Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Consider the unique aspects of caring for athletes

Originally published June 2015
P1503-4-E

Providing medical care to athletes can be rewarding, whether it’s as part of a regular medical practice, as a team physician, or at sporting events. While the work is similar to that in any other type of practice, it has unique aspects with potential medical-legal risks. Physicians should be aware of these risks and take steps to keep the athletes and themselves safe.

Standard of care

The courts hold physicians to the same standard of care when treating athletes as when treating any other patient. Doctors are expected to exercise the skill of a “normal, prudent practitioner of the same experience and standing.”1

Specialists are held to a higher standard of care than general practitioners and are required to exercise the skill of a “normal, prudent” specialist. Physicians who identify themselves as sport medicine physicians specializing in the care of athletes will be likely held to a higher standard than family physicians.

Doctors should accurately state their experience and expertise to athletic teams or organizers of sporting events. If a medical-legal issue arises and the medical care is questioned, physicians who inaccurately stated their training and expertise may be found to have negligently misrepresented themselves. Regulatory authorities (Colleges) would also see misrepresentation as a breach of professional standards.

Acting as a team physician

Team physicians, whether at the amateur level, at a university, or with a professional team, have a dual responsibility — to the athlete and the team.

Team doctors should clearly explain this dual role to athletes and obtain the athletes’ consent to release medical information to appropriate team members, such as coaches and managers. Most teams have athletes sign a consent form at the beginning of the season allowing for this communication. In fact, privacy legislation in some jurisdictions (e.g. Alberta) requires written consent for the disclosure of health information for purposes other than providing healthcare. An athlete’s consent should be very specific. Without expressed consent, an athlete’s personal health information generally should not be released to anyone, including the media, unless it is needed for the purpose of providing care to the athlete (e.g. a consulting specialist healthcare provider).

What is expressed consent?  Much of a health professional’s work is done on the basis of consent that is implied either by the words or the behaviour of the patient or by the circumstances under which treatment is given. When health professionals have any doubt that the patient’s actions imply permission for the examinations, investigations, and treatments proposed, it is preferable to obtain expressed consent, either orally or in writing.

Team physicians may be required to travel outside Canada as part of their duties. These physicians must be aware of the CMPA’s assistance when providing medical care outside the country. Without a licence to practise in another province or country, travelling Canadian physicians could be scrutinized by the local medical regulatory authority. If a team physician is found practising medicine without a licence from the jurisdiction, the repercussions can be extremely serious. Those considering travelling with a team outside Canada should call the CMPA to discuss the details of their situation.

When travelling abroad, team physicians should also be familiar with regulations or restrictions on bringing medications into a foreign country. When transporting controlled drugs or narcotics between provinces, team physicians should also be aware of any regulations or restrictions.

While a team physician position is often considered prestigious, it comes with potential stresses. Team physicians may feel pressured by team owners, coaches, and athletes to make difficult decisions, such as when to return to play. Doctors should avoid potential conflicts of interest and ensure their primary responsibility is the player’s wellbeing.

Return-to-play decisions

When advising on a player’s readiness to return to play, doctors may be concerned the decision exposes them to medical-legal risk. Canadian courts have “…viewed medical clearance on the part of physicians as a discretionary decision, as long as it adheres to the common and most current medical practice. In this respect, normally there is no liability for negligence when a physician makes a judgment call that is within the accepted standard of medical care.”2

A 3-step decision-based return-to-play model proposed by Matheson et al evaluates the health risk, participation risk, and “decision modifiers” such as timing (playoffs versus regular season) and external pressures.3 Physicians should consider the “modifiers” carefully and ensure their return-to-play decision is in the best interest of the athlete’s health and is thoroughly documented.

In the United States, team physicians have been found liable for not disclosing long-term risks associated with injuries. This is particularly pertinent in cases of concussion. Return-to-play discussions with athletes should include information about any potential long-term risks and should be well documented.

Anti-doping regulations

Elite athletes competing at national or international levels may be subject to anti-doping regulations. The World Anti-Doping Agency publishes the World Anti-Doping Code, a list of medications and substances prohibited in sports with which athletes must comply. Athletes may be subjected to random urine or blood testing in and out of competition. The presence of a prohibited substance can result in severe penalties to the athlete, including a ban from competition. When applicable, athletes should tell their physician they are subject to drug testing for anti-doping purposes. If a physician is aware an athlete is competing at this level and the athlete has not indicated he or she are subject to drug testing, the physician should ask. The Canadian anti-doping program and education is provided by the Canadian Centre for Ethics in Sports. Information on prohibited medications can be found on their website.

Athletes are generally advised to report any new medication to their team physicians. If an athlete requires medication that is on the prohibited list, but is necessary to treat a certain condition, the athlete can apply for a Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE). The prescribing physician must provide information about the drug and the diagnosis for approval by the athlete’s sport federation. When medication is needed urgently or emergently, a retroactive TUE may be granted.

