Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Commercial interests and how physicians can avoid the pitfalls

Originally published January 2015
W15-001-E

Canadian physicians and industry have a long-standing tradition of working together to improve patient outcomes. Working collaboratively, they conduct clinical research, develop and test medical devices, and participate in pharmaceutical trials to deliver new medications. While these arrangements yield many benefits, there are potential pitfalls. Physicians can, however, take steps to minimize ethical quandaries and avoid conflicts that can arise when dealing with commercial interests.

What is a commercial interest?

In the healthcare context, a commercial interest (i.e. industry) generally develops, sells, or distributes healthcare products or services for patients, such as pharmaceuticals, medical devices, and biotechnology. Doctors may become involved with commercial interests when they provide clinical services, undertake research, or participate in professional development. Physicians may also encounter commercial interests in non-medical activities, such as advertising or leasing office space from a pharmacy or other business.

Physicians must ensure their collaborations with commercial interests align with their fundamental responsibilities to the patient and society. Conflict of interest occurs when doctors' personal relationship or business arrangement with industry is, or is perceived to be, incompatible with their professional responsibility or Code of Ethics. "Physicians should resolve any conflict of interest between themselves and their patients resulting from interactions with industry in favour of their patients"1 and in accordance with their professional responsibilities.

Ethics and professionalism

The Canadian Medical Association's (CMA) Code of Ethics2 provides an ethical framework for physicians to deal with commercial interests. Physicians must consider first the well-being of their patients and resist any influence or interference that could undermine this relationship or the physician's professional integrity. In Québec, the Code of Ethics of Physicians3 states, "A physician must safeguard his professional independence at all times and avoid any situation in which he would be in conflict of interest, in particular when the interests in question are such that he might tend to favour certain of them over those of his patient or where his integrity and loyalty toward the latter might be affected."

Canadian medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) also provide guidance to help doctors understand and appropriately manage their relationships with industry. Many of these expectations are grounded in the fundamental principles and values of medical professionalism. The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA), for example, states "A physician must not enter into a relationship with industry if it weakens the fiduciary relationship with any patient of that physician."4 The CPSA also notes that "A physician must disclose to a patient any relationship between the physician and industry that reasonably could be perceived as having the potential to influence the physician's clinical judgment.5

Tips for clinical practice

Clinical judgment should not be influenced by relationships with industry. Colleges describe potential conflicts concerning gifts and compensation from commercial interests, including when industry representatives visit a physician's office. Compensation and personal gifts cannot be accepted in exchange for meeting with industry agents. However, gifts that might advance patient education such as teaching aids may be acceptable if these primarily benefit the patient and have no value to physicians outside their practice.6 Drug samples may also be accepted, but must comply with applicable College guidelines such as not using the samples for personal or family use. If a physician agrees to allow an industry representative to provide information about products or services, meals may be accepted if they are of modest value. Physicians are generally discouraged by Colleges from selling or promoting products that are not medically necessary, such as supplements and herbal remedies.7

Information about a product or service provided by industry must be evaluated by the physician before making decisions on use with patients (including education materials such as pamphlets). Physicians participating in industry-sponsored surveillance studies should ensure the study extends medical knowledge and is approved by the appropriate research ethics body. Physicians may also be required to report patient safety incidents (adverse events) to the appropriate body or authority while participating in such a study.8

Tips for educational events

The CMA Guidelines for Physicians in Interactions with Industry provides information about organizing industry-supported continuing medical education or professional development events (CME/CPD). In Québec, guidance can be obtained from the Code of Ethics for parties involved in Continuing Medical Education9. Generally, continuing medical education content, materials, processes, physical space, and presenters are not to be influenced by industry sponsors.10 Organizers, meanwhile, must disclose industry sponsorship of the event. Any funds received from industry should be through an educational grant to the organization sponsoring the event. Fair market-value payment should be received only for presenting on behalf of industry, and can include reasonable travel, accommodation, and meals. These payments should normally come through the meeting organizer and not directly from industry (although there are exceptions if there is no organizing body). In Québec, the Code of Ethics of Physicians states, "A physician may not be party to any agreement or accept any benefit that could jeopardize his professional independence, particularly in the context of continuing medical medication activities."11

When physicians are presenting, educational materials and presentations should refer to generic names (if they exist), in addition to trade names.12 Physicians attending an educational event must not accept payment for travel, accommodations, or meals from industry, although meals of modest value provided at an event are usually acceptable.

