Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

How “systems thinking” can lead to safe care

Originally published May 2015
P1502-2-E

The traditional response to a patient safety incident was to identify and blame the providers who had the last contact with the patient, which then led to calls for greater vigilance, better training, and sometimes professional sanctions or dismissals. Systems theory, on the other hand, looks at the system, rather than the individual, to identify problems and prevent future adverse outcomes. This stems from the understanding that preventing patient safety incidents often depends on the environment in which patient care is delivered, as well as the interactions between healthcare providers and patients.

There are many ways to analyze incidents at the system level, including use of retrospective and prospective methods. A culture of safety in which reporting patient safety incidents is encouraged, where analysis of incidents to identify causes is standard, and where healthcare providers are not punished for participating in quality improvement reviews is essential for addressing systemic flaws in healthcare systems.1

The following case example illustrates how the prevention of maternal and fetal harm requires a strategic approach. Such an approach would be comprehensive and involve labour and delivery teams in multiple birthing units and hospital leadership. At the system level, health quality councils, regulatory and accrediting authorities, liability providers, maternal/fetal health collaboratives, and medical education accrediting bodies would also contribute, within their respective areas of responsibility, to improved outcomes.

Case example: System failures result in compromised birth, legal action

A 26-year-old woman with a second pregnancy (G2P1) and who had had a previous Caesarean section is admitted after spontaneous rupture of her membranes at term. Her initial examination reveals a cervix at 2 cm dilation. She elects to undergo a vaginal birth. Over the next 6 hours her contractions decrease in regularity with no further progression of her cervical dilation. The bedside nurse calls the obstetrician who asks her to “start the oxytocin protocol.” The hospital has 2 oxytocin protocols: a low-dose protocol for augmentation of labour, and a high-dose protocol for induction of labour. The nurse and obstetrician do not discuss which protocol to use. The bedside nurse institutes the induction protocol. The obstetrician intended to use the augmentation protocol.

Over the ensuing 3 hours, the nurse regularly increases the infusion rate of the oxytocin. When she reaches the hospital protocol’s maximal oxytocin dose, the nurse elects to continue to increase the dose because she wants to get the contractions as close to every 2 minutes as possible [the latitude is not well outlined in the protocol].

The external fetal monitoring (EFM) strip records the fetal heart rate increasing from a baseline of 130-140 bpm to 160-170 bpm with the appearance of deep variable decelerations from which the fetus recovers spontaneously. The patient later develops a low grade fever and the nurse calls the obstetrician to assess the patient but does not mention the change in the EFM strip. The obstetrician looks at the EFM strip but does not ask about the rate of oxytocin infusion and does not examine the patient. The physician orders antibiotics for the possibility of chorioamnionitis.

Thirty minutes later, the EFM shows a prolonged deep late deceleration which does not recover. An urgent examination reveals palpable fetal parts through the maternal abdominal skin. A uterine rupture is diagnosed and a Caesarean section confirms the diagnosis. The infant is left with significant developmental delay and physical disability requiring lifelong care .

A legal action is commenced. Nursing experts are critical of the nurse’s failure to respect the oxytocin protocol and exceeding the maximal allowable dose, and for failing to identify the significance of the change in EFM tracing after the start of the infusion. Medical experts are critical of the physician’s unclear communication with the nurse, failure to follow up on the effect of the oxytocin, failure to review the dose and rate of infusion, and not examining the patient’s abdomen when she reassessed the patient for fever. Without expert support, a settlement is paid by the CMPA, on behalf of the member physician, and by the hospital on behalf of the nurse.

Defining safety culture

A safety culture is one that demonstrates an organization-wide commitment to providing the safest possible care. A safety culture recognizes that, while mistakes do happen and outcomes are not always ideal, all healthcare providers share a common goal of providing quality care, and work collaboratively and share knowledge to achieve that goal. Individuals are encouraged to critically assess everyday situations for potential increased risk of harm to patients. Physicians and other providers learn from patient safety incidents when they do occur, and these are analyzed to prevent similar events in the future.

While the focus for quality improvement is on systems, individual physicians and other healthcare providers have responsibilities within the system and are accountable to comply with policies and procedures; practise only if healthy to do so; maintain knowledge and skills; participate in quality improvement activities; and learn from quality improvement reviews and patient safety incident analyses.

Reducing variations in care

An important aspect of healthcare system quality and safety is reducing inappropriate variations in care. Such variations can be reduced using a variety of approaches including clinical practice guidelines and checklists. As well, physicians should be aware of and follow their institution’s safety policies, such as those concerning patient handovers or hand hygiene. Hospitals may also implement care bundles to minimize variation, such as bundled interventions to prevent sepsis or central line infections, and physicians should be familiar with these, when applicable.

