Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Medication management, quality healthcare

Originally published December 2013
P1305-6-E

Physicians play a key role in the effective management of medication, particularly as medical conditions and medication regimens become more complex. A sound understanding of medication management and careful attention to associated risk management strategies will help physicians provide quality care for their patients.

A review of CMPA legal cases that closed over a 7-year period between 2006 and 2012, indicates that the most prevalent medication-related issues, in order of frequency, were related to:

  • a delay or failure to prescribe or administer a medication
  • the action or inaction of another healthcare provider
  • monitoring and follow-up issues related to medication
  • deficient history taking or evaluation relevant to medication
  • an injury during administration or preparation of medication
  • the wrong dosage being prescribed or administered

A number of different factors contributed to these medication issues. There was also a range of clinical outcomes associated with these cases.

Of all CMPA legal cases that closed over this 7-year period, 10% had a medication issue.

Foundations for effective medication management

Medication management actually begins with the physician's assessment or evaluation of a patient to determine the need for medication. This is followed by selecting, ordering or prescribing, preparing, and administering drugs, and monitoring patients.

Depending on their medical practice, physicians will have more or less involvement with different aspects of this process. This is also the case for other healthcare professionals who have authority to prescribe medications. At all times doctors need a good understanding of their patients' health needs and the medications they prescribe. Physicians must also monitor patients taking medications.

Physicians will want to be familiar with and follow applicable medication management guidelines from their medical regulatory authority (College). In addition to policy statements on topics such as prescribing, including self-prescribing, many Colleges have guidelines on related topics such as vaccine storage and handling, and the safe disposal of medications.

Clear communication about medications with patients or designated family members and healthcare providers across the continuum of care is important. This involves sharing information with pharmacists, nurses, midwives, and with other healthcare professionals at different levels and transitions of care. Comprehensive and timely documentation regarding medications in the patient's health record should never be overlooked. 

Today, medication safety is largely based on a culture of safety and interdisciplinary collaboration.1 Given that doctors increasingly work in collaborative teams, it is important to clarify the roles and responsibilities of all healthcare professionals, and of patients, at all stages of the medication management process. Roles and responsibilities will vary depending on legislation, scopes of practice, regulations, organizational policies and procedures, and other factors. Doctors should be aware of their roles and responsibilities in the context of their medical practice.

Medication management for seniors

The number of seniors in canada increases annually. Most doctors will care for more patients over the age of 65 as demographics continue to shift. "in 2009, almost two out of three (63%) canadians age 65 and older took 5 or more prescription drugs from different drug classes, with close to one-quarter (23%) taking 10 or more.... Seniors also take more over-the-counter medications and vitamins or other supplements than any other age group, possibly adding to the risks associated with multiple medications".2 Medication reconciliation includes information on over-the-counter products.

Doctors treating seniors taking medications should be particularly attuned to the possibility of drug interactions. Drug knowledge, ongoing patient monitoring, as well as regular communication with pharmacists and other treating physicians can help reduce these risks. 

Medication reconciliation

Communicating effectively about medications is a critical component of delivering safe care. "using medication reconciliation, healthcare providers follow a formal process to work together with patients, families, and other healthcare professionals to ensure accurate and comprehensive medication information is communicated across transitions of care."3

Whether working in hospitals, long-term care facilities, clinics, or other settings, doctors have an important role to play in helping to collect the best possible medication history, comparing what the patient is actually taking with what is prescribed, and communicating and resolving medication discrepancies. Physicians' specific roles in medication reconciliation may vary depending on their responsibility within the healthcare team. Clear assignment of roles and responsibilities, within a context of shared accountability is required. Since the process can involve multiple healthcare professionals, effective communication is essential. Doctors should also emphasize the patient's role in this process and use the institution or community pharmacist's expertise as required.

