Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Trauma care in the emergency department - Effective communication and resources vital to quality patient care

Originally published June 2012
W12-002-E

Effective communication, both verbal and written, between physicians, other healthcare professionals, and patients is fundamental to providing quality patient care. It is especially important in the often chaotic setting of treating multi-system trauma where patients often require complex care by multiple healthcare professionals. Resource deficiencies, which are often beyond the physician's control, also have an impact on trauma care.

The CMPA reviewed medico-legal cases involving trauma patients with multi-system or life-threatening single-system injuries, or both,1 between 2005 and 2011. A total of 237 cases were identified, of which 195 are closed. Falls were the most frequent mechanism of injury, followed by motor vehicle collisions (MVC) and assaults with blunt objects. The most common types of injuries were vertebral fractures, intracranial injuries, rib fractures, lung injuries (e.g. hemopneumothoraces and contusions), and splenic injuries. In the cases analyzed, trauma patients with multi-system injuries had better clinical outcomes than patients with single-system trauma. A considerable number of cases involved non-tertiary centres.

Delay in diagnosis was the most frequent shortcoming identified, followed by communication issues among healthcare professionals, and administrative concerns (e.g. inadequate documentation and resource problems).

This article describes the impact of communication and administrative problems on trauma patient care.

Communication problems

In this analysis communication problems were identified at all points in the continuum of patient care. Inadequate, delayed, or lack of communication between various healthcare professionals often resulted in critical patient information not being shared. The flow of information from other healthcare professionals to physicians was especially problematic.

The factors outlined below were identified as barriers to the delivery of quality trauma care.

Flow of information from pre-hospital and nursing personnel to physicians

  • failure of pre-hospital personnel and triage nurses to share important clinical information (e.g. mechanism of injury, anticoagulation status)
  • delay or failure of nursing personnel (i.e. in the emergency department, intensive care unit [ICU], ward, or penal institution) to notify the most appropriate physician of persistent symptoms or deterioration in the patient's condition

Flow of information from physicians to other physicians, healthcare professionals, and patients

  • failure to review pre-hospital, referring hospital, and nursing records
  • not communicating the trauma history or important clinical information to other physicians and nurses involved in the patient's care
  • lack of ongoing coordination of care between all physicians involved
  • delay or failure to assess the patient once advised of clinical deterioration
  • not providing or documenting clear discharge instructions to the patient or family
  • delay in advising a patient to return for treatment of an injury that was diagnosed following discharge (e.g. the final report of an X-ray differed from the preliminary interpretation)

Flow of information from hospital to physicians

  • inadequate system to ensure imaging reports reached the appropriate physicians, particularly when further diagnostic imaging or follow up was recommended

Documentation problems

Documentation is a key method of communication between physicians and healthcare professionals. In many of the cases, peer experts were critical of inadequate documentation of the examinations performed or specific examination results (e.g. neurological status), which created doubt about the thoroughness of the examination.

In the absence of documentation, the experts often questioned whether an examination or re-examination had actually been performed. Three general documentation deficiencies were identified:

  • failure to document the diagnosis, trauma history, physical and laboratory findings, and imaging interpretation
  • no discharge instructions
  • illegible notes

Case example

Inadequate handover and illegible documentation

A 50-year-old woman with a history of diabetes, hypertension, and seizures was transported to the emergency department (ED) after falling and striking her head. On arrival, the pre-hospital personnel and family members reported that the patient had confusion and a decreased level of consciousness. The patient had also been vomiting for one day, attributed to eating in a local restaurant. The nurse triaged the patient as Canadian Emergency Department Triage and Acuity Scale (CTAS) Level 3 (urgent). The ED physician promptly performed a physical examination, including a neurological exam, which he documented as normal. Anchoring on the 24 hours of vomiting, he diagnosed gastroenteritis and wrote orders for overnight admission, an antiemetic, and intravenous rehydration. Prior to the end of his shift, the ED physician telephoned the on-call hospitalist to hand over the patient's care. He conveyed the patient's medical history, normal physical and investigative findings, and the need for rehydration to treat the gastroenteritis. However, he failed to mention the patient's recent trauma history.

Despite receiving antiemetics, the patient continued to vomit. She also began to complain of a headache and was incontinent of urine. The ED nurse notified the hospitalist by telephone of the change in the patient's condition, including the headache, and advised him of her recent fall. The hospitalist did not attend the patient, but ordered a CT scan of the head for the following morning.

