Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Using electronic communications, protecting privacy

Originally published October 2013; Revised January 2016
P1304-3-E

Technology is changing communication between doctors and patients, and between physicians and other health care providers. While electronic communication can improve patient care and enhance patients’ engagement in their care, it can also present unique challenges to patient privacy and confidentiality.

To help members address some of the medical-legal risks with using electronic communications (eCommunications) in their practice, the CMPA has developed an electronic communications consent template [PDF, DOC]. This template, or form, is intended for physicians to use as the basis for an informed discussion with patients about the use of eCommunication tools. It should be modified by physicians to suit the particular circumstances of their practice, and the applicable medical regulatory authority (College) requirements and privacy legislation in their jurisdiction.

The CMPA’s experience suggests that, at present, physicians are most interested in using email and instant messaging (texting), videoconferencing (including Skype and FaceTime), patient portals, and various social media applications. All these electronic communication tools can be accessed from a number of devices, including smartphones and tablets.

Physicians are aware of their general obligations to protect patient information. If they are considering using electronic communication tools with patients, they must also be aware of the risks to patient privacy that are inherent in the use of the devices and applications. The risks related to each are not necessarily the same. In addition, while patients need to be informed of the benefits of electronic communications, they must also be informed of the potential risks. Doctors should have an informed consent discussion with patients, and if the tools will be used, patients’ consent should be recorded in their records.

The CMPA’s electronic communications consent template [PDF, DOC] is offered primarily as a basis for an informed consent discussion, but may also help in developing an appropriate form for documenting consent. It is worth repeating that members should be aware that using the eCommunications consent form is not a substitute for a proper and informed discussion with patients about the risks associated with the use of the technology. It also does not relieve physicians of their obligation to fulfill all applicable jurisdictional privacy obligations.

Communication via email and messaging

Despite their pervasiveness and convenience, email and texting are often the least secure communication tools. Imagine, for a moment, using standard email software to send personal medical information to a patient — and getting the email address wrong. Worse — the email does not bounce back, but rather appears in the mailbox of an unintended recipient. The risks of interception or errors in sending email, texts, or instant messages can be significant. For these reasons, some privacy commissioners have indicated that using unencrypted email and texting with personal health information should be avoided, and in the case of Alberta appropriate security is mandated by the Health Information Act.

Despite any disclaimer physicians may include in the message, they remain responsible for protecting patient health information and preventing unauthorized access. Privacy legislation generally requires that custodians adopt safeguards to protect the personal health information under their control. Privacy regulators generally agree that the use of encryption software to protect electronic messages is a reasonable safeguard under the circumstances. There are a number of enterprise solutions that can provide encryption, including many patient portals. The protection options that are available outside the institutional environment can be complex and expensive, however more encryption options and applications are becoming available for use on devices such as smartphones.

Physicians considering using unsecured or unencrypted email or messaging should do so only for information that does not include identifiable personal health information. Physicians wanting to make limited use of unencrypted email or text messaging should review the CMPA’s article, "Using email communication with your patients: legal risks", which outlines the advice and information members should consider giving patients in those circumstances, including having a discussion about the risks of using email or messaging.

Patient portals — Active pathways for two-way communication

Patient portals have been used in a limited way in community health practice since the 1990s.1 In recent years they have evolved into popular, secure interactive tools that can greatly enhance communication between physicians and patients, and help patients better manage their health.

There are multiple communication functions of web-based portals. For example, portals can house patient profiles and medical records, contain patient education documents, generate alerts and reminders for prescriptions and medication management, make the booking of appointments more efficient, and enable quick review of lab reports and follow-up messages to patients.

A growing number of physicians are taking advantage of this technology, particularly in response to patients’ demand for accessibility to everyday technologies that increase convenience and access to information. However, physicians using patient portals should clearly understand the benefits and limits of the technology and what steps should be taken to protect personal health information. While some of the functions of portals may appear innocuous, even downloading patient education materials could communicate confidential information about an individual's health status.

