Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

The right test at the right time: Striking the proper balance

Originally published September 2014 / Revised April 2017 
P1403-3-E

In an era of fiscal prudence, combined with ongoing efforts to improve the safety of care, the efficient and effective utilization of healthcare resources remains a priority for governments, health authorities, administrators, and healthcare providers.  Within this context, physicians must reconcile their obligation to act fiscally responsibly while also providing safe care.

It is increasingly recognized that excessive or unnecessary medical tests and procedures do not benefit patients, and can detract from sparse healthcare resources. It is challenging for doctors to strike the proper balance when ordering tests and carrying out procedures. When responding to fiscal realities while also providing safe care, doctors will want to rely on their knowledge, clinical judgment, and the best available evidence to guide their decisions.

Growing interest in medical tests and procedures

While clinicians have experience with and routinely evaluate medical tests and procedures, current resource constraints are imposing an added complexity to the provision of care. In 2013, the interprovincial Health Care Innovation Working Group began to re-evaluate and set new guidelines for a number of procedures including MRIs, joint replacements, and cataract removal. Acting on the recommendations of the working group, Canada's first ministers adopted guidelines for the appropriate use of medical imaging for lower back pain, headaches, and minor head injuries. At the same time, some health authorities introduced guidelines on the appropriate use of certain diagnostic tests. Amidst these initiatives, the delegates at the Canadian Medical Association's 2013 Annual Meeting voted to strike a working group to develop a list of tests and procedures which pose risks, unnecessarily consume resources, and do not advance patient recovery.  These and other initiatives highlight the increased focus on resource utilization in healthcare.

Physician responsibilities

All physicians practising in Canada must "consider first the well-being of the patient."1 This includes ordering the right tests and prescribing the right treatment based on each patient's condition and circumstances. Physicians also need to engage in meaningful discussions with patients about the risks and benefits of any test or procedure, and these discussions should be documented in the medical records.

As part of the Choosing Wisely Canada (CWC) campaign, more than 220 evidence-based recommendations of tests, treatments, and procedures that patients do not need have been released across 37 specialties by participating national medical professional societies.2 The initiative is primarily intended to help doctors and patients engage in conversations about unnecessary tests and treatments and make smart and effective choices to ensure high-quality care. Unnecessary tests and treatments do not add value to care. In fact, they take away from care by potentially exposing patients to harm, leading to more testing to investigate false positives, and contributing to stress for patients. And, of course, unnecessary tests and treatments put increased strain on the resources of our healthcare system. Physicians are not obligated to follow the CWC recommendations in all cases but should familiarize themselves with the relevant lists of tests and procedures. The CMPA sees the campaign as an innovative example of physician leadership on the challenges of practising good resource stewardship and preventing patient harm from unnecessary clinical care

While some diagnostic tests may be overused, there may be cases when items on the CWC lists are required for specific patients in particular circumstances. To practise good medicine, physicians must use their knowledge and judgment, along with sound evidence, when recommending the most appropriate tests and procedures for patients. Physicians are ultimately responsible for accurate and timely diagnosis, and for discussing appropriate treatment options and recommendations.

Engaging patients

In today's wired world, patients have access to more medical information than ever before. This can lead to patients requesting a number of inappropriate or unnecessary tests or procedures. This greater access to medical information can also lead patients to decline tests and procedures based on their interpretation of what is considered "unwise." In addition, as new medical technologies (including medications) expand, both physicians and patients can be lured by these innovations. Physicians generally recognize the diffusion of some of these advancements is not always well-controlled, and doctors must assess the impact of new tests and procedures on the patient's treatment or likely outcome.3

When considering the most appropriate tests and treatments, physicians should communicate clearly with patients and involve them in discussions about options and preferences. The risks and benefits of a diagnostic test, as well as the nature and anticipated effect of a proposed treatment, should be discussed. Not all patients may realize that too much testing and treatment can be harmful, and that most tests carry risks of possible complications, physical discomfort, emotional stress, or false results. Doctors should always give patients the opportunity to ask questions, and inform them about the consequences of leaving the ailment or condition untreated. Ultimately, physicians must respect the right of a competent patient to accept or reject any medical care recommended.

Managing risks associated with recommending tests and treatments

Physicians ordering tests or treatments can fulfill their responsibilities and manage the associated risks by doing the following:

  • Be knowledgeable about the tests and treatments commonly recommended, including up-to-date evidence.
  • Discuss the test or treatment with the patient, including the reason it is recommended and the anticipated outcome. Benefits, significant risks, and available alternatives should also be communicated.
  • Communicate the possibilities associated with negative side effects and unlikely outcomes to the patient.
  • Obtain the patient's informed consent before any test or treatment is administered to the patient.
  • Document the information shared with the patient in the medical record, including (as required) rationale supporting decisions about tests or treatments. If appropriate, physicians should also document the differential diagnosis.
  • When necessary, obtain the opinion of a second physician to gain another perspective about a test or procedure under consideration.

