Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Preparing for a medical emergency — Anticipating the unexpected in an office or clinic

Originally published January 2013
W13-001-E

Medical emergencies can occur anywhere, at any time, including physicians' offices and clinics. When emergencies arise in these settings, physicians and their staff will be called upon to assist patients and trigger an emergency response. Conducting an appropriate emergency risk assessment, followed by planning, preparation, and practise will contribute to an effective response and can improve the outcomes for patients.

What types of emergencies are being seen?

It is not hard to imagine a patient arriving for a scheduled medical appointment, suffering from severe chest pain, and being urgently transported to the nearest emergency department. Cardiovascular events, including cardiac arrest, are among the most common emergencies in medical offices and clinics, as documented in studies from Canada, the United States, and Australia.1, 2, 3  The Canadian study looked at the frequency and types of emergencies seen by Canadian family physicians in an urban setting and found cardiovascular emergencies were followed by general illnesses such as trauma, infectious diseases, hypothermia, or exposure; and respiratory distress such as asthma. The other frequent emergencies were strokes, seizures, fainting, allergic reactions, anaphylaxis, diabetic distress, abdominal illnesses, back pain, hemorrhages, gynecologic and obstetric issues, and pharmacologic problems such as poisoning or toxic exposure.

What are physicians' responsibilities in an emergency?

Certainly, physicians who perform specific procedures in their offices or clinics — for example, allergy or immunization injections, drawing blood, performing surgical procedures such as vasectomies — owe a duty of care to their patients, and the courts and the provincial and territorial regulatory authorities (Colleges) expect physicians to be prepared for urgent complications that might arise as a result of the medical interventions they provide. In a clinic where allergy injections are given, for example, it is reasonable to anticipate that a patient could suffer an anaphylactic reaction. The courts and Colleges expect physicians and staff to have a prepared emergency response to treat patients suffering from this type of emergency.

Although some medical emergencies can reasonably be anticipated or foreseen in an office or clinic, others cannot. Individuals can experience an emergency at any time. They could suffer an asthma attack or a stroke, or a parent may bring in a sick child unaware that the child is acutely ill. The individual may or may not be a patient of the office or clinic. They could be a caregiver accompanying a patient, or even a person walking in off the street in search of urgent medical help.

While a clinic or office cannot reasonably be prepared for every possible, unexpected emergency, Colleges view physicians as having an ethical obligation to do their best to attend to individuals in need of urgent care. The Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics states that physicians should: "Provide whatever appropriate assistance you can to any person with an urgent need for medical care."

In unexpected medical emergencies, physicians should focus on practising medicine to the best of their ability. They should treat individuals requiring care with the goal of preventing prolonged suffering and addressing imminent threats to life, limb, or health. The care physicians provide in an emergency situation may be far different from what is expected of them under normal circumstances and is more basic than what can be provided in an emergency department. Physicians and their staff in an office or clinic may consider having a response plan to address basic emergency care, including providing basic life support until emergency services are available. Once emergency services arrive, the physician can transfer care to emergency responders. The physician should document the care that was provided, which will be valuable in the individual's ongoing care.

How to prepare for an emergency

There are a number of resources to assist physicians in planning and preparing for an emergency in their office or clinic. Physicians may first turn to their College for any policies, guidelines, or recommendations for emergency preparation. The Collège des Médecins du Québec, for example, has published a booklet, Procédures et interventions en milieu extrahospitalier, which includes information on preparing for an office or clinic emergency; it is available in French on the College's website at www.cmq.org/fr.aspx. The Ontario College of Physicians and Surgeons also has a booklet that includes guidance on preparing for emergencies, Safe and Effective Office-Based Practices, available at www.cpso.on.ca.  In addition, there are articles2, 4 on the topic and a website created by a young British Columbia doctor at www.OfficeEmergencies.ca.

