Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Telemedicine — Opportunities, challenges, and obligations

Originally published September 2013 / Revised March 2015
P1303-5-E

The digital revolution is profoundly changing how doctors and patients interact and the ways in which healthcare is delivered. Telemedicine has moved beyond the telephone and email, videoconferencing and web portals, and now includes a myriad of mobile apps for smartphones and tablets.

While telemedicine offers benefits for individual patients and is viewed by some governments as a way to improve access to care and control healthcare system costs, licensure and regulatory challenges continue to be perceived as barriers to achieving its full potential. Meanwhile, jurisdictional issues may complicate medico-legal matters for physicians.

Benefits and limitations

Telemedicine has been shown to help patients be more engaged in their health and enable better management of chronic diseases, resulting in fewer and shorter hospital stays, fewer emergency room visits, less severe illness, and fewer deaths.1

Telemedicine services are widely available in most Canadian provinces and territories. In Ontario, for example, the Telehomecare program provides remote monitoring and health coaching of patients with congestive heart failure and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). Other examples include accepting cardiograms sent by patients to doctors via smartphone,2 and smartphones being used to capture and transmit blood pressure and lung function readings.

Existing legal, professional, and ethical obligations of practising medicine are not altered when telemedicine is used as opposed to in-person care. Medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) generally advise physicians to use their professional judgment to determine whether telemedicine is appropriate in a particular circumstance, and whether telemedicine will enable physicians to meet the standard of care. For example, prescribing opioids and medical marijuana via telemedicine might best be avoided in most cases when a physician’s ability to identify drug-seeking behaviour may be limited. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia advises physicians in that province to “avoid completing a medical document for a patient to use medical marijuana by telemedicine.”3

Jurisdictional licensing and standards

In the absence of a national framework for telemedicine, the licensing requirements for physicians vary for each province and territory. Physicians should therefore be familiar with the requirements of each province and territory in which they practise and their patients reside. The issue over where the telemedicine encounter occurred may also be relevant in the event of a legal action.

The Colleges in British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Québec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador have published telemedicine bylaws or policies. Other Colleges may impose requirements that have not been formalized in a bylaw or policy. As well, legislative requirements are imposed by the Act Respecting Health Services and Social Services for physicians practising telemedicine in Québec.

Some physicians practising telemedicine might need to be licensed in both the jurisdiction in which they are located and the jurisdiction where the patient is located. Some Canadian jurisdictions may also require special registration, or they may place conditions on the provision of such services, or both.

As an example, a physician from outside of Alberta who provides telemedicine services to patients in Alberta may need to be licensed in and adhere to the policies of both jurisdictions depending on the type and frequency of the telemedicine services provided. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta regards the patient's location as the determining factor of where the telemedicine encounter occurs. For this reason, the College in Alberta requires physicians from other provinces to register with it unless the consultation is for an emergency assessment or treatment or the physician provides telemedicine consultations in Alberta less than six times a year.4

Similarly, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) expects physicians licensed outside Ontario to comply with its expectations when providing telemedicine services to patients in Ontario. As well, the Ontario government has said it wants to create standards and accredit telemedicine practitioners through the Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN), thereby helping to reassure patients that online medical consultations are both convenient and safe.

Privacy and information security

The Canadian Medical Association's Code of Ethics requires physicians to "protect the personal health information of [their] patients."5 In addition, privacy legislation in every province and territory generally stipulates that personal information cannot be collected, used, or disclosed unless the individual has provided consent or the activity is otherwise permitted by law. When providing telemedicine services across provinces and territories, physicians will want to take appropriate steps to comply with the privacy legislation that applies in each jurisdiction.

Physicians would be prudent to confirm, to the extent possible, that both the patient and the physician are in physical settings that are appropriate for the encounter and permit the patient to share personal information in a reasonably private manner. Physicians should be satisfied that reasonable and legally compliant security protocols are in place to adequately protect patient information being transmitted via electronic means.

