Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Communicating with pharmacists: Optimizing drug therapy

Originally published February 2014 / Revised June 2016
W14-002-E

Effective communication with a pharmacist can often go a long way to prevent prescribing missteps and, at the same time, optimize patients' drug therapy. There is no one-size-fits-all formula for physicians to work and communicate effectively with pharmacists, as circumstances will dictate the most appropriate approach.

The number of prescriptions filled by Canadian pharmacies has risen 5% annually since 2007. In 2010, about 483 million prescriptions were dispensed.1

The extent, frequency, and methods of working and communicating will vary depending on the characteristics of both the doctor's practice and the pharmacies. Any number of factors can come into play, such as location or the patient population being served. In a rural setting with only 1 or 2 pharmacies in the entire community, communication will likely differ from an urban centre. If a physician and pharmacist develop specific knowledge on a condition, such as diabetes, the two professionals may communicate more frequently and extensively as a result.

Pharmacists' roles and responsibilities

Physicians will be aware that pharmacists are independent health professionals governed by a provincial or territorial regulatory authority (College). As self-regulated professionals, pharmacists must meet the standards of care of their profession. Those standards, for instance, generally state that pharmacists are responsible for assessing each prescription before they can dispense a medication. As a result, there may be times when pharmacists require additional information from physicians to fulfill their professional obligations. For example, if pharmacists are having difficulty accurately reading a prescription or have concerns about a drug dosage, they must contact the physician to verify the information before the medication is dispensed.

Communicating with pharmacists and medical assistance in dying

Medical assistance in dying (MAID) has been legal in Québec since December 10, 2015, and federal legislation now authorizes MAID across Canada in accordance with eligibility criteria and safeguards. Physicians participating in MAID may be required to work with pharmacists to obtain the drugs to be administered to their patients as part of this process. In doing so, physicians are required to clearly communicate to the pharmacist when a prescription is intended for MAID.

Physicians should also be aware of, and comply with, any legislation or regulatory guidelines related to the dispensing and disposition of drugs to be used for MAID.

In all provinces and territories, pharmacists' work and responsibilities are expanding. Physicians should consider how these new responsibilities affect how the two professions work and communicate. Depending on the jurisdiction, pharmacists' additional authority can include prescribing for minor ailments; renewing medications; changing dosages, formulations, and regimens; making therapeutic substitutions; providing emergency prescriptions; administering injections; etc. In some provinces and territories, pharmacists have the authority to carry out activities independently, while others require physician notification, consultation, or approval. Physicians will want to know when pharmacists can act independently, and when they require physician involvement. Doctors wanting more information on the scopes of practice of pharmacists in their jurisdiction should contact their College or medical association.

From a medico-legal perspective, as both physicians and pharmacists are independent providers, each owes a separate duty to the patient for care that falls within their individual scopes of practice. This means physicians will generally not be held liable for the actions of a pharmacist. For example, if a physician writes a clear and appropriate prescription for a patient, but the pharmacist dispenses the prescription incorrectly and the patient is harmed, the courts and Colleges would generally hold the pharmacist responsible.

Of course, physicians may be held liable if their actions result in patients being harmed. For example, in some jurisdictions where pharmacists have the authority to independently change prescriptions, pharmacists are generally also required to notify the prescribing doctor. The physician is then responsible for reviewing the alteration. In this situation, the physician could be held liable if he or she is notified of a change which should give rise to concern, but fails to take any action to protect the patient. 

Patients benefit from good communication practices

Respectful, open, cooperative, and timely communication can optimize patient care. For example, when pharmacists call to discuss a patient's prescription, physicians will want to respond by listening to the concerns and cooperating to resolve the issue. The result is that patients will receive appropriate medication and information. If pharmacists are calling frequently to verify a prescription, there may be an underlying problem that requires attention. A physician may wish to invest additional time when writing prescriptions to ensure they are clear and have adequate information.

Numerous studies have confirmed that enhanced communication and collaborative working relationships between physicians and pharmacists foster better patient care. In some cases, better communication has resulted in patients' increased adherence to drug therapy.2  In others, it has been shown to provide individuals suffering from chronic conditions with greater support so they can improve how they manage their drug therapy.

