Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Fitness to drive: When do physicians have a duty to report?

Originally published December 2015
P1505-1-E

Most Canadians depend on being able to drive to participate in many activities in their lives. Although many consider driving to be a right, the law states it is a privilege. Losing this privilege, even when justified, can result in emotional stress, loss of independence, and financial consequences for the individual. And yet, an unfit driver may endanger his or her life and the lives of others. It is for this reason that all provinces and territories have legislation for reporting patients who are considered unsafe to drive.

In most jurisdictions, legislation requires physicians to report any patient who, in their opinion, has a medical condition that may make it dangerous for the patient to drive.1 Meanwhile in Alberta,2 Québec,3 and Nova Scotia4 reporting is discretionary, meaning that physicians are permitted, but not required, to report. While the law in Québec allows for discretion in deciding whether to report, the Collège des médecins states that if the physician has reason to believe the patient will continue to drive despite being warned not to and the patient represents a serious risk to public safety, the physician must report.5 In British Columbia, reporting is mandatory only if the patient continues to drive after being warned not to.6

While a patient may wish to continue driving, the physician must consider the safety of the patient and the community when deciding whether to report. The ultimate decision whether to restrict driving privileges is made by the provincial or territorial motor vehicle licensing authority.

Physicians may be unsure what conditions need to be reported, or when a patient’s cognitive or functional status justifies a report. In these situations, it is helpful to consult the Canadian Medical Association’s CMA Driver’s Guide and other relevant guidelines from specialty societies.7

The CMPA experience

In a review of 95 closed medical-legal cases between 2009 and 2013 involving fitness to drive issues, medical-legal outcomes were generally favourable for CMPA members. Three-quarters of the cases were complaints to regulatory authorities (Colleges) and 23 were legal actions. During the same period the CMPA also responded to over 1,200 member enquiries related to fitness to drive.

The following were the principal themes in the cases:

  • A physician failed to report a patient.
  • A report made to a provincial or territorial licensing authority was inappropriate.
  • A physician refused to support an application to reinstate driving privileges.

Allegations of failure to report

Allegations of failure to report often followed motor vehicle collisions in which a person was injured or killed. In some cases the injured person or his or her insurer sued both the driver and the driver’s physician, alleging that the physician failed to advise the patient not to drive or failed to make a report. Most legal actions related to patients with seizure and other neurological disorders, diabetes, psychiatric conditions, and vision problems.

In one case, a patient with a neurological condition and various physical impairments injured others in a motor vehicle collision. All of the physicians involved in the care assumed the patient had stopped driving but did not verify that the patient had indeed ceased to do so. The CMPA paid a settlement on behalf of the members to those injured.

Such cases illustrate the importance of each treating physician independently complying with the applicable reporting legislation. Legislation provides protection for physicians from civil actions when a report is made in accordance with the legislation and in good faith, but it does not prevent patients from filing a College complaint. It may be helpful for physicians to inform other healthcare providers in the patient’s circle of care. Certainly, physicians should document the steps they have taken.

Complaints that a report was inappropriate

The majority of patients who believed that a report should not have been made to the licensing authority filed a College complaint. The patients often challenged the accuracy of the diagnosis and whether there was sufficient evidence to justify a report to the licensing authority. Other complaints were the result of doctors not speaking with patients about their medical condition and the obligations physicians have with respect to reporting. In some cases the complaint resulted from a physician not having adequate office procedures to track forms sent to the motor vehicle licensing authority.

Medical conditions associated with these College complaints included seizure disorders, dementia, drug and alcohol dependency, psychiatric conditions, and vision problems.

In the majority of cases, the Colleges were supportive of the physician’s decision to report. Occasionally, Colleges advised physicians to inform patients of their intent to make a report and to discuss the results of testing.

Complaints about refusing to assist in reinstatement of driving privileges

Some patients seek the assistance of their physician to have their driver’s licence reinstated. Some patients may file a College complaint if their physician does not support their application for reinstatement.

In some of the CMPA cases the physician was not satisfied that the patient had fully recovered (e.g. recent cardiac problems) or that the patient’s condition (e.g. diabetes, seizure disorders, obstructive sleep apnea) was sufficiently controlled. The Colleges were supportive of the physician, particularly if the documentation in the medical record justified the continuing concerns regarding driving.