Tips for non-clinical activities

When physicians are asked by industry to become members of advisory or consultation boards, CMA policy states physicians should have a written agreement outlining the details of this relationship.13 The agreement must indicate the physician possesses specialized medical knowledge that could not otherwise be acquired. Physicians should not participate in promotional events or educational activities on behalf of industry. Any compensation for consultation or advisory activities should be at fair market value for the services provided.

It is becoming more common for physicians to lease office space in buildings owned by other health professionals or retail pharmacies. It is a conflict of interest if the lease or rental agreement is markedly different from fair market value or dependent on the volume of business generated by a physician or third party.14 Professional guidelines state that a physician must not refer to a facility or healthcare business in which the physician has a direct or indirect interest such as a treatment or diagnostic facility, although there are a few exceptions such as in a community with an unmet need.

Resources

Given the sometimes close relationships between physicians and industry, it is not always easy to recognize the potential pitfalls of commercial interests. By being aware and taking steps to avoid real or perceived conflicts of interest, physicians can effectively maintain their professional integrity and mitigate the risk of complaints.

Most Colleges and medical associations have policies, standards, and guidelines for physicians and their relationships with commercial interests. The CMPA encourages member physicians to review these in their jurisdiction. Members concerned about potential conflicts of interest may also contact the CMPA for individual advice.

   
 

References

  1. Canadian Medical Association. Guidelines for Physicians in Interactions with Industry. CMA Policy, 2007. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD08-01.pdf
  2. Canadian Medical Association, Code of Ethics, 2004. Retrieved on October 17, 2014 from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/PolicyPDF/PD04-06.pdf
  3. Collège des médecins du Québec, Code of Ethics of Physicians of Québec, c.M-9, r.17, O.C. 1213-2002, s. 63. Retrieved on November 3, 2014 from: http://www.cmq.org/~/media/132E0C657730482DBEE837D7473D439D.ashx
  4. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta. "Relationships with Industry," Reissued April 3, 2014. Retrieved October 22, 2014 from: http://www.cpsa.ab.ca/Libraries/Res_Standards_of_Practice/CPSA_Standards_of_Practice_Consolidated_Version.pdf
  5. Ibid
  6. College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, "Physicians Relationship with Industry: Practice, Education and Research," Policy Statement #2-14. Retrieved October 24, 2014 from http://www.cpso.on.ca/CPSO/media/images/Policies%20and%20Publications/Rel_Industry.pdf?ext=.pdf
  7. Ibid
  8. Canadian Medical Association. Guidelines for Physicians in Interactions with Industry. CMA Policy, 2007. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD08-01.pdf
  9. Conseil de l'éducation médicale continue du Québec. Code of Ethics for parties involved in Continuing Medical Education, 2003. Retrieved on November 3, 2014 from: http://www.cemcq.qc.ca/en/documents/guide_ethique.pdf
  10. Canadian Medical Association. Guidelines for Physicians in Interactions with Industry. CMA Policy, 2007. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD08-01.pdf
  11. Collège des médecins du Quebec, Code of Ethics of Physicians of Québec, c.M-9, r.17, O.C. 1213-2002, s. 80. Retrieved on December 22, 2014 from: http://www.cmq.org/~/media/132E0C657730482DBEE837D7473D439D.ashx
  12. Canadian Medical Association. Guidelines for Physicians in Interactions with Industry. CMA Policy, 2007. Retrieved October 17, 2014 from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD08-01.pdf
  13. Ibid
  14. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia. Conflict of Interest: Professional Standards and Guidelines. Vancouver, 2010. Retrieved on October 23, 2014 from: https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Conflict-of-Interest.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Intérêts commerciaux : comment les médecins peuvent-ils éviter les écueils?

