are advocating for a patient or, more broadly, for societal good. Physicians should clearly understand on whose behalf they are speaking, the extent to which they are authorized to speak for an organization or individual, what their message is, and how best to communicate that message. When advocating for an individual patient, physicians should consider the implications on others, including society and the healthcare system overall. Professionalism in this context extends beyond the one-to-one relationship between a doctor and an individual patient, and recognizes interdependencies within the healthcare system.

A recent policy paper by the Canadian Medical Association offers a framework for physician advocacy.1 This framework includes questions for doctors considering advocacy initiatives, such as whether the issue impacts patient care, whether partners should be consulted, and whether the physician has all the relevant facts. Physicians may find this framework helpful.

At the system level, physicians are leaders in advocating for quality care and patient safety. At times, advocacy can bring a physician into conflict with a colleague, a hospital administrator, a health authority, or policy makers. Conflict can sometimes lead to positive change, but it can also be difficult to manage and must be dealt with constructively by all parties.

Doctors must be mindful there is a distinction between appropriate advocacy and what can be seen by others as disruptive behaviour. Even when advocating for an individual patient or for system improvement, physicians have a responsibility to act professionally for the benefit of their patients, colleagues, other healthcare professionals, and the institutions in which they practise. Doctors are well-positioned to identify areas for change that may lead to improvements in quality and safety, and their recommendations should be welcomed by hospitals and health authorities. Medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) have said it is appropriate for physicians to advocate in a responsible manner; however physicians must be aware that overzealous advocacy may disrupt the provision of care.

The CMPA suggests physicians consider the following when voicing their concerns and suggestions to their institutions:

  • Present concerns and arguments clearly and calmly.
  • To the greatest extent reasonable, work within the approved channels of communication.
  • Offer multiple options for consideration or possible solutions.
  • Use positive persuasion rather than an authoritative tone and disposition.
  • Develop proposals that are comprehensive, understandable, measurable, and accountable.
  • When appropriate include the perspective of other healthcare providers to help explain the issues and recommend options and solutions.
  • Approach the issue with transparency.
  • Identify and build on areas of consensus that unite parties, contributing to a collective process.
  • Remain open to dialogue and discussion, as solutions are often achieved through constructive exchanges.

As providers and champions of quality and safety, physicians can and should advance responsible solutions that result in tangible system improvements. Indeed, physicians have a professional obligation to support the effective delivery of care.

Physician leadership

Physicians who have a leadership role in a healthcare organization, such as a chief of staff or clinical department leader, have duties that differ from those of a practising physician. As head of a department or chief of staff, a physician functions as an officer of the institution, carrying out the broad duties owed by the institution to patients. When dealing with medico-legal situations, the courts view a physician-leader as a representative of the institution.

Liability is engaged if officers fail to act reasonably in carrying out the duties assigned to them by legislation and hospital bylaws, or if they fail to intervene when they know, or ought to know, that a patient may come to harm without intervention.

Physician leaders also set the tone for quality improvement and show leadership by promoting safer patient care. Many physicians are seen as thought leaders in important quality and safety advances. Certainly, medical professionalism is demonstrated when physicians champion or participate in quality or safety improvement efforts. Physician leaders should assess their strengths and limitations and seek relevant training and professional development opportunities.

Physicians as champions of a just culture of safety and quality improvement

Physicians can advance and contribute to a just culture of safety (see the CMPA's Learning from adverse events: Fostering a just culture of safety in Canadian hospitals and health care institutions), making the provision of safe care a core value in the practice environment. Physicians should champion a just culture, so that quality improvement becomes part of the healthcare organization's way of operating. A just culture encourages learning from adverse events and close calls to strengthen the system of care, and abandoning a "name and blame" mentality.

Where appropriate, physicians should also take part in systems-oriented quality improvement activities and encourage the sharing of lessons learned — both within and among healthcare institutions. Involvement in these activities will help to meet physicians' professional responsibilities to contribute to improved care and set the example for other healthcare providers to follow.

Professionalism and privacy in the electronic age

Physicians have administrative duties associated with their practice. This requires that they comply with privacy legislation, as it applies to print or electronic health records. In all cases, patient health information must be appropriately protected. While sharing information within the circle of care — that is the group of healthcare workers providing care to the patient — is generally permissible based on implied consent, disclosing information to individuals or organizations outside the circle of care often requires the patient's express consent, unless the disclosure is permitted by law.

