Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Health literacy — An asset in safer care

Originally published September 2013
P1303-4-E

Canada has one of the most highly-educated populations in the world, yet many Canadians do not have the skills necessary to adequately manage their health and healthcare needs.

There are more people in this country with low levels of health literacy (60%) than of literacy (48%).1 The challenge for physicians is to identify the issue and incorporate methods of clear communication that allow patients to understand medical information.

What is health literacy and why does it matter?

Health literacy is content specific. An individual may be able to read and write in certain contexts, but struggle to comprehend health-related vocabulary, materials, and instructions.

Health literacy involves a complex set of abilities which include being able to read and act upon health information, being able to communicate needs to health professionals, and being able to understand and act on health instructions. Many studies show that people of all ages and from all races, income, and education levels may have difficulty processing the information required to make basic health decisions.

As well, growing evidence links low levels of health literacy with increased negative health outcomes,2 for example in managing diabetes and health issues related to blood pressure. Low health literacy can also delay diagnosis, and affect medication compliance, return visits, quality of life, hospitalization, and mortality.3

Identifying issues — Confirming comprehension

The hectic pace of a physician's office, or of a clinic or hospital, makes it easy to overlook red flags that could indicate a patient is unable to provide accurate medical information or has not completely understood the healthcare discussion.

Several indicators may alert physicians to the need to confirm comprehension.4 For example, medical forms may not have been filled in completely or accurately. Patients who frequently miss appointments or fail to follow through with laboratory tests or referrals to consultants may not have totally understood the medical instructions. The inability to name the medication prescribed, explain why it has been prescribed, and when it should be taken could well be another indication of weak health literacy skills.

Physicians' increasing use of technology adds an additional concern when it comes to patient comprehension. Computer or ehealth literacy, while providing more efficient healthcare, may be aggravating the understanding of medical information for some patients. There are risks with providing patients with online information or engaging in electronic communication when a patient's computer literacy skills are weak. Before engaging with patients electronically, physicians should discuss how and when these systems are used, and take reasonable steps to confirm patient understanding.

Some health literacy issues are visible, while others are difficult to pinpoint. Patients may feel intimidated or embarrassed to admit they do not understand their physicians' explanations. Personal barriers, cultural beliefs, or social stigma may also make it difficult for individuals to gain proficiency in health literacy skills. Some people may feel they do not deserve more time with a doctor, while others are overwhelmed by their health condition.

Asking patients, in a respectful manner, to paraphrase what has just been explained may help physicians assess the level of comprehension: "So, let's go over this once more just to make sure that I was able to explain this clearly enough. Can you tell me what you will do and how you will do it when you are at home?"

If strategies confirming comprehension are undertaken in a sensitive manner, physicians will not risk insulting patients.

Does the patient understand the medical condition? 5

A stylish, well-dressed woman in her late 50s is asked what medications she takes. She says Lithium… and no, she doesn't know what it is, but she does know that she follows doctor's orders. On reviewing the label of her prescription, it is noted that she actually takes Lipitor and not Lithium. She has high cholesterol and is not a manic depressive.

Is the issue easy to spot?

A newly-arrived patient with diabetes speaks little or no English and is visibly bewildered by terms like blood glucose levels and hemoglobin A1C tests.

Or is it hidden?

A middle-aged mom is too ashamed to let on that she does not understand the words in the brochure on mammograms which her doctor has handed to her.

Is it typical?

An elderly patient with multiple medical conditions does not take his medication as often as he should because he is confused about which pills to take and when to take them.

Or is it unusual?

A Spanish-speaking international student understands that his prescription calls for a dose of 11 pills per day, instead of one…even though ‘once a day' is clear and legible on the label… ‘once' means 11 in Spanish.

Health literacy and informed consent

Much of a physician's work is done on the basis of consent that is implied either by the words or the behaviour of patients or by the circumstances under which treatment is given. When the treatment is likely to be more than mildly painful, when it carries appreciable risk, or when it will result in surgery, verbal or written expressed consent is required. For consent to treatment to be considered valid, it must be an "informed" consent, meaning that patients have been provided with information that allows them to reach an informed decision.