While physicians cannot reasonably be expected to establish a close collaborative relationship with all community pharmacists, this may be achieved in some circumstances.  A physician with a number of HIV patients may work closely with a pharmacist with expertise for this condition. The two professionals may collaborate closely to provide information to patients. The pharmacist is well positioned to reinforce what the physician has already advised, and may provide counselling on how to take the medication, when to take it, what interactions to watch for, and any dietary concerns.

Exchanging routine and critical information

Physicians should consider establishing processes and procedures to minimize the risk of miscommunication with pharmacists. To ensure clarity and legibility, physicians could consider generating computer printed prescriptions or printing in block letters when using pen and paper. Technology, such as e-prescribing, can be effective in some settings.

Using appropriate wording on a prescription, such as once a day or every day instead of qd, and giving pharmacists adequate information, such as why a patient's medication is being changed, may eliminate the need for pharmacists to contact a physician later.

Putting the physician's College number on all controlled prescriptions gives pharmacists the information they need to ensure these medications are being dispensed safely.

Determining how communication from pharmacists will be processed and having office staff follow established procedures allows critical and routine requests for information to be responded to appropriately and efficiently. Having a timely and efficient system for reviewing pharmacists' requests for medication refills, for example, ensures appropriate and safe dispensing.

Physicians should be aware, however, that any communication channel, old or new, can break down. For instance, when faxing a prescription to a pharmacy, information can inadvertently be cut off. Documenting communications with pharmacists provides a record of the information that was exchanged, facilitates any future investigations and treatments, and is valuable if there are questions about the care.

Taking the next step

Through effective communications and working relationships with pharmacists, physicians have the opportunity to improve their patients' medication treatment and protect them from adverse events. After determining the communication approaches that will best suit their practice, physicians should become aware of what activities are within pharmacists' scopes of practice, make a conscious effort to consistently use good communication practices, and establish processes and procedure for exchanging routine and critical information.


  1. "Pharmaceutical sales increased during recession," Canadian Medical Association Journal (2010), Vol. 182, no. 8, p. E341
  2. Laubscher, T., Evans, C., Blackburn, D., Taylor, J., Mckay, S., "Collaboration between family physicians and community pharmacists to enhance adherence to chronic medications," Canadian Family Physician (2009), Vol. 55, December, p. 69-75

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La communication avec les pharmaciens : Optimiser la thérapie médicamenteuse

Publié initialement en février 2014 / révisé en juin 2016
W14-002-F

Une communication efficace avec un pharmacien s'avère souvent des plus utiles pour éviter les erreurs de prescription, en plus d'optimiser la thérapie médicamenteuse des patients. Il n'existe toutefois pas de solution toute faite en matière de communication et de collaboration efficaces entre médecins et pharmaciens, car ce sont les circonstances qui imposent l'approche la plus appropriée.

Le nombre d'ordonnances exécutées par les pharmacies au Canada a augmenté de 5 % par an depuis 2007, s'élevant à environ 483 millions en 2010.1

Le nombre et la fréquence des communications, ainsi que les méthodes de collaboration, diffèrent selon les caractéristiques des pharmacies et de la pratique du médecin. Un ensemble de facteurs, tels que la localité ou la population de patients desservie, peut avoir un impact. La communication dans un milieu rural ne comportant qu'une ou deux pharmacies diffèrera probablement de celle  dans un centre urbain. Un médecin et un pharmacien qui acquièrent des connaissances spécifiques sur une pathologie (le diabète, par exemple) communiqueront probablement davantage entre eux.

Rôles et responsabilités des pharmaciens

Les médecins savent que les pharmaciens sont des professionnels de la santé autonomes régis par un organisme de réglementation provincial ou territorial (Ordre). En tant que professionnels autoréglementés, les pharmaciens doivent respecter les normes de pratique de leur profession;  ces normes stipulent généralement que les pharmaciens sont responsables d'évaluer chaque ordonnance avant de pouvoir délivrer un médicament. Par conséquent, il arrive que des pharmaciens aient besoin d'informations complémentaires de la part des médecins pour satisfaire à leurs obligations professionnelles. Par exemple, si un pharmacien n'arrive pas à bien lire une ordonnance ou a des questions sur une posologie, il doit communiquer avec le médecin pour vérifier l'information avant de délivrer le médicament.