Doctors who are unclear on whether they should access patient information should ask themselves whether they need the information to provide care to the patient, and whether they have the patient's implied or express consent to access the information. Generally, if the patient information is needed to provide care or the patient has expressly consented, it is reasonable for the provider to access and use that information.

In addition, physicians may find themselves wondering about their role in protecting patient health information from inappropriate use by others, potentially including provincial or regional health authorities. Physicians may perceive a conflict between their legal obligations to release information in specific cases, and their professional obligations to protect patients' personal health information. The bottom line for physicians is they should protect patients' personal health information and disclose it only with patient consent or as provided for by law, such as when the maintenance of confidentiality would result in a significant risk of substantial harm to others or to the patients themselves.2

Doctors should also address the privacy requirements for the secondary use of health information, meaning information used for health system planning, to expand disease knowledge or to support public health goals. In these situations, Colleges typically recommend the use of safeguards to maintain the balance between public health needs and patient privacy.3Unless specified by legislation or regulation, the CMPA recommends doctors obtain patient consent when their health information will be disclosed to a third party outside the circle of care or where the information will be used for a purpose other than providing healthcare to the patient. Patient information that is used for purposes other than providing healthcare should not identify individual patients.

While not new concepts, privacy and confidentiality in a digital world raise particular challenges for physicians. Members are encouraged to read the CMPA's publication, "Privacy in a wired world — Protecting patient health information" for further insights.

A shared commitment to excellence

Professionalism also calls for physicians to remain accountable to each other for the safe provision of care. In fulfilling their duty to patients and to each other, doctors may find themselves having to report a physician colleague to a College, hospital, health authority, or public health official. Physicians may want to consult their provincial and territorial legislation or College policies on reporting. Medical professionalism requires that reporting be made in a timely manner, or immediately if patient safety is at risk or if a physician's health is compromised. The physician making the report must consider the safety of the community and the welfare of the physician being reported.

If appropriate, physicians should first speak with the other doctor about why a report is being made (such as for a health issue that impacts the safety of patients). The fact is that simply ignoring reportable situations may result in disciplinary proceedings or even legal action. Doctors should keep detailed records of any relevant information leading up to the report. The CMPA is available to provide advice to members facing these difficult situations or when reporting a colleague or another healthcare professional.

Obligations of self-regulation

As the regulatory authorities for physicians, Colleges have largely defined the nature of professionalism in medical care by enunciating how they expect physicians to conduct themselves. Physicians should understand and abide by the rules, regulations, and standards outlined by their College. Whether the matter pertains to registration, assessment, education, complaints and investigations, or discipline, physicians are expected to conduct themselves responsibly and professionally, and show support for an effective system of self-governance. Members who have been made aware of a complaint to their College should contact the CMPA for advice and guidance.

As part of self- or professionally-led regulation, physicians have an obligation to ensure they are healthy and able to provide safe and competent medical care. Physicians should disclose personal health information to Colleges in circumstances where it is required by law or when the physician consents to the disclosure because it is necessary to protect patient safety. In some cases, a physician's medical condition may require significant restrictions or limitations to practice, including the worst case scenario, preclusion from practice. The CMPA maintains that decisions of this magnitude should be made using evidence-based criteria that establish an acceptable level of risk. Medical professionalism demands that doctors follow any restrictions placed on their practice as a result of a medical condition. This assists in protecting both public safety and the integrity of the medical profession.

Professionalism in legal proceedings

Professionalism extends to the legal process, whether a physician is facing a legal action or is called upon to provide expert advice. Physicians should contact the CMPA as soon as possible after learning of a legal action naming them. A CMPA medical officer and the assigned legal counsel will guide the member through the process. Despite the anxiety associated with these situations, physicians are best served when they demonstrate professionalism and integrity throughout the process.

When called to give evidence as expert consultants, physicians' conduct and testimony reflect their professionalism. Physicians should be well-prepared, truthful, maintain their composure, and refrain from arguing. Increasingly, provinces and territories are enacting legislation that specifies that the expert owes a duty to the court, not to one or more of the parties to the legal action.

