Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Medico-legal aspects of providing mental healthcare to patients

Originally published December 2014
P1405-1-E

The prevalence and impact of mental health conditions are receiving considerable attention. Family physicians, psychiatrists, and other healthcare providers play an important role in caring for patients with mental health conditions. As this area of medicine can often intersect with the law, physicians should be aware of the steps they can take to manage the associated risks.

The CMPA experience

The CMPA reviewed its legal and medical regulatory authority (College) cases that closed between 2009 and 2013 and found that 1,308 involved a patient with a mental health condition. The most frequently identified types of medical practice were psychiatry at 47% and family practice at 42%. The top presenting medical conditions were mood disorders; neuroses; stress-related and somatoform disorders; and disorders due to substance use such as alcohol, opioids, and cocaine.

Documentation (31%), communication with patients (15%), and patient evaluation (14%) were the most common clinical issues related to the care provided. These were followed by medication issues such as managing patient pharmacotherapy and physician prescribing practices, and conduct issues such as the blurring of the boundaries in the doctor-patient relationship.

Competent care

Doctors caring for patients with mental health conditions should have the knowledge and clinical competence to appropriately deliver care. The skills include screening for and detecting mental illness; initiating, monitoring, or discontinuing treatment, when appropriate; providing motivational interventions; supporting self-management, as appropriate; and developing links with other partners in care.1

Collaborative care

Patients are more likely to consult their family physician about a mental health concern than any other healthcare provider. Yet, no single provider can be expected to have the knowledge and skills to provide all the care patients may require. When care is delivered in a collaborative approach, the roles of all health providers should be clearly defined, coordinated, complementary, and responsive to the changing needs of patients. Patients are a key component in their care, understanding that the family doctor, psychiatrist, or other providers will remain involved. The patient, or the family, will need to know at all times who the principal contact should be when a particular problem arises.2

Ideally, psychiatrists and other providers recognize and build on the care provided by family physicians. Doctors are encouraged to communicate with each other and with other providers in a timely and appropriate manner. This can mean integrating the mental healthcare plans of psychiatrists with those of family physicians or other providers, and ensuring that all clinical activities are well coordinated for the benefit of patients.3

When collaborating with other mental health providers, physicians should consider the following:4

  • effective communication, including clear and timely information between themselves, other health providers, patients, and families
  • consultation between and among other physicians and mental health professionals, whether in a primary care setting, a mental health facility, a psychiatrist's office, or by telephone
  • coordinated care plans, including monitoring and discharge plans, and clinical activities to avoid duplication and to guide patients to the appropriate programs or resources
  • integration of activities such as shared care planning and decision making, with care being shared according to the respective skills and availability of participants

Patient assessment and diagnosis

It is important to carry out an adequate and effective assessment of patients with mental health conditions. This may include the need for collateral information from the patient's family, when appropriate. To help make a diagnosis, physicians may wish to consult appropriate mental health screening tools, such as those for depression, anxiety disorders, bipolar disorder, and suicide risk. As a mental health condition may rapidly change, appropriate and timely re-evaluation may be required.

Appropriate prescribing

The use of psychotropic medication is on the rise, and physicians should remain vigilant. This is especially important in cases of off-label prescribing or when prescribing medication to children, youth, and seniors. At all times, a consent discussion should be conducted and documented in the patient's medical record. Moreover, physicians and other healthcare providers should monitor patients who are on medication.

Patient handovers

Patient handovers are high risk points in patient care, and require the transfer of adequate and correct information to support patient safety and continuity of care. In hospitals, an important issue to consider when treating patients with mental health conditions is the interaction between emergency physicians and psychiatrists, and between day and night psychiatrists, particularly in relation to patient handovers. Physicians should follow the institution's protocols for handovers, including the transfer of care related to consultations, as well as responsibilities for patient monitoring, treatment, and discharge decisions. And handovers should be documented in the medical record.

Effective and clear communication between healthcare providers is also essential to safe patient handovers in community settings. When multiple physicians and other healthcare providers are involved in caring for patients with mental health conditions, providers should confirm that the reason for the transfer of care is clear to all involved (for example, family physician and psychiatrist). Doctors and other providers should also verify that the roles and responsibilities of each care contributor are clear to the patient and family, as well as to other members of the team.

