Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

When medicine and culture intersect

Originally published March 2014
P1401-4-E

Culture incorporates a mix of beliefs and behaviours that define the values of communities and social groups. All physicians have their own cultural background, and most doctors practising in Canada are accustomed to providing care to patients from different backgrounds.  Moreover, physicians are increasingly aware of the way in which culture can shape the practice of healthcare and influence health outcomes. 

There are visible and non-visible signs of culture. Visible signs include language, dress, food, and rituals. Non-visible indicators include perceptions of time, notions of modesty, reactions to physical space, and how emotions are managed. 

In Canada, patients and physicians come from many different cultures. Consequently, it is possible to unintentionally offend by missing clues or misunderstanding a cultural viewpoint. As well, while a patient may appear to be fluent in the doctor's language, it may be the patient's second or third language and so there may be gaps in understanding. A trusted translator can help when appropriate, but physicians should be cautious in using friends or family members who could influence or inhibit the discussion. 

Culture influences health and the management of illness, and issues related to culture can sometimes heighten risk or impact care. Culture may influence, for example, beliefs about what causes disease, whether to engage in certain health promotion activities or seek advice regarding health concerns, as well as whether treatment options are followed.

Culture can also impact a patient's approach to attending medical appointments in a timely manner. Some patients prefer not being informed of a terminal illness or the implications of not following through with a procedure. First Nations patients may consult a doctor and a traditional healer.

Culture can also influence eating and fasting rituals, even when nourishment is vital to recovery and overall function. It can also play a role in the level of family influence in patient care decisions. Gender differences in a given culture may also affect health and patient outcomes.1  As well, there may be differences among men and women seeking treatment for mental health problems.2  These are just some examples of the possible effects of culture on individual healthcare behaviours and choices. 

While it is common to speak of cultural awareness and cultural sensitivity, physicians and other providers are increasingly recognizing the importance of cultural competence and providing cultural safety to patients.

Culture and physicians' care

While physicians have a duty of care based on the physician-patient relationship, a physician's culture and beliefs may impact their ability to respond to certain requests for care in elective situations. Physicians must not discriminate against patients on grounds such as gender, race, religion, or sexual orientation (among other factors), however they may refer patients to another doctor if they feel it is in the patients' medical interest.

Cultural competence

Doctors who use their knowledge and skills to provide effective healthcare for patients of diverse cultural backgrounds are said to be culturally competent. Competence requires a blend of knowledge, conviction, and a capacity for action. Clinical cultural competence includes being aware of a patient's and one's own socio-cultural background and using skills and strategies that focus on culturally appropriate healthcare interventions. It also includes an understanding of the power differential between patients and physicians and how to enable patients to become more active partners in their healthcare whenever appropriate.3

A lack of cultural competence can affect patient safety and impact overall health outcomes, specifically regarding repeat hospital admissions, misdiagnoses, ordering unnecessary or inappropriate tests, and patient misunderstanding of treatment protocols.4  Physicians can practise in a more culturally competent manner by:

  • Being aware of how one's own cultural values and potential biases can impact interactions with patients and families from diverse cultures.
  • Demonstrating understanding and responsiveness to different values and beliefs.
  • Adapting practice style, when practical, to meet the individualized needs of patients and families.
  • Working collaboratively with people from diverse populations in a respectful manner.
  • Continuing to learn about culture and its impact on healthcare providers, patients, and families.
  • Adopting inclusive medical practices.5

Not only should physicians and other healthcare professionals provide culturally competent care, healthcare facilities are also increasingly expected to do so. This implies that culturally safe knowledge and behaviour should be actively encouraged within institutions. For example, organizations should promote values, principles, and structures to work cross-culturally; recognize and respect the cultural contexts of the communities served; and systematically involve patients, families, and communities in care.6

Given their important position within the healthcare system, physicians can be effective trailblazers for cultural competence among healthcare professionals and within healthcare facilities. Strategies to enhance clinical cultural competence among physicians include discussing these matters during trainee orientation, medical grand rounds, interprofessional departmental rounds, and in dedicated workshops. Information and presentations should be tailored to the culture-related issues pertaining to particular medical specialties such as emergency, pediatrics, palliative care, and so on.

