Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Sharing records, improving care, staying safe

Originally published December 2014
W14-011-E

Providing patients with access to their online medical records and doctors' visit notes is advocated by some care providers and commentators as another step toward quality healthcare. Physicians who do share their records online should keep in mind their professional and legal obligations to protect patient information and document appropriately. In addition, making patients aware of what they can expect from online access maintains the trust in the doctor-patient relationship.

Technology makes it easier

Electronic health records and web-based patient portals have made it easier to share records online with patients. Physicians in solo and group practices, and institutions such as clinics and hospitals are embarking on this new front.

The benefits

Those in favour of providing patients with online access to their medical records see substantial benefits. One often-referenced study called OpenNotes allowed patients in ambulatory care settings to enter an online patient portal to read what their primary care providers wrote about them. Among its results, the study found: "The vast majority [of patients] reported an increased sense of control, greater understanding of their medical issues, improved recall of their plans for care, and better preparation for future visits. Perhaps most important clinically, a remarkable number reported becoming more likely to take medications as prescribed."1

The obligations

Giving patients access to their medical records online holds promise for improved healthcare. If venturing into this area, physicians should reflect on how they will continue to protect patient health information, document appropriately, and manage patients' expectations.

Security and privacy of information

Physicians have both professional and legal obligations to keep confidential patient information private and secure. When providing patients with online access to medical records, they should follow their medical regulatory authorities' (Colleges') policies or guidelines for protecting confidential patient information, as well as the applicable privacy legislation.

Physicians' electronic record systems and patient portals must have security features that adequately guard patient information. Robust features, such as encryption, along with rules on who can access data can help minimize risks. In some provinces and territories, these features are required by law. Physicians will want to work with their vendor and staff to create a secure electronic record system and portal.

The privacy and security issues should be part of the discussions with patients when introducing shared records. In fact, Colleges in some jurisdictions expect physicians to explain to patients the risks of using a web-based portal. Patients should be made aware that security measures have been put in place, but it is always a possibility that these safeguards can fail.

Clarifying expectations

Clarifying what patients can expect when accessing their records online allows physicians to maintain the trust in their relationships with patients.

Doctors should speak with their patients about the purpose of viewing the record and visit notes, what information they will have access to, and how the portal is intended to be used. The discussion should also include what the portal is not to be used for, such as providing a diagnosis or follow-up care, exchanging time-sensitive information, obtaining professional advice, or communicating medical emergencies. Patients who want to discuss notes they've seen online should be instructed to contact the physician in the appropriate manner.

The CMPA recommends that physicians include terms of use on their web-based patient portals. These can clarify what patients can expect from online access to their records by outlining the terms and conditions under which patients may use and access the portal. To help guide physicians in creating their own terms of use, the Association has developed a template agreement [PDF] which includes a provision for websites with patient portals.

Documenting appropriately

Physicians' notes and medical records serve a number of purposes: providing an ongoing account of patients' health and treatment, communicating with other healthcare professionals, and acting as legal documents giving evidence of the care provided. Colleges and the courts have expectations for records including that they will be contemporaneous, accurate, and adequately maintained.

When speaking with patients about viewing their records online, doctors should aid patients' understanding by discussing the professional and legal requirements for documenting in and maintaining medical records. Physicians should clarify that while patients are being given access to view their records, they will not have the ability to make changes to the record.

Patients who do want to amend their record can make a request to the physician. The physician ultimately must agree that the request is reasonable and appropriate, for example to correct an incomplete or inaccurate record. In cases where physicians decline the request, they can document the events in the record, including the discussion with the patient. In some jurisdictions, privacy legislation requires the patient's objection to the entry to be included as part of the record. When mistakes or missing information is discovered, it may be appropriate to make an additional entry in the record, provided it is clearly marked as a correction. Physicians should be aware of the legal and College requirements in their jurisdiction for making corrections or addendums (late entries) in the record.

At times, physicians may have concerns that patients' accessing their records online will view certain information that could be harmful or upsetting. Although patients have a general legal right of access to their personal health information, including consultants' reports, there may be exceptions that physician may rely on to deny patients' access to information. An example of such an exception is when it could be reasonably expected that seeing the information would result in imminent harm to patients or others. Physicians will also want to ensure that there is a mechanism in place to hold back any potentially upsetting or sensitive information that has not yet been discussed with the patient in a face-to-face appointment. For example, a physician may wish to withhold access to a poor test result until they've spoken to the patient in person. The terms of use agreement may serve as a mechanism or tool to explain in detail the intent of the portal and describe exactly what information patients will see and will not see. The agreement may even be adapted and modified for particular patients.

Patients can also request copies of some or all of the information in their medical record, which is in accordance with their general right of access to their personal health information. Some electronic record systems make it difficult practically to give patients printouts of their record. Whether physicians provide patients with a paper copy or electronic copy will depend on a patient's specific request and the ease of printing directly from the electronic record system.