Concluding thoughts

Whether they wish to undertake them or not, physicians inevitably have a variety of advocacy roles and should understand on whose behalf they are speaking. Few non-clinical issues pose more decision-making challenges than identifying the appropriate balance between advocacy for the needs of an individual patient versus the broader needs of society. For example, there is no clear answer about the extent to which a family physician should or should not advocate for a patient on a specialist's waiting list. Each situation requires judgment — judgment that can be supported by the physician's understanding of his or her professional obligations.

Physicians are central to helping establish and champion a just culture of safety. From time to time, this responsibility may bring physicians into potential conflict with institutional leadership or with some of their colleagues or other healthcare professionals. Professionalism requires physicians to be accountable to their patients and to society, as well as to each other, regardless of the difficult nature of the circumstances. Applying the key tenets of medical professionalism can assist physicians in dealing with these challenging situations.

The CMPA encourages physicians to support and advance medical professionalism in all it facets. When physicians are confronted with challenges that expose them to medico-legal risk or when their integrity and professionalism is called into question, CMPA members can be comforted in the knowledge the Association is available to help.


References

  1. Canadian Medical Association. "The Evolving Professional Relationship Between Physicians and the Health Care System: Where do we Stand?" 2012. Retrieved on Sept. 14, 2012 from: http://www.cma.ca/index.php?ci_id=204661&la_id=1
  2. Canadian Medical Association, "CMA Code of Ethics," 2004
  3. College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta, "Data stewardship: Secondary use of health information," December 2009, p. 11. Retrieved on March 13, 2012 from: http://www.cpsa.ab.ca/Resources/advice.aspx

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

La voix du professionnalisme dans le système de santé

Publié initialement en octobre 2012
P1204-4-F

Les médecins assument des responsabilités essentielles au système de santé, dont la prestation des soins dont les patients ont grandement besoin, la recherche de nouveaux traitements, l'éducation de la nouvelle génération de médecins et la gestion d'établissements, de centres ou de cliniques de soins. On s'attend des médecins occupant ces rôles qu'ils soient la représentation vivante du professionnalisme et qu'ils s'acquittent des obligations attendues des membres de la profession.

Les médecins, défenseurs des droits des patients

Eu égard à l'obligation d'offrir des soins de qualité, certains médecins peuvent avoir du mal à concilier efficacement les besoins des patients et de la société au sens large. Les obligations qu'on leur impose varient, selon qu'ils défendent les intérêts d'un patient en particulier ou le bien commun de la société en général. Les médecins doivent bien comprendre la nature des intérêts qu'ils défendent, la mesure dans laquelle ils sont autorisés à parler au nom d'une organisation ou d'un particulier, la nature du message et la meilleure façon de faire passer le message. Les médecins qui défendent les droits d'un seul patient doivent également tenir compte des répercussions sur les autres, dont sur la société et le système de santé en général. Dans ce contexte, le professionnalisme transcende la relation individuelle entre un médecin et une autre personne et englobe les liens mutuels dans le système de santé.

Un énoncé de politique récent de l'Association médicale canadienne établit le cadre de la défense des intérêts par les médecins.1 Ce cadre comprend des questions que les médecins devraient se poser avant de prendre toute initiative de défense, dont la question de savoir si l'enjeu a des répercussions sur les soins offerts au patient, de savoir s'il faut consulter le conjoint du patient et de savoir si le médecin a bel et bien tous les faits pertinents en mains. Les médecins pourraient trouver ce cadre particulièrement pertinent.

Dans ce système, les médecins sont les plus importants défenseurs de la qualité des soins et de la sécurité des patients. Il arrive parfois qu'en défendant les intérêts d'un patient, les médecins se placent en situation de conflit avec un collègue, un administrateur de l'hôpital, une autorité de santé ou des décideurs. Ces conflits peuvent entraîner un changement favorable, tout comme ils peuvent être difficiles à gérer et à aborder de façon constructive par toutes les parties concernées.

Les médecins doivent garder à l'esprit qu'il y a une distinction à faire entre la défense acceptable des intérêts et ce que d'autres peuvent percevoir en tant que comportement perturbateur. En effet, même s'il défend les intérêts d'un patient ou milite pour que des améliorations soient apportées au système, le médecin est toujours tenu d'agir avec professionnalisme, pour son patient, ses collègues, d'autres professionnels de la santé et l'établissement où il exerce sa profession. Les médecins sont bien placés pour relever les changements qui pourraient donner lieu à des améliorations à la qualité et à la sécurité des soins, et les hôpitaux et autorités de santé devraient voir d'un bon œil leurs recommandations. Les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ont affirmé que les médecins ont le droit de défendre les intérêts médicaux des autres, à condition de le faire de manière responsable; cependant, ils doivent garder à l'esprit que tout excès de zèle pourrait perturber la prestation des soins.