Making the best decision

Patients rely on their physicians to recommend the right tests and procedures based on their specific clinical needs. Doctors should use their knowledge, clinical judgment, and the best available evidence to guide their decisions, and they should speak with their patients about the appropriateness of specific tests and treatments. Physicians are called upon to use healthcare resources prudently, exercise appropriate judgment, and help their patients make informed decisions about their medical care.


References

  1. Canadian Medical Association, Code of Ethics, 2004 (reviewed March 2014). Retrieved on April 8 2014 from: http://www.cma.ca/code-of-ethics
  2. Choosing Wisely Canada. http://www.choosingwiselycanada.org/ The Canadian Medical Association is a lead partner in the campaign, and more than 50 Canadian medical professional societies are at various stages of engagement in the initiative. The initiative mirrors the U.S. campaign Choosing Wisely.
  3. Wolfson, Michael, "Saving our health system means reigning in costs for doctors, tests and drugs," EvidenceNetwork.ca, 2013. Retrieved on April 8 2014 from: http://umanitoba.ca/outreach/evidencenetwork/archives/14632

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La bonne intervention au bon moment : une question d’équilibre

Publié initialement en septembre 2014/Révisé en avril 2017
P1403-3-F

En contexte de prudence financière, et malgré les efforts continus pour améliorer la sécurité des soins, l'utilisation efficiente et efficace des ressources du domaine de la santé demeure une priorité pour les gouvernements, les autorités en matière de santé, les administrateurs et les professionnels de la santé. Dans ce contexte, les médecins doivent donc concilier leur obligation d'agir de manière responsable sur le plan financier avec celle de prodiguer des soins sécuritaires.

On reconnaît de plus en plus que les patients ne retirent aucun bienfait des examens, des traitements ou des interventions excessifs ou inutiles, ceux-ci pouvant même drainer des ressources en santé déjà restreintes. Cette situation pose un défi aux médecins qui tentent de trouver un équilibre approprié dans ce qu'ils recommandent aux patients. Pour tenir compte des réalités financières tout en continuant à prodiguer des soins sécuritaires, les médecins doivent donc s'appuyer sur leurs connaissances, leur jugement clinique et les meilleures données probantes pour guider leurs décisions.

Intérêt croissant à l'égard des examens, des traitements et des interventions

La pénurie de ressources actuelle ajoute un niveau de complexité à la prestation des soins, même si les cliniciens connaissent bien les examens, les traitements et les interventions qu'ils évaluent par ailleurs régulièrement.

En 2013, le Groupe de travail sur l'innovation en matière de santé a commencé à réévaluer et à établir de nouvelles lignes directrices pour certaines interventions dont les imageries par résonance magnétique, les remplacements d'articulation et les exérèses de cataracte. En se fondant sur les recommandations de ce groupe de travail interprovincial, les premiers ministres du Canada ont approuvé les lignes directrices relatives à l'usage approprié de l'imagerie médicale pour les lombalgies, les céphalées et les traumatismes crâniens mineurs. Au même moment, des autorités en matière de santé ont présenté des lignes directrices sur l'usage approprié de certains examens diagnostiques. Parmi ces initiatives, lors de l'assemblée annuelle de l'Association médicale canadienne en 2013, les membres ont appuyé la proposition qu'un groupe de travail soit mis sur pied pour élaborer une liste d'examens, de traitements et d'interventions qui non seulement posent des risques et consomment les ressources de façon inappropriée, mais qui ne font pas progresser le rétablissement du patient. Ces initiatives et bien d'autres mettent en évidence l'importance accrue d'une saine utilisation des ressources dans les soins de santé.

Responsabilités des médecins

Tous les médecins exerçant au Canada doivent « tenir compte d'abord du mieux-être du patient1 ». Cet énoncé sous-entend de prescrire les bons examens et le bon traitement en fonction de l'état de chaque patient et des circonstances. Les médecins doivent aussi avoir une discussion éclairée avec les patients au sujet des risques et des avantages de tout examen, traitement ou intervention, et ces discussions doivent être consignées dans les dossiers médicaux.

Dans le cadre de la campagne Choisir avec soin, les sociétés professionnelles nationales de médecins participantes ont émis plus de 220 recommandations fondées sur des données probantes concernant des examens, traitements ou interventions dont les patients n'ont pas toujours besoin, qui ont été diffusées auprès de 37 spécialités2. Le but premier de cette initiative est de promouvoir le dialogue chez les médecins et les patients à l’égard des examens, traitements et interventions inutiles, et de les aider à faire des choix réfléchis et efficaces qui appuient la prestation de soins de grande qualité. Les examens et traitement inutiles ne représentent en effet aucune valeur ajoutée. Au contraire, ils nuisent aux soins en exposant possiblement les patients à des préjudices, en entraînant d’autres séries d’examens pour investiguer les « faux positifs » et en contribuant au stress chez les patients. Bien entendu, ces examens et traitements inutiles exercent par ailleurs des pressions supplémentaires sur les ressources de notre système de soins de santé. Les médecins n'ont pas l'obligation d'adopter les recommandations de Choisir avec soin dans toutes les situations, mais ils devraient se familiariser avec les listes des examens, traitements et interventions qui y sont énumérés. L’ACPM considère que cette campagne sert d’exemple novateur de leadership pour les médecins en ce qui a trait aux défis que représentent la bonne gestion des ressources et la prévention des préjudices découlant de soins cliniques inutiles chez les patients.

