Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Managing information to deliver safer care

Originally published December 2013
P1305-4-E

Physicians need accurate and up-to-date information to provide effective and safe patient care, but too much information — commonly called information overload — can create distraction and inefficiencies, rather than improve knowledge. 

The term "information overload" was popularized by Alvin Toffler in his 1970 book, Future Shock. It refers to the difficulty a person can have understanding an issue and making decisions in the presence of too much information.

Indeed, gathering much-needed information from multiple sources can create a dilemma. This quandary exists when there is too much information, just as when there is too little. Either situation can increase risk rather than reduce it.  The key for doctors is to prevent information overload by leveraging strategies and solutions that help manage and control large amounts of information.

Today's physicians contend with multiple sources of information, a large number of users and contributors to the system of care (particularly when working in collaborative care models), as well as complex regional information systems. Doctors must also manage enormous amounts of new and updated clinical information. Trying to keep current on the latest scientific evidence, new medications, and medical devices and technologies is a huge challenge. When combined with increasing patient expectations and patient involvement in healthcare, the challenges may leave doctors feeling overwhelmed.

Strategies to manage information 

While most doctors are skilled at multi-tasking and prioritizing urgent matters, it can be equally important to devote complete attention to one task at a time. Scheduling and setting a deadline for each task is helpful.

Effective delegation of administrative tasks can also help doctors to focus on clinical issues. Physicians do not have to be experts in all aspects of office management or business processes. Office staff may be better suited to identify and implement good practices for patient scheduling, billing, and clerical functions. The delegation of non-clinical tasks can help to enhance office management, as well as develop and deepen employee skills and abilities.  

The Alberta Medical Association has developed guidelines and a podcast on effective delegation.1 While the delegation of clinical tasks may not directly assist with information overload, it may enable doctors to focus on essential activities. Physicians should be familiar with their medical regulatory authority (College) guidelines on the delegation of medical acts. This delegation does not absolve the doctor of responsibility for patient care. However, it widens the circle of responsibility for the safe execution of procedures.2

An increasing number of doctors are experiencing the advantages of electronic health records. Some of the benefits include easier access to patient information, quicker retrieval of test results, and instant alert notification systems — all of which can support clinical decision-making. On the other hand, electronic health records can result in more information being available to physicians. In addition to the relative sophistication of electronic records as compared to paper records, there have been reports that excessive electronic alerts or notifications can actually contribute to information overload.3

Physicians working with electronic health records are urged to develop a solid understanding of the system to maximize efficiency and effectiveness. It is important for doctors to remain sensitive and be responsive to system alerts and notifications, and to take time to process these notifications. Physicians should also follow or develop workflow processes that allow them to attend to alerts and electronic health record system messages.

While some physicians find the use of computer-based systems time consuming, these systems can assist doctors with care-related decisions, such as making a diagnosis. These systems, known as clinical decision support systems (DSS), can help physicians manage information overload by providing clinical advice based on patient data. Courts have found that physicians must be aware of significant developments in the areas in which they practise, even if it is not their primary area of specialization. There is general agreement that DSS can speed the transmission of medical knowledge as physicians attempt to cope with information overload.4 These systems can help with the management of information since they enable clinical information to be better organized and linked to relevant knowledge in a way that serves the needs of doctors and the choices they make about patient care.5

Arbitrarily dismissing the suggestions of decision support systems without reasonable clinical justification can also expose the physician to risk.  If the decision support system suggests a possible diagnosis, for example, the physician will likely need to be prepared in the context of a legal action or College investigation to justify why and how the suggested diagnosis was eliminated as a possibility. 

There are more than 25,000 journals in science, technology, and medicine. The number is increasing by 3.5% a year. These journals publish more than 1.5 million articles every year. PubMed now cites more than 20 million papers.6


Clinical pathways, which are also known as care maps or collaborative care pathways, can also support effective decision-making. These pathways outline the decisions to be made and the steps and care to be followed for a given patient or patient group with a particular condition. Physicians should be familiar with and respect the clinical pathways implemented in their organizations. These pathways or care maps may also help physicians support clinical effectiveness, reduce variations in patient care, manage clinical risk, and support continuity and coordination of care across healthcare disciplines and sectors. Doctors using clinical pathways should remember that these are best suited to standard clinical conditions rather than unusual or unpredictable ones, and should ensure that variance and outcomes are properly recorded, audited, and acted upon.7

New and emerging technologies

Information and communication technologies can assist doctors to be more efficient at handling the wealth of information before them. For example, physicians can leverage internet-based tools to seek out clinical experts and information, search a medical specialty, or link to a medical group or topic of interest.