Communication avec les pharmaciens et aide médicale à mourir

L’aide médicale à mourir est permise au Québec depuis le 10 décembre 2015 et la législation fédérale autorise maintenant l’aide médicale à mourir sous réserve du respect des critères d’admissibilité et des mesures de sauvegarde. Les médecins qui participent à l’aide médicale à mourir pourraient devoir collaborer avec des pharmaciens pour se procurer les médicaments devant être administrés à leurs patients dans ce contexte. Ils doivent alors clairement indiquer aux pharmaciens que l’ordonnance en question vise la prestation d’une aide médicale à mourir.

Les médecins devraient également connaître et respecter les lois et les lignes directrices réglementaires associées à la délivrance et à la récupération des médicaments devant être utilisés aux fins de l’aide médicale à mourir.

Les fonctions et responsabilités des pharmaciens sont de plus en plus élargies dans chaque province et territoire. Les médecins doivent tenir compte de ces nouvelles responsabilités qui influencent la manière dont les deux professions communiquent et collaborent. Selon la province ou le territoire où ils exercent, les pharmaciens peuvent avoir entre autres l'autorité supplémentaire de prescrire des médicaments pour des affections mineures, de renouveler une ordonnance, de modifier la posologie, la forme et le plan de soins pharmaceutiques, d'effectuer une substitution thérapeutique, de fournir un médicament en urgence, ou encore d'administrer des injections. Certaines provinces et certains territoires autorisent les pharmaciens à mener des activités de manière autonome, alors que d'autres les obligent à informer ou consulter le médecin, ou à demander son accord. Les médecins devraient connaître les circonstances qui nécessitent leur participation et celles dans lesquelles les pharmaciens peuvent agir de manière autonome. Les médecins qui souhaitent en savoir davantage sur le champ d'exercice des pharmaciens dans leur province ou territoire doivent communiquer avec leur Collège ou leur association médicale.

Sur le plan médico-légal, étant donné que les médecins et les pharmaciens sont des professionnels de la santé autonomes, chacun d'entre eux a des devoirs distincts vis-à-vis des soins des patients dans le cadre respectif de leur champ d'exercice. Ceci signifie que les médecins ne sont généralement pas tenus responsables des actions d'un pharmacien. Si un médecin rédige une ordonnance claire et appropriée, mais que le patient subit un préjudice à la suite d'une erreur de délivrance du pharmacien, les tribunaux et Collèges tiennent généralement le pharmacien pour responsable.

Bien entendu, les médecins peuvent aussi être tenus responsables si leurs actions entraînent un préjudice pour leurs patients. Ainsi, dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires, les pharmaciens ayant l'autorité de modifier de manière autonome les ordonnances sont généralement obligés d'en informer le médecin prescripteur. Le médecin est alors responsable d'examiner la modification. Dans ces circonstances, les médecins peuvent être tenus responsables s'ils sont informés d'une modification pouvant poser problème, mais qu'ils ne prennent aucune mesure pour protéger le patient.

Les patients tirent profit de bonnes pratiques de communication

Une communication respectueuse, ouverte, coopérative et opportune peut optimiser les soins aux patients. Lorsqu'un pharmacien téléphone pour discuter de l'ordonnance d'un patient, le médecin devrait écouter ses préoccupations et coopérer pour résoudre le problème. Pour les patients, cela signifie qu'ils recevront des renseignements et une thérapie médicamenteuse appropriés. De même, si un pharmacien téléphone fréquemment pour vérifier une ordonnance, cela peut indiquer qu'il existe un problème sous-jacent nécessitant l'attention du médecin. Il est souhaitable pour un médecin d'accorder un peu plus de temps à la rédaction d'une ordonnance pour s'assurer qu'elle est claire et comporte les renseignements adéquats.

