Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Change is good: Taking action on healthcare safety

Originally published May 2015
P1502-4-E

In the quest toward making healthcare safer, physicians and other healthcare providers must first uncover those practices which pose an avoidable and unacceptable risk to patients. Once unsafe practices are exposed, the next step is to take action. But where do you begin?

Researching best practices

Based on various factors such as personal observation of potential risks or reading about best practices, physicians may conclude that a practice needs to be made safer. After determining an activity needs to change, physicians typically look for evidence-based research, choose a new approach from the most appropriate activity, and adapt it to their setting.

In the search for evidence-based practices, doctors and other providers can refer to numerous resources such as those offered by the Canadian Patient Safety Institute and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality in the United States. They can also turn to medical and healthcare organizations for evidence-based research. The Canadian Medical Association, for instance, offers CMA Infobase, a database of Canadian clinical practice guidelines. The College of Family Physicians of Canada website offers links to databases and search tools that contain guidelines, systematic reviews, primary research, and critically appraised topics. Through its extensive educational resources, the Canadian Medical Protective Association identifies potential risks in medical care based on research into medico-legal cases.

Doctors may also want to explore the online resources offered by universities with healthcare faculties. For example, the University of British Columbia’s Continuing Professional Development program offers an online resource called “This Changed My Practice.”1 There, a team of local opinion leaders distill the findings from clinical trials and identify those which were significant enough to change how they deliver care.

Some governments also offer best practice resources. The Government of Manitoba, for instance, offers online patient safety resources focused on healthy living and seniors.2 Many libraries provide a wealth of information as well. For example, the Cochrane Library provides access to the Cochrane Reviews — internationally recognized reviews of primary research in healthcare and health policy.

Physicians may also want to research ready-to-adopt patient safety strategies. In 2013 the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality published the article “Making Health Care Safer II: An Updated Critical Analysis of the Evidence for Patient Safety Practices.”3 The article evaluated the evidence for a large number of patient safety practices, for example, using preoperative checklists and identifying patients at risk for suicide. It identified practices that are “strongly encouraged for immediate adoption by healthcare providers” as well as ones that are “encouraged” for adoption.

After evaluating the evidence healthcare providers should also think about how the recommended practices will fit into their particular setting. For example, will the new activity be appropriate for the patient population’s characteristics and values? Does the new activity require skills, equipment, or other resources, and are these available? Will physicians be able to measure the outcomes the changes have brought to their practice?

Choosing an approach

The next step is finding an approach, model, or framework to begin moving evidence-based information into practice. More than ever, physicians and other healthcare providers have a plethora of implementation models to choose from.

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute (CPSI), for example, provides a detailed framework called Improvements Framework, Getting Started Kit, available on the institute’s website.4 Geared to interprofessional and interdisciplinary teams, the kit is based on the PDSA cycle (Plan, Do, Study, Act). The CPSI also offers information on other frameworks, such as Six-Sigma, Positive Deviance (PD), and Lean Improvement.

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research also offers a framework guide for healthcare practitioners. Titled Moving into action: We know what practices we want to change, now what? An implementation guide for health care practitioners,5 the online tool provides steps for implementing changes based on evidence.

In determining which framework to use, healthcare providers should consider which one best suits their particular situation. For instance, a simplified model is likely better suited to a solo medical practice, while more complex models may be more appropriate for larger organizations.

Barriers and facilitators

Implementing new safety practices is more effective when healthcare providers take potential barriers and facilitators into consideration. Barriers and facilitators can be identified by examining the characteristics of the proposed change, individual care providers, local setting, and organization (i.e. resources and culture).

Research shows that innovations will be more easily adopted if healthcare providers view them as being evidence-based and more beneficial than the old practices. Innovations requiring new knowledge or skills are more likely to be adopted if the providers see them offering an opportunity to grow professionally. Conversely, this innovation may be a barrier if the resources for gaining new skills are not readily available.6 Changes in practice are more successful when healthcare providers know a new approach is urgently needed because the status quo is inadequate,7 and when providers are engaged in the change process and have an opportunity to contribute their knowledge and expertise.

The use of champions — individuals appointed to promote and mentor the adoption of an innovation — may be beneficial in helping to implement change, particularly when clinical champions work with managerial and executive champions.8

A patient’s attributes can also either impede or facilitate practice innovation. Patients with strong literacy skills, for instance, may be better equipped to take an active role in their care and make a change easier to introduce.9 Low levels of individual health literacy have been found to contribute to poorer health outcomes, increased risk of adverse events, and higher healthcare costs.10 Giving patients or their family specific information on what they can do to manage their healthcare may increase their health literacy.