The patient was then transferred to a medical unit. The ward nurse documented that the patient was responding very little and did not open her eyes, was vomiting and was incontinent of stool twice. However, she did not notify the physician. The hospitalist did not assess the patient until the next morning at which point significant neurological decline was noted. The patient was immediately referred to an internist. An urgent head CT scan revealed a large intracerebral hemorrhage. Following transfer to a tertiary hospital, a neurosurgeon determined the patient was not a neurosurgical candidate. She subsequently died.

The family lodged a medical regulatory authority (College) complaint alleging both the ED physician and the hospitalist failed to adequately assess and diagnose the patient.

College decision

The College cautioned the ED physician with respect to the delayed diagnosis of cerebral hemorrhage. In particular, the College was critical of the following:

  • his failure to obtain or document an adequate history or physical examination as he did not consider the patient's fall to be a significant contributing factor to her presenting condition
  • the questionable finding of a normal neurological examination as it differed from the documented assessments of both the pre-hospital and nursing personnel
  • his failure to communicate significant information about the patient's head trauma history to the hospitalist during the handover of care
  • his illegible documentation

The College also cautioned the hospitalist for not assessing a patient with a history of a recent fall when advised of the patient's worsening neurological symptoms.


Resource problems

Although resource deficiencies were often beyond the control of the physician in the cases analyzed, they nonetheless interfered with the performance of various diagnostic and therapeutic measures. Resource problems were particularly problematic in non-tertiary centres.

The following resource deficiencies were identified:

  • medical equipment resource issues (e.g. CT scanner not available on-site or being serviced; end-tidal carbon dioxide (ETCO2) monitor malfunctioned during patient intubation)
  • human resource issues (e.g. lack of or unavailability of specialists; no CT scan technician available overnight)
  • lack of trauma beds in tertiary care centres
  • insufficient land and air emergency transportation services

Case example

Unavailable trauma bed

A 73-year-old man was involved in a lateral impact MVC. On arrival to the ED, his vital signs were stable and his Glasgow Coma Score (GCS) was 14. The ED physician examined the patient and numerous investigations were carried out. The patient was diagnosed with multiple fractures, including cervical spine (C-spine), ribs, and extremities, as well as closed head injury, pulmonary contusion, kidney, and bladder injuries. The ED physician attempted to transfer the patient to a trauma centre. However, no beds were available at two tertiary care hospitals, and inclement weather precluded air ambulance transport. Hypotensive episodes responded to IV fluid boluses and blood transfusions. Appropriate surgical specialists assessed the patient and recommended conservative injury management; no immediate surgical interventions were required.

Later that evening the patient was transferred to the ICU in stable condition. In the early morning the patient developed respiratory difficulties and was intubated with improvement. The on-call internist remained in hospital and advised the nursing personnel to contact her of any change in the patient's condition. The nurses notified the internist of hypotensive episodes repeatedly during the night. By telephone she ordered boluses of fluid replacement and blood transfusions, to which the patient responded well, but she did not attend the patient. The patient's condition gradually deteriorated. Despite appropriate treatment, he died. Autopsy concluded the death was due to multiple MVC-related blunt injuries, disseminated intravascular coagulation (DIC), and bilateral pulmonary fat emboli.

The family initiated a College complaint alleging inadequate management of the patient, failure to transfer the patient to a trauma centre, and failure of the internist to attend the patient overnight.

College decision

The College was of the opinion that the care provided by all of the physicians was reasonable and appropriate. The College supported the ED physician for making reasonable attempts to transfer the patient to a trauma unit. In addition, the patient appeared stable and, considering the inclement weather, it was prudent not to transfer him. The internist's attendance may not have altered the outcome, but it would have been reassuring. The College believed the patient's underlying conditions (i.e. DIC, persistent blood loss and fat emboli) were not amenable to treatment.


Risk management considerations

The following risk management considerations are based on the expert opinions in the analyzed cases:

  • Have a system or process in place to provide quality patient care when the required resources, such as professional care, healthcare equipment, bed, and patient transportation, are not available.
  • Review the notes written by other healthcare professionals, including those accompanying the patient, when the patient is transferred from another centre.
  • Document clearly, completely, and accurately. Include the patient's symptoms, physical findings, and relevant diagnostic investigation results.
  • Write legibly.
  • During the handover of care, communicate the history and mechanism of injury, pertinent clinical information, and investigation results. Emphasize the need for follow-up, if indicated.
  • Provide and document clear discharge instructions to the patient and family. Check that your instructions have been understood.