Consent, privacy, and other considerations

Physicians are always required to obtain consent prior to non-emergent treatment. Consent must be voluntary, patients must have the capacity to consent, and they must be properly informed by their doctors. Patients who are suffering from mental incapacity may still retain sufficient mental ability to give valid consent for medical treatment. Much depends on whether the patient is able to adequately appreciate the nature of the condition, the proposed treatment, its anticipated effect, the alternatives, and the potential consequences of treatment refusal. The laws applicable in most provinces and territories provide a means to obtain substitute consent when the patient is incapable of giving valid consent by reason of immaturity or incapacity. Finally, the determinant of capacity in a minor has become the extent to which the young person's physical, mental, and emotional development will allow for a full appreciation of the nature and consequences of the proposed treatment, including the refusal of such treatments. In Québec, youth can provide consent for care if they have the capacity and are 14 years of age or older. Doctors should be familiar with the applicable legislation in their jurisdiction.

On the privacy front, physicians are well-aware that privacy and confidentiality of patient information is critical. This is equally important when considering mental health information, and particularly relevant due to the stigma that may be associated with these conditions.

In terms of the release of mental health patient information to third parties, there are occasions when a physician's duty to society may outweigh the obligation of physician-patient confidentiality, thereby justifying the voluntary disclosure of information about a patient to the appropriate authority. Facts such as a clear risk to an identifiable person or group of persons, the risk of serious bodily harm or death, and whether the danger is imminent should be considered in determining whether information about a patient may be disclosed without the individual's consent. Physicians should be knowledgeable about applicable legislation and statutes regarding confidentiality and privacy. The CMPA is available for advice in these matters.

Telepsychiatry

As telemedicine grows, more patients access mental health services through interactive videoconferencing, or telepsychiatry. Physicians participating in telepsychiatry should be aware of the salient regulatory, administrative, and clinical issues associated with this form of healthcare delivery.5 These include matters of licensing, credentialing, and jurisdiction; applicable College guidelines or policies; and standards for videoconferencing systems. Physicians should follow any established protocols or procedures specific to each of the telepsychiatry services offered. When orienting a patient to telepsychiatry, consent for this mode of care delivery should be obtained and documented in the medical record. In addition, doctors should be attentive to their communication styles and interactions when using this form of healthcare delivery. Issues of patient assessment, diagnosis, and care planning remain just as important with interactive videoconferencing as in face-to-face encounters.

Risk management tips

The CMPA suggests all physicians caring for patients with mental health conditions consider the following risk management tips:

  • Consider whether the patient should be assessed before treatment decisions are made or before medication is prescribed.
  • Obtain a thorough medical history that includes risk factors (e.g. medications, suicide risk assessment), family history, and collateral information (e.g. medical records, speaking with family) to obtain a comprehensive assessment of the patient. A deficient evaluation can contribute to potential underestimation of the risk for self-harm or harm to others, and the inappropriate prescription or tapering of medications.
  • Obtain informed consent for all non-emergent treatment, including when using electronic communication channels to deliver care, such as telepsychiatry.
  • Document comprehensively, clearly, and at the time of patient contact. When appropriate, documentation should include a clear diagnosis and treatment plan. Medication records should contain justification for any changes made to the patient's medication regime.
  • Communicate to the patient, and family when appropriate, any treatment changes or potential side effects and adverse reaction to prescription medications.
  • Communicate openly, sensitively, respectfully, and professionally with the patient and family.



References

  1. College of Family Physicians of Canada, Canadian Psychiatric Association, "The evolution of collaborative mental health care in Canada: A shared vision for the future," Canadian Journal of Psychiatry (2011) Vol. 56 No. 5
  2. Canadian Psychiatric Association, College of Family Physicians of Canada, "Shared mental health care in Canada: Current status, commentary and recommendations," December 2000. Accessed on June 10, 2014 from: http://www.cfpc.ca/uploadedFiles/Directories/_PDFs/sharedmentalcare.pdf
  3. College of Family Physicians of Canada, Canadian Psychiatric Association, "The evolution of collaborative mental health care in Canada: A shared vision for the future," Canadian Journal of Psychiatry (2011) Vol. 56 No. 5
  4. Ibid
  5. Shore, Jay H., "Telepsychiatry: Videoconferencing in the delivery of psychiatric care," American Journal of Psychiatry (2013) Vol. 170 No. 3. Accessed on July 25, 2014 from: http://ajp.psychiatryonline.org/article.aspx?articleID=1655117

