Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Physicians and nurse practitioners: Working collaboratively as independent health professionals

Originally published January 2014
W14-001-E

Abstract

When working with nurse practitioners, physicians should understand the scope, responsibilities, and accountabilities of these independent healthcare providers, and should communicate clearly and in a timely manner.

While nurse practitioners began working in the Canadian healthcare system in the 1960s, their practice was limited and they worked mostly in remote areas. Since then, their numbers have grown as provinces and territories dedicate additional resources to this profession to meet the challenges of providing care.

Today, there are more than 3,300 nurse practitioners 1 (NPs) across Canada working in community clinics, long-term care facilities, hospitals, and physician-led clinics. All provincial and territorial governments have passed legislation defining and regulating nurse practitioners, and many are increasing funding to train and open new positions for NPs.

For physicians, the increase in NPs reinforces the need to understand and respect scopes of practice, roles and responsibilities, and how best to reduce medico-legal risk when patient care is reliant on multiple providers. While interprofessional care requires effective coordination and communication, the risk of liability can be managed for all health providers. Depending on the legislation in the particular province or territory and the terms of employment, nurse practitioners may provide care in a number of different settings ranging from nurse practitioner-led clinics in rural regions, hospitals, to physician-led clinics located in larger centres. Each situation requires that NPs work within scopes of practice as determined by provincial legislation and, when appropriate, consult with other healthcare providers, arrange for referrals, or transfer care. Nurse practitioners are responsible for the decisions and actions taken within their scope of practice.

Depending on the province or territory and setting where they work, NPs perform a range of clinical duties, such as conduct patient assessments, manage chronic disease, order and interpret diagnostic tests, make referrals, prescribe medications, set fractures, and perform specific procedures. In 2012, Ontario became the first province to allow nurse practitioners to admit and discharge patients from hospital. Other provinces are considering granting this authority to NPs.

Managing risk

Nurse practitioners are regulated independent health professionals licensed by nursing regulatory authorities. These authorities set out the scope and standards of practice of NPs, which can vary according to the specialty of the NP and the jurisdiction. It is important to understand that nurse practitioners are independent health professionals, accountable for their decisions and actions. They are expected to perform their clinical duties within the designated scope of practice and within the limits of their training and experience, usually without medical directive or supervision on the part of a physician. They are also expected to refer patients and to consult with other health professionals when a clinical issue is beyond their knowledge, skill, or competence. They might, in addition, seek a consultation when the presentation is unusual and the patient might benefit from a second opinion.

The courts have stated that physicians working in the context of collaborative practice are not required to check the work of other independent healthcare professionals, such as nurse practitioners, who are providing care within their scope of practice and, generally speaking, each healthcare professional is responsible for the care provided.

However, when a nurse practitioner consults with a physician for assistance or advice in the treatment of a patient, the physician is responsible for the advice and assistance provided to the nurse practitioner and to the patient. This situation is most likely to occur when a clinical condition requires or is expected to require care outside the NP scope of practice or area of competency. In these cases, nurse practitioners remain accountable for their actions, but physicians assume a separate duty of care toward the patient for the care provided as part of the medical consultation and are expected to meet the standard of care for these consultations. Physicians providing advice and assistance as part of these consultations may be deemed to be providing care directly to the patient, and so the physician should document the details in the patient's record as usual.

In Ontario, for example, where NPs can, when authorized by the facility, admit and discharge hospital patients, the principles related to consultation with a physician would apply if the NP seeks advice and assistance for actions that are beyond the NP's scope of practice. However, the NP would be responsible for actions undertaken within the scopes of practice outlined by the jurisdiction and any parameters set by the healthcare facility or hospital. If on discharge the nurse practitioner orders tests for the patient, the NP is accountable for follow-up or taking reasonable steps to determine that there is a reliable system in place for follow-up.

Determining early in the care who is the most responsible practitioner, what is appropriate documentation (including discharge summaries) and, where they are part of the same patient's treatment team, what are the respective responsibilities of the physician and the NP are often key to clarity and continuity of care.

In 2005, the CMPA and the Canadian Nurses Protective Society co-wrote a statement on liability protection for physicians and NPs in collaborative practice. An updated version of this statement is available on the CMPA website [PDF].

Nurse practitioners as part of the healthcare team

Collaborative practice can be defined as the working relationship between physicians, nurse practitioners, other healthcare professionals, and the organization or the facility where they work. It is important for physicians to understand what knowledge and skills are shared among team members and what knowledge and skills are unique to specific individuals on a team. The goal of interprofessional care is to improve outcomes for patients.

