Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

After the diagnosis: How to communicate with terminally ill patients

Originally published March 2015
P1501-6-E

One of physicians’ most difficult duties is to give patients bad news about their health or prognosis. Even with significant advances in medical education on communication in end-of-life discussions, many doctors do not always feel sufficiently prepared for this daunting task. The unease of the situation may cause physicians to avoid having meaningful discussions or communicating adequately with patients diagnosed with a terminal illness and with their families (when appropriate). Failing to communicate effectively can sometimes lead to unwanted consequences such as invasive procedures, rather than focusing on comfort and support for the patient. This, in turn, may precipitate otherwise avoidable complaints and legal actions against physicians.

A recent study identified 11 key elements of end-of-life care discussions with seriously ill patients in hospital.1 These include, for example, disclosing the prognosis and asking about the patient’s values in the context of healthcare decisions. They also include providing information about expected outcomes, and the risks of life-sustaining treatments and comfort measures. Patients reported that on average only 1.4 of the 11 elements had been discussed during the first few days of being admitted to hospital, and 10% of patients were not told their prognosis.

By preparing for a discussion of bad news, considering how to deal with patients’ reactions, and dealing with their own emotional health, physicians can communicate effectively with patients and their families when a patient’s prognosis is terminal. This can help patients make informed choices that are consistent with their values and that contribute to quality end-of-life care.

Preparing to share the news

Starting a dialogue early — when definitive test results are known and the physician has made a final diagnosis — is important for helping patients face a terminal illness.

  • Rehearse how you will deliver the information. If your experience in delivering bad news is limited, consider observing a more experienced colleague or use role play to practise different scenarios.
  • Schedule the discussion in a private, comfortable location. Allow sufficient time, free of interruptions. When possible, and with the patient’s permission, have a family member, caregiver, or substitute decision-maker attend.
  • Have the patient’s medical record, including diagnostic results, on hand.
  • Be prepared to provide as much information as a reasonable patient would want and need to know.

Dealing with patient reactions

Doctors may want to prepare the patient and family for the news by saying, “I have received the test results and we need to talk. I’m sorry, but I have bad news.” Physicians need to be candid but compassionate, and the information should be presented in a well-organized manner using plain, non-technical language. The literature offers suggestions for language that may be employed.2,3 At all times, it is important to be sensitive to patients’ personal and cultural values, and spiritual or religious beliefs.

Most patients need time to process difficult news, and physicians should be prepared for emotional reactions including shock and distress. The discussion should proceed at the patient’s pace and according to the patient’s emotions. It is also important to listen and to give patients and their family opportunities to ask questions. Supplying written material such as patient aids may help patients better understand their clinical situation.

After having time to absorb the news from the initial discussion, patients and families may request follow-up discussions. During these subsequent discussions, patients should be given the opportunity to ask additional questions, and physicians should be ready to repeat the information or provide more details. At such follow-up meetings, the goals of care, treatment options, and end-of-life preferences should be discussed. The goals of care should be routinely assessed over time and remain focused on compassion and the needs of the patient. The patient’s emotional state should be closely monitored. In addition to communicating with the patient and family, when appropriate, the most-responsible physician should also communicate relevant information to the care team. These discussions and actions should be documented in the medical record.

Maintaining hope is crucial for many patients. When a cure is not a likely outcome, hope may be focused on achieving comfort and quality of life. Patients will want to know about their options for palliative care, and families may want to seek available community-based support. This may also be a good time to talk with the patient about whether they want spiritual support and to direct them to resources, as appropriate. The patient needs to know that the physician cares and will provide the necessary support or find resources to do so.

Physicians need support, too

Physicians should be attentive to their own emotions during and after difficult discussions with patients and families. Physicians who feel overwhelmed or stressed may benefit from speaking with a sympathetic colleague, or contacting their provincial physician health program, which can offer individual counselling and support. As physicians’ emotional response continues after work, sharing their feelings with their loved ones, without divulging personal patient information, can also help.

The bottom line

Physicians’ attitudes and ability to communicate are essential in helping patients cope with difficult news.

  • Remain sensitive to the patient’s cultural values and spiritual beliefs, which may help guide how much information a patient wants about their condition. Nevertheless, patients should have sufficient information to enable them to assess their options and make informed decisions about their care and plan the end of life.
  • Determine patient understanding of the information being provided, and answer questions honestly and openly. Address any language, cultural, or cognitive barriers to effective communication.
  • Demonstrate empathy and support to the patient and family.
  • Document the consultations and communication in the medical record.
  • Physicians concerned about their exposure to medico-legal difficulties are encouraged to contact the CMPA for advice and assistance.