Patient consent in telemedicine

As with any non-emergent medical care, patients must receive adequate information about the benefits and risks of the proposed treatment so they may provide their informed consent. Telemedicine may present additional challenges in this area. Consequently, it may be prudent to also request that the patient read and accept standard terms and conditions for the telemedicine service, and such consent and any related discussions with the patent should be noted in the patient's medical record.

Some Colleges impose or recommend additional consent requirements for telemedicine. For example, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia suggests that patient consent for telemedicine services should include “where the physician is located and licensed to practice medicine [and] how the privacy of the patient’s personal health information will be managed.”6

CMPA assistance

For the purposes of determining whether the CMPA will assist members with an issue related to telemedicine, the CMPA deems the location where care is provided to be the patient's location at the time of the telemedicine encounter. If the patient is located in Canada, CMPA members will generally be eligible for assistance in the event of medico-legal difficulties. However, members will generally not be eligible for CMPA assistance with medico-legal problems arising outside of Canada or that result from care provided to patients located outside of Canada. Nevertheless, when a patient is outside of Canada temporarily and contacts the member physician concerning an existing condition, the member would generally be eligible for CMPA assistance provided that the legal action is initiated in Canada.

 
 

References

  1. Rashid L. Bashshur, et al. “The Empirical Foundations of Telemedicine Interventions for Chronic Disease Management”, Telemedicine and e-Health. Sept. 2014, Vol. 20, No. 9. P.769-800 Retrieved Jan. 28 2015 from: http://online.liebertpub.com/doi/pdfplus/10.1089/tmj.2014.9981
  2. Lynda Sea ,“Q&A with Eric Topol: How the digital revolution will change medicine,” Utoday, University of Calgary, Sept. 20, 2013.  Retrieved Jan. 29, 2015 from: http://www.ucalgary.ca/utoday/issue/2013-09-20/qa-eric-topol-how-digital-revolution-will-change-medicine
  3. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, Professional Standards and Guidelines, “Marijuana for Medical Purposes”, April 2014. Retrieved Jan. 29, 2015 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Marijuana-for-Medical-Purposes.pdf
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta, “Telemedicine or Teleradiology.” Retrieved Aug. 2013 from: http://www.cpsa.ab.ca/services/Registration_Department/Alberta_medical_licence/Telemedicine.aspx.
  5. Canadian Medical Association, “Code of Ethics,” 2004. Retrieved Feb. 2, 2015 from: https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx#
  6. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia, Guideline for the Provisions of Telemedicine Services, Dec. 2013. Retrieved March 2015 from: http://www.cpsns.ns.ca/DesktopModules/Bring2mind/DMX/Download.aspx?PortalId=0&TabId=129&EntryId=46

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La télémédecine – Possibilités, défis et obligations

Publié initialement en septembre 2013 / révisé en mars 2015
P1303-5-F

La révolution numérique modifie en profondeur l’interaction des médecins avec leurs patients, ainsi que la prestation des soins de santé. La télémédecine ne se borne plus à l’utilisation du téléphone, des courriels, des vidéoconférences et des portails web, mais comporte aussi celle d’une multitude d’applications mobiles pour tablettes et téléphones intelligents.

Non seulement la télémédecine a des retombées positives pour les patients, mais certains pouvoirs publics y voient un moyen d’améliorer l’accès et de contenir les coûts des soins de santé. Or, les défis réglementaires ou relatifs au permis d’exercice continuent d’être perçus comme des obstacles à l’atteinte de son plein potentiel. Par ailleurs, les distinctions d’une province ou d’un territoire à l’autre peuvent complexifier les problèmes médico-légaux pour les médecins.

Avantages et limites

Il a été démontré que la télémédecine contribuait à faire participer davantage les patients à leurs soins et permettait une meilleure prise en charge des maladies chroniques. Ceci entraîne une réduction du nombre et de la durée des hospitalisations, du nombre de consultation à l’urgence, ainsi que de la gravité des maladies et du nombre de décès1.

