Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

On message: The physician as spokesperson

Originally published October 2014
P1404-2-E

Physicians are influential in many healthcare settings and sometimes in matters outside of medicine and healthcare. As a result, doctors can be called on to give medical opinions or officially represent an institution, specialty society, community of practice, disease-related association, or other volunteer association.

Consider the following case examples in which doctors may find themselves as a spokesperson:

  • A physician commenting to the media on youth mental health following a high-profile news story about a school homicide.
  • A doctor addressing the community about a disease outbreak at the local hospital.
  • A physician participating in the development of clinical practice guidelines with their medical specialty society.
  • A physician helping to raise money for a charitable organization focused on research and disease prevention.

In each of these situations, physicians likely have the expertise to act as the official spokesperson for their healthcare institution or for other activities. In their official capacity, doctors can play an important role in reaching a broad audience or a specific group, building positive relations with key stakeholders, connecting with important influencers, or helping to manage an institution's reputation.

Communicating clearly

Doctors can do much of the above by leveraging traditional or new media. This includes television and radio interviews, newspaper articles, online content, and social media. In all of these situations, physicians should communicate clearly and succinctly, and it is best to simplify medical information for easier understanding. This means making an effort to speak and write in plain, unambiguous language to avoid confusion or misinterpretation of information.

Physicians acting as advocates should avoid impulsive or malicious verbal or written commentary. They should also be aware that statements diminishing another person's reputation may be considered defamatory.

Leveraging social media

As reliance on social media expands, physicians may be asked to participate in social media outreach campaigns on behalf of an institution, a health-related organization, or another cause. It should be clear on whose behalf physicians are speaking — an organization, an institution, a volunteer group, or simply presenting their personal viewpoint. Doctors speaking on behalf of an organization should have the authorization to do so. Physicians should also provide on-topic posts and comments, and respect the specific boundaries, terms and conditions, and guidelines set by each site, social network, or community. Doctors should ensure any statements they make on social media are accurate, and should correct any misrepresentations or inaccuracies as soon as possible.

Physicians choosing to speak on behalf of a patient or a patient's family should obtain written consent in advance.

Following medical regulatory authority guidance

When speaking publicly or acting as an official spokesperson, physicians should follow any applicable policies or guidelines from their medical regulatory authority (College), institutions in which they practise, or regional authority guidance. For example, many Colleges have policies or guidelines pertaining to advertising and communicating with the public. Professional advertisements are generally permissible when they serve a legitimate purpose of providing the public with factual and relevant information about the nature of the physician's practice.

Protecting patient information

Physicians speaking publicly also need to be aware of patients' rights regarding the collection, use, disclosure, and access to their personal health information. Physicians always have an obligation to safeguard their patients' health information. Moreover, the Canadian Medical Association Code of Ethics requires physicians to, "Avoid public discussions or comments about patients that could reasonably be seen as revealing confidential or identifying information."1

Preparing for official spokesperson activities

In most situations, physicians authorized to act as spokespersons can draw on the following fundamentals and good practices2:

  • Identify yourself as a physician and establish who you are representing: an association, organization, or institution.
  • Obtain or anticipate the questions in advance and prepare answers.
  • Answer the questions clearly and concisely. If particular information cannot be divulged, just say so. Maintain patient and provider confidentiality.
  • Speak with confidence, authority, compassion, and empathy. Be aware of both verbal and non-verbal language such as posture, eye contact, gestures, and facial expressions. Use language that lay people can understand.
  • Offer to obtain answers to questions that cannot immediately be addressed, and do so.
  • Pause to organize ideas before answering questions, or to allow interviewers to record answers.
  • Share a few key messages with the interviewer. Try not to be sidetracked. Repeat key messages, when appropriate. Being consistent with your messaging will help protect your reputation and credibility.

Media interviews are valuable opportunities to convey important messages, and doctors involved in these activities should be appropriately prepared.

