Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Medico-legal risks with fetal heart monitoring

Originally published September 2014
P1403-6-E

The role of fetal surveillance in the antepartum and intrapartum periods is to monitor fetal well-being, as well as to help recognize potential fetal compromise and the need for further intervention or delivery. Identifying the areas of risk associated with fetal heart rate monitoring may reduce adverse perinatal outcomes and medico-legal problems for members who provide antepartum and intrapartum care.

The CMPA reviewed its medico-legal cases that opened between 2002 and 2013 and involved issues with fetal heart rate (FHR) monitoring; 199 cases were identified, of which 162 were closed. The majority of cases were legal actions (82%), followed by complaints to a medical regulatory authority (College) (15%), a hospital (2%), or an inquest (1%). Seventy-three per cent of the cases had an unfavourable outcome for the member. Obstetricians represented 63% of the physicians involved in the cases, while family physicians represented 31%. Other involved physicians included pediatricians, residents, and anesthesiologists.

The cases were grouped into intrapartum and antepartum periods, allowing the FHR monitoring issues to be presented for each period; in 4% of the cases, issues were found in both periods. Common problems in assessment, interpretation, and management are presented for each period.

Antepartum

The antepartum period, consisting of care provided before labour commenced, represented 14% of the cases. Most babies in these cases were stillborn. The mothers were primarily at term or post-term.

Assessment and interpretation

Two main issues were found in the assessment step. The first was a failure or delay in performing specific diagnostic tests, particularly a non-stress test (NST) or a biophysical profile (BPP), when risk factors for adverse perinatal outcomes were identified. Significant risk factors included gestational hypertension, intrauterine growth restriction (IUGR), post-term, and decreased fetal movement. The second issue was not continuing the NST for a longer period of time or repeating the test when an atypical or abnormal NST was present or once risk factors were identified.

In the interpretation step, the NST was misinterpreted as normal. In some cases, the mother complained of decreased fetal movement. The following case demonstrates what could happen when tests are misinterpreted.

Case example: Misinterpretation of non-stress test

A morbidly obese primiparous woman at 38 weeks arrives at a high-risk unit and reports decreased fetal movement for 24 hours. This is her second visit in 3 days. A non-stress test is interpreted as normal. The on-call obstetrician reassures the patient and tells her to follow-up with her regular obstetrician at her next appointment in 4 days. At that appointment, no FHR is found and an ultrasound confirms intrauterine fetal death. The patient is admitted for induction.

A College complaint is initiated and the committee cautions the obstetrician for misinterpreting the NST as normal. The committee, with the assistance of an expert, states that he should have either continued the NST until improvement was seen or performed a biophysical profile (BPP).
 

Management

There were indications from the antenatal fetal testing that further intervention was required. In many of these cases, the experts were of the opinion that the patient should have been admitted, referred to a specialist, or transferred to a high-risk unit or tertiary centre. In other cases, the delivery should have been expedited.

Intrapartum

The intrapartum period, care during labour and delivery, represented 82% of the cases in this review. The majority of the babies had catastrophic clinical outcomes (e.g. spastic quadriplegic cerebral palsy, developmental disorders). The mothers were predominantly at term. Cases which involved medical induction or augmentation were excluded, since these were included in the article "Medico-legal risks with induction of labour."

Assessment and interpretation

Inadequate fetal surveillance was the main problem in the assessment step and included a delay or failure to order continuous fetal heart monitoring, insert a fetal scalp electrode (FSE) when external tracing was difficult to interpret, or obtain a fetal scalp pH in the presence of abnormal tracings. Delays in recognizing the fetal heart rate tracing abnormalities were also issues in the interpretation step.

Management

Timely attendance was one of the issues in this phase, particularly after being informed of an atypical or abnormal FHR tracing, prolonged second stage of labour, or diagnosis of breech presentation. Another significant issue was a delayed intervention, either by Caesarean section or by instrumental delivery. The next case illustrates the importance of timely attendance and early intervention.

Case example: Delay in attending and performing C-section

A primiparous woman is admitted in early labour at 39 weeks and 4 days gestation; contractions are 5 minutes apart. Electronic fetal monitoring (EFM) shows minimal variability. Two hours later, the family physician (FP) artificially ruptures the patient's membranes revealing thick meconium. He places a FSE one hour later and notes no improvement in the tracing. Looking for a second opinion on the minimal variability and the thick meconium, the FP consults the on-call obstetrician. The obstetrician orders an epidural, assesses the patient 2 hours later, and orders an urgent Caesarean section for fetal distress. The infant is delivered approximately one hour later and requires active resuscitation. The child has spastic quadriplegic cerebral palsy and severe global developmental delay.

