Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Working with medical equipment — Reducing the risks

Originally published March 2012
P1201-5-E

From simple lighting to technologically-advanced medical devices and surgical instruments, medical equipment is integral to the delivery of quality patient care. Although the potential for adverse events related to equipment malfunction or failure exists, such incidents can be difficult to predict or prevent.

A CMPA review of medico-legal cases arising from equipment problems encountered during medical and surgical procedures between 2005 and 2011 identified 200 cases, of which 174 were closed. The majority of problems occurred in the operating room (OR) or labour and delivery room, although incidents in out-of-hospital specialty clinics (e.g. cosmetic surgery and laser clinics) and physicians' offices were also prevalent. Medico-legal difficulties crossed a broad range of physician groups. Other healthcare professionals (e.g. nurses, technicians), healthcare facilities, and equipment manufacturers were also key players. Legal actions comprised 80% of the closed medico-legal cases. Of interest, 59% of these legal actions were settled, compared with 32% for the overall CMPA experience during the same time period.

In the cases analyzed, 3 predominant equipment-related issues were identified:

  • equipment malfunctions and failures
  • wrong application, improper use, or unapproved use of equipment during a procedure or during medication delivery by physicians and other healthcare professionals
  • new equipment issues, including training and supervision deficiencies

Issues identified

Many equipment issues that had an impact on patient care were beyond the control of the physician, whereas others were due to operator performance. At times, these issues coexisted within the same case. Mechanical issues and faulty equipment were often determined to be the responsibility of the healthcare facility or manufacturer. In contrast, physicians and other healthcare professionals were often held accountable for the wrong application or improper use of equipment.

Regardless of the causes, patient injury resulting from equipment-related misadventures was a recurrent theme. Burns, lacerations, and perforations were the most prevalent injuries.

A sampling of the diverse equipment issues identified in the cases reviewed, as well as illustrative cases, are presented here.

Sample of equipment issues related to organizational factors

The responsibility for equipment care and maintenance varies according to the location of care. For example, in a trial case involving a hospital's failure to calibrate equipment on a regular basis, the judge concluded equipment maintenance was the hospital's responsibility. A peer expert in this case further maintained that the physician's role would centre on the functioning of the equipment during the procedure. However, in clinics or private office settings, the onus for equipment maintenance might shift to the clinic owner or the physician.

Equipment deficiencies during a procedure or during medication delivery

  • breakage of surgical instruments (e.g. needles, scalpel blades)
  • malfunctioning equipment or equipment failure (e.g. misfiring of a stapler; malfunction of a patient controlled analgesia [PCA] pump)
  • detachment of equipment (e.g. ureteric stone basket)
  • defective equipment (e.g. rupture of a catheter balloon)
  • lack of optimal equipment (e.g. lack of appropriate syringes)

System factors

  • improper set-up or monitoring of equipment by others (e.g. incorrect settings on phototherapy, laser and lithotripsy machines)
  • failure of the healthcare facility to follow the equipment manufacturer's recommendations for maintenance, cleaning, calibration, and replacement
  • not reporting equipment malfunction to the appropriate personnel for follow-up and testing
  • incorrect training information
  • inadequate communication of manufacturer equipment recalls
  • pager system failure

 

Sample of issues related to equipment operator performance

Inappropriate use of equipment

  • use of equipment for non-indicated purposes (e.g. inappropriate laser for tattoo removal; use of latex gloves for a patient with a known latex allergy)
  • incorrect use of equipment (e.g. misapplication of forceps during delivery)
  • incorrect equipment assembly
  • failure to check or readjust machine settings prior to a procedure (e.g. laser machine settings)
  • failure to use equipment safeguards (e.g. failing to activate properly functioning alarms on an anaesthesia monitor)
  • failure to maintain sterile precautions
  • continuing a procedure once an equipment problem was evident (technical difficulties with the camera lighting supply during a laparoscopic procedure)
  • failure to check equipment for completeness at the end of a procedure (e.g. detachment of a ureteric stone basket)

 

New equipment issues

  • lack of familiarity with new equipment or equipment an individual has not used before
  • failure to adjust the treatment parameters for new equipment (e.g. former cautery settings inappropriate for new cautery equipment)
  • inadequate supervision of inexperienced physicians and other healthcare professionals

Other equipment issues

  • lack of documentation of the level of supervision or direction provided by a physician to clinic or office employees using equipment for technical procedures

Case examples

In these cases the medical experts may have commented on other aspects of the physicians' care, but only opinions related to equipment are provided here.