The explanation given by the physician, the dialogue between physician and patient about the proposed treatment, is an all important element of the consent process. The consent form itself is not the "consent." It is simply evidence — written confirmation — that the explanations were given and that the patient agreed to what was proposed.

Ethical and legal responsibility requires the physician to take steps to be reasonably confident that the patient has understood the information provided, particularly if there are language difficulties or emotional issues. By engaging in personal dialogue with a patient, the physician will be placed in the best possible position to be relatively satisfied that the patient understands the consent explanation.

In some cases, it might be suggested that a patient bring a friend or relative to an appointment during which the physician will provide medical counsel. If language is the issue, an interpreter may help the patient to review specific instructions.

A note by the physician in the record at the time of consent explanations can later serve as confirmation that a patient was appropriately informed, particularly if the note refers to any special points which may have been raised during the discussion.

Helping patients to understand

Given that patients with the lowest skill level in health literacy are also much more prone to negative health outcomes, it is important for physicians to select and frame the information they give to patients. Physicians should consider the characteristics of the populations served through their practice. While definitely not the only indicator of health literacy concerns, taking into account factors related to cultural diversity, age, and income can help physicians tailor their information to suit their community.

Some medical studies claim that most patients forget up to 80% of what is advised as soon as they leave the medical office or clinic.6 To enable patients to understand and retain the discussion, as well as to encourage compliance, there are a number of strategies physicians can consider implementing in their practice.

Physicians should try to create a shame-free environment. No one should be afraid to ask any question, no matter how silly it may seem. As well, it is important to sensitize office staff members to the issue of health literacy by providing them with information that may help identify patients who may need additional healthcare coaching.

Here are a few things for physicians to consider:

  • Use appropriate printed information, recognizing that comprehension and retention are much stronger when information is provided visually and verbally.
  • Encourage the use of pictograms, simple language, and avoid the use of medical jargon.
  • Speak at a slower pace and cover only 2 or 3 concepts at one time. Read written material aloud to patients and underline key points.
  • Ask patients to paraphrase what has just been explained.
  • Some patients may benefit from bringing a friend, relative, or interpreter to the counseling and planning portion of a meeting.
  • Consider scheduling an in-service meeting between patients and a staff member to discuss healthcare instructions.
  • Reading materials provided to all patients should err on the side of simplicity. It is suggested that a Grade 6 reading level is most appropriate. Readability calculators can determine the grade level of health messages in handouts and other medical materials.7
  • Remember that comprehension rises dramatically when materials are presented visually and verbally. Physicians may want to develop plain language documents encouraging patients to plan and prepare for their medical appointments by thinking about the questions they want to ask, how they might organize information to describe their concerns, list their medications or bring them to the visit, etc. 8
  • Discussions with patients should be held in settings which ensure privacy and confidentiality.

 


References

  1. Canadian Council on Learning, Health Literacy in Canada:
    A Healthy Understanding, 2008, ISBN 978-0-9809042-1-5.
    Retrieved April 2013 from:
    http://www.ccl-cca.ca/ccl/Reports/HealthLiteracy.html
  2. Ibid.
  3. "Caring for Patients With Limited Health Literacy,"
    The Journal of the American Medical Association (September 2011) Retrieved March 2013 from:
    http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1104334.
  4. American Medical Association, "The ABCs of health literacy," American Medical News. Retrieved March 2013 from:
    http://www.amednews.com/article/20120319/profession/303199949/4/
  5. All examples of health literacy challenges are derived from examples retrieved April 2013 from: www.amednews.com.
  6. Medical Protection Society, "Patients don't always understand,"
    UK Casebook 3, August 2003. Retrieved March 2013 from:
    www.mps.org.uk
  7. Readability calculators such as the Flesch-Kincaid, the
    Gunning-Fog or the SMOG readability calculator are examples of online tools that can automatically assess documents.
  8. A good example is "It's Okay to Ask — Your Health is Important," published by the Health Quality Council of Alberta in January 2009. Retrieved April 2013 from: www.hqca.ca

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La littératie en santé — Pour offrir des soins plus sécuritaires

Publié initialement en septembre 2013
P1303-4-F

Le Canada a l'une des populations les plus fortement scolarisées au monde. Pourtant, de nombreux Canadiens n'ont pas les compétences nécessaires pour gérer adéquatement leur santé et leurs besoins en matière de soins de santé. 