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Aspects médico-légaux de la prestation de soins en santé mentale

Publié initialement en décembre 2014
P1405-1-F

La prévalence et l'incidence des problèmes de santé mentale font l'objet de beaucoup d'attention. Les omnipraticiens, les psychiatres et les autres professionnels de la santé jouent un rôle important dans la prestation de soins aux patients atteints de problèmes de santé mentale. Il arrive souvent que ce domaine de la médecine et le droit s'entrecroisent : aussi, les médecins doivent-ils être conscients des mesures à prendre pour gérer les risques qui y sont associés.

L'expérience de l'ACPM

Dans le cadre d'une analyse de ses dossiers médico-légaux liés à des actions en justice et à des plaintes déposées aux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), conclus entre 2009 et 2013, l'ACPM a dénombré 1 308 dossiers où le patient présentait un problème de santé mentale. Les genres de travail les plus souvent en cause étaient la psychiatrie (47 %) et la médecine familiale (42 %). Les problèmes médicaux les plus fréquents étaient les troubles de l'humeur, les névroses, les troubles liés au stress et les troubles somatoformes, ainsi que les troubles dus à la consommation de substances telles l'alcool, les opioïdes et la cocaïne.

Les problèmes cliniques les plus fréquents en ce qui a trait aux soins prodigués étaient la documentation (31 %), la communication avec le patient (15 %) et l'évaluation du patient (14 %). Viennent ensuite les problèmes de médication tels la gestion de la pharmacothérapie du patient et les pratiques de prescription du médecin, ainsi que les problèmes de conduite tels la transgression des limites, les actions inappropriées et l'inconduite professionnelle.

Soins compétents

Les médecins qui prodiguent des soins aux patients atteints de problèmes de santé mentale doivent posséder les connaissances et les compétences cliniques nécessaires à la prestation appropriée des soins, c'est à dire pour : dépister et détecter la maladie mentale; commencer, surveiller ou cesser le traitement, le cas échéant; fournir de brèves interventions motivationnelles; appuyer la prise en charge personnelle, le cas échéant; et établir des liens avec les autres partenaires de soins1.

Soins interprofessionnels

Les patients sont davantage susceptibles de consulter leur médecin de famille au sujet d'un problème de santé mentale que tout autre professionnel de la santé. Or, on ne peut s'attendre à ce qu'un seul intervenant ait les connaissances et les compétences voulues pour dispenser tous les soins requis par les patients. Lorsque les soins sont prodigués selon une approche interprofessionnelle, les rôles de tous les professionnels de la santé devraient être clairement définis, coordonnés et complémentaires, et tenir compte des besoins changeants des patients. Les patients doivent participer activement à leurs soins et bien comprendre que l'omnipraticien, le psychiatre et les autres professionnels continueront à participer aux soins. Le patient, ou sa famille, doit savoir en tout temps avec qui communiquer lorsque survient un problème particulier2.

Idéalement, les psychiatres et les autres professionnels de la santé reconnaissent et renforcent les soins prodigués par les médecins de famille. Tous les médecins devraient communiquer entre eux, ainsi qu'avec les autres professionnels de la santé, en temps opportun et de façon appropriée. Cela peut signifier l'intégration des plans de soins de santé mentale des psychiatres à ceux des omnipraticiens ou des autres professionnels ainsi que la coordination de toutes les activités cliniques pour le bien du patient3.

Lorsque les médecins collaborent avec d'autres professionnels de la santé mentale, ils devraient tenir compte des éléments suivants4 :

  • la communication efficace, notamment l'échange d'information claire, en temps opportun, entre eux, ainsi qu'avec d'autres professionnels de la santé, les patients et les familles
  • la consultation entre les autres médecins et les professionnels de la santé mentale, que ce soit en milieu de soins de première ligne, dans un établissement de soins de santé mentale, dans un cabinet de psychiatre ou par téléphone
  • la coordination des plans de soins, y compris les plans de surveillance et de congés, et des activités cliniques permettant d'éviter le chevauchement et de diriger les patients vers les ressources ou les programmes appropriés
  • l'intégration des activités telle la planification et la prise de décisions en matière de soins interprofessionnels, les soins étant partagés selon les compétences respectives et la disponibilité des participants.