Concussion care

Athletes in certain sports, primarily collision and contact sports, are at high risk of concussion. All American states have concussion legislation generally requiring:

  • removal from play if concussion symptoms are reported
  • medical evaluation
  • medical clearance before returning to the sport

Currently, Canada does not have concussion laws. Legislation has been proposed in several jurisdictions however. Physicians should be knowledgeable about current concepts for concussion assessment and management as they will likely be seeing more patients reporting concussions.

Covering an event

Physicians may be asked to provide medical coverage at sporting events as a medical director, as part of the medical staff, or as a volunteer. In most cases, the standard of care, responsibilities, and potential liabilities are similar as when doctors provide care to any athlete, even when the work is voluntary. As well, doctors working at events outside their provinces should ensure their licensure is appropriate for that location.

Documenting the care

Appropriate documentation of medical care is a regulatory and legislative requirement, and essential to a physician’s medical-legal defence. It may be easy to forget to document when attending to athletes at the side of the field or at the arena, but physicians should ensure their interactions with patients are well documented. Some physicians may use portable devices such as smart phones or tablets for this purpose. Such devices should have strong password protection and encryption to prevent a breach of confidential medical information if the device is lost or accessed inappropriately.

Working collaboratively

Caring for athletes generally means working collaboratively with other healthcare professionals. Effective communication between team members and clear roles and responsibilities are critical to providing quality, safe care.

CMPA’s extent of assistance

When caring for athletes in some circumstances, physicians should be aware of the Association’s principles of assistance, i.e. on treating non-residents, treating professional athletes, providing care outside Canada. For more information on these principles, members are encouraged to contact the Association.

The bottom line

Caring for athletes can be gratifying. Giving athletes appropriate guidance on returning to their sport after injury or illness, balancing various roles and responsibilities, and being aware of anti-doping requirements make the work unique. Physicians should understand the accompanying medical-legal risks and take steps to protect their patients and themselves.

 
 

References

  1. Sylvester v. Crits et al, [1956] S.C.R. 991
  2. Wilson, Marie-France, “Young athletes at risk: Preventing and managing consequences of sports concussions in young athletes and the related legal issues,” Marquette Sports Law Review (2010) Vol.21, No.1, p.279
  3. Matheson G.O., Shultz, R., Bido, J., Mitten, M.J., Meuwisse, W.H., Shrier, I., “Return-to-play decisions: Are they the team physician’s responsibility?” Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine (2011) Vol. 21, No.1, p.25-30

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Aspects particuliers des soins prodigués aux athlètes

Publié initialement en juin 2015
P1503-4-F

Il peut être valorisant de traiter des athlètes, que ce soit dans le cadre d’une pratique médicale ordinaire, à titre de médecin d’équipe ou lors de manifestations sportives. S’il est semblable à tout autre type de pratique, ce travail comporte cependant des aspects particuliers, qui entraînent des risques médico-légaux. Les médecins doivent être conscients de ces risques et prendre des mesures pour veiller à la sécurité des athlètes et pour se protéger eux-mêmes.

Norme de pratique

Les tribunaux s’attendent à ce que les médecins qui traitent des athlètes respectent la même norme de pratique que lorsqu’ils traitent tout autre patient. Les médecins doivent faire preuve du même niveau de compétence que l’on attend « d’un praticien ordinaire et prudent, ayant la même expérience et réputation. »1

Les spécialistes doivent satisfaire à une norme de pratique plus exigeante que les omnipraticiens et doivent faire preuve du même niveau de compétence que l’on attend d’un spécialiste « ordinaire et prudent ». Le médecin qui dit exercer la médecine du sport spécialisée dans le soin des athlètes devra vraisemblablement satisfaire à une norme de pratique plus exigeante qu’un omnipraticien.

Les médecins doivent présenter avec exactitude leur expérience et leur expertise aux équipes sportives ou aux organisateurs de manifestations sportives. Si les soins médicaux sont remis en question dans l’éventualité d’un problème médico-légal, le médecin qui n’a pas décrit avec exactitude sa formation et son expertise pourrait en effet être accusé de fausse déclaration. Par ailleurs, les organismes de réglementation (Collèges) pourraient percevoir toute déclaration inexacte comme un manquement aux normes professionnelles.

Agir à titre de médecin d’équipe

Les médecins d’équipe, au niveau amateur, universitaire ou professionnel, ont une double responsabilité – envers l’athlète et envers l’équipe.

