Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Diagnosing back pain: Keeping an open mind helps minimize risk

Originally published December 2014
P1405-3-E

Back pain is often a diagnostic dilemma that goes unresolved. While it is one of the most common reasons Canadians seek care1,2 studies have found that most of the time no physiologic cause for the pain is established.3 This is because many conditions that cause back pain are self-limited and improve without treatment. On rare occasions, however, serious conditions present with back pain as a primary symptom. Failing to properly assess patients with back pain and effectively rule out these diagnoses can lead to serious outcomes.

Ordering imaging for patients with uncomplicated back pain is typically not effective and may cause harm.4 That is why campaigns aimed at reducing unnecessary testing and treatment, such as Choosing Wisely (choosingwiselycanada.org), recommend against imaging for new cases of back pain in most patients who are not experiencing "red flag" symptoms or signs.5 Canadian and international clinical practice guidelines describe evidence-based conservative approaches to managing back pain.

The CMPA analyzed medico-legal cases, closed between 2008 and 2013, that involved a patient with a primary complaint of back pain and documented peer expert criticism of the diagnostic assessment. The most common missed diagnosis was cauda equina syndrome — neurological impairment that results from compression of the nerve roots in the spinal canal below the termination of the spinal cord. This condition, which has many potential causes, including disc herniation, spinal stenosis, and lesions, requires urgent surgery to prevent lasting damage.

Other missed back conditions included vertebral fracture and other spinal pathologies. Non-spinal conditions that presented with back pain included renal disease; malignancies such as lymphoma and bone metastases; cardiovascular events (most often rupturing abdominal aortic aneurysm [AAA]); and infections, such as epidural abscess, discitis, or osteomyelitis.

Frequently, experts attributed the missed diagnosis to the physician's failure to appreciate the significance of the patient's presentation. This included missing red flags, such as fever, weight loss, neurological symptoms, or certain characteristics of the pain. There were also situations of physicians not following up on abnormal laboratory findings, such as an elevated white cell count or erythrocyte sedimentation rate. In some cases, physicians were criticized for not re-evaluating patients who returned with pain that persisted, progressed, or did not respond to treatment as expected.

Case 1: Failing to recognize red flags leads to cauda equina syndrome

An orthopaedic surgeon refers his patient, a 28-year-old woman with long-standing sciatica, to a neurosurgeon, after MRI shows a worsening of her lumbar disc protrusion (right L5–S1) and spinal stenosis. The appointment is made for a few months later, but the patient visits the emergency department (ED) the following week with severe right leg pain with weakness and urinary urgency.

The ED physician performs a neurological exam and finds only an absent right deep tendon knee reflex and some diminished muscle strength of the right extensor hallucis longus. She diagnoses acute multi-level radiculopathy with motor impairment. She admits the patient to hospital under the care of her family physician (FP), who is notified by telephone of her condition.

The FP refers the patient to an anesthesiologist for pain management with epidural steroid injections. When the anesthesiologist examines the patient before administering the injection, he notes loss of sensation in her right lateral lower leg with weakness and diminished knee reflex. He administers the injection, and the patient is discharged the next day. At a follow-up appointment with her FP a few days later, the patient reports an episode of urinary incontinence. The physician advises her to go immediately to the nearest tertiary hospital ED to be assessed by a neurosurgeon. The patient undergoes an emergency laminectomy and decompression for cauda equina syndrome; however, she is left with permanent neurological deficits including bladder and bowel dysfunction.

The patient files a legal action against all physicians involved in her care. Experts are critical that the FP did not urgently refer the patient to a neurosurgeon when she was first admitted through the ED, and that the anesthesiologist did not appreciate the severity of the patient's symptoms when he examined her.