To help avoid clogging up their email inboxes with journal titles that may never be read, physicians can set up "readers" that push desired information directly to them. By subscribing to preferred feeds, the information can be accessed in a selected location such as on a home or work computer, or a mobile device. These readers or aggregators can also store and categorize information to be read later.  Filters may be used to identify the most valuable and relevant information. Filters can include medical journal summaries and evidence-based scientific resources. 

The use of reliable medical apps can also assist physicians in managing clinical information. It is best to select apps that have been created or endorsed by a professional or recognized association or medical society, such as the mobile apps developed by the Canadian Cardiovascular Society.8  The Canadian Medical Association also provides apps and mobile versions of some of their most popular resources, including current evidence-based point-of-care tools, journal articles, and medical textbooks. The Canadian Medical Association Journal app has a "favourites" function, as well as index searching, for quick access to preferred articles and topics.

Planning to avoid information overload

The vast amount of new scientific information undoubtedly adds to physicians' concerns about remaining current. However, given human limits and 24-hour days, physicians must take a measured approach to remain current and up-to-date. Doctors are encouraged to identify and use information management strategies that work for them, and to share effective strategies with colleagues.

References

  1. Alberta Medical Association, "How to delegate without having to ask: "Why didn't they do that right?," Alberta Doctors' Digest (2013) Vol 38, no 3 p.14-15. Retrieved on August 15 2013 from: https://www.albertadoctors.org/Publications%20-%20ADD/pub_add_mayjun13_bkmks.pdf
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, "Delegation of a Medical Act," 2009.  Retrieved on August 15 2013 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Delegation-of-a-Medical-Act.pdf
  3. Rice, Chelsea, "87% of physicians say quantity of EHR alerts ‘excessive'," 2013. Retrieved on May 3 2013 from: http://www.healthleadersmedia.com/print/TEC-289789/87
  4. Rebitzer, James, Rege, Mari, Shepard, Christopher, "Influence, information overload, and information technology in health care," The National Bureau of Economic Research Working Paper No. 14159 (2008). Retrieved on June 26 2013: from http://www.nber.org/papers/w14159.pdf
  5. Hayward, Robert, "Clinical decision support tools: Do they support clinicians?," Future Practice (2004) p.66-68.
  6. Fraser, Alan G., Dunstan, Frank D., "On the impossibility of being expert," British Medical Journal (2010) Vol. 341, p 6815. Retrieved on July 2 2013 from: http://www.bmj.com/content/341/bmj.c6815
  7. Open Clinical, "Clinical pathways." Retrieved on June 17 2013 from: www.openclinical.org/clinicalpathways.html
  8. Canadian Cardiovascular Society, CCS apps. For more information, see http://www.ccsguidelineprograms.ca/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=98&Itemid=68

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Gérer l’information pour prodiguer des soins plus sécuritaires

Publié initialement en décembre 2013
P1305-4-F

Les médecins ont besoin d'informations exactes et à jour pour prodiguer des soins efficaces et sécuritaires aux patients, mais un excès, ou ce que l'on nomme souvent une surcharge d'informations, risque d'entraîner de la distraction et des pratiques non efficientes plutôt que d'améliorer les connaissances. 

L'expression « surcharge d'informations » a été popularisée en 1970 à la suite de la publication de l'ouvrage Le choc du futur d'Alvin Toffler. L'auteur y souligne qu'il peut être difficile pour une personne de comprendre un problème ou de prendre des décisions si elle dispose de trop d'informations.

En effet, recueillir des informations indispensables provenant de sources multiples peut générer un dilemme, que ce soit en raison d'un excès ou d'un manque d'informations. L'une ou l'autre de ces situations peut accroître plutôt que réduire les risques. Il est essentiel que les médecins évitent la surcharge d'informations en mettant en œuvre des stratégies d'optimisation et des solutions visant à gérer et contrôler la masse d'informations.

De nos jours, les médecins doivent composer avec de nombreuses sources d'informations, un grand nombre d'utilisateurs et de collaborateurs du système de soins (en particulier lorsqu'ils travaillent dans le cadre de soins en collaboration), ainsi qu'avec des systèmes régionaux d'informations complexes. Les médecins doivent également gérer une masse imposante d'informations cliniques récentes et mises à jour. Essayer de se tenir au fait des dernières données probantes, des nouveaux traitements, d'appareils et des technologies utilisés en médecine constitue d'importants défis. Lorsqu'ils se combinent aux attentes grandissantes de la part des patients et à la participation de ces derniers aux soins de santé, ces défis peuvent conduire les médecins à se sentir dépassés.