A legal action ensues. Experts are critical of the obstetrician for ordering an epidural without first assessing the patient, taking two hours to arrive to assess the patient, and delaying performing an emergency Caesarean section. Experts also comment that the physician's interpretation of the tracing may not have taken into consideration the paper speed of 1 cm/min.; more worrisome was the absence of fetal monitoring in the 50-minute period prior to the delivery. A settlement was paid to the patient by the CMPA on behalf of the member obstetrician.

 

Contributing factors

In two-thirds of the cases, other members of the care team or system-related issues played a part in delaying the diagnosis of potential fetal compromise.

Monitoring issues for nurses and midwives were identified. These included not appreciating the severity of the fetal heart tracing, not contacting the physician when having difficulty monitoring or obtaining the FHR, and not instituting continuous electronic fetal monitoring. Communication problems between the physicians and nurses also contributed. Frequently a nurse did not provide accurate information about significant changes in the FHR tracing, and the physician did not ask enough questions to be satisfied about the clinical condition and EFM interpretation.

Problems in the hospital were system-related and most often due to inadequate staffing or equipment. In one case, elective surgical cases were in progress when an urgent Caesarean section was called and there was no available operating room.

Other contributing factors were related to the maternal obesity, as identified in a case where the mother and the fetal heart rate may have been confused. The FHR tracing (i.e. quality and speed, of 1, 2 or 3, centimetres per minute) may also have been a factor in another.

Risk management considerations

Based on the review of the expert opinions in the medico-legal cases involving issues with fetal heart monitoring, the following risk management considerations were identified.

Antepartum

Assessment and interpretation

  • If the fetal heart rate is difficult to obtain in the antepartum period, consider other fetal evaluation methods such as ultrasound and BPP.

Management

  • When there is an atypical or abnormal non-stress test consider further testing, continued monitoring, or consultation with another physician.

Intrapartum

Assessment and interpretation

  • Policies and procedures should be in place to guide the level of monitoring required for women with risk factors.
  • Clear policies and procedures should be in place to guide the interpretation and management of atypical or abnormal fetal heart rate tracings.
  • Consider the speed of EFM tracing when interpreting the tracing.

Management

  • Consider applying a fetal scalp electrode if the external monitoring is inadequate or difficult to interpret.
  • When consulting another physician or specialist:
    • clearly communicate the clinical situation
    • provide the reason for the consultation
    • convey the urgency of the consultation, as appropriate
  • Provide sufficient and clear communication with the members of the team during assessments and handovers.
  • Clearly communicate the urgency when delivery is required in the presence of a persistently abnormal fetal heart rate. Adequately disseminate the urgency to other members of the team.

Both periods

  • Document all aspects of the care provided in the antepartum and intrapartum periods accurately and in a timely manner.
  • In cases of adverse outcomes and events, discuss the circumstances and outcomes with the patient and her family, and document the discussion in the record.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Surveillance de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale : les risques médico-légaux

Publié initialement en septembre 2014
P1403-6-F

La surveillance fœtale, en périodes ante et intrapartum, consiste à vérifier le bien-être du fœtus et à déceler la détresse fœtale, ainsi qu'à déterminer la nécessité de procéder à une intervention plus poussée ou à l'accouchement. La détermination des risques associés à la surveillance de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale (FCF) pourrait permettre de réduire le nombre de résultats périnataux défavorables, ainsi que les problèmes médico-légaux, chez les médecins qui prodiguent des soins en périodes ante et intrapartum.

Une analyse des dossiers de l'ACPM associés à la surveillance de la fréquence fœtale, et ouverts entre 2002 et 2013, a révélé 199 instances de problèmes médico-légaux; de ce nombre, 162 dossiers sont conclus. Les actions en justice (82 %) représentaient la majorité des dossiers, suivies de plaintes (15 %) auprès des organismes de réglementation (Collèges), puis de plaintes intrahospitalières (2 %) et d'une enquête du coroner (1 %). Dans 73 % des dossiers, le résultat s'est révélé défavorable pour le médecin membre. La répartition des dossiers selon le genre de travail des médecins s'établit comme suit : des obstétriciens dans 63 % des instances et des omnipraticiens dans 31 %. D'autres médecins, des pédiatres, des résidents et des anesthésiologistes, ont également fait face à de tels problèmes.

Les dossiers ont été regroupés en fonction de la période ante ou intrapartum, ce qui a permis de présenter séparément les problèmes associés à la surveillance de la FCF pour chacune de ces périodes; dans 4 % des dossiers, des problèmes étaient décelés au cours des deux périodes. Les problèmes communs à l'égard de l'évaluation, de l'interprétation et de la prise en charge sont présentés ci-dessous pour chacune de ces périodes.

Période antepartum

Les problèmes relevés au cours de la période antepartum, où des soins sont prodigués avant le début du travail, représentent 14 % des dossiers. Dans la plupart de ces dossiers, il s'agit de bébés mort-nés. La majorité des mères ont eu une grossesse à terme ou prolongée.