Measuring the impact, sustaining the change

Finally, when implementing a change, physicians and other providers must determine how they will know if the change improved care. In their implementation plans, they should include a data collection methodology to ascertain whether the change had a positive effect on safety or not.

Many organizations offer tools on how to test changes. For example, the Canadian Patient Safety Institute’s Getting Started Kit!11 provides instructions on testing changes. If the change is positive, the kit gives providers information on how to sustain it.

Changing practice, improving safety

Transferring evidence-based research into practice requires effort and a well thought-out plan. Physicians and other providers can improve the safety of healthcare by identifying evidence-based research and practices, choosing an effective plan or framework for making the change, considering potential barriers and facilitators, testing the impact of the change, and considering the change’s sustainability.

 
 

References

  1. Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia, “This Changed my Practice.” Accessed January 21, 2015 from: http://thischangedmypractice.com/
  2. Government of Manitoba, “Manitoba Health, Healthy living and seniors.” Accessed January 21, 2015 from: http://www.gov.mb.ca/health/patientsafety/resources.html
  3. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US), “Making health care safer II: An updated critical analysis of the evidence for patient safety practices,” March 2013. Comparative Effectiveness Review No. 211AHRQ Publication No. 13-E001-EF. Accessed January 21, 2015 from: http://www.ahrq.gov/research/findings/evidence-based-reports/ptsafetyuptp.html
  4. Canadian Patient Safety Institute, “Improvement frameworks getting started kit,” October 2011. Accessed January 21, 2015 from: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/English/toolsResources/ImprovementFramework/Pages/default.aspx
  5. Canadian Institutes of Health Research, “Moving into action: We know what practices we want to change, now what? An implementation guide for health care practitioners,” March 28, 2012. Accessed January 21, 2015 from: http://www.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/e/documents/lm_moving_into_action-en.pdf
  6. Ibid, p.12
  7. Kotter, John P., Leading Change, Harvard Business Review Press, 1996, ISBN 9781422186435
  8. Soo, S., Whitney, B, Baker, R. “Role of champions in the implementation of patient safety practice change,” Healthcare Quarterly (2009) Vol. 12, p.128
  9. Canadian Institutes of Health Research, “Moving into action: We know what practices we want to change, now what? An implementation guide for health care practitioners,” March 28, 2012, p.16. Accessed January 21, 2015 from: http://www.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/e/documents/lm_moving_into_action-en.pdf
  10. Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care, “Health literacy,” Accessed January 26, 2015 from: http://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/our-work/patient-and-consumer-centred-care/health-literacy/Patient safety expertise
  11. Canadian Patient Safety Institute, “Improvement frameworks getting started kit,” October 2011. Accessed January 21, 2015 from: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/English/toolsResources/ImprovementFramework/Pages/default.aspx

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Le changement est bon : agir sur la sécurité des soins de santé

Publié initialement en mai 2015
P1502-4-F

Dans le contexte des efforts qu’ils déploient pour rendre les soins de santé plus sécuritaires, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé doivent d’abord découvrir les pratiques qui posent un risque évitable et inacceptable pour les patients. Après avoir cerné les pratiques non sécuritaires, il faut agir. Or, par où commencer?

Recherche sur les pratiques exemplaires

En se fondant sur divers facteurs comme leurs observations personnelles des risques possibles ou sur des lectures portant sur les pratiques exemplaires, il se peut que les médecins concluent qu’il faut rendre une pratique plus sécuritaire. Après avoir déterminé qu’il faut modifier une activité, les médecins explorent habituellement des recherches fondées sur des données probantes, choisissent une pratique parmi celles qui conviennent le plus et l’adaptent à leur contexte.

Dans leur recherche de pratiques fondées sur des données probantes, les médecins et d’autres professionnels de la santé peuvent consulter de nombreuses ressources comme celles qu’offrent l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients et l’Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality aux États-Unis. Ils peuvent aussi se tourner vers les associations médicales et les organismes de soins de santé qui effectuent des recherches fondées sur des données probantes. L’Association médicale canadienne, par exemple, offre l’Infobanque AMC, banque de guides de pratique clinique canadiens. Le site web du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada offre des liens vers des bases de données et des outils de recherche qui contiennent des examens systématiques, des recherches primaires et des sujets soumis à une évaluation critique. Grâce à ses vastes ressources d’éducation, l’Association canadienne de protection médicale définit les risques que peut poser les soins médicaux en se fondant sur des recherches effectuées sur des dossiers médico-légaux.

