Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Invasive, non-surgical procedures: What are the risks?

Originally published December 2015
P1505-5-E

Physicians from diverse, non-surgical disciplines will often need to perform various invasive procedures for purposes of screening, diagnosis, and treatment. These procedures can be inherently risky, and procedural complications can occur and lead to significant adverse outcomes including death.

To identify areas of medical-legal risk and enable targeted interventions to enhance the delivery of safe medical care, the CMPA reviewed medical-legal cases involving members from non-surgical disciplines who performed invasive procedures — those crossing the skin barrier (e.g. biopsy, percutaneous contrast administration) or entering into a body cavity (e.g. endoscopy).

In 40% of the 757 CMPA cases that closed between 2010 and 2014 involving a specialist performing an invasive procedure, peer experts supported the care provided. The care in these cases was sufficiently documented in the medical record, including the patient’s informed consent and acknowledgement of the recognized risks of the procedure.

In the other 60% of cases, a clinical issue associated with the care contributed to the patient safety incident. In 10% of these cases, patients suffered major or catastrophic disability and 21% succumbed to their injuries. Most incidents occurred in a hospital setting, though almost one-quarter occurred in a physician’s office. Nearly all non-surgical disciplines were represented, with gastroenterologists, radiologists, and general internists being the most frequently involved. Weaknesses in the areas of performance, communication, and diagnosis were the main areas of peer expert criticism of the care delivered.

A closer look at performance issues

In a subset of 146 cases where the performance of an invasive procedure was criticized by experts, more than half resulted in an unfavourable medical-legal outcome for the physician (i.e. criticism/disciplinary action from the medical regulatory authority [College]/hospital, or a loss at trial/settlement in a legal action). In 27% of these cases patients were left with a major or catastrophic disability or died.

Table 1: Patient outcomes from invasive procedures (n=93)

Body systems

% of cases

Types of interventions

Patient outcomes

Lower gastrointestinal

39

  • colonoscopy
  • polypectomy
  • biopsy
  • coagulation by laser/argon plasma
  • 4 deaths
  • 2 major disabilities
  • 30 minor or temporary disabilities

Upper gastrointestinal and hepatic

24

  • endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (ERCP)
  • excision of polyp(s)
  • gastrostomy tube insertion
  • gastroscopy
  • ablation of liver nodule
  • 5 deaths
  • 17 minor or temporary disabilities

 

Cardiovascular

22

  • angiography and/or angioplasty
  • cardiac ablation
  • pericardiocentesis
  • diagnostic cardiac catheterization
  • vascular access (e.g. venous catheter)
  • 5 deaths
  • 2 major disabilities
  • 15 minor or temporary disabilities

Pulmonary

3

  • thoracentesis
  • intubation
  • 1 death
  • 2 major disabilities

Others

12

  • bone marrow aspiration
  • punch biopsy of the hand
  • fine needle aspiration breast biopsy
  • circumcision
  • 1 death
  • 10 minor disabilities
 

Peer experts were critical of the care provided in the following areas:

  • Deficient informed consent process
    • Incomplete or absent discussion of risks (general and patient-specific) and alternatives
    • Delegation of consent discussion to untrained personnel
    • Consent discussion not concordant with the actual procedure(s) performed (e.g. (e.g. polypectomy or biopsy performed during a screening colonoscopy)
  • Breakdown in communication with the patient or family following the patient safety incident
    • Failure to disclose the injury, or that the injury may have been due to the procedure
    • Failure to provide fulsome explanations regarding complications and ongoing care
    • Failure to notify the family of a deterioration in the patient’s condition
  • Deficient documentation
    • Insufficient or absent documentation of the informed consent discussion
    • Inadequate assessment and documentation of the patient’s comorbid conditions before the procedure (e.g. steroid use)
    • Inadequate documentation of the care provided during the procedure (technique, monitoring, instruments, device, patient condition)
    • Inadequate recognition and management of the complication and inadequate documentation of the care provided

Experts noted that providing patients with handouts or other materials may be helpful in reinforcing the consent discussion.

Case examples

The following cases illustrate two similar situations which resulted in two different legal outcomes.

Case 1: Duodenal perforation following cholecystectomy

Following a cholecystectomy, a patient is referred to a gastroenterologist for a transient increase in liver enzymes and recurrent episodes of biliary colic. The gastroenterologist’s differential diagnosis includes choledocholithiasis, and an endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography (ERCP) is arranged. During the procedure, the gastroenterologist is unsuccessful in cannulating the common bile duct despite performing a sphincterotomy. After the procedure, the patient complains of severe abdominal pain, and investigations reveal a duodenal perforation. The patient subsequently develops life-threatening complications, including necrotizing pancreatitis, requiring several surgeries and lengthy hospitalization.