Publié initialement en janvier 2015
W15-001-F

Au Canada, les médecins collaborent depuis longtemps avec l'industrie pour améliorer les résultats escomptés chez les patients. Cette collaboration se traduit par des activités de recherche clinique, le développement et l'essai de dispositifs médicaux ainsi que la participation à des essais pour de nouveaux produits pharmaceutiques. Bien que de nombreux avantages puissent en résulter, ce type d'entente peut comporter des écueils. Les médecins peuvent toutefois prendre des mesures pour minimiser les dilemmes éthiques et éviter les conflits d'intérêts susceptibles de se manifester lorsqu'ils traitent avec l'industrie.

Que veut dire intérêt commercial?

Dans le domaine de la santé, un « intérêt commercial » se crée lorsqu'une entité met au point, vend ou distribue des produits ou des services conçus pour les patients (p. ex., des produits pharmaceutiques ou biotechnologiques ainsi que des dispositifs médicaux). Un médecin est susceptible de se lier à des intérêts commerciaux lorsqu'il fournit des services cliniques, participe à de la recherche ou à de la formation professionnelle. Cela peut également être le cas dans le cadre d'activités non médicales, telles que la publicité ou la location d'espaces de bureaux d'une pharmacie ou d'autres compagnies.

Les médecins doivent s'assurer que leur collaboration avec le secteur commercial est compatible avec leurs responsabilités fondamentales à l'égard des patients et de l'ensemble de la société. Les conflits d'intérêts se produisent lorsque les médecins ont des relations personnelles ou des ententes commerciales avec l'industrie qui s'opposent, ou semblent s'opposer, à leur responsabilité professionnelle ou code de déontologie. « Les médecins doivent trancher en faveur de leurs patients tout conflit d'intérêts entre eux-mêmes et leurs patients résultant de leur relations avec l'industrie à l'avantage de leurs patients »1 et conformément à ces responsabilités professionnelles.

Déontologie et professionnalisme

Le Code de déontologie de l'AMC2 (Association médicale canadienne) fournit un cadre déontologique aux médecins qui ont des liens avec des intérêts commerciaux. Le bien-être des patients doit primer devant toute tentative d'influence ou d'ingérence susceptible d'altérer la relation thérapeutique ou encore l'intégrité professionnelle du médecin. Au Québec, le Code de déontologie des médecins3 stipule : « Le médecin doit sauvegarder en tout temps son indépendance professionnelle et éviter toute situation où il serait en conflit d'intérêts, notamment lorsque les intérêts en présence sont tels qu'il pourrait être porté à préférer certains d'entre eux à ceux de son patient ou que son intégrité et sa loyauté envers celui-ci pourraient être affectées. »

Au Canada, les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) fournissent également des conseils pour aider les médecins à comprendre et à gérer de manière appropriée leurs interactions avec l'industrie. Plusieurs des attentes de ces organismes se fondent sur les valeurs et principes fondamentaux de la profession médicale. Ainsi, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Alberta est d'avis que « le médecin ne doit pas nouer de liens avec l'industrie qui affaibliraient la relation fiduciaire qu'il entretient avec n'importe lequel de ses patients »4 et ajoute qu'« un médecin doit divulguer au patient tout lien avec l'industrie pouvant être raisonnablement perçu comme ayant le potentiel d'influencer son jugement clinique. »5 [Traduction]

