Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Issues during surgery, labour and delivery: Managing the risks in anesthesiology

Originally published September 2014
P1403-2-E

Anesthesiology is a diversified specialty requiring expertise in many fields of medicine. It includes anaesthesia and perioperative care, emergency care, critical care, and treatment of acute and chronic pain. The specialty is also recognized for advancing safety measures and patient safety initiatives.

The CMPA reviewed 203 medico-legal cases involving anesthesiologists that closed between 2009 and 2013. In 65% of the cases there was good expert support for the anesthesiologists' care. In the cases with identified issues, 38% of patients had major and catastrophic outcomes including death.

The main risk areas for anesthesiologists include:

  • airway management
  • injuries associated with regional anaesthesia or analgesia
  • injuries associated with intubation
  • anaesthesia-related medication errors
  • lack of informed consent

Issues in the intra-operative period and during labour

Monitoring and management problems during a procedure were generally associated with a delay in recognizing or managing a complication. This was seen in cases involving both general and regional anaesthesia. Various factors contributed to these issues including clinical judgment, technical skill, and equipment problems.

Case example: Delay to recognize and respond to signs of airway obstruction  

Following a pre-operative assessment, an anesthesiologist performs spinal anaesthesia on a 45-year-old woman who will be undergoing a urologic intervention. Co-morbidities include morbid obesity, tobacco use, and obstructive sleep apnea. The anesthesiologist administers oxygen by facemask, monitors end-tidal CO2 by nasal catheter, and initiates IV propofol infusion at 70µg/kg/min. When the patient remains responsive to verbal stimuli and dislodges the nasal catheter, the anesthesiologist increases the infusion to 100µg/kg/min. Shortly after, the patient becomes hypotensive and hypoxic and goes into cardiac arrest. Aggressive resuscitation is successful and the patient is transferred to the ICU. The anesthesiologist discloses the event to the family. The patient is left with an anoxic brain injury affecting memory and cognition.

The family initiates a legal action alleging lack of informed consent, failure to properly assess the patient pre-operatively, and inadequate anaesthetic management. Experts in this case are all critical of the anesthesiologist for failing to monitor O2 saturation and administering higher than appropriate doses of propofol, and failing to recognize and react to signs of airway obstruction. There are additional concerns regarding an inadequate pre-operative assessment of the patient's sleep apnea. Without expert support, the CMPA pays a settlement to the patient on behalf of the member anesthesiologist.


Problems with regional anaesthesia or analgesia were often associated with labour and delivery, and orthopaedic surgeries. A common issue in the cases was catheter insertion (epidural and spinal) at the wrong level that was usually too high and that often lead to spinal cord injury. In one case, the expert was critical of the anesthesiologist's poor charting of the epidural technique.

In a small number of cases, complications resulted from vascular injuries during central line insertion or equipment malfunction.

Post-operative issues

Post-procedure problems often related to lack of monitoring of patients who experienced perioperative problems such as difficult intubation. Other problems involved inadequate directions to the healthcare team regarding monitoring parameters, or insufficient supervision of a resident. Some post-operative issues were attributed to other members of the team, such as a resident or nurse failing to contact the anesthesiologist when the patient's clinical condition was deteriorating. Cases involving a member and non-physician healthcare professionals often resulted in the CMPA and the hospital jointly paying a settlement.

A serious problem in the post-operative period was premature extubation, usually following difficult intubation or massive blood loss during surgery. In some cases, when the extubated patient developed respiratory difficulties, the anesthesiologist failed to recognize the need to re-intubate in a timely manner, or encountered difficulties re-intubating the patient. The patients in these cases were usually left with catastrophic outcomes including death.

The impact of consent and documentation

Inadequate or lack of consent is an allegation in many cases reviewed, including when the patient experienced an anaesthetic-related complication. In several cases, experts felt that the anesthesiologist should have obtained informed consent from the patient before administering any type of anaesthesia or analgesia, which includes a discussion about the associated risks and alternative forms of anaesthesia.

In some cases, while the physician stated there had been a full consent discussion with the patient, there was no documentation to support this statement.