There are different forms of collaborative practice. In some jurisdictions, NPs may be required by legislation to establish a collaborative practice relationship with a physician or group of physicians.2 In Ontario, for example, nurse practitioner-led clinics form part of the primary healthcare system. Working with other healthcare professionals, NPs in these clinics provide primary care. NPs run the clinic and consult with part-time physicians on cases that go beyond the scope of practice of the NP.3

In some healthcare facilities, guidelines have been established to outline the requirements associated with NP consultation with a designated physician. Whether a legal requirement, a facility guideline or as an informal practice, NPs consultation with physicians is likely to occur. NPs consult and provide consultations to other healthcare professionals as appropriate to meet a patient's overall needs. Again, each healthcare professional is responsible for the adequacy of the advice and assistance provided to the patient. Physicians providing advice and assistance as part of an NP consultation can be seen as providing care directly to the patient, and so the physician should document the care provided in the patient's record.

When asked for a consultation, a physician should consider:

  • reviewing policies related to interprofessional care to be familiar with the scope of practice of NPs
  • establishing a mutually agreed upon process for consultation with NPs
  • identifying the reason for and the level of urgency of the consultation, if this information has not already been provided
  • understanding the level of consultation requested — whether an opinion, recommendation, concurrent intervention, or immediate transfer of care
  • seeking the patient's health record to review all relevant medical information, if that it has not already been provided
  • documenting in the patient's health record the consultation notes and in a formal consultation report if the physician and NP keep separate patient records.

A referral is a form of consultation and should indicate whether the referral is an episodic intervention or concurrent management during which the NP will continue to provide services within the nurse practitioner's scope of practice. A consultation or referral may result in the need to transfer patient care. This decision should be made jointly by the NP and the receiving physician in consultation with the patient.4

Overlapping scopes of practice

The role of NPs is evolving and depends on a number of factors including jurisdiction, population healthcare needs, and changing practice and healthcare environments.5

As interprofessional practices increase and scopes of practice expand, clear and timely communication is important. Scope, responsibilities, and accountabilities should be understood by all members of the healthcare team to ensure quality care and reduce medico-legal risk.

Increasingly in hospitals and other settings, nurse practitioners and physicians work together to manage on a daily basis the care of the same patient or group of patients. In these circumstances, because physicians and nurse practitioners' scopes of practice overlap, there could be instances in which either the physician or the nurse practitioner could provide the clinical intervention required by the patient, whether this is assessing a change in the patient's condition, ordering the appropriate diagnostic test, following up on a test result or requesting a consultation with a specialist. This is irrespective of the fact the ‘most responsible professional' may have already been clearly identified. A common understanding on the part of all treatment team members as to how responsibilities are allocated between the nurse practitioner and the physician would make it easier to ascertain who is expected to intervene in any given circumstance. This could facilitate an efficient provision of care and avoid potential omissions attributable to either the physician or nurse practitioner proceeding on the mistaken assumption that the other will carry out the necessary intervention.

Integration of nurse practitioners into the healthcare team can help to enhance communication, identify strengths and experience, and encourage a coordinated approach to care. Physicians working with NPs may want to consider the following points;

  • Recognize that NPs are independent regulated healthcare professionals accountable for their own professional practice within their defined scope of practice.
  • Be familiar with the legislated scopes of practice of nurse practitioners in their jurisdiction. Review the parameters set out by the regulatory authorities.
  • Clarify the roles and responsibilities based on the scope of practice and the individual's competence and skill. Determine early in the care who is the most responsible practitioner.
  • Review if the hospital or facility, as employer, has formalized and documented collaborative practice procedures, or has policies and procedures that define the parameters of NPs practice.
  • Foster a collaborative environment by taking a coordinated team approach to healthcare.
  • Verify that systems and processes are in place to support timely and effective communication with NPs and other healthcare professionals. For more information see the article "Strengthening interprofessional communication."
  • Communicate to the patient who is responsible for what care. It is important the patient understands the respective roles of the NP and the physician. Clarify how patient expectations or concerns will be managed.

Whether in primary care offices, clinics, or hospital settings, all members of an interprofessional team should have appropriate and adequate liability protection. Members who have questions on interprofessional care and working with nurse practitioners may call the CMPA to speak with a medical officer. Additional information on interprofessional care, the most responsible practitioner, and improving communications can also be found on the CMPA website.