The resources suggest offices and clinics prepare by carrying out a number of activities — determining the office's level of risk and types of emergencies that are most likely to occur, assessing the training and equipment needed to respond to those emergencies, developing a plan, and conducting practice drills.

Determining risk

Physicians should begin preparing their office by assessing the level of risk in their practice. Doctors should examine the practice's characteristics such as the patient population (whether patients include children or the elderly), the volume of patients, whether it is in an urban or rural location, the distance to the closest emergency room, the types of procedures performed in the office, the access to emergency response services such as 911, etc. A family physician's office or clinic will have different characteristics and a different level of risk from that of a physician who, for example, specializes in psychotherapy. Knowing the level of risk will help physicians determine the equipment and training needed to respond efficiently and effectively to a medical emergency.

Organizing equipment and training

The equipment and supplies required in a physician's office should correspond to the level of risk in the practice, the procedures performed in the office, and how much medical intervention physicians feel they and their staff can appropriately provide. For instance, offices or clinics that are a significant distance from a hospital or emergency department may have a higher level of risk and so may have equipment that allows the physicians and staff to provide basic life support for an extended time. Physicians should use their clinical judgment to determine the equipment and supplies most appropriate for their practice.

Those physicians who offer pediatric care should take into consideration the special treatment requirements of children in an emergency. Equipment, supplies, and medications must be specifically tailored to infants and children.

Staff training is a critical part of preparing an office for an emergency. By knowing the types of emergencies the office is at risk for and the current skill levels of each staff member, physicians and staff can identify and address skills or knowledge gaps. Physicians in a small office may consider having all staff trained in basic life support, while in a larger office only clinical staff may require such training. All staff should be aware of the role they are to play during an emergency and know the availability and location of equipment and supplies. Specific staff members could be trained and assigned to inspect, replace, and order equipment and supplies.

Having a written plan clarifies how the office will respond to a medical emergency. It details the role each staff member will play, where the equipment is located, and how the patient will be transferred to the next level of care, typically a hospital or emergency department. To maintain the level of preparedness, physicians should practise the plan with their staff. Drills allow staff members to test their knowledge, become comfortable and efficient with each step, and notice problem areas and make improvements. Knowing the plan thoroughly will make it easier for staff to remain calm and attend to the patient when an emergency does occur.

As soon as possible after the emergency, physicians should document the encounter in a medical record, even if there is no previous doctor-patient relationship. The documentation provides a record of the medical reasoning and the steps taken, facilitates any further investigations and treatments, and is valuable if there are questions about the care. 

The bottom line

Physicians have an ethical obligation to attend to individuals who require urgent care while in the office or clinic, whether or not the individual is a patient. By carefully examining the characteristics of their practice, physicians can try to anticipate the emergencies that are most likely to occur, and prepare their office or clinic by stocking the necessary equipment, training their staff, and developing a response plan. As soon as possible following the emergency, the steps that were taken to care for the patient should be clearly, completely, and legibly documented in a medical record. Planning and preparation will allow physicians and their staff to calmly and effectively respond to medical emergencies.


References

  1. Liddy, C, Dreise, H, Gaboury, I., "Frequency of in-office emergencies in primary care," Canadian Family Physician, (October 2009) Vol. 55, p.1004-1005.
  2. Sethe L. Toback, "Medical Emergency Preparedness in Office Practice," American Family Physician (2007) Vol. 75, no.11 p.1679 – 1684.
  3. Johnston, C. L., Coulthard, M.G., Schluter, P.J., Dick, M.B., "Medical emergencies in general practice in south-east Queensland: prevalence and practice preparedness," Medical Journal of Australia, (July 16, 2001) Vol. 175, p.99-103.
  4. Sempowski, I.P., Brison, R.J., "Dealing with office emergencies, Stepwise approach for family physicians," Canadian Family Physician, September 2002, Vol. 48, pages 1464-1472.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Se préparer pour une urgence médicale – Prévoir l’imprévisible dans un cabinet ou une clinique

Publié initialement en janvier 2013 W13-001-F

Des urgences médicales peuvent survenir en tout temps et à tout moment, dont pendant qu'une personne se trouve au cabinet et à la clinique d'un médecin. Lorsque des urgences se présentent dans ce contexte, le médecin et son personnel seront appelés à porter assistance à leur patient, ce qui déclenche une intervention d'urgence. La tenue d'une évaluation convenable des risques rattachés aux urgences, suivie de l'élaboration d'un plan, de préparation et d'exercices, assureront l'efficacité des interventions et peuvent même améliorer les résultats pour les patients.