Conseils pour la pratique clinique

Les liens avec l'industrie ne devraient pas affecter le jugement clinique. Selon les Collèges, les cadeaux et compensations provenant d'intérêts commerciaux, ou encore les visites de représentants de l'industrie, peuvent constituer des conflits d'intérêts. Les compensations et cadeaux personnels ne peuvent pas être acceptés en échange d'une rencontre avec un représentant de l'industrie. Cependant, les cadeaux susceptibles de promouvoir l'éducation des patients tels que du matériel didactique peuvent être acceptés s'ils bénéficient essentiellement aux patients et n'ont aucune valeur pour le médecin en dehors de sa pratique6. Les échantillons de médicament peuvent également être acceptés, mais doivent respecter les directives pertinentes des Collèges et notamment ne pas être utilisé à des fins personnelles ou familiales. Des repas de valeur modeste peuvent être acceptés si un médecin accepte qu'un représentant de l'industrie lui présente ses produits ou ses services. Les Collèges mettent généralement les médecins en garde contre la vente ou la promotion de produits qui ne sont pas médicalement nécessaires, tels les suppléments alimentaires et les produits de phytothérapie7.

Le médecin doit évaluer les renseignements sur un produit ou un service fourni par l'industrie, y compris les documents éducatifs tels qu'une brochure, avant d'accepter son utilisation par des patients. Les médecins qui participent à une étude de surveillance commanditée par l'industrie devraient s'assurer que cette étude élargit les connaissances médicales et qu'elle est approuvée par un comité d'éthique de la recherche approprié. En participant à ce type d'étude, le médecin peut également être tenu de signaler les incidents pour la sécurité du patient (accidents au Québec) à l'entité ou l'autorité appropriée8.

Conseil pour des activités éducatives

Une politique de l'AMC, intitulée « Les interactions avec l'industrie pharmaceutique » fournit des renseignements sur l'organisation d'activités d'éducation médicale ou de développement professionnel continu (EMC ou DPC) bénéficiant du soutien financier de l'industrie. Au Québec, ces conseils sont fournis dans le Code d'éthique des intervenants en éducation médicale continue9. En règle générale, les commanditaires de l'industrie ne doivent pas influencer le contenu, les documents, les processus, l'espace physique ou encore les présentateurs10. Quant aux organisateurs, ils doivent divulguer toute commandite de l'événement par l'industrie. Tout financement de l'industrie devrait se faire par le biais d'une subvention à l'éducation destinée à l'organisme responsable de l'événement. Seuls devraient être acceptés des montants d'une juste valeur marchande en vue d'une présentation au nom de l'industrie, tels que les frais raisonnables de transport, d'hébergement et de restauration. Ce financement devrait se faire par l'intermédiaire de l'organisateur de l'événement et non directement de l'industrie, bien qu'il y ait des exceptions s'il n'y a pas d'entité organisatrice. Au Québec, le Code de déontologie des médecins stipule : « Le médecin ne doit adhérer à aucune entente ni accepter aucun bénéfice susceptible de compromettre son indépendance professionnelle, notamment dans le cadre des activités de formation médicale continue. »11

Lorsque les médecins font une présentation, les documents éducatifs et les présentations devraient faire référence à la dénomination commune d'un médicament (si elle existe), en plus de son nom commercial12. Les médecins qui participent à une activité éducative ne doivent pas accepter d'argent de l'industrie pour payer leur transport, leur hébergement ou leurs repas, bien que les repas de modeste valeur, offerts dans le cadre d'une telle activité soient généralement acceptables.

Conseils pour des activités non cliniques

Lorsque l'industrie demande à un médecin de devenir membre d'un conseil consultatif, la politique de l'AMC stipule que le médecin devrait disposer d'un accord écrit décrivant la relation en détail13. Cet accord doit indiquer que le médecin possède des connaissances médicales spécialisées qui ne pourraient être obtenues autrement. Les médecins ne devraient pas participer à des événements promotionnels ou à des activités éducatives au nom de l'industrie. Toute compensation pour activité de consultation ou d'expertise devrait être à la juste valeur marchande des services fournis.

