Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

When disclosure generates media interest

Originally published October 2014
P1404-5-E

Within the context of the wired world, physicians can expect that harm to patients from healthcare delivery, including patient safety incidents (called accidents in Québec – see Terminology), may be shared through social media and potentially through traditional media such as newspapers, radio, and television. When more than one patient is harmed, the media interest typically grows and the likelihood of social media exposure expands greatly.

Disclosure

Patients expect to learn about harm they have experienced, whatever the reason for it. Physicians have an ethical, professional, and legal obligation to disclose this information, and it should be delivered in a caring manner. Patients generally want the facts about what happened, the recommended next steps in clinical care, a genuine expression of concern and regret including a statement that one is sorry for what has happened, and some assurance that steps are being taken to prevent a similar occurrence from happening to others. In addition to disclosure at the time, many patients need ongoing support and information.

When the media is informed

Most patients are reassured and satisfied by an honest and timely disclosure by the physician and other healthcare professionals involved in an event. However, sometimes patients share their experience directly with the news media or on social media. Since traditional media sources monitor social media to identify potential news stories, patients' use of social media increases the likelihood of the news media becoming aware of what happened.

Doctors should anticipate that a harmful patient safety incident (accident in Québec) could become publicly known, and this is more likely if it involves several patients. As a result, physicians should consider developing a strategy to manage the media interest, in consultation with their institution or health authority, when appropriate. If the information is posted on social media, physicians may want to monitor what is being shared, including the general tone and the motivation for sharing.

Proactive media approach

Physicians (and their institution) might contemplate a proactive approach if media interest is likely to be high. With such an approach, the focus should remain on patients, including discussing with them the harm they have experienced and answering their questions.

Shortly thereafter, physicians or the institution's spokesperson may issue a general statement about the facts related to what happened and the measures being taken to learn more through analysis. Affected patients should be made aware of the intended public disclosure. The institution or the doctor can release general information, including the nature of the event, the number of patients affected, and the measures undertaken to remedy the situation, however they must protect the confidentiality and privacy of patients affected. Most institutions have protocols to deal with media interest, and physicians should coordinate their response or role, if any, with the institution.

Although patients have the right to identify themselves as victims of harm from care and grant media interviews, physicians must protect the identity of affected patients. When interviewed, even if the identity of patients is known, physicians should refrain from any specific references that might enable others to identify the patient.

Reactive media approach

If the circumstances are more suited to a reactive media approach, physicians involved should participate in its formulation. This would include who will respond to media inquiries, the name of the official spokesperson, what statement or key messages will be provided, and the format (for example a news conference, a tweet, an email response, or one-on-one interviews).

Again, maintaining patient confidentiality is paramount, even if patients are themselves sharing their stories with the media. As in the disclosure discussion with the patient, physicians should avoid speculation as to the reasons for what happened. This will prove challenging as the media may press for more definitive answers and seek out the affected patients and providers. A well-coordinated and consistent media response will prove most valuable and fair to all concerned.

The most appropriate spokesperson

Whether a proactive or reactive media approach is utilized, it is important to identify the most appropriate individual to speak about what happened. Recognizing the information must be more general than specific in nature, it may be appropriate to rely on a chief of division, a department head, or another spokesperson rather than the physician or other healthcare provider directly involved. However, since each situation is different and circumstances will dictate the most appropriate approach, media relations planning before responding to an enquiry is key.

Reputational considerations

In addition to their significant concerns for the patient and the family, physicians may understandably be worried about their reputation in these circumstances. Similarly, the institution in which they practise will want to appropriately address the issue and its impact. Physicians should work jointly with the institution or health authority, align messaging, and support a contained media approach. Doctors should avoid speaking on behalf of the institution or health authority unless authorized to do so.

The tone and disposition used by the physician or institution may significantly contribute to the nature of the media coverage. Physicians should avoid defensive, elusive, or obstructive demeanour when facing the media, even when the encounters are unexpected. Expressing empathy for what has happened, remaining calm, and explaining the process for analyzing the event is the best approach.

When addressing patients about harm, or when addressing the media, doctors should communicate with empathy. Media coverage of a harmful patient incident (accident in Québec) can be very stressful for physicians and patients, regardless of whether there may be a future legal action. A measured and compassionate approach on the part of physicians will convey professionalism, and mitigate reputational damage.

Legal considerations

Some patients who suffer harm may commence a legal action against the physician(s) involved. Patients may or may not seek media attention in these cases. However, legal actions can harm a physician's sense of worth, well-being, credibility, and reputation — even if the actions are subsequently abandoned by plaintiffs. Sometimes, more than one patient may be harmed or put at risk. This can occur, for example, if there are failures in the system and processes of care, equipment, or an individual provider's performance is questioned.

Just as with other legal actions, class action lawsuits can impact physicians greatly. A physician's reputation is often at stake during these cases because of media coverage, even when there is a failed attempt at certification.1 In either case, media attention can affect a physician's reputation. Class action lawsuits tend to draw instant media attention, and media reports can allow patients and families to voice concerns that the health system, its regulators, or doctors failed them.2

At all times, physicians should carefully consider how to approach media interest. A planned approach to timely and honest communication is also important, and members may contact the CMPA for advice.

Working with the media on large-scale disclosure

Large-scale harmful patient safety incidents (accidents in Québec) are often picked up by media and discussed on social media. Consider, for example, a case in which medical equipment has not been properly sterilized between patients over a number of years. In these cases, healthcare organizations generally coordinate communications with the media, including the public release of information about the event or risk itself, the at-risk patients, and the follow-up process.

Proactive organizations may alert the media before a formal review of the event has been completed. Physicians working in healthcare organizations should be aware of and follow the organization's process for managing multi-patient disclosure to patients and informing the media. Hospitals and institutions may provide briefing sessions and a supporting information package for those providing multi-patient disclosure.

Doctors should also avoid premature, unsubstantiated, or inappropriate remarks, including comments about other organizations or the professional competency of other providers.

Terminology

The World Health Organization (WHO) provides terminology to facilitate the sharing and learning of patient safety information globally, and this terminology is recommended by the Canadian Patient Safety Institute.

To support clarity and consistency in patient safety discussions, the CMPA now uses these terms:

  • Patient safety incident: An event or circumstance which could have resulted, or did result, in unnecessary harm to the patient.
  • Harmful incident: A patient safety incident that resulted in harm to the patient. Replaces the terms “adverse event” and “sentinel event.”
  • No harm incident: A patient safety incident which reached the patient but no discernible harm resulted.
  • Near miss: A patient safety incident that did not reach the patient. Replaces the term “close call.”

Terms used in Québec

Québec, the applicable legislation defines the terms “accident” and “incident.” Neither of these corresponds exactly to the WHO terminology. An “accident” in Québec means an action or situation where a risk event occurs which has or could have consequences for the state of health or welfare of the user, a personnel member, a professional involved or a third person. The term “incident,” on the other hand, is defined as an action or situation that does not have consequences for the state of health or welfare of the aforementioned parties, but the outcome of which is unusual and could have had consequences under different circumstances. The term “accident” in Québec legislation would align with the WHO term “harmful incident” whereas the term “incident” would include the WHO terms “no harm incident” and “near miss.”


 

References

  1. Lightstone, Susan, "Class-action lawsuits medicine's newest legal headache," Canadian Medical Association Journal (2001) Vol. 165 No.5, p.622
  2. Ibid., p.622

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Lorsqu’une divulgation suscite l’intérêt médiatique

Publié initialement en octobre 2014
P1404-5-F

Dans un monde branché, les médecins peuvent s'attendre à ce que les préjudices aux patients découlant de soins prodigués, y compris les incidents pour la sécurité des patients (appelés accidents au Québec – voir la section Terminologie), soient relayés par les médias sociaux, voire les médias traditionnels tels que les journaux, la radio et la télévision. Si plus d'un patient est victime de ces préjudices, l'intérêt médiatique s'accroît et il devient de plus en plus probable qu'il en soit alors question dans les médias sociaux.

Divulgation

Les patients s'attendent à être informés du préjudice qu'ils ont subi, quelle qu'en soit la raison. Les médecins ont l'obligation déontologique, professionnelle et légale de divulguer ces renseignements, qui doivent être communiqués avec empathie. En général, les patients veulent connaître les faits ayant conduit à la situation, les prochaines étapes recommandées en ce qui a trait aux soins cliniques, une expression sincère de sympathie ou de regret, incluant des excuses pour ce qui s'est produit, et une certaine assurance que des mesures seront prises pour éviter qu'une telle situation ne se reproduise. Outre une divulgation immédiate, nombre de patients auront aussi besoin d'un appui continu et de renseignements supplémentaires.

Lorsque les médias sont informés

La plupart des patients seront rassurés et satisfaits par une divulgation franche et opportune effectuée par le médecin ou tout autre professionnel de la santé impliqué dans un événement. D'autres, par contre, informeront directement les médias de leur expérience ou en discuteront dans les médias sociaux. Comme les médias traditionnels sont généralement à l'affût de ce qui se passe dans les médias sociaux, cherchant ce qui pourrait faire l'objet de reportages intéressants, il est très probable qu'ils apprennent ainsi ce qui est arrivé lorsque les patients en discutent ouvertement dans les réseaux sociaux.

Les médecins se doivent d'anticiper la possibilité que tout incident lié à la sécurité des patients (accident au Québec) puisse être rendu public, et la probabilité d'une telle situation augmente lorsque plusieurs patients sont concernés. Par conséquent, les médecins doivent songer à une stratégie leur permettant de gérer l'intérêt médiatique, en consultation avec leur établissement ou avec l'autorité en matière de santé, le cas échéant. Si l'information est publiée dans les médias sociaux, ils voudront sûrement surveiller ce qui est transmis, le ton qui est employé et les raisons motivant la publication des renseignements.

Les relations proactives avec les médias

Les médecins, tout comme leur établissement ou organisme en matière de santé, pourraient envisager une approche proactive si l'intérêt des médias risque d'être marqué. Dans ce cas, ils doivent se concentrer sur les patients en les tenant informés du préjudice subi, en discutant avec eux et en répondant à leurs questions.

Un peu plus tard, les médecins ou les porte-parole de l'établissement peuvent faire une déclaration générale quant aux faits et aux mesures prises à la suite de l'analyse de la situation. Les patients concernés doivent être informés qu'une divulgation publique est prévue. L'établissement ou le médecin peut divulguer des renseignements généraux, incluant la nature de l'événement, le nombre de patients touchés, ainsi que les mesures prises pour remédier à la situation; toutefois, il doit respecter la confidentialité et protéger les renseignements personnels des patients. La plupart des établissements ont un protocole en place pour gérer l'intérêt médiatique et les médecins doivent coordonner leur réponse ou leur rôle, le cas échéant, avec leur établissement.

Bien que les patients aient le droit de se poser en victimes d'un préjudice découlant des soins, et d'accorder à ce titre des entrevues aux médias, les médecins sont tenus pour leur part de protéger l'identité des patients concernés. Ils doivent, lors d'entrevues, et même lorsque l'identité des patients est connue, s'abstenir de faire toute référence particulière pouvant permettre d'identifier un patient.

Les approches réactives aux médias

Lorsque les circonstances se prêtent davantage à une approche réactive avec les médias, les médecins concernés doivent néanmoins participer à la formulation de celle-ci. Il s'agit de déterminer la personne responsable de répondre aux demandes des médias, le porte-parole officiel, les déclarations ou les messages clés qui seront transmis, ainsi que le format qui sera adopté (conférence de presse, gazouillis, réponse par courriel ou entrevues individuelles).

Encore une fois, il est essentiel de préserver la confidentialité des patients, même si ces derniers communiquent ouvertement sur le sujet avec les médias. Tout comme dans le cas de la divulgation avec le patient, le médecin doit éviter d'émettre des hypothèses à l'égard de ce qui s'est produit. Cela risque de se révéler difficile, vu que les médias peuvent exercer des pressions pour obtenir des réponses plus précises et chercher à connaître l'identité des patients et des professionnels mis en cause. L'uniformité du message et la bonne coordination de la réponse aux médias se révéleront utiles et équitables pour tous les intéressés.

Le porte-parole le mieux indiqué

Que l'on choisisse une approche proactive ou réactive, il importe d'identifier la personne la mieux indiquée pour commenter ce qui s'est produit. Tout en reconnaissant que les renseignements ont besoin d'être de nature plus générale que particulière, il est préférable de miser sur un chef de division ou de département, ou encore sur un autre porte-parole, plutôt que sur le médecin ou un autre professionnel de la santé impliqué directement. Toutefois, comme chaque situation est différente, et que les circonstances détermineront la meilleure approche à adopter, il est crucial de planifier les relations médiatiques avant de répondre à une demande de renseignements.

Considérations liées à la réputation

On comprend qu'un médecin puisse à juste titre s'inquiéter non seulement de ses patients et de leur famille, mais aussi de sa propre réputation dans de telles circonstances. De même, l'établissement où exerce le médecin voudra aborder la situation et son incidence de façon appropriée. Le médecin devrait donc collaborer avec l'établissement ou l'autorité en matière de santé, harmoniser les messages à transmettre et appuyer une approche mesurée à l'égard des médias. Il devrait aussi éviter de prendre la parole au nom de l'établissement ou de l'autorité en matière de santé, à moins d'en avoir préalablement obtenu l'autorisation.

Le ton et l'attitude du médecin ou du porte-parole de l'établissement peuvent contribuer considérablement à la nature du reportage qui sera publié dans les médias. Dans ses interactions avec les journalistes, le médecin doit éviter d'être sur la défensive, d'éluder les questions qui lui sont posées ou de faire obstruction à leur travail. La meilleure conduite à adopter est d'exprimer de l'empathie à l'égard de ce qui s'est produit, de demeurer calme et d'expliquer le processus d'analyse de l'événement.

Lorsqu'il s'adresse au patient ou aux médias au sujet d'un préjudice, le médecin doit communiquer avec empathie. Tout reportage dans les médias portant sur un incident lié à la sécurité des patients (accident au Québec) peut se révéler très stressant, tant pour le médecin que pour les patients et ce, qu'une action en justice soit prévue ou non. Une approche mesurée et empreinte de compassion de la part du médecin permet de véhiculer une image de professionnalisme et de réduire les risques d'atteinte à sa réputation.

Considérations d'ordre juridique

Certains patients ayant subi un préjudice voudront intenter une action en justice contre le médecin. Ils chercheront alors à obtenir l'attention des médias. Toute action en justice, même lorsqu'elle se solde par un abandon par les demandeurs, porte atteinte à l'estime personnelle, au bien-être, à la crédibilité et à la réputation du médecin. Parfois, plus d'un patient peut subir un préjudice ou être exposé à un risque. Ceci peut survenir, par exemple, s'il y a des défaillances dans le système et que les processus liés aux soins, à l'équipement et au rendement d'un seul professionnel sont ensuite mis en cause.

À l'instar des autres actions en justice, les recours collectifs ont de fortes répercussions sur les médecins. La réputation d'un médecin est souvent en jeu dans ce genre de causes, même lorsque, en raison de la couverture médiatique, la certification de l'instance n'a pu être obtenue1. Dans une situation comme dans l'autre, l'attention des médias peut porter atteinte à la réputation du médecin. Un recours collectif a tendance à attirer immédiatement l'attention des médias, et les reportages à son égard donnent aux patients et à leur famille la possibilité d'exprimer leur sentiment d'abandon par le système de santé, les responsables de sa réglementation, ou les médecins2.

Les médecins doivent donc en tout temps choisir judicieusement la façon dont ils veulent traiter l'intérêt des médias. Une approche planifiée en vue d'une communication honnête et opportune est également cruciale, et les membres pourraient communiquer avec l'ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

Collaborer avec les médias à une divulgation de grande envergure

Les médias se saisissent souvent d'incidents préjudiciables de grande envergure liés à la sécurité des patients (accidents au Québec), qui font ensuite l'objet de discussions dans les médias sociaux. Prenons par exemple un cas où de l'équipement médical n'a pas été bien stérilisé entre chaque emploi pendant un certain nombre d'années. Dans de telles situations, les organismes de santé coordonnent généralement leurs communications avec les médias, y compris la diffusion publique d'informations sur l'événement ou les risques associés, aux patients possiblement touchés et le processus de suivi.

Une organisation proactive aurait tendance à alerter les médias avant même qu'une analyse officielle n'ait été terminée. Les médecins travaillant dans des organismes de santé doivent connaître et suivre les processus établis pour gérer la divulgation aux patients et la communication aux médias de situations touchant de multiples patients. Les hôpitaux et les établissements offrent parfois des séances d'information et des trousses de documents aux personnes effectuant la divulgation d'événements touchant plusieurs patients.

Les médecins doivent se rappeler l'importance d'éviter toute remarque prématurée, inappropriée ou sans fondement, y compris tout commentaire à l'égard d'autres organismes ou de la compétence professionnelle d'autres personnes.

Terminologie

L’expression « incident lié à la sécurité du patient » apparaît également dans cet article. Cette terminologie a été proposée par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) afin de faciliter la communication et l’apprentissage des renseignements sur la sécurité des patients à l’échelle internationale[i] et cette terminologie est recommandé par l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients. Pour favoriser la clarté et l’uniformité dans les discussions en matière de sécurité des patients, l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) utilise maintenant cette terminologie :

  • Incident lié à la sécurité du patient : un événement ou une circonstance qui aurait pu entraîner ou qui a entraîné un préjudice superflu à un patient.
  • Incident préjudiciable : un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient qui a causé un préjudice au patient. Remplace l’expression « événement indésirable » et « événement sentinelle ».
  • Incident sans préjudice : un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient qui a atteint le patient sans toutefois entraîner de préjudice discernable.
  • Incident évité de justesse : un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient qui n’a pas atteint le patient.

[i] Organisation mondiale de la Santé, Conceptual Framework for the International Classification for Patient Safety, Version 1.1, Final Technical Report, janvier 2009.

Termes employés au Québec

Au Québec, les termes « accident » et « incident » sont définis dans la législation en vigueur. Cependant, aucun de ces termes ne correspond parfaitement à la terminologie de l’OMS. En droit québécois, un « accident » désigne une « action ou situation où le risque se réalise et est, ou pourrait être, à l’origine de conséquences sur l’état de santé ou le bien-être de l’usager, du personnel, d’un professionnel concerné ou d’un tiers ». (Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux). Le terme « incident » quant à lui désigne « une action ou une situation qui n’entraîne pas de conséquence sur l’état de santé ou le bien-être d’un usager, du personnel, d’un professionnel concerné ou d’un tiers, mais dont le résultat est inhabituel et qui, en d’autres occasions, pourrait entraîner des conséquences ». (Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux)

Selon l’interprétation de l’ACPM de la législation en vigueur au Québec, le terme « accident » correspondrait à l’expression « incident préjudiciable » de l’OMS tandis que le terme « incident » correspondrait aux expressions « incident sans préjudice » et « incident évité de justesse ».




Références

  1. Lightstone, Susan, « Class-action lawsuits medicine's newest legal headache », Journal de l'Association médicale canadienne (2001) vol. 165, no 5, 622
  2. Ibid., 622

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.