A legal action ensues. Experts are of the opinion that the gastroenterologist should have included a sphincter of Oddi dysfunction in the differential diagnosis, and should have performed other non-invasive diagnostic tests before the ERCP, such as a magnetic resonance cholangiopancreatography (MRCP) to confirm the presence of stones. At trial, the judge rules in favour of the patient, finding that the gastroenterologist failed to obtain informed consent by not outlining the risks of ERCP and not advising the patient of the availability of less invasive alternatives that may have assisted in arriving at a diagnosis.

Case 2: Sigmoid perforation following colonoscopy

A 58-year-old patient is referred for a screening colonoscopy. The gastroenterologist discusses various options for screening, including fecal occult blood testing, barium enema, and colonoscopy, specifically discussing the risk of bowel perforation during colonoscopy. The patient agrees to a colonoscopy, which reveals diverticulosis and internal hemorrhoids. Approximately one hour following the procedure, the patient complains of abdominal pain. The gastroenterologist assesses the patient and although the abdominal exam is benign, keeps the patient for observation. Abdominal X-rays done for persistent pain demonstrate free air in the abdomen. The patient undergoes a laparotomy and repair of a sigmoid perforation.

A College complaint ensues, which is subsequently dismissed with no criticism of the gastroenterologist’s care. The College concludes that the patient was appropriately advised of the risk of perforation and that informed consent was obtained and well documented. Bowel perforation is an inherent risk of colonoscopy and is usually not indicative of substandard care. The College also determines that the gastroenterologist appropriately assessed the patient in a reasonable and timely manner after the procedure and ordered appropriate investigations for ongoing symptoms.

Risk management considerations

Invasive procedures carry inherent risks that may occur despite diligent care. Physicians should undertake, and carefully document, informed consent discussions with their patients in advance of a procedure. These should include a personalized assessment of the material risks1 and special risks2 and benefits of the procedure for that patient and information about any available less invasive alternatives, and should be tailored to the patient’s level of health literacy. Use of decision aids and other written, verbal, or visual information, particularly where there is a comprehension barrier (e.g. language, education, age), should be considered as a supplement to the informed consent discussion.

Physicians should appropriately monitor and assess the patient following the procedure and carefully document the condition of the patient, discharge instructions, and follow-up plan.

Any procedural complications should be disclosed to patients as soon as reasonably possible. The implications, including the need for further care, should be discussed and follow-up care provided or arranged. These discussions and the steps taken to address the complications should be carefully documented in the medical record.

eLearning activities

 
 

Notes

  1. Material risks: Generally considered by the courts as those that a reasonable person, in the same circumstances as the patient, would want to know before consenting to an investigation or treatment. This would include complications that occur commonly, and also those complications that occur rarely but have significant consequences for that patient.
  2. Special risks: Generally considered by the courts as those that a patient’s physical or psychological makeup will make even an uncommon risk of a medical investigation or treatment special or more important for that patient.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Interventions non chirurgicales effractives : Quels sont les risques?

Publié initialement en décembre 2015
P1505-5-F

Les médecins exercant dans diverses disciplines non chirurgicales sont souvent appelés à pratiquer des interventions effractives aux fins de dépistage, de diagnostic et de traitement. Ces interventions peuvent comporter des risques inhérents, et des complications peuvent survenir et entraîner de graves résultats défavorables, voire la mort.

Afin de déterminer les domaines de risques médico-légaux et de favoriser des initiatives ciblées visant à améliorer la prestation de soins médicaux sécuritaires, l’ACPM a analysé ses dossiers médico-légaux mettant en cause des membres exerçant dans une discipline non chirurgicale et ayant effectué des interventions effractives – celles qui traversent la barrière cutanée (p. ex., biopsie, injection d’un produit de contraste) ou qui pénètrent une cavité du corps (p. ex., endoscopie).

Dans 40 % des 757 dossiers de l’ACPM conclus entre 2010 et 2014 et mettant en cause un spécialiste ayant effectué une intervention effractive, les experts ont appuyé les soins prodigués. Ces soins étaient suffisamment documentés dans le dossier médical, y compris en ce qui avait trait au consentement éclairé du patient et à la reconnaissance des risques connus de l’intervention.