Il se peut que les médecins souhaitent aussi explorer des ressources en ligne offertes par des universités qui ont une faculté des soins de santé. Le programme de développement professionnel continu de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, par exemple, offre des ressources en ligne appelées This Changed My Practice.1 Une équipe de meneurs d’opinion locaux y analyse les résultats d’essais cliniques et détermine ceux qui étaient assez importants pour modifier la prestation des soins.

Des gouvernements offrent aussi des ressources sur les pratiques exemplaires. Le gouvernement du Manitoba, par exemple, offre des ressources en ligne sur la sécurité des patients qui portent avant tout sur les habitudes de vie saines et les personnes âgées.2 Beaucoup de bibliothèques offrent toute une mine d’information; p. ex., la Bibliothèque Cochrane, qui donne accès aux examens Cochrane – critiques reconnues sur la scène internationale qui portent sur les recherches primaires sur les soins de santé et les politiques de la santé.

Il se peut aussi que des médecins souhaitent effectuer des recherches sur des stratégies prêtes à adopter en matière de sécurité des patients. En 2013, l’Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality a publié l’article intitulé « Making Health Care Safer II: An Updated Critical Analysis of the Evidence for Patient Safety Practices »3 , où l’organisme a évalué les éléments de preuve portant sur un nombre important de pratiques relatives à la sécurité des patients, comme l’utilisation, par exemple, des listes de vérification préopératoires et l’identification des patients à risque de suicide. Le document décrit les pratiques « que l’on encourage vivement les professionnels de la santé à adopter sur le-champ », ainsi que d’autres dont on « encourage » l’adoption.

Après avoir évalué les données probantes, les professionnels de la santé devraient aussi réfléchir à la façon dont les pratiques recommandées s’adapteront à leur contexte en particulier. Par exemple, une nouvelle activité serait-elle appropriée compte tenu des caractéristiques et des valeurs de la population des patients? La nouvelle activité exige t-elle des compétences spécialisées, de l’équipement et d’autres ressources et ceux ci sont-ils disponibles? Les médecins peuvent-ils quantifier les résultats que les changements auront apportés à leur pratique?

Choix d’une démarche

L’étape suivante consiste à trouver une démarche, un modèle ou un cadre pour commencer à appliquer de l’information fondée sur des données probantes dans la pratique. Maintenant plus que jamais, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé peuvent choisir dans tout un éventail de modèles d’application.

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, par exemple, offre un cadre détaillé, soit La trousse d’information dans le cadre du travail de l’amélioration de la qualité, accessible sur le site web de l’Institut.4 Destinée aux équipes interprofessionnelles et interdisciplinaires, la trousse est basée sur le cycle PEEA (planification, exécution, étude, action). L’Institut offre aussi de l’information sur d’autres cadres comme Six-Sigma, la déviance positive (DP) et la méthode Lean pour l’amélioration.

Les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada offrent aussi un guide d’encadrement à l’intention des professionnels de la santé. Intitulé Passer à l’action : Nous connaissons les pratiques que nous souhaitons changer. Que faire, maintenant? Guide de mise en œuvre pour les professionnels de la santé5, l’outil en ligne présente des étapes à suivre pour apporter des changements en fonction de données probantes.

Pour déterminer le cadre à utiliser, les professionnels de la santé doivent se demander lequel convient le mieux à leur situation en particulier. Par exemple, un modèle simplifié conviendra probablement mieux à un médecin qui pratique seul tandis que les modèles plus complexes conviendront peut-être davantage aux organisations de plus grande envergure.

Obstacles et facteurs de facilitation

La mise en œuvre de nouvelles pratiques de sécurité est plus efficace lorsque les professionnels de la santé tiennent compte des obstacles et des facteurs de facilitation éventuels, qu’il est possible de déterminer en analysant de près les caractéristiques : du changement proposé; de chaque fournisseur de soins; du contexte local; de l’organisation (c.-à-d., ressources et culture).