Reporting of individuals working in aviation and railway services

Physicians are generally required to report individuals with a medical condition, and who work in aviation and railway services and are in a position critical to safety.8

Consider the case of a male patient, a commercial airline pilot, who is seen by his family physician after his employer notices behavioural changes. The physician assesses the pilot and is concerned about alcohol dependency and depression.

The physician informs the patient that his conditions could affect flight safety and makes a report to the regional civil aviation medical office. The patient’s licence is suspended and he complains to the College that the decision was influenced by his employer.

The College determines the physician’s report was supported by the medical history and that the documentation confirms the patient had been informed.

Managing conflict

Assessing fitness to drive issues can be challenging for physicians and the decision to report may introduce conflict in the doctor-patient relationship. To help minimize such conflict, physicians will want to communicate to the patient the rationale for making the report and the regulatory reporting requirements to which physicians are subject. Physicians might emphasize that the ultimate decision to restrict driving privileges is made by the licensing authority. Members are encouraged to contact the CMPA for individual advice.

Risk management considerations

Physicians should consider the following suggestions based on the CMPA’s review of cases relating to fitness to drive:

  • Consider consulting the recommendations of the CMA and other medical organizations on medical conditions that may pose a danger when operating a motor vehicle.
  • Perform an objective and thorough assessment of patients and when appropriate, incorporate functional or cognitive assessments, or consult specialists.9
  • Familiarize yourself with the reporting legislation in your province or territory. If you are uncertain about the legislation in your jurisdiction or whether it applies to a particular patient, contact the CMPA for advice.
  • Limit the information in your report to what is required by the legislation.
  • Inform patients of your intention and obligation to report. Remind them that the decision to restrict or revoke their licence rests with the provincial or territorial licensing authority.
  • Remember to warn patients not to drive in the interim, since it may take time for the licensing authority to make a decision.
  • Document your discussion and advice provided to patients regarding driving and whether you have made a report. If the risk is not imminent, document your concerns and reasons to reconsider the issue at a future time.
  • Do not assume that another physician has made a report, since the legislation requires each treating physician to report.
  • When asked to assist patients with reinstating a licence, carefully consider whether the clinical condition that led to the restriction has improved enough to satisfy earlier concerns.
  • Ask patients who have complex medical conditions about whether they drive and consider developing a driving cessation plan if warranted in the circumstances.
  • Be sensitive to the patients’ circumstances and provide support to patients distressed about possibly losing their licence.
 
 

References

  1. The Traffic Safety Act, SS 2004, c T-18.1, s 283; The Highway Traffic Act, CCSM c H60, s 157; Highway Traffic Act, RSO 1990, c H.8, s 203; Motor Vehicle Act, RSNB 1973, c M-17, s 309.1; Highway Traffic Act, RSPEI 1988, c H-5, s 233; Highway Traffic Act, RSNL 1990, c H-3. s 174.1; Motor Vehicles Act, RSNWT 1988, c M-16, s 103; Motor Vehicles Act, RSY 2002, c 153, s 17(3); Motor Vehicles Act, RSNWT (Nu) 1988, c M-16, s 103.
  2. Traffic Safety Act, RSA 2000, c T-6, s 60-60.1.
  3. Highway Safety Code, CQLR c C-24.2, s 603.
  4. Motor Vehicle Act, RSNS 1989, c 293, s 279(7).
  5. Collège des médecins du Québec, Guide d’exercice, L’évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire un véhicule automobile (mars 2007).Accessed October 29, 2015 from:
    http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-1-2007-03-01-fr-evaluation-medicale-aptitude-conduire.pdf
  6. Motor Vehicle Act, RSBC 1996, c 318, s 230.
  7. For more information see the Canadian Medical Association’s CMA Driver’s Guide: Determining Medical Fitness to Operate Motor Vehicles available at www.cma.ca, and the Canadian Council of Motor Transport Administrators’ Determining Driver Fitness in Canada available at www.ccmta.ca.
  8. Canadian Medical Association, CMA Driver’s Guide: Determining Medical Fitness to Operate Motor Vehicles, 2015. Accessed October 29, 2015 from: https://www.cma.ca/en/Pages/drivers-guide.aspx
  9. For more information see the Canadian Geriatrics Society’s Driving and Dementia Toolkits for Health Professionals and for Patients and Caregivers available at
    www.canadiangeriatrics.ca, and the Regional Geriatric Program of Eastern Ontario’s The Driving and Dementia Toolkit for Patients and Caregivers available at www.rgpeo.com.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Aptitude à conduire : quand faut-il effectuer un signalement?