On constate, chez un plus grand nombre de Canadiens, un plus faible taux de littératie en santé (60 %) qu'en littératie générale (48 %).1  Le défi pour les médecins consiste à déterminer le problème et à incorporer des techniques de communication claire permettant aux patients de comprendre l'information médicale.

Qu'est-ce que la littératie en santé et pourquoi est-elle importante?

La littératie en santé est spécifique au contenu. Dans certains contextes, une personne pourrait lire et écrire, tout en ayant de la difficulté à comprendre le vocabulaire, la documentation et les instructions relevant du domaine de la santé.

La littératie en santé fait appel à un ensemble complexe d'habiletés, notamment la capacité de lire de l'information sur la santé et d'y donner suite, la capacité de communiquer ses besoins aux professionnels de la santé, et la capacité de comprendre les instructions liées à la santé et d'y donner suite. De nombreuses études révèlent que les personnes de tout âge, de toute race et de tout niveau de revenu et de scolarité peuvent avoir de la difficulté à traiter l'information nécessaire pour prendre des décisions de base en matière de santé.

Par ailleurs, des données probantes de plus en plus nombreuses révèlent une corrélation entre les faibles niveaux de littératie en santé et l'incidence accrue de problèmes de santé,2 par exemple, en ce qui a trait à la gestion du diabète et des problèmes de santé liés à la tension artérielle. Un faible niveau de littératie en santé peut aussi retarder l'établissement d'un diagnostic et influer sur l'observance thérapeutique, les visites de suivi, la qualité de vie, l'hospitalisation et la mortalité.3

Déterminer les problèmes – Valider la compréhension

Le rythme effréné du cabinet d'un médecin, ou d'une clinique ou d'un hôpital, fait en sorte qu'il est facile de ne pas déceler les signaux d'alarme pouvant indiquer qu'un patient est incapable de fournir des renseignements médicaux exacts ou qu'il n'a pas bien compris la discussion portant sur ses soins de santé.

Plusieurs indicateurs du faible niveau de littératie en santé peuvent alerter les médecins à la nécessité de valider la compréhension chez les patients.4 À titre d'exemple, les patients n'ont peut-être pas bien compris les instructions :

  • s'ils ne remplissent pas au complet ou avec précision les formulaires médicaux;
  • s'ils manquent souvent leurs rendez-vous ou ne donnent pas suite aux examens de laboratoire ou aux demandes de consultation;
  • s'ils sont incapables de nommer le médicament prescrit, d'expliquer pourquoi il a été prescrit et quand il doit être pris.

L'utilisation croissante de la technologie par les médecins soulève une préoccupation supplémentaire relative à la compréhension chez le patient. Bien qu'elles contribuent à l'efficacité des soins de santé, les connaissances en informatique ou la littératie en cybersanté peuvent rendre la compréhension de l'information médicale plus ardue chez certains patients. Le fait de fournir de l'information en ligne ou de communiquer par voie électronique avec un patient dont les compétences en informatique sont faibles entraîne des risques. Avant de communiquer avec un patient par voie électronique, le médecin devrait discuter de la façon et du moment où ces systèmes seront utilisés, et prendre des mesures raisonnables pour confirmer que le patient comprend bien.

Certains problèmes de littératie en santé sont visibles; d'autres, par contre sont difficiles à cerner. Le patient peut se sentir intimidé ou être gêné d'admettre qu'il ne comprend pas les explications de son médecin. Pour certaines personnes, les difficultés personnelles, les croyances culturelles ou la stigmatisation sociale peuvent constituer des obstacles à l'amélioration de leurs compétences en littératie en santé. D'autres gens peuvent croire qu'ils ne méritent pas davantage de temps avec un médecin, et d'autres se sentent dépassés par leurs problèmes de santé. Le fait de demander au patient, de façon respectueuse, de répéter en ses mots ce qui lui a été expliqué peut aider le médecin à évaluer le niveau de compréhension : « Alors, je vais répéter de nouveau mes explications pour confirmer que j'ai réussi à vous expliquer ça clairement. Pouvez-vous me dire ce que vous allez faire et comment vous le ferez une fois rentré chez vous? »

Si les stratégies visant à confirmer la compréhension sont appliquées avec doigté, les médecins ne risquent pas d'insulter les patients.