Patient portals need to be secure and accessible only by those who are authorized. The chosen platform must have adequate security systems to protect patient information and private online conversations, and to meet the requirements of applicable privacy legislation. Because the technical and security issues with portals can be complex, physicians and institutions should seek appropriate advice.

Patients also need to be informed in advance about how a portal will be used for online communication. They need to be aware that portals should never be used for urgent messages or time-sensitive health issues. Physicians should explain what information is available and what will be shared through the portal. As well, they should also explain that not all information should be shared online and that face-to-face consultations may be required to avoid the possibility that patients may misinterpret results or to ensure appropriate follow-up care.

This discussion with the patient should be noted in the patient record. Consent forms [PDF, DOC] should set out the terms of use for the portal and the patient's consent to its use for those specific purposes. As well, a terms of use agreement [PDF] should be submitted online before the patient is granted a password and access to the portal. These agreements outline the terms and conditions under which patients can use the portal.

Social media

Physicians need to keep privacy and confidentiality in mind when using social media such as Facebook, YouTube, LinkedIn, or Twitter. These networks can be valuable for sharing information for health promotion and for educational purposes. However, physicians should not communicate identifiable patient health information using social media. While some of these networks appear to mimic private one-on-one conversations through a chat function or direct messaging, content communicated via social media is unprotected and publicly accessible. Despite rigorous use of privacy settings, information shared on social media sites should be considered public forever.

Physicians should review guidelines provided by their College on the use of social media. Some Colleges provide detailed guidelines for sharing information on blogs, discussion forums, and maintaining professionalism.

Remember that social media platforms are public channels and can be considered equivalent to the front page of any newspaper or home page of any website.

Videoconferencing

Videoconferencing is increasingly being used to communicate with and deliver medical services to patients. Platforms such as Skype and FaceTime are frequently employed as telehealth tools, especially to provide clinical care directly to patients who live in remote communities or who have limited access to services outside their home.

The CMPA article, "Videoconferencing consultation: When is it the right choice?", emphasizes the importance of assessing whether videoconferencing is appropriate in the patient’s particular circumstances. Physicians should be aware of the limitations of the technology and determine whether it is appropriate to use in each specific circumstance. If the standard of care cannot be met using videoconferencing or patient privacy cannot be adequately protected, then an in-person consultation should be considered. Physicians should also be aware and follow their College’s position on the use of videoconferencing.

Reducing risk in eCommunications

Physicians who communicate personal health information electronically need to keep in mind that they are governed by the same legal and professional standards that would apply in other professional settings. For example, physicians should carefully consider how they will document electronic communications in the patient’s medical record.

Further, physicians using electronic communication with patients need to be aware of and follow the privacy legislation and College requirements that apply to their practice and jurisdiction.

Physicians should establish policies and procedures for using electronic communications in their practice. Employees should be informed of the risks with each form of electronic communication and trained to follow the policies and procedures.

Finally, physicians should consider what security measures and procedures they will adopt to reduce the risk of privacy breaches. This includes using appropriate protection and privacy settings. A patient's informed consent to eCommunications should be obtained and documented, either through a notation in the patient's medical record or by a signed consent form or terms of use agreement . Even if a consent form [PDF, DOC] or terms of use agreement [PDF] is signed, physicians should still document in the patient’s record the discussion with the patient about the risks and limitations of any electronic communication tool(s) that will be used. Physicians need to keep abreast of advances and be informed about privacy and security issues related to their jurisdiction and practice environment.

Additional resources

 
 

Reference

  1. Coach: Canada's Health Informatics Association. Privacy & Security for Patient Portals: 2012 Guidelines for the Protection of Health Information, Special Edition [Internet].Toronto: Coach; 2012 [cited 2016 Jan 15]. 111 p. Available from: http://www.ehealthontario.on.ca/images/uploads/pages/documents/Privacy-Security-for-Patient-Portals.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les communications électroniques et les renseignements personnels

Publié à l'origine en octobre 2013 / Révisé en janvier 2016
P1304-3-F

La technologie transforme la communication entre le médecin et le patient, mais aussi entre les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé. Si les communications électroniques peuvent améliorer les soins et renforcer la participation des patients, elles peuvent également représenter des défis particuliers en termes de confidentialité et de protection des renseignements personnels.