Publié initialement en décembre 2015
P1505-1-F

La plupart des Canadiens dépendent de leur capacité à conduire pour participer à bon nombre d’activités. Bien qu’un grand nombre d’entre eux considèrent que la conduite automobile est un droit, la loi, par contre, stipule qu’il s’agit d’un privilège. La perte de ce privilège, même lorsqu’elle est justifiée, peut entraîner un stress émotionnel intense et de graves conséquences financières. Par ailleurs, un conducteur inapte peut mettre en danger sa vie et celle des autres. Pour cette raison, toutes les provinces et tous les territoires ont des dispositions législatives liées au signalement des patients inaptes à conduire.

Dans la plupart des provinces et des territoires, la loi oblige les médecins à signaler tout patient qui, à leur avis, a un problème de santé tel qu’il peut être dangereux pour cette personne de conduire.1 Toutefois, en Alberta,2 au Québec3 et en Nouvelle-Écosse,4 la loi accorde aux médecins un pouvoir discrétionnaire, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ont la permission de signaler ces patients, sans y être obligés. Au Québec, si la loi accorde ce pouvoir discrétionnaire, le Collège précise pour sa part que si un médecin a des raisons de croire qu’un patient ne respectera pas l’interdiction de conduire et qu’il représente un risque sérieux pour la sécurité du public, il doit effectuer le signalement.5 En Colombie-Britannique, le signalement n’est obligatoire que si le patient continue de conduire après avoir été avisé de ne pas le faire.6

Bien qu’un patient puisse vouloir continuer à conduire, le médecin qui effectue le signalement doit tenir compte de la sécurité du patient et de la communauté. La décision d’imposer ou non des restrictions au permis de conduire relève de l’autorité provinciale ou territoriale délivrant les permis de conduire.

Les médecins peuvent avoir des doutes à savoir quels problèmes doivent être signalés, ou à quel moment l’évaluation fonctionnelle cognitive ou motrice d’un patient justifie le signalement. Il peut s’avérer utile de consulter la publication de l’Association médicale canadienne Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin, ainsi que d’autres directives pertinentes de sociétés de spécialistes.7

L’expérience de l’ACPM

Selon l’analyse de 95 dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM, conclus entre 2009 et 2013, associés aux questions d’aptitude à conduire, les décisions en faveur des membres ont généralement prédominé. Les trois quarts des dossiers concernaient des plaintes adressées aux organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges), tandis qu’environ un quart concernait des actions en justice. Durant la même période, l’ACPM a également répondu à 1 200 demandes d’information de la part des membres relativement à l’aptitude à conduire.

Les instances ont été regroupées en trois principaux thèmes :

  • omission du médecin de signaler l’inaptitude à conduire d’un patient;
  • signalement inapproprié auprès d’un organisme provincial ou territorial délivrant les permis de conduire;
  • refus du médecin d’appuyer une demande de rétablissement du permis de conduire.

Allégations de défaut de signaler

Les allégations de défaut de signaler étaient souvent soulevées à la suite d’accidents de la route ayant causé des blessures ou des décès. Dans certains cas, la personne blessée ou son assureur poursuivait le conducteur ainsi que le médecin de ce dernier, en alléguant que le médecin avait omis d’alerter le patient de ne pas conduire, ou qu’il avait omis de faire un signalement. La majorité des actions en justice se rapportait à des patients ayant reçu un diagnostic de troubles convulsifs et autres troubles neurologiques, de diabète, de troubles psychiatriques, et de troubles visuels.

Dans un cas particulier, un patient souffrant de troubles neurologiques associés à des incapacités physiques variées a causé des blessures à d’autres personnes lors d’un accident. Tous les médecins traitant le patient tenaient pour acquis qu’il avait cessé de conduire, mais aucun d’eux n’avait effectivement vérifié qu’il ne prenait plus le volant. L’ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier au nom des membres en concluant une transaction avec les personnes blessées.