Les stratégies pour gérer les informations

Même si la plupart des médecins savent établir des priorités et mener plusieurs tâches de front dans les situations urgentes, il peut également être tout aussi important de se concentrer sur une seule tâche à la fois. Il est utile de planifier et de déterminer une date limite pour chaque tâche.

Déléguer efficacement les tâches administratives peut également aider les médecins à se concentrer sur les questions cliniques. Les médecins n'ont pas besoin d'être des experts dans tous les aspects de la gestion d'un bureau ou des processus opérationnels. Le personnel du bureau peut être plus apte à identifier et mettre en œuvre de bonnes pratiques pour la prise de rendez-vous avec les patients, la facturation, et autres tâches administratives. Cette délégation des tâches non cliniques peut contribuer à améliorer la gestion du bureau et à aider les employés à acquérir et à développer des compétences et des habiletés. 

L'association médicale de l'alberta a élaboré des directives et un fichier balado sur la manière de déléguer efficacement.1  Même si la délégation de tâches cliniques ne peut pas directement diminuer la surcharge d'informations, elle peut permettre aux médecins de se concentrer sur les activités essentielles. Les médecins doivent être informés des directives de leur organisme de réglementation médicale (Collège) au sujet de la délégation d'actes médicaux. Cette délégation n'exonère pas le médecin de sa responsabilité à l'égard des soins des patients. Cela élargit toutefois le cercle de responsabilité pour une exécution plus sécuritaire des procédures.2

Un nombre de plus en plus important de médecins profite des avantages qu'apportent les dossiers de santé électroniques (DSE). Parmi ces avantages qui étayent la prise de décision clinique, on peut citer une plus grande facilité d'accès aux informations du patient, l'obtention plus rapide des résultats d'examens, des systèmes de notification instantanée. D'un autre côté, les DSE peuvent mettre davantage d'informations à la disposition des médecins. En plus de la relative sophistication des dossiers électroniques par rapport à leur équivalent papier, il a été rapporté qu'un excès d'alertes ou de notifications électroniques peut en réalité participer à une surcharge d'informations.3

Les médecins qui travaillent avec les dossiers de santé électroniques sont vivement encouragés à bien comprendre le système afin d'optimiser son efficacité et son efficience. Il est important que les médecins soient sensibilisés aux alertes et notifications du système et répondent à celles-ci. Les médecins doivent également suivre et élaborer des processus de flux de travail pour leur permettre de s'occuper des alertes et des messages du système des DSE.

Même si certains médecins trouvent que l'utilisation d'un système informatisé prend du temps, ces systèmes peuvent les aider à prendre des décisions relatives aux soins, telles que l'établissement d'un diagnostic. Ces systèmes, connus sous le nom de systèmes d'aide à la décision, peuvent aider les médecins à gérer la surcharge d'informations en fournissant des avis cliniques fondés sur les données du patient. Les tribunaux ont révélé que les médecins doivent connaître les progrès importants dans leur domaine de travail, même s'il ne s'agit pas de leur principal domaine de spécialisation. Il y a consensus sur le fait que les systèmes d'aide à la décision peuvent accélérer la transmission des connaissances médicales pour les médecins qui se retrouvent devant une surcharge d'informations.4  Ces systèmes peuvent faciliter la gestion des informations, car les informations cliniques y sont mieux organisées et liées aux connaissances pertinentes de manière à répondre aux besoins des médecins et appuyer les choix qu'ils prennent pour les soins des patients.5

Écarter de manière arbitraire les suggestions d'un système d'aide à la décision sans justification clinique raisonnable peut également exposer le médecin à un risque médico-légal. Si le système d'aide à la décision suggère un diagnostic par exemple, le médecin devra probablement se préparer en cas d'action en justice ou d'enquête du Collège à justifier la raison pour laquelle le diagnostic suggéré a été écarté.