References

  1. For the purpose of this article, multi-system trauma is defined as trauma involving two or more body systems (excluding superficial injuries), and life-threatening trauma is defined as a single or multiple-system injury resulting in major patient disability or death.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

La traumatologie au service d'urgence — Les communications efficaces et les ressources sont essentielles à des soins de qualité

Publié initialement en juin 2012
W12-002-F

Une communication verbale et écrite efficace entre les médecins, les autres professionnels de la santé et les patients est fondamentale à la prestation de soins de qualité pour les patients. Dans le milieu souvent chaotique des polytraumatisés, où les patients ont souvent besoin de soins complexes prodigués par de nombreux professionnels de la santé, cette communication est particulièrement importante. La paucité de ressources, où les médecins n'ont souvent aucun pouvoir, a aussi des répercussions sur les soins en traumatologie.

L'ACPM a analysé ses dossiers médico-légaux portant sur la période entre 2005 et 2011, mettant en cause des patients présentant un polytraumatisme, un traumatisme susceptible de mettre la vie en danger, ou les deux1. Au total, 237 cas ont été relevés, dont 195 sont conclus. Les chutes représentaient le plus fréquent mécanisme de traumatisme, suivies des accidents de la route et des agressions avec objets contondants. Les fractures vertébrales, les blessures intracrâniennes, les fractures de côtes, les lésions pulmonaires (p. ex., hémopneumothorax et contusions) et les blessures spléniques étaient les types de blessure les plus fréquents. Dans les cas analysés, les polytraumatisés ont obtenu de meilleurs résultats cliniques que ceux qui présentaient un traumatisme à un seul système. Un nombre considérable de cas mettaient en cause des centres hospitaliers autres que tertiaires.

Les délais pour établir un diagnostic étaient la lacune la plus souvent signalée, suivis des problèmes de communication entre les professionnels de la santé et des questions administratives (p. ex., documentation inadéquate et problèmes de ressources).

Cet article décrit les répercussions des problèmes de communication et de gestion en traumatologie.

Problèmes de communication

Dans cette analyse, des problèmes de communication ont été relevés à toutes les étapes du continuum des soins. Des communications inadéquates, reportées ou absentes entre divers professionnels de la santé entraînent souvent l'omission du partage de renseignements essentiels au sujet du patient. Le transfert de renseignements des autres professionnels de la santé aux médecins posait particulièrement problème.

Les facteurs ci-dessous ont été désignés en tant qu'obstacles à la prestation de soins de qualité en traumatologie.

Transfert de l'information du personnel préhospitalier et infirmier aux médecins

  • Défaut du personnel préhospitalier et des infirmières du triage de faire part d'importants renseignements cliniques (p. ex., mécanisme de traumatisme, l'historique d'anticoagulants)
  • Retard ou défaut du personnel infirmier (c.-à-d. au service d'urgence, à l'unité des soins intensifs, à l'unité de soins ou dans un établissement carcéral) d'aviser le médecin le plus responsable de symptômes persistants ou d'une détérioration de l'état du patient

Transfert de l'information d'un médecin à d'autres médecins, à des professionnels de la santé et à des patients

  • Défaut d'examiner les notes préalables à l'arrivée, les dossiers de l'hôpital qui demande le transfert et les notes d'observation des infirmières
  • Défaut de faire part de l'histoire des traumatismes ou de renseignements cliniques importants aux autres médecins et infirmières qui participent aux soins du patient
  • Manque de coordination continue des soins entre tous les médecins concernés
  • Retard ou omission d'évaluer le patient lorsque le médecin est avisé de la détérioration de l'état clinique
  • Défaut de fournir ou de documenter des instructions claires concernant le congé pour le patient ou sa famille
  • Défaut d'aviser un patient de retourner à l'hôpital pour faire traiter une lésion diagnostiquée à la suite du congé (p. ex., lorsque le rapport final d'une radiographie diffère de l'interprétation initiale)

Transfert de l'information de l'hôpital aux médecins

  • Système inadéquat pour veiller à ce que les rapports d'examen d'imagerie soient acheminés aux bons médecins, surtout si des examens d'imagerie diagnostique ou un suivi additionnels étaient recommandés.

Problèmes de documentation

La documentation est sans doute le meilleur moyen de communication entre les médecins et les professionnels de la santé. Dans de nombreux cas, les experts critiquent la documentation inadéquate des examens effectués ou des résultats d'examens en particulier (p. ex., l'évaluation neurologique), ce qui jette le doute sur la rigueur de l'examen.

En l'absence d'une bonne documentation, il arrive souvent que les experts se demandent si un examen ou une reprise a été effectué ou non. Trois faiblesses générales dans la documentation ont été relevées.