Cultural safety

Cultural safety builds on the concepts of cultural awareness, sensitivity, and competence, but goes one step further. Cultural safety is based on actions that enable safe care to be defined by those receiving the care. 

Cultural safety is achieved by building relationships that focus on increasing the opportunities and choices of individuals, groups, and communities to access healthcare.7 It involves developing a relationship of trust between the physician and the patient, one that recognizes and respects individual differences. In many cases, both the healthcare provider and the patient need to understand and consider each other's diversity. 

A physician who embraces a culturally safe practice keeps different perspectives in mind when providing treatment to patients. This means reflecting on the information obtained about individuals in their care as well as their own cultural background. Translating this knowledge into specific actions and practices will enhance the quality and safety of medical care. Physicians may also need to model and encourage this approach in team-based care settings. As in any evaluation of healthcare quality, the person receiving medical care is the one who decides whether it was, in fact, culturally safe.

"Within primary medicine, the goal for practitioners is to use (…) self-awareness to achieve a patient encounter that the patient perceives as culturally safe 8

 

Minimizing risk

Respect for patients is key to minimizing the risk of culture-related disagreements or misunderstandings. Physicians should consider the following practices:

  • Foster strong doctor-patient relationships by being "intentionally inclusive" in patient care. This decreases the likelihood of unknowingly being "accidentally exclusive."
  • Treat every patient encounter as potentially cross-cultural.
  • Watch for potential language barriers, particularly when communicating in a patient's second or third language. A trusted translator can help, when appropriate, however physicians should be cautious when relying on friends or family members who may add their own interpretation into the discussion.
  • Inquire about the patient's beliefs related to disease, the reasons for illness, and issues about treatment.
  • Ask patients how they want to be treated and how care can be provided in a culturally sensitive way.
  • Be aware of how professional boundaries (i.e. limits to the physician-patient relationship) are perceived.
  • Document any culture-driven patient accommodations in the medical record.
  • Rely on a third party or "cultural broker" when working in difficult or emotionally-charged situations that may be rooted in cultural differences, such as inter-generational value conflicts.

Finding the right balance

While most physicians want to respect every patient's culture and work with the patient to plan care accordingly, doctors must ensure they provide competent care and meet Canadian practice standards. Making accommodations for cultural diversity is important, as is respecting a patient's healthcare choices. In all cases, doctors must provide advice to patients about treatment and care based on sound medical grounds and principles. The obligation to obtain informed consent always rests with the physician who will carry out the treatment or investigative procedure.

A final thought

Physicians are often known for their understanding and respect of patients, including patients whose cultural background differs from their own. Understanding and respect will serve CMPA members well as they provide culturally competent and culturally safe care. Committing to and encouraging cultural competence and safety in medical practice is a life-long journey, with clear benefits for patients and physicians.
 


References

  1. World Health Organization, "Gender, Women and Health." Retrieved on December 20 2013 from: http://www.who.int/gender/genderandhealth/en/index.html
  2. World Health Organization, "Gender and Mental Health." June 2002. Retrieved on December 20 2013 from: http://www.who.int/gender/other_health/en/genderMH.pdf
  3. The Hospital for Sick Children, "Introduction to clinical cultural competence," Cultural competence E-learning modules series, 2013 (slide 10). Retrieved on October 29 2013 from: http://www.sickkids.ca/NISN_ELearning/IntroductionToClinicalCulturalCompetence/player.html
  4. Ibid., slide 12
  5. Ibid., slide 11
  6. Brascoupé, S., Waters, C., "Cultural safety: Exploring the applicability of the concept of cultural safety to Aboriginal health and community wellness," Journal of Aboriginal Health (November 2009) p.18-19
  7. University of Victoria, "Cultural safety: Module 1," 2013. Retrieved on October 29 2013 from: http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/courses/csafety/mod1/index.htm
  8. Baker, A.C., Giles, A.R., "Cultural safety: A framework for interactions between Aboriginal patients and Canadian family medicine practitioners," Journal of Aboriginal Health (November 2012) p.1

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

À la croisée de la médecine et de la culture

Publié initialement en mars 2014
P1401-4-F

La culture englobe les croyances et les comportements qui définissent les valeurs des communautés et groupes sociaux. Chaque médecin a son propre bagage culturel et la plupart des médecins qui exercent au Canada a l'habitude de prodiguer des soins à des patients d'origines diverses. Par ailleurs, les médecins sont de plus en plus conscients de l'influence de la culture sur la pratique et sur les résultats des soins pour la santé.                