Le patient comprend-il son état de santé? 5

On demande à une femme dans la cinquantaine avancée, habillée avec élégance, quels sont les médicaments qu'elle prend. Elle répond : « Du Lithium... » puis non, qu'elle ne sait pas de quoi il s'agit au juste, mais qu'elle est bien certaine de suivre les conseils de son médecin. Une vérification de l'étiquette de l'ordonnance confirme qu'elle prend en fait du Lipitor et non du Lithium. Elle ne présente pas un trouble bipolaire, mais plutôt une hypercholestérolémie.

Le problème est-il facile à déceler?

Un patient nouvellement arrivé au Canada, atteint de diabète et parlant peu ou pas le français, est visiblement confus par des expressions telles « taux de glycémie » et « test d'hémoglobine A1c ».

Ou est-il dissimulé?

Une mère d'âge moyen a honte d'admettre qu'elle ne comprend pas les mots dans le dépliant sur la mammographie que son médecin lui a remis.

Est-il typique?

Un patient âgé ayant de multiples problèmes de santé ne prend pas ses médicaments aussi souvent qu'il le devrait parce qu'il ne sait pas très bien quelles pilules prendre ni à quel moment les prendre.

Ou est-il inhabituel?

Un étudiant international hispanophone estime que son ordonnance prévoit une dose de 11 comprimés par jour, et non une seule... en dépit du fait que la mention « une fois par jour » (« once a day » en anglais) est claire et lisible sur l'étiquette... « once » signifie onze en espagnol.

 

La littératie en santé et le consentement éclairé

La plus grande partie du travail d'un médecin est fondée sur le  consentement implicite qui découle des propos ou du comportement du patient, ou encore des circonstances dans lesquelles le traitement est prodigué. Lorsque le traitement peut causer des douleurs plus que légères, qu'il comporte un risque important ou qu'il entraîne une intervention chirurgicale, il est nécessaire d'obtenir un consentement explicite, verbal ou écrit. Pour que le consentement au traitement soit valide, il doit être « éclairé », ce qui signifie que le patient doit avoir reçu des renseignements qui lui permettent de prendre une décision éclairée.

Le processus du consentement est fondé sur les explications fournies par le médecin, c'est-à-dire sur le dialogue entre ce dernier et le patient à propos du traitement proposé. Le formulaire de consentement ne constitue pas en soi le « consentement ». Le formulaire constitue simplement une confirmation écrite que des explications ont été fournies et que le patient a accepté ce qui lui était proposé.

Le médecin a une responsabilité déontologique et juridique de prendre des mesures pour être raisonnablement convaincu que le patient a compris les renseignements qui lui ont été communiqués, tout particulièrement dans le cas où il peut exister des barrières linguistiques ou des problèmes à forte charge émotive. En s'engageant personnellement dans un dialogue avec le patient, le médecin se trouvera dans la meilleure position possible pour être relativement convaincu que le patient comprend les explications en vue d'obtenir son consentement.

Dans certains cas, on peut suggérer au patient de se faire accompagner à son rendez-vous par un ami ou un membre de sa famille lorsque le médecin doit lui prodiguer des conseils médicaux. Lorsqu'il y a des barrières linguistiques, un interprète peut aider le patient à passer en revue les instructions spécifiques.

Une note du médecin consignée au dossier au moment où les explications sont données en vue d'obtenir un consentement pourra plus tard servir à confirmer que le patient a été informé convenablement, en particulier si la note fait mention de points bien définis qui ont pu être évoqués durant la conversation.

Pour aider les patients à comprendre

Étant donné que les patients ayant les plus faibles niveaux de littératie en santé sont aussi davantage susceptibles d'avoir des problèmes de santé, il importe que les médecins choisissent les renseignements qu'ils donnent aux patients et les présentent dans un contexte approprié. Les médecins devraient tenir compte des caractéristiques des populations qu'ils desservent dans leur pratique. Bien que les préoccupations liées à la littératie en santé ne se limitent certainement pas à des facteurs tels la diversité culturelle, l'âge et le revenu, le fait d'en tenir compte peut aider les médecins à adapter les renseignements en fonction de leur communauté.