Quels sont les types d'urgence qui se présentent?

On peut aisément s'imaginer une situation où un patient se présente à un rendez-vous médical fixé à l'avance pour être ensuite transporté d'urgence aux services d'urgence les plus près parce qu'il souffre d'importantes douleurs à la poitrine. Les événements cardiovasculaires, dont les arrêts cardiaques, comptent parmi les situations d'urgence les plus courantes dans les cabinets et cliniques médicaux, comme en témoignent des études menées au Canada, aux États-Unis et en Australie.1, 2, 3   Dans le cadre de l'étude canadienne, les chercheurs ont examiné la fréquence et le type d'urgences qui surviennent et que doivent traiter les omnipraticiens canadiens en milieu urbain. Ils ont découvert que les urgences cardiovasculaires étaient les plus fréquentes, suivies de maladies générales comme des traumatismes, des maladies infectieuses, l'hypothermie ou l'exposition, ainsi que des cas de détresse respiratoire, comme l'asthme. Au nombre des autres scénarios d'urgence courants comptaient les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, les convulsions, les évanouissements, les réactions allergiques et anaphylactiques, la détresse diabétique, les maladies abdominales, les lombalgies, les hémorragies, les problèmes gynécologiques et de l'obstétrique et les problèmes pharmacologiques comme un empoisonnement ou une toxicité.

Quelles sont les responsabilités des médecins dans une situation d'urgence?

Il va sans dire que les médecins qui effectuent certaines interventions dans leur cabinet ou clinique, comme des injections pour des allergies ou des vaccins, des prélèvements sanguins ou des interventions chirurgicales, comme des vasectomies, ont un devoir de diligence envers leurs patients, et les tribunaux et organismes provinciaux et territoriaux de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) s'attendent d'eux qu'ils soient préparés en vue de complications urgentes pouvant survenir par suite de l'acte médical. Dans une clinique où des injections sont administrées pour une allergie, par exemple, il est raisonnable d'anticiper une réaction anaphylactique chez un patient. Les tribunaux et Collèges s'attendent des médecins et de leur personnel qu'ils mettent en place un protocole d'intervention d'urgence pour traiter les patients qui présentent ce type d'urgence.

Bien que certaines urgences médicales puissent raisonnablement être anticipées ou prévues dans un cabinet ou une clinique, il n'en va pas de même pour tous les types d'urgences. Le cas d'un patient peut se transformer en urgence en tout temps : il peut avoir une crise d'asthme soudaine ou un accident vasculaire cérébral, ou un parent pourrait se présenter avec son enfant en ignorant que ce dernier est gravement malade. De plus, la personne peut ou non être un patient déjà connu du cabinet ou de la clinique. Il pourrait s'agir d'un soignant accompagnant un patient, voire même de quelqu'un qui a découvert la clinique par hasard et qui a besoin de soins médicaux urgents.