La culture se manifeste sous la forme de signes apparents ou non. Les signes apparents sont notamment la langue, la tenue vestimentaire, l'alimentation et les rituels. Les signes non apparents sont notamment la perception du temps, les notions de pudeur, les réactions envers l'espace physique et la gestion des émotions.

Au Canada, patients et médecins sont issus de nombreuses cultures différentes. Par conséquent, il est possible d'offenser une personne sans le vouloir, en n'étant pas conscient d'un indice, ou en ne comprenant pas un point de vue culturel. De la même manière, même si un patient semble parler couramment la même langue que son médecin, il est possible que cela soit la deuxième, voire la troisième langue de ce patient, ce qui rend possible les malentendus. Aussi, il peut être utile d'avoir recours à un interprète fiable. Les médecins doivent toutefois faire preuve de prudence lorsqu'un ami ou un membre de la famille joue ce rôle, car il pourrait influencer ou entraver la discussion.

La culture influence la santé et la prise en charge de la maladie. La problématique culturelle peut parfois accroître les risques ou influencer les soins. Ainsi, la culture peut influencer les croyances sur l'étiologie de la maladie. Elle peut également influencer la participation à certaines activités de promotion de la santé ou la consultation sur différents problèmes de santé, ainsi que le suivi ou non des options thérapeutiques.

La culture peut également influencer l'approche d'un patient à l'égard du respect des rendez-vous médicaux. Certains patients préfèrent ne pas être informés qu'ils sont en phase terminale ou encore qu'il risque d'y avoir des répercussions liées à leur refus de subir une intervention. Les patients membres des Premières Nations peuvent consulter à la fois un médecin et un guérisseur traditionnel.

La culture peut également influencer les habitudes alimentaires et les rituels de jeûne, même lorsqu'une alimentation est d'importance vitale pour la guérison et les fonctions physiologiques dans leur ensemble. Elle peut également jouer un rôle sur le niveau de l'influence familiale dans les décisions relatives aux soins d'un patient. Selon la culture, les différences entre les sexes pourront également avoir une influence sur la santé d'un patient et le résultat des soins pour la santé.1 De la même manière, il peut exister des différences entre les hommes et les femmes qui cherchent à obtenir des soins pour des problèmes de santé mentale.2 Ceci ne représente que quelques exemples des effets possibles de la culture sur les comportements et les choix de santé d'un individu.

Même s'il est fréquent de parler de prise de conscience culturelle ou de sensibilité culturelle, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé reconnaissent de plus en plus l'importance de respecter les différences de culture et d'avoir une pratique sécuritaire sur le plan culturel.

 

La culture et les soins prodigués par les médecins

En plus du devoir de diligence fondé sur la relation entre un médecin et son patient, la culture et les croyances d'un médecin peuvent influencer sa capacité à répondre à certaines demandes de soins dans les situations non urgentes. Les médecins ne doivent pas exercer de discrimination envers les patients sur la base notamment du sexe, de l'origine ethnique, de la religion ou de l'orientation sexuelle. Toutefois, ils peuvent adresser le patient à un autre médecin s'ils pensent que cela est dans l'intérêt médical du patient.