Pour bien exercer la médecine, les médecins doivent avoir recours à leurs connaissances, à leur jugement, de même qu'aux données probantes lorsqu'ils recommandent les examens, les traitements et les interventions les plus appropriés à leurs patients. Les médecins sont responsables en dernier ressort non seulement de poser un diagnostic précis en temps opportun, mais aussi de discuter des recommandations et des choix de traitement pertinents.

La participation des patients

Dans le monde branché d'aujourd'hui, les patients ont accès à plus d'information médicale que jamais. Il se peut alors que les patients demandent un certain nombre d'examens, de traitements ou d'interventions inutiles ou inappropriés. Ce plus grand accès à l'information médicale peut aussi mener des patients à refuser des examens, des traitements ou des interventions en fonction de ce qu'ils jugent « malavisé ». Puisque la nouvelle technologie médicale (y compris les médicaments) évolue, autant les médecins que les patients peuvent être leurrés par ces innovations. Les médecins reconnaissent généralement que la diffusion de certaines de ces avancées n'est pas toujours bien gérée; ils doivent aussi évaluer si les examens, les traitements et les interventions auront des conséquences pour le patient ou viendront influer sur les résultats3.

En envisageant les recommandations à faire, les médecins doivent communiquer clairement avec les patients et les faire participer aux discussions relatives à leurs choix et préférences. Les risques et les avantages d'un examen diagnostique, de même que la nature et les effets prévus du traitement proposé, devraient être discutés. Ce ne sont pas tous les patients qui sont en mesure de comprendre que des examens ou des traitements excessifs peuvent causer un préjudice et que la plupart des examens risquent d'entraîner des complications, un inconfort physique, un stress émotionnel ou de faux résultats. Les médecins devraient toujours donner l'occasion aux patients de poser des questions; ils devraient aussi les informer sur les conséquences de ne pas poursuivre un traitement ou de ne pas traiter une affection. Les médecins doivent aussi respecter le fait qu'un patient apte a le droit d'accepter ou de rejeter tout soin médical recommandé.

Gérer les risques associés aux examens, aux traitements et aux interventions recommandés

Lorsqu'ils prescrivent des examens, des traitements et des interventions, les médecins peuvent respecter leurs responsabilités et gérer les risques associés en suivant ces conseils :

  • Soyez informé au sujet des examens, des traitements et des procédures couramment prescrits, y compris les données probantes récentes.
  • Parlez des examens, des traitements et des interventions avec le patient en n'oubliant pas d'énoncer la raison pour laquelle ils sont prescrits ainsi que le résultat escompté. Parlez également des avantages, des risques importants et des autres options de traitement.
  • Informez le patient de la possibilité d'effets secondaires négatifs et de résultats inattendus.
  • Obtenez le consentement éclairé du patient avant l'administration de tout examen, traitement et intervention.
  • Documentez l'information partagée avec le patient dans le dossier médical, y compris (si requis) la justification de votre décision de prescrire des examens, des traitements et des interventions. Documentez le diagnostic différentiel si cela est approprié.
  • Demandez l'opinion d'un second médecin, lorsque nécessaire, pour obtenir une autre perspective sur les examens, les traitements et les interventions envisagés.

Prendre la bonne décision

Les patients comptent sur les médecins pour leur prescrire les bons examens, traitements et interventions en fonction de besoins cliniques particuliers. Voilà pourquoi les médecins doivent tirer parti de leurs connaissances, de leur jugement clinique et des meilleures données probantes pour guider leurs décisions; ils doivent discuter avec les patients du caractère approprié ou non de certains examens, traitements ou interventions. Les médecins doivent donc utiliser judicieusement les ressources en matière de soins de santé, faire preuve d'un solide jugement et aider les patients à prendre des décisions éclairées.


Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne, Code de déontologie de l'AMC, 2004, (dernière révision en mars 2014). Consulté le 12 juin 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://www.cma.ca/code-deontologie
  2. Choisir avec soin (www.choisiravecsoin.org). L'Association médicale canadienne est un partenaire principal de la campagne et plus de 50 sociétés professionnelles de médecins y participent à divers degrés. Cette initiative s'inspire de la campagne américaine Choosing Wisely.
  3. Wolfson, Michael, « Saving our health system means reigning in costs for doctors, tests and drugs », The Evidence Network of Canadian Health Policy, 2013. Consulté le 12 juin 2014 à l'adresse suivante : http://umanitoba.ca/outreach/evidencenetwork/archives/14632

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.