Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Collaboration for the future of healthcare safety

Originally published May 2015
P1502-5-E

The expression, “many hands lighten the load,” rings true for the future of healthcare safety in Canada. Medical associations, regulatory authorities (Colleges), federal and provincial health associations, hospitals, and others involved in healthcare generally understand the importance of safe care, and are actively working to raise awareness about safety and reduce harm to patients.

While there are many organizations in Canada that play a strong role in the healthcare safety domain, several stand out.

The Canadian Patient Safety Institute1 (CPSI) provides leadership for patient safety in Canada, and seeks to build and influence safety knowledge and skills at team, organizational, and system levels. The organization offers education, training, and resources, and supports research on specific patient safety topics. CPSI also leads the Safer Healthcare Now!2 program, which gives front-line providers and healthcare organizations clinical interventions that are known to reduce avoidable harm. The CMPA has been involved in a number of the institute’s priority areas and summits, including surgical care safety, medication safety, and infection prevention and control.

Patients for Patient Safety Canada3 is a patient-led program of CPSI. The group represents the voice of the patient in the healthcare safety discussion. Patients and their families are a valuable resource for healthcare providers in efforts to reduce harm to patients. They possess unique knowledge about the patient experience, which providers can use when making decisions about care. Patients can also help create safety tools and resources, plan and implement safety improvements, and motivate health providers to reach new levels of safety.4

Canada’s provincial quality health councils work closely with ministries of health, health authorities and health regions, and providers to make care safer. Most councils measure and provide insight into health system performance, and many also survey patients about their healthcare experiences. For example, the Saskatchewan Health Quality Council has quality improvement consultants and web applications to assist physicians and office managers to identify areas for improvement in primary healthcare, use measurement in daily work, and survey patients.5 The B.C. Patient Safety and Quality Council supports clinical improvement and offers programs to build capacity among the province’s healthcare providers to improve quality and safety.6 In Québec, Le Groupe Vigilance pour la sécurité des soins was established by the province’s health ministry to oversee the safety of care delivery and propose risk management solutions.7

Accreditation Canada helps healthcare organizations improve the quality of care, reduce risk, and strengthen accountability. The organization’s program includes evidence-informed Required Organizational Practices (ROPs) that address areas central to quality and safety.8 Some ROPs, for example, touch all physicians, such as the disclosure of patient safety incidents, effective information transfer among service providers at transition points, and hand hygiene compliance.

The Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada (ISMP Canada) is committed to advancing medication safety and promoting safe medication practices.9 The organization analyzes medication incidents and makes recommendations to prevent harmful medication incidents. ISMP Canada also encourages confidential reporting by individual practitioners and providers, and offers free electronic medication safety bulletins to healthcare professionals.

Medical associations and medical regulatory authorities are also highly engaged in safety. Whether it’s continuing medical education or physician wellness initiatives offered by medical associations or federations, or Colleges monitoring and maintaining standards of practice, healthcare safety is a significant part of their mandates.

Hospitals and other health facilities

Hospitals, regional health authorities, and other health facilities are also central to healthcare safety. Within organizations, a robust culture of safety is a powerful tool for reducing patient harm. That culture is strengthened when healthcare providers, leaders, and patients share a collective commitment to safety and quality improvement processes that are based on fairness and trust. Further, the culture is strengthened by teamwork, structured communication, measurement, and safety teams.

We all benefit when hospitals across the country continue to demonstrate their commitment to safety and tackle areas for improvement, whether through hand hygiene or falls prevention programs, for example, or by improving discharge plans to reduce preventable readmissions.

 

Every physician counts

Every physician has a part to play in improving the safety of care. No matter what the practice arrangement or work setting, physicians should review their practice, knowledge, communication skills, and team functioning abilities with a view to consistently providing safe medical care.

 

Strong physician leadership is essential in enhancing patient safety. Physician champions can have a huge impact on an organization’s culture, infrastructure (such as safety committees or workgroups), practices, and even the uptake of technology to enhance patient safety.10 By getting involved in improving healthcare safety, physicians can provide direction, contribute knowledge, and partner with patients and other providers for better outcomes.

Healthcare provider safety

The future of healthcare safety also includes the safety of physicians and other providers. Physicians, nurses, and all healthcare professionals must be safe at work, including safe from infections, medical equipment mishaps, verbal and physical assault, and other harmful situations.