References

  1. Compilation of statistics from the nursing regulatory bodies provided by the Canadian Nurses Protective Society.

  2. College of Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia, "Guidelines for Collaborative Practice Teams and Employers of Nurse Practitioners: Strategies for Integrating Nurse Practitioners in Healthcare Teams" January 2012. Retrieved on January 12 2013 from: http://www.crnns.ca/documents/GuidelinesforCollaborativePracticeTeamsFINAL-2011.pdf;

    Registered Nurses Act, SNS 2006, c. 21, s. 1(ak); (http://canlii.org/en/ns/laws/stat/sns-2006-c-21/latest/sns-2006-c-21.html)

    Nurses Act, S.N.B. 1984, c. 71, as amended, s. 10.4; Regulation respecting the activities contemplated in section 31 of the Medical Act which may be engaged in by classes of persons other than physicians, RRQ, c M-9, r 13; (http://www.hprac.org/en/projects/resources/hprac-nursing.jurisdictionalreview.november2007.final.pdf)

    Nurse Practitioner Regulations, PEI Reg EC91/O6, s. 6; (http://www.canlii.org/en/pe/laws/stat/rspei-1988-c-r-8.1/latest/rspei-1988-c-r-8.1.html)

    Registered Nurses Regulations, NLR 66/13, subs. 8(3). (http://beta.canlii.org/en/nl/laws/regu/nlr-65-98/latest/nlr-65-98.html)

  3. Canadian Health Services Research Foundation, "Clinical Nurse Specialists and Nurse Practitioners in Canada – A Decision Support Synthesis," June 2010. Retrieved on January 15 2013 from : www.chsrf.ca.
  4. College of Nurses of Ontario. "Practice Standard; Nurse Practitioner," revised 2011. Retrieved on January 9 2013 from: http://www.cno.org/Global/docs/prac/41038_StrdRnec.pdf
  5. Canadian Nurses Association, "Canadian Nurse Practitioner – Core Competency Framework" May 2010. Accessed on February 12, 2013 from: http://www2.cnaaiic.ca/cna/documents/pdf/publications/competency_framework_2010_e.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Les médecins et les infirmières praticiennes : la collaboration entre professionnels de la santé autonomes

Publié initialement en janvier 2014
W14-001-F

Résumé :

Les médecins qui travaillent avec des infirmières praticiennes doivent comprendre le champ d'exercice, les responsabilités et les responsabilisations de ces professionnelles de la santé autonomes, puis communiquer clairement et en temps opportun avec elles.

Lorsque les infirmières praticiennes ont commencé à travailler dans le système de soins de santé canadien dans les années 1960, leur pratique était limitée et elles exerçaient principalement en régions éloignées. Leur nombre a toutefois augmenté depuis que les provinces et les territoires ont affecté des ressources supplémentaires à cette profession dans le but de relever les défis liés à la prestation des soins.

De nos jours, plus de 3 300 infirmières praticiennes1 travaillent au Canada dans des cliniques communautaires, des établissements de soins de longue durée, des hôpitaux et des cliniques dirigées par des médecins. Tous les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont adopté des lois qui définissent et réglementent les infirmières praticiennes, et plusieurs d'entre eux augmentent le financement destiné à former des infirmières praticiennes et à créer de nouveaux postes.

Pour les médecins, l'augmentation du nombre d'infirmières praticiennes renforce la nécessité de comprendre et de respecter le champ d'exercice, les rôles et les responsabilités de ces dernières, et de réduire les risques médico-légaux dans les situations où les soins aux patients sont prodigués par de multiples professionnels. Bien que les soins interprofessionnels exigent une coordination et une communication efficaces, il est possible de gérer le risque de responsabilité pour tous les professionnels de la santé. Selon la législation dans la province ou le territoire en question et les conditions d'emploi, les infirmières praticiennes peuvent prodiguer des soins dans divers milieux, qu'il s'agisse de cliniques gérées par des infirmières praticiennes dans des régions rurales, d'hôpitaux ou de cliniques dirigées par des médecins dans de grands centres.

Chaque situation exige que les infirmières praticiennes travaillent dans des champs d'exercice déterminés par la législation provinciale et, le cas échéant, qu'elles consultent d'autres professionnels de la santé, soumettent des demandes de consultation ou transfèrent les soins. Les infirmières praticiennes sont responsables des décisions prises et des actions posées dans le cadre de leur champ d'exercice.