Continuing a procedure when an equipment problem was evident

Following instillation of oil into both ears three days prior, a middle-aged woman with bilateral impacted cerumen presented to an ambulatory clinic for earwax removal. Although the practice in the community hospital was to use disposable plastic syringes for ear syringing, no plastic syringe was available. Therefore, the nurse provided a metal syringe to the physician, who was experienced in ear syringing. He noted the metal cap of the syringe did not screw on properly due to rust on the cap and thread lines. However, he concluded the fit was reasonable. During the third irrigation attempt of the left ear, the metal tip of the syringe came off, resulting in a perforation of the tympanic membrane. Despite subsequent surgical repair, the woman was left with a mild sensorineural hearing loss.

The woman initiated a legal action alleging the physician perforated her left ear drum during ear syringing, but later decided not to proceed.

A peer expert was of the opinion that it was not appropriate for the physician to use the metal syringe, as a potential equipment malfunction was evident before the ear syringing. However, he commended the physician for his excellent follow-up care and immediate referral to an otolaryngologist. The expert also maintained that it was the hospital's responsibility to properly maintain the metal syringes. The hospital has since discarded all metal syringes.

 

Use of a surgical instrument with a known history of malfunction

A 40-year-old woman with lipodystrophy and stage 4 cellulite of the lateral thighs presented to a surgical clinic for liposuction under general anaesthetic. The cosmetic surgeon was aware the handle of the power-assisted liposuction device had a history of problems and had in fact been returned to the manufacturer for servicing on at least 4 occasions. Early in the procedure, the cosmetic surgeon noted the liposuction device was not functioning properly and the handle was becoming warm. To view the power setting on the liposuction unit, he briefly laid down the device with the handle on the paper drape covering the patient's calf. A full-thickness skin burn resulted. The burn eventually healed following appropriate treatment, but the patient was left with a scar.

The patient began legal proceedings. In this specific case, the track record of recurring maintenance problems with the equipment and the failure to take special care in its use was felt to be indefensible. The patient was paid a settlement by the CMPA on behalf of the member.

 

Managing medico-legal risks

The following risk management considerations are based on the expert opinions in the analyzed cases:

Organizational factors

Responsibility and accountability for equipment set up, care, and maintenance varies according to the location of care. For example, in the hospital setting, the organization and healthcare professionals other than the physician are usually responsible for these tasks. However, in clinics or private office settings, the clinic owner or physicians may have responsibility for equipment. Organizations should consider:

  • Is there a verification process that the required equipment is available, appropriately sterilized, and functioning, and that the settings are appropriate for the particular case?
  • Are the manufacturer's recommendations for equipment maintenance, cleaning, calibration, and replacement followed? Do clear policies and procedures exist for handling equipment concerns and recalls?
  • If new equipment is introduced, do healthcare professionals receive appropriate training prior to using it?

Equipment operator factors

Users of equipment should consider:

  • Are you familiar with the equipment you are using, and is it appropriate for the procedure?
  • If the desired equipment is not available, have you appropriately considered and documented your options and discussed these with the patient?
  • If equipment malfunctions or fails during a procedure, do you take and document appropriate measures, including advising the required personnel for maintenance?
  • Is all equipment inspected for completeness at the end of the procedure, particularly if the instrument breaks, is disassembled during the procedure, or has the potential to detach?
  • When supervising or delegating a procedure involving equipment to a trainee or another healthcare professional, do you consider if the individual has the required knowledge, skills, qualifications, and experience to perform the procedure and to operate the necessary equipment? If necessary, is appropriate supervision available?

Physicians frequently use equipment to assist with diagnosis and treatment. Equipment failure, malfunction, or inappropriate use can result in complaints to medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) or in legal actions. Physicians are encouraged to be familiar with how to appropriately use the equipment in their practices and the potential pitfalls of use.