When a patient is harmed, doctors and other providers often suffer shock, sadness, fear, and stress. These providers require treatment that is just, and they require respect, compassion, supportive care, transparency, and an opportunity to contribute to the prevention of future safety incidents. Hospitals and other healthcare institutions need to establish effective support initiatives for healthcare providers involved in patient safety incidents, and providers must know how to access assistance.11

Sharing lessons learned

There is growing recognition that healthcare providers everywhere need to share their safety knowledge to prevent the reoccurrence of patient safety incidents and to improve patient outcomes. While reporting systems for sharing information exist, all healthcare stakeholders need to learn safety lessons from other providers, organizations, or jurisdictions. If insights and lessons arising from patient safety incidents or near misses are not shared, neither healthcare providers nor patients benefit, and the healthcare system is weakened. Physicians should support the sharing of patient safety lessons, as well as the solutions implemented to prevent harm. Physicians can do so while respecting any restrictions or requirements that might apply due to provincial or territorial legislation, regulations, hospital/institutional bylaws and policies, and legal privilege.

CMPA support

The CMPA is committed to being an essential component of the healthcare system. As the Association continues to advance a system level approach to the prevention of harm, it expects to collaborate even further with other healthcare organizations to push the healthcare safety agenda forward.

 
 

References

  1. For more information about the Canadian Patient Safety Institute, see: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/English/About/Pages/default.aspx
  2. For more information about the Canadian Patient Safety Institute’s Safer Healthcare Now! program see: http://www.saferhealthcarenow.ca/EN/Pages/default.aspx
  3. For more information about Patients for Patient Safety Canada, see: http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/English/toolsResources/GovernancePatientSafety/Documents/PDF%20of%20Contents/Message%20from%20Patients%20for%20Patient%20Safety%20Canada.pdf
  4. Kushner, Carol, Davis, Donna, “Improving safety: engaging with patients and families makes a difference!” Healthcare Quarterly (2014) Vol. 17 special issue, p.41
  5. Saskatchewan Health Quality Council, “Improving Primary Health Care.” Accessed October 31, 2014 from: http://hqc.sk.ca/improve-health-care-quality/primary-care/
  6. For more information on the British Columbia Patient Safety and Quality Council, see: http://bcpsqc.ca/
  7. For more information, see: http://www.msss.gouv.qc.ca/ministere/vigilance/index.php?accueil
  8. Accreditation Canada, “Required Organizational Practices Handbook 2014,” 2013. Accessed October 31, 2014 from: http://www.accreditation.ca/sites/default/files/rop-handbook-2014-en.pdf
  9. For more information on ISMP Canada, see: http://www.ismp-canada.org/
  10. ECRI Institute, Medical Leaders in Patient Safety, Accessed October 31, 2014 from: https://www.ecri.org/Products/Pages/Medical_Leaders_in_Patient_Safety.aspx
  11. Institute for Safe Medication Practices, “Too many abandon the ‘second victims’ of medical errors,” 2011. Accessed October 31, 2014 from: http://www.ismp.org/Newsletters/acutecare/articles/20110714.asp

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Collaboration pour l’avenir de la sécurité des soins de santé

Publié initialement en mai 2015
P1502-5-F

L’expression « l’union fait la force » sonne juste pour l’avenir de la sécurité des soins de santé au Canada. Les associations médicales, les Collèges des médecins, les associations fédérales et provinciales du secteur de la santé, les hôpitaux et d’autres organisations comprennent en général l’importance des soins sécuritaires et cherchent activement à faire mieux connaître la sécurité et à réduire les préjudices causés aux patients.

Les organisations au Canada qui jouent un rôle important dans le domaine de la sécurité des soins de santé ne manquent pas, et plusieurs se démarquent.

L’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) joue un rôle de premier plan en sécurité des patients au Canada et cherche à créer et influencer les connaissances générales et les compétences spécialisées en sécurité aux niveaux de l’équipe, de l’organisation et du système.1 Sans compter qu’il appuie des recherches sur des aspects particuliers de la sécurité des patients, l’organisme offre de l’éducation, de la formation et des ressources. L’ICSP pilote aussi le programme Des soins de santé plus sécuritaires maintenant!2 qui donne aux professionnels de la santé des premières lignes et aux organisations du secteur de la santé des interventions cliniques reconnues pour réduire les préjudices évitables. L’ACPM a joué un rôle dans des priorités et des sommets de l’Institut, y compris la sécurité en soins chirurgicaux, l’utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments et la prévention et le contrôle des infections.