Évaluation et interprétation

Deux problèmes principaux ont été décelés à l'étape de l'évaluation. Le premier était le défaut ou le retard d'exécution de tests diagnostiques précis, en particulier un examen de réactivité fœtale (ERF) ou un profil biophysique lorsque des facteurs de risque associés à des résultats périnataux défavorables avaient été déterminés. Les facteurs de risque importants incluaient l'hypertension gravidique, le retard de croissance intra-utérine (RCIU), la grossesse prolongée et la diminution des mouvements fœtaux. Le second problème portait sur le fait que l'ERF n'avait pas été prolongé ou répété lorsque les résultats étaient anormaux ou atypiques ou lorsqu'un facteur de risque avait été déterminé.

Dans certains dossiers, l'ERF a été interprété à tort comme étant normal. Dans d'autres, la mère avait signalé la diminution des mouvements fœtaux. Les exemples de cas suivants démontrent ce qui peut survenir lorsque des examens sont mal interprétés.

Exemple de cas : Mauvaise interprétation d'un examen de réactivité fœtale

Une patiente enceinte de 38 semaines, primipare et atteinte d'obésité morbide se présente à l'unité de grossesse à risque parce qu'elle a remarqué une diminution des mouvements fœtaux depuis 24 heures. C'est la deuxième fois qu'elle vient à l'hôpital en trois jours. On effectue un examen de réactivité fœtale qui est interprété comme étant normal. L'obstétricien de garde rassure la patiente et lui demande de faire le suivi avec son obstétricien lors de son prochain rendez-vous dans quatre jours. Lors de ce rendez-vous, on ne perçoit pas de FCF et l'échographie confirme la mortalité intra-utérine. La patiente est hospitalisée pour l'induction du travail.

Une plainte est déposée au Collège et le comité émet une mise en garde à l'obstétricien pour avoir interprété l'ERF comme étant normal. Les membres du comité, avec l'appui d'un expert, ont déclaré que l'obstétricien aurait dû poursuivre l'ERF jusqu'à ce qu'il observe une amélioration ou effectuer un profil biophysique.
 

Prise en charge

Les examens prénataux du fœtus laissaient supposer que des interventions supplémentaires seraient requises. Dans plusieurs de ces dossiers, les experts étaient d'avis que les patientes auraient dû être hospitalisées, dirigées vers un spécialiste ou transférées dans une unité de grossesse à risque ou un établissement de soins tertiaires. Toutefois, dans d'autres dossiers, on aurait dû déclencher ou accélérer l'accouchement.

Période intrapartum

Les problèmes relevés au cours de la période intrapartum, où des soins sont prodigués pendant le travail et l'accouchement, représentaient 82 % des dossiers analysés. La majorité des bébés avait subi des résultats cliniques catastrophiques (p. ex., quadriplégie spastique, troubles du développement). La plupart des mères avaient eu une grossesse à terme. Tous les dossiers associés au déclenchement ou à l'accélération du travail ont été exclus, puisqu'ils avaient déjà été traités dans l'article « Gestion des risques du déclenchement du travail ».

Évaluation et interprétation

L'analyse a révélé qu'une surveillance fœtale inadéquate constituait le principal problème à l'étape de l'évaluation. Ceci incluait également les retards ou les manquements à prescrire une surveillance de la FCF et l'installation d'une électrode sur le cuir chevelu du fœtus lorsque le tracé du moniteur était difficile à interpréter ou l'obtention d'un dosage du pH par prélèvement au cuir chevelu du fœtus lorsque les tracés étaient anormaux. Les retards dans la reconnaissance d'anomalies du tracé de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale constituaient aussi des problèmes associés à l'étape de l'interprétation.

Prise en charge

L'un des problèmes associés à l'étape de la prise en charge était l'absence d'intervention pratiquée en temps opportun, et ce, lorsque le médecin avait pourtant été informé d'une anomalie dans le tracé de FCF, d'un second stade de travail prolongé ou du diagnostic de présentation de siège. Les retards dans les interventions, que ce soit une césarienne ou un accouchement à l'aide de forceps ou de ventouse, représentaient un autre problème important. L'exemple de cas suivant illustre l'importance d'assurer une prise en charge et de pratiquer une intervention en temps voulu.

Exemple de cas : Retard dans la prise en charge et l'exécution d'une césarienne

Une patiente primipare est hospitalisée en raison d'un travail précoce à 39 semaines et 4 jours de grossesse; ses contractions sont toutes les cinq minutes. La surveillance de la FCF montre un rythme assez stable. Deux heures plus tard, l'omnipraticien procède à la rupture artificielle des membranes, ce qui entraîne l'écoulement d'un méconium épais. Il installe une électrode au cuir chevelu du fœtus et consigne que le tracé ne montre aucune amélioration. L'omnipraticien veut obtenir une seconde opinion au sujet de la variabilité minimale et de la consistance du méconium; il consulte donc l'obstétricien de garde. Ce dernier prescrit une anesthésie épidurale, évalue la patiente deux heures plus tard et demande une césarienne d'urgence en raison de la détresse fœtale. Environ une heure plus tard, la patiente accouche, mais le nouveau-né doit être réanimé. Le bébé présente une quadriplégie spastique et un retard de développement général important.