Medication reconciliation is not just for doctors working in institutions. Family doctors have an ongoing relationship with their patients and are often the custodian of the medication list. In this way, medication reconciliation may be viewed as an ongoing process (e.g. whenever the patient visits, when the pharmacy calls, when incoming records from other specialists are received) involving family doctors and other key stakeholders within the patient's circle of care.4

The patient is in the best position to be aware of all the medications prescribed by multiple caregivers. Physicians should encourage patients, family, and caregivers to maintain an accurate list of all medications, and to review and update the list at each care encounter.5

Tips for safer prescribing

While physicians are not the only prescribers of medication, they do write the majority of prescriptions in canada. Prescribing medications is a complex process and physicians should use a systematic approach. The following tips may help physicians minimize the risks associated with prescribing.6

  • Remain up-to-date about medications, especially for the conditions commonly treated.
  • Have the appropriate information about the patient and the drug to help avoid prescribing errors. Accessing up-to-date medical records is critical.
  • Involve patients in prescribing decisions and when to return for monitoring or review. Include medication risks, side effects, and alternative choices in the consent discussion.
  • Be vigilant when writing paper or electronic prescriptions, and also double-check new prescriptions. This will help in making wise prescribing choices and mitigate the likelihood of errors before they reach the pharmacist or the patient. Consider if it is necessary to prescribe the drug at all.
  • Be aware of high-risk patients and high-risk drugs. High-risk patients include those with serious illnesses, those taking multiple medications, the very young, and the elderly.
  • Check computerized drug alerts regarding information about interactions or drug allergies.
  • Consider having high levels of safety built into any repeat prescribing system.
  • Have safe and effective ways of communicating medication information between primary and secondary care, and acting on medication changes suggested or initiated by other clinicians.
  • Be wary of abbreviations that could be misinterpreted and possibly lead to harmful medication errors. It is best not to use abbreviated drug names.  Prescriptions should include directions such as "daily" or "every other day" instead of QD or QOD. Drug orders should not have a trailing zero (e.g. use 5 mg instead of 5.0 mg) and when decimals are used, they should never be left "naked" (e.g. 0.5 mg instead of .5 mg). 

Narcotic safety

A review of medication errors and near miss incidents reported to the institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada (ISMP Canada) identified narcotic (opioid) drugs to be one of the more frequently reported causes of patient injury. Patient safety issues regarding narcotics can arise due to the large selection of narcotic products and available concentrations, the variety of dosage forms, look-alike and sound-alike names, packaging and labeling, infusion pumps and patient-controlled analgesia, and patient monitoring requirements.7

While narcotics are very important and necessary medications when used appropriately, physicians are urged to take the necessary precautions when managing these and other high alert medications.

 

The 10 rights of medication administration8

Physicians should verify the appropriateness of a number of factors when dealing with medications. These are: right patient, right medication, right dose, right time, right route, right form, right reason, right education (for patient), right response, and right documentation. Doctors alone are not necessarily responsible for all of these factors in all cases, however asking these questions will help to increase medication safety.

 

Technologies to enhance medication safety

The rapid advances in healthcare technology can assist physicians in managing medication, but may also introduce new challenges. New healthcare technologies  include electronic health records, medical apps or support systems to assist patient diagnosis and treatment decisions, computerized physician order systems (ePrescribing), and computerized drug interaction alerts. Doctors should familiarize themselves and ask questions about new technologies, being vigilant about issues related to medication safety.

Disclosing and reporting medication issues

Doctors should disclose medication-related adverse events to patients and report these within their organizations through appropriate channels for the purpose of reducing such events in future. Physicians can also participate in ISMP Canada's Medication Incident and Near Miss Reporting Program, which is designed to collect, collate, and analyze actual and potential medication errors reported by healthcare practitioners. The intent of this voluntary program is to develop and disseminate recommendations and strategies to reduce medication errors. ISMP Canada encourages reporting so that health professionals across the country can learn from medication incidents. The information submitted is kept strictly confidential and protected, and there is an online reporting form.9

Physicians should also be familiar with the Canada Vigilance Program, which is the Health Canada post-market surveillance program that collects and assesses reports of suspected adverse reactions to both prescription and non-prescription medications. The Canada Vigilance Program provides a variety of tools for health professionals to report suspected adverse reactions. Reporting can be done online.

Resources for physicians

Depending on the nature of the concern, physicians with questions about prescribing drugs or managing medications can contact a pharmacist, their medical regulatory authority, or ISMP Canada. CMPA members with medico-legal questions associated with medication management should contact the Association to speak with a medical officer. 

The CMPA has also published resources on risk management when using drugs or medical devices off-label, and risk management of medication issues in elderly patients.