  • Le défaut de documenter le diagnostic, l'histoire du traumatisme et les résultats de l'examen physique et des analyses en laboratoire, ainsi que l'interprétation des tests d'imagerie
  • Aucune instruction concernant le congé
  • Notes illisibles.

Exemple de cas

Transfert de soins inadéquat et documents illisibles

Une femme de 50 ans ayant des antécédents de diabète, d'hypertension et de convulsions est transportée au service d'urgence après une chute qui lui a porté un coup à la tête. À l'arrivée, le personnel préhospitalier et les membres de sa famille signalent que la patiente est confuse et que son état de conscience est diminué. La patiente présente également des vomissements pendant une journée, attribués à la nourriture d'un restaurant local. L'infirmière du triage détermine que la patiente se trouve au niveau 3 sur l'Échelle canadienne de triage et de gravité pour les départements d'urgence (urgent). Sans tarder, l'urgentologue effectue un examen physique, dont un examen neurologique, qui s'avère normal, et consigne ces faits au dossier. Retenant le fait que les vomissements durent depuis 24 heures, il diagnostique une gastroentérite et prescrit une hospitalisation pour la nuit, un antiémétique et une perfusion intraveineuse pour réhydrater la patiente. Avant la fin de son quart de travail, l'urgentologue téléphone à l'hospitaliste de garde pour lui transférer les soins de la patiente. Il lui fait part de l'anamnèse, des résultats normaux de l'examen physique et des autres examens, et du besoin de réhydrater la patiente pour traiter sa gastroentérite. Cependant, il ne mentionne pas le traumatisme récent subi par la patiente.

Malgré les antiémétiques reçus, la patiente présente toujours des vomissements. Elle commence également à se plaindre de céphalées et une incontinence urinaire apparaît. L'infirmière du service d'urgence téléphone à l'hospitaliste pour lui faire part du changement à l'état de la patiente, dont la céphalée, et lui parle également de la récente chute. Bien qu'il n'examine pas la patiente, l'hospitaliste demande une tomodensitométrie cérébrale soit effectuée le lendemain matin.

La patiente est par la suite transférée à une unité de médecine. L'infirmière de l'unité note que la patiente répond très peu aux stimuli et qu'elle n'ouvre pas les yeux, qu'elle vomit et qu'elle présente une incontinence fécale à deux occasions. Cependant, elle n'en avise pas le médecin. L'hospitaliste n'évalue cette patiente que le lendemain matin, moment auquel il note une importante atteinte neurologique. Une consultation auprès d'un interniste est immédiatement demandée. Une tomodensitométrie cérébrale pratiquée d'urgence révèle une importante hémorragie intracérébrale. À la suite du transfert à un hôpital tertiaire, un neurochirurgien déterminé que la patiente n'est pas une candidate pour la neurochirurgie. Elle décède quelque temps plus tard.

La famille a déposé une plainte auprès de l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège), alléguant que l'urgentologue et l'hospitaliste n'avaient pas évalué et diagnostiqué la patiente correctement.

Décision du Collège

Le Collège a admonesté l'urgentologue au sujet du délai dans l'établissement du diagnostic d'hémorragie cérébrale. Il a en particulier critiqué ce qui suit :

  • Le défaut d'obtenir et de documenter une histoire adéquate ou d'effectuer et de consigner l'examen physique, puisqu'il n'estimait pas que la chute de la patiente fût un important facteur contributif à son état
  • Le résultat douteux d'un examen neurologique normal, puisque celui-ci différait des évaluations documentées à la fois par le personnel préhospitalier et le personnel infirmier
  • Le défaut de communiquer à l'hospitaliste des renseignements importants au sujet du traumatisme crânien de la patiente au moment du transfert des soins.
  • La documentation illisible.

Le Collège a également admonesté l'hospitaliste pour ne pas avoir évalué une patiente présentant une histoire de chute récente quand on l'a avisé de la détérioration des symptômes neurologiques.


Problèmes liés aux ressources

Même si le manque de ressources ne relevait pas du pouvoir du médecin dans les dossiers analysés, il a malgré tout entravé l'exécution de diverses interventions diagnostiques et thérapeutiques. Les pénuries étaient particulièrement problématiques dans les centres hospitaliers non tertiaires.

