Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Immigrant health issues: What physicians should know and do

Originally published December 2015
W15-006-E

Canada is home to an increasing number of immigrants. While immigrants are very diverse group, physicians should be attentive to certain unique issues when delivering care to these individuals, including those going through the immigration process.

Immigrant health screening

In general, studies have found the health of immigrants tends to be better than that of the overall population. This is largely due to certain sociocultural aspects of diet and health behaviour, and because immigrants must pass a variety of screening and criteria during the immigration process. However, the health of immigrants generally tends to worsen over time to match that of the general population.1

Canadian immigration legislation requires that all permanent residents, including refugee claimants, undergo an immigration medical examination. This screening assesses the potential burden of illness and a limited number of health risks. It is generally not designed to provide clinical prevention that is routine in primary care. While the assessment has been shown to be generally effective in identifying people with active infectious disease, it is not designed to exclude the possibility of the individual immigrating to Canada before receiving treatment. Physicians should be vigilant in looking for infections or diseases among newcomers from high prevalence countries.2 As with all patients, doctors should comply with legislative and medical regulatory authority (College) requirements regarding communicable and reportable diseases.

Health coverage on arrival

Most newcomers to any Canadian province or territory, including immigrants from other countries, are required to wait a few months before publicly-funded healthcare coverage begins. During this waiting period, it would generally be reasonable for physicians to deliver emergency care to newcomers who present with a life-threatening condition. Physicians should be familiar with the rules relating to publicly-funded healthcare services in their jurisdiction, including temporary health insurance for some immigrants.

Immigrant health issues

Immigration generally includes a series of transitions: changes in personal ties and the reconstruction of social networks, the move from one socio-economic system to another, and a change from one cultural system to another. For immigrants each transition may be filled with disruption, uncertainty, risk, and potentially unmet expectations.3 Physicians should take these transitions into consideration when meeting immigrant patients and when planning and providing care.

The health of immigrants is a product of environmental, economic, genetic, and socio-cultural factors related to when they immigrated to Canada, where and how they lived previously, and how and why they immigrated. Post-immigration factors such as place of residence, employment, education, income, and access to healthcare can also influence the health of immigrants.4 Certain migrant populations experience a higher risk of infectious diseases, cancer, diabetes, and heart disease, and this has clinical implications. Physicians should obtain appropriate health histories from immigrant patients to help determine their health risks and the appropriate next steps in patient care.5 Appreciation of the many pre- and post-immigration factors may help to reduce delays in diagnosis and lead to culturally appropriate health services.6

Mental health issues among immigrants and refugees

The prevalence of specific types of mental health problems among immigrants is often influenced by the nature of the immigration experience, particularly any adversity encountered before, during, or after immigration.7 Immigrants are less likely than the general Canadian population to seek out or be referred to mental health services, even when they experience similar levels of distress.8 Refugees in particular are at higher risk than the general population for a variety of psychiatric disorders, and this is often related to their exposure to war, violence, torture, forced migration, or exile.9

Specific challenges in immigrant mental health include communication difficulties, particularly due to language and cultural differences; the effect of culture on coping and treatment; and diverse family structures affecting adaptation, acculturation, and intergenerational conflict. Integration challenges affecting employment and social status in particular may also impact the mental health of immigrants. Physicians can address some of these challenges, at least in part, by asking the patient about their social and cultural background, using interpreters or culture brokers, meeting the family, and consulting with community organizations that may be able to provide assistance.10 Some community health centres, for example, offer support groups, drop-in clinics, language classes, and settlement counselling for immigrants.

Preventive care for immigrants

To assess immigrants for clinical preventive care, it is important to determine the patient’s age, sex, country of origin, and migration history. The Canadian Collaboration for Immigrant and Refugee Health (CCIRH) has produced clinical guidelines for immigrants and refugees11 which may be a source of information. The guidelines focus on:

  • infectious diseases — because many immigrants are susceptible to vaccine-preventable diseases upon arrival to Canada
  • mental health and physical and emotional maltreatment
  • chronic and non-communicable diseases — because early treatment and lifestyle interventions can be effective for disease management
  • women’s health

Respecting culture

Physicians know the importance of understanding patients’ beliefs, behaviours, and values, and delivering care in a culturally competent and culturally safe manner.

Some immigrants will choose to not access healthcare services because of language barriers. Doctors may seek out a trusted translator or a medical interpreter to assist with language impediments. All discussions with patients and translators should be documented in the medical record. This includes consent discussions together with questions asked by patients and the answers given, patients’ apparent understanding, and any handout materials provided to the patient.

