Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Dealing with conflict in the doctor-patient relationship

Originally published June 2013
P1302-1-E

Learning how to prevent or manage conflict effectively is an important clinical skill for physicians.

Studies indicate that up to 15% of patient encounters have been described by physicians as being difficult. Patients involved in these encounters may have worse short-term clinical outcomes.1

The CMPA's advice about managing such conflicts is based on experience in medico-legal matters, medical literature, and consultation with experts.

Case example: Termination of doctor-patient relationship leads to College complaint


A physician first saw a 55-year-old female for a prescription renewal for hormone replacement therapy. She expressed concern, given the patient's slightly increased systolic blood pressure and family history of stroke. After some discussion, the physician stopped the hormone replacement therapy and suggested starting treatment for the patient's osteopenia. Nutritional and other lifestyle changes were also suggested, but the patient was adamant these were unnecessary. At a subsequent visit, another medication was prescribed but the patient stopped taking it of her own accord because of symptoms she considered to be side effects. The patient demanded that the physician do something about these new symptoms and the doctor made referrals to appropriate specialists. The patient later requested more referrals to other specialists, but because the patient was now asymptomatic, the physician did not make these additional referrals. The patient stormed out of the office, slamming the door.

The patient continued to experience issues over time which were addressed in emergency department visits as well as with other physicians and with the same physician. The patient frequently appeared quite angry, loudly accusing the physician of never sending her for tests or referrals, or providing treatment. The patient refused to allow her medical records from other physicians to be sent to the attending physician.

Recognizing the patient's dissatisfaction and lack of trust in the doctor-patient relationship, the physician suggested to the patient that she find a new family physician. A termination letter was drafted, but it was not sent immediately. When the patient called for a new appointment, the office receptionist indicated that she would have to obtain permission from the physician before scheduling an appointment and outlined the content of the letter to the patient. The patient swore at the receptionist and hung up.

The patient subsequently complained to the medical regulatory authority (College).
 

Outcome

In this case, the College found no deficiency with the physician's medical care and stated there was insufficient evidence to comment on the complaints about the doctor's interpersonal skills.

The College did, however, have concerns with the process of communicating the termination of the doctor-patient relationship. It reminded the physician that patients should be notified in a timely fashion of a decision to end the doctor-patient relationship, and that this should be communicated in writing and, as appropriate, by direct communication between the physician and patient.

Although some patients may have expectations, or even demands, that are medically inappropriate and may complain to the College, physicians are not required to accede to patient demands that are medically unnecessary or inappropriate. Should the patient lodge a complaint, the College will generally expect the physician to have provided sound medical advice, to have presented it in a professional way, and to have documented the discussion in the medical record.

Understanding conflict

To avoid misunderstandings that can lead to conflict, clear communication is essential. Physicians should always let the patient know their intentions, whether asking personal questions, performing a physical examination or procedures, or responding to patient requests.

Conflict is normal, understandable, and inevitable. Conflict cannot be avoided at all times and when it does occur, care should be taken to understand the situation properly without taking it personally. Conflict that is addressed before it becomes unmanageable may present an opportunity to better understand patients and their needs. Conflict that is allowed to escalate, however, may become destructive.

Despite best intentions, physicians cannot meet all patient expectations. All physicians encounter difficult behaviour and conflict with some patients or patients' families. Such behaviours can include patients not complying with recommended investigations and treatments, repeatedly doubting the doctor's approach to their care, reacting with anger to their doctor's suggestions, or avoiding a therapeutic alliance with their doctor.

Difficult patient behaviours may evoke negative reactions in physicians. Physicians need to be acutely aware of maladaptive responses to which they may fall prey. These responses can include getting angry, blaming the patient, being accusatory, telling the patient there is nothing wrong with them or that there is nothing more that can be done, and ignoring phone calls or emails from the patient. None of these responses are helpful. Rather, physicians must strive to remain calm and focus on understanding the patient's behaviour and considering how to best respond.2

Managing conflict is particularly challenging when the other individual is angry, aggressive, intimidating, or threatening. Anger is always a secondary emotion. By understanding what is underlying a patient's anger, physicians can learn to confidently negotiate many of these situations.