Des services de télémédecine sont désormais largement offerts dans la plupart des provinces et territoires au Canada. À titre d’exemple, le Centre des télésoins à domicile en Ontario est un programme de suivi et de conseils en matière de santé destiné aux patients atteints d’insuffisance cardiaque congestive ou de maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC). Le fait d’accepter qu’un patient envoie son tracé d’électrocardiogramme au moyen d’un téléphone intelligent2 ou qu’un téléphone intelligent soit utilisé pour capturer et transmettre les relevés de la tension artérielle et de la fonction pulmonaire, sont autant d’exemples de télémédecine.

L’exercice de la télémédecine ne modifie en rien les obligations légales, professionnelles et déontologiques du médecin. Les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) recommandent généralement aux médecins d’user de leur jugement professionnel pour déterminer, dans chaque situation, si la télémédecine est pertinente et si son utilisation leur permettra de satisfaire les normes de pratique. Ainsi, dans la plupart des cas, il convient d’éviter de prescrire des opioïdes ou de la marihuana à des fins médicales dans le cadre d’une consultation de télémédecine qui est susceptible de limiter la capacité du médecin à identifier les conduites toxicophiles. Le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique conseille aux médecins de la province « d’éviter de remplir par le biais d’un service de télémédecine, un document médical autorisant l’utilisation de marihuana à des fins médicales »3. [Traduction]

Obtention du permis et normes

En l'absence d'un cadre national de télémédecine, les exigences relatives aux permis d'exercice varient selon la province et le territoire. Les médecins devraient donc connaître les exigences de chaque province et territoire où dans lequel ils exercent et où leurs patients se trouvent. Dans l’hypothèse d’une poursuite, la question de l’endroit de la consultation de télémédecine peut également s’avérer pertinente.

Les Collèges en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan, en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont publié des règlements ou des politiques en matière de télémédecine. D'autres Collèges peuvent imposer des exigences qui n'ont pas été officialisées par un règlement administratif ou une politique. De même, des exigences imposées par la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux s’appliquent aux médecins exerçant la télémédecine au Québec.

Pour offrir des services de télémédecine, certains médecins pourraient avoir l’obligation de détenir un permis d’exercice dans la province ou le territoire où se trouve le patient, en plus de celui requis là où ils exercent. Dans certains cas, les médecins peuvent devoir détenir un permis spécial ou se voir imposer des conditions à la prestation de tels services, voire les deux.

À titre d’exemple, il se peut qu’un médecin qui ne se trouve pas en Alberta, mais qui prodigue des services de télémédecine à des patients dans cette province, doive détenir un permis d’exercice et se conformer aux normes et aux politiques des provinces ou des territoires concernés, selon le genre et la fréquence des services de télémédecine qu’il prodigue. Selon le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Alberta, l’endroit où se trouve le patient est le facteur qui détermine où la consultation de télémédecine a lieu. C’est pourquoi le Collège de l’Alberta exige que les médecins d’autres provinces aient l’autorisation d’exercer en Alberta à moins que « la consultation ne soit demandée pour une évaluation ou un traitement d’urgence ou que le médecin n’effectue des consultations de télémédecine en Alberta moins de six fois par année »4. [Traduction]

De même, l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario s’attend à ce que les médecins qui détiennent un permis d’exercice ailleurs au Canada se conforment à ses attentes lorsqu’ils fournissent des services de télémédecine à des patients en Ontario. Par ailleurs, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a indiqué qu’il souhaitait créer des normes et certifier les médecins qui exercent au sein du Réseau Télémédecine Ontario (OTN) afin de s’assurer que les consultations médicales en ligne soient à la fois pratiques et sécuritaires.

La protection des renseignements personnels et la sécurité de l'information

Le Code de déontologie de l’Association médicale canadienne exige que les médecins « protègent les renseignements personnels sur la santé de [leurs] patients »5. De plus, de façon générale, la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels dans chaque province et territoire stipule que les renseignements personnels ne peuvent être recueillis, utilisés, ou divulgués sans le consentement de la personne concernée ou à moins que l’activité ne soit permise par la loi. Il est suggéré aux médecins qui prodiguent des services de télémédecine d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre, de prendre les mesures appropriées pour se conformer à la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels applicable dans chaque province et territoire.