Physicians may, on occasion, regard such tools as being too prescriptive or lacking validation (e.g. absence of placebo-controlled double-blind trials). Some physicians may feel that checklists and policies could stifle their autonomy and judgment. To counter such perceptions, physicians and other members of the healthcare team should participate in the development of such protocols and tailor them to their specific patient population or workflow processes. Care team members should understand the intervention is intended to develop and instill safe behaviours in the workplace.

Sometimes a physician may need to override a protocol or guideline, though this should be considered only after careful assessment of the clinical circumstances. In certain circumstances, consulting with a colleague may validate the decision-making process. It is important to discuss reasonable treatment options with the patient, and to document the rationale for any deviation and the patient’s decision.

A multi-faceted approach for prevention of avoidable harm

Preventing avoidable harm requires a multi-faceted approach that addresses the systemic issues and the care delivered by individual healthcare providers.

At the provider level, clear, sufficient, and timely communication between all members of the healthcare team including patients and families is critical to healthcare safety. Varying styles of communication, different personalities, and hierarchies are some of the factors affecting communications among physicians and other healthcare providers.

Team-based training, similar to crew resource management in the aviation industry, encourages situational awareness, shared mental models for communication (whereby care team members share their perceptions of a situation), and speaking up. Tools such as handover mnemonics, the two-challenge rule,2 and techniques such as CHAT (Context, History, Assessment, Tentative plan) and CUS (Concerned, Uncomfortable, Scared) can also help improve communication and safety.

Simulations enable physicians and other healthcare providers to develop and refine their skills without compromising the safety of patients, and permit providers to gain experience with checklists and other tools that impact quality of care. Repetitive simulations with the entire team create a safe environment to learn and practise, and simulation debriefings encourage open dialogue across the team.

The bottom line

The prevention of avoidable harm requires a multi-faceted approach that involves systems thinking. Such an approach includes contributing to a just culture in which patient safety incidents are reported and analyzed to avoid recurrence, and collaboration among care providers to critically assess everyday situations for potential risk. The best possible outcomes for patients may be achieved when all care providers share a collective responsibility to deliver safe medical care.

 
 

References

  1. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, “Patient Safety Primer: Systems Approach,” 2012. Accessed on January 27, 2015 from: http://psnet.ahrq.gov/primer.aspx?primerID=21
  2. Two-challenge rule: A rubric for challenging others using a conversational technique that is assertive and collaborative, and which may improve the frequency and effectiveness with which healthcare providers “speak up” to others, including superiors.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Comment la « pensée systémique » peut contribuer à des soins sécuritaires

Publié initialement en mai 2015
P1502-2-F

Traditionnellement, la réponse à un incident lié à la sécurité d’un patient consistait à identifier et à blâmer les derniers professionnels ayant été en contact avec le patient, ce qui conduisait ensuite à des appels à une plus grande vigilance, à de meilleurs programmes de formation et parfois à des sanctions professionnelles, voire à des renvois. En revanche, la théorie des systèmes se tourne vers le système en soi, plutôt que la personne, pour cerner les problèmes et prévenir les résultats défavorables futurs. Cela reflète le principe que la prévention des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients est souvent fonction de l’environnement dans lequel les soins sont prodigués, ainsi que des interactions entre les professionnels de la santé et les patients.

Il existe plusieurs façons d’analyser les incidents au niveau systémique, dont le recours à des méthodes rétrospectives et prospectives. Une culture de sécurité où la déclaration d’incidents liés à la sécurité des patients est encouragée, où l’analyse des circonstances pour déterminer les causes est systématique, et où les professionnels de la santé ne sont pas punis pour avoir participé aux évaluations en matière d’amélioration de la qualité, est essentielle pour aborder les failles dans les systèmes de santé.1

L’exemple de cas qui suit démontre la nécessité d’une approche stratégique pour prévenir les préjudices chez la mère et le fœtus. Une telle approche doit être globale et inclure les équipes des salles de travail et d’accouchement de multiples unités d’obstétrique, ainsi que les dirigeants d’hôpitaux. Au niveau systémique, les conseils de la qualité des services de santé, les organismes de réglementation et d’agrément, les fournisseurs en matière de responsabilité, les consortiums de santé maternelle et fœtale, et les organismes d’agrément de l’enseignement médical contribueraient eux aussi, dans leurs secteurs de responsabilité respectifs, à l’amélioration des résultats.