Many cases involved incidents of physicians not fully considering elements of patients' history or co-morbidities that might put them at risk for a serious outcome. In a few cases vascular causes of back pain, such as a rupturing AAA, were not included in the differential diagnosis for patients with obvious risk factors. Conversely, other cases involved physicians who mistakenly attributed a patient's symptoms to a past or pre-existing condition, thereby failing to consider other differential diagnoses.

Case 2: Anchoring delays malignancy diagnosis

A 14-year-old boy visits the ED complaining of back spasms and continuing back pain since participating in a mountain bike race one week earlier. He has already visited a chiropractor and physiotherapist, and he is taking an NSAID and muscle relaxant prescribed by his FP, all with no improvement.

On examination, the ED physician notes dorsolumbar spasms, no tenderness, and no masses. When asked, the patient denies having bladder or bowel problems. The physician diagnoses severe muscle spasms and orders an analgesic and muscle relaxant. When he assesses the patient 30 minutes after receiving the medications, his pain is gone, and he is discharged with instructions to follow up with his FP in the morning.

The next day the patient has difficulty walking and visits another physician, who promptly refers him to the children's hospital after a neurological exam finds pronounced leg weakness. The patient is ultimately diagnosed with anaplastic large cell lymphoma at T8–T10 and undergoes treatment.

A legal action is filed against the ED physician. Experts are critical that he did not perform a complete neurological assessment or ask the patient about symptoms of numbness or weakness.

Inappropriate prescribing of narcotics for pain control was commonly associated with diagnostic issues. In some of these cases, the use of narcotics was central when the drugs contributed to addiction or related to serious patient outcomes. In others, their use obscured the progression of neurological symptoms making diagnosis more difficult.

Cognitive biases such as attribution error (a form of stereotyping: explaining a patient's condition on the basis of their disposition or character rather than seeking a valid medical explanation) may have contributed to the inadequate assessment of a patient's back pain, particularly in cases where physicians were found to be too quick to fix on a particular diagnosis, or conclude that a patient was malingering. In a few cases epidural abscesses were missed in patients with a history of drug addiction, despite their representing a high-risk group for this complication.

Managing medico-legal risk

When assessing patients with complaints of back pain, consider the following risk management actions which are based on the experts' opinions in the cases analyzed:

  • Be aware of the current evidence-based conservative approaches to managing the care of patients with back pain, which include guidance on the use of medication for pain management.
  • Take a complete and appropriate physical examination, and evaluate for red flags associated with back pain that might indicate the need for urgent diagnostic imaging or referral to a specialist.
  • Keep an open mind when patients explain the source of their symptoms.
  • Pause and reflect on the differential diagnosis, being careful to consider possibilities that may be threatening to life or limb.
  • Reflect on whether cognitive biases are influencing your diagnosis.
  • Advise your patients of the symptoms and signs that should alert them to seek further medical attention.
  • When patients return with the same or worsening symptoms, re-evaluate your diagnostic assumption and repeat the physical examination, with neurological exam.
  • Ensure your documentation reflects a thorough assessment, history taking, differential diagnosis, and discharge instructions.
 
 

References

  1. Cassidy, J.D., Carroll, L.J., Côté, P., "The Saskatchewan health and back pain survey. The prevalence of low back pain and related disability in Saskatchewan adults," Spine (1998) Vol. 23 No. 17, p.1860
  2. Deyo, R.A., Mirza, S.K., Martin, B.I., "Back pain prevalence and visit rates: estimates from U.S. national surveys, 2002." Spine (2006) Vol. 31 No. 23, p.2724
  3. Deyo, R.A., Rainville, J., Kent, D.L., "What can the history and physical examination tell us about low back pain?" Journal of the American Medical Association (1992) Vol. 268 No. 6, p.760
  4. Srinivas, S.V., Deyo, R.A., Berger, Z.D., "Application of "less is more" to low back pain." Archives of Internal Medicine (2012) Vol. 172 No. 13, p.1016
  5. Choosing Wisely Canada. Imaging tests for lower back pain: When you need them—and when you don't. Accessed July 7, 2014 from: http://www.choosingwiselycanada.org/materials/imaging-tests-for-lower-back-pain-when-you-need-them-and-when-you-dont/