A patient’s culture can also affect their interpretation of symptoms, coping skills, and overall approach to health. Moreover, culture may impact a patient’s level of engagement in care planning, their choice of treatment, and adherence to treatment. Physicians should seek to involve patients in their healthcare as much as possible, but they must also be mindful of the impact of culture. By missing clues or misunderstanding a patient’s cultural viewpoint, it is possible for physicians to unintentionally offend, or place the diagnosis, adherence to treatment, and health outcomes at risk.

Points to keep in mind

Treating immigrants to Canada can pose a unique set of challenges for physicians. The risk factors for poor health in this population are numerous, however CCIRH guidelines may be a useful source of information.

When caring for immigrants and refugees, physicians should:

  • Be vigilant in looking for infections or diseases among newcomers from high prevalence countries.
  • Keep in mind immigrants’ life experiences and transitions when planning and providing care.
  • Obtain appropriate health histories from immigrant patients to help determine their health risks and suitable next steps in patient care.
  • Be mindful of language and cultural differences which may impact patients’ coping and their engagement in the healthcare system.
  • Identify and share community health supports that may assist immigrants and refugees.

Members with specific questions can contact the CMPA for advice.

 


 

References

  1. Kirmayer, L.J., Narasiah, L., Munoz, M., Rashid, M., Ryder, A.G., Guzder, J., Hassan, G., Rousseau, C., Pottie, K., “Common mental health problems in immigrants and refugees: general approach in primary care,” Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011) Vol. 183 No.12, p.E959-E967
  2. Elwood, K., "Immigration medicals: What’s the point?" BC Medical Journal (2009) Vol. 51, No.8, p.341
  3. Kirmayer, L.J., Narasiah, L., Munoz, M., Rashid, M., Ryder, A.G., Guzder, J., Hassan, G., Rousseau, C., Pottie, K., "Common mental health problems in immigrants and refugees: general approach in primary care," Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011) Vol. 183 No.12. p.E959-E967
  4. Gushulak, B.D., Pottie, K., Hatcher Roberts, J., Torres, S., DesMeules, M., "Migration and health in Canada: health in the global village," Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011), Vol. 183 No.12, p.E952
  5. Ibid
  6. Ibid
  7. Kirmayer, L.J., Narasiah, L., Munoz, M., Rashid, M., Ryder, A.G., Guzder, J., Hassan, G., Rousseau, C., Pottie, K., "Common mental health problems in immigrants and refugees: general approach in primary care," Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011) Vol. 183 No.12, p.E959-E967
  8. Ibid
  9. Ibid
  10. Ibid
  11. Pottie, K., Greenaway, C., Feightner, J., Welch, V., Swinkels, H., Rashid, M., Narasiah, L., Kirmayer, L.J., Ueffing, E., MacDonald, N.E., Hassan, G., McNally, M., Kahn, K., Buhrmann, R., Dunn, S., Dominic, A., McCarthy, A.E., Gagnon, A.J., Rousseau, C., Tugwell, P., "Evidence-based clinical guidelines for immigrants and refugees," Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011) Vol. 183 No.12, p.E824

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La santé des immigrants : Ce que les médecins doivent savoir et faire

Publié initialement en décembre 2015
W15-006-F

Le Canada abrite un nombre sans cesse croissant d'immigrants. Ces derniers constituant un groupe très diversifié, les médecins qui leur prodiguent des soins doivent être attentifs à certaines questions qui leur sont uniques. Cela est aussi valable pour les personnes qui sont en train de suivre le processus d’immigration.

Évaluation de la santé des immigrants

Des études ont montré que les immigrants ont tendance à être en meilleure santé que la population globale. Ce phénomène est, en grande partie, attribuable à certains aspects socioculturels de leurs comportements en matière de santé et d'alimentation, mais aussi aux nombreux examens et critères de sélection qu'ils doivent satisfaire tout le long du processus d’immigration. Cependant, l’état de santé des immigrants tend généralement à se détériorer avec le temps pour enfin correspondre à celui du reste de la population.1

La législation canadienne en matière d'immigration exige que tous les résidents permanents, y compris les demandeurs du statut de réfugié, subissent des examens médicaux aux fins de l'immigration. Ce contrôle permet d'évaluer le possible fardeau des maladies ainsi qu’un nombre limité de risques pour la santé. Il n'est généralement pas conçu pour assurer la prévention clinique comme c'est le cas en soins primaires. Bien qu’il ait, d’une façon générale, prouvé son efficacité quant au dépistage de maladies infectieuses actives chez des immigrants, ce contrôle n'est pas conçu pour parer à l’éventualité qu’un individu malade immigre au Canada avant de se faire soigner. Pour cette raison, les médecins doivent faire preuve d’attention lors du dépistage d'infections ou de maladies chez les nouveaux arrivants en provenance de pays à forte prévalence.2 Comme c'est le cas pour tous les patients, les médecins doivent respecter les exigences législatives ainsi que les normes établies par les organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) concernant les maladies transmissibles à déclaration obligatoire.

