Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Physicians in the spotlight: Practical media advice

Originally published October 2014
P1404-4-E

Media interest in legal matters or medical regulatory authority (College) issues is not new; however, the convergence of traditional media and social media has amplified the reach and impact of news stories featuring physicians, their practice, or their medico-legal difficulties. Physicians have to reconcile with the fact that their role is a public one, and along with that comes public accountability and scrutiny. Understanding what makes news, its life cycle, and dissemination channels will assist physicians in managing news interest.

While physicians may feel vulnerable when facing journalists or frustrated when confronted with negative news coverage, strategies are available to mitigate the potential negative impact. Physicians will want to be aware and apply these, irrespective if the news is shared through social media, or through more conventional media (print or broadcast).

What makes news?

There are general guideposts that journalists and editors use to determine what is newsworthy. These generally include timing, significance, proximity, prominence, and human interest.1 In addition, the regional context, the type of print or broadcast media, and what else is occurring in the news cycle will also influence what makes news, and the prominence that will be attached to it (front page, top of hour newscast, etc.).

Physicians can expect that at some point in their career, they will be the direct or indirect focus of a news story. This can be positive, such as when celebrating a career milestone, a research or treatment discovery, or supporting a patient success story. It can also be difficult, even harmful to a physician's reputation when the circumstances involve a legal action, disciplinary hearing, or a patient harm incident.

How to manage the news interest

When the interest is welcomed, physicians can leverage the media to share helpful information to a broad segment of the public, while also contributing to the positive image and reputation of the profession, and the institution in which they practise. Conversely, when the news interest is expected to be negative or harmful to a physician's reputation, the following should be considered:

  • Remain professional when asked for an interview, whether accepting or declining to be interviewed.
  • Refrain from provocative language or behaviour, even when the circumstances are undeniably challenging.
  • When declining to participate in an interview, keep the lines of communication open for future opportunities, when appropriate.
  • If the media interest is about the care provided to a specific patient, obtain advance consent from the patient, substitute decision-maker, or estate.
  • If the information relates to care provided at a hospital or facility, confirm whether you have the necessary permission to speak on behalf of the hospital or facility.
  • Consider providing factual information, either through a written or verbal statement.
  • Consider asking a third-party (e.g. chief of department) to speak in support of your performance, if appropriate.
  • Seek the support of your friends, family, and colleagues, recognizing that those that matter most also know you best.

What are your obligations to the news media?

While their role is often a public one, physicians do not have an obligation to grant media interviews, or to provide a photograph, or other requested information. However, when faced with media interest, physicians will want to consider what is in their best interest, and in the best interest of the patient, given the circumstances. Journalists generally seek to present a balanced story, in which varying perspectives are captured. Physicians should consider if they are well positioned, or not, to present another perspective or the other side of the story. Not granting an interview doesn't always make the news interest disappear.

If physicians decide not to speak with the media or grant an interview, sometimes a timely, brief response may satisfy reporters' needs. The following responses may be helpful:

I have received your voicemail or emails, but I will not be a position to grant you an interview.

I understand your interest in this story, but I will not be available for an interview.

I cannot address the specific issues raised by a patient, on the basis of my obligation to keep their information confidential.

As the matter is before the court (or College), it would not be appropriate for me to comment.

The facts are widely known and reported, and there isn't anything further that I wish to add.

I have prepared a statement, which will address the questions you've raised.

When the news coverage is negative, can anything be done?

Physicians may find themselves or the institution where they practise embroiled in a controversy that captures local or national news headlines. Some media strategists will counsel to take a proactive approach when "bad" news is expected, while others counsel a more reactive approach. The significance of the issue and the individual central to the news story will dictate the prominence and reach, and concomitantly the mitigation measures that can be considered.

If the media is focused on an individual doctor, it is more important than ever to demonstrate professionalism, despite the added pressure faced. How physicians interact with others, including journalists, can counter the image being portrayed, or confirm it. Facing the issue first-hand may be very difficult, but may be an approach worth considering. If physicians engage with the media, they should be prepared for difficult questions. Having a formal or informal statement, or key messages, prepared beforehand is useful in such cases.

