Legal and regulatory proceedings

Navigating legal or regulatory processes

Conscientious objection to medical assistance in dying: Protecting Charter rights

Originally published June 2015 / Revised June 2016
P1503-1-E

The Supreme Court of Canada’s decision declaring the prohibition on medical assistance in dying (MAID) unconstitutional1 and the subsequent amendments to the Criminal Code 2 concern some CMPA members who object for moral or religious reasons to helping patients end their lives.

Those physicians, and a number of medical associations, are particularly concerned about legislation and regulatory authority (College) policies that have been amended or created as a result of the Court’s decision. They want these laws and regulations to protect their right to refuse to participate in the practice.

In its decision, the Supreme Court did state that, based on freedom of conscience, physicians have the right to refuse to assist a patient to die. The Court also said that any legislative and regulatory response to its decision must reconcile the Charter3 rights of both patients and physicians. The federal legislation implementing MAID provides that nothing compels medical practitioners to provide or assist in providing MAID. However, neither the Court nor the federal legislation specifically addresses whether physicians who refuse to assist a patient in dying on moral or religious grounds might be required to refer the patient. This issue can be significant for physicians who see a referral as morally equivalent to personally assisting a patient to die.

The concern with a mandatory duty to refer a patient for MAID originates, in part, from positions taken previously by some Colleges. Several Colleges have stated that physicians who are unwilling to provide certain care (e.g. birth control prescriptions, abortions) due to their moral or religious beliefs must refer the patient to another healthcare provider who will provide those services.4

Colleges have adopted guidelines concerning MAID, which generally state that physicians who object to assisting patients to die are expected to provide sufficient information and resources to enable patients to make their own informed choice and to access options for care, or to provide an effective referral to another physician or resource.

The Canadian Medical Association recommendations for a legislative and regulatory response to the Supreme Court decision state that physicians are expected to provide patients with complete information on all options available to them, including assisted dying, and advise patients on how they can access more information, counseling, and referral services.5

In spring 2015, concerns with protecting the Charter right of conscientious objectors resulted in a legal action being launched. The Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada, the Canadian Federation of Catholic Physicians’ Societies, and some individual physicians have asked the Ontario courts to declare that portions of a College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario policy violate their Charter rights.6 These groups object to the portions of the policy that require physicians who refuse to provide a service on the basis of conscience or religion to provide patients with an effective referral to another healthcare professional who is willing to provide that service.

In Québec’s end-of-life legislation,7 physicians are allowed to refuse a request for medical aid in dying for personal reasons and are not required to make a direct referral. Instead, the physician must advise the authority specified in the legislation (e.g. hospital), and that authority will refer the patient. This allows Québec physicians to refuse to provide patients with assistance in dying based on conscientious grounds, while also permitting patients to obtain such care.


References

  1. Carter v Canada (Attorney General), 2015 SCC 5
  2. An Act to amend the Criminal Code and to make related amendments to other Acts (medical assistance in dying) (formerly Bill C-14), 1st Sess, 42nd Leg, Canada, 2016 (assented to June 17, 2016).  
  3. Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, Part I of the Constitution Act, 1982, being Schedule B to the Canada Act 1982 (UK), 1982, c 11.
  4. For examples, see: College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, Policy #2-15, Professional Obligations and Human Rights, updated March 2015; and College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan, Policy, Conscientious Objection, September 2015.
  5. Canadian Medical Association, Principles-based Recommendations for a Canadian Approach to Assisted Dying, October 2015.
  6. For more information, see: College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, News Release, “Statement from the College of Physicians and Surgeons — Professional Obligations and Human Rights” (March 24, 2015).
  7. An Act Respecting End-of-Life Care, RSQ 2014, c S-32.0001, arts 31, 50.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Procédures judiciaires et réglementaires

Navigation des processus juridiques ou réglementaires

Objection de conscience à l’aide médicale à mourir : protection des droits prévus par la Charte

Publié initialement en juin 2015 / révisé en juin 2016
P1503-1-F

La décision de la Cour suprême du Canada, qui a déclaré inconstitutionnelle l’interdiction pour les médecins de fournir une aide à mourir1, et les modifications subséquentes qui ont été apportées au Code criminel2 préoccupent certains membres de l’ACPM qui ne veulent pas, pour des raisons d’ordre moral ou religieux, aider des patients à mettre fin à leur vie.