Physicians should try to understand patients' behaviours in the context of their medical conditions. Conflict arises when expectations are not met. Conflict resolution requires physicians to focus first on patients' needs, and later on solutions. Initially, physicians should listen to patients to determine their needs. It helps if the physician confirms awareness of a patient's concerns and viewpoints by verbalizing and stating their understanding of the issue back to the patient. This approach demonstrates empathy and is reassuring to patients.

Patients and physicians can use this knowledge to work together to reach an appropriate solution. Determining the problems, goals, and respective roles of both the physician and patient can help identify where there are differences in opinion and how the situation might be resolved. Finding common ground validates patients and includes them in the diagnostic and healing process.

Managing conflict

Communication and manner are paramount. Throughout negotiation of a solution, physicians should use non-confrontational vocabulary. It can be helpful to use "I-statements," as illustrated in the examples below, to verbalize observations, thoughts, feelings, and needs.3 Such verbalizations help clarify the perspectives of the individuals in conflict. Expressing feelings in a non-blaming way helps build empathy. However, it may be difficult for physicians to be empathetic when they are feeling negative about a patient. Physicians should recognize their own emotions, tune into the emotional messages the patient is giving, and attend to nonverbal communication to develop some empathy for the patient's situation.

When a patient is agitated and confrontational, remaining calm and speaking politely in a soft voice often helps to diffuse emotions. Excellent communication skills are needed to de-escalate conflict. The environment must be safe and the discussion non-judgmental.

Five useful steps physicians can take in de-escalating the conflict include:

  1. Active listening. Physicians should give patients their full attention and use verbal prompts and nonverbal behaviour (e.g. body language) to encourage patients to share information. They should listen to patients. Any probing should be done in a gentle and open way. Statements or questions that could be seen as accusatory, such as "Why are you angry?" should be avoided as these may bring out negative emotions. Patients should be allowed to express themselves. Physicians should confirm what patients have said through reflection or summarizing.
  2. Agreeing. Patients need to feel they are being heard. Physicians should try to find a fact that they can agree with. "You are right. I did not refer you to the specialist when you requested that."
  3. Acknowledging the patient's feelings. "I can see this has made you quite upset." Reflecting the emotion back to the patient helps demonstrate empathy. When physicians show they understand why patients are experiencing a particular emotion, the situation usually improves. Through gentle questioning, physicians should explore the impact of the issue and acknowledge the patient's reaction. "I can see that you might have felt that I was not listening or did not care."
  4. Apologizing may be helpful. "I am sorry that you may have felt that way. That was not my intent. A referral was not necessary at the time since your symptoms had resolved."
  5. Acting as a team and working together without blame or judgment. "Even though I'm not referring you immediately, I am going to continue to monitor your condition very closely and we will work through this together." Statements that demonstrate a partnership are surprisingly important in establishing collaboration in the doctor-patient relationship.

Demonstrating genuine respect for the patient should weave through all aspects of the doctor-patient relationship and may need to be communicated more explicitly: "I know this is difficult for you. I'm impressed at your determination to get an explanation for your symptoms. That's a great quality and I'm going to help you get that explanation in whatever way I can. Let's work through this together step by step."

Practice management considerations

Office procedures and behavioural expectations should be made clear to patients from the start of a physician-patient relationship. Office brochures given to patients at the initial visit may help to educate them about these points.

Physicians may need to be explicit about what behaviour is unacceptable, for example, no shouting, name-calling, or threats. Once the boundaries are established, physicians should follow and apply them consistently. Patients should be encouraged to voice their concerns early so physicians or their staff can address these.

Patients who are known to be difficult can be scheduled at times that are less busy. Appropriate scheduling allows for time to manage such situations and avoids inconveniencing other patients.

There should be procedures in place on how to deal with abuse of staff. Physicians should not place their staff or themselves in danger. Office staff can be trained on how to set limits and deal with conflict. They can be offered scripts with suggestions on what to say and do in specific difficult situations. Staff must be reassured that physicians will support them if they follow the suggested protocol.

Inappropriate behaviour should be carefully documented in the medical record. Office staff subjected to inappropriate behaviour or discussions should also document these in a factual and non-judgmental way in the medical record.

Managing more difficult situations

Despite a physician's best efforts to prevent or resolve conflicts, there will be situations that do not improve.

