Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Supporting physicians as clinical supervisors

Originally published December 2013
P1305-3-E

As a result of a review or disciplinary process, medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) may identify physicians requiring remediation through retraining or supervision. Remediation requires the active involvement of another physician who undertakes to supervise a colleague for a defined period of time.

Through its assistance to members, the CMPA has witnessed instances where doctors who require a supervised period of retraining are having increasing difficulty finding physicians to mentor, supervise, or assist them with retraining. Remediation is an important condition to retain or regain licensure to practice, making the role of supervisors critical to physician colleagues.

The CMPA recognizes the valuable role of supervisors and the benefits of remediation. Physicians who act as supervisors are eligible for CMPA assistance, should they face medico-legal difficulties.

Clinical supervisors

A clinical supervisor is usually an experienced physician who supervises a period of retraining required for another doctor to retain or regain his or her medical licence. The supervisor normally meets with the physician on a pre-determined basis, may observe direct care, review patient records, provide guidance to the doctor, and report to the College. Retraining periods vary in length, and this impacts the time commitment required of clinical supervisors.

Physician participation

Imagine needing to secure a supervisor, but being unable to do so after contacting dozens of potential physicians? While supervisory roles can deepen medical experience and be both personally and professionally fulfilling, doctors have expressed a number of reasons for being reluctant or unwilling to undertake supervisory roles. The primary reason is the time commitment. Even when physicians have an interest in clinical supervision, many doctors are already overloaded in their practice. The idea of taking on additional responsibilities can be overwhelming. Other reasons include lack of clarity about the roles and responsibilities of the doctor and the supervisor, as well as the lack of support tools to assist supervisors. Physicians may also have concerns about the medico-legal risks, about remuneration, and also about working with doctors who may display difficult behaviour. These are all valid concerns that need to be addressed on a case-by-case basis. For physicians willing to act as clinical supervisors, Colleges often have specific criteria pertaining to medical specialty, necessary experience, and objectivity.

When supervisors can't be found

When doctors cannot find supervisors and are unable to meet remediation requirements, they most likely won't be able to practise or at least practise fully. This is clearly a loss of a valuable medical professional, which affects access to care for patients. And physicians may suffer significant degrees of stress as their career and livelihood are placed in jeopardy.

When a supervisor is identified and accepted, it is sometimes the physician requiring remediation that must pay for the supervisor's time. Beyond the obvious potential conflicts of interest, the cost to the physician requiring remediation can be significant, if not prohibitive.

CMPA assistance

If physicians are reluctant to participate in supervisory roles due to medico-legal concerns, members will be reassured to know they are generally eligible for professional liability protection from the CMPA for their medical work related to clinical supervision.

Collective responsibility

The issues around clinical supervision are multi-faceted and require a multi-stakeholder approach. The CMPA believes remediation is a useful and valuable means through which to assist doctors in meeting the clinical and professional standards expected by Colleges. Remediation can offer significant benefits to doctors, patients, and the healthcare system. Remediation should not be allowed to fail when an individual physician cannot find a supervisor.

Colleges can play an important role in identifying supervisors, recognizing the importance of their contribution to the medical profession and patients. An example is the Collège des médecins du Québec's agreements with universities to find medical faculty to act as supervisors. This leads to enhanced collective action to address the availability of clinical supervisors.

The CMPA supports the clinical supervisor approach, where a physician works with a colleague to redress areas of remediation. Given the need within the profession and the opportunities for growth and challenge, physicians in all specialties should consider this role. The CMPA is here to guide members with questions about assistance and protection related to clinical supervision.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

À l’appui des médecins tuteurs et maîtres de stage

Publié initialement en décembre 2013
P1305-3-F


À la suite d'une évaluation ou d'un processus disciplinaire, les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) peuvent identifier des médecins nécessitant une remédiation au moyen de cours ou de stages de perfectionnement. La remédiation exige la participation active d'un autre médecin qui accepte de superviser un collègue pendant une période de temps définie.

Dans le cadre de l'assistance qu'elle offre à ses membres, l'ACPM est témoin de situations où des médecins nécessitant une période de perfectionnement supervisée ont de plus en plus de difficulté à trouver un collègue qui veuille leur offrir de l'aide, une supervision ou du mentorat. La remédiation étant une condition importante pour conserver ou faire rétablir le permis d'exercice, le rôle des tuteurs s'avère critique pour les médecins.