L’ACPM a élaboré un formulaire type de Consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique [PDF, DOC] afin d’aider les membres à aborder les risques médico-légaux associés à ces modes de communication. Conçu à l’intention des médecins, ce formulaire est destiné à servir de base pour une discussion visant à obtenir le consentement du patient à l’utilisation de moyens de communication électronique. Les médecins doivent l’adapter à leur pratique et aux exigences de l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) ainsi qu’à la législation sur la protection des renseignements personnels de leur province ou territoire.

L’expérience de l’ACPM laisse penser que, pour le moment, les médecins s’intéressent plus particulièrement à l’utilisation de courriels et de messages instantanés (textos), de systèmes de vidéoconférence (y compris SkypeMC, FaceTimeMD), de sites avec portail pour les patients et de divers médias sociaux. Tous ces moyens de communication électronique sont accessibles par de nombreux dispositifs comme les téléphones intelligents et les tablettes.

Les médecins connaissent leurs obligations d’ordre général à l’égard de la protection des renseignements sur les patients. Les médecins qui envisagent d’utiliser ces moyens de communication doivent également prendre conscience que l’utilisation de dispositifs et d’applications électroniques comporte des risques inhérents pour la sécurité des renseignements personnels de leurs patients. Les risques peuvent différer selon le moyen de communication électronique. Par ailleurs, les patients doivent non seulement être informés des avantages, mais aussi des risques potentiels associés aux communications électroniques. Les médecins doivent obtenir le consentement éclairé des patients pour utiliser ces moyens de communication; auquel cas, ce consentement devra être consigné à leur dossier médical.

Le formulaire type de l’ACPM sur le Consentement à l’utilisation d’un moyen de communication électronique [PDF, DOC] est principalement destiné à servir de base pour une discussion visant à obtenir un consentement éclairé. Il peut également servir à créer un formulaire approprié pour documenter le consentement. Il n’est pas inutile de rappeler que l’utilisation de ce formulaire ne remplace en aucun cas une discussion adéquate et éclairée sur les risques liés à l’utilisation de cette technologie. Cela n’exempte pas non plus les médecins à l’égard de leur obligation de se conformer à toutes les exigences légales en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

Communication par courriel et texto

Omniprésents et pratiques, les courriels et textos sont bien souvent, cependant, les outils de communication les moins sécuritaires. Imaginez un instant que vous acheminez des renseignements médicaux personnels à un patient à l’aide d’un logiciel de courriel standard... et que vous vous trompez d’adresse. Pire encore : plutôt que de vous être automatiquement renvoyé, le courriel est transmis à un autre destinataire. Les risques d’interceptions ou d’erreurs d’envoi de courriels, de textos ou de messages instantanés peuvent être importants. C’est pourquoi certains commissaires à la protection de la vie privée ont indiqué qu’il faut éviter d’utiliser des courriels et des textos non chiffrés pour communiquer des renseignements personnels sur la santé. En Alberta, la loi sur les renseignements médicaux (Health Information Act) impose l’utilisation de mesures de sécurité appropriées.

Quelle que soit la clause de non-responsabilité que les médecins incluent dans leur message, ils demeurent responsables de protéger les renseignements médicaux de leurs patients et d’empêcher tout accès non autorisé à ces renseignements. De façon générale, la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels exige que les dépositaires adoptent des mesures de sécurité pour protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé dont ils ont la responsabilité. Les organismes de réglementation en matière de protection des renseignements personnels s’entendent pour dire que l’utilisateur d’un logiciel de chiffrement pour protéger les messages électroniques constitue une mesure de sécurité raisonnable dans les circonstances. De nombreuses solutions d'entreprise peuvent offrir le chiffrement, notamment pour les portails patients. Les choix en matière de protection qui sont offerts à l’extérieur du milieu hospitalier peuvent être complexes et dispendieux; il existe toutefois une gamme croissante d'applications de chiffrement destinées aux appareils personnels tels les téléphones intelligents.

