Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

How office staff can help reduce risk

Originally published March 2015
P1501-2-E

As the first point of contact for patients, the staff members of a medical practice set the welcoming tone. These individuals ensure the office runs efficiently and perform the essential tasks of answering patient telephone calls, obtaining and recording patient information, managing referrals and test results, and responding to requests for medical notes or third-party reports.

While delegating these administrative tasks to their employees gives physicians more time to focus on direct patient care, some physicians may not be aware of the medico-legal implications.

Hire experienced staff, provide training

Hiring professional, experienced office staff can go a long way to reducing medico-legal risks and regulatory authority (College) complaints. It is also prudent for physicians to spend time training employees on their responsibilities, particularly emphasizing the need to keep patient information confidential, to adhere to privacy obligations, and to communicate and document appropriately. Physicians should orient their staff to College guidelines on safe and effective office practice.

The CMPA experience

Medico-legal actions involving office practice often stem from a physician’s failure to establish an effective system to manage test results. Office staff may misfile or neglect to inform a physician about the availability of a test result, which can lead to a patient experiencing a delay in diagnosis or treatment. These types of medico-legal actions often result in unfavourable outcomes for the physician. Colleges and the courts expect physicians to have effective systems to track and follow up on patient investigations.

In addition to the effective management of test results, a review of medico-legal issues encountered in the administration of an office practice found other recurring themes: privacy, confidentiality, delegation, documentation, and office safety. The following cases illustrate some of these themes.

Case examples

Case 1: Privacy

A 45-year-old woman has an appointment for a physical examination. While waiting, she notices that her physician’s office receptionist routinely spells back patient names, phone numbers, and reasons for their visit when booking appointments over the phone. When it was the patient’s turn to be seen, the receptionist announced the reason for her visit in front of other patients in the waiting room. The patient complains to the College, which results in a caution to the family physician on the importance of respecting the privacy of patients and of the physician’s obligation to educate office staff to not improperly disclose patients’ personal information.

Physicians have a legal duty to protect patients’ privacy, and an ethical and professional duty to maintain the confidentiality of patients’ personal information. Physicians may not be aware that these obligations for maintaining privacy also extend to their staff. Important office staff functions include checking patients’ contact and other demographic information, and providing appropriate information to patients. Care is needed to avoid inadvertently disclosing patients’ personal health information while carrying out these functions. Physicians and their staff must be mindful that patients waiting in an office may be able to overhear the staff’s telephone conversations. It may be necessary to physically arrange the office so privacy and confidentiality are protected, particularly if staff members repeat what a caller is saying as a way of confirming information.

When orienting new staff, physicians should take the opportunity to review office privacy policies and emphasize each employee’s role in maintaining patient confidentiality and safeguarding patient records. Physicians should be familiar with the privacy legislation in their jurisdiction. Staff should be reminded that they must obtain a patient’s consent before releasing personal health information to family members or to a third party. Similarly, doctors need to educate their staff not to discuss patient information, particularly outside of the office. Asking each staff member to sign a confidentiality agreement highlights the importance of these issues.

Case 2: Communication

A 44-year-old woman confirms her appointment for an influenza vaccination with the receptionist. When she arrives the following day for the appointment she is told that there is no vaccine available. The patient advises the receptionist that she had been told the vaccine was available. The receptionist agrees they had spoken, however states that the vaccine did not arrive. The patient complains to the College that her appointment should have been rescheduled as she took a half-day vacation to attend the appointment. The College reminds the physician that office staff must provide accurate information to patients.

Communication problems are frequently identified as a concern when patients submit complaints to Colleges. In addition to issues with a physician’s communication style, patients may also highlight that a physician’s staff was rude, insensitive, or inaccessible. The Colleges repeatedly remind physicians that they are responsible for making a good effort to ensure their office employees provide accurate, current, and timely advice to patients. Staff should also be sensitive to the unique circumstances of each patient, for example, age, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, religious beliefs, and socio-economic status, and take these into consideration when communicating. Dissatisfied patients may also file complaints with the Human Rights Commission. Having documentation of the advice that staff provided can greatly aid a physician’s response to these complaints.

It is important to educate staff about their role in patient care and about the amount and kind of information they are permitted to give patients and when it is necessary to transfer the information to the physician.