Le médecin d’équipe doit expliquer clairement ce double rôle aux athlètes et obtenir leur consentement à la divulgation de renseignements médicaux aux membres appropriés de l’équipe, tels les entraîneurs et les gérants. La plupart des équipes demandent aux athlètes de signer un formulaire de consentement en début de saison aux fins d’une telle divulgation. En fait, à certains endroits (p. ex., en Alberta), la législation relative à la protection des renseignements personnels exige un consentement écrit lié à la divulgation de renseignements sur la santé à des fins autres que la prestation de soins de santé. Le consentement de l’athlète doit être très précis. En l’absence d’un consentement explicite, les renseignements personnels sur la santé de l’athlète ne doivent généralement pas être divulgués à quiconque, y compris les médias, à moins que cela ne soit nécessaire pour prodiguer des soins à l’athlète (p. ex., un spécialiste de la santé consultant).

Qu’est-ce qu’un consentement explicite?

Les professionnels de la santé font la plus grande partie de leur travail en vertu d’un consentement implicite qui découle des propos ou du comportement du patient, ou encore des circonstances dans lesquelles le traitement est prodigué. Le comportement du patient doit impliquer une autorisation en ce qui a trait aux examens, investigations et traitements proposés. En cas de doute, il est préférable d’obtenir un consentement explicite, verbalement ou par écrit.

Les médecins d’équipe peuvent être appelés à voyager à l’extérieur du Canada dans le cadre de leurs fonctions. Ces médecins doivent être conscients de l’assistance accordée par l’ACPM lorsque des soins médicaux sont prodigués à l’extérieur du pays. Sans permis d’exercice de la médecine dans une autre province ou un autre pays, le médecin canadien qui voyage pourrait faire l’objet d’une enquête par l’organisme local de réglementation de la médecine. S’il est déterminé qu’un médecin d’équipe exerce la médecine sans permis, les conséquences peuvent être extrêmement lourdes. Les médecins qui envisagent de voyager avec une équipe à l’extérieur du Canada devraient communiquer avec l’ACPM pour discuter de leur situation précise.

Lorsqu’ils voyagent, les médecins d’équipe doivent aussi connaître les règlements ou les restrictions en ce qui a trait aux médicaments pouvant être apportés dans un pays étranger. Ils doivent aussi être au fait de tout règlement ou de toute restriction régissant le transport de médicaments contrôlés ou de narcotiques d’une province à une autre.

S’il est souvent jugé prestigieux, le poste de médecin d’équipe comporte son lot de stress. Les médecins d’équipe peuvent ressentir une pression de la part des propriétaires d’équipe, des entraîneurs et des athlètes pour prendre des décisions difficiles, telles que celles concernant le moment du retour au jeu. Les médecins doivent éviter les éventuels conflits d’intérêts et veiller à ce que leur responsabilité première soit le bien-être de l’athlète.

Décisions concernant le retour au jeu

Lorsqu’il se prononce sur l’aptitude d’un athlète à retourner au jeu, le médecin peut craindre que la décision l’expose à un risque médico-légal. Selon les tribunaux canadiens « …une autorisation médicale représente une décision discrétionnaire du médecin, à condition qu’elle soit conforme à la pratique médicale actuelle et courante. À cet égard, lorsqu’un médecin porte un jugement qui respecte la norme de pratique reconnue, il n’est normalement pas tenu responsable de faute professionnelle. »2 [Traduction]

Un modèle décisionnel en trois étapes concernant le retour au jeu, proposé par Matheson et coll., évalue le risque pour la santé, le risque de la participation et les « modificateurs de décisions », tel que le choix du moment (les séries éliminatoires comparativement à la saison régulière), et les pressions externes.3 Les médecins doivent évaluer soigneusement les « modificateurs » et veiller à ce que leur décision concernant le retour au jeu soit bien dans l’intérêt de la santé de l’athlète et qu’elle soit documentée minutieusement.

Aux États-Unis, des médecins d’équipe ont été tenus responsables d’avoir omis de divulguer les risques à long terme associés aux blessures. Cela revêt une importance particulière dans les cas de commotion cérébrale. Les discussions avec les athlètes concernant le retour au jeu doivent inclure des renseignements au sujet de tout risque à long terme et être documentées soigneusement.

Règlements antidopage

Les athlètes d’élite qui participent à des compétitions de niveau national ou international peuvent être soumis à des règlements antidopage. L’Agence mondiale antidopage publie le Code mondial antidopage, une liste des médicaments et des substances interdites dans les sports, auquel les athlètes doivent se conformer. Les athlètes peuvent être soumis à des analyses de sang ou d’urine effectuées au hasard pendant les compétitions et en dehors de celles-ci. La présence d’une substance interdite peut entraîner des pénalités sévères pour l’athlète, notamment l’interdiction de participer à une compétition. Le cas échéant, l’athlète devrait informer son médecin s’il est soumis à des contrôles antidopage. Si le médecin sait qu’un athlète participe à des compétitions à ce niveau et que l’athlète n’a pas précisé qu’il est soumis à des contrôles antidopage, le médecin devrait lui poser la question. Le Centre canadien pour l’éthique dans le sport administre le Programme canadien antidopage, fournit de l’éducation et publie sur son site web de l’information sur les médicaments interdits.