La recherche révèle que les innovations sont adoptées plus facilement si les professionnels de la santé considèrent qu’elles sont fondées sur des données probantes et plus bénéfiques que les anciennes pratiques. Les innovations exigeant de nouvelles connaissances ou compétences spécialisées pourront être adoptées plus facilement si les professionnels de la santé les considèrent comme une occasion d’épanouissement professionnel. En revanche, cette innovation peut constituer un obstacle si les ressources nécessaires à l’acquisition de compétences spécialisées nouvelles ne sont pas facilement disponibles.6 Les modifications de la pratique connaissent plus de succès lorsque les professionnels de la santé savent qu’une nouvelle démarche s’impose de toute urgence parce que le statu quo est inadéquat7 et lorsqu’ils ont entrepris le processus de changement et ont l’occasion de contribuer par leurs connaissances et leur savoir-faire.

L’intervention de champions – personnes chargées de promouvoir et de guider l’adoption d’une innovation – pourra se révéler bénéfique en aidant à mettre en œuvre les changements, et particulièrement lorsque les champions cliniques collaborent avec des homologues de la gestion et de la haute direction.8

Les attributs des patients peuvent aussi entraver ou faciliter l’innovation dans la pratique. Les patients qui ont des compétences solides en littératie, par exemple, pourront être mieux outillés pour jouer un rôle actif dans leurs soins et rendre un changement plus facile à mettre en œuvre.9 On a constaté que de faibles niveaux de littératie individuelle en santé contribuent à de mauvais résultats sur le plan de la santé, à l’augmentation du risque d’événements indésirables et à la montée des coûts des soins de santé.10 En donnant aux patients ou aux membres de leur famille des renseignements précis sur ce qu’ils peuvent faire pour gérer leurs soins de santé, on peut accroître leur littératie en santé.

Mesure de l’impact et maintien du changement

Enfin, lorsqu’ils mettent en œuvre un changement, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé doivent déterminer si le changement a amélioré les soins. Dans leurs plans de mise en œuvre, ils doivent prévoir une méthodologie de collecte de données afin de déterminer si le changement a eu un effet positif sur la sécurité.

Beaucoup d’organisations offrent des outils sur la façon de faire l’essai de changements. Par exemple, La trousse d’information11 de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients présente des instructions sur la mise à l’essai des changements. Si le changement s’est révélé positif, la trousse présente aux professionnels de la santé de l’information sur la façon de la maintenir.

Changement de pratique, amélioration de la sécurité

L’application de recherches fondées sur des données probantes dans la pratique passe par un effort et un plan bien réfléchi. Les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé peuvent améliorer la sécurité des soins de santé en repérant les recherches fondées sur des données probantes et les pratiques, choisissant un plan ou un cadre efficaces pour instaurer le changement, tenant compte des obstacles et des facteurs de facilitation possibles et mettant à l’essai l’effet du changement compte tenu de la durabilité du changement.




Références

  1. Faculté de médecine, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, « This Changed My Practice ». Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://thischangedmypractice.com/
  2. Gouvernement du Manitoba, « Santé, Vie saine et Aînés ». Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://www.gov.mb.ca/health/patientsafety/resourcesfr.html
  3. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (US), « Making health care safer II: An updated critical analysis of the evidence for patient safety practices », mars 2013. Comparative Effectiveness Review No. 211AHRQ Publication No. 13-E001-EF. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://www.ahrq.gov/research/findings/evidence-based-reports/ptsafetyuptp.html
  4. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, « La trousse d’information dans le cadre du travail de l’amélioration de la qualité », octobre 2011. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/French/toolsResources/ImprovementFramework/Pages/default.aspx
  5. Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, « Passer à l’action : Nous connaissons les pratiques que nous souhaitons changer. Que faire, maintenant? Guide de mise en œuvre pour les professionnels de la santé », 28 mars 2012. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://www.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/f/documents/lm_moving_into_action-fr.pdf
  6. Ibid, p.12
  7. Kotter, John P., Leading Change, Harvard Business Review Press, 1996, ISBN 9781422186435
  8. Soo, S., Whitney, B, Baker, R. « Role of champions in the implementation of patient safety practice change », Healthcare Quarterly (2009) Vol. 12, p.128
  9. Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, « Passer à l’action : Nous connaissons les pratiques que nous souhaitons changer. Que faire, maintenant? Guide de mise en œuvre pour les professionnels de la santé », 28 mars 2012. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://www.cihr-irsc.gc.ca/f/documents/lm_moving_into_action-fr.pdf
  10. Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care, « Health literacy », consulté le 26 janvier 2015. http://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/our-work/patient-and-consumer-centred-care/health-literacy/
  11. Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, « La trousse d’information dans le cadre du travail de l’amélioration de la qualité », octobre 2011. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/French/toolsResources/ImprovementFramework/Pages/default.aspx

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.