References

  1. Nicol, N., "Case study: An interdisciplinary approach to medication error reduction," American Journal of Health System Pharmacy (2007) Vol. 64, no. 14 p.17-20
  2. Canadian Institute for Health Information, "Health Care in Canada, 2011: A Focus on Seniors and Aging," 2011. Retrieved on April 5 2013 from: http://www.cihi.ca/cihi-ext-portal/internet/en/document/health+system+performance/quality+of+care+and+outcomes/release_01dec11
  3. Accreditation Canada, Canadian Institute for Health Information, Canadian Patient Safety Institute, ISMP Canada, "Medication reconciliation in Canada: Raising the bar," 2012. Retrieved on May 15 2013 from: http://www.accreditation.ca/uploadedFiles/Medication%20reconciliation%2010%2031%202012.pdf
  4. Canadian Patient Safety Institute, "Safer Healthcare Now!" Webcast on Medication Reconciliation in Primary Care, February 12 2013. Retrieved on May 15 2013 from: http://www.saferhealthcarenow.ca/EN/Interventions/medrec/Pages/resources.aspx
  5. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, "Assuring medication accuracy at transitions in care," 2008. Retrieved on April 8 2013 from: http://www.cpso.on.ca/members/resources/practicepartner/patientsafety/default.aspx?id=2804&terms=assuring+medication+accuracy
  6. Medical Protection Society, "Tips for safe prescribing," Your Practice (2011) Vol. 5, no.4 p.9
  7. Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada, "Narcotic (Opioid) Medication Safety Initiative." Retrieved on June 14 2013 from: http://www.ismp-canada.org/NarcInit.htm
  8. Parker, Cheryl, "For patient safety, obey the "10 rights" of medication administration," Canadian Healthcare Technology (November/December 2012) p.14
  9. Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada,
    "Individual Practitioner Reporting, Medication Incidents Including Near Misses." Retrieved on November 15 2013 from: https://www.ismp-canada.org/err_ipr.htm

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La gestion des médicaments va de pair avec des soins de qualité

Publié initialement en décembre 2013
P1305-6-F

Les médecins jouent un rôle essentiel dans la gestion efficace des médicaments, particulièrement en raison de la complexité croissante des problèmes de santé et des plans de traitement médicamenteux. Une solide compréhension de la gestion des médicaments et une attention particulière aux stratégies de gestion des risques qui y sont associés aideront les médecins à prodiguer des soins de qualité à leurs patients. 

Une analyse des dossiers médico-légaux de l'ACPM, conclus entre 2006 et 2012, a révélé que les problèmes de médication les plus courants, en ordre de fréquence, portaient sur :

  • un délai ou un défaut de prescrire ou d'administrer un médicament
  • une action ou inaction de la part d'un autre professionnel de la santé
  • des problèmes de surveillance et de suivi liés aux médicaments
  • une anamnèse ou une évaluation insuffisante sur le plan des médicaments
  • un préjudice survenu durant l'administration ou la préparation d'un médicament
  • la prescription d'une mauvaise posologie ou l'administration d'une mauvaise dose d'un médicament. 

De nombreux facteurs distincts ont contribué à ces problèmes de médication. Par ailleurs, il faut signaler que ces dossiers présentaient également un éventail de résultats cliniques.

De tous les dossiers médico-légaux de l'ACPM conclus au cours de cette période de sept ans, 10 % mettaient en cause un problème lié aux médicaments.

Fondements d'une gestion efficace des médicaments

Le processus de gestion des médicaments consiste a priori à évaluer le patient afin de déterminer ses besoins pharmacologiques. Ensuite, le médecin doit choisir, prescrire, préparer et administrer les médicaments. Le degré de participation des médecins aux divers aspects de ce processus dépend de la nature de leur pratique. C'est également le cas pour d'autres professionnels de la santé autorisés à prescrire des médicaments. En tout temps, les médecins doivent bien connaître les besoins de santé de leurs patients et les médicaments qu'ils prescrivent. Ils doivent aussi assurer le suivi des patients qui prennent des médicaments.  

Les médecins doivent connaître et suivre les lignes directrices applicables de leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (collège) en matière de gestion des médicaments. En plus d'énoncés de politique sur des sujets tels que la prescription, dont l'automédication, plusieurs collèges ont publié des lignes directrices sur des sujets connexes, comme l'entreposage et la manipulation des vaccins et la récupération sécuritaire des médicaments.

Tout au long du continuum des soins, les médecins doivent entretenir une communication claire au sujet des médicaments, avec les patients ou les membres désignés de la famille et les professionnels de la santé. Cela signifie transmettre les renseignements aux pharmaciens, aux infirmières, aux sages-femmes et à d'autres professionnels de la santé à différents niveaux de soins et lors des transferts de soins. Il ne faut jamais oublier l'importance de consigner en détail et dans les plus brefs délais tout renseignement concernant les médicaments au dossier du patient. 