Il est devenu plus fréquent pour les médecins de louer des espaces de bureau dans des bâtiments appartenant à d'autres professionnels de la santé ou à des pharmacies. Il s'agit d'un conflit d'intérêts lorsque le montant du bail de location est très inférieur à la juste valeur du marché ou s'il dépend du volume d'affaires généré par un médecin ou un tiers14. Les directives professionnelles précisent qu'un médecin ne doit pas diriger de patients vers un établissement privé de soins de santé dans lequel il a un intérêt direct ou indirect, tel qu'un établissement de traitement ou de diagnostic. Il y a toutefois quelques exceptions, notamment dans les communautés ayant des besoins médicaux non satisfaits.

Ressources

Il n'est pas toujours facile d'identifier les écueils potentiels d'une relation avec des intérêts commerciaux étant donné les relations parfois étroites qui existent entre les médecins et l'industrie. Les médecins peuvent efficacement maintenir leur intégrité professionnelle et réduire les risques de plainte en prenant conscience des risques de conflit d'intérêts réel ou perçu comme tel et en prenant des mesures pour les éviter.

La plupart des Collèges et associations médicales disposent de politiques, de normes ou de directives sur les médecins et leurs liens avec des intérêts commerciaux. L'ACPM encourage ses membres à consulter les documents pertinents à leur province ou territoire. Les membres qui s'inquiètent d'un possible conflit d'intérêts peuvent également communiquer avec l'ACPM pour des conseils individuels.





Références

  1. Association médicale canadienne, Les interactions avec l'industrie pharmaceutique : Lignes directrices pour les médecins. Politiques de l'AMC, 2007. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/Policypdf/PD08-01.pdf
  2. Association médicale canadienne, Code de déontologie de l'AMC, 2004, (dernière révision en mars 2014). Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/PD04-06-f.pdf
  3. Collège des médecins du Québec, Code de déontologie des médecins du Québec, c.M-9, r.17, D. 1213-2002, a. 63. Consulté en ligne le 2 décembre 2014. http://www.cmq.org/fr/public/profil/commun/AProposOrdre/~/media/Files/ReglementsFR/cmqcodedeontofr.pdf?111428
  4. Collèges des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Alberta, « Relationships with Industry », réédité le 3 avril 2014. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. http://www.cpsa.ab.ca/Libraries/standards-of-practice/relationships-with-industry.pdf?sfvrsn=6
  5. Ibid.
  6. Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario, « Physicians Relationship with Industry: Practice, Education and Research », Énoncé de politique no. 2-14. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. http://www.cpso.on.ca/CPSO/media/images/Policies%20and%20Publications/Rel_Industry.pdf?ext=.pdf
  7. Ibid.
  8. Association médicale canadienne, Les interactions avec l'industrie pharmaceutique : Lignes directrices pour les médecins. Politiques de l'AMC, 2007. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/PD08-01-f.pdf
  9. Conseil de l'éducation médicale continue du Québec, Code d'éthique des intervenants en éducation médicale continue, 2003. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. http://www.cemcq.qc.ca/fr/documents/Code_ethique_fr.pdf
  10. Association médicale canadienne, Les interactions avec l'industrie pharmaceutique : Lignes directrices pour les médecins. Politiques de l'AMC, 2007. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/PD08-01-f.pdf
  11. Collège des médecins du Québec, Code de déontologie des médecins du Québec, c.M-9, r.17, D. 1213-2002, a. 80. Consulté le 22 décembre 2014. http://www.cmq.org/~/media/132E0C657730482DBEE837D7473D439D.ashx
  12. Association médicale canadienne, Les interactions avec l'industrie pharmaceutique : Lignes directrices pour les médecins. Politiques de l'AMC, 2007. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. https://www.cma.ca/Assets/assets-library/document/fr/PD08-01-f.pdf
  13. Ibid.
  14. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, « Conflict of Interest: Professional Standards and Guidelines », Vancouver, 2010. Consulté le 2 décembre 2014. https://www.cpsbc.ca/files/pdf/PSG-Conflict-of-Interest.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.