Selon certaines études médicales, la plupart des patients oublient jusqu'à 80 % des conseils qui leur sont donnés dès qu'ils quittent le cabinet du médecin ou la clinique.6  Il existe une gamme de stratégies que les médecins peuvent envisager de mettre en œuvre dans leur pratique pour permettre aux patients de comprendre, de se rappeler du contenu de la discussion et pour encourager l'observance.

Les médecins devraient tenter de créer un environnement où les patients ne ressentent aucune honte ou crainte de poser une question, quelle qu'elle soit, et même si elle semble un peu ridicule. De plus, il est important de conscientiser le personnel du cabinet à la question de la littératie en santé, en lui fournissant de l'information susceptible de l'aider à identifier les patients pouvant avoir besoin d'un accompagnement supplémentaire en regard de leurs soins de santé.

Les médecins devraient tenir compte des suggestions suivantes :

  • Utiliser du matériel d'information imprimé approprié, reconnaissant que les renseignements sont bien mieux compris et retenus lorsqu'ils sont présentés sous forme visuelle et verbale.
  • Encourager l'utilisation de pictogrammes et d'un langage simple, et éviter d'utiliser du jargon médical.
  • Parler plus lentement et n'aborder que 2 ou 3 notions à la fois. Lire le matériel écrit à  voix haute aux patients et souligner les éléments clés.
  • Demander aux patients de répéter dans leurs mots ce qui leur a été expliqué.
  • Certains patients peuvent bénéficier de la présence d'un ami, d'un membre de leur famille ou d'un interprète pendant la partie de la rencontre consacrée au counseling et à la planification.
  • Songer à prévoir une rencontre interne réunissant des patients et un membre du personnel pour discuter des instructions liées aux soins de santé.
  • S'assurer que le matériel de lecture fourni à tous les patients est rédigé en termes clairs. Il est suggéré qu'un niveau de lecture de 6e année est le plus approprié. Les outils d'analyse de lisibilité peuvent déterminer le niveau de lecture des messages dans les documents explicatifs et autres dépliants traitant de la santé.7
  • Souvenez-vous que la compréhension s'améliore grandement lorsque le matériel est présenté sous forme audiovisuelle et verbale. Les médecins voudront peut-être créer des documents en langage clair qui encouragent les patients à planifier et à se préparer en vue de leurs rendez-vous médicaux, par exemple en pensant aux questions qu'ils veulent poser et aux façons d'organiser l'information pour décrire leurs préoccupations, en dressant une liste de leurs médicaments ou en les apportant avec eux au rendez-vous.8  
  • Les discussions avec les patients devraient avoir lieu dans des endroits qui assurent le respect de la vie privée et la confidentialité.

 


Références

  1. Conseil canadien sur l'apprentissage, La littératie en santé au Canada :
    Une question de bien-être, 2008, ISBN 978-0-9809042-2-2. Consulté en ligne en
    juin 2013 : http://www.ccl-cca.ca/ccl/Reports/HealthLiteracy-2.html
  2. Ibid.
  3. Paasche-Orlow, M., « Caring for Patients With Limited Health Literacy: A 76-Year-Old Man With Multiple Medical Problems » The Journal of the American Medical Association (septembre 2011). Consulté en ligne en mars 2013 : http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1104334.

  4. American Medical Association, O'Reilly, Kevin B.,  « The ABCs of health literacy » American Medical News, le 19 mars 2012. Consulté en ligne en mai 2013 :
    http://www.amednews.com/article/20120319/profession/303199949/4/

  5. Tous les exemples de défis liés à la littératie en santé sont dérivés d'exemples obtenus sur le site www.amednews.com en avril 2013.
     
  6. Medical Protection Society, "Patients don't always understand,"
    UK Casebook 3, August 2003. Retrieved March 2013 from: www.mps.org.uk
  7. Les tests de lisibilité (Flesch-Kincaid,  Gunning-Fog ou SMOG) sont des exemples d'outils en ligne qui peuvent évaluer les documents de façon automatique 
  8. Le document « It's Okay to Ask — Your Health is Important » publié par le
    Health Quality Council of Alberta en janvier 2009 est un bon exemple de tels matériels d'apprentissage. Consulté en ligne en avril 2013: http://www.hqca.ca


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.