Selon la province ou le territoire et leur milieu de travail, les infirmières praticiennes effectuent de nombreuses tâches cliniques, p. ex., évaluer les patients, gérer les maladies chroniques, prescrire des examens diagnostiques et en évaluer les résultats, soumettre des demandes de consultation, prescrire des médicaments, réduire des fractures et pratiquer des interventions précises. En 2012, l'Ontario est devenue la première province à permettre aux infirmières praticiennes d'hospitaliser des patients et d'autoriser leur départ. D'autres provinces envisagent d'accorder ce même droit aux infirmières praticiennes.

Gestion des risques

Les infirmières praticiennes sont des professionnelles de la santé, réglementées par les ordres qui leur accordent le permis d'exercice. Ces ordres établissent le champ et les normes de pratique des infirmières praticiennes, lesquels peuvent varier selon la spécialité de l'infirmière praticienne et la province ou le territoire. Il importe de comprendre que les infirmières praticiennes sont des professionnelles de la santé autonomes, responsables de leurs décisions et de leurs actions. Il est attendu qu'elles effectuent leurs tâches cliniques dans le cadre de leur champ d'exercice désigné et dans les limites de leur formation et de leur expérience, normalement sans directive médicale ni supervision de la part d'un médecin. Il est également attendu qu'elles dirigent les patients vers d'autres professionnels de la santé et qu'elles consultent ces derniers lorsqu'un problème clinique dépasse leurs connaissances, leurs habiletés ou leur compétence. Par ailleurs, elles peuvent demander une consultation lorsque la présentation est atypique et qu'une deuxième opinion peut être bénéfique pour le patient.

Les tribunaux ont affirmé que les médecins travaillant dans le contexte d'une pratique collaborative ne sont pas tenus de vérifier le travail des autres professionnels de la santé autonomes, telles les infirmières praticiennes qui prodiguent des soins relevant de leur champ d'exercice et que, de façon générale, chaque professionnel de la santé est responsable des soins qu'il prodigue.

Toutefois, lorsqu'une infirmière praticienne consulte un médecin pour obtenir une assistance ou des conseils en ce qui a trait au traitement d'un patient, le médecin est responsable des conseils et de l'assistance fournis à l'infirmière praticienne et au patient. Une telle situation survient le plus souvent lorsqu'un état clinique exige, ou exigera, des soins ne relevant pas du champ d'exercice ou du domaine de compétence de l'infirmière praticienne. En pareil cas, les infirmières praticiennes demeurent responsables de leurs actions, mais les médecins assument un devoir de diligence distinct envers le patient pour les soins prodigués dans le cadre de la consultation médicale et il est attendu qu'ils respecteront la norme de pratique lors de telles consultations. On peut considérer que le médecin qui fournit conseils et assistance dans le cadre de telles consultations prodigue directement des soins au patient; aussi doit-il documenter les détails au dossier du patient comme il le ferait normalement.

En Ontario, par exemple, où les infirmières praticiennes peuvent, lorsque l'établissement les autorise à hospitaliser des patients et leur accorder leur congé, les principes liés à la consultation avec un médecin s'appliquent si l'infirmière praticienne demande des conseils et une assistance relativement à des actions qui ne relèvent pas de son champ d'exercice. Toutefois, l'infirmière praticienne serait responsable des actions posées dans le cadre de son champ d'exercice tel que défini par la province et de tout paramètre établi par l'établissement de santé ou l'hôpital. Si, au moment du congé, l'infirmière praticienne prescrit des examens au patient, elle est responsable d'en assurer le suivi ou de prendre des mesures raisonnables pour confirmer l'existence d'un système de suivi fiable.

Pour assurer la clarté et la continuité des soins, il est essentiel de déterminer, au début des soins, qui est le professionnel le plus responsable, ce qui constitue une documentation appropriée (y compris la note de départ) et, lorsqu'ils font partie de l'équipe de soins d'un même patient, quelles sont les responsabilités respectives du médecin et de l'infirmière praticienne.

En 2005, l'ACPM et la Société de protection des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada ont corédigé un énoncé sur la protection en matière de responsabilité professionnelle des médecins et des infirmières praticiennes en pratique collaborative. Une version actualisée de cet énoncé est disponible sur le site web de l'Association [PDF].

Les infirmières praticiennes font partie de l'équipe de soins

La pratique collaborative peut être définie comme la relation de travail entre les médecins, les infirmières praticiennes, les autres professionnels de la santé et l'organisation ou l'établissement où ils travaillent. Il importe que les médecins sachent quelles connaissances et compétences sont partagées parmi les membres de l'équipe et lesquelles sont propres à seulement certains de ses membres. Le but des soins interprofessionnels est d'améliorer les résultats pour les patients.