Physicians may also find themselves interwoven in a news story that involves their patients. While patients may disclose personal health information, physicians must still fulfill their obligations to privacy and confidentiality. Faced with media questions regarding the health conditions of patients, physicians must first obtain consent before information can be disclosed.

If physicians feel the news coverage warrants the attention of the press council in their area, which upholds journalistic and ethical standards on behalf of the public and the press, a formal complaint can be initiated. Most news organizations participate in a press council, which adjudicates complaints from the public. The following provinces or regions have a press council where concerns can be raised — Ontario, Québec, Alberta, Manitoba, British Columbia, and Atlantic Canada.

In very serious circumstances, legal redress may be another avenue. This would entail pursuing defamation and libel.

Consider these additional tips when faced with negative news:

  • The news cycle is 24/7 and media interest can shift quickly to another story. Take comfort in knowing that your story will become "old news" and interest will move on.
  • Not saying anything doesn't always make the news story disappear. Whether you participate in an interview or not, if the story is deemed newsworthy, it will likely be published in traditional or social media.
  • If you're asked for an interview, asking questions of the reporter is most appropriate (who else is being interviewed, what is the timeline, etc.)
  • Don't rush into an interview, thinking it's better to get it over and done with. Take time to consider what you will say and how. Negotiate the timelines with the reporter.
  • Having third-party support is worth considering, when countering a negative story. When appropriate, invite your supporters to speak out to provide a more balanced perspective to the story.
  • Follow up with the reporter if the facts are wrong. Don't let errors stay uncorrected, as another reporter may rely on the erroneous facts to build the next story.

Members who require advice when faced with a media request can contact the CMPA.




Reference

  1. Media.College.com, "What makes news?" Accessed on May 21, 2014 from: http://www.mediacollege.com/journalism/news/newsworthy.html

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Les médecins sous les feux des projecteurs : conseils pratiques en matière de relations médiatiques

Publié initialement en octobre 2014
P1404-4-F

L'intérêt manifesté par les médias pour les affaires juridiques ou les questions relatives aux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) ne date pas d'hier; toutefois, la convergence des médias traditionnels et des médias sociaux a accru la portée et l'impact des reportages portant sur les médecins, leur pratique ou leurs problèmes médico-légaux. Les médecins doivent admettre que leur rôle relève de la sphère publique et que cela signifie donc qu'ils ont non seulement une responsabilité envers la population, mais qu'ils sont également soumis au regard critique de l'opinion publique. Comprendre ce qui fait les manchettes, le cycle de vie des actualités et les moyens de diffusion peut permettre de gérer l'intérêt médiatique.

Un médecin peut se sentir vulnérable lorsqu'il doit affronter des journalistes, ou ressentir une certaine frustration lorsqu'il prend connaissance d'un reportage négatif, mais il peut avoir recours à des stratégies qui lui permettront de minimiser les conséquences néfastes. Il doit pour cela connaître les stratégies possibles et s'en servir, peu importe si les informations ont été transmises dans les médias sociaux ou dans d'autres médias de diffusion plus traditionnels.

Digne d'une couverture médiatique?

Les journalistes et les rédacteurs ont recours à des principes généraux pour déterminer ce qui est digne d'une couverture médiatique. Il s'agit entre autres de l'opportunité, l'importance, la proximité, la proéminence et l'intérêt humain1. De plus, le contexte régional, le type de média, c'est-à-dire s'il s'agit de la presse écrite, de la radio ou de la télévision, ainsi que les informations que l'on retrouve dans le cycle des actualités, auront tous une influence sur ce qui fera les manchettes et sur la proéminence qui y sera accordée.