Offert par l’ICSP, Patients pour la sécurité des patients du Canada3 est un programme dirigé par des patients. Le groupe représente le patient dans la discussion sur la sécurité des soins de santé. Les patients et les membres de leur famille constituent une ressource précieuse pour les professionnels de la santé dans le contexte des efforts visant à réduire les préjudices causés aux patients. Ils possèdent une connaissance sans pareille du vécu des patients que les professionnels de la santé peuvent utiliser lorsqu’ils prennent des décisions sur les soins. Les patients peuvent aussi aider à créer des outils et des ressources sur la sécurité, à planifier et mettre en œuvre des améliorations de la sécurité et à inciter les professionnels de la santé à atteindre de nouveaux niveaux de sécurité.4

Les conseils de la qualité en santé des provinces du Canada collaborent de près avec les ministères de la Santé, les autorités en matière de santé, les régions sanitaires et les professionnels de la santé pour rendre les soins plus sécuritaires. La plupart de ces conseils mesurent le rendement du système de santé et ouvrent une fenêtre sur celui-ci; beaucoup sondent aussi les patients au sujet des expériences qu’ils ont vécues en soins de santé. Par exemple, le Conseil de la qualité en santé de la Saskatchewan retient les services de consultants en amélioration de la qualité et dispose d’applications web pour aider les médecins et les gestionnaires de bureau à déterminer les aspects à améliorer en soins de santé primaires, à utiliser les mesures dans leur travail quotidien et à sonder les patients.5 Le Conseil de la sécurité des patients et de la qualité de la Colombie-Britannique appuie l’amélioration clinique et offre des programmes de renforcement de la capacité chez les professionnels de la santé de la province pour améliorer la qualité et la sécurité.6 Au Québec, le Groupe Vigilance pour la sécurité des soins a été chargé par le ministère de la Santé de la province de surveiller la sécurité de la prestation des soins et de proposer des solutions pour la gestion des risques.7

Agrément Canada aide les organisations du secteur de la santé à améliorer la qualité des soins, à réduire les risques et à renforcer l’obligation de rendre compte. Le programme de l’organisme inclut des pratiques organisationnelles requises (POR), éclairées par des données probantes, qui portent sur des aspects essentiels de la qualité et de la sécurité.8 Certaines POR, par exemple, touchent tous les médecins, comme celles qui portent sur la divulgation des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients, le transfert efficace d’information entre les professionnels de la santé de services aux points de transfert et l’observation de l’hygiène des mains.

L’Institut pour la sécurité des médicaments aux patients du Canada (ISMP Canada) promulgue l’utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments et préconise des pratiques sécuritaires à cet égard.9 L’organisme analyse des incidents et accidents liés à l’utilisation des médicaments et formule des recommandations pour les prévenir. ISMP Canada encourage aussi les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé individuellement à produire des déclarations confidentielles et leur offre des bulletins électroniques gratuits sur l’utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments.

Les associations médicales et les médecins s’intéressent aussi énormément à la sécurité. Qu’il s’agisse d’éducation médicale continue ou d’initiatives sur le bien-être des médecins offertes par les associations médicales, les fédérations de médecins ou les Collèges qui surveillent et appliquent des normes de pratique, la sécurité des soins de santé constitue un élément important de leur mandat.

Hôpitaux et établissements de santé

Les hôpitaux, les autorités régionales en matière de santé et d’autres établissements de santé jouent aussi un rôle pivot dans la sécurité des soins. Dans les organisations, une solide culture de la sécurité constitue un moyen puissant de réduire les préjudices causés aux patients. Cette culture est renforcée lorsque les professionnels de la santé, les chefs de file et les patients partagent un engagement collectif envers la sécurité et l’amélioration de la qualité qui reposent sur l’équité et la confiance. Le travail d’équipe, la communication structurée, la mesure et les équipes de sécurité renforcent en outre la culture.

Lorsque les hôpitaux d’un bout à l’autre du Canada continuent de faire preuve de leur engagement envers la sécurité et de se pencher sur les aspects à améliorer, qu’il s’agisse entre autres de l’hygiène des mains, des programmes de prévention des chutes, de l’amélioration des plans de congés afin de réduire le nombre de réadmissions évitables : nous en bénéficions tous.

Le rôle de chaque médecin

Chaque médecin a un rôle à jouer dans l’amélioration de la sécurité des soins. Quel que soit l’arrangement de pratique ou le contexte de travail, les médecins doivent examiner leur pratique, leurs connaissances, leurs techniques de communication et leur capacité à travailler en équipe afin de fournir constamment des soins médicaux sécuritaires.

Un solide leadership des médecins est essentiel pour améliorer la sécurité des patients. Les médecins champions peuvent avoir un effet énorme sur la culture d’une organisation, son infrastructure (p.ex., les comités de sécurité ou les groupes de travail sur la sécurité), les pratiques et même l’adoption de la technologie afin d’améliorer la sécurité des patients.10 En aidant à améliorer la sécurité des soins de santé, les médecins peuvent établir une orientation, contribuer par leur savoir et établir des partenariats avec des patients et d’autres professionnels de la santé pour produire de meilleurs résultats.