L'ACPM suggère aux médecins de songer à ce qui suit au moment d'exprimer leurs inquiétudes et suggestions à leur établissement.

  • Présenter leurs inquiétudes et arguments clairement et calmement.
  • Dans la mesure du possible, travailler dans les voies de communication approuvées.
  • Offrir de multiples possibilités ou solutions.
  • Utiliser la persuasion positive au lieu d'un ton et d'une attitude autoritaires.
  • Rédiger des propositions complètes, compréhensibles, mesurables et justifiables.
  • Si la situation s'y prête, inclure le point de vue des autres professionnels de la santé pour clarifier les enjeux et recommander des possibilités et solutions.
  • Aborder la question avec transparence.
  • Cerner des domaines de consensus qui unissent les parties et les exploiter dans le cadre d'un processus collectif.
  • Rester ouvert au dialogue et aux discussions, puisque les solutions sont souvent découvertes au moyen d'échanges constructifs.

À titre de soignants et de défenseurs de la qualité et de la sécurité, les médecins peuvent et devraient proposer des solutions responsables qui se soldent par des améliorations concrètes au système. Effectivement, les médecins ont l'obligation professionnelle d'intervenir en faveur der la prestation efficace des soins.

Les médecins dans un rôle de direction

Les obligations des médecins qui jouent un rôle de dirigeant dans une organisation de santé, comme un médecin-chef ou un directeur médical, diffèrent de celles d'un médecin qui exerce la profession même. En qualité de directeur médical ou de médecin-chef, un médecin agit à titre de représentant de l'établissement et s'acquitte des responsabilités générales de l'établissement envers ses patients. En ce qui concerne les situations médico-légales, les tribunaux estiment qu'un médecin dirigeant est un représentant de cet établissement.

Il y a responsabilité si les représentants n'agissent pas de façon raisonnable dans l'exécution des tâches qui leur incombent en vertu des lois et du règlement de l'hôpital, ou s'ils n'interviennent pas quand ils savent ou auraient dû savoir qu'un patient pourrait subir un préjudice à défaut d'une intervention.

Les médecins dirigeants donnent également le ton de l'amélioration de la qualité et font preuve de leadership en préconisant des soins plus sécuritaires pour les patients. De nombreux médecins sont d'ailleurs considérés en tant que pionniers à l'origine d'importants progrès en matière de qualité et de sécurité. Il ne fait aucun doute que les médecins qui préconisent des efforts d'amélioration de la qualité ou de la sécurité font preuve de professionnalisme médical. Les médecins occupant une fonction de direction devraient évaluer leurs forces et limites et rechercher les possibilités de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel pertinentes.

Les médecins, défenseurs d'une juste culture d'amélioration de la sécurité et de la qualité

Les médecins peuvent favoriser et instaurer une culture juste en matière de sécurité (consulter la publication de l'ACPM intitulée Leçons à tirer des événements indésirables : Favoriser une culture juste en matière de sécurité dans les hôpitaux et les établissements de santé au Canada), en faisant de la prestation des soins sécuritaires une valeur fondamentale de leur milieu de pratique. Les médecins devraient préconiser une culture juste afin que l'amélioration de la qualité fasse partie de la façon de faire de l'organisation de santé. Une culture juste encourage les médecins à apprendre des événements indésirables et des échappées belles pour renforcer le système de santé et laisse de côté la mentalité qui consiste à trouver un responsable et lui attribuer le blâme.

Le cas échant, les médecins devraient également participer à des activités d'amélioration de la qualité dans l'ensemble du système et encourager le partage de leçons retenues, à la fois dans un même établissement et entre les établissements de soins. En participant à ces échanges, les médecins seront plus à même de s'acquitter de leurs responsabilités professionnelles de contribuer à l'amélioration des soins, ainsi que de montrer l'exemple aux autres professionnels de la santé.