Évaluation du patient et diagnostic

Il est important d'effectuer une évaluation adéquate et efficace des patients atteints de problèmes de santé mentale. Cela peut nécessiter l'obtention de renseignements accessoires auprès de la famille du patient, le cas échéant. Pour contribuer à l'établissement d'un diagnostic, le médecin voudra peut-être consulter les outils de dépistage appropriés en santé mentale, par exemple pour la dépression, les troubles d'anxiété, le trouble bipolaire et le risque de suicide. Puisqu'un problème de santé mentale peut évoluer rapidement, une réévaluation appropriée en temps opportun peut s'avérer nécessaire.

Prescription appropriée

Le recours aux médicaments psychotropes est à la hausse et les médecins doivent donc demeurer vigilants. Cela est particulièrement important en cas de prescription de médicaments pour un usage non conforme ou pour des enfants, des adolescents et des personnes âgées. En tout temps, une discussion en vue d'obtenir le consentement doit avoir lieu et être documentée dans le dossier médical du patient. Par ailleurs, les patients qui prennent des médicaments doivent faire l'objet d'une surveillance de la part des médecins et des autres professionnels de la santé.

Transferts des soins

Les transferts des soins étant associés à un degré considérable de risque, ils nécessitent la transmission d'informations pertinentes et exactes pour favoriser la sécurité du patient et la continuité des soins. Dans le cas de soins prodigués à des patients atteints de problèmes de santé mentale en milieu hospitalier, il est important de tenir compte de l'interaction entre les urgentologues et les psychiatres, ainsi qu'entre les psychiatres travaillant de jour et de nuit, notamment en ce qui concerne les transferts des soins. Les médecins devraient suivre les protocoles de l'établissement en ce qui a trait aux transferts, y compris lors du transfert des soins pour consultation, ainsi qu'aux responsabilités à l'égard de la surveillance du patient, du traitement et du congé. Enfin, les transferts doivent être documentés dans le dossier médical.

Une communication claire et efficace entre les professionnels de la santé est aussi essentielle à la sécurité des transferts des soins en milieu communautaire. Lorsque de nombreux médecins et autres professionnels de la santé prodiguent des soins aux patients atteints de problèmes de santé mentale, les professionnels devraient confirmer que la raison du transfert des soins est claire pour toutes les personnes participant aux soins (par exemple, l'omnipraticien et le psychiatre). Les médecins et les autres professionnels devraient aussi vérifier que les rôles et responsabilités de chaque intervenant sont clairs pour le patient, sa famille et les autres membres de l'équipe.

Consentement, vie privée et autres considérations

Les médecins sont toujours tenus d'obtenir un consentement avant d'administrer un traitement non urgent. Le consentement doit être accordé librement, le patient doit être apte à consentir et il doit avoir été informé correctement par ses médecins. Un patient jugé inapte en raison de maladie mentale peut tout de même être suffisamment apte pour donner un consentement valide à un traitement médical. Tout dépend de son aptitude à apprécier adéquatement la nature du problème, le traitement proposé, les effets escomptés, les solutions de rechange et les conséquences possibles d'un refus du traitement. Les lois applicables dans la plupart des provinces et des territoires permettent d'obtenir un consentement au nom d'autrui lorsque le patient ne peut accorder un consentement valide en raison d'immaturité ou d'inaptitude. Enfin, le facteur déterminant de l'aptitude d'un enfant à accorder ou à refuser son consentement consiste à savoir si son développement physique, mental et émotionnel lui permet de bien comprendre la nature du traitement proposé ainsi que les conséquences de recevoir ou de ne pas recevoir ce traitement. Au Québec, un jeune qui est apte et âgé de 14 ans et plus peut accorder son consentement aux soins. Les médecins devraient connaître les lois applicables dans leur province ou territoire.

Sur le plan de la vie privée, les médecins sont très conscients de l'importance critique de la confidentialité et de la protection des renseignements des patients. Cela est tout aussi important lorsqu'il s'agit de renseignements sur la santé mentale, et particulièrement pertinent en raison de la stigmatisation qui peut être associée à de tels problèmes.