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Réduire les risques liés à l'utilisation d'équipement médical

Publié initialement en mars 2012
P1201-5-F

Qu'il s'agisse tout simplement d'éclairage ou encore d'appareils médicaux et d'instruments chirurgicaux à la fine pointe de la technologie, l'équipement médical est essentiel à la prestation de soins de qualité aux patients. Bien qu'un événement indésirable ou un accident découlant d'une défaillance ou du mauvais fonctionnement de l'équipement soit possible, de telles situations peuvent être difficiles à prévoir et à prévenir.

L'ACPM a analysé les dossiers médico-légaux mettant en cause des problèmes d'équipement survenus dans le cadre d'interventions médicales et chirurgicales entre 2005 et 2011. Au total, 200 dossiers ont été dénombrés, dont 174 étaient conclus. Bien que la majorité des problèmes se soient produits dans la salle d'opération ou dans la salle de travail et d'accouchement, les incidents dans des cliniques spécialisées externes (p. ex., des cliniques de chirurgie esthétique et de laser) et dans les cabinets de médecins étaient également courants. Les problèmes médico-légaux portaient sur de nombreux groupes de médecins. D'autres professionnels de la santé (p. ex., infirmières, techniciens), des établissements de soins de santé et des fabricants d'équipement étaient également des intervenants clés. Les actions en justice constituaient 80 % des dossiers médico-légaux conclus. Fait intéressant, 59 % de ces actions en justice ont fait l'objet d'un règlement, comparativement à 32 % de l'ensemble des dossiers de l'ACPM sur la même période.

Parmi les dossiers analysés, trois problématiques prédominantes liées à l'équipement ont été recensées :

  • défaillances ou mauvais fonctionnement de l'équipement
  • application incorrecte, utilisation inappropriée ou utilisation non approuvée de l'équipement lors d'une intervention ou de l'administration de médicaments par des médecins et d'autres professionnels de la santé
  • problèmes liés au nouvel équipement, dont des lacunes de formation et de supervision.

Détermination des problèmes

De nombreux problèmes d'équipement ayant eu une incidence sur les soins prodigués aux patients étaient indépendants de la volonté du médecin, alors que d'autres étaient attribuables au rendement de l'utilisateur. À l'occasion, ces deux situations coexistaient dans un même dossier. Les problèmes mécaniques et les équipements défectueux étaient souvent estimés relever de la responsabilité de l'établissement de soins de santé ou du fabricant. En revanche, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé ont souvent été tenus responsables de l'application incorrecte ou de l'utilisation inappropriée de l'équipement.

Quelle qu'en soit la cause, les préjudices subis par les patients, découlant d'incidents malencontreux liés à l'équipement, constituaient un thème récurrent. Les brûlures, les lacérations et les perforations s'avéraient les blessures les plus courantes. Une liste des divers problèmes d'équipement identifiés dans les dossiers analysés ainsi que des exemples de cas sont présentés ci-dessous.

Problèmes d'équipement attribuables à des facteurs organisationnels

La responsabilité de la surveillance et de l'entretien de l'équipement varie en fonction du lieu où sont prodigués les soins. À titre d'exemple, dans un procès mettant en cause le défaut par un hôpital de veiller à l'étalonnage régulier de l'équipement, le juge a conclu que la responsabilité de l'entretien de l'équipement relevait de l'hôpital. Dans la même cause, un expert a soutenu que le rôle du médecin est axé sur le fonctionnement de l'équipement pendant l'intervention. Or, dans une clinique ou un cabinet privé, le fardeau de l'entretien de l'équipement peut incomber au propriétaire de la clinique ou au médecin.

Défaillances de l'équipement pendant une intervention ou pendant l'administration de médicaments

  • bris d'instruments chirurgicaux (p. ex., aiguilles, lames de scalpel)
  • mauvais fonctionnement ou défaillance de l'équipement (p. ex., ratés d'une agrafeuse; mauvais fonctionnement d'une pompe d'analgésie contrôlée par le patient [ACP])
  • détachement de pièces d'équipement (p. ex., sonde-panier lors de l'extraction de lithiases)
  • équipement défectueux (p. ex., rupture du ballonnet d'un cathéter )
  • absence d'équipement optimal (p. ex., absence de seringues appropriées).