Le professionnalisme et la confidentialité à l'ère du numérique

Les médecins ont des tâches administratives à effectuer dans le cadre de leur pratique, dont respecter les lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels, dans la mesure où elles s'appliquent aux dossiers papier ou électroniques. Dans tous les cas, les renseignements sur la santé des patients doivent être adéquatement protégés. Si l'échange d'information avec les membres du cercle des soins (le groupe de professionnels de la santé qui soignent le patient) est en général admissible selon les principes du consentement implicite, la divulgation d'information à des personnes ou organisations qui ne font pas partie de ce cercle de soins requiert souvent le consentement explicite du patient, à moins que la loi autorise la divulgation.

Les médecins qui ne savent pas s'ils peuvent accéder aux renseignements concernant leurs patients doivent se demander s'ils en ont besoin pour le soigner, et s'ils ont obtenu le consentement implicite ou explicite du patient à cet égard. En règle générale, si les renseignements sont nécessaires pour soigner le patient ou s'il y a consenti explicitement, le soignant peut raisonnablement accéder à l'information et s'en servir.

De plus, les médecins pourraient s'interroger sur leur rôle dans la protection des renseignements sur la santé des patients contre une utilisation indue par d'autres parties, dont des autorités de santé provinciales ou régionales. Les médecins pourraient percevoir un conflit entre leurs obligations juridiques de divulguer l'information dans des cas précis et leurs obligations professionnelles de protéger les renseignements sur la santé de leurs patients. Au final, les médecins devraient protéger les renseignements sur la santé de leurs patients et les divulguer uniquement si le patient y consent ou si la loi l'exige, comme lorsque le maintien de la confidentialité entraîne un important risque de préjudice pour d'autres ou le patient lui-même.2

Les médecins devraient également se pencher sur les exigences liées à la vie privée et l'utilisation secondaire des renseignements sur la santé, soit l'utilisation de l'information pour la planification des systèmes de santé, l'approfondissement des connaissances sur une maladie ou l'avancement d'objectifs de santé publique. Les collèges recommandent normalement d'utiliser des mécanismes de protection pour concilier les besoins en matière de santé publique et la vie privée du patient.3 À moins qu'une loi ou un règlement prévoit d'autres dispositions, l'ACPM recommande aux médecins d'obtenir le consentement du patient si ses renseignements médicaux sont divulgués à un tiers externe au cercle de soins ou s'ils seront utilisés à des fins autres que soigner le patient. Les renseignements doivent être rendus anonymes dans la mesure du possible avant d'être utilisés à d'autres fins.

Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas de nouveaux concepts, la vie privée et la confidentialité à l'ère du numérique amènent leur lot de défis particuliers pour les médecins. L'ACPM invite ses membres à lire son article intitulé « La vie privée dans un monde branché – protection des renseignements sur la santé des patients » pour en savoir davantage.

Un engagement partagé envers l'excellence

Le professionnalisme exige également des médecins qu'ils se tiennent mutuellement redevables de la prestation sécuritaire des soins. En s'acquittant de leurs obligations envers leurs collègues et les patients, les médecins pourraient se trouver dans une situation où ils doivent signaler un collègue à un organisme de réglementation, un hôpital, une autorité de santé ou un représentant de la santé publique. Les médecins pourraient juger bon de consulter les lois de leur province ou de leur territoire, ou encore les politiques de leur collège sur les signalements. Les principes du professionnalisme médical exigent des médecins qu'ils effectuent tout signalement sans tarder, voire immédiatement, lorsque la sécurité ou la santé d'un patient est compromise. Le médecin qui fait le signalement doit garder à l'esprit la sécurité de la collectivité tout comme le bien-être du médecin faisant l'objet du signalement.

Si la situation s'y prête, le médecin devrait d'abord discuter avec son collègue pour lui expliquer le motif du signalement (comme une question de santé ayant des répercussions sur la sécurité des patients). Il faut mentionner ici que le simple fait d'ignorer des situations devant être signalées peut entraîner des mesures disciplinaires, voire des procédures judiciaires. Les médecins doivent donc consigner en détail tout renseignement pertinent qui mène au signalement. L'ACPM est disponible pour conseiller ses membres qui font face à ce genre de situation difficile ou qui doivent signaler un collègue ou un autre professionnel de la santé.