Communicating in a crisis

In crisis situations, physician spokespersons should answer media inquiries promptly and honestly, provide clear and factual answers, and try not to speculate when the situation is uncertain. It is also important to avoid becoming defensive or overly emotional.

Media training may be helpful for doctors who find themselves in the spokesperson role on a regular basis or for those who are concerned about their lack of media experience. Such training can boost skills to help anticipate questions, hone key messages, convey information clearly, build lasting relationships with the media, and garner positive coverage.




References

  1. Canadian Medical Association, "CMA Code of Ethics," 2004. Accessed April 4, 2014 from: http://www.cma.ca/code-of-ethics
  2. Sterling Communications, "Five steps to becoming a good spokesperson," 2012. Accessed April 25, 2014 from: http://sterlingpr.com/2012/02/5-steps-to-becoming-a-good-spokesperson/

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Fidèle au message : le médecin porte-parole

Publié initialement en octobre 2014
P1404-2-F

Les médecins ont une influence certaine dans de nombreux milieux de soins de santé et parfois même à l'extérieur du contexte de la médecine et des soins de santé. Par conséquent, ils peuvent être appelés à émettre des opinions médicales ou à représenter officiellement un établissement, une société de spécialistes, un groupe de pratique, une association représentant une maladie particulière, voire toute autre association bénévole.

Examinons les exemples de cas suivants où des médecins peuvent servir de porte-parole :

  • Un médecin s'exprime dans les médias sur la santé mentale chez les jeunes à la suite d'un homicide commis dans une école qui a été hautement médiatisé.
  • Un médecin s'adresse à l'ensemble de la collectivité au sujet de l'éclosion d'une maladie dans un hôpital local.
  • Un médecin participe à l'élaboration de lignes directrices cliniques avec une société de médecins spécialistes.
  • Un médecin participe à une collecte de fonds pour un organisme caritatif s'occupant de recherche et de prévention de la maladie.

Dans chacune de ces situations, les médecins possèdent probablement l'expertise voulue pour servir de porte-parole à leur établissement de santé ou pour participer à d'autres activités connexes. Les médecins peuvent, à titre officiel, jouer un rôle important en s'adressant à un vaste public ou un groupe particulier, en établissant de bonnes relations avec des intervenants clés, en réseautant avec des personnes influentes ou en aidant à gérer la réputation d'un établissement.

Communiquer clairement

Les médecins peuvent remplir le rôle de porte-parole en misant tant sur les médias nouveaux que traditionnels, tels que les entrevues télévisées et radiophoniques, les articles de journaux, le contenu en ligne et les médias sociaux. Dans toutes ces situations, il importe que le médecin communique de façon claire et succincte, simplifiant de préférence l'information médicale pour qu'elle soit facilement comprise. Il doit pour cela chercher à parler et à écrire en des termes clairs et sans équivoque, afin d'éviter toute confusion ou mauvaise interprétation.

Les médecins qui défendent les droits des patients devraient éviter d'émettre, verbalement ou par écrit, tout commentaire impulsif ou malveillant. Ils doivent aussi être conscients que tout propos portant atteinte à la réputation d'une personne pourrait être considéré comme étant diffamatoire.

Miser sur les médias sociaux

Avec le recours accru aux médias sociaux, il est possible que des médecins soient invités à participer à des campagnes médiatiques de sensibilisation pour le compte d'un établissement, d'un organisme de santé ou d'une autre cause. Il importe dans ce cas de faire savoir clairement si les médecins s'expriment au nom de l'organisme, de l'établissement, ou du groupe bénévole ou encore s'ils le font en leur nom propre. S'ils interviennent au nom d'un organisme, ils doivent au préalable en avoir obtenu l'autorisation. Il leur faut présenter des messages et des commentaires pertinents, tout en respectant les limites, les conditions et les lignes directrices particulières de chaque site, réseau social ou collectivité. Les médecins doivent par ailleurs s'assurer que toute déclaration faite dans les médias sociaux est exacte, et corriger dès que possible toute inexactitude ou imprécision.