On dénombre plus de 25 000 publications dans le domaine des sciences, des technologies et de la médecine. Ce nombre augmente de 3,5 % par an. Ces revues publient plus de 1,5 million d'articles chaque année. Pubmed cite désormais plus de 20 millions d'articles.6


Les cheminements cliniques, également connus sous le nom de chemins cliniques ou cartes de soins, peuvent également étayer une prise de décision efficace. Ces cheminements soulignent les décisions à prendre et les étapes et soins à suivre pour un patient en particulier ou un groupe de patients présentant une certaine pathologie. Les médecins doivent connaître et respecter les cheminements cliniques mis en œuvre dans leurs organisations. Ces cheminements peuvent également aider les médecins à soutenir leur efficacité clinique, à diminuer les divergences dans les soins aux patients, à gérer les risques cliniques et à appuyer la continuité et la coordination des soins sur l'ensemble des disciplines et secteurs des soins de santé. Les médecins qui utilisent les cheminements cliniques doivent garder à l'esprit que ceux-ci sont plus adaptés aux situations cliniques communes qu'aux situations inhabituelles ou inattendues. Toute divergence ou tout résultat clinique doit donc être adéquatement noté, contrôlé et pris en charge.7

Les progrès technologiques

Les technologies de l'information et des communications peuvent aider les médecins à être plus efficaces pour gérer la masse d'informations à leur disposition. Ainsi, ils peuvent tirer avantage des outils sur l'Internet pour trouver des experts et des informations cliniques, pour chercher une spécialité médicale ou encore un lien vers un groupe médical ou un sujet d'intérêt.

Pour éviter que la boîte de réception de courriel ne déborde de titres de publications qu'ils ne liront peut-être jamais, les médecins peuvent paramétrer la fonction « lecteur » qui dirige les informations souhaitées directement vers eux. En s'abonnant à des fils d'actualité, ils peuvent accéder aux informations depuis certains endroits tels que la maison, l'ordinateur du bureau ou un terminal mobile. Ces lecteurs d'information ou agrégateurs de contenu peuvent également conserver et catégoriser les informations en vue d'une lecture ultérieure. Des filtres peuvent être utilisés pour identifier les informations les plus intéressantes et pertinentes. Ces filtres peuvent inclure les résumés de revues médicales et des ressources scientifiques fondées sur des données probantes.

L'utilisation d'applications médicales fiables peut également aider les médecins à gérer les informations cliniques. Il est préférable de choisir les applications qui ont été créées ou validées par une association professionnelle ou reconnue ou encore une société médicale, telle que l'application mobile conçue par la Société canadienne de cardiologie.8  L'Association médicale canadienne fournit également des applications et des versions mobiles de certaines de ses ressources les plus populaires, y compris des outils au point de service fondés sur les données probantes actuelles, des articles de journaux et des manuels de médecine. L'application Canadian Medical Association Journal comporte une fonction « favoris » et une recherche par index, pour un accès rapide aux articles et sujets préférés.

Planifier pour éviter une surcharge d'informations

L'énorme quantité de nouvelles informations scientifiques ajoute certainement à la préoccupation des médecins de se tenir au courant. Cependant, étant donné les limites humaines et le fait qu'il n'y a que 24 heures dans une journée, les médecins doivent adopter une approche mesurée pour se tenir informés. Il leur est recommandé d'identifier et d'utiliser des stratégies de gestion des informations qui fonctionnent dans leur cas et de faire connaître les stratégies efficaces à leurs collègues.

Références

  1. Alberta Medical Association, « How to delegate without having to ask: "Why didn't they do that right?" » Alberta Doctors' Digest (2013) Vol. 38, no 3 p.14-15. Consulté en ligne le 15 août 2013 : https://www.albertadoctors.org/Publications%20-%20ADD/pub_add_mayjun13_bkmks.pdf
  2. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, « Delegation of a Medical Act » 2009. Consulté en ligne le 15 août 2013 : https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Delegation-of-a-Medical-Act.pdf
  3. Rice, Chelsea, « 87% of physicians say quantity of EHR alerts ‘excessive' » 2013. Consulté en ligne le 3 mai 2013 : http://www.healthleadersmedia.com/print/TEC-289789/87
  4. Rebitzer, James, Rege, Mari, Shepard, Christopher, « Influence, information overload, and information technology in health care » The National Bureau of Economic Research Working Paper No. 14159 (2008). Consulté en ligne le 26 juin 2013 :http://www.nber.org/papers/w14159.pdf
  5. Hayward, Robert, « Clinical decision support tools: Do they support clinicians? » Future Practice (2004) p. 66-68.
  6. Fraser, Alan G., Dunstan, Frank D., « On the impossibility of being expert » British Medical Journal (2010) Vol. 341, p. c6815. Consulté en ligne le 2 juillet 2013 : http://www.bmj.com/content/341/bmj.c6815
  7. Open Clinical, « Clinical pathways ». Consulté en ligne le 17 juin 2013 : www.openclinical.org/clinicalpathways.html
  8. Société canadienne de cardiologie, CCS apps. Pour plus d'informations, consulter : http://www.ccsguidelineprograms.ca/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id
    =98&Itemid=68

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.