Les médecins qui envisagent d'utiliser des courriels ou des textos non sécurisés ou non chiffrés doivent le faire uniquement pour de l'information qui n'inclut pas de renseignements personnels sur la santé permettant d’identifier un patient. Les médecins qui veulent faire un usage limité des courriels ou des textos non chiffrés devraient revoir l’article de l’ACPM, « Utilisation du courriel dans les communications avec les patients : les risques juridiques » qui décrit les conseils et les informations que les membres devraient donner aux patients dans de telles circonstances, y compris la tenue d’une discussion sur les risques de la communication par courriel ou textos.

Portails patients – des voies actives pour la communication bidirectionnelle

Les portails patients sont utilisés de façon limitée en santé communautaire depuis les années 901. Ils sont devenus, ces dernières années, des voies interactives pouvant améliorer sensiblement la communication entre les médecins et les patients et, ce faisant, aider les patients à mieux gérer leur santé.

Les portails renferment de multiples fonctions de communication. Ils peuvent, par exemple, héberger les profils et les dossiers médicaux des patients, contenir des documents éducatifs à leur intention, générer des alertes et des rappels liés aux ordonnances et à la gestion des médicaments, favoriser l'efficacité de la prise de rendez-vous et permettre la consultation rapide de rapports de laboratoire et de messages de suivi destinés aux patients.

De plus en plus de médecins mettent à profit cette technologie, surtout pour répondre aux besoins de patients qui veulent utiliser des moyens de communication courants pour des raisons de commodité et de facilité d’accès à l’information. Les médecins qui utilisent des portails patients doivent toutefois comprendre clairement les avantages et les limites de ce moyen de communication et les mesures à prendre pour protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé. Si certaines des fonctions des portails semblent inoffensives, le simple fait de télécharger du matériel éducatif à l'intention d'un patient pourrait communiquer de l'information sur son état de santé qui devrait demeurer confidentielle.

Les portails patients doivent être sécurisés et accessibles uniquement aux personnes autorisées. La plateforme retenue doit être dotée de systèmes de sécurité adéquats pour protéger les renseignements sur les patients et les conversations en ligne privées, et se conformer aux exigences des lois applicables en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Puisque l'utilisation de portails patients peut soulever des questions techniques et de sécurité complexes, les médecins et les établissements doivent obtenir des conseils appropriés.

Les patients doivent également être informés à l’avance de la façon dont un portail sera utilisé pour communiquer en ligne. Il faut aussi les informer de ne jamais utiliser un portail lorsqu'ils ont un problème de santé urgent ou qui exige une réponse rapide. Le médecin doit expliquer quels renseignements seront accessibles et partagés sur le portail. En outre, le médecin doit expliquer que certains renseignements ne peuvent être communiqués en ligne, et qu'une consultation en personne peut s'avérer nécessaire pour éviter qu'un patient n'interprète mal les résultats ou pour discuter de la nécessité de soins de suivi.

Toute discussion avec le patient doit être consignée dans le dossier médical du patient. Un formulaire de consentement [PDF, DOC] devrait être utilisé pour établir les modalités d’utilisation du portail et consigner le consentement du patient à son utilisation dans des buts précis. De plus, une entente stipulant les conditions d’utilisation [PDF] devrait être soumise en ligne avant que le patient ne puisse avoir un mot de passe lui donnant accès au portail. Une telle entente permet de préciser les attentes que les patients peuvent entretenir à l’égard du portail.

Médias sociaux

Lorsqu'ils utilisent les médias sociaux comme FacebookMD, YouTubeMD, LinkedInMD ou TwitterMD, les médecins doivent considérer la protection des renseignements personnels et la confidentialité. Ces réseaux peuvent être très utiles pour communiquer de l'information à des fins éducatives et de promotion de la santé. Les médecins ne doivent toutefois pas communiquer de renseignements personnels précis sur la santé des patients dans les médias sociaux. Bien que certains de ces réseaux semblent imiter les conversations privées en tête-à-tête grâce à une fonction de clavardage ou aux messages en temps réel, le contenu communiqué par l'entremise des médias sociaux n'est pas protégé et est accessible au public. Même lorsque des paramètres de confidentialité sont utilisés rigoureusement, les renseignements partagés sur les sites sociaux doivent être considérés publics… maintenant et pour toujours.