If a physician feels unable to continue with a patient encounter because of the negative emotions and behaviour, it is reasonable to verbalize these feelings politely in a factual way, end the interview, and reschedule the remainder of the visit or have someone else take over. "I am finding it difficult to plan the next steps in your care when you are shouting. We will have to complete the remainder of the visit at another time. Let's schedule a new appointment."

Physicians should plan in advance for the next scheduled appointment and be prepared to give clear feedback. The following approach may be considered by physicians:

  • State the constructive purpose of the feedback.
  • Describe specifically what is known or has been observed.
  • Describe their own reactions or feelings.
  • Give the patient an opportunity to respond.
  • Offer specific suggestions for improvement.
  • Obtain a commitment for change from the patient.
  • Summarize and express support.
  • Plan another appointment to follow up, monitor, and re-evaluate.
  • Document the discussion factually in the medical record.

In general, terminating a patient from a practice is a last resort if the feedback does not lead to changed behaviour. In terminating a physician-patient relationship, physicians should follow the guidelines set out by their College. Also see "Ending the doctor-patient relationship."

 

References

  1. Hinchey, S.A., Jackson, J.L., "A cohort study assessing difficult patient encounters in a walk-in primary care clinic, predictors and outcomes.," Journal of General Internal Medicine (2011) Vol. 26, no.6 p.588-594
  2. For more information, see: Gautam, M., The Tarzan Rule: Tips for a healthy life in medicine, Book Coach Press, Ottawa 2011 ISBN 0978470176
  3. Farnan, P.A., Conflict Management, in: The CanMEDS Physician Health Guide, The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, 2009 p.60-61, ISBN 978-1-926588-03-2

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Gérer le conflit dans la relation entre un patient et son médecin

Publié initialement en juin 2013
P1302-1-F

Apprendre comment prévenir et gérer le conflit – une importante compétence clinique pour les médecins

Les études indiquent que les médecins ont trouvé difficiles jusqu'à 15 % de tous leurs contacts avec leurs patients. Les patients impliqués dans ces contacts ont quant à eux de moins bons résultats cliniques à court terme.1

Les conseils formulés par l'ACPM quant à la gestion de ces conflits reposent sur son expérience des questions médico-légales, la documentation médicale et des consultations auprès d'experts.

Exemple de cas : La fin d'une relation entre un médecin et sa patiente aboutit à une plainte au Collège



Une femme de 55 ans consulte un médecin pour la première fois, pour renouveler une ordonnance d'hormonothérapie de remplacement. Elle exprime ses inquiétudes quant à une légère hausse de sa tension artérielle systolique et à ses antécédents familiaux d'accident vasculaire cérébral. Après une discussion avec la patiente, le médecin met fin à l'hormonothérapie substitutive et suggère un traitement pour l'ostéopénie. Il recommande également des changements dans l'alimentation et dans les habitudes de vie de la patiente, mais celle-ci persiste à dire que ceci est inutile. Lors d'une visite subséquente, le médecin prescrit un autre médicament, mais la patiente cesse de le prendre de son propre chef, en raison de symptômes qu'elle juge être des effets secondaires. La patiente demande au médecin de traiter ces nouveaux symptômes, et ce dernier la dirige vers les spécialistes concernés. Plus tard, la patiente demande à consulter d'autres spécialistes, mais puisqu'elle est asymptomatique, le médecin ne la dirige pas vers des spécialistes. La patiente sort en furie du cabinet, en claquant la porte.

Au fil du temps, la patiente continue d'avoir des problèmes qui sont traités lors de visites à l'urgence et de consultations avec le premier médecin traitant ainsi que d'autres médecins. Souvent, la patiente a l'air assez contrarié et accuse le médecin ouvertement de ne jamais lui prescrire de tests ou de consultations avec un spécialiste, et de ne pas lui offrir de traitement. La patiente refuse également le transfert à son médecin traitant de ses dossiers médicaux établis par d'autres médecins.

Le médecin, conscient de l'insatisfaction de la patiente et de son manque de confiance envers la relation, suggère à la patiente de trouver un nouvel omnipraticien. Une lettre où il met fin à la relation est rédigée, mais n'est pas envoyée immédiatement. Lorsque la patiente appelle le cabinet pour fixer un nouveau rendez-vous, la réceptionniste lui répond qu'elle doit obtenir l'autorisation du médecin avant de fixer un rendez-vous et décrit le contenu de la lettre à la patiente. La patiente insulte la réceptionniste et raccroche.