L'ACPM reconnaît le rôle précieux des tuteurs et les avantages de la remédiation. Les médecins membres qui agissent comme tuteurs sont admissibles à l'assistance de l'Association dans l'éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux.

Tuteurs

Un tuteur est généralement un médecin chevronné qui supervise une période de perfectionnement exigée pour qu'un autre médecin puisse conserver ou faire rétablir son permis d'exercice. Le tuteur rencontre normalement le médecin selon un horaire prédéterminé, il peut observer les soins prodigués, relire les dossiers des patients, offrir des conseils au médecin et faire rapport au collège. La durée des périodes de perfectionnement varie, ce qui influe sur l'engagement de temps exigé des tuteurs.

La participation des médecins

Imaginez avoir besoin d'un tuteur et ne pas réussir à en trouver après avoir communiqué avec des dizaines de médecins! Bien que la supervision puisse approfondir l'expérience médicale et être valorisante sur les plans personnel et professionnel, les médecins ont exprimé plusieurs raisons expliquant leur réticence ou leur refus à assumer des rôles de supervision. La principale raison est l'engagement en termes de temps. Même lorsque les médecins s'intéressent au tutorat clinique, bon nombre d'entre eux sont déjà surchargés dans leur pratique. L'idée d'assumer des responsabilités supplémentaires peut être accablante. Parmi les autres raisons citées figurent le manque de clarté au sujet des rôles et des responsabilités du médecin et du tuteur, ainsi que l'absence d'outils de soutien à l'intention des tuteurs. Les médecins peuvent aussi avoir des préoccupations par rapport aux risques médico-légaux, à la rémunération et à l'obligation de travailler avec des médecins ayant un comportement difficile. Il s'agit de préoccupations légitimes qui doivent être examinées  au cas par cas. Pour les médecins qui acceptent d'agir comme tuteurs, plusieurs Collèges ont élaboré des critères précis fondés sur la spécialité médicale, l'expérience nécessaire et l'objectivité. 

Lorsqu'il n'est pas possible de trouver un tuteur

Lorsqu'un médecin ne réussit pas à trouver un tuteur et est incapable de répondre aux exigences de la remédiation, il est fort probable qu'il ne puisse exercer la médecine, ou du moins, l'exercer sans limitation. Il s'agit clairement de la perte d'un précieux professionnel de la santé, ce qui influe sur l'accès aux soins des patients. Par ailleurs, les médecins peuvent éprouver des niveaux élevés de stress du fait que leur carrière et leur gagne-pain sont menacés. 

Lorsqu'un tuteur est identifié et accepté, c'est parfois le médecin nécessitant une remédiation qui doit payer le temps du tuteur. Outre la possibilité de conflits d'intérêt évidents, le coût peut être élevé, sinon prohibitif.  

Assistance de l'ACPM

Si les médecins hésitent à participer à des rôles de supervision en raison de préoccupations médico-légales, les membres seront rassurés de savoir qu'ils sont généralement admissibles à une protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle de l'acpm pour leur travail professionnel lié au tutorat.

Responsabilité collective

Les enjeux liés au tutorat clinique comportent de nombreuses facettes et exigent une approche multipartenariale. L'ACPM est d'avis que la remédiation est un moyen utile et précieux d'aider les médecins à respecter les normes cliniques et professionnelles attendues des Collèges. La remédiation peut offrir d'importants avantages aux médecins, aux patients et au système de soins de santé. Il ne faut pas que la remédiation échoue parce qu'un médecin ne peut trouver un tuteur.

Les Collèges peuvent jouer un rôle important dans l'identification de tuteurs en reconnaissant l'importance de leur contribution à la profession médicale et aux soins des patients. Citons en exemple les ententes entre le Collège des médecins du Québec et les universités visant à trouver des professeurs de médecine prêts à agir comme tuteurs. De telles ententes rehaussent l'action collective visant à améliorer la disponibilité de tuteurs.

L'ACPM appuie l'approche du tutorat clinique, selon laquelle un médecin travaille avec un collègue en vue d'une remédiation. Compte tenu du besoin au sein de la profession et des occasions de croissance et de défis, les médecins de toutes les spécialités devraient envisager ce rôle. L'ACPM est là pour orienter les membres ayant des questions en matière d'assistance et de protection liées au tutorat.


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.