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le diagnostic des maux de dos : Garder l’esprit ouvert pour minimiser les risques

Publié initialement en décembre 2014
Révisé en janvier 2015

P1405-3-F

Les maux de dos constituent souvent un dilemme insoluble en matière de diagnostic. Alors qu'il s'agit de l'un des motifs les plus courants de consultation au Canada1,2, des études ont démontré que, dans la plupart des cas, l'origine physiologique de la douleur reste indéterminée3. Ceci s'explique en raison du fait que de nombreuses affections à l'origine de ces douleurs sont spontanément résolutives. Cependant, dans de rares cas, les douleurs dorso-lombairess sont le premier symptôme de graves affections. Une évaluation inadéquate des patients atteints de maux de dos ne permet pas d'écarter définitivement ces diagnostics, ce qui peut avoir de graves conséquences.

Demander un examen d'imagerie pour les patients atteints de dorso-lombalgie non compliquée est généralement inefficace et peut entraîner un préjudice4. C'est pourquoi les campagnes visant à diminuer les examens et traitements inutiles, telles que Choisir avec soin (www.choisiravecsoin.org) recommandent de ne pas réaliser d'imagerie pour les nouveaux cas de dorso-lombalgie chez la plupart des patients n'ayant pas de symptôme ni de signe d'alerte5. Les lignes directrices cliniques, canadiennes et internationales décrivent des approches conservatrices fondées sur les données probantes pour la prise en charge des maux de dos.

L'ACPM a analysé des dossiers médico-légaux conclus entre 2008 et 2013 concernant des patients ayant comme plainte principale une dorso-lombalgie, chez lesquels l'évaluation diagnostique a été critiquée par des experts. Le diagnostic le plus souvent manqué est le syndrome de la queue de cheval, une atteinte neurologique résultant d'une compression radiculaire au niveau du canal rachidien situé sous le cône médullaire. Cette affection, qui peut avoir plusieurs étiologies, peut être notamment secondaire à une hernie discale, une sténose rachidienne ou une lésion médullaire, et nécessite une intervention en urgence afin de prévenir une atteinte permanente.

Les autres affections dorso-lombaires manquées au diagnostic ont notamment été une fracture vertébrale ou d'autres pathologies du rachis. Les pathologies non rachidiennes qui se sont présentées sous la forme de douleurs dorso-lombaires ont été : une pathologie rénale, les tumeurs malignes telles que les lymphomes ou les métastases osseuses; les atteintes cardiovasculaires (la plupart du temps une rupture d'anévrisme de l'aorte abdominale [AAA]) et les infections telles qu'un abcès épidural, une discite ou une ostéomyélite.

Souvent, les experts ont attribué le diagnostic manqué à l'incapacité du médecin à percevoir la gravité de l'état du patient, et notamment les signes d'alertes tels que la fièvre, une perte de poids, des signes neurologiques ou certaines caractéristiques de la douleur. Dans certains cas, des médecins n'ont pas effectué le suivi de résultats anormaux d'analyse tels qu'une élévation de la numération leucocytaire ou de la vitesse de sédimentation. Dans d'autres cas, les médecins ont été critiqués pour ne pas avoir évalué de nouveau des patients revenus en consultation car leur douleur persistait, augmentait ou ne répondait pas au traitement.

Cas 1 : Un syndrome de la queue de cheval où les signes d'alerte n'ont pas été reconnus

Un orthopédiste adresse sa patiente de 28 ans présentant une sciatique de longue date à un neurochirurgien après qu'une IRM a mis en évidence l'aggravation d'une hernie discale droite en L5-S1 associée à une sténose rachidienne. Un rendez-vous est prévu dans quelques mois, mais la patiente se rend à l'urgence la semaine suivante en raison d'une importante douleur et d'une faiblesse à la jambe droite accompagnées d'impériosité mictionnelle.