Par la suite, la patiente dépose une plainte à l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège).


Résultat

Dans ce cas, le Collège n'a trouvé aucune lacune dans les soins prodigués par le médecin et a conclu à l'insuffisance des preuves pour pouvoir commenter la plainte qui porte sur les habiletés en communication interpersonnelle du médecin.

Toutefois, le Collège était préoccupé par la façon dont la fin de la relation entre le médecin et sa patiente a été signalée. Il a rappelé au médecin qu'il faut aviser sans tarder un patient d'une décision de mettre fin à la relation, et que la décision doit être communiquée par écrit et, si la situation s'y prête, par une discussion directe entre le médecin et le patient.

Même si certains patients ont des attentes, voire même des exigences, qui ne sont pas appropriées sur le plan médical et qu'ils peuvent formuler une plainte au Collège, les médecins ne sont pas tenus d'acquiescer à des demandes de patients qui ne sont pas indiquées sur le plan médical, ou qui sont inappropriées. Si le patient dépose une plainte, le Collège s'attend en général du médecin qu'il ait fourni avec professionnalisme des conseils médicaux judicieux, et qu'il ait consigné la discussion au dossier du patient.

Comprendre le conflit

Pour éviter les malentendus pouvant mener à un conflit, une communication sans équivoque est essentielle. Les médecins doivent toujours faire connaître leurs intentions au patient, quand il s'agit de poser des questions personnelles, d'effectuer un examen physique ou une intervention ou de répondre aux demandes du patient.

Les conflits sont normaux, compréhensibles et inévitables. Ils ne peuvent pas toujours être évités, et lorsqu'ils surviennent, il faut prendre le temps de bien comprendre la situation sans en faire une affaire personnelle. Les conflits gérés avant qu'ils ne deviennent un problème insurmontable peuvent représenter une occasion de mieux comprendre un patient et ses besoins. Toutefois, laisser un conflit dégénérer peut devenir destructeur.

Malgré qu'ils soient bien intentionnés, les médecins ne peuvent pas s'imaginer qu'ils vont satisfaire à toutes les attentes des patients. Tous les médecins, tôt ou tard, se butent à des comportements difficiles et à des conflits avec un patient ou sa famille; p. ex., un patient qui ne respecte pas les investigations ou traitements recommandés, qui met constamment en doute les soins du médecin, qui se fâche après avoir obtenu les suggestions du médecin ou qui évite d'établir une relation thérapeutique avec son médecin.

Le comportement difficile d'un patient peut susciter des réactions négatives chez le médecin. C'est pourquoi le médecin doit être à l'affût de toute réaction non adaptée à laquelle il pourrait être en proie. à titre d'exemple, le médecin pourrait se fâcher, blâmer et accuser le patient, lui dire que rien ne cloche chez lui ou qu'il n'y a rien d'autre à faire, et ignorer ses appels ou ses courriels. Aucune de ces réactions n'est efficace. Le médecin doit plutôt s'efforcer de garder son calme et tenter de comprendre le comportement du patient, puis réfléchir à la façon dont il y réagira.2

Les conflits sont surtout difficiles à gérer lorsque l'autre personne est furieuse, agressive, intimidante ou même menaçante. La colère est toujours une émotion secondaire à une autre. Par conséquent, en dégageant ce qui se cache sous la colère d'un patient, le médecin peut apprendre à aborder avec confiance nombre de ces situations.

Le médecin doit tenter de comprendre le comportement du patient dans le contexte de sa situation médicale. Les conflits surviennent lorsque les attentes du patient ne sont pas satisfaites. Pour les régler, le médecin doit donc se concentrer d'abord sur les besoins du patient, puis sur les solutions. Pour commencer, le médecin devrait écouter le patient pour bien cibler les besoins de ce dernier. Pour ce faire, il peut juger utile de vérifier sa compréhension des préoccupations du patient et de son point de vue, en verbalisant et en reformulant ce qu'il a compris. Cette façon de faire est un moyen de démontrer de l'empathie, et a pour avantage de rassurer le patient.