The problems associated with documentation involved a lack of specific directions in the medical record advising staff about monitoring parameters, as well as failing to document discussions with the patient or family about the difficulties encountered and follow-up instructions.

Case example: Inadequate documentation calls into question post-operative patient monitoring

While administering IV anaesthesia to a 32-year-old woman undergoing diagnostic laparoscopy, an anesthesiologist has difficulty intubating. He seeks assistance from a colleague. After numerous attempts with various methods, the anesthesiologist decides to use a laryngeal mask airway (LMA), which is inserted without difficulty. The remainder of the surgery is uneventful. The anesthesiologist discloses the difficult intubation to the patient's husband and the potential complications such as edema and infection, and advises him on when to seek medical attention. The patient has no respiratory difficulties in the post-anaesthetic care unit and is discharged the same day.

Three days later, the patient presents to an emergency department with bruising and swelling of the neck. She is diagnosed with a deep soft neck tissue infection likely from a pharyngeal injury during intubation and is treated with IV antibiotics.

The patient initiates a complaint with the medical regulatory authority (College), alleging inappropriate intubation technique. The College is of the opinion that the anesthesiologist's approach and the decision to continue with the surgery were reasonable. However, the College finds the medical record documentation to be inadequate. The anesthesiologist's notes do not support that he observed or assessed the patient post-operatively, and there are discrepancies with his notes and those of the nurses. The College counsels the anesthesiologist to provide a reasonable period of observation and frequent re-assessments for a patient with a difficult intubation. He is also counselled to thoroughly document any discussions with the patient about airway risks, difficulties encountered during a procedure, and when to seek medical attention.


Minimizing risk

The following risk management strategies are based on expert opinions in the cases analyzed:

  • Discuss the risks and benefits of the proposed anaesthetic approach, alternative options, and possible complications. Allow the patient the opportunity to ask questions. Verify that the patient appears to understand the information. Document this consent discussion in the medical record.
  • Be aware of relevant current clinical practice guidelines for the practice of anaesthesia.
  • Before commencing anaesthesia, verify that the equipment and monitors are in good working order.
  • Confirm that alarms are functioning and audible.
  • Consider altering your technique or promptly consulting a colleague when intubation is difficult or when repeated attempts at intubation have been unsuccessful.
  • Ensure appropriate patient monitoring during and after anaesthesia, including vital signs, respiratory status, and pulse oximetry. Tell the team what issues require their attention. Recognize and react to any signs of potential problems in a timely manner.
  • Confirm that the patient meets the criteria for extubation.
  • Report problems with a monitor or equipment. If equipment malfunctions or fails during a procedure, take action and document the steps to address the problem (i.e. notifying the appropriate maintenance personnel and administration).
  • Document the care provided thoroughly in the medical record.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Problèmes peropératoires et pendant le travail et l’accouchement : gérer les risques en anesthésiologie

Publié initialement en septembre 2014
P1403-2-F

L'anesthésiologie est une spécialité médicale dont les multiples aspects exigent une expertise dans de nombreux champs d'exercice de la médecine, et notamment l'anesthésie, les soins périopératoires, les soins d'urgence, les soins intensifs et le traitement de la douleur aiguë et chronique. Cette spécialité est également reconnue pour sa contribution à des initiatives liées à la sécurité des patients et aux mesures de sécurité en général.

L'analyse de 203 dossiers médico-légaux de l'ACPM, conclus entre 2009 et 2013 et concernant des anesthésiologistes, a révélé que les soins des anesthésiologistes avaient été appuyés par les experts dans 65 % des cas. Dans les dossiers comportant des problèmes identifiés, 38 % des patients ont connu un résultat grave, voire catastrophique, y compris un décès.

Les principales situations à risque pour les anesthésiologistes sont :

  • la prise en charge des voies aériennes;
  • les lésions associées à l'anesthésie ou à l'analgésie régionale;
  • les lésions associées à l'intubation;
  • les erreurs médicamenteuses liées à l'anesthésie;
  • l'absence de consentement éclairé.