Les médecins doivent prendre connaissance de toute ligne directrice émise par leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) relative à l'utilisation des médias sociaux. Certains Collèges ont publié des lignes directrices détaillées sur le partage d'information dans les blogues et les forums de discussion, et le maintien du professionnalisme.

Il ne faut pas oublier que les plateformes de médias sociaux sont des espaces publics qui peuvent être considérés comme équivalents à la une de n'importe quel quotidien ou à la page d’accueil de tout site web.

Communication par vidéoconférence

La vidéoconférence est de plus en plus utilisée pour communiquer avec les patients et pour leur prodiguer des services médicaux. Des plateformes telles que SkypeMC et FaceTimeMD sont fréquemment utilisées comme outils de télésanté, surtout pour prodiguer directement des soins cliniques à des patients situés dans des communautés éloignées ou ayant un accès limité aux services à l’extérieur de leur domicile.

L’article de l’ACPM, La consultation par vidéoconférence : Quand est-ce le bon choix? souligne l’importance de déterminer si ce moyen de communication est approprié dans les circonstances particulières d’un patient. Les médecins doivent connaître les limites de la technologie et décider s’il est avisé de s’en servir dans chaque situation précise. Lorsque le recours à la vidéoconférence ne permet pas de respecter la norme de pratique ou de protéger adéquatement les renseignements personnels du patient, le médecin doit envisager de tenir une consultation en personne. Les médecins doivent aussi bien connaître la position de leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) au sujet de l’usage de la vidéoconférence dans les consultations.

Réduire les risques liés aux communications électroniques

Les médecins qui communiquent des renseignements personnels sur la santé par voie électronique doivent se rappeler qu'ils sont assujettis aux mêmes normes juridiques et professionnelles s'appliquant à tout environnement professionnel. Les médecins devraient, par exemple, déterminer avec soin la façon dont ils documenteront les communications électroniques dans le dossier médical du patient.

Par ailleurs, les médecins qui communiquent électroniquement avec leurs patients doivent connaître et respecter la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels, ainsi que toute exigence du Collège, qui s'applique à leur pratique et dans leur province ou territoire.

Les médecins devraient établir des politiques et des procédures sur la manière de traiter les communications par courrier électronique dans leur pratique. Les employés devraient être informés des risques de chaque mode de communication électronique et de l’importance de suivre les politiques et les procédures.

Pour terminer, les médecins devraient déterminer les mesures et les processus de sécurité à adopter pour réduire les risques d’atteinte à la confidentialité. Ces mesures comprennent des réglages appropriés en ce qui a trait à la confidentialité et la protection de la vie privée. Le médecin devrait obtenir le consentement éclairé du patient à la communication électronique, et documenter ce consentement dans le dossier médical du patient au moyen d’une note, d’un formulaire de consentement [PDF, DOC] signé ou d’une entente stipulant les conditions d’utilisation [PDF] de ce mode de communication. Même lorsque le patient signe un formulaire de consentement ou une entente stipulant les conditions d’utilisation, le médecin devrait documenter dans le dossier du patient la discussion tenue avec ce dernier sur les risques et les limites de tout outil de communication électronique qui sera utilisé. Les médecins doivent se tenir au courant des nouveautés et se renseigner au sujet des questions de sécurité et de protection des renseignements personnels propres à leur milieu de pratique et à leur province ou territoire.

Autres ressources

 


 

Référence

  1. Coach : Association canadienne d’informatique de la santé. Privacy & Security for Patient Portals: 2012 Guidelines for the Protection of Health Information, Édition spéciale [Internet].Toronto: Coach; 2012 [cité le 15 janvier 2016]. 111 p. http://www.ehealthontario.on.ca/images/uploads/pages/documents/Privacy-Security-for-Patient-Portals.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.