Il serait prudent pour le médecin de confirmer, dans la mesure du possible, que le patient et lui-même se trouvent dans des lieux appropriés pour la consultation, et suffisamment privés pour permettre au patient de communiquer des renseignements personnels. Les médecins doivent veiller à ce que des protocoles de sécurité raisonnables et conformes à la loi soient en place pour protéger adéquatement les renseignements sur les patients qui sont transmis par voie électronique.

Consentement du patient

Comme pour tous les soins médicaux non urgents, les patients doivent recevoir de l’information adéquate sur les avantages et les risques du traitement proposé afin de pouvoir fournir un consentement éclairé. La télémédecine peut poser des défis supplémentaires à cet égard. Par conséquent, il peut s’avérer prudent de demander au patient de lire et d’accepter les conditions générales du service de télémédecine et de consigner son consentement et toute discussion y ayant trait dans le dossier médical du patient.

L’exercice de la télémédecine peut faire l’objet de recommandations ou d’exigences supplémentaires de la part de certains Collèges. Ainsi, le Collège des médecins et des chirurgiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse suggère que le consentement des patients aux services de télémédecine stipule « l’endroit où se trouve le médecin et pour lequel il détient un permis d’exercice [et] la manière dont la confidentialité des renseignements personnels du patient sera gérée »6. [Traduction]

Assistance de l’ACPM

Afin de déterminer si une assistance sera apportée à un membre confronté à un problème lié à un service de télémédecine, l’ACPM considère que le lieu où les soins médicaux sont administrés sera réputé être celui où le patient se trouvait au moment de la consultation de télémédecine. Si le patient se trouve au Canada, les membres de l’ACPM seront généralement admissibles à une assistance dans l’éventualité de problèmes médico-légaux. Toutefois, les membres ne seront généralement pas admissibles à une assistance de l’ACPM en cas de problèmes médico-légaux survenant à l’extérieur du Canada ou résultant de soins administrés à des patients situés à l’extérieur du Canada. Néanmoins, lorsqu’un patient se trouve temporairement à l’extérieur du Canada et qu’il communique avec un médecin membre au sujet d’un problème existant, le membre serait généralement admissible à une assistance de l’ACPM à condition que l’action en justice soit intentée au Canada.




Références

  1. Rashid L. Bashshur, et coll. « The Empirical Foundations of Telemedicine Interventions for Chronic Disease Management », Telemedicine and e-Health (septembre 2014), vol. 20, no 9, 769-800. Consulté le 12 mars 2015. http://online.liebertpub.com/doi/pdfplus/10.1089/tmj.2014.9981
  2. Lynda Sea, « Q&A with Eric Topol: How the digital revolution will change medicine », Utoday, Université de Calgary (20 septembre 2013). Consulté le 12 mars 2015. http://www.ucalgary.ca/utoday/issue/2013-09-20/qa-eric-topol-how-digital-revolution-will-change-medicine
  3. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie Britannique. « Marijuana for Medical Purposes », dans Professional Standards and Guidelines (avril 2014). Consulté le 12 mars 2015. https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Marijuana-for-Medical-Purposes.pdf
  4. Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Alberta, « Telemedicine or Teleradiology ». Consulté le 12 mars 2015. http://www.cpsa.ab.ca/services/Registration_Department/Alberta_medical_licence/Telemedicine.aspx.
  5. Association médicale canadienne, Code de déontologie de l’AMC (2004). Consulté le 12 mars 2015. https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/code-of-ethics.aspx#
  6. Collège des médecins et des chirurgiens de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Guideline for the Provisions of Telemedicine Services (décembre 2013). Consulté le 12 mars 2015. http://www.cpsns.ns.ca/DesktopModules/Bring2mind/DMX/Download.aspx?PortalId=0&TabId=129&EntryId=46

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.