Exemple de cas : des défaillances systémiques

Une femme de 26 ans qui en est à sa deuxième grossesse (G2P1), et ayant déjà eu une césarienne, est admise à terme après la rupture spontanée de ses membranes. L’examen initial révèle une dilatation du col de 2 cm. Elle opte pour un accouchement vaginal. Au cours des six heures qui suivent, la régularité des contractions diminue, sans progression de la dilatation du col. L’infirmière de chevet téléphone à l’obstétricienne qui lui demande « d’amorcer le protocole d’administration d’ocytocine ». L’hôpital a deux protocoles d’administration d’ocytocine : un protocole à faible dose pour accélérer le travail et un protocole à doses plus élevées pour le déclencher. L’infirmière et l’obstétricienne ne discutent pas du protocole à utiliser. De son propre chef, l’infirmière amorce le protocole pour déclencher le travail, alors que l’obstétricienne prévoyait utiliser celui pour l’accélérer.

Au cours des trois heures qui suivent, l’infirmière augmente régulièrement le débit de perfusion de l’ocytocine. Lorsqu’elle atteint la dose maximale d’ocytocine autorisée par le protocole de l’hôpital, elle décide de continuer à augmenter la dose, car elle souhaite que les contractions se rapprochent le plus possible à des intervalles de 2 minutes (la latitude n’est pas définie clairement dans le protocole).

Le tracé du moniteur fœtal électronique (MFÉ enregistre une augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque fœtale de base de130-140 bpm à 160-170 bpm avec d’importantes décélérations variables, desquelles le fœtus se rétablit spontanément. Plus tard, lorsque la patiente présente une légère fièvre, l’infirmière téléphone à l’obstétricienne pour qu’elle vienne évaluer la patiente, sans faire mention du changement observé sur le tracé du MFÉ. L’obstétricienne consulte le tracé du MFÉ mais ne s’informe pas du débit de perfusion d’ocytocine et n’examine pas la patiente. Elle prescrit des antibiotiques pour une chorioamnionite possible.

Trente minutes plus tard, le tracé du MFÉ révèle une décélération tardive importante et prolongée qui ne se rétablit pas. Un examen effectué d’urgence révèle des parties fœtales palpables à travers la peau de l’abdomen de la mère. Une rupture utérine est diagnostiquée, ce qu’une césarienne vient confirmer. Le nouveau-né conserve un important retard de développement et un handicap physique qui exigent des soins à vie.

Une action en justice est intentée. Les experts en soins infirmiers critiquent l’infirmière pour le non respect du protocole d’utilisation d’ocytocine et le dépassement de la dose maximale permise, ainsi que pour ne pas avoir reconnu l’importance du changement sur le tracé du MFÉ après le début de la perfusion. Les médecins experts critiquent la communication ambigüe du médecin avec l’infirmière, le manque de suivi quant à l’effet de l’ocytocine, l’absence de vérification de la dose et du débit de perfusion, et le fait que l’obstétricienne n’a pas examiné l’abdomen de la patiente lorsqu’elle l’a réévaluée en raison de sa fièvre. En l’absence de l’appui des experts, l’ACPM et l’hôpital ont conclu le dossier en réglant avec les demandeurs, par une transaction partagée au nom du médecin membre et de l’infirmière.

Définition d’une culture de sécurité

Une culture de sécurité démontre un engagement, à l’échelle d’un organisme, envers la prestation des soins les plus sécuritaires possibles. Une culture de sécurité reconnaît que, en dépit du fait que des erreurs puissent se produire et que les résultats ne soient pas toujours optimaux, tous les professionnels de la santé partagent le but commun de prodiguer des soins de qualité et, pour y parvenir, travaillent en collaboration et font part de leurs connaissances. Chacun est encouragé à évaluer d’un œil critique les situations quotidiennes pour déceler la possibilité d’un risque accru de préjudice chez les patients. Les médecins et les autres professionnels tirent des leçons des incidents liés à la sécurité des patients lorsqu’ils se produisent et ces incidents sont analysés afin de prévenir la survenue d’événements semblables à l’avenir.

Si les systèmes constituent le point de mire de l’amélioration de la qualité, les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé ont des responsabilités individuelles au sein du système et sont responsables de se conformer aux politiques et aux procédures, d’exercer la médecine seulement si leur état de santé le permet, d’actualiser leurs connaissances théoriques et pratiques, de participer à des activités d’amélioration de la qualité, et de tirer des leçons des évaluations en matière d’amélioration de la qualité et des analyses d’incidents liés à la sécurité des patients.