Problèmes peropératoires et pendant le travail

Les problèmes de suivi et de gestion peropératoires ont généralement été associés à un retard dans l'identification et la prise en charge d'une complication. Ceci a été observé aussi bien dans les dossiers d'anesthésie générale, que dans ceux d'anesthésie régionale. Les différents facteurs contributifs de ces problèmes ont notamment été le jugement clinique, les habiletés techniques et les problèmes d'équipement.

Exemple de cas : Retard dans l'identification des signes d'obstruction des voies respiratoires et dans l'intervention appropriée  

Après avoir réalisé une évaluation préopératoire, un anesthésiologiste effectue une rachianesthésie chez une femme de 45 ans en vue d'une intervention urologique. Les comorbidités sont l'obésité morbide, le tabagisme et l'apnée obstructive du sommeil. L'anesthésiologiste administre de l'oxygène par masque facial, surveille la PCO2 de fin d'expiration au moyen d'une sonde nasale et amorce une perfusion i.v. de propofol à raison de 70 µg/kg/min. La patiente continue de répondre aux stimuli verbaux et retire la sonde nasale, ce qui conduit l'anesthésiologiste à augmenter la perfusion à 100 µg/kg/min. Peu de temps après, la patiente devient hypotendue et hypoxique avant de faire un arrêt cardiaque. Après des manœuvres énergiques de réanimation, la patiente est transférée à l'USI. L'anesthésiologiste divulgue l'événement à la famille. La patiente présente des séquelles d'anoxie cérébrale qui affectent sa mémoire et ses fonctions cognitives.

La famille intente une poursuite alléguant un défaut de consentement éclairé ainsi qu'une évaluation préopératoire et une prise en charge anesthésique inadéquates. Les experts se sont accordés pour critiquer l'anesthésiologiste pour ne pas avoir surveillé la saturation en oxygène, pour avoir administré des doses de propofol supérieures à celles préconisées et pour ne pas avoir reconnu les signes d'une obstruction des voies respiratoires et y avoir réagi. Les autres préoccupations ont concerné l'évaluation préopératoire inadéquate de l'apnée obstructive du sommeil de la patiente. Les experts n'ayant pas accordé leur appui, l'ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier en concluant une transaction avec la patiente au nom de l'anesthésiologiste.


Des problèmes associés à l'anesthésie ou à l'analgésie régionales sont fréquemment observés pendant le travail et l'accouchement ou lors de chirurgies orthopédiques. De nombreux dossiers font état de la mise en place, généralement trop haute, d'une sonde épidurale ou rachidienne, entraînant souvent une lésion médullaire. Dans un dossier, l'expert a critiqué l'anesthésiologiste pour sa mauvaise description de la technique épidurale.

Dans de rares cas, des complications ont résulté de lésions vasculaires secondaires à la pose d'une voie centrale ou au dysfonctionnement de l'équipement.

Problèmes en période postopératoire

Les problèmes postopératoires ont souvent été liés à un défaut de surveillance des patients ayant présenté des problèmes périopératoires tels qu'une intubation difficile. D'autres problèmes ont concerné des directives inadéquates à l'équipe soignante au sujet des paramètres de surveillance ou encore la supervision insuffisante d'un résident. Certains problèmes postopératoires ont été attribués à d'autres membres de l'équipe; comme notamment le défaut d'un résident ou d'une infirmière de communiquer avec l'anesthésiologiste alors que l'état du patient se détériorait. L'ACPM et l'hôpital ont souvent conclu les dossiers concernant un membre et des professionnels de la santé non médecins par une transaction partagée.

L'extubation prématurée représente un grave problème rencontré au cours de la période postopératoire. Elle fait généralement suite à une intubation difficile ou à une hémorragie massive peropératoire. Dans certains cas, alors que le patient présentait une dyspnée postextubation, l'anesthésiologiste a eu des difficultés à le réintuber ou n'en a pas reconnu la nécessité. Ces situations ont généralement eu des résultats catastrophiques, voire fatals, pour les patients.

L'incidence du consentement et de la documentation

De nombreux dossiers de l'ACPM font état d'allégations de défaut ou d'absence de consentement, notamment les cas où le patient a subi une complication associée à l'anesthésiant administré. Dans plusieurs dossiers, les experts ont estimé qu'avant d'administrer tout type de produit anesthésiant ou analgésique, l'anesthésiologiste aurait dû avoir une discussion avec le patient sur les risques associés à l'anesthésie et les autres anesthésies envisageables, en vue d'obtenir son consentement éclairé.