Facteurs liés au système

  • installation ou surveillance inappropriée de l'équipement par des tiers (p. ex., réglages incorrects des appareils de photothérapie, de laser et de lithotripsie)
  • défaut par l'établissement de soins de santé d'observer les recommandations du fabricant de l'équipement relatives à l'entretien, au nettoyage, à l'étalonnage et au remplacement
  • défaut de signaler le mauvais fonctionnement de l'équipement au personnel approprié aux fins de suivi et de vérification
  • renseignements incorrects lors de la formation
  • communication inadéquate des rappels d'équipement par le fabricant
  • défaillance du système de téléavertisseur.

 

Problèmes liés au rendement de l'utilisateur de l'équipement

Utilisation inappropriée de l'équipement

  • utilisation de l'équipement à des fins non indiquées (p. ex., laser inapproprié pour un détatouage; utilisation de gants de latex chez un patient ayant une allergie connue au latex)
  • utilisation incorrecte de l'équipement (p. ex., application incorrecte des forceps pendant l'accouchement)
  • assemblage incorrect de l'équipement
  • défaut de vérifier ou d'ajuster les réglages de l'appareil avant une intervention (p. ex., les réglages d'un appareil laser)
  • défaut d'utiliser les dispositifs de protection de l'équipement (p. ex., défaut d'activer les alarmes fonctionnelles sur un moniteur d'anesthésie)
  • défaut d'observer les mesures d'asepsie
  • poursuite d'une intervention alors qu'un problème d'équipement était apparent (problèmes techniques avec l'instrument d'éclairage de la caméra pendant une intervention laparoscopique)
  • défaut de vérifier l'intégralité de l'équipement à la fin d'une intervention (p. ex., détachement des pièces d'une sonde-panier lors de l'extraction de lithiases).

 

Problèmes liés au nouvel équipement

  • absence d'une bonne connaissance du nouvel équipement ou d'une pièce d'équipement qu'une personne n'a jamais utilisé auparavant
  • défaut d'ajuster les paramètres du traitement en fonction du nouvel équipement (p. ex., anciens réglages du cautère inappropriés pour le nouvel équipement de cautérisation)
  • supervision inadéquate des médecins et des autres professionnels de la santé inexpérimentés. Autres problèmes liés à l'équipement
  • absence de documentation sur le niveau de supervision ou d'orientation fourni par un médecin à l'intention des employés d'une clinique ou d'un cabinet qui utilisent de l'équipement pour des interventions techniques.

Autres problèmes liés à l'équipement

  • absence de documentation sur le niveau de supervision ou d'orientation fourni par un médecin à l'intention des employés d'une clinique ou d'un cabinet qui utilisent de l'équipement pour des interventions techniques.

Exemples de cas

Dans les cas suivants, bien que les experts aient pu commenter d'autres aspects des soins des médecins, seules les opinions liées à l'équipement sont présentées.

Poursuite d'une intervention alors qu'un problème d'équipement était apparent

 

Trois jours après une instillation d'huile dans les deux oreilles, une femme d'âge moyen ayant des bouchons de cérumen bilatéraux se présente à une clinique de soins ambulatoires pour faire enlever le cérumen. Bien que la pratique dans cet hôpital communautaire consiste à utiliser des seringues de plastique jetables pour les lavages auriculaires, aucune seringue de plastique n'est disponible. L'infirmière remet donc une seringue en métal au médecin, qui est expérimenté avec la technique de lavage auriculaire. Il remarque que l'embout de métal de la seringue ne se visse pas en place correctement en raison de la présence de rouille sur l'embout et sur les filets de vis. Il conclut toutefois que l'assemblage est raisonnablement acceptable. Au troisième essai d'irrigation de l'oreille gauche, l'embout de métal de la seringue se détache, entraînant une perforation de la membrane tympanique. En dépit d'une réparation chirurgicale subséquente, la patiente subit une légère perte auditive neurosensorielle.

La patiente intente une action en justice alléguant que le médecin a perforé sa membrane tympanique gauche pendant le lavage auriculaire. Par la suite, elle laisse tomber la poursuite qu'elle avait entamée.

Un expert était d'avis qu'il n'était pas approprié pour le médecin d'utiliser la seringue en métal, puisque la possibilité d'une défaillance de l'équipement était apparente avant le traitement. Toutefois, il a approuvé l'excellence des soins de suivi offerts par le médecin et le fait que ce dernier avait immédiatement dirigé la patiente vers un oto-rhino-laryngologiste. L'expert a également maintenu qu'il relevait de la responsabilité de l'hôpital d'assurer l'entretien approprié des seringues en métal. Depuis, l'hôpital a jeté toutes les seringues en métal.