De nos jours, la sécurité des médicaments est largement fondée sur une culture de sécurité et sur la collaboration interdisciplinaire.1  étant donné que les médecins travaillent de plus en plus au sein d'équipes de soins interprofessionnels, il importe de préciser les rôles et les responsabilités de tous les professionnels de la santé, et des patients, à toutes les étapes du processus de gestion des médicaments. Les rôles et les responsabilités varieront en fonction de la législation, des champs d'exercice, des règlements, des politiques et procédures organisationnelles et d'autres facteurs. Il importe donc que les médecins connaissent leurs rôles et leurs responsabilités dans le contexte de leur pratique.

Gestion des médicaments chez les personnes âgées

Le nombre de personnes âgées au canada augmente chaque année. En raison du virage démographique qui s'amorce, les patients de plus de 65 ans représenteront une proportion de plus en plus importante de la pratique de la majorité des médecins. « en 2009, près de deux canadiens âgés de 65 ans ou plus sur trois (63 %) prenaient 5 médicaments d'ordonnance et plus appartenant à différentes catégories de médicaments, et près d'un sur quatre (23 %) en prenait 10 et plus (…). Les personnes âgées consomment également plus de médicaments en vente libre et de vitamines ou autres suppléments que tous les autres groupes d'âge, ce qui ajoute possiblement aux risques associés à la prise de médicaments multiples ».2  ce bilan comparatif des médicaments inclut également des renseignements sur les produits en vente libre. 

Les médecins prodiguant des soins aux personnes âgées qui prennent des médicaments doivent être particulièrement sensibilisés au risque d'interactions médicamenteuses. Une connaissance des médicaments, une surveillance continue du patient, ainsi qu'une communication régulière avec les pharmaciens et les autres médecins traitants peuvent contribuer à réduire ces risques. 

Bilan comparatif des médicaments

Pour dispenser des soins sécuritaires, il est essentiel de communiquer efficacement lorsqu'il s'agit de l'usage des médicaments. « grâce au bilan comparatif des médicaments, les prestataires de soins de santé suivent un processus structuré pour travailler entre eux et avec les patients et les familles en vue d'assurer la communication uniforme de renseignements exacts et complets sur les médicaments à tous les points de transition des soins. »3    

Qu'ils travaillent dans des hôpitaux, des établissements de soins de longue durée, des cliniques ou d'autres milieux, les médecins ont un rôle important à jouer dans l'obtention des meilleurs antécédents médicamenteux possibles, la comparaison entre ce que prend le patient et ce qui lui a été prescrit, puis la communication et la résolution des anomalies liées aux médicaments. Les rôles précis des médecins en ce qui a trait au bilan comparatif peuvent varier en fonction de leur responsabilité au sein de l'équipe de soins. Une attribution claire des rôles et des responsabilités, dans un contexte de responsabilisation partagée, est nécessaire. Puisque le processus peut impliquer de nombreux professionnels de la santé, une communication efficace au sein de l'équipe s'avère essentielle.  Les médecins doivent également mettre l'accent sur le rôle du patient dans ce processus et s'inspirer de l'expertise du pharmacien de l'établissement ou de la communauté au besoin.

Le bilan comparatif des médicaments ne s'adresse pas uniquement au médecin qui travaille en établissement. En raison de la relation durable qu'il a avec ses patients, l'omnipraticien est souvent le gardien de la liste des médicaments. Ainsi, le bilan comparatif peut être perçu comme un processus continu (p. ex., lors d'une visite du patient, lorsque la pharmacie téléphone, sur réception de dossiers provenant d'autres spécialistes) pour l'omnipraticien et les autres intervenants clés dans le cercle de soins du patient.4  

C'est le patient qui est le mieux placé pour savoir quels sont les médicaments qui lui ont été prescrits par de multiples professionnels de la santé. Les médecins devraient encourager les patients, la famille et les professionnels de la santé à maintenir une liste exacte de tous les médicaments, à revoir et, mettre à jour la liste à chaque rencontre de santé.5