Making the most of the benefits

Sharing physicians' notes and electronic records online with patients may mean significant improvements in patients' engagement in their own healthcare. The OpenNotes pilot study demonstrated that patients who saw their physicians' notes had a better understanding of their medical condition and were better at taking their medications. These convincing results motivated the three institutions participating in the study to continue with the project, which has spread to numerous other physicians' offices, clinics, and institutions in North America and the United Kingdom.

To optimize those potential benefits, doctors should keep in mind their obligations to keep patient information private and secure, document so they meet professional and legal requirements, and manage patients' expectations so they maintain trust in the doctor-patient relationship.

 


 

References

  1. Delbanco, T., Walker, J., S.K. Bell, Darer, J.D., Elmore, J.G., Farag, N., Feldman, H.J., Mejila, R., Ngo, L., Falston, J., Ross, S.E., Trivedi, N., Vodicka, E., Leveille, S.G., "Inviting patients to read their doctors' notes: A quasi-experimental study and a look ahead," Annals of Internal Medicine, (October 2, 2012), Vol. 157, No.7 p.461

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Partager les dossiers, améliorer les soins, se protéger

Publié initialement en décembre 2014
W14-011-F

Pour certains professionnels de la santé et commentateurs, fournir aux patients un accès en ligne à leur dossier médical et aux notes prises par leur médecin pendant la consultation participe à l'amélioration de la qualité des soins de santé. Les médecins qui décident de partager leurs dossiers en ligne doivent garder à l'esprit leurs obligations professionnelles et légales à l'égard de la documentation appropriée de ce dossier et de la protection des renseignements personnels des patients. Par ailleurs, informer les patients de ce qu'ils peuvent attendre d'un accès en ligne contribue à maintenir un lien de confiance avec leur médecin.

La technologie facilite les choses

Il est dorénavant plus facile de partager des dossiers en ligne avec des patients grâce aux dossiers de santé électroniques et aux portails pour les patients sur le web. Indépendamment de leur environnement de travail, les médecins relèvent ce nouveau défi.

Les avantages

Les médecins partisans d'un tel accès ont constaté d'importants avantages. Dans le cadre d'une étude souvent citée (OpenNotes), les patients suivis en consultation externe ont pu prendre connaissance des notes prises par leurs professionnels de soins de santé primaires. Cette étude a notamment révélé que « la vaste majorité [des patients] a rapporté un sentiment accru de contrôle, une meilleure compréhension de leurs problèmes médicaux, un meilleur rappel de leurs plans de traitement et une meilleure préparation de leurs futures consultations. Plus important encore peut-être sur le plan clinique, un grand nombre d'entre eux a indiqué être plus enclin à suivre l'ordonnance ».1

Les obligations

Fournir aux patients un accès en ligne à leur dossier médical présage d'une amélioration de leurs soins de santé. Les médecins qui envisagent d'accorder un tel accès doivent réfléchir aux moyens de continuer de protéger les renseignements médicaux des patients, de documenter leurs dossiers de manière appropriée et de gérer leurs attentes.

Sécurité et protection des renseignements personnels

Les médecins ont l'obligation professionnelle et légale de protéger les renseignements personnels de leurs patients. Lorsqu'ils fournissent un accès en ligne aux dossiers médicaux, les médecins devraient suivre la réglementation en vigueur en matière de protection des renseignements personnels de leurs patients, ainsi que les politiques ou les orientations produites sur le sujet par leur organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège).

Les systèmes de dossiers électroniques et les portails web doivent être sécurisés pour protéger les renseignements personnels des patients. Les risques peuvent être minimisés si ces systèmes sont dotés d'éléments de sécurité solides et d'un contrôle d'accès aux données. Ces caractéristiques constituent d'ailleurs une exigence légale dans certaines provinces ou certains territoires. Les médecins pourraient collaborer avec leur fournisseur et leur personnel pour mettre en place un système de dossiers électroniques et de portail web sécurisés.

Les questions de sécurité et de protection des renseignements personnels devraient être abordées avec les patients au moment de cette mise en œuvre. Quelques Collèges au Canada s'attendent à ce que les médecins expliquent à leurs patients les risques liés à l'utilisation d'un portail web, y compris la défaillance possible des mesures de sécurité.

Clarifier les attentes

Clarifier les attentes des patients à l'égard d'un accès en ligne à leur dossier permet aux médecins de maintenir un lien de confiance avec eux.

Les médecins devraient non seulement discuter avec leurs patients des motifs de consultation du dossier et des notes, mais aussi des informations accessibles et de l'utilisation prévue du portail. Cette discussion devrait également préciser les attentes non satisfaites par le portail, comme l'obtention d'un diagnostic, de soins de suivi, de conseils médicaux, l'échange d'informations urgentes ou la communication d'urgences médicales. Les patients qui souhaitent discuter des notes qu'ils ont lues en ligne doivent être avisés de la manière appropriée de communiquer avec leur médecin.