Ce genre de cas illustre l’importance pour chaque médecin traitant de se conformer à titre individuel à la loi applicable concernant l’obligation de signaler un patient. Cette loi accorde au médecin une protection en cas d’action en justice lorsqu’un signalement est effectué de bonne foi conformément à la loi. Par contre, elle n’empêche pas le patient de déposer une plainte auprès du Collège. Il peut être utile pour les médecins d’informer les autres professionnels de la santé du cercle de soins du patient. À tout le moins, les médecins doivent documenter les mesures qu’ils ont prises.

Plaintes liées à un signalement inapproprié

La majorité des patients qui étaient d’avis qu’un signalement n’aurait pas dû être effectué auprès de l’autorité délivrant les permis de conduire ont déposé une plainte au Collège. Souvent, les patients remettaient en question l’exactitude du diagnostic ou demandaient s’il y avait suffisamment de données probantes pour justifier le signalement. D’autres plaintes provenaient du fait que les médecins n’avaient pas bien informé les patients au sujet de leur problème de santé et n’avaient pas respecté leurs obligations en matière de signalement. Dans certaines instances, le cabinet du médecin n’avait pas mis en place des procédures appropriées de suivi des formulaires envoyés au bureau des permis de conduire.

Les problèmes médicaux courants associés à ces dossiers étaient l’alcoolisme ou la toxicomanie, les troubles convulsifs, les troubles de démence, les problèmes psychiatriques et les troubles visuels.

Dans la majorité des dossiers, les Collèges ont appuyé la décision du médecin de faire un signalement. Dans quelques cas, les Collèges ont conseillé aux médecins d’informer les patients de leur intention de faire le signalement et de discuter des résultats des tests avec eux.

Plaintes liées au refus de collaborer au rétablissement du permis

Certains patients dont le permis avait été suspendu ont tenté d’obtenir l’aide de leur médecin pour le faire rétablir. Dans de tels cas, si le médecin n’appuie pas la demande du patient, une plainte au Collège peut s’ensuivre.

Dans certains dossiers de l’ACPM, le médecin n’était pas convaincu que le patient était complètement rétabli (p. ex., problèmes cardiaques récents) ou que l’état du patient (p. ex., diabète, troubles convulsifs, apnée obstructive) était suffisamment maîtrisé. Les Collèges ont appuyé Ies soins prodigués par le médecin, particulièrement lorsque les renseignements documentés dans le dossier médical du patient continuaient de susciter des inquiétudes à l’égard de son aptitude à conduire.

Signalement des personnes travaillant dans le transport aérien ou ferroviaire

Les médecins sont généralement tenus de signaler les personnes ayant un problème médical qui travaillent dans le transport aérien ou ferroviaire et qui occupent un poste d’importance cruciale pour la sécurité. 8

Prenons l’exemple d’un pilote d’un service aérien commercial vu en consultation par son médecin de famille, après que son employeur a remarqué des changements dans son comportement. Le médecin examine le pilote et s’inquiète de sa dépendance à l’alcool et de son état dépressif.

Le médecin informe alors le patient que ses problèmes pourraient compromettre la sécurité en vol; il soumet un rapport au bureau médical régional de l’aviation civile. Le permis du pilote est suspendu; le pilote dépose une plainte au Collège, alléguant que la décision du médecin a été influencée par son employeur.

Le Collège détermine que le signalement effectué par le médecin est justifié par les antécédents médicaux du patient, et que la documentation confirme que le patient en avait été informé.