Conseils pour prescrire des médicaments de façon plus sécuritaire

Bien que les médecins ne soient pas les seuls à prescrire des médicaments, ils rédigent la majorité des ordonnances au canada. La prescription de médicaments est un processus complexe auquel les médecins doivent appliquer une approche systématique. Les conseils suivants peuvent aider les médecins à réduire les risques associés à la prescription de médicaments.6
  • Se tenir à jour au sujet des médicaments, notamment en ce qui concerne les maladies les plus courantes.
  • Disposer des renseignements appropriés sur le patient et le médicament afin d'éviter les erreurs de prescription. L'accès à des dossiers médicaux à jour s'avère essentiel.
  • Faire participer les patients aux décisions liées aux ordonnances et à la prise de rendez-vous aux fins de surveillance ou d'évaluation. Parler des risques liés aux médicaments, des effets secondaires et des solutions de rechange dans le cadre de la discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement.
  • Faire preuve de vigilance dans la rédaction des ordonnances, sur papier ou en version électronique, et revérifier les nouvelles ordonnances. Cela permettra de faire des choix judicieux en matière d'ordonnances, ainsi que de réduire la probabilité d'erreurs avant qu'elles n'atteignent le pharmacien ou le patient. Se demander s'il est même nécessaire de prescrire le médicament.
  • Être conscient des patients à risques élevés et des médicaments à risques élevés. Les patients à risques élevés comprennent ceux atteints de maladies graves, ceux prenant de multiples médicaments, les très jeunes enfants et les personnes âgées.
  • Consulter les alertes informatisées liées aux médicaments pour obtenir de l'information sur les interactions ou les allergies médicamenteuses.
  • Envisager l'intégration de niveaux élevés de sécurité à tout système de renouvellement d'ordonnances.
  • Se doter de moyens sécuritaires et efficaces pour communiquer l'information liée aux médicaments entre les soins primaires et secondaires, et pour donner suite à toute modification aux médicaments proposée ou initiée par d'autres cliniciens.
  • Se méfier des abréviations pouvant être mal interprétées et entraîner d'éventuelles erreurs médicamenteuses préjudiciables. Il est préférable d'éviter d'utiliser les noms abrégés de médicaments. Les ordonnances devraient inclure des directives telles « chaque jour » ou « un jour sur deux » au lieu de qd ou qod. Les ordonnances de médicament ne devraient pas comporter de zéro à droite (p. Ex., écrire 5 mg au lieu de 5,0 mg). Par contre, un zéro de gauche devrait être inclus avant un signe décimal (p. Ex. 0,5 mg au lieu de ,5 mg).7

Sécurité liée aux narcotiques

Une analyse des erreurs dans l'administration des médicaments et des accidents évités de justesse signalés à l'institut pour l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du canada (ismp canada) a permis de déterminer que les narcotiques (opioïdes) sont l'une des causes les plus fréquemment citées à l'origine de préjudices chez les patients. Des problèmes liés à la sécurité des patients mettant en cause des narcotiques peuvent survenir en raison du large éventail de produits et de concentrations narcotiques, de la variété des formes posologiques, de médicaments ayant une présentation ou un nom semblable, de l'emballage ou l'étiquetage, de pompes à perfusion et d'analgésie contrôlées par le patient, et des exigences en matière de surveillance des patients. 

Bien que les narcotiques soient des médicaments très importants et nécessaires lorsqu'ils sont utilisés convenablement, les médecins sont vivement encouragés à prendre les précautions qui s'imposent lorsqu'ils gèrent ces médicaments, tout comme ils le font pour tout autre médicament à risque élevé.

Les 10 bons principes liés à l'administration de médicaments8

Les médecins doivent vérifier le caractère approprié de nombreux facteurs en ce qui a trait aux médicaments, notamment qu'il s'agit : du bon patient, du bon médicament, de la bonne posologie, du bon moment, de la bonne voie 'administration, de la bonne formulation du médicament, de la bonne indication, des bonnes instructions (à l'intention du patient), de la bonne réponse et de la bonne documentation.  Les médecins ne sont pas nécessairement responsables de tous ces facteurs à eux seuls dans tous les cas. Toutefois, se poser ces questions contribue à accroître la sécurité des médicaments.

Technologies visant à rehausser la sécurité des médicaments

Les progrès rapides de la technologie des soins de santé peuvent aider les médecins à gérer les médicaments. Cependant, ils peuvent aussi entraîner de nouveaux défis. Les nouvelles technologies en soins de santé comprennent les dossiers électroniques de santé, les applications médicales ou les outils d'aide à la décision en ce qui a trait au diagnostic et au traitement des patients, les systèmes informatisés d'ordonnances médicales (ordonnances électroniques) et les alertes informatisées d'interactions médicamenteuses. Les médecins doivent se tenir au fait des nouvelles technologies et poser des questions, tout en faisant preuve de vigilance en regard des problèmes liés à la sécurité des médicaments.