Les patients comme les médecins peuvent partir de ces connaissances pour trouver, ensemble, une solution appropriée. Déterminer la nature des problèmes, les objectifs et les rôles respectifs du médecin et du patient peut contribuer à clarifier les divergences d'opinions et comment la situation peut être réglée. Le fait d'en arriver à un terrain d'entente permet de valider l'opinion du patient et de le faire participer au diagnostic et à sa guérison.

Gérer le conflit

La communication et la manière dont elle est abordée sont primordiales. Au cours de la négociation pour en arriver à une solution, les médecins devraient utiliser des termes qui n'évoquent pas la confrontation. Il peut être utile d'utiliser des énoncés à la première personne, comme le montrent les exemples, pour verbaliser les observations, les pensées, les sentiments et les besoins.3 Ce type d'affirmations précise le point de vue des deux parties en conflit. De plus, l'expression de sentiments sans blâmer l'autre peut favoriser l'empathie. Il est en effet difficile pour un médecin de faire preuve d'empathie lorsqu'il a des sentiments négatifs au sujet d'un patient. Le médecin doit donc commencer par reconnaître ses propres émotions, être à l'écoute des émotions véhiculées par le patient et tenter de communiquer de façon non verbale pour acquérir de l'empathie à l'égard de la situation du patient.

Si un patient est agité et cherche la confrontation, le fait de garder son calme, de rester courtois et de lui parler calmement peut souvent désamorcer les émotions fortes. D'excellences habiletés en communication sont nécessaires pour réduire l'ampleur du conflit. L'environnement doit également être sécuritaire, et la discussion, exempte de tout jugement.

Voice cinq stratégies utiles dont le médecin peut se servir pour atténuer le conflit

  1. Avoir recours à l'écoute active. Les médecins doivent accorder aux patients leur attention entière et utiliser des signes verbaux et non verbaux (langage corporel) pour encourager les patients à dire ce qu'ils savent. Ils doivent écouter les patients, et toute question d'approfondissement doit être posée calmement et en utilisant la forme ouverte. Des énoncés ou questions directs peuvent prendre un ton accusateur, comme peut le faire la question « Pourquoi êtes-vous fâché? »; ils sont à éviter, puisqu'ils peuvent susciter des émotions négatives. Les patients doivent avoir la possibilité de s'exprimer, et les médecins devraient confirmer ce que les patients leur disent en reformulant ou en résumant.
  2. Accepter ce que dit le patient. Les patients ont besoin de se sentir écoutés. Les médecins devraient tenter de trouver un fait sur lequel les deux peuvent s'entendre. « Vous avez raison, je ne vous ai pas dirigée vers un spécialiste lorsque vous me l'avez demandé. »
  3. Reconnaître les sentiments du patient « Je peux voir que cela vous a grandement bouleversé. » Le fait de refléter l'émotion du patient témoigne de votre empathie. Si le médecin montre qu'il comprend pourquoi un patient est en proie à une émotion particulière, il contribuera à améliorer la situation dans la plupart du temps. En posant calmement ses questions, le médecin doit se pencher sur les répercussions du problème et reconnaître la réaction du patient, en disant, par exemple, « Je peux voir pourquoi vous avez pensé que je ne vous écoutais pas ou que cela ne me faisait rien. »
  4. S'excuser peut s'avérer utile « Je suis désolée d'apprendre que vous vous êtes senti comme ça. Ce n'était pas mon intention. Une demande de consultation n'était pas nécessaire à ce moment, puisque vos symptômes avaient disparu. »
  5. Agir comme une équipe et travailler ensemble, sans blâmes ni jugements. « Même si je ne je ne vous envoie pas immédiatement en consultation, je vais continuer de vous observer étroitement, et nous allons régler ce problème ensemble. » Des phrases comme celles-là qui parlent d'un partenariat sont étonnamment importantes pour établir une relation de collaboration entre le patient et le médecin.