Les problèmes suivants ont été relevés :

  • Problèmes d'approvisionnement en matériel médical (p. ex., aucun tomodensitogramme ne se trouvait sur place, ou l'appareil était en réparation; le moniteur de PCO2 de fin d'expiration (PCO2F) a fait défaut pendant l'intubation du patient)
  • Problèmes de ressources humaines (p. ex., pénurie ou non-disponibilité de spécialistes, non-disponibilité du technicien en tomodensitométrie avant le lendemain)
  • Manque de lits dans les unités de traumatologie des centres hospitaliers tertiaires
  • Services de transport d'urgence terrestre et aérien insuffisants.

Exemple de cas

Manque de lits dans les unités de traumatologie

Un homme de 73 ans est impliqué dans un accident de la route avec impact latéral. À son arrivée au service d'urgence, le patient présente des signes vitaux stables et un score de Glasgow de 14. L'urgentologue examine le patient, et de nombreuses investigations sont réalisées. On diagnostique de multiples fractures, dont entre autres aux vertèbres cervicales, aux côtes et aux extrémités, ainsi qu'un traumatisme crânien fermé, une contusion pulmonaire et des lésions rénales et vésicales. L'urgentologue tente de transférer le patient à un centre de traumatologie. Cependant, aucun lit n'est libre dans deux centres hospitaliers de soins tertiaires, et le mauvais temps empêche le transport par ambulance aérienne. Les perfusions intraveineuses administrées en bolus et les transfusions sanguines améliorent les épisodes d'hypotension. Diverses spécialités chirurgicales évaluent le patient et recommandent un plan de traitement conservateur; aucune intervention chirurgicale immédiate n'est requise.

Plus tard en soirée, le patient est transféré à l'unité des soins intensifs et son état est stable. Tôt le lendemain, le patient présente des difficultés respiratoires et est intubé, ce qui améliore son état. L'interniste de garde est à l'hôpital et demande au personnel infirmier de l'aviser de tout changement dans l'état du patient. Les infirmières informent l'interniste des épisodes répétés d'hypotension survenus pendant la nuit. Par téléphone, elle a prescrit des bolus intraveineux de liquides de remplacement et des transfusions sanguines, auxquels le patient répond bien. Elle n'examine toutefois pas le patient. L'état de ce dernier se détériore graduellement. Malgré les traitements appropriés, il décède. Selon l'autopsie, le décès est lié à de nombreux traumatismes fermés attribuables à l'accident de la route, à une coagulation intravasculaire disséminée (CID) et à des embolies graisseuses pulmonaires bilatérales.

La famille a déposé une plainte auprès du Collège, alléguant une mauvaise prise en charge du patient, le défaut d'avoir transféré celui-ci à un centre de traumatologie et le fait que l'interniste n'avait pas examiné le patient au cours de la nuit.

Décision du Collège

Selon le Collège, les soins prodigués par tous les médecins étaient à la fois raisonnables et appropriés. Le Collège a donné son appui à l'urgentologue pour avoir raisonnablement tenté de transférer le patient à une unité de traumatologie. De plus, le patient semblait stable, et, eu égard à la mauvaise température, il aurait été imprudent de le transférer. S'il se peut que la présence de l'interniste au chevet du patient n'ait pas modifié le résultat, elle aurait du moins été rassurante. Le Collège estimait que l'état sousjacent du patient (la CID, les hémorragies persistantes et les embolies graisseuses) ne se prêtaient pas au traitement.


Gestion des risques médico-légaux

Les considérations suivantes en matière de gestion des risques sont fondées sur les opinions des experts dans les dossiers analysés :

  • Mettre en place un système ou un processus visant à prodiguer des soins de qualité aux patients dans des situations où les ressources requises (soins professionnels, matériel médical, lits et services de transport pour les patients) ne sont pas disponibles.
  • Passer en revue les notes consignées par d'autres professionnels de la santé, y compris celles qui accompagnent les transferts de patients provenant d'un autre centre hospitalier.
  • Veiller à ce que la documentation soit claire, complète et exacte. Décrire les symptômes du patient, les observations physiques et les résultats des examens diagnostiques pertinents.
  • Écrire lisiblement.
  • Pendant le transfert des soins, faire part de l'histoire et du mécanisme du traumatisme, des renseignements cliniques pertinents et des résultats des examens. Mettre l'accent sur le besoin de faire le suivi, le cas échéant.
  • Donner et documenter des instructions claires concernant le congé au patient et à sa famille. Confirmer la compréhension de ces instructions.

References

  1. Dans cet article, on entend par polytraumatisme un traumatisme mettant en cause deux systèmes ou plus (à l'exception des blessures superficielles). Un traumatisme susceptible de mettre la vie en danger en est un qui met en cause un ou plusieurs systèmes et qui entraîne une grave incapacité chez le patient, ou son décès.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.