De nombreuses études ont confirmé que l'amélioration de la communication et des relations interprofessionnelles entre les médecins et les pharmaciens favorise de meilleurs soins pour les patients. Dans certains cas, une meilleure communication a permis d'améliorer l'observance thérapeutique chez les patients.2 Dans d'autres cas, cela a apporté un soutien plus important aux personnes atteintes d'affections chroniques en leur permettant de mieux gérer leur thérapie médicamenteuse.

Même si l'on ne peut raisonnablement s'attendre à ce que les médecins établissent une collaboration étroite avec l'ensemble des pharmaciens de leur communauté, ceci peut se concrétiser dans certaines circonstances. Un médecin ayant un certain nombre de patients atteints du VIH peut par exemple collaborer étroitement avec un pharmacien ayant une expertise à l'égard de cette pathologie; les deux professionnels fournissent alors des informations aux patients concernés. Le pharmacien est en effet bien placé pour appuyer les recommandations du médecin et fournir des conseils sur la prise du médicament, le moment de la prise, les interactions à surveiller et toute autre question liée au régime alimentaire.

Échanger des renseignements courants et critiques

Les médecins devraient envisager d'établir des processus et des procédures pour minimiser le risque d'une mauvaise communication avec les pharmaciens. Pour s'assurer que leurs ordonnances sont claires et lisibles, les médecins peuvent rédiger des ordonnances électroniques et les imprimer ou les écrire à la main en caractères d'imprimerie. La technologie, notamment l'ordonnance électronique, peut être efficace dans certains contextes.

Un médecin peut éviter qu'un pharmacien communique ultérieurement avec lui s'il utilise une terminologie appropriée lors de la rédaction de l'ordonnance (une fois par jour ou tous les jours au lieu de qd) et s'il donne aux pharmaciens des renseignements adéquats sur la raison d'un changement à la thérapie médicamenteuse d'un patient, par exemple.

L'inscription du numéro de permis du médecin sur l'ensemble des ordonnances de médicaments contrôlées permet aux pharmaciens d'avoir l'information dont ils ont besoin pour s'assurer que les médicaments sont délivrés de manière sécuritaire.

Déterminer comment les demandes provenant des pharmaciens sont traitées et faire en sorte que le personnel suive les procédures établies permet d'apporter une réponse appropriée et efficace aux demandes de renseignements courants ou critiques. Une délivrance appropriée et sécuritaire des médicaments nécessite un système opportun et efficace de traitement des demandes des pharmaciens, notamment pour le renouvellement des ordonnances.

Toutefois, les médecins doivent savoir que tout moyen de communication, qu'il soit récent ou non, peut présenter des lacunes. Ainsi, des informations peuvent être occultées par inadvertance lorsqu'une ordonnance est envoyée par télécopieur à une pharmacie. La documentation des communications avec les pharmaciens permet de consigner au dossier les renseignements échangés, facilite toute investigation et tout traitement ultérieurs et s'avère un outil précieux en cas de questions sur les soins d'un patient.

Passer à l'étape suivante

Les médecins peuvent améliorer la thérapie médicamenteuse de leurs patients et les protéger des effets indésirables s'ils communiquent et collaborent de manière efficace avec les pharmaciens. Après avoir déterminé les approches de communication les mieux adaptées à leur pratique, les médecins doivent prendre connaissance des activités qui relèvent du champ d'exercice des pharmaciens, faire un effort conscient pour utiliser de manière constante de bonnes pratiques de communication et établir des processus et des procédures pour échanger des renseignements courants ou critiques.


  1. Kondro, W.,  « Pharmaceutical sales increased during recession », Journal de l'Association médicale canadienne (2010), vol. 182, no 8, p. E341
  2. Laubscher, T., Evans, C., Blackburn, D., Taylor, J., Mckay, S., « Collaboration between family physicians and community pharmacists to enhance adherence to chronic medications: opinions of Saskatchewan family physicians », Canadian Family Physician (2009), décembre, 55(12),  p.e 69-75.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.