 


 

References

  1. You, John, Dodek, Peter, et al., “What really matters in end-of-life discussions? Perspectives of patients in hospital with serious illness and their families.” Canadian Medical Association Journal, 2014, 1-9. Accessed November 4, 2014 at: http://www.cmaj.ca/content/early/2014/11/03/cmaj.140673
  2. Pantilat, S., “Communicating with Seriously Ill Patients: Better Words to Say,” Journal of the American Medical Association (2009) Vol. 301, No.12, p.1279-1281
  3. Workman, S., “A communication model for encouraging optimal care at the end of life for hospitalized patients,” Quarterly Journal of Medicine (2007) Vol. 100, p.791-797

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

L’annonce d’un mauvais pronostic aux patients en phase terminale

Publié initialement en mars 2015
P1501-6-F

L’une des tâches les plus difficiles pour les médecins est celle d’annoncer de mauvaises nouvelles associées à l’état de santé de leurs patients ou à un pronostic. En dépit des avancées remarquables de la formation médicale sur la communication lors des discussions concernant les soins de fin de vie, de nombreux médecins ne se sentent pas toujours suffisamment préparés en vue de cette tâche ardue. En raison de ce malaise, les médecins pourraient ne pas tenir ces discussions importantes ou ne pas communiquer adéquatement avec les patients en phase terminale, ainsi qu’avec leurs familles, au besoin. Le fait de ne pas communiquer efficacement peut parfois entraîner des conséquences fâcheuses, telles que des interventions effractives au détriment du confort et du soutien du patient. Ceci pourrait précipiter des plaintes et des actions en justice contre les médecins qui auraient pu être évitées.

Une étude récente a permis de déterminer 11 éléments clés dans les discussions de soins de fin de vie avec des patients hospitalisés et dont l’état était très grave.1 Ces éléments comprenaient, entre autres, la divulgation du pronostic et le questionnement du patient sur ses valeurs dans le contexte de la prise de décisions en soins de santé. Parmi les autres éléments, on retrouvait : la communication de l’information concernant les résultats attendus, et la discussion des risques des traitements de maintien de la vie et des mesures de confort. Les patients ont signalé qu’en moyenne, seulement 1,4 des 11 éléments avait été discutés lors des premiers jours d’hospitalisation; 10 % des patients n’ont pas appris leur pronostic.

Les médecins qui prennent le temps de se préparer avant de communiquer de mauvaises nouvelles, qui réfléchissent à la façon de gérer les réactions des patients et qui prennent soin de leur propre santé émotionnelle seront bien placés pour communiquer efficacement avec les patients et leurs familles lors de l’annonce d’un pronostic de fin de vie. Une telle approche aidera aussi les patients à faire des choix informés, conformes à leurs valeurs et qui contribueront à des soins de fin de vie de qualité.

Se préparer à annoncer une mauvaise nouvelle

Lorsque les résultats définitifs des examens sont connus et que le médecin a établi un diagnostic final, il importe d’amorcer dès que possible un dialogue pour aider les patients à faire face à une maladie en phase terminale. Voici quelques conseils à cet égard :

  • Exercez-vous à présenter l’information. Observez un collègue plus expérimenté ou faites des jeux de rôles pour pratiquer divers scénarios si votre expérience est limitée en ce qui a trait à la communication de mauvaises nouvelles.
  • Prévoyez tenir la discussion dans un endroit privé et confortable. Planifiez suffisamment de temps et évitez les interruptions. Veillez à ce qu’un membre de la famille, un soignant ou un décideur-remplaçant puisse y participer, quand cela est possible, et avec la permission du patient.
  • Ayez sous la main le dossier médical du patient, y compris les résultats des investigations.
  • Soyez préparé à fournir autant d’information qu’un patient raisonnable souhaiterait recevoir et dont il aurait besoin de connaître.

Gérer les réactions du patient

Les médecins pourraient préparer le patient et la famille à l’annonce de ce genre de nouvelle en leur disant, entre autres : « J’ai reçu les résultats des examens et nous devons en parler. Je suis désolé, mais j’ai de mauvaises nouvelles. » Les médecins doivent être sincères, mais empathiques, et l’information doit être présentée de façon bien organisée en utilisant un langage simple et non technique. La documentation scientifique présente des exemples pouvant être utilisés.2,3 En tout temps, il importe d’être sensible aux valeurs culturelles et personnelles des patients, ainsi qu’aux croyances religieuses ou spirituelles.