En termes de divulgation à des tiers de renseignements sur la santé mentale d'un patient, il existe des circonstances où les devoirs du médecin envers la société l'emportent sur ses obligations de confidentialité et justifient la divulgation volontaire de renseignements sur un patient à l'autorité compétente. Pour déterminer s'il y a lieu de divulguer des renseignements au sujet d'un patient sans son consentement, il faut considérer les facteurs suivants qui permettent de déterminer si la situation met clairement en danger une personne ou un groupe de personnes, risque de causer des lésions graves ou d'entraîner la mort et représente un danger imminent. Les médecins devraient connaître les lois et règlements applicables en matière de confidentialité et de protection de la vie privée. Les médecins peuvent communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils sur ces questions.

Télépsychiatrie

Grâce à l'évolution de la télémédecine, de plus en plus de patients accèdent à des services de santé mentale par le biais de la vidéoconférence interactive ou de la télépsychiatrie. Les médecins qui prodiguent des services de télépsychiatrie doivent être conscients des principaux enjeux réglementaires, administratifs et cliniques associés à cette forme de prestation de soins5. Ces enjeux comprennent les questions liées à l'octroi du permis, aux titres professionnels et à la compétence provinciale ou territoriale; les directives ou les politiques applicables du Collège; et les normes associées aux systèmes de vidéoconférence. Les médecins devraient suivre tout protocole ou toute procédure établie relative à chacun des services de télépsychiatrie offerts. Au moment de diriger un patient en télépsychiatrie, il y a lieu d'obtenir un consentement à ce mode de prestation des soins et de le documenter dans le dossier médical. De plus, les médecins devraient prêter attention à leurs styles de communication et à leurs interactions lorsqu'ils utilisent cette forme de prestation des soins. Les questions d'évaluation du patient, de diagnostic et de planification des soins demeurent tout aussi importantes dans le cadre des vidéoconférences interactives que des rencontres en personne.

Conseils en matière de gestion des risques

L'ACPM suggère à tous les médecins qui prodiguent des soins à des patients atteints de problèmes de santé mentale de tenir compte des conseils suivants en matière de gestion des risques :

  • Déterminer s'il y a lieu d'évaluer le patient avant de prendre des décisions de traitement ou de prescrire des médicaments.
  • Obtenir une anamnèse complète qui comprend les facteurs de risque (p. ex., médicaments, évaluation du risque de suicide), les antécédents familiaux et les renseignements accessoires (p. ex., dossiers médicaux, discussion avec la famille) afin d'effectuer une évaluation exhaustive du patient. Une évaluation incomplète peut contribuer à la sous-estimation du risque de danger pour lui-même ou pour les autres, et à la prescription ou la réduction inappropriée des médicaments.
  • Obtenir un consentement éclairé pour tout traitement non urgent, y compris l'utilisation d'une voie de communication électronique pour prodiguer des soins, telle la télépsychiatrie.
  • Documenter de façon exhaustive et claire au moment de la rencontre avec le patient. Le cas échéant, la documentation devrait préciser un diagnostic clair et un plan de traitement. La justification de tout changement apporté au régime médicamenteux du patient devrait être consignée dans le dossier pharmaceutique.
  • Communiquer au patient, et le cas échéant à sa famille, tout changement relatif au traitement ou tout effet secondaire ou réaction indésirable possible aux médicaments sur ordonnance.
  • Communiquer ouvertement avec le patient et sa famille en faisant preuve de délicatesse, de respect et de professionnalisme.



Références

  1. Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, Association des psychiatres du Canada, « L'évolution des soins de santé mentale en collaboration au Canada : Une vision d'avenir partagée » – La revue canadienne de psychiatrie (2011) vol. 56, no 5.
  2. Association des psychiatres du Canada, Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, « Les soins de santé mentale partagés au Canada : État actuel, commentaires et recommandations », décembre 2000. Consulté le 7 octobre, 2014.
    http://cfpc.ca/uploadedFiles/Resources/Resource_Items/Health_Professionals/sharedmentalcare_fr.pdf
  3. Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, Association des psychiatres du Canada, « L'évolution des soins de santé mentale en collaboration au Canada : Une vision d'avenir partagée », La revue canadienne de psychiatrie (2011) vol. 56, no 5.
  4. Ibid.
  5. Shore, Jay H., « Telepsychiatry: Videoconferencing in the delivery of psychiatric care, » American Journal of Psychiatry (2013) vol. 170, no 3. Consulté le 7 octobre 2014.
    http://ajp.psychiatryonline.org/article.aspx?articleID=1655117

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.