Réduire les variations dans les soins

La réduction des variations inappropriées dans les soins constitue un élément important de la qualité et de la sécurité du système de santé. De nombreuses approches permettent de réduire de telles variations, notamment les lignes directrices en matière de pratique clinique et les listes de vérification. En outre, les médecins doivent connaître et respecter les politiques de sécurité de leur établissement, telles que celles qui traitent du transfert des soins ou de l’hygiène des mains. Les hôpitaux peuvent aussi mettre en œuvre des « forfaits » de soins en vue de minimiser les variations, telles que des interventions combinées pour prévenir la septicémie ou les infections du cathéter central, que les médecins doivent connaître, le cas échéant.

Il peut arriver qu’un médecin considère de tels outils comme étant trop contraignants ou non validés (p. ex., en raison de l’absence d’études contrôlées contre placebo en double aveugle). Certains médecins peuvent estimer que les listes de vérification et les politiques risquent d’entraver leur autonomie et leur jugement. Pour contrer de telles perceptions, les médecins et les autres membres de l’équipe soignante devraient participer à l’élaboration de protocoles et les adapter à leur population de patients ou à leurs processus de flux de travail précis. Les membres de l’équipe soignante doivent comprendre que l’intervention a pour but d’inculquer et de faire adopter des comportements sécuritaires dans le milieu de travail.

Il se peut qu’un médecin doive parfois déroger à un protocole ou à une ligne directrice, quoique cela ne doive être envisagé qu’après une évaluation minutieuse des circonstances cliniques. Dans certaines situations, la consultation auprès d’un collègue peut valider le processus décisionnel. Il est important de discuter des options thérapeutiques raisonnables avec le patient et de documenter la raison justifiant toute déviation, ainsi que la décision du patient.

Une approche pluridimensionnelle

La prévention des préjudices évitables nécessite une approche pluridimensionnelle qui prend en compte les enjeux systémiques et les soins prodigués par les différents professionnels de la santé.

Au niveau des professionnels, une communication claire, suffisante et en temps opportun entre tous les membres de l’équipe soignante (y compris les patients et les familles) est essentielle pour assurer la sécurité des soins. Les divers styles de communication, les personnalités et les hiérarchies sont quelques-uns des facteurs qui influent sur la communication entre les médecins et les autres professionnels de la santé.

La formation en équipe, semblable à la gestion des ressources de l’équipage dans l’industrie de l’aviation, encourage la conscience situationnelle, les modèles mentaux partagés pour communiquer (où les membres de l’équipe soignante font part de leurs perceptions d’une situation) et la prise de parole. Des outils tels les techniques mnémoniques liées aux transferts des soins, la règle des deux défis,2 et les techniques telles que CHAT (Contexte, Histoire, Analyse, Plan temporaire) et CUS [« Je suis préoccupé » (Concerned); « Je suis mal à l’aise » (Uncomfortable) ou « Cela n’est pas sécuritaire » (Unsafe); « C’est une question de sécurité » ou « J’ai peur » (Scared)], peuvent aussi contribuer à améliorer la communication et la sécurité.

Les simulations permettent aux médecins et aux autres professionnels de la santé d’acquérir et de parfaire des compétences sans compromettre la sécurité des patients, puis d’acquérir de l’expérience avec des listes de vérification et d’autres outils qui influent sur la qualité des soins. Les simulations répétitives effectuées par l’ensemble de l’équipe créent un environnement d’apprentissage et de pratique sécuritaire, et les retours sur la simulation encouragent un dialogue ouvert entre tous les membres de l’équipe.

En bref

La prévention de préjudices évitables exige une approche pluridimensionnelle qui fait appel à la pensée systémique. Une telle approche implique une contribution à une culture juste où les incidents liés à la sécurité des patients sont déclarés et analysés pour éviter les récurrences, ainsi qu’une collaboration entre les professionnels de la santé afin d’évaluer d’un œil critique les situations quotidiennes pour déceler les risques éventuels. Les meilleurs résultats possibles pour les patients peuvent être obtenus lorsque tous les professionnels de la santé partagent une responsabilité collective de prodiguer des soins médicaux sécuritaires.

 
 

Références

  1. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, « Patient Safety Primer: Systems Approach », 2012. Consulté en ligne le 13 mars 2015 sur le site : http://psnet.ahrq.gov/primer.aspx?primerID=21
  2. La règle des deux défis : Un moyen d’attirer l’attention d’autrui à l’aide d’une technique de conversation assertive et collaborative qui peut rehausser la fréquence et l’efficacité des cas où les professionnels de la santé « parlent franchement » aux autres, y compris à leurs superviseurs.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.