La plupart des patients ont besoin de temps pour assimiler les nouvelles difficiles; toutefois, les médecins doivent pouvoir intervenir s’il y a des réactions émotives, y compris un état de choc et de la détresse. La discussion doit évoluer au rythme du patient et en fonction de ses émotions. Il importe aussi d’écouter et de donner, aux patients ainsi qu’à leur famille, des occasions de poser des questions. La fourniture de documents écrits, tel que des outils d’aide à la décision, peut aider les patients à mieux comprendre leur état clinique.

Les patients et leur famille peuvent demander d’avoir des discussions de suivi après avoir pris le temps d’absorber les nouvelles à la suite des discussions initiales. Lors de ces discussions subséquentes, les patients devraient pouvoir poser des questions additionnelles et les médecins devraient répéter l’information ou fournir plus de détails. À ces rendez-vous de suivi, les objectifs des soins, les choix de traitement et les préférences concernant la fin de vie devraient être discutés. Les objectifs des soins doivent être évalués continuellement et demeurés centrés sur la compassion et les besoins du patient. L’état émotif du patient doit être surveillé étroitement. De plus, le médecin le plus responsable doit transmettre les renseignements pertinents à l’équipe soignante, en plus de communiquer avec le patient et la famille, au besoin. Ces discussions et interventions doivent être documentées dans le dossier médical.

Le fait de garder espoir est crucial pour de nombreux patients. Lorsque la guérison n’est pas un résultat vraisemblable, l’espoir peut prendre la forme de la recherche de confort et de qualité de vie. Les patients voudront connaître les choix de soins palliatifs et les familles chercheront à obtenir des services de soutien offerts au sein de la collectivité. Le moment pourrait être bien choisi pour demander au patient s’il souhaite un soutien spirituel et pour le diriger ensuite, selon le cas, vers les ressources appropriées. Le patient doit savoir que le médecin s’occupera de lui, qu’il lui fournira le soutien nécessaire ou trouvera les ressources pour le faire.

Les médecins ont aussi besoin de soutien

Les médecins doivent être attentifs à leurs propres émotions, pendant ces discussions difficiles avec les patients et les familles ainsi que par la suite. Les médecins qui se sentent accablés ou stressés peuvent parler à un collègue ou encore communiquer avec le personnel du programme d’aide aux médecins de leur province ou territoire, qui pourra leur offrir des conseils individuels et du soutien. Puisque la réponse émotive se poursuit bien au-delà des heures de travail, les médecins peuvent trouver utile de se confier à des êtres chers, sans toutefois divulguer l’information personnelle des patients.

En bref

L’attitude des médecins et leur capacité à communiquer sont essentielles pour aider les patients à faire face aux nouvelles difficiles. Voici quelques conseils à cet effet :

  • Soyez sensible aux valeurs culturelles et aux croyances spirituelles; ceci pourrait vous aider à déterminer le volume d’information qu’un patient souhaite recevoir sur son état clinique. Les patients doivent toutefois recevoir suffisamment d’information pour leur permettre d’évaluer leurs options et de prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet de leurs soins et de leur plan de fin de vie.
  • Déterminez la compréhension du patient en ce qui a trait à l’information fournie et répondez aux questions honnêtement et franchement. Tenez compte de toutes les barrières cognitives, culturelles et linguistiques à une communication efficace.
  • Faites preuve d’empathie et apportez un soutien au patient et à sa famille.
  • Documentez les consultations et les communications dans le dossier médical.

Les médecins préoccupés par des problèmes d’ordre médico-légal sont encouragés à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils et de l’assistance.




Références

  1. You, John, Dodek, Peter, et coll. « What really matters in end-of-life discussions? Perspectives of patients in hospital with serious illness and their families. » Canadian Medial Association Journal ( 2014), DOI : 10.1503/cmaj.140673. Consulté le 2 février 2015. http://www.cmaj.ca/content/early/2014/11/03/cmaj.140673
  2. Pantilat, S. « Communicating with Seriously Ill Patients: Better Words to Say », Journal of the American Medical Association (2009) vol. 301, no 12, p.1279-1281.
  3. Workman, S. « A communication model for encouraging optimal care at the end of life for hospitalized patients », Quarterly Journal of Medicine (2007) vol. 100, no 12, p. 791-797.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.