Gestion des conflits

L’évaluation de l’aptitude à conduire peut poser certains défis pour les médecins, et la décision de signaler risque de créer un conflit dans la relation médecin-patient. Le fait de communiquer au patient la nécessité et le bien-fondé du signalement peut contribuer à minimiser les conflits. Les médecins peuvent souligner qu’en dernier ressort, ce sont les autorités provinciales ou territoriales délivrant les permis de conduire qui prendront la décision de restreindre les privilèges de conduite. Les membres sont invités à communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Voici certaines suggestions pour les médecins, fondées sur l’analyse effectuée par l’ACPM des dossiers portant sur l’aptitude à conduire :

  • Tenez compte des recommandations de l’Association médicale canadienne ou d’autres organisations médicales concernant les problèmes médicaux pouvant constituer un danger lors de la conduite d’un véhicule automobile.
  • Procédez à une évaluation objective et complète du patient, et le cas échéant, ajoutez les évaluations fonctionnelles ou cognitives, ou consultez des spécialistes.9
  • Familiarisez-vous avec les lois pertinentes dans votre province ou territoire. Si vous avez des incertitudes par rapport à la loi, ou désirez confirmer qu’elle s’applique à un patient particulier, communiquez avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.
  • Limitez les renseignements fournis dans le rapport à ce qui est exigé par la loi.
  • Informez le patient de votre intention et de votre obligation de le signaler. Rappelez-lui que toute décision relative aux restrictions ou à la suspension du permis de conduire relève de l’autorité provinciale ou territoriale délivrant les permis de conduire.
  • N’oubliez pas d’avertir le patient de ne pas conduire jusqu’à ce que l’autorité délivrant les permis de conduire ait pris une décision.
  • Documentez de façon adéquate votre évaluation, votre discussion, votre avertissement et les conseils prodigués au patient en matière de conduite automobile, ainsi que le fait que vous ayez ou non fait le signalement. Si le risque n’est pas imminent, documentez vos préoccupations et les raisons pour lesquelles il faudra réévaluer le problème à une date ultérieure.
  • Ne tenez pas pour acquis qu’un autre médecin a effectué le signalement, puisque la loi requiert que chaque médecin traitant le fasse.
  • Avant d’appuyer une demande de rétablissement du permis, effectuez les évaluations cliniques appropriées et documentez-les.
  • Demandez aux patients présentant des problèmes médicaux complexes s’ils conduisent, et envisagez la mise en place d’un plan de cessation de la conduite si les circonstances le justifient.
  • Tenez compte de la situation des patients et offrez votre soutien aux patients qui éprouvent du désarroi à l’idée de perdre leur permis de conduire.
 
 

Références

  1. The Traffic Safety Act, SS 2004, c T-18.1, art 283; Le Code de la route, CPLM, c H60, art 157; Le Code de la route, L.R.O. 1990, c H.8, art 203; Loi sur les véhicules à moteur, LRN-B 1973, c M-17, art 309.1; Highway Traffic Act, RSPEI 1988, c H-5, art 233; Highway Traffic Act, RSNL 1990, c H-3. art 174.1; Loi sur les véhicules automobiles, RSTN-O 1988, c M-16, art 103; Loi sur les véhicules automobiles, LRY 2002, c 153, art 17(3); Loi sur les véhicules automobiles, LRTN-O (Nu) 1988, c M-16, art 103
  2. Traffic Safety Act, RSA 2000, c T-6, art 60-60.1
  3. Code de la sécurité routière, LRQ, c C-24.2, art 603
  4. Motor Vehicle Act, RSNS 1989, c 293, sa. 279(7)
  5. Collège des médecins du Québec, L’évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire un véhicule automobile (mars 2007). Consulté le 30 octobre 2015. http://www.cmq.org/publications-pdf/p-1-2007-03-01-fr-evaluation-medicale-aptitude-conduire.pdf
  6. Motor Vehicle Act, RSBC 1996, c 318, art 230
  7. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez le document Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin de l’Association médicale canadienne, accessible au www.cma.ca, ainsi que la publication Determining Driver Fitness in Canada du Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé accessible au www.ccmta.ca
  8. Association médicale canadienne. Évaluation médicale de l’aptitude à conduire – Guide du médecin. 8e edition, 2015. Consulté le 29 octobre 2015. https://www.cma.ca/fr/Pages/drivers-guide.aspx
  9. Pour obtenir plus de détails, consulter l’article « Driving and dementia Toolkits for Health Professionals and for Patients and Caregivers » de la Société canadienne de gériatrie qui est accessible au www.canadiangeriatrics.ca, ainsi que Conduite automobile et démence : trousse d’information à l’intention des patients atteints et de leurs aidants (1re éd.) du Programme gériatrique régional de l’Est de l’Ontario, qui est accessible au www.rgpeo.com

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.