Avant de parler au nom d'un patient ou de sa famille, les médecins sont tenus d'obtenir un consentement par écrit.

Respecter les lignes directrices des organismes de réglementation de la médecine

Lorsque les médecins se prononcent publiquement ou servent de porte-parole officiels, il leur faut respecter les politiques ou lignes directrices de leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège), de l'établissement où ils exercent ou de l'autorité régionale en matière de santé. De nombreux Collèges ont des politiques ou des lignes directrices sur la publicité et les communications avec le public. Les annonces professionnelles sont généralement permises lorsqu'elles servent, à des fins légitimes, à présenter au public des renseignements factuels et pertinents sur la pratique d'un médecin.

Protéger les renseignements du patient

Les médecins faisant des déclarations publiques doivent être conscients des droits des patients en ce qui a trait à la collecte, l'utilisation et la divulgation de leurs renseignements personnels sur la santé, ainsi qu'à l'accès à cette information. C'est toujours aux médecins qu'il incombe de protéger ces renseignements. De plus, le Code de déontologie de l'Association médicale canadienne précise que les médecins doivent « en public, éviter de discuter des patients ou de faire à leur sujet des commentaires qui pourraient raisonnablement être jugés comme révélant des renseignements confidentiels ou permettant d'identifier la personne1. »

Savoir se préparer à titre de porte-parole officiel

En général, les médecins autorisés à servir de porte-parole peuvent s'inspirer des principes fondamentaux et des bonnes pratiques qui suivent2 :

  • S'identifier comme médecin et préciser le nom de l'entité représentée : association, organisme ou établissement.
  • Anticiper, ou demander à obtenir à l'avance les questions qui pourraient être posées et se préparer en vue d'y répondre.
  • Donner des réponses claires et concises. Préciser si certains renseignements ne peuvent être divulgués. Protéger la confidentialité des patients et des professionnels de la santé.
  • S'exprimer avec assurance, autorité, compassion et empathie. Demeurer sensible au langage verbal et non-verbal, comme la posture, le contact visuel, les gestes et les expressions faciales. S'exprimer de façon à ce que tout le monde puisse comprendre.
  • S'engager à obtenir des réponses aux questions ne pouvant être immédiatement approfondies, et tenir cette promesse.
  • Prendre un temps de pause pour organiser ses idées avant de répondre à une question, ou pour permettre à l'intervieweur d'enregistrer la réponse.
  • Faire part à l'intervieweur de quelques messages clés. Éviter de s'éloigner du sujet. Répéter les messages clés lorsque ceci est approprié. Veiller à la cohérence des messages : ceci permet de protéger sa réputation et sa crédibilité.

Les entrevues avec les médias représentent de précieuses occasions de transmettre des messages importants et les médecins participant à ce genre d'activité doivent y être bien préparés.

Communiquer dans une situation de crise

Dans une situation de crise, les médecins porte-parole doivent répondre promptement et honnêtement aux questions des médias, en fournissant des réponses claires et factuelles, sans émettre de conjectures lorsque la situation demeure incertaine. Il importe également d'éviter d'être sur la défensive ou trop émotif.

Une formation médiatique pourrait être utile pour les médecins servant régulièrement de porte-parole ou pour ceux qui s'inquiètent de leur manque d'expérience dans ce domaine. Une telle formation peut en effet renforcer les compétences et aider les médecins à prévoir les questions qui leur seront posées, peaufiner les messages clés, communiquer clairement l'information, établir des relations durables avec les médias et s'attirer une couverture médiatique favorable.




Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne, « Code de déontologie de l'AMC », 2004. Consulté le 4 avril 2014 à l'adresse : http://www.cma.ca/code-deontologie
  2. Sterling Communications, « Five steps to becoming a good spokesperson », 2012. Consulté le 25 avril 2014 à l'adresse : http://sterlingpr.com/2012/02/5-steps-to-becoming-a-good-spokesperson/

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.