L'ACPM recommande que les médecins insèrent les conditions d'accès et d'utilisation directement sur leur portail web à l'intention des patients. Ceci permet de préciser les attentes que les patients peuvent entretenir à l'égard d'un accès en ligne à leur dossier. Pour aider les médecins à élaborer leurs propres conditions d'utilisation, l'ACPM offre un modèle d'entente [PDF] comportant une clause pour les sites avec portail pour les patients.

Documenter de manière appropriée

Les notes et dossiers médicaux d'un médecin fournissent une représentation continuellement à jour de la santé et des traitements d'un patient, servent à communiquer avec d'autres professionnels de la santé et constituent des documents légaux attestant des soins fournis. Les Collèges et les tribunaux s'attendent à ce que les notes aux dossiers soient exactes et consignées au cours de la consultation ou immédiatement après, et à ce que les dossiers soient tenus adéquatement.

Au moment de discuter de la consultation des dossiers en ligne, les médecins devraient faciliter la compréhension de leurs patients en abordant les exigences professionnelles et légales de la documentation et de la gestion des dossiers médicaux. Les médecins devraient préciser que cet accès en consultation ne permet pas d'effectuer des changements, mais que les patients qui souhaitent modifier leur dossier peuvent leur en faire la demande.

Il revient au médecin de décider si la requête est raisonnable et appropriée, comme une correction dans un dossier incomplet ou inexact. En cas de refus, le médecin peut documenter la situation dans le dossier et inclure la discussion avec le patient à ce sujet. Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, la réglementation en matière de protection des renseignements personnels exige que le dossier mentionne toute objection d'un patient à l'égard d'une information contenue au dossier. En cas d'erreur ou d'omission, il peut être approprié d'insérer au dossier une note supplémentaire, à la condition qu'il soit clairement indiqué qu'il s'agit d'une correction. Les médecins doivent savoir ce que la loi et le Collège de leur province ou territoire exigent en termes de correction ou d'ajouts (notes ultérieures) au dossier.

Il arrive que les médecins s'inquiètent que les patients qui accèdent à leur dossier en ligne puissent consulter des informations fâcheuses ou préjudiciables. Même si les patients ont globalement droit d'accéder à leurs renseignements personnels sur la santé, y compris les rapports des consultants, il existe des exceptions permettant à un médecin de refuser cet accès. Tel est le cas lorsqu'il est raisonnable de s'attendre que la consultation des renseignements entraînera un préjudice imminent pour le patient ou un tiers. Les médecins pourraient également s'assurer qu'un mécanisme retient toute information potentiellement fâcheuse ou sensible n'ayant pas fait l'objet d'une discussion en personne avec le patient. Il peut s'agir d'un mauvais résultat d'examen que le médecin ne souhaite pas divulguer avant d'en avoir discuté en personne. L'entente sur les conditions d'utilisation peut servir de mécanisme ou d'outil pour expliquer en détail les objectifs visés par le portail et décrire précisément les informations accessibles ou non. Cette entente peut même être adaptée ou modifiée pour certains patients.

Conformément à leur droit d'accès à leurs renseignements personnels sur la santé, les patients peuvent également demander une copie partielle ou totale de leur dossier médical. Il peut être difficile de fournir une copie papier du dossier selon le système de dossiers électroniques utilisé. La copie du dossier sera au format papier ou électronique selon la demande spécifique du patient et la facilité ou non d'impression offerte par le système de dossiers électroniques.

Tirer un profit maximum des avantages

Le partage en ligne des notes et des dossiers électroniques d'un médecin avec ses patients peut se traduire par une participation plus importante de ces derniers à leurs soins de santé. L'étude pilote OpenNotes a démontré que les patients qui consultaient les notes de leurs médecins comprenaient mieux leur affection et adhéraient davantage au traitement médicamenteux. Ces résultats convaincants ont incité les trois organisations ayant participé à cette étude à poursuivre le projet qui s'est étendu à de nombreux autres bureaux, cliniques et organisations en Amérique du Nord et au Royaume-Uni.

Afin d'optimiser ces avantages potentiels, les médecins devraient garder à l'esprit leurs obligations professionnelles et légales de protection et de sécurisation des renseignements personnels de leurs patients et gérer les attentes de ces derniers dans l'optique de maintenir un lien de confiance avec eux.




Références

  1. Delbanco T., Walker J., Bell S.K., Darer J.D., Elmore J.G., Farag N., et al. « Inviting Patients to Read Their Doctors' Notes: A Quasi-experimental Study and a Look Ahead », Ann Intern Med. 2012;157:461-470. doi : 10.7326/0003-4819-157-7-201210020-00002

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.