Dans les autres 60 %, un problème clinique associé aux soins a contribué à un incident lié à la sécurité du patient. Dans 10 % de ces cas, les patients ont subi une complication grave ou catastrophique et 21 % d’entre eux ont succombé à leurs blessures. La plupart des incidents se sont produits en milieu hospitalier, quoique près du quart sont survenus dans le cabinet d’un médecin. Presque toutes les disciplines non chirurgicales étaient représentées, les gastroentérologues, radiologistes et internistes généralistes étant les groupes les plus souvent en cause. Des lacunes au niveau de l’exécution de l’intervention, de la communication et du diagnostic représentaient les principaux domaines où les experts ont émis des critiques à l’égard des soins prodigués.

Analyse des problèmes liés à l’exécution de l’intervention

Dans un sous-groupe de 146 dossiers où l’exécution d’une intervention effractive a été critiquée par les experts, plus de la moitié ont entraîné un résultat médico-légal défavorable pour le médecin (c.-à-d. des critiques ou mesures disciplinaires imposées par l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine [Collège] ou l’hôpital, une décision défavorable à l’issue d’un procès ou le règlement d’une action en justice au moyen d’une transaction). Dans 27 % de ces dossiers, les patients ont subi une complication grave ou catastrophique ou sont décédés.

Tableau 1 : Résultats d’interventions effractives chez les patients (n = 93)

Systèmes corporels

% des dossiers

Types d’interventions

Résultats chez les patients

Gastro-intestinal inférieur

39

  • coloscopie
  • polypectomie
  • biopsie
  • coagulation au laser/plasma d’argon
  • 4 décès
  • 2 complications graves
  • 30 complications mineures ou temporaires

Gastro-intestinal supérieur et  biliaire

24

  • cholangiopancréatographie rétrograde endoscopique (CPRE)
  • excision de polype
  • insertion d’une sonde de gastrostomie
  • gastroscopie
  • ablation d’un nodule hépatique
  • 5 décès
  • 17 complications mineures ou temporaires

 

Cardiovasculaire

22

  • angiographie et/ou angioplastie
  • ablation de tissu cardiaque
  • péricardiocentèse
  • cathétérisme cardiaque diagnostique
  • accès vasculaire (p. ex., cathéter veineux)
  • 5 décès
  • 2 complications graves
  • 15 complications mineures ou temporaires

Respiratoire

3

  • thoracentèse
  • intubation
  • 1 décès
  • 2 complications graves

Autres

12

  • prélèvement de moelle osseuse
  • biopsie à l’emporte-pièce sur la main
  • cytoponction du sein
  • circoncision
  • 1 décès
  • 10 complications mineures
 

Les experts ont critiqué les aspects suivants des soins prodigués :

  • lacunes dans le processus d’obtention d’un consentement éclairé
    • discussion incomplète ou absence de discussion des risques (généraux et spécifiques au patient) et des solutions de rechange
    • délégation de la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement à un membre du personnel non qualifié
    • discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement non conforme à l’intervention effectuée (p. ex., polypectomie ou biopsie effectuée durant une coloscopie de dépistage)
  • manque de communication avec le patient ou la famille à la suite d’un incident lié à la sécurité du patient
    • défaut de divulguer le préjudice ou le fait que celui-ci pouvait être attribuable à l’intervention
    • défaut de fournir des explications détaillées au sujet des complications et des soins continus
    • défaut d’informer la famille d’une détérioration de l’état du patient
  • documentation incomplète
    • documentation insuffisante ou absente de la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement
    • évaluation et documentation insuffisantes des comorbidités du patient avant l’intervention (p. ex., utilisation de stéroïdes)
    • documentation insuffisante des soins prodigués durant l’intervention (technique, surveillance, instruments, appareil, état du patient)
    • reconnaissance et prise en charge inadéquates de la complication et documentation insuffisante des soins prodigués

Selon les experts, la remise de documents explicatifs ou d’autre matériel aux patients peut contribuer à renforcer la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement.

Exemples de cas

Ces cas illustrent deux situations semblables où le résultat de l’action en justice a été différent.

Cas 1 : Perforation duodénale à la suite d’une cholécystectomie

À la suite d’une cholécystectomie, une patiente est dirigée vers un gastroentérologue en raison d’une augmentation transitoire des enzymes hépatiques et d’épisodes récurrents de coliques biliaires. Le diagnostic différentiel du gastroentérologue inclut la cholédocholithiase et un rendez-vous est fixé en vue d’une cholangiopancréatographie rétrograde endoscopique (CPRE). Le gastroentérologue ne réussit pas à cathétériser le canal cholédoque durant l’intervention, bien qu’il ait effectué une sphinctérotomie. Après l’intervention, la patiente a des douleurs aiguës à l’abdomen; des investigations révèlent une perforation duodénale. La patiente présente subséquemment des complications menaçant son pronostic vital, notamment une pancréatite nécrosante, et requiert de nombreuses chirurgies ainsi qu’une hospitalisation prolongée.