Ces médecins et certaines associations médicales s’inquiètent particulièrement des dispositions de la loi et des politiques des organismes de réglementation (Collèges), qui ont été modifiées ou créées à la suite de la décision de la Cour. Ils veulent que ces lois et règlements protègent leur droit de refuser de participer à une telle pratique.

Dans sa décision, la Cour suprême a déclaré que les médecins ont le droit, en se fondant sur la liberté de conscience, de refuser d’aider un patient à mourir. La Cour a aussi affirmé que toute réponse législative et réglementaire à sa décision doit concilier les droits, à la fois des patients et des médecins, prévus par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés3. La législation fédérale assurant la mise en œuvre de l’aide médicale à mourir prévoit que rien n’oblige les médecins à fournir une aide médicale à mourir ou à participer à la prestation d’une telle aide. Toutefois, ni la Cour ni la législation fédérale n’ont précisé si les médecins qui refusent d’aider un patient à mourir pour des motifs d’ordre moral ou religieux pouvaient être obligés de diriger le patient vers un autre médecin. Cette question peut être importante pour les médecins qui considèrent que, sur le plan moral, diriger un patient vers un autre médecin équivaut à l’aider personnellement à mourir.

La préoccupation soulevée par l’obligation d’adresser à un autre médecin un patient qui recherche une aide médicale à mourir émane en partie des positions adoptées auparavant par certains Collèges. Plusieurs Collèges ont affirmé que les médecins qui ne veulent pas prodiguer certains soins (p. ex. ordonnance pour des contraceptifs, avortements) en raison de leurs convictions morales ou religieuses doivent diriger le patient vers un autre professionnel de la santé qui offrira ces services4.

Les Collèges ont adopté des lignes directrices sur l’aide médicale à mourir qui précisent généralement que les médecins qui ne veulent pas aider des patients à mourir doivent fournir à ces derniers suffisamment de renseignements et de ressources pour leur permettre de faire un choix éclairé et d’avoir accès à d’autres options de soins ou, encore, les diriger efficacement vers un autre médecin ou d’autres ressources.

Les recommandations de l’Association médicale canadienne à l’égard d’une réponse législative et réglementaire à la décision de la Cour suprême indiquent que les médecins doivent fournir aux patients des renseignements complets sur toutes les options qui leur sont offertes, y compris l’aide médicale à mourir, et les conseiller sur les moyens d’obtenir davantage de renseignements et de conseils ou des services d’orientation.5

Au printemps 2015, les préoccupations soulevées par la protection du droit des objecteurs de conscience prévu par la Charte ont entraîné une action en justice. La Christian Medical and Dental Society of Canada, la Fédération canadienne des sociétés de médecins catholiques, ainsi que des médecins individuels, ont demandé aux tribunaux de l’Ontario de déclarer que des sections d’une politique de l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario violent leurs droits prévus par la Charte6. Ces groupes s’opposent aux sections de la politique qui obligent les médecins refusant de fournir un service pour des motifs liés à leur conscience ou à leur religion à diriger efficacement les patients vers un autre professionnel de la santé qui est disposé à leur fournir ce service.

Au Québec, la Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie7, permet aux médecins de refuser une demande d’aide médicale à mourir pour des raisons personnelles et ne les oblige pas à diriger eux-mêmes un patient vers un autre médecin. Le médecin doit plutôt informer l’autorité précisée dans la loi (p. ex., l’hôpital), qui s’occupe alors de diriger le patient. Cette mesure permet aux médecins du Québec de refuser de fournir de l’aide à mourir pour des motifs de conscience, tout en permettant aux patients d’obtenir les soins en question.


Références

  1. Carter c Canada (Procureur général), 2015 CSC 5.
  2. Loi modifiant le Code criminel et apportant des modifications connexes à d’autres lois (aide médicale à mourir) (anciennement projet de loi C-14), 1re sess, 42e lég, Canada, 2016 (sanctionnée le 17 juin 2016).
  3. Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, partie I de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, constituant l’annexe B de la Loi de 1982 sur le Canada (R-U), 1982, c 11.
  4. Pour des exemples, consulter : College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Policy #2-15. Professional Obligations and Human Rights, mis à jour en mars 2015; et College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan, Policy, Conscientious Objection, septembre 2015
  5. Association médicale canadienne. Une approche canadienne à l’égard de l’aide médicale à mourir, octobre 2015.
  6. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter : College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, News Release, Statement from the College of Physicians and Surgeons — Professional Obligations and Human Rights, le 24 mars 2015.
  7. Loi concernant les soins de fin de vie, RLRQ 2014, c S-32.0001.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.