 

Risk management considerations for an office practice

  1. Create an office manual to provide guidance on office policies and procedures, and orient new staff to these rules.
  2. Have a written privacy policy based on the relevant provincial or territorial legislation and train staff on privacy requirements.
  3. Have all staff sign confidentiality agreements.
  4. Ensure the office environment adequately allows staff to keep patient information private and confidential.
  5. Train staff to communicate with patients respectfully and professionally, and to be sensitive to the unique circumstances of each individual (e.g. culture, age, gender, sexual orientation, ethnicity, religious beliefs, socio-economic status).
  6. Inform staff members that it is the role of health professionals to determine the appropriate advice to be provided to patients.
  7. Inform staff about the types of communications with patients that should be documented in the medical record. Make explicit the office standards for handling and documenting telephone calls and voice mail messages to and from patients for prescription renewals and for no shows for appointments.
  8. Provide staff with clear parameters as to when they should notify physicians about patients’ telephone calls or calls from third parties.
  9. Establish a policy on how to follow-up with patients.
  10. Train staff members on their role in managing patient test results and patient referrals.
  11. Give staff instructions on what advice they can provide to patients when physicians are absent.
  12. Educate staff on the principles of consent and ask that they confirm the patient’s consent before sharing medical information with third parties.
  13. Consider what kind of messaging will be provided to patients who are seeking care when the office is closed.

 


DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

La réduction des risques : comment vos employés peuvent-ils y contribuer?

Publié initialement en mars 2015
P1501-2-F

Comme premier point de contact avec les patients, les membres du personnel d’un cabinet médical donnent le ton. Ces employés veillent à ce que le bureau fonctionne efficacement. Ils exécutent des tâches essentielles : entre autres, répondre aux appels, obtenir et saisir les renseignements personnels des patients, gérer le suivi des demandes de consultation et des résultats de laboratoire et donner suite aux demandes de certificats médicaux ou de rapports de tiers.

Les médecins ne sont peut-être pas conscients des conséquences médico-légales lorsqu’ils délèguent des tâches administratives aux employés afin d’avoir plus de temps pour se concentrer sur les soins.

Personnel expérimenté et formation

L’embauche de personnel expérimenté et faisant preuve de professionnalisme peut se révéler un atout dans la réduction des risques médico-légaux et des plaintes auprès des organismes de réglementation (Collèges). Il est aussi prudent d’investir du temps dans la formation des employés à l’égard des responsabilités, en mettant l’accent sur le besoin de préserver la confidentialité des renseignements personnels des patients, de respecter les obligations en matière de protection de la vie privée ainsi que de communiquer et de documenter de façon appropriée. D’ailleurs, les médecins devraient faire connaître, à leur personnel, les lignes directrices de leur Collège sur les pratiques sécuritaires et efficaces en cabinet médical.

L’expérience de l’ACPM

Les actions en justice mettant en cause la pratique en cabinet découlent souvent du manquement du médecin à mettre en œuvre un système efficace pour gérer le suivi des résultats d’examens. Les employés peuvent mal classer ou ne pas informer le médecin des résultats d’examens, ce qui entraîne un retard dans l’établissement d’un diagnostic et le traitement d’un patient. Ce genre d’actions en justice résulte souvent en un résultat défavorable pour le médecin. Les Collèges ainsi que les tribunaux s’attendent à ce que les médecins mettent en place des systèmes efficaces de traçage et de suivi des investigations des patients.

En plus de la gestion efficace des résultats d’examen, l’analyse des problèmes médico-légaux associés à l’administration des pratiques en cabinet a révélé des lacunes récurrentes dans les responsabilités suivantes : protection des renseignements personnels, confidentialité, délégation, documentation et sécurité du milieu de travail. Les exemples de cas suivants illustrent certains de ces thèmes.

Exemples de cas

Cas 1 : Protection des renseignements personnels

Une femme de 45 ans se présente à son rendez-vous pour un examen physique. Alors qu’elle attend son tour, elle remarque que la réceptionniste répète machinalement les noms des patients, les numéros de téléphone ainsi que la raison de leur visite lorsqu’elle confirme le rendez-vous au téléphone. Quand vient le moment du rendez-vous de la patiente, la réceptionniste annonce la raison de la visite devant d’autres patients présents dans la salle d’attente. Par la suite, la patiente dépose une plainte au Collège et l’omnipraticien reçoit une admonestation lui rappelant l’importance de protéger les renseignements personnels des patients ainsi que son obligation d’enseigner à son personnel de ne pas communiquer les renseignements personnels des patients de façon inappropriée.

Les médecins ont l’obligation légale de protéger la vie privée de leurs patients, ainsi que l’obligation déontologique et professionnelle de préserver la confidentialité des renseignements personnels de ceux-ci. Les médecins ne savent peut-être pas que l’obligation de protéger la vie privée s’étend également à leur personnel. Les fonctions importantes du personnel sont de vérifier les coordonnées des patients ainsi que d’autres renseignements démographiques et de fournir des informations appropriées aux patients. La prudence s’impose pour éviter de communiquer, par inadvertance, des renseignements personnels sur la santé des patients en exécutant ces fonctions. Les médecins et leurs employés doivent garder à l’esprit que les patients dans la salle d’attente pourraient entendre les conversations téléphoniques du personnel. Il pourrait s’avérer nécessaire d’organiser l’espace physique du bureau pour protéger la vie privée et la confidentialité, en particulier si les membres du personnel répètent les informations dites au téléphone par un patient dans le but de les confirmer.