Les médecins peuvent s'attendre, à un moment ou un autre de leur carrière, à faire l'objet direct ou indirect d'un reportage. Il peut s'agir d'une situation positive, par exemple, la célébration d'une étape importante dans une carrière, les résultats d'une étude de recherche ou la découverte d'un nouveau traitement, ou encore la réussite d'un traitement chez un patient. Par contre, il peut aussi y avoir des situations difficiles, voire dommageables pour la réputation d'un médecin lorsque les circonstances entraînent une action en justice, une audience disciplinaire ou un événement préjudiciable pour un patient.

Comment gérer l'intérêt médiatique?

Lorsque l'intérêt des journalistes est accueilli favorablement, les médecins peuvent miser sur les médias pour les aider à diffuser des renseignements utiles à une grande partie de la population, contribuant ainsi à l'image positive et à la bonne réputation de la profession et de l'établissement dans lequel ils exercent. Par contre, lorsque l'on s'attend à ce que l'intérêt médiatique soit négatif, voire même préjudiciable à la réputation d'un médecin, il faut tenir compte de ce qui suit :

  • Garder une attitude professionnelle lorsque l'on est convié à une entrevue, que ce soit pour accepter ou refuser l'invitation.
  • Éviter tout langage ou comportement provocateur, même lorsque les circonstances sont indéniablement difficiles.
  • Garder le contact avec le journaliste, même après avoir refusé de participer à une entrevue, au cas où il y aurait d'autres occasions de collaboration.
  • Obtenir au préalable le consentement du patient, de son décideur remplaçant ou de sa succession si l'intérêt marqué par les médias porte sur les soins prodigués à un patient particulier.
  • Confirmer que la permission voulue a bien été obtenue avant de parler au nom d'un hôpital ou d'un autre établissement lorsque l'information porte sur des soins qui y ont été prodigués.
  • Fournir des renseignements factuels au moyen d'une déclaration écrite ou verbale.
  • Demander à un tiers (p. ex., un chef de département) de parler en faveur de votre travail, si cela est approprié.
  • Obtenir l'appui d'amis, de membres de la famille et de collègues, en reconnaissant que ce sont nos proches qui nous connaissent le mieux.

Quelles sont vos obligations envers les médias?

Bien que les médecins exercent dans la sphère publique, ils ne sont pas tenus d'accorder d'entrevues aux médias, ni de fournir de photographies ou d'autres renseignements pouvant leur être demandés. Cependant, lorsque les médias s'intéressent à un médecin, il est recommandé au médecin de prendre en considération son intérêt et celui du patient, selon les circonstances. En général, les journalistes cherchent à présenter des reportages équilibrés offrant une diversité de points de vue. Demandez-vous si vous êtes ou non en mesure de proposer une autre perspective, ou une autre version des faits. Sachez que le refus d'accorder une entrevue ne fera pas nécessairement disparaître l'intérêt des médias.

Parfois, il peut être utile de répondre brièvement aux demandes, plutôt que de refuser de donner suite aux appels ou aux courriels. Une réponse accordée en temps opportun, même si une entrevue a été déclinée, peut satisfaire les journalistes. Les réponses suivantes pourraient servir :

J'ai reçu votre message vocal (ou votre courriel), mais je ne suis pas en mesure de vous accorder une entrevue.

Je comprends l'intérêt que vous portez à cette situation, mais je ne suis pas disponible pour une entrevue.

Je ne peux aborder les questions particulières soulevées par un patient en raison de mon obligation de respecter la confidentialité des renseignements.

Comme il s'agit d'une instance qui se trouve devant les tribunaux (ou le Collège), il n'est pas approprié pour moi de faire des commentaires à son sujet.

Les faits sont bien connus et diffusés et je n'ai rien d'autre à ajouter.

J'ai préparé un énoncé qui traitera des questions que vous avez soulevées.

Que faire lorsque les informations sont négatives?