L'urgentologue effectue un examen neurologique qui ne révèle que l'absence de réflexe rotulien à droite et une certaine diminution de la force musculaire du muscle long extenseur de l'hallux. Elle diagnostique une polyradiculopathie associée à un déficit moteur et hospitalise la patiente sous les soins de l'omnipraticien, qui est informé par téléphone de l'état de santé de la patiente.

L'omnipraticien adresse la patiente à un anesthésiologiste pour le traitement de ses douleurs par injections épidurales de corticostéroïdes. Lorsque l'anesthésiologiste examine la patiente avant l'injection, il note une perte de sensibilité sur le côté de la jambe droite associée à une faiblesse et une diminution du réflexe rotulien. Il administre l'injection et la patiente reçoit son congé le lendemain. Lors du rendez-vous de suivi avec son omnipraticien quelques jours plus tard, la patiente lui fait part d'un épisode d'incontinence urinaire. Le médecin lui recommande de se rendre immédiatement à l'urgence de l'hôpital de soins tertiaires le plus proche pour y être évaluée par un neurochirurgien. La patiente subit en urgence une laminectomie et une décompression chirurgicale d'un syndrome de la queue de cheval. Elle conserve toutefois une atteinte neurologique permanente y compris des troubles vésicaux et intestinaux.

La patiente intente une poursuite contre tous les médecins qui lui ont prodigué des soins. Les experts critiquent l'omnipraticien qui n'a pas immédiatement adressé la patiente à un neurochirurgien lorsqu'elle a été hospitalisée pour la première fois par l'urgence. Ils critiquent également l'anesthésiologiste pour ne pas avoir perçu la gravité des symptômes de la patiente lors de son évaluation.

Dans de nombreux dossiers, les médecins n'ont pas totalement pris en considération les éléments de l'anamnèse ou les comorbidités pouvant exposer les patients à de graves conséquences. Dans quelques dossiers, le diagnostic différentiel d'une dorso-lombalgie ne comportait pas la possibilité d'une étiologie vasculaire telle qu'une rupture d'AAA chez des patients ayant des facteurs de risque manifestes. Inversement, certains médecins ont faussement attribué les symptômes d'un patient à une affection antérieure ou pré-existante, ce qui les a conduits à manquer d'autres diagnostics différentiels.

Cas 2 : Un diagnostic de cancer retardé par l'ancrage à d'autres symptômes

Un adolescent de 14 ans est conduit à l'urgence en raison de spasmes au dos et de douleurs associées qui persistent depuis sa participation à une course de vélo de montagne une semaine plus tôt. Il a déjà consulté un chiropraticien et un physiothérapeute et prend un AINS et un myorelaxant prescrits par son omnipraticien et qui ne l'ont pas soulagé.

À l'examen, l'urgentologue note des spasmes dorsolombaires et l'absence de sensibilité et de masse à la palpation. Le patient affirme n'avoir aucun trouble vésical ou intestinal. Le médecin diagnostique d'importants spasmes musculaires et prescrit un analgésique et un myorelaxant. Lorsqu'il évalue le patient 30 minutes après l'administration des médicaments, la douleur a disparu et le patient reçoit son congé avec pour directive de consulter son omnipraticien le lendemain matin.

Le lendemain, le patient a des difficultés à marcher et consulte un autre médecin qui l'adresse rapidement à l'hôpital pour enfants où un examen neurologique met en évidence une importante faiblesse dans les jambes. Un diagnostic de lymphome anaplasique à grandes cellules au niveau T8-T10 est finalement posé et le patient reçoit un traitement.

Une action en justice est intentée contre l'urgentologue. Les experts critiquent le fait qu'il n'a pas effectué d'évaluation neurologique complète ni interrogé le patient sur des symptômes de faiblesse ou de perte de sensibilité.