Divulgation et déclaration des problèmes liés aux médicaments

Les médecins doivent divulguer aux patients les événements iatrogènes médicamenteux et les déclarer par les voies appropriées de leur établissement pour réduire leur survenue à l'avenir. Les médecins peuvent aussi participer au programme de déclaration d'incidents et d'accidents liés à l'utilisation des médicaments de l'ismp canada, conçu pour recueillir, traiter et analyser les erreurs médicamenteuses réelles et potentielles signalées par les professionnels de la santé. Ce programme à participation volontaire a pour but d'élaborer et de diffuser des recommandations et des stratégies visant à réduire les erreurs médicamenteuses. L'ISMP Canada encourage la déclaration pour permettre aux professionnels de la santé de tout le pays de tirer des leçons des événements iatrogènes médicamenteux. Les renseignements soumis sont protégés et traités avec la plus stricte confidentialité, et il existe un formulaire de déclaration en ligne.9

Les médecins se doivent aussi de connaître le Programme Canada Vigilance, un programme de surveillance après la mise en marché relevant de Santé Canada, qui recueille et évalue les déclarations d'effets indésirables présumés associés aux médicaments sur ordonnance et en vente libre. Le Programme Canada Vigilance offre une variété d'outils qui permettent aux professionnels de la santé et aux consommateurs de déclarer des effets indésirables présumés. La déclaration peut se faire en ligne.

Ressources à l'intention des médecins

Selon la nature de leurs préoccupations, les médecins ayant des questions au sujet de l'ordonnance ou de la gestion des médicaments peuvent communiquer avec un pharmacien, leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine ou l'ismp Canada. Les membres de l'acpm qui ont des questions médico-légales associées à la gestion des médicaments devraient communiquer avec l'Association pour parler à un médecin-conseil. 

L'ACPM a aussi publié des ressources sur la gestion des risques liés à l'emploi non conforme de médicaments ou d'appareils médicaux, et sur la gestion des risques liés aux problèmes de médication chez les personnes âgées.

Références

  1. Nicol, N., « Case study: An interdisciplinary approach to medication error reduction », American Journal of Health System Pharmacy (2007) vol. 64, no 14, p. 17-20
  2. L'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé, « Les soins de santé au Canada 2011 : regard sur les personnes âgées et le vieillissement » 2011. Consulté en ligne le 5 avril 2013 : http://www.cihi.ca/cihi-ext-portal/internet/fr/document/health+system+performance/quality+of+care+and+outcomes/release_01dec11
  3. Agrément Canada, L'Institut canadien d'information sur la santé, Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, L'Institut pour l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada, « Bilan comparatif des médicaments au Canada : hausser la barre », 2012. Consulté en ligne le 10 juillet 2013 : http://www.accreditation.ca/uploadedFiles/Medication%20reconciliation%2010%2031%202012%20french.pdf
  4. L'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, « Assuring medication accuracy at transitions in care », 2008. Consulté en ligne le 8 avril 2013 : http://www.cpso.on.ca/members/resources/practicepartner/patientsafety/default.aspx?id=2804&terms=assuring+medication+accuracy
  5. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, « Des soins de santé plus sécuritaires maintenant! » Diffusion Web « Medication Reconciliation in Primary Care », le 12 février 2013. Consulté en ligne le 15 mai 2013 : http://www.saferhealthcarenow.ca/fr/interventions/medrec/pages/resources.aspx
  6. Medical Protection Society, « Tips for safe prescribing », Your Practice (2011) vol. 5, no 4, p. 9
  7. L'Institut pour l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada, Narcotic (Opioid) Medication Safety Initiative, consulté en ligne le 14 juin 2013 : http://www.ismp-canada.org/NarcInit.htm
  8. Parker, Cheryl, « For patient safety, obey the "10 rights" of medication administration », Canadian Healthcare Technology (novembre/décembre 2012) p. 14
  9. L'Institut pour l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada, Formulaire de déclaration d'incident/accident liés à l'utilisation des médicaments, consulté en ligne le 15 novembre 2013 : https://www.ismp-canada.org/fr/form_dec.htm

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.