Dans certains cas, on note l'absence de documentation appuyant les affirmations du médecin attestant d'une discussion exhaustive avec le patient en vue d'obtenir son consentement.

Les problèmes associés avec la documentation ont concerné l'absence, dans le dossier médical, de directives précises à l'attention du personnel au sujet des paramètres de surveillance, ainsi que le défaut de documentation des discussions avec le patient ou sa famille sur les difficultés rencontrées ou les directives de suivi.

Exemple de cas : Une documentation inadéquate remet en question la surveillance postopératoire d'un patient

Lors d'une anesthésie intraveineuse en vue d'une laparoscopie diagnostique, un anesthésiologiste a des difficultés à intuber une femme de 32 ans. Il demande l'aide d'un collègue. Après plusieurs tentatives et diverses méthodes, l'anesthésiologiste décide d'utiliser un masque laryngé qui est mis en place sans difficulté. Le reste de l'intervention se déroule sans incident notable. L'anesthésiologiste divulgue les problèmes d'intubation au conjoint de la patiente ainsi que les complications possibles comme l'œdème et l'infection et l'informe des situations nécessitant une consultation médicale. La patiente, qui ne présente aucun problème respiratoire à l'unité de soins postanesthésiques, reçoit son congé le jour même.

Cependant, trois jours plus tard, elle se présente à l'urgence en raison d'un hématome et d'un œdème au cou. La patiente reçoit une antibiothérapie par voie intraveineuse après qu'on lui a diagnostiqué une infection des tissus mous cervicaux probablement liée à une lésion pharyngée subie lors de l'intubation.

La patiente dépose une plainte auprès de l'organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) alléguant que la technique d'intubation était inappropriée. Le Collège est d'avis que l'approche de l'anesthésiologiste et la décision de poursuivre l'intervention ont été raisonnables. Cependant, le Collège estime que la documentation au dossier médical est inadéquate. Non seulement les notes de l'anesthésiologiste n'étayent pas le fait qu'il ait observé ou évalué la patiente après l'intervention, il y a également des divergences entre ses notes et celles des infirmières. Le Collège recommande à l'anesthésiologiste d'accorder une période raisonnable à l'observation et aux réévaluations fréquentes des patients dont l'intubation a été difficile. Il recommande également de documenter de manière exhaustive toute discussion avec le patient sur les risques respiratoires, les difficultés pouvant survenir lors d'une intervention et les situations nécessitant un avis médical.


Réduire les risques

Les stratégies de gestion des risques suivantes s'appuient sur l'avis des experts dans les dossiers analysés :

  • Discuter des risques et avantages de l'anesthésie proposée, des autres possibilités et des complications possibles. Donner au patient l'occasion de poser des questions. Vérifier que le patient comprend les informations. Documenter la discussion entourant le consentement dans le dossier médical;
  • Connaître les directives de pratique clinique en vigueur pour l'anesthésie;
  • Avant d'amorcer l'anesthésie, vérifier que l'équipement et les moniteurs fonctionnent correctement;
  • Confirmer que les alarmes fonctionnent et sont audibles;
  • Envisager de changer de technique ou de consulter rapidement un collègue lorsque l'intubation est difficile ou lorsque plusieurs tentatives d'intubation ont échoué;
  • S'assurer d'une surveillance per et postopératoire appropriée du patient, comprenant les signes vitaux, l'état respiratoire et l'oxymétrie de pouls. Informer l'équipe de tout problème nécessitant leur attention. Reconnaître tout signe de problème potentiel et y réagir rapidement;
  • Confirmer que le patient satisfait aux critères d'extubation;
  • Signaler les problèmes associés à un moniteur ou un autre équipement. En cas de dysfonctionnement ou de panne d'équipement lors d'une intervention, intervenir et documenter les étapes pour résoudre le problème (c.-à-d. le signaler au personnel de l'entretien et de l'administration approprié);
  • Documenter avec précision les soins prodigués dans le dossier médical.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.