La démonstration d'un respect sincère pour le patient devrait s'intégrer à tous les volets de la relation entre le médecin et le patient. Parfois, il est nécessaire de l'exprimer directement au patient : « Je sais que c'est difficile pour vous. Vous m'impressionnez par votre détermination à obtenir une explication pour vos symptômes. C'est une grande qualité, et je vais vous aider à trouver ces explications comme je le peux. Travaillons ensemble et allons-y étape par étape. »

Facteurs à considérer dans la gestion de la pratique

Dès l'établissement d'une relation entre un médecin et son patient, les procédures du cabinet et les attentes quant aux comportements doivent être indiquées clairement au patient. Des dépliants du cabinet remis au patient à la première visite pourraient être utiles pour les éduquer à cet égard. Les médecins doivent préciser nettement ce qui n'est pas acceptable, par exemple, crier, injurier ou menacer quelqu'un. Une fois les limites établies, les médecins doivent les suivre et les appliquer de façon constante. Les patients doivent être encouragés à verbaliser leurs préoccupations d'entrée de jeu, pour que le médecin ou son personnel y donne suite.

Les rendez-vous des patients que l'on sait difficiles peuvent être placés à une case horaire moins achalandée. L'établissement d'un horaire approprié permet de prévoir du temps pour gérer ce genre de situation et évite aux autres patients d'en subir les inconvénients.

Il devrait y avoir des procédures en place sur la gestion de la violence, verbale ou physique, à l'égard du personnel. Les médecins ne peuvent mettre leur personnel, ni se mettre eux-mêmes, en danger. Il est possible de former le personnel du cabinet sur l'établissement de limites et la gestion de conflits, par exemple, en leur donnant des scripts où figurent des suggestions sur ce qu'il faut dire et faire dans des situations difficiles précises. Le personnel doit être rassuré en sachant que le médecin les appuiera s'ils suivent le protocole établi.

Les comportements inappropriés doivent être consignés judicieusement au dossier médical. Le personnel du cabinet qui a subi un comportement ou des commentaires inappropriés doit également les noter de façon factuelle et exempte de jugement dans le dossier médical.

Gestion de situations complexes

Parfois, en dépit des meilleures intentions d'un médecin pour empêcher ou régler les différends, la situation ne s'améliore pas.

Si le médecin se sent incapable de poursuivre sa relation avec un patient à cause des émotions négatives véhiculées et de son comportement, il est raisonnable de verbaliser ces sentiments de façon courtoise et factuelle, de mettre fin à la rencontre et de fixer un nouveau rendez-vous pour la suite ou de demander à un autre médecin de prendre la relève. « J'ai beaucoup de mal à planifier les prochaines étapes de vos soins lorsque vous criez. Nous continuerons cette visite une autre fois. Pouvons-nous planifier un autre rendez-vous. »

Les médecins doivent planifier le prochain rendez-vous et être prêts à donner une rétroaction claire et nette. Pour ce faire, les stratégies suivantes peuvent être utiles.

  • Mentionner qu'il s'agit de commentaires constructifs.
  • Décrire précisément les faits ou observations.
  • Décrire les réactions ou sentiments du médecin
  • Donner aux patients l'occasion d'y réagir.
  • Offrir des suggestions d'améliorations concrètes.
  • Obtenir un engagement à changer de la part du patient.
  • Résumer la situation et exprimer leur soutien.
  • Planifier un autre rendez-vous de suivi, de surveillance et d'évaluation.
  • Documenter la discussion de façon factuelle au dossier médical.

En général, mettre fin à la relation avec un patient ne se fait qu'en dernier recours, si tous les commentaires formulés n'aboutissent à aucune amélioration. Au moment de mettre fin à la relation, les médecins devraient consulter les lignes directrices établies par leur Collège. Consultez aussi l'article intitulé « Mettre fin à la relation médecin-patient ».


Références

  1. Hinchey, S.A., Jackson, J.L., « A cohort study assessing difficult patient encounters in a walk-in primary care clinic, predictors and outcomes », Journal of General Internal Medicine (2011) vol. 26, numéro 6 p. 588-594
  2. Pour plus de détails, consultez : Gautam, M., The Tarzan Rule: Tips for a healthy life in medicine, Book Coach Press, Ottawa 2011 ISBN 0978470176
  3. Farnan, P.A., « Gestion de conflits », dans Le guide CanMEDS pour la santé des médecins, Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada, 2009, p. 60-61, ISBN 978-1-926588-03-2

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.