Il est généralement conseillé aux athlètes de signaler tout nouveau médicament à leur médecin d’équipe. Si un athlète doit prendre un médicament qui figure sur la liste de substances interdites mais qui est nécessaire pour traiter un problème de santé donné, l’athlète peut demander une Autorisation d’usage à des fins thérapeutiques (AUT). Le médecin prescripteur doit alors fournir des renseignements au sujet du médicament et du diagnostic aux fins d’approbation par la fédération sportive de l’athlète. Lorsque le médicament doit être pris dans une situation d’urgence ou d’extrême urgence, une AUT rétroactive peut être accordée.

Prise en charge des commotions cérébrales

Les athlètes qui pratiquent certains sports, notamment les sports de contact ou de combat, sont exposés à un risque élevé de commotion cérébrale. Tous les états américains ont une loi sur les commotions cérébrales qui exige, de façon générale :

  • le retrait du jeu en raison de symptômes de commotion cérébrale
  • une évaluation médicale
  • une autorisation médicale avant de reprendre le sport.

À l’heure actuelle, le Canada ne dispose pas de loi sur les commotions cérébrales, bien que des projets de loi aient été proposés dans plusieurs provinces. Comme les médecins sont susceptibles de voir plus de patients signalant une commotion cérébrale, ils doivent bien connaître les principes actuels liés à l’évaluation et à la prise en charge des commotions cérébrales.

Travail médical lors de manifestations sportives

Un médecin peut être appelé à prodiguer des services médicaux lors de manifestations sportives à titre de directeur médical, de membre du personnel médical ou de bénévole. Dans la plupart des cas, la norme de pratique, les responsabilités et les risques éventuels de responsabilité sont semblables à tout autre moment où un médecin prodigue des soins à un athlète, et ce, même s’il s’agit de travail bénévole. De plus, les médecins qui travaillent à des manifestations à l’extérieur de leur province doivent s’assurer que leur permis est valide dans ce lieu de travail.

Documentation des soins

En plus de constituer une exigence réglementaire et légale, une documentation appropriée des soins médicaux est essentielle à la défense médico-légale du médecin. Il peut être facile d’oublier de documenter une rencontre avec un athlète sur le terrain ou à l’aréna, mais les médecins doivent veiller à ce que leurs interactions avec les patients soient bien documentées. Certains médecins utilisent à cette fin des appareils portatifs tels que des téléphones intelligents ou des tablettes. Ces appareils doivent être protégés par un procédé de chiffrement et un mot de passe robuste afin d’éviter toute atteinte à la confidentialité des renseignements médicaux, advenant la perte de l’appareil ou un accès inapproprié.

Collaboration

De façon générale, la prestation de soins à des athlètes exige une collaboration avec d’autres professionnels de la santé. Il est essentiel, pour la prestation de soins sécuritaires de grande qualité, d’assurer une communication efficace entre les membres de l’équipe, et de définir clairement les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun.

L’étendue de l’assistance de l’ACPM

Lorsqu’ils prodiguent des soins à des athlètes dans le cadre de circonstances précises, les médecins doivent connaître les principes de l’assistance de l’Association, c.-à-d. en matière de traitement de non-résidents, de traitement d’athlètes professionnels et de prestation de soins à l’étranger. Pour obtenir plus d’information au sujet de ces principes, les membres sont encouragés à communiquer avec l’Association.

En bref

Il peut être gratifiant de soigner des athlètes. La possibilité de donner à ces derniers des conseils appropriés concernant la reprise de leur sport après une blessure ou une maladie, l’atteinte d’un équilibre entre les divers rôles et responsabilités, ainsi que la nécessité de se tenir au fait des exigences antidopage font en sorte que ce travail est sans pareil. Les médecins doivent toutefois comprendre les risques médico-légaux qui s’y rattachent et prendre des mesures pour veiller à la sécurité de leurs patients et pour se protéger eux-mêmes.

 


 

Références

  1. Sylvester v. Crits et coll., [1956] S.C.R. 991
  2. Wilson, Marie-France, « Young athletes at risk: Preventing and managing consequences of sports concussions in young athletes and the related legal issues », Marquette Sports Law Review (2010) vol. 21, no 1, p.279
  3. Matheson G.O., Shultz, R., Bido, J., Mitten, M.J., Meuwisse, W.H., Shrier, I., « Return-to-play decisions: Are they the team physician’s responsibility? » Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine (2011) vol. 21, no 1, p.25-30

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.