Une action en justice s’ensuit. De l’avis des experts, le gastroentérologue aurait dû envisager un dysfonctionnement du sphincter d’Oddi dans son diagnostic différentiel et effectuer d’autres examens de diagnostic non effractifs avant la CPRE, telle une cholangiopancréatographie par résonance magnétique (CPRM), pour confirmer la présence de lithiases. Lors du procès, le juge se prononce en faveur du patient, concluant qu’en omettant de décrire les risques de la CPRE et d’informer la patiente de la disponibilité de solutions de rechange moins effractives qui l’auraient peut-être aidé à établir un diagnostic, le gastroentérologue n’avait pas obtenu un consentement éclairé.

Cas 2 : Perforation du côlon sigmoïde à la suite d’une coloscopie

Un patient âgé de 58 ans est dirigé vers un gastroentérologue en vue d’une coloscopie de dépistage. Le médecin discute des diverses options de dépistage, y compris la recherche de sang occulte dans les selles, le lavement baryté et la coloscopie, en mentionnant spécifiquement le risque de perforation intestinale durant la coloscopie. Le patient accepte de subir une coloscopie, qui révèle une diverticulose et des hémorroïdes internes. Environ une heure après l’intervention, le patient se plaint de douleur abdominale. Le gastroentérologue évalue le patient et, bien que l’examen abdominal soit bénin, il garde le patient à l’hôpital aux fins d’observation. Les radiographies de l’abdomen effectuées en raison de la douleur persistante démontrent de l’air libre dans l’abdomen. Le patient subit une laparotomie et une réparation de la perforation du côlon sigmoïde.

Une plainte au Collège s’ensuit, laquelle est éventuellement rejetée sans critiques à l’égard des soins prodigués par le gastroentérologue. Le Collège conclut que le patient avait été convenablement informé du risque de perforation et qu’un consentement éclairé a été obtenu et bien documenté. La perforation intestinale est un risque inhérent de la coloscopie et n’est habituellement pas révélatrice de soins inadéquats. Le Collège détermine par ailleurs que le gastroentérologue a évalué le patient de façon appropriée et raisonnable, en temps opportun, après l’intervention et qu’il a prescrit les investigations appropriées en fonction des symptômes persistants.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Les interventions effractives comportent des risques inhérents qui peuvent se matérialiser en dépit de soins diligents. Les médecins devraient entamer une discussion en vue d’obtenir un consentement éclairé avec leurs patients bien avant une intervention, et la documenter soigneusement. Cette discussion devrait inclure une évaluation personnalisée des risques importants1 et des risques particuliers2, ainsi que les avantages de l’intervention pour ce patient et des renseignements au sujet de toute intervention de rechange moins effractive qui est disponible. Cette discussion devrait être adaptée au niveau de littératie en santé du patient. L’utilisation d’aides à la décision et d’autre information écrite, verbale ou visuelle devrait être envisagée pour compléter la discussion en vue d’obtenir un consentement éclairé, notamment en présence d’un obstacle à la compréhension (p. ex., langue, éducation, âge).

Les médecins devraient surveiller et évaluer le patient de façon appropriée après une intervention, et documenter soigneusement l’état du patient, les consignes fournies au moment du congé et le plan de suivi.

Toute complication liée à une intervention devrait être divulguée au patient aussitôt qu’il est raisonnablement possible de le faire. Les conséquences, notamment la nécessité de soins supplémentaires, doivent être discutées et les soins de suivi doivent être prodigués ou prévus. Ces discussions et les mesures prises pour traiter les complications devraient être documentées soigneusement dans le dossier médical.

Activités d’apprentissage en ligne

 
 

Notes

  1. Risques importants : De façon générale, les tribunaux considèrent les risques importants comme étant ceux qu’une personne raisonnable, dans les mêmes circonstances, souhaiterait connaître avant de consentir à une investigation ou à un traitement. Cela comprendrait les complications qui surviennent couramment, ainsi que les complications qui surviennent rarement, mais qui entraîneraient des conséquences graves pour ce patient.
  2. Risques particuliers : Un tribunal pourrait juger que la constitution physique ou psychologique du patient aurait pour effet de transformer un risque inhabituel lié à une investigation ou à un traitement médical en un risque « particulier » ou plus important pour ce patient.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.