Assurance-maladie à l'arrivée

La plupart des nouveaux arrivants au Canada, y compris les immigrants en provenance d’autres pays, font l'objet d'un délai de carence de quelques mois avant de pouvoir bénéficier du régime public d'assurance-maladie. En général, il serait raisonnable que les médecins prodiguent des soins d'urgence aux nouveaux arrivants qui se présentent avec une maladie potentiellement mortelle durant cette période d'attente. Les médecins doivent également prendre connaissance des règles concernant le régime public d'assurance-maladie dans leur province ou territoire, y compris concernant l’assurance-maladie temporaire que peuvent avoir certains immigrants.

Questions relatives à la santé des immigrants

L'immigration nécessite en général un certain nombre de transitions : les changements dans les liens personnels et la reconstitution des réseaux sociaux, le fait de passer d'un système socio-économique à un autre, mais aussi le passage à un système culturel différent. Pour les immigrants, chaque transition peut être parsemée de perturbations, d'incertitude, de risques ainsi que d'attentes non satisfaites.3 Par conséquent, les médecins devraient prendre ces transitions en compte, notamment lorsqu’ils rencontrent des patients immigrants, mais également lors de la planification et de la prestation des soins.

La santé des immigrants est le produit de facteurs aussi bien environnementaux, économiques, génétiques que socio-culturels liés au moment où ils ont immigré vers le Canada, là où ils habitaient avant d'immigrer, leurs habitudes de vie, ainsi que la manière et les raisons de leur immigration. Les facteurs post-immigration comme le lieu de résidence, l'emploi, la formation, le revenu et l'accès aux soins de santé peuvent également influer sur la santé des immigrants.4 Chez certaines populations migrantes, le risque de contracter des maladies infectieuses, le cancer, le diabète et les maladies cardiovasculaires est plus élevé, et cela a des implications cliniques. Les médecins se devraient donc d'obtenir une anamnèse détaillée des patients immigrants afin de déterminer s'il y a des risques pour leur santé, mais également d’établir les prochaines étapes en matière de soins.5 La prise en compte des différents facteurs pré et post-immigration pourrait aider à la réduction des retards de diagnostic et mener à des soins médicaux adaptés sur le plan culturel.6

Les questions de santé mentale chez les immigrants et les réfugiés

La prévalence de problèmes spécifiques de santé mentale chez les immigrants est souvent influencée par la nature de leur expérience d'immigration, notamment l’adversité à laquelle ils ont dû faire face avant, pendant et après leur immigration.7 Les immigrants sont moins susceptibles que le reste de la population canadienne d'aller d'eux-mêmes ou d'être dirigés vers les services de santé mentale, même lorsqu'ils éprouvent les mêmes degrés de détresse.8 Les réfugiés, en particulier, sont plus à risque de présenter divers troubles psychiatriques que le reste de la population compte tenu de leur exposition à la guerre, la violence, la torture, la migration forcée ou l'exil.9

Parmi les défis majeurs en matière de santé mentale des immigrants figurent les difficultés de communication, qui sont dues principalement aux différences de langues et de culture, l'influence de la culture dans la façon de gérer et de traiter la maladie mentale, ainsi que les structures familiales diverses qui influent sur l'adaptation et l'acculturation, et peuvent aussi entraîner des conflits intergénérationnels. Les défis d'intégration ayant trait à l'emploi et au statut social, en particulier, peuvent également avoir un impact sur la santé mentale des immigrants. Les médecins peuvent aborder certains de ces défis, au moins en partie, en posant des questions sur les origines socioculturelles des patients, en ayant recours à des interprètes ou médiateurs culturels, en rencontrant leur famille et en consultant des organismes communautaires susceptibles d'apporter leur assistance.10 Certains centres de santé communautaires offrent, par exemple, des groupes de soutien, des cliniques sans rendez-vous, des cours de langue, ainsi que des services de counselling visant à faciliter l’établissement des immigrants.

Soins préventifs pour les immigrants

Pour évaluer les immigrants aux fins de soins préventifs, il est important de déterminer leur âge, leur sexe, leur pays d’origine et leur histoire migratoire. La Collaboration canadienne pour la santé des immigrants et des réfugiés (CCSIR) a publié des directives cliniques sur les immigrants et les réfugiés11 qui pourraient être une source utile d’informations. Ces directives sont centrées sur :

  • les maladies infectieuses, car beaucoup d’immigrants sont vulnérables à leur arrivée au Canada aux maladies pouvant être prévenues par la vaccination.
  • la santé physique et mentale ainsi que la violence psychologique
  • les maladies chroniques et non transmissibles, parce que le traitement précoce et des interventions sur le mode de vie peuvent être efficaces dans la prise en charge des maladies.
  • la santé des femmes

Respect de la culture du patient

Les médecins savent qu’il est important de comprendre les croyances de leurs patients de même que leurs comportements et leurs valeurs pour prodiguer des soins culturellement adaptés et sécuritaires.