Un médecin ou l'établissement où il travaille peut se retrouver au centre d'une controverse faisant les manchettes de la presse locale ou nationale. Selon certains stratèges en relations médiatiques, il est préférable d'être proactif lorsque l'on s'attend à de « mauvaises » nouvelles, alors que d'autres prônent une approche plus réactive. L'importance du sujet et de la personne faisant l'objet d'un reportage déterminera la proéminence et la portée du message dans les actualités et, parallèlement, les mesures d'atténuation pouvant être envisagées.

Si les médias se concentrent sur un médecin en particulier, il importe plus que jamais de faire preuve de professionnalisme, en dépit de la pression supplémentaire que cela suscite. L'interaction des médecins avec autrui, y compris les journalistes, peut soit infirmer, soit confirmer l'image qui est présentée. Il peut être très difficile de faire directement face à un problème, mais une telle approche pourrait en valoir la peine. Les médecins qui choisissent de collaborer avec les médias doivent être disposés à répondre à des questions difficiles. Il est donc indiqué dans une telle situation de préparer une déclaration, officielle ou non, ou encore des messages clés.

Les médecins peuvent aussi se trouver impliqués dans un reportage portant sur leurs patients. Bien que les patients puissent révéler leurs propres renseignements sur leur santé, les médecins sont pour leur part toujours tenus de respecter leur obligation de protéger les renseignements personnels et la confidentialité de ces informations. Ils doivent donc obtenir le consentement des patients avant de divulguer tout renseignement lorsque les médias les interrogent sur l'état de santé des patients.

Un médecin peut déposer une plainte officielle s'il estime qu'un reportage mériterait d'être porté à l'attention du conseil de presse qui est chargé de faire valoir des normes journalistiques et éthiques pour le compte du public et de la presse dans sa région. La plupart des organes de presse participent en effet à un conseil de presse, qui se prononce sur les plaintes déposées par le public. L'Ontario, le Québec, l'Alberta, le Manitoba, la Colombie-Britannique et le Canada atlantique ont tous un conseil de presse.

Dans des circonstances très graves, le médecin peut décider de demander réparation auprès des tribunaux. Ceci signifie qu'il doit intenter des poursuites pour diffamation et atteinte à la réputation.

Les médecins devraient envisager de suivre les conseils suivants lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à des nouvelles négatives :

  • Le cycle des actualités est de 24 h sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, et l'intérêt des médias peut rapidement changer. Les médecins peuvent tirer un certain réconfort du fait que tout reportage ne revêt qu'un intérêt éphémère.
  • Le fait de ne rien dire ne fera pas nécessairement disparaître un sujet de l'actualité. Que vous choisissiez ou non de participer à une entrevue, le reportage sera probablement publié dans les médias traditionnels ou les médias sociaux s'il est jugé digne d'intérêt.
  • Si l'on vous invite à participer à une entrevue, il est tout à fait indiqué de poser des questions au journaliste (pour savoir qui d'autre sera interviewé, à quel moment l'entrevue est prévue, etc.).
  • Il importe de ne pas s'empresser d'accepter une entrevue en pensant qu'il est préférable de s'en débarrasser pour en finir une bonne fois pour toutes. Il faut prendre le temps de réfléchir à ce que l'on veut dire et à la façon de le dire. Il est toujours possible d'essayer de négocier les échéances avec le journaliste.
  • L'appui d'un tiers peut être utile, notamment lorsqu'il s'agit de remettre en cause un reportage négatif. Invitez des personnes qui peuvent vous soutenir à présenter une perspective plus équilibrée si cela est approprié.
  • Communiquez avec le journaliste pour rectifier les faits si ceux-ci sont erronés. Ne laissez pas passer des erreurs sans les corriger; un autre journaliste pourrait en effet se fonder sur des faits erronés pour rédiger son prochain article.

Les membres sont invités à communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils sur la marche à suivre dans les demandes de renseignements provenant des médias.




Référence

  1. Media.College.com,« What makes news? ». Consulté le 21 mai 2014 à l'adresse : http://www.mediacollege.com/journalism/news/newsworthy.html

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.