Dans l’orientation des nouveaux employés, les médecins doivent saisir l’occasion de passer en revue les politiques du cabinet et de mettre l’accent sur le rôle de chacun pour préserver la confidentialité des patients et protéger les dossiers médicaux. Les médecins devraient aussi se familiariser avec la loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels de leur province ou territoire. Le médecin doit rappeler à ses employés qu’ils doivent obtenir le consentement du patient avant de communiquer des renseignements personnels sur la santé à la famille ou à un tiers. De plus, les médecins doivent former leur personnel à ne pas communiquer ces renseignements, en particulier à l’extérieur du cabinet. Le fait de demander aux membres du personnel de signer une entente de confidentialité met l’accent sur l’importance de ces enjeux.

Cas 2 : Communication

Une femme de 44 ans confirme son rendez-vous, auprès de la réceptionniste, pour une vaccination antigrippale. Quand elle se présente le lendemain, on lui dit qu’il n’y plus de vaccin. La patiente répond à la réceptionniste qu’on lui avait dit que le vaccin était disponible. La réceptionniste confirme qu’elles ont eu cette conversation, mais précise que les vaccins n’ont pas été livrés. La patiente dépose une plainte au Collège à l’effet que son rendez-vous aurait dû être reporté puisqu’elle prenait une demi-journée de congé pour cette consultation. Le Collège a rappelé au médecin que son personnel doit fournir les renseignements pertinents aux patients.

Les problèmes de communication sont souvent en cause lorsque les patients déposent des plaintes aux Collèges. En plus des problèmes associés au style de communication du médecin, les patients peuvent aussi souligner que celui-ci a été impoli, insensible ou inaccessible. Les Collèges rappellent fréquemment aux médecins qu’ils sont responsables de veiller à ce que leur personnel fournisse en temps opportun des conseils précis et à jour aux patients. Les employés doivent aussi envisager les circonstances uniques de chaque patient et en tenir compte en communiquant avec eux : p. ex., l’âge, le sexe, l’origine ethnique, l’orientation sexuelle, les croyances religieuses et le statut socioéconomique. Des patients insatisfaits peuvent aussi déposer des plaintes auprès de la Commission des droits de la personne. Le fait d’avoir documenté le conseil fourni par les employés peut grandement aider le médecin à formuler une réponse à ces plaintes.

Il importe que les employés connaissent leur rôle en ce qui a trait aux soins des patients ainsi que la quantité et le genre d’information qu’ils peuvent leur donner, et quand il est nécessaire de transmettre cette information au médecin.

 

Aspects à considérer en matière de gestion des risques dans la pratique en cabinet :

  1. Créer un manuel des politiques et des procédures du cabinet pouvant servir à l’orientation du nouveau personnel.
  2. Avoir une politique écrite en matière de protection des renseignements personnels qui est fondée sur la loi pertinente de la province ou du territoire et former le personnel face à ces exigences.
  3. Demander à tout le personnel de signer l’entente de confidentialité.
  4. Veiller à ce que l’environnement du cabinet permette au personnel de garder le caractère privé et confidentiel des renseignements personnels des patients.
  5. Former le personnel à communiquer avec les patients de façon respectueuse et professionnelle tout en étant réceptifs aux besoins de chaque personne (p. ex., tenir compte de l’âge, du sexe, de l’orientation sexuelle, de l’origine ethnique, des croyances religieuses et du statut socioéconomique).
  6. Informer les membres du personnel que le rôle du professionnel de la santé est de déterminer le conseil approprié à fournir aux patients.
  7. Expliquer, au personnel, les types de communication avec les patients qui doivent être documentés dans le dossier médical. Faire connaître les normes du cabinet pour la gestion et la documentation des appels téléphoniques et des messages vocaux, en provenance ou à destination des patients, concernant les renouvellements d’ordonnances, ainsi que les rendez-vous manqués.
  8. Fournir au personnel des paramètres clairs en ce qui a trait aux appels téléphoniques de patients ou de tiers pour lesquels le médecin doit être avisé.
  9. Établir une politique sur la façon de faire le suivi auprès des patients.
  10. Former le personnel quant à leur rôle dans la gestion des résultats d’examens de patients et des demandes de consultation.
  11. Donner des instructions au personnel sur les conseils qu’il peut fournir aux patients quand les médecins sont absents.
  12. Former les membres du personnel sur les principes du consentement et demander qu’ils confirment le consentement du patient avant de communiquer des renseignements médicaux à un tiers.
  13. Envisager le genre de message à fournir aux patients requérant des soins alors que le cabinet est fermé.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.