Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Lessons from hip and knee arthroplasty complications

Originally published September 2015
P1504-3-E

The number of hip and knee arthroplasties performed in Canada has increased in the last five years, but the demand for these interventions is increasing even faster. This situation is making it hard for provinces to reach established wait time benchmarks.1,2

Hip and knee arthroplasties are also two of the top interventions involved in CMPA orthopaedic cases. The procedures can greatly improve quality of life, yet they may also carry significant clinical risks for patients.

In a five-year review of medical-legal cases involving elective hip or knee arthroplasty, the outcomes were generally favourable for the member. The experts in the cases were supportive of physicians’ care when:

  • informed consent was obtained and the consent discussion was adequately documented
  • an acceptable standard was met while performing the intervention but also when appropriate post-operative follow-up care was arranged
  • a complication was addressed appropriately, including transfer or referral, if indicated

The patients in this series post-operatively experienced either a temporary or permanent impairment that often left them with considerable loss of function, such as foot drop, leg length discrepancy, or persistent pain. More serious complications included infection, deep vein thrombosis (DVT), pulmonary embolism, stroke, or sepsis. Seven per cent of patients died. Obesity was the most common patient co-morbidity and was frequently observed in patients who experienced surgical complications. Cardiovascular disease and diabetes may also have affected clinical outcomes.

In cases where peer experts were critical of the care, three-quarters were related to an intra-operative event.

Pre-operative issues

The main pre-operative issue in the CMPA cases was a lack of informed consent. The deficiency was usually due to an inadequate discussion and documentation of the proposed procedure, the potential for complications and risks, and the reasonable availability of treatment alternatives. Patients often alleged that they were not advised of the possibility of poor outcomes and of the potential complications associated with the surgery, such as vascular injury and persistent pain.

In one regulatory authority (College) case, a patient was left with a 2 centimetre leg length discrepancy after a hip arthroplasty, and complained about a lack of informed consent. Although the College supported the surgical care, it counselled the surgeon on the importance of discussing and documenting this known risk with the patient before surgery.

Intra-operative issues

In the cases with intra-operative issues, deficient clinical judgment or technical skill, or lack of experience was often a factor. The most common concern was with technical skills including the incorrect choice or size of prosthesis and implant malposition. In a few cases, intra-operative imaging could have led to proper or improved implant positioning. These issues were more common with hip arthroplasty, and revision surgery was sometimes necