Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Managing the risks of labour induction

Originally published March 2014
P1401-2-E

The induction of labour is an important approach in the management of pregnancy. Oxytocin is a valuable medication used to induce or augment labour. As with all medications, the use of oxytocin has potential risks.

A review of the CMPA's medico-legal case files involving the administration of oxytocin during labour provides insights to better manage the risk of patient harm, adverse birth outcome, and potential medico-legal problems.

The 74 medico-legal cases related to labour induction or augmentation with an oxytocic agent opened by the CMPA between 2002 and 2012 confirmed the role played by a broad range of issues. In these cases, the clinical outcome for the babies was often a catastrophic injury or death. For physicians, the legal outcome was unfavourable in the majority of cases. In the closed legal actions, 75% resulted in a settlement. In the closed medical regulatory authority (College) cases, 70% ended in the expression of concern about the patient care.

In these cases, oxytocin was the most commonly administered medication, followed by prostaglandin E1 or E2 (i.e. misoprostol, dinoprostone).

The Institute for Safe Medication Practices includes intravenous oxytocin on its list of high-alert medications, recognizing that its use can potentially lead to maternal and fetal harm.1

Peer experts identify the issues

Peer experts who provided opinions in these cases identified a number of issues with induction of labour, which were similar to the issues encountered with augmentation.

Assessment

Experts identified pre-induction issues that included failure to follow up on an atypical non-stress test and commencing inductions when not medically indicated. The latter reflects the growing concern in the obstetrical community related to the rising number of unwarranted inductions.

Informed consent

Consent problems arose when a physician failed to inform the patient of the potential risks related to induction with an oxytocic agent, such as excessive stimulation of the uterus or fetal bradycardia.

Medication

Two medication issues were most common in the cases. The first was the failure to discontinue the oxytocin infusion in the presence of an atypical or abnormal fetal heart rate pattern, or in the presence of tachysystole with corresponding fetal heart rate decelerations. The second issue was prescribing the wrong dose of oxytocin. Both low and high dose protocols exist. Nevertheless the dose prescribed in some cases was either higher than permitted by hospital protocols, or was inappropriately high when restarting the infusion after recovery of an atypical fetal heart rate pattern.

Interpretation of fetal heart rate tracing

In more than 70% of the cases reviewed, there was a delay in diagnosing an atypical or abnormal fetal heart rate pattern. In these instances, the most common issues were failure to appreciate and to act on the severity of an abnormal electronic fetal monitor tracing, or failure to apply a fetal scalp clip.

Attendance

The physician-related issues pertaining to attendance were infrequent or irregular assessments of a patient with an atypical fetal heart rate pattern; not attending when informed by a nurse of concerns with the fetal heart rate tracing; reviewing only the immediate tracing record and thereby missing important abnormalities in the preceding time intervals; leaving the patient's bedside when the fetal heart rate tracing was worrisome; and failing to frequently assess a high-risk patient who was followed by a less experienced resident or staff member.

Delivery

In more than half of the cases, the experts were of the opinion the physician failed to expedite delivery, usually by Caesarean section, when faced with an abnormal fetal tracing.

Contributing factors

Communication and system-related factors contributed to the cases where there was a delay in performing a Caesarean delivery, including:

  • the physician's attendance on another patient
  • the physician's delay in answering repeated pages
  • the lack of preparation to respond to an emergency in the situation

Very often, other factors contributed to the fetal harm in the other cases analyzed.

  • communication problems between healthcare professionals about the following:
    • atypical/abnormal fetal heart rate tracing
    • dosage of oxytocin being infused
    • frequency of oxytocin infusion increments
    • transfer of care
  • nursing interpretation of the fetal heart rate tracing
    • inadequate monitoring of the fetal heart rate
    • failure to act on concerning fetal heart rate changes following incremental dosing of oxytocin
  • system-related problems
    • failure to follow the hospital's protocols and guidelines for induction
    • unavailability of resources, e.g. insufficient staff to monitor a patient on oxytocin

Documentation

In several cases, peer experts identified inadequate documentation in the medical record as an issue for both physicians and nurses. Examples included an incomplete record of the delivery, and failure to document the time of chart entries. Expert comments also included that the use of milliunits per min provides better clarity on dosage, but if stating the flow rate of oxytocin in ml/min then the concentration of the infusion should also be stated.

Case example

A woman was admitted for induction at 37+5 weeks for oligohydramnios and an atypical non-stress test. Following two doses of dinoprostone, an oxytocin infusion was started. Electronic fetal monitoring remained normal at 145 bpm.

One hour later, the physician artificially ruptured the membranes for clear fluid and applied a scalp clip. Five hours after admission, an epidural was established. Within 30 minutes, the fetal heart rate tracing showed decreased variability and repetitive late decelerations. One hour later, the nurse noted increased uterine tone with poor relaxation between contractions; however, the nurse took no action and continued to increase the rate of oxytocin infusion.

Eight hours after admission, the nurse noted 3 late decelerations, minimal variability, and fetal tachycardia. The nurse advised the physician, who remotely reviewed the electronic fetal monitoring, but failed to assess the patient in person. The oxytocin infusion continued to be increased.

Nine hours after admission, the physician attended the patient and noted persistent minimal variability in the fetal heart rate tracing. The patient was fully dilated and instructions were given to start pushing. The monitor demonstrated late decelerations which progressively deepened; the physician was not notified. The oxytocin infusion continued to be increased. Two hours later, a limp infant was delivered spontaneously; aggressive resuscitation was required. The infant experienced early onset of convulsions and multi-system failure, and died 2 days later. The autopsy demonstrated extensive cerebral hypoxemic-ischemic changes.

A legal action was initiated, alleging the physician failed to act on the abnormal electronic fetal monitor tracing and proceed to an earlier Caesarean section.

The experts were of the opinion that both the physician and the nurse failed to intervene in a timely fashion and that a Caesarean delivery should have occurred 4 hours earlier.

Peer experts reviewing this case for the defence concluded that the adverse outcome could have been prevented if the physician had assessed the patient in person when the nurse expressed concern instead of remotely reviewing the electronic fetal monitor tracing

Without expert support, a shared settlement was paid by the CMPA, on behalf of the physician, and by the hospital, on behalf of the nurse.

Managing the risks of labour induction — Key learnings

The following risk management strategies are based on the expert opinions in the analyzed cases:

  • Discuss with the patient the indication for induction as well as the risks and benefits.
  • Document the informed consent discussion.
  • Consider the experience of other healthcare professionals (e.g. nurses, residents) when monitoring obstetrical patients on oxytocin.
  • Consider applying a fetal scalp electrode if the external monitoring is problematic or difficult to interpret.
  • When presented with an abnormal tracing, review the clinical situation and determine if further testing or delivery is required.
  • Assess the availability of resources to adequately monitor the patient and to respond to an emergency situation. Anticipate and perform, if indicated, a timely emergency Caesarean section.
  • Communicate effectively with other healthcare professionals (e.g. consider the use of a structured communication tool2).
  • Clearly and completely document the delivery in the medical record.
  • In cases of adverse events, discuss the circumstances and outcomes with the patient and her family.

In addition, clear protocols for induction and administration of oxytocin should be in place at the facility, and all staff should be aware of these. Regular review for quality assurance is advised.

Members should not hesitate to contact the CMPA for risk management advice if they have questions related to this topic or need assistance with a complaint, legal action, or threat. Medical officers, physicians with extensive medico-legal experience, are available to guide and support members dealing with challenging medico-legal difficulties.
 

 

References

  1. Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada [Internet]. ISMP's list of high-alert medications. © ISMP 2012. Available at: http://www.ismp.org/tools/highalertmedications.pdf.  Last accessed May 17, 2012
  2. The CMPA does not endorse any specific structured communication approach or tool but encourages their use.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Gestion des risques du déclenchement du travail

Publié initialement en mars 2014
P1401-2-F

 

Le déclenchement du travail représente une importante approche à la prise en charge de la grossesse. L'ocytocine est un médicament précieux qui est utilisé pour déclencher ou accélérer le travail. Comme c'est le cas de tout médicament, l'utilisation d'ocytocine comporte des risques.

Une analyse des dossiers médico-légaux de l'ACPM mettant en cause l'administration d'ocytocine pendant le travail fournit des pistes pour mieux gérer le risque de préjudice chez la patiente, de résultats de naissance défavorables, et d'éventuels problèmes médico-légaux.

Entre 2002 et 2012, l'ACPM a ouvert 74 dossiers médico-légaux liés au déclenchement ou à l'accélération du travail au moyen d'un agent ocytocique, lesquels font état d'une vaste gamme de problèmes. Dans ces cas, le résultat clinique chez les nouveau-nés s'est souvent avéré une blessure catastrophique ou la mort. Pour les médecins, le résultat de l'action en justice était défavorable dans la majorité des cas : 75 % des actions en justice conclues se sont soldées par une transaction. En ce qui concerne les dossiers conclus liés à des plaintes déposées aux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), des préoccupations relatives aux soins des patientes ont été exprimées dans 70 % des cas.

Dans ces cas, le médicament le plus couramment administré était l'ocytocine, suivie de la prostaglandine E1 ou E2 (c.-à-d. le misoprostol, la dinoprostone).

L'ocytocine par voie intraveineuse figure sur la liste de médicaments de niveau d'alerte élevé de l'Institut pour l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada, qui reconnaît que son utilisation peut entraîner d'éventuels préjudices chez la mère et le fœtus.1

Détermination des problèmes par les experts

Les experts qui ont fourni des opinions dans ces causes ont identifié plusieurs problèmes liés au déclenchement du travail, lesquels étaient semblables à ceux qui sont survenus lors de l'accélération du travail.

Évaluation

Les experts ont relevé l'existence de problèmes avant le déclenchement du travail, dont le défaut d'assurer le suivi de résultats atypiques à un examen de réactivité fœtale et le fait de procéder à un déclenchement du travail non indiqué sur le plan médical. Ce deuxième problème reflète les préoccupations grandissantes au sein de la communauté obstétricale en ce qui a trait à la hausse des déclenchements non justifiés.

Consentement éclairé

Des problèmes liés au consentement sont survenus lorsqu'un médecin avait manqué d'informer la patiente des risques éventuels liés au déclenchement du travail au moyen d'un agent ocytocique, telle la stimulation excessive de l'utérus ou la bradycardie fœtale.

Médication

Les deux problèmes suivants liés à la médication étaient les plus courants dans les dossiers analysés. Le premier était le défaut d'arrêter la perfusion d'ocytocine en présence d'un tracé atypique ou anormal de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale, ou en présence d'une tachysystolie avec décélérations de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale correspondantes. Le deuxième problème était l'ordonnance de la mauvaise dose d'ocytocine. Il existe des protocoles à faible dose et à forte dose. Néanmoins, dans certains cas, soit la dose prescrite était supérieure à celle permise par le protocole hospitalier, soit elle était beaucoup trop élevée au moment de rétablir la perfusion à la suite du retour à la normale de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale.

Interprétation des tracés de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale

Dans plus de 70 % des dossiers analysés, un retard s'est produit dans le diagnostic d'une fréquence cardiaque fœtale atypique ou anormale. Dans ces cas, les problèmes les plus courants étaient le défaut d'évaluer et de réagir à la gravité d'un tracé de monitorage fœtal électronique anormal, ou le défaut d'appliquer une électrode de cuir chevelu.

Présence auprès de la patiente

Parmi les problèmes propres aux médecins liés à la présence auprès de la patiente, notons les évaluations peu fréquentes ou irrégulières d'une patiente dont le tracé de fréquence cardiaque fœtale était atypique; le défaut de se présenter au chevet de la patiente après avoir été informé par une infirmière de préoccupations liées au tracé de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale; le fait de n'étudier que le tracé en cours, de sorte que des anomalies importantes dans les intervalles de temps précédents sont passées inaperçues; le fait de quitter le chevet de la patiente lorsque le tracé de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale était inquiétant; et le défaut d'évaluer fréquemment une patiente à risque élevé qui était suivie par un résident ou un médecin patron moins expérimenté.

Accouchement

Dans plus de la moitié des dossiers, les experts étaient d'avis que le médecin avait manqué d'accélérer l'accouchement, normalement à l'aide d'une césarienne, lorsqu'il était confronté à un tracé anormal de fréquence cardiaque fœtale.

Facteurs contributifs

Dans les cas où il s'est produit un retard avant de procéder à un accouchement par césarienne, la communication et des facteurs systémiques s'avéraient des facteurs contributifs, notamment :

  • la présence du médecin auprès d'une autre patiente
  • le délai de réponse, de la part du médecin, aux messages de téléavertisseur répétitifs
  • l'absence de préparation en vue de réagir à l'urgence que présentait la situation.

Très souvent, d'autres facteurs ont contribué au préjudice subi par le fœtus dans les autres dossiers analysés :

  • problèmes de communication entre les professionnels de la santé au sujet de :
    • tracés atypiques/anormaux de fréquence cardiaque fœtale
    • la posologie de la perfusion d'ocytocine
    • la fréquence des augmentations de la perfusion d'ocytocine
    • le transfert des soins
  • interprétation du tracé de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale par l'infirmière
    • surveillance inadéquate de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale
    • défaut de réagir à des changements de fréquence cardiaque fœtale inquiétants à la suite de l'administration de doses progressives d'ocytocine
  • problèmes systémiques
    • défaut de respecter les protocoles et les directives de l'hôpital en matière de déclenchement du travail
    • non disponibilité de ressources, p. ex., insuffisance de personnel pour surveiller une patiente à qui on avait administré de l'ocytocine.

Documentation

Les experts consultés ont déterminé que dans plusieurs cas la documentation consignée au dossier médical par les médecins et les infirmières était inadéquate. À titre d'exemples, ils ont relevé une documentation incomplète de l'accouchement et le défaut de documenter l'heure à laquelle les notes ont été inscrites. Les experts ont ajouté que l'indication de la posologie en milliunités par minute est plus précise, mais que lorsque le débit d'ocytocine est précisé en mL/min., la concentration de la perfusion doit également être indiquée. 

Exemple de cas

Une femme est admise pour un déclenchement du travail à 37 semaines et 5 jours en raison d'un oligohydramnios et d'un résultat atypique à un examen de réactivité fœtale. À la suite de l'administration de deux doses de dinoprostone, une perfusion d'ocytocine est amorcée. Le monitorage fœtal électronique demeure normal à 145 bpm.

Une heure plus tard, le médecin procède à une rupture artificielle des membranes et, à la suite de l'écoulement de liquide amniotique clair, il met en place une électrode de cuir chevelu. Cinq heures après l'admission, une épidurale est installée. Au cours des 30 minutes suivantes, le tracé de fréquence cardiaque fœtale révèle une diminution de la variabilité de la fréquence cardiaque et des décélérations tardives répétées. Une heure plus tard, l'infirmière constate une augmentation du tonus utérin ainsi qu'une difficulté chez la mère à se détendre entre les contractions; toutefois, l'infirmière ne donne pas suite à ses observations, continuant plutôt à augmenter le débit de la perfusion d'ocytocine.

Huit heures après l'admission, l'infirmière constate trois décélérations tardives, une variabilité minime et une tachycardie fœtale. Elle informe le médecin, qui étudie à distance le tracé de monitorage fœtal électronique, sans toutefois évaluer la patiente en personne. La perfusion d'ocytocine continue d'être augmentée.

Neuf heures après l'admission, le médecin se présente au chevet de la patiente et constate une variabilité minime persistante sur le tracé de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale. Le col utérin de la patiente est complètement dilaté et on lui demande de commencer à pousser. Le moniteur révèle des décélérations tardives qui s'aggravent progressivement; le médecin n'est pas informé. La perfusion d'ocytocine continue d'être augmentée. Deux heures plus tard, un bébé flasque naît spontanément; des mesures vigoureuses de réanimation s'avèrent nécessaires. Des convulsions et une défaillance multisystémique ne tardent pas à se manifester, et le bébé décède deux jours plus tard. L'autopsie démontre des changements hypoxiques ischémiques graves au cerveau.

Une action en justice est intentée, alléguant que le médecin a manqué de donner suite au tracé anormal de fréquence cardiaque fœtale et de procéder à une césarienne plus tôt.

Les experts étaient d'avis que le médecin et l'infirmière avaient manqué d'intervenir en temps opportun et qu'un accouchement par césarienne aurait dû être pratiqué quatre heures plus tôt. Les experts de la défense qui ont analysé ce cas ont conclu que le résultat défavorable aurait pu être évité si le médecin avait évalué la patiente en personne lorsque l'infirmière a exprimé ses préoccupations, au lieu d'étudier à distance le tracé de monitorage fœtal électronique.

En l'absence de l'appui des experts, l'ACPM et l'hôpital ont choisi de régler le dossier au nom du médecin membre et de l'infirmière en concluant une transaction avec les parents du bébé.

Gestion des risques du déclenchement du travail – Points à retenir

Les stratégies de gestion des risques suivantes se fondent sur les opinions des experts à l'égard des dossiers analysés :

  • discutez avec la patiente de l'indication pour le déclenchement ainsi que des risques et avantages;
  • documentez la discussion en vue d'obtenir un consentement éclairé;
  • tenez compte de l'expérience des autres professionnels de la santé (p. ex., infirmières, résidents) qui surveillent les patientes en obstétrique à qui on a administré de l'ocytocine;
  • envisagez d'appliquer une électrode de cuir chevelu si le monitorage externe est problématique ou difficile à interpréter;
  • en présence d'un tracé anormal, passez en revue la situation clinique et déterminez s'il est nécessaire de procéder à des investigations supplémentaires ou à l'accouchement;
  • évaluez la disponibilité des ressources pour surveiller adéquatement la patiente et réagir à une situation d'urgence. Anticipez et, lorsque la chose est indiquée, procédez à une césarienne d'urgence en temps opportun;
  • communiquez de façon efficace avec les autres professionnels de la santé
    (p. ex., en songeant à utiliser un outil de communication structurée2).
  • assurez une documentation claire et complète de l'accouchement dans le dossier médical;
  • lorsqu'un événement indésirable se produit, discutez des circonstances et des résultats avec la patiente et sa famille.

De plus, des protocoles clairs sur le déclenchement du travail et l'administration d'ocytocine doivent être en place dans l'établissement et tous les membres du personnel doivent les connaître. Des révisions périodiques aux fins de l'assurance de la qualité sont recommandées.

Les membres qui ont des questions liées à ce sujet, ou qui ont besoin d'aide avec une plainte, une action en justice ou une menace, ne doivent pas hésiter à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils en matière de gestion des risques. Ses médecins-conseils, qui possèdent une longue expérience médico-légale, sont disponibles pour orienter et appuyer les membres confrontés à des problèmes médico-légaux.
 

 

Références

  1. L'Institut pour l'utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada [Internet]. Liste de médicaments de niveau d'alerte élevé de l'ISMP. © ISMP 2012. Document publié en anglais au : http://www.ismp.org/tools/highalertmedications.pdf. Consulté en ligne le 27 septembre 2012.
  2. Bien que l'ACPM ne recommande pas d'outil ou de méthode de communication structurée en particulier, elle encourage leur utilisation.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.