Sécurité des professionnels de la santé

L’avenir de la sécurité des soins de santé inclut aussi la sécurité des médecins et d’autres professionnels de la santé. Les médecins, les infirmières et tous les professionnels de la santé doivent être en sécurité au travail, de même qu’en sécurité contre les infections, les pannes d’équipement médical, les agressions verbales et physiques et d’autres situations potentiellement dangereuses.

Lorsqu’un patient subit un préjudice, les médecins et d’autres professionnels de la santé vivent souvent des réactions de choc, de tristesse, de peur et de stress. Ces professionnels doivent être traités de façon juste; ils ont aussi besoin de respect, de compassion, de soins de soutien, de transparence et d’une occasion de contribuer à la prévention de futurs incidents liés à la sécurité des patients. Les hôpitaux et d’autres établissements de santé doivent lancer des initiatives efficaces de soutien des professionnels de la santé mis en cause dans les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients et les professionnels doivent savoir comment obtenir de l’aide.11

Partage des leçons retenues

On reconnaît de plus en plus que les professionnels de la santé de partout doivent partager leurs connaissances en matière de sécurité afin d’empêcher que les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients ne se reproduisent et d’améliorer les résultats pour les patients. Il existe certes des systèmes de communication d’information, mais tous les intervenants du secteur de la santé doivent tirer des leçons sur la sécurité d’autres professionnels de la santé, organisations ou administrations. Si les perspectives et les leçons découlant d’incidents liés à la sécurité des patients ou d’incidents évités de justesse ne sont pas communiquées, ni les professionnels de la santé ni les patients en bénéficient et le système de santé s’affaiblit. Les médecins devraient appuyer la communication des leçons retenues sur la sécurité des patients, ainsi que les solutions mises en œuvre pour prévenir les préjudices. Les médecins peuvent le faire en respectant toute restriction ou exigence qui pourrait s’appliquer à cause de la loi de la province ou du territoire, des règlements, des règlements administratifs et des politiques des hôpitaux et des établissements, ainsi que du privilège juridique.

Appui de l’ACPM

L’ACPM est déterminée à être un rouage essentiel du système de santé. Tout en continuant à promouvoir une approche systémique de la prévention des préjudices, l’Association s’attend à collaborer encore davantage avec d’autres organisations du secteur de la santé afin de faire progresser le programme de la sécurité des soins de santé.

 
 

Références

  1. Pour en savoir davantage sur l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients, voir : http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/french/about/pages/default.aspx
  2. Pour en savoir davantage sur le programme Soins de santé plus sécuritaires maintenant!, voir : http://www.saferhealthcarenow.ca/fr/pages/default.aspx
  3. Pour en savoir davantage sur le programme Patients pour la sécurité des patients Canada, voir : http://www.patientsafetyinstitute.ca/English/toolsResources/GovernancePatientSafety/Documents/PDF%20of%20Contents/Message%20from%20Patients%20for%20Patient%20Safety%20Canada.pdf
  4. Kushner, Carol, Davis, Donna, « Improving safety: engaging with patients and families makes a difference! » Healthcare Quarterly (2014), Vol. 17 numéro spécial, p. 41
  5. Conseil de la qualité en santé de la Saskatchewan. Improving Primary Health Care. Consulté le 31 octobre 2014. http://hqc.sk.ca/improve-health-care-quality/primary-care/
  6. Pour en savoir davantage sur le Conseil de la sécurité des patients et de la qualité de la Colombie-Britannique, voir http://bcpsqc.ca/
  7. Pour en savoir davantage, voir : http://www.msss.gouv.qc.ca/ministere/vigilance/index.php?accueil
  8. Agrément Canada, « Livret sur les Pratiques organisationnelles requises – Livret 2014 ». Consulté le 13 avril 2015. http://www.accreditation.ca/sites/default/files/rop-handbook-2014-fr.pdf
  9. Pour en savoir davantage sur ISMP Canada, voir : http://www.ismp-canada.org/
  10. ECRI Institute, Medical Leaders in Patient Safety, consulté le 31 octobre 2014. https://www.ecri.org/Products/Pages/Medical_Leaders_in_Patient_Safety.aspx
  11. Institut pour l’utilisation sécuritaire des médicaments du Canada, « Too many abandon the ‘second victims’ of medical errors », 2011. Consulté le 31 octobre 2014. http://www.ismp.org/Newsletters/acutecare/articles/20110714.asp

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.