Certains immigrants peuvent choisir de ne pas accéder aux soins de santé en raison de barrières linguistiques. Les médecins peuvent recourir aux services d’un traducteur ou d’un interprète médical qualifié pour faciliter la communication. Dans tous les cas, toutes les discussions avec les patients doivent être consignées dans leur dossier médical. Cela inclut les discussions sur le consentement, les questions posées par les patients et les réponses données, les signes qu’ils ont compris ou pas, ainsi que toute documentation qui leur est fournie.

La culture du patient peut également influer sur son interprétation des symptômes, sa capacité de résistance, mais aussi sa manière d’aborder les questions de santé en général. En outre, la culture peut influencer le niveau d’engagement du patient dans la planification de son traitement, son choix de traitement et son adhésion au traitement. Les médecins doivent s’efforcer de faire participer les patients à leur traitement autant que possible, mais ils doivent aussi être conscients de l’influence culturelle. Si le médecin ne fait pas attention à certains indices ou ne comprend pas le point de vue culturel du patient, il peut l’offenser sans le vouloir et risquer de mettre en péril non seulement son diagnostic, mais aussi l’adhésion du patient au traitement, ainsi que les résultats cliniques.

Points à retenir

Traiter des immigrants au Canada peut poser un certain nombre de défis particuliers aux médecins. Les facteurs de risque de mauvaise santé dans la population immigrante sont nombreux. Cependant, les directives de la CCSIR peuvent être d’une grande utilité. Les médecins devraient prendre en considération les suggestions suivantes lorsqu’ils prodiguent des soins aux immigrants et aux réfugiés :

  • Être attentifs lors du dépistage d'infections ou de maladies chez les nouveaux arrivants en provenance de pays à forte prévalence.
  • Tenir compte des expériences de vie des immigrants ainsi que de leurs expériences de transition lors de la planification et de la prestation des soins.
  • Obtenir des anamnèses suffisamment détaillées des patients immigrants pour déterminer s'il y a des risques pour leur santé, mais également pour établir les prochaines étapes en matière de soins.
  • Faire attention aux différences de langues et de cultures qui peuvent avoir un impact sur les habiletés d’adaptation des patients et sur leur engagement dans le système de santé.
  • Identifier les services de santé communautaire aptes à apporter leur aide aux immigrants et aux réfugiés et en informer les patients.

Les membres qui ont des questions spécifiques peuvent communiquer avec l’ACPM pour obtenir des conseils.

 


 

Références

  1. Kirmayer, L.J., Narasian, L., Munoz, M., Rashid, M., Ryder, A.G., Guzder, J., Hassan, G., Rousseau, C., Pottie, K., « Common mental health problems in immigrants and refugees: general approach in primary care », Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011), vol. 183, no 12, p. E959-E967
  2. Elwood, K., « Immigration medicals: What’s the point? » BC Medical Journal (2009) Vol. 51, no 8, p. 341
  3. Kirmayer, L.J., Narasian, L., Munoz, M., Rashid, M., Ryder, A.G., Guzder, J., Hassan, G., Rousseau, C., Pottie, K., « Common mental health problems in immigrants and refugees: general approach in primary care », Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011), vol. 183, no 12. p. E959-E967
  4. Gushulak, B.D., Pottie, K., Hatcher Roberts, J., Torres, S., DesMeules, M., « Migration and health in Canada: health in the global village », Canadian Medical Association Journal (2010), Vol. 183, no 12, p. E952
  5. Ibid
  6. Ibid
  7. Kirmayer, L.J., Narasian, L., Munoz, M., Rashid, M., Ryder, A.G., Guzder, J., Hassan, G., Rousseau, C., Pottie, K., « Common mental health problems in immigrants and refugees: general approach in primary care », Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011), vol. 183, no 12, p. E959-E967
  8. Ibid
  9. Ibid
  10. Ibid
  11. Pottie, K., Greenaway, C., Feightner, J., Welch, V., Swinkels, H., Rashid, M., Narasiah, L., Kirmayer, L.J., Ueffing, E., MacDonald, N.E., Hassan, G., McNally, M., Kahn, K., Buhrmann, R., Dunn, S., Dominic, A., McCarthy, A.E., Gagnon, A.J., Rousseua, C., Tugwell, P., « Evidence-based clinical guidelines for immigrants and refugees », Canadian Medical Association Journal (2011), Vol. 183, no 12, p. E824

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.