La prescription inappropriée de narcotiques pour la gestion de la douleur a été fréquemment associée à des problèmes de diagnostic. Dans certains cas, l'utilisation de narcotiques a constitué un élément central lorsque ces derniers ont contribué à une accoutumance ou ont été associés à de graves résultats pour les patients. Dans d'autres cas, leur utilisation a masqué l'aggravation de symptômes neurologiques, ce qui rendu l'établissement d'un diagnostic plus difficile.

Une erreur d'attribution est une forme de préjugé conduisant à expliquer l'état d'un patient en fonction de son attitude ou de sa personnalité plutôt qu'à chercher une explication médicale valable. Ce type de biais cognitif peut conduire à l'évaluation inadéquate d'une dorso-lombalgie; tout particulièrement lorsque les médecins se sont trop rapidement arrêtés à un diagnostic ou ont conclu que le patient simulait. Dans quelques cas, un abcès épidural n'a pas été décelé chez les patients ayant des antécédents d'accoutumance, en dépit du fait qu'ils représentent un groupe à risque élevé de ce type de complication.

Gérer les risques médico-légaux

Lors de l'évaluation de patients atteints de dorso-lombalgie, envisagez d'entreprendre les démarches de gestion suivantes qui sont fondées sur les opinions des experts dans les exemples de cas analysés :

  • Soyez informé des traitements conservateurs actuels fondés sur des données probantes pour la gestion des soins des patients atteints de dorso-lombalgie, y compris l'utilisation de médicaments pour le traitement de la douleur.
  • Effectuez un examen physique complet et approprié et évaluez les signes d'alerte associés aux dorso-lombalgies pouvant indiquer la nécessité de réaliser une imagerie diagnostique en urgence ou la consultation d'un spécialiste.
  • Gardez l'esprit ouvert lorsqu'un patient explique l'origine de ses symptômes.
  • Réfléchissez au diagnostic différentiel et soyez attentif aux possibilités pouvant menacer le pronostic vital ou la capacité fonctionnelle d'un patient.
  • Réfléchissez à la possibilité qu'un biais cognitif puisse influencer votre diagnostic.
  • Informez vos patients des signes et symptômes qui devraient les inciter à consulter un médecin.
  • Lorsqu'un patient consulte de nouveau pour les mêmes symptômes ou une aggravation de ses symptômes, réévaluez vos hypothèses diagnostiques et effectuez un nouvel examen physique ainsi qu'un examen neurologique.
  • Assurez-vous que votre documentation reflète que vous avez rigoureusement réalisé l'évaluation, l'anamnèse et le diagnostic différentiel et que les consignes données au moment du congé sont complètes.



Références

  1. Cassidy, J.D., Carroll, L.J., Côté, P., « The Saskatchewan health and back pain survey. The prevalence of low back pain and related disability in Saskatchewan adults », Spine (1998), vol. 23, no 17, p. 1860.
  2. Deyo, R.A., Mirza, S.K., Martin, B.I., « Back pain prevalence and visit rates: estimates from U.S. national surveys, 2002. » Spine (2006), vol. 31, no 23, p. 2724.
  3. Deyo, R.A., Rainville, J., Kent, D.L., « What can the history and physical examination tell us about low back pain? » Journal of the American Medical Association (1992), vol. 268, no 6, p. 760.
  4. Srinivas, S.V., Deyo, R.A., Berger, Z.D., « Application of "less is more" to low back pain », Archives of Internal Medicine (2012), vol. 172, no 13, p. 1016.
  5. Choisir avec soin. Les examens d'imagerie pour les douleurs au bas du dos : À quel moment devez-vous passer ces examens? Consulté le 1er octobre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://www.choisiravecsoin.org/materials/les-examens-dimagerie-pour-les-douleurs-au-bas-du-dos-a-quel-moment-devez-vous-passer-ces-examens/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.