S'il est impossible pour une clinique ou un cabinet d'être raisonnablement prêt pour tout scénario d'urgence imprévu possible, les Collèges estiment que les médecins ont l'obligation déontologique de faire de leur mieux pour soigner la personne qui a un besoin urgent de soins. Le Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne dit bien que les médecins devraient « Fournir toute l'aide appropriée possible à quiconque a un besoin urgent de soins médicaux. »

Dans le contexte d'urgences médicales imprévues, les médecins doivent avant tout exercer la médecine du mieux qu'ils peuvent. Ils doivent traiter ceux qui ont besoin de soins dans le but d'empêcher la souffrance prolongée et de supprimer toute menace immédiate pour la vie, l'intégrité physique  ou la santé d'une personne. Les soins que les médecins prodiguent en situation d'urgence pourraient différer considérablement de ce que l'on attendrait d'eux dans des circonstances plus normales, et être plus rudimentaires que ce qu'il est possible de faire au service d'urgence. Les médecins et leur personnel de cabinet ou de clinique pourraient juger bon de mettre en place un plan d'intervention d'urgence de base, y compris le soutien de base des fonctions vitales jusqu'à ce que le patient puisse être confié aux services d'urgences; à leur arrivée, le médecin peut transférer les soins aux intervenants. Le médecin doit documenter les soins qu'il a prodigués, car ces renseignements deviennent utiles dans la continuité des soins du patient.

Comment se préparer pour une situation d'urgence

De nombreuses ressources sont à la disposition des médecins afin de planifier une urgence dans leur cabinet ou leur clinique. D'abord, ils peuvent se tourner vers leur Collège, qui pourrait avoir mis en place des politiques, lignes directrices ou recommandations pour la préparation d'urgences. Par exemple, le Collège des médecins du Québec a publié un livret intitulé Procédures et interventions en milieu extrahospitalier, qui comprend de l'information sur la préparation d'urgence en cabinet ou en clinique; il se trouve dans le site web du Collège (en français seulement) au www.cmq.org/fr.aspx. L'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario a également rédigé un livret qui contient des directives sur la préparation pour les urgences, intitulé Safe and Effective Office-Based Practices, qui se trouve sur le site www.cpso.on.ca (en anglais seulement). De plus, des articles2, 4 ont été rédigés sur le sujet, et un site web a été créé par un jeune médecin de Colombie-Britannique : www.OfficeEmergencies.ca.

Ces ressources suggèrent de se préparer pour une urgence en cabinet et en clinique avec différentes stratégies, dont la détermination du niveau de risque du cabinet et des types d'urgence les plus susceptibles de survenir, l'évaluation de la formation et du matériel nécessaire pour intervenir dans ces situations d'urgence, la création d'un plan et la tenue d'exercices.

Déterminer le risque

Les médecins devraient d'abord commencer à préparer leur cabinet en évaluant le niveau de risque rattaché à leur pratique. Pour ce faire, ils devraient s'arrêter aux caractéristiques particulières à la pratique, comme le type de population de patients (à savoir si le médecin soigne davantage des enfants ou des aînés), l'achalandage, l'emplacement (rural ou urbain), la distance entre le cabinet et la salle d'urgence la plus près, les types d'intervention pratiquées dans le cabinet, l'accès à des services d'intervention d'urgence comme le 911, etc. À titre d'exemple, le cabinet ou la clinique d'un omnipraticien aura différents niveaux de risque et caractéristiques en comparaison à un médecin qui, par exemple, se spécialise en psychothérapie. La connaissance de son niveau de risque permettra au médecin de circonscrire le matériel et la formation nécessaires pour intervenir efficacement en situation d'urgence médicale.

Planification du matériel et de la formation

Le matériel et les fournitures qui doivent se trouver dans un cabinet de médecin doivent correspondre au niveau de risque dans la pratique, aux procédures effectuées dans le cabinet et à l'étendue des interventions médicales que le médecin estime être en mesure d'offrir adéquatement, aidé de son personnel. Par exemple, les cabinets ou cliniques situés à bonne distance d'un hôpital ou d'un service d'urgence pourraient représenter un risque élevé, et donc être équipés de façon à permettre aux médecins et à leur personnel de soutenir les fonctions vitales pendant une période prolongée. Les médecins doivent faire preuve de jugement clinique pour déterminer quels sont les matériels et fournitures les plus utiles pour leur pratique.