Compétence culturelle

Sont considérés « culturellement compétents », les médecins qui utilisent leurs connaissances et habiletés pour prodiguer des soins de santé efficaces à des patients d'origines culturelles diverses. Cette compétence nécessite à la fois des connaissances, des convictions et la capacité d'agir. La compétence culturelle clinique comporte le fait d'être conscient de son propre bagage socio-culturel et de celui d'un patient, et d'utiliser des habiletés et stratégies qui se focalisent sur des interventions thérapeutiques culturellement appropriées. Elle comporte également une compréhension du déséquilibre des pouvoirs entre médecins et patients et de la façon de permettre aux patients de devenir, le cas échéant, des partenaires plus actifs dans les soins de santé qui leur sont prodigués.3

Une absence de compétence culturelle peut avoir des répercussions sur la sécurité des patients et influencer les résultats des soins pour la santé. Il n'y a qu'à songer aux hospitalisations à répétition, aux erreurs de diagnostic, à la prescription d'examens inutiles ou inappropriés, ou encore à l'incompréhension des patients à l'égard des protocoles de traitement.4 Les médecins peuvent exercer de manière plus respectueuse des différences culturelles en :

  • étant conscient de la manière dont les valeurs et biais culturels potentiels de chaque individu peuvent influencer les interactions avec les patients et les familles de cultures diverses
  • démontrant de la compréhension et de la réceptivité à l'égard des différentes valeurs et cultures
  • adaptant, si possible, le style de pratique permettant d'individualiser les besoins des patients et des familles.
  • collaborant de façon respectueuse avec des personnes d'origines diverses
  • continuant d'en apprendre davantage sur la culture et son incidence sur les professionnels de la santé, les patients et leur famille adoptant des pratiques médicales inclusives.5

Il est non seulement attendu des médecins et des autres professionnels de la santé qu'ils prodiguent des soins respectueux des différences culturelles, mais cette attente porte également de plus en plus sur les établissements de santé eux-mêmes.  Ceci implique que des connaissances et des comportements sécuritaires sur le plan culturel doivent être vivement encouragés au sein même de ces établissements. Ainsi, ces organisations peuvent promouvoir des valeurs, principes et structures permettant de travailler en contexte interculturel; de reconnaître et respecter les contextes culturels des communautés desservies; et de faire systématiquement participer aux soins prodigués les patients, leur famille et leur communauté.6

Étant donné la place importante qu'ils occupent au sein du système de santé, les médecins peuvent devenir d'efficaces pionniers en compétence culturelle parmi les professionnels de la santé et dans les établissements de soins. Parmi les stratégies visant à améliorer la compétence culturelle clinique des médecins, il est notamment possible de discuter de ce sujet pendant l'orientation d'un stagiaire ou d'un résident, lors d'une séance scientifique, d'une réunion départementale interprofessionnelle ou dans le cadre d'ateliers spécialisés. Les informations et les présentations devraient être adaptées à la problématique culturelle associée à certaines spécialités médicales telles que la médecine d'urgence, la pédiatrie et les soins palliatifs.

Sécurité culturelle

Les concepts de conscience, de sensibilité et de compétence culturelle contribuent à la sécurité culturelle, mais ils ne suffisent pas. La sécurité culturelle se fonde sur des actions permettant une pratique sécuritaire telle que définie par les patients eux-mêmes.

Il est possible d'atteindre une sécurité culturelle en construisant des relations qui visent à accroître les possibilités et les choix d'accès aux soins de santé des individus, des groupes et des communautés.7 Ceci sous-entend qu'une relation de confiance respectueuse des différences individuelles s'est instaurée entre le médecin et son patient. Dans de nombreux cas, le professionnel de la santé et le patient doivent comprendre et prendre en compte les différences de l'un et l'autre.

Lorsqu'il prodigue des soins à ses patients, un médecin qui adopte une pratique sécuritaire sur le plan culturel garde à l'esprit qu'il existe différents points de vue. Cela signifie qu'il s'interroge sur les renseignements obtenus sur les personnes à qui il prodigue des soins, ainsi que sur son propre bagage culturel. La qualité et la sécurité des soins médicaux s'améliorent lorsque ces connaissances se traduisent en actions et pratiques précises.  Les médecins doivent également démontrer et encourager cette approche dans le cadre de soins prodigués en équipe. Comme dans toute évaluation de la qualité des soins de santé, la personne bénéficiant de soins médicaux est également celle qui décide si ces soins ont été respectueux de sa culture.