Obligations d'autoréglementation

En tant qu'organisme de réglementation de la médecine, les Collèges ont défini en détail la nature du professionnalisme dans les soins médicaux en établissant leurs attentes envers le comportement des médecins. Ces derniers doivent connaître et respecter les règles, règlements et normes mis en place par leur Collège. Qu'il s'agisse d'une question d'inscription, d'évaluation, d'enseignement, de plaintes, d'enquêtes ou de mesures disciplinaires, on s'attend des médecins qu'ils se comportent de façon responsable et professionnelle et qu'ils accueillent favorablement un système efficace d'autogouvernance. L'ACPM recommande à ses membres qui ont reçu un avis de plainte de leur Collège de communiquer avec l'Association pour obtenir conseils et soutien.

Les médecins ont l'obligation, à la fois issue de l'autoréglementation et de la réglementation professionnelle, de s'assurer d'être en santé et en mesure d'offrir des soins de façon sécuritaire et compétente. Ils devraient divulguer des renseignements personnels sur leur santé à leur Collège si la loi l'exige ou s'ils y consentent, dans la mesure où c'est nécessaire pour protéger la sécurité des patients. Dans certains cas, l'état de santé du médecin peut limiter considérablement sa pratique, et, dans le pire des cas, l'empêchera carrément d'exercer la profession. L'ACPM est d'avis qu'une décision de cette ampleur doit être prise selon des critères fondés sur des données probantes qui établissent un niveau acceptable de risque. Le professionnalisme médical exige des médecins qu'ils observent toute restriction qu'on leur impose en raison de leur état de santé. Ce faisant, ils protègent à la fois la sécurité publique et l'intégrité de la profession médicale.

Le professionnalisme dans les procédures judiciaires

Le professionnalisme s'étend au processus judiciaire, qu'il s'agisse d'une action en justice intentée contre un médecin ou d'une demande de comparution à titre d'expert. Les médecins devraient communiquer avec l'ACPM aussi tôt que possible après avoir été cités dans une telle procédure. Un médecin-conseil de l'ACPM et un conseiller juridique affecté à cette fin guideront le membre tout au long du processus. Malgré l'anxiété qui accompagne ces situations, les médecins s'en tirent mieux s'ils font preuve de professionnalisme et d'intégrité dans l'ensemble du processus.

La conduite et le témoignage des médecins à qui l'on demande de comparaître à titre de d'experts sont un reflet de leur professionnalisme. Les médecins devraient donc être bien préparés, répondre franchement aux questions tout en demeurant posés et éviter d'argumenter. De plus en plus, les provinces et territoires adoptent des lois qui précisent que l'obligation de l'expert demeure envers le tribunal, et non envers une ou plusieurs parties impliquées dans l'action.

CONCLUSION

Inévitablement, qu'ils le veuillent ou non les assumer, les médecins doivent jouer différents rôles de défenseurs et doivent connaître exactement la nature de ce qu'ils défendent. Très peu d'enjeux non cliniques amènent plus de défis au moment de la prise d'une décision qu'établir le juste équilibre entre la défense des besoins d'un patient en particulier par rapport aux besoins généraux de la société. Par exemple, il n'y a pas de réponse universelle à la question de savoir si un omnipraticien devrait ou non intervenir en faveur d'un patient dont le nom se trouve sur une liste d'attente pour consulter un spécialiste. Chaque situation exige de faire preuve de jugement, pouvant être formulé efficacement si le médecin connaît bien ses obligations professionnelles.

Les médecins sont au cœur de l'établissement et de la défense d'une juste culture de sécurité. De temps à autre, cette responsabilité peut placer le médecin en situation de conflit avec la direction de son établissement, ses collègues ou d'autres professionnels de la santé. Le professionnalisme exige des médecins qu'ils soient responsables devant leurs patients et la société, ainsi que redevables les uns envers les autres, même si les circonstances sont difficiles. En mettant en pratique les grands principes du professionnalisme médical, les médecins pourront mieux affronter ces situations difficiles.

L'ACPM invite les médecins à observer et améliorer tous les volets du professionnalisme médical. Les membres de l'ACPM confrontés à des difficultés qui les exposent à un risque médico-légal ou dont l'intégrité professionnelle est remise en question seront rassurés de savoir que leur Association est là pour les aider.


Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne, Évolution de la relation professionnelle entre les médecins du Canada et notre système de santé : Où en sommes-nous?, 2012
  2. Association médicale canadienne, Code de déontologie de l'AMC, 2004
  3. College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta, Data stewardship: Secondary use of health information, December 2009, p. 11. Consulté le 13 mars 2012 à l'adresse : http://www.cpsa.ab.ca/Resources/advice.aspx

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.