Les médecins qui se spécialisent en pédiatrie doivent garder à l'esprit les besoins de traitement spéciaux des enfants en situation d'urgence. C'est pourquoi le matériel, les fournitures et les médicaments doivent être expressément conçus pour les bébés et les enfants.

La formation du personnel est une composante essentielle de la préparation d'un cabinet aux situations d'urgence. En connaissant les divers types d'urgence qui risquent de survenir, ainsi que les compétences actuelles de chaque membre du personnel, les médecins comme le personnel peuvent savoir où se trouvent les lacunes quant aux connaissances et aux compétences, et y remédier. Les médecins qui travaillent dans un petit cabinet peuvent juger bon de former tout le personnel sur le soutien de base des fonctions vitales, tandis que dans un grand cabinet, seul le personnel clinique aurait besoin de cette formation. Tout le personnel doit cependant être conscient du rôle qu'il a à jouer pendant une urgence et connaître le type et l'emplacement du matériel et des fournitures sur place. Certains membres du personnel pourraient de plus être formés et affectés à l'inspection, au remplacement et à la commande de matériel et de fournitures.

Le plan écrit indique comment le cabinet interviendra dans une situation d'urgence médicale. Il décrit en détails le rôle de chaque membre du personnel, l'emplacement du matériel et les moyens à considérer pour assurer le transfert du patient au prochain niveau de soins, normalement, un hôpital ou un service d'urgence. Pour que tout le monde soit toujours prêt, il est conseillé aux médecins de mettre le plan à l'épreuve avec leur personnel; les exercices permettent aux membres du personnel de tester leurs connaissances, de maîtriser chaque étape efficacement et de dégager des problèmes, pour ensuite les corriger. Si le personnel connaît bien le plan, il aura plus de facilité à rester calme et à soigner le patient en situation d'urgence réelle.

Dès que possible après l'urgence, les médecins devraient documenter l'événement dans un dossier médical, même en l'absence d'une relation antérieure avec le patient. La documentation est un compte rendu écrit du raisonnement médical et des étapes suivies, qui facilite toute investigation et tout traitement subséquents et se révèle très utile si l'on pose des questions au sujet des soins plus tard.

En bref

Les médecins ont l'obligation déontologique d'intervenir auprès de ceux qui ont un besoin urgent de soins pendant qu'ils sont au cabinet ou à la clinique, peu importe si la personne est un patient ou non. En passant au crible les caractéristiques de leur pratique, les médecins seront mieux outillés pour tenter d'anticiper les urgences les plus susceptibles de survenir et pour préparer leur cabinet ou clinique en obtenant le matériel nécessaire, en formant leur personnel et en mettant sur pied un plan d'intervention. Dès que possible après l'urgence, les étapes suivies dans les soins du patient doivent être documentées clairement, entièrement et lisiblement dans un dossier médical. Enfin, la planification et la préparation permettront aux médecins comme à leur personnel de rester calme et de réagir efficacement dans une situation d'urgence médicale.


Références

  1. Liddy, C, Dreise, H, Gaboury, I., Frequency of in-office emergencies in primary care (Fréquence des urgences au bureau dans les soins primaires), Canadian Family Physician – Le Médecin de famille canadien, (octobre 2009) Vol. 55, p.1004-1005.
  2. Sethe L. Toback, Medical Emergency Preparedness in Office Practice, American Family Physician (2007) vol. 75, no11 p.1679-1684.
  3. Johnston, C. L., Coulthard, M.G., Schluter, P.J., Dick, M.B., Medical emergencies in general practice in south-east Queensland: prevalence and practice preparedness, Medical Journal of Australia, (Le 16 juillet 2001) vol. 175, p.99-103.
  4. Sempowski, I.P., Brison, R.J., Dealing with office emergencies, Stepwise approach for family physicians, Canadian Family Physician – Le Médecin de famille canadien, septembre 2002, vol. 48, pages 1464-1472.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.