Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Emerging trends: Are you socially accountable?

Originally published October 2014
P1404-6-E

While individual physicians are at different stages in their use of social media, it is a journey virtually all physicians will eventually take. Social media is becoming so pervasive its importance as a channel to keep current on medical findings and to confer with colleagues is undeniable.1 While social media is increasingly used in medical education, research, and advocacy, it is patient expectations that are the driving force behind the uptake of social media among most physicians. Physicians who recognize their patients' expectations in the social media space may be better connected with them, which may help contribute to greater professional satisfaction and engagement.

A mindful approach

Physicians who engage in social media must be mindful of the potential risks and consequences of their online activities. Privacy and security of personal information remain important considerations. Doctors should be careful not to communicate specific patient health information on social media. Some privacy risks may be mitigated by communicating with patients as a group and using appropriate privacy settings for the social platforms being used. Regardless of privacy settings, however, information shared via social media should be considered public.

Maintaining standards of medical professionalism must also be at the forefront of social media usage by physicians. Physicians on social media are expected to be thoughtful, trustworthy, and respectful in their communications, in keeping with their professional standing in the larger community. This means maintaining appropriate boundaries in doctor-patient relationships and avoiding activities that might be interpreted as online misconduct. Physicians should keep abreast of their regulatory authority (College) guidelines on social media.

The road ahead

It is predicted that physicians will increasingly use social media channels to educate patients and peers, pose questions, and have discussions about innovations and knowledge. Over time, physicians are likely to seize opportunities to use emerging online channels to share health and clinical information and to provide patient and family support. As more doctors have success with social media, this will become part of physicians' social accountability.2 The regulatory framework to which physicians are subject, along with CMPA advice in this area, will continue to evolve as new uses of communication technology become more widespread.

In the longer term, the integration of the digital world and the real world is expected to further change how physicians — and indeed all people — communicate, learn, and interact.

The CMPA is here to help

The CMPA has extensive online resources to help physicians understand and comply with their obligations respecting privacy and confidentiality, and professionalism and boundary issues. Member physicians are also encouraged to contact the CMPA for individual advice and assistance.




References

  1. LiveScience.com, "Doctors turn to social media for medical information," December 2012. Accessed on April 29, 2014 from: http://news.yahoo.com/doctors-turn-social-media-medical-information-152812034.html
  2. Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. "Is your practice social media savvy? Four tips to get you started!," Dialogue, (January 2014) Vol. 14, No.1. Accessed on April 30, 2014 from: http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/resources/publications/dialogue/vol14_1/social_media

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Tendances actuelles : responsabilité dans les médias sociaux

Publié initialement en octobre 2014
P1404-6-F

Tous les médecins n'en sont pas au même stade en ce qui concerne l'utilisation des médias sociaux, mais presque tous finiront par les adopter. L'omniprésence de ces nouveaux canaux de communication leur confère une importance indéniable lorsqu'il s'agit de se tenir au fait des dernières découvertes médicales ou encore de s'entretenir avec des collègues1. Même s'ils sont de plus en plus utilisés dans les domaines de l'éducation médicale, de la recherche et de la promotion de la santé, ce sont les attentes des patients qui alimentent l'émergence des médias sociaux parmi les médecins. Une meilleure relation avec les patients peut s'établir lorsque les médecins reconnaissent ces attentes, ce qui peut contribuer à une plus grande satisfaction et à un meilleur engagement sur le plan professionnel.

Une approche avisée

Les médecins qui interviennent dans les médias sociaux doivent être conscients des risques et des conséquences possibles de leurs activités en ligne. La protection de la confidentialité des renseignements personnels reste un élément important à prendre en considération. Les médecins doivent être attentifs à ne pas communiquer dans les médias sociaux de renseignements sur la santé d'un patient en particulier. Certains risques liés à la protection des renseignements personnels peuvent être atténués lorsque l'on communique avec les patients en tant que groupe et que l'on utilise les paramètres de protection appropriés selon les plateformes sociales utilisées. Toutefois, quels que soient ces paramètres, les renseignements transmis sur les médias sociaux doivent être considérés comme étant publics.

Préserver des normes professionnelles doit également être le principe fondateur de l'utilisation des médias sociaux par les médecins. Les médecins présents dans les médias sociaux se doivent d'être réfléchis, dignes de confiance et respectueux dans leurs communications conformément à leur image professionnelle au sein de la collectivité. Cela signifie respecter des limites médecin-patient appropriées et éviter les activités pouvant être considérées comme un cas d'inconduite en ligne. Les médecins doivent rester au fait des directives des organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) vis-à-vis des médias sociaux.

Ce que l'avenir réserve

On prévoit que les médecins utiliseront de plus en plus les médias sociaux pour éduquer les patients et leurs pairs, poser des questions et discuter de l'innovation et des connaissances. Avec le temps, les médecins saisiront probablement les occasions d'utiliser les nouveaux moyens de communication en ligne pour transmettre des informations cliniques et fournir du soutien aux patients et à leur famille. L'utilisation des médias sociaux par les médecins fera partie de leur responsabilité sociale à mesure qu'ils les utiliseront avec succès2. Le cadre législatif auquel les médecins sont soumis, ainsi que les conseils de l'ACPM dans ce domaine, continueront d'évoluer à mesure que les nouvelles utilisations des technologies de communication prendront de l'ampleur.

À long terme, l'interpénétration du monde numérique et du monde réel modifiera encore davantage la manière dont les médecins, mais également le reste de la population, communiquent, acquièrent de nouvelles connaissances et interagissent.

L'ACPM est là pour aider

L'ACPM met de nombreuses ressources en ligne à la disposition des médecins pour les aider à comprendre et à remplir leurs obligations relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels et au respect de la confidentialité, ainsi que sur les questions du professionnalisme et des limites. Les médecins sont également invités à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir de l'aide et des conseils personnalisés.




Références

  1. LiveScience.com, « Doctors turn to social media for medical information », décembre 2012. Consulté le 29 avril 2014 à l'adresse : http://news.yahoo.com/doctors-turn-social-media-medical-information-152812034.html
  2. Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. « Votre pratique se prête-t-elle aux médias sociaux : Voici quatre conseils pour y faire vos premiers pas! », Dialogue, janvier 2014, vol. 14, no 1. Consulté le 5 septembre 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://www.royalcollege.ca/portal/page/portal/rc/resources/publications/dialogue/vol14_1/social_media

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.