Une action en justice s'ensuit. Les experts ne peuvent accorder leur appui à l'obstétricien, car celui-ci avait prescrit une épidurale sans effectuer d'évaluation, avait pris deux heures avant de se présenter auprès de la patiente et avait ainsi retardé la césarienne qui aurait dû être pratiquée d'urgence. Les experts ont également critiqué l'interprétation du tracé faite par le médecin puisque ce dernier n'avait pas nécessairement pris en compte la vitesse de déroulement du papier (1 cm/min.); selon eux, l'absence de surveillance fœtale pendant les 50 minutes précédant l'accouchement représentait un fait encore plus inquiétant. L'ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier au nom de l'obstétricien en concluant une transaction avec la patiente.
 

Facteurs contributifs

Dans les deux tiers des dossiers analysés, ce sont d'autres membres de l'équipe soignante ou des problèmes associés au système qui ont contribué au retard dans le diagnostic d'une détresse fœtale possible.

Des problèmes associés à la surveillance par les infirmières et les sages-femmes ont aussi été décelés : entre autres, une mauvaise interprétation de la gravité du tracé fœtal, un manque de communication avec le médecin en présence de difficulté dans la surveillance ou l'obtention de la FCF, et le défaut de mettre en place une surveillance électronique continue du fœtus. Les problèmes de communication entre les médecins et les infirmières ont aussi représenté des facteurs contributifs. Souvent, l'infirmière ne fournissait pas des renseignements précis sur les changements importants du tracé de FCF et le médecin ne posait pas suffisamment de questions pour se faire une idée de l'état clinique du fœtus et de l'interprétation du tracé.

Les problèmes en milieu hospitalier étaient également associés au système et ont été, pour la plupart, causés par du personnel ou de l'équipement inadéquat. Dans l'un des dossiers, des interventions chirurgicales non urgentes étaient en cours lorsqu'une césarienne d'urgence a été annoncée alors qu'aucune salle d'opération n'était libre.

L'obésité maternelle a été un autre facteur contributif, tel que déterminé dans l'un des dossiers où la fréquence cardiaque de la mère et celle du fœtus ont pu être confondues. Dans un autre dossier, le tracé de FCF (c.-à-d. qualité et vitesse, 1, 2 ou 3 cm par min.) a également pu constituer un facteur.

Gestion des risques

Selon l'analyse des opinions des experts dans les dossiers médico-légaux associés à la surveillance de la FCF, les considérations suivantes, en matière de gestion des risques, ont été formulées.

Période antepartum

Évaluation et interprétation

  • Si la FCF est difficile à percevoir, envisagez d'autres méthodes d'évaluation telles que l'échographie et le profil biophysique.

Prise en charge

  • Songez à effectuer d'autres examens, à assurer une surveillance continue ou à consulter un collègue lorsque l'ERF est anormal ou atypique.

Période intrapartum

Évaluation et interprétation

  • Des politiques et des procédures doivent être en place pour déterminer le niveau de surveillance requis chez les patientes ayant des facteurs de risque.
  • Des politiques et procédures claires doivent être en place pour orienter l'interprétation et la prise en charge des tracés de FCF anormaux ou atypiques.
  • Prenez en compte la vitesse de déroulement du tracé de surveillance électronique du fœtus lors de l'interprétation du tracé.

Prise en charge

  • Pensez à installer une électrode au cuir chevelu du fœtus si la surveillance externe est inadéquate ou difficile à interpréter.
  • Lorsque vous consultez un autre médecin ou un spécialiste :
    • communiquez clairement la situation clinique
    • fournissez la raison de la consultation
    • faites comprendre l'urgence de la consultation, s'il y a lieu
  • Communiquez clairement et suffisamment avec les membres de l'équipe pendant les évaluations et les transferts de soins.
  • Communiquez clairement l'urgence de procéder à l'accouchement si la FCF demeure anormale. Faites connaître adéquatement l'urgence de la situation aux membres de l'équipe.

Éléments communs aux deux périodes

  • Documentez avec précision et en temps opportun tous les aspects des soins prodigués dans les périodes antepartum et intrapartum.
  • Dans les cas de résultats défavorables et d'événements indésirables (accidents au Québec), parlez des circonstances et des résultats avec la patiente et les membres de sa famille, et documentez la discussion au dossier.

 


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.