 

Utilisation d'un instrument chirurgical ayant des antécédents connus de mauvais fonctionnement

Une femme de 40 ans atteinte de lipodystrophie et de cellulite de stade IV aux cuisses en région latérale se présente à une clinique chirurgicale pour une liposuccion sous anesthésie générale. Le chirurgien esthétique connaît les problèmes liés à la poignée de l'appareil de liposuccion à commande assistée, qui a d'ailleurs été retourné au fabricant pour être réparé au moins quatre fois. Au début de l'intervention, le chirurgien esthétique remarque que l'appareil de liposuccion ne fonctionne pas correctement et que la poignée chauffe. Afin de vérifier le réglage d'intensité de l'appareil, il le dépose brièvement, la poignée se trouvant sur le drap de papier recouvrant le mollet de la patiente. Il en résulte une brûlure du troisième degré. À la suite d' un traitement approprié, la brûlure guérit éventuellement, bien que la patiente conserve une cicatrice.

La patiente intente une poursuite en justice. Dans ce cas précis, les antécédents de problèmes d'entretien récurrents avec l'équipement et le défaut de prendre des mesures particulières lors de son emploi faisaient en sorte qu'il n'était pas possible de défendre cette cause. L'ACPM a versé un règlement à la patiente au nom du chirurgien.

 

La gestion des risques médico-légaux

Les considérations suivantes en matière de gestion des risques sont fondées sur les opinions des experts à l'égard des dossiers analysés :

Facteurs organisationnels

La responsabilité et la responsabilisation liées à l'installation, à la surveillance et à l'entretien de l'équipement varient en fonction du lieu des soins. À titre d'exemple, en milieu hospitalier, l'établissement et les professionnels de la santé autres que le médecin sont généralement responsables de ces tâches. Par contre, dans les cliniques et les cabinets privés, le propriétaire de la clinique ou les médecins peuvent être responsables de l'équipement. Les établissements devraient tenir compte des questions suivantes :

  • Existe-t-il un processus permettant de vérifier que l'équipement nécessaire est disponible, stérilisé correctement et fonctionnel, et que les réglages sont appropriés pour l'intervention prévue?
  • Les recommandations du fabriquant relatives à l'entretien, au nettoyage, à l'étalonnage et au remplacement de l'équipement sont-elles suivies? Existe-t-il des politiques et des procédures claires pour traiter des préoccupations et des rappels?
  • S'il y a introduction de nouvel équipement, les professionnels de la santé reçoivent-ils une formation appropriée avant de l'utiliser?

Facteurs liés à l'utilisateur de l'équipement

Les personnes qui utilisent l'équipement devraient tenir compte des questions suivantes :

  • Avez-vous une bonne connaissance de l'équipement que vous utilisez et est-il approprié pour l'intervention prévue?
  • Si l'équipement désiré n'est pas disponible, avez-vous songé attentivement à vos options, les avez-vous documentées et en avez-vous discuté avec le patient?
  • En cas de défaillance ou de mauvais fonctionnement de l'équipement pendant une intervention, prenez-vous des mesures appropriées, notamment en avertissant le personnel chargé de l'entretien, et les documentez-vous?
  • Toute pièce d'équipement est-elle examinée pour confirmer son intégralité à la fin de l'intervention, notamment si un instrument s'est brisé, a été désassemblé pendant l'intervention ou s'il existe une possibilité que des pièces s'en détachent?
  • Lorsque vous supervisez ou que vous déléguez à une stagiaire ou à un autre professionnel de la santé une intervention qui exige le recours à de l'équipement, évaluez-vous si la personne a les connaissances, les compétences, les qualifications et l'expérience voulues pour effectuer l'intervention et manier l'équipement nécessaire? Au besoin, une supervision appropriée est-elle offerte?

Les médecins ont souvent recours à de l'équipement pour poser un diagnostic et prodiguer un traitement. Une défaillance, le mauvais fonctionnement ou l'utilisation inappropriée de l'équipement peut entraîner une plainte aux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ou une action en justice. Les médecins sont encouragés à se familiariser avec l'utilisation appropriée de l'équipement dans le cadre de leur pratique, ainsi qu'avec les embûches éventuelles de son utilisation.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.