Il existe différentes formes de pratique collaborative. Dans certaines régions, la législation peut exiger que les infirmières praticiennes établissent une relation de collaboration avec un médecin ou un groupe de médecins.2 En Ontario, par exemple, les cliniques gérées par les infirmières praticiennes font partie du système de soins de santé primaires. De concert avec d'autres professionnels de la santé, les infirmières praticiennes dans ces cliniques prodiguent des soins primaires. Les infirmières praticiennes gèrent la clinique et consultent des médecins travaillant à temps partiel lorsque les cas dépassent leur champ d'exercice.3

Certains établissements de santé ont élaboré des lignes directrices précisant les exigences liées aux demandes de consultations d'un médecin désigné présentées par des infirmières praticiennes. Qu'il s'agisse d'une exigence prévue par la loi, d'une ligne directrice de l'établissement, ou d'une pratique informelle, les consultations entre médecins et infirmières praticiennes se produiront probablement. Les infirmières praticiennes consultent d'autres professionnels de la santé et sont consultées par ces professionnels, s'il y a lieu, pour répondre aux besoins globaux des patients. Encore là, chaque professionnel de la santé est responsable du caractère adéquat des conseils et de l'assistance fournis au patient. Comme on peut considérer que le médecin qui fournit conseils et assistance dans le cadre d'une consultation avec une infirmière praticienne prodigue des soins directement au patient, le médecin doit documenter les soins prodigués au dossier du patient.

Un médecin à qui l'on demande une consultation devrait :

  • passer en revue les politiques liées aux soins interprofessionnels afin de connaître le champ d'exercice des infirmières praticiennes
  • convenir mutuellement d'un processus pour la consultation avec les infirmières praticiennes
  • déterminer la raison et le niveau d'urgence de la consultation, si ces renseignements n'ont pas déjà été fournis
  • comprendre le type de consultation demandé : avis, recommandation, intervention conjointe ou transfert de soins immédiat
  • obtenir le dossier de santé du patient pour passer en revue tous les renseignements médicaux pertinents, s'ils n'ont pas déjà été fournis
  • documenter les notes de consultation au dossier de santé du patient et dans un rapport de consultation officiel si le médecin et l'infirmière praticienne ont des dossiers de patients distincts.

Une demande de consultation adressée à un autre professionnel de la santé doit préciser s'il s'agit d'une intervention épisodique ou d'une prise en charge conjointe dans le cadre de laquelle l'infirmière praticienne continuera de prodiguer des soins relevant de son champ d'exercice. Une consultation peut donner lieu à la nécessité de transférer les soins du patient. Cette décision doit être prise conjointement par l'infirmière praticienne et le médecin qui assume la prise en charge, en consultation avec le patient.4

Chevauchement des champs d'exercice

Le rôle des infirmières praticiennes, qui est dynamique, dépend de nombreux facteurs dont la région géographique, les besoins de la population en matière de santé, ainsi que l'évolution de la pratique et des milieux de soins de santé.5

L'augmentation du nombre de pratiques interprofessionnelles et l'élargissement des champs d'exercice soulignent l'importance d'une communication claire et opportune. Tous les membres de l'équipe de soins doivent comprendre les champs, les responsabilités et les responsabilisations afin d'assurer la qualité des soins et de réduire les risques médico-légaux.

De plus en plus, dans les hôpitaux et d'autres milieux, les infirmières praticiennes et les médecins travaillent ensemble quotidiennement à la prise en charge des soins d'un même patient ou d'un groupe de patients. En pareille circonstance, puisque les champs d'exercice des médecins et des infirmières praticiennes se chevauchent, il peut se présenter des situations où soit le médecin, soit l'infirmière praticienne peut pratiquer l'intervention clinique que requiert le patient, qu'il s'agisse d'évaluer un changement dans l'état du patient, de prescrire un examen diagnostique approprié, d'assurer le suivi d'un résultat d'examen ou de demander une consultation auprès d'un spécialiste. Cela peut se produire indépendamment du fait que le « professionnel le plus responsable » a déjà été identifié clairement. Il est plus facile de déterminer la personne devant intervenir dans une circonstance donnée si tous les membres de l'équipe de soins comprennent bien la façon dont les responsabilités sont partagées. Cela favorise la prestation efficace des soins et évite les éventuelles omissions attribuables au médecin ou à l'infirmière praticienne lorsque l'un suppose à tort que l'autre effectuera l'intervention nécessaire.

L'intégration des infirmières praticiennes dans l'équipe de soins peut contribuer à améliorer la communication, à déterminer les forces et l'expérience et à encourager une approche coordonnée aux soins. Les médecins qui travaillent avec des infirmières praticiennes voudront envisager les actions suivantes :

  • reconnaître que les infirmières praticiennes sont des professionnelles de la santé, réglementées par un ordre professionnel, qui sont responsables de leur pratique professionnelle dans leur champ d'exercice défini;
  • connaître le champ d'exercice des infirmières praticiennes prescrit par la loi dans votre province et passer en revue les paramètres établis par les organismes de réglementation;
  • clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités en fonction du champ d'exercice, et de la compétence et des habiletés individuelles. Déterminer dès le début qui est le professionnel le plus responsable;
  • vérifier si l'hôpital ou l'établissement, à titre d'employeur, a formalisé et documenté les procédures liées à la pratique collaborative, ou s'il s'est doté de politiques et de procédures qui définissent les paramètres de la pratique des infirmières praticiennes;
  • favoriser un environnement de collaboration en adoptant une approche d'équipe coordonnée en matière de soins de santé;
  • vérifier la mise en place de systèmes et de processus visant à appuyer une communication efficace et opportune avec les infirmières praticiennes et les autres professionnels de la santé. Pour obtenir un complément d'information, consulter l'article « Le renforcement de la communication interprofessionnelle »
  • communiquer au patient qui est responsable de quels soins. Il est important que le patient comprenne les rôles respectifs de l'infirmière praticienne et du médecin. Clarifier comment les attentes ou les préoccupations du patient seront gérées.

Que ce soit dans des cabinets de soins primaires, des cliniques ou des hôpitaux, tous les membres d'une équipe interprofessionnelle doivent avoir une protection appropriée et adéquate en matière de responsabilité. Les membres qui ont des questions au sujet des soins interprofessionnels et qui travaillent avec des infirmières praticiennes peuvent téléphoner à l'ACPM pour parler à un médecin-conseil. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les soins interprofessionnels, le professionnel le plus responsable et l'amélioration de la communication sont également publiés sur le site web de l'ACPM.

Références

  1. Compilation de statistiques des organismes de réglementation de la pratique infirmière fournie par la Société de protection des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada.

  2. Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés de la Nouvelle-Écosse, « Guidelines for Collaborative Practice Teams and Employers of Nurse Practitioners: Strategies for Integrating Nurse Practitioners in Healthcare Teams » janvier 2012. Consulté le 12 janvier 2013 sur le site : http://www.crnns.ca/documents/GuidelinesforCollaborativePracticeTeamsFINAL-2011.pdf;

    Registered Nurses Act, SNS 2006, c. 21, s. 1(ak); (http://canlii.org/en/ns/laws/stat/sns-2006-c-21/latest/sns-2006-c-21.html)

    Nurses Act, S.N.B. 1984, c. 71, as amended, s. 10.4; Regulation respecting the activities contemplated in section 31 of the Medical Act which may be engaged in by classes of persons other than physicians, RRQ, c M-9, r 13; (http://www.hprac.org/en/projects/resources/hprac-nursing.jurisdictionalreview.november2007.final.pdf)

    Nurse Practitioner Regulations, PEI Reg EC91/O6, s. 6; (http://www.canlii.org/en/pe/laws/stat/rspei-1988-c-r-8.1/latest/rspei-1988-c-r-8.1.html)

    Registered Nurses Regulations, NLR 66/13, subs. 8(3). (http://beta.canlii.org/en/nl/laws/regu/nlr-65-98/latest/nlr-65-98.html)

  3. Fondation canadienne de la recherche sur les services de santé, « Infirmières cliniciennes spécialisées et infirmières praticiennes au Canada : Synthèse d'aide à la décision » juin 2010. Consulté le 29 juillet 2013 sur le site : www.fcass-cfhi.ca.

  4. L'Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers de l'Ontario. « Norme d'exercice : Infirmière praticienne », révisé en 2011. Consulté le 29 juillet 2013 sur le site : http://www.cno.org/Global/docs/prac/51038_StrdRNEC.pdf

  5. L'Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada, « Cadre des compétences de base des infirmières et infirmiers praticiens du Canada » mai 2010. Consulté le 12 février 2013 sur le site : http://www2.cna-aiic.ca/cna/documents/pdf/publications/competency_framework_2010_f.pdf


AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.