« L'objectif de tout médecin dans les soins de première ligne est d'utiliser la conscience de soi pour permettre une rencontre avec le patient que ce dernier considérera comme respectueuse de sa culture ».8 [Traduction]


Réduire le risque au minimum

Respecter les patients est essentiel pour réduire au minimum les risques de désaccord ou de malentendu liés à la culture. Les médecins devraient envisager les pratiques suivantes :

  • Favoriser une forte relation médecin-patient en adoptant une approche aux soins des patients « délibérément inclusive ».  Ceci diminue le risque d'avoir involontairement adopté une approche « accidentellement exclusive ».
  • Traiter toute rencontre avec un patient comme potentiellement interculturelle.
  • Être à l'affût de barrières linguistiques potentielles, en particulier lors d'entretiens dans la deuxième ou troisième langue du patient.  Un interprète de confiance peut être mis à contribution si la situation s'y prête. Cependant, les médecins devraient jouer de prudence et réfléchir avant de se fier à des amis ou des membres de la famille, qui pourraient nuancer la discussion de leur propre interprétation.
  • S'enquérir des croyances d'un patient au sujet de sa maladie, des raisons de sa maladie et de ses questions sur le traitement.
  • Demander au patient comment il souhaite être traité et comment les soins peuvent être prodigués en tenant compte de ses sensibilités culturelles.
  • Prendre conscience de la façon dont les limites professionnelles (c.-à-d. les limites à la relation entre un médecin et son patient) sont perçues.
  • Documenter au dossier médical tout accommodement culturel accordé au patient.
  • S'appuyer sur un tiers ou sur un intermédiaire culturel lorsque les différences culturelles engendrent des situations difficiles ou sensibles sur le plan émotif, telles que les conflits de valeurs entre les générations.

Trouver le bon équilibre

Même si la plupart des médecins souhaitent respecter la culture de tous leurs patients et collaborer avec eux pour planifier les soins en conséquence, ils doivent s'assurer de fournir des soins compétents et qui satisfont les normes de pratique au Canada. Il est tout aussi important d'accorder des accommodements sur la base de la diversité culturelle, que de respecter les choix de soins d'un patient. Les médecins doivent, en toute circonstance, fournir des conseils aux patients sur le traitement et les soins en vertu de solides motifs et principes médicaux. L'obligation d'obtenir un consentement éclairé revient toujours au médecin qui effectuera le traitement ou l'intervention exploratoire.

Dernière réflexion

Les médecins sont souvent reconnus pour leur compréhension et leur respect des patients, y compris ceux dont le bagage culturel diffère du leur. Compréhension et respect seront utiles aux membres de l'ACPM pour que leur pratique soit sécuritaire sur le plan culturel et respecte les différences de culture. Encourager la mise en œuvre d'une telle pratique médicale représente l'engagement d'une vie. Il en est dans l'intérêt évident des patients comme des médecins.
 


Références

  1. Organisation mondiale de la Santé, « Genres, femmes et santé ». Consulté le 20 décembre 2013 à l'adresse : http://www.who.int/gender/genderandhealth/en/index.html
  2. Organisation mondiale de la Santé, « Gender and Mental Health ». Juin 2002. Consulté le 20 décembre 2013 à l'adresse : http://www.who.int/gender/other_health/en/genderMH.pdf
  3. Adapté de The Hospital for Sick Children, « Introduction to clinical cultural competence », Cultural competence E-learning modules series, 2013 (diapositive 10). Consulté le 29 octobre 2013 à l'adresse : http://www.sickkids.ca/NISN_ELearning/IntroductionToClinicalCulturalCompetence/player.html
  4. Id., ibid., diapositive 12.
  5. Id., ibid., diapositive 11.
  6. Brascoupé, S., Waters, C., « Cultural safety : Exploring the applicability of the concept of cultural safety to Aboriginal health and community wellness, » Journal of Aboriginal Health (novembre 2009) p. 18-19.
  7. Université de Victoria, « Cultural safety: Module 1 », 2013. Consulté le 29 octobre 2013 à l'adresse : http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/courses/csafety/mod1/index.htm
  8. Baker, A.C., Giles, A.R., « Cultural safety: A framework for interactions between Aboriginal patients and Canadian family medicine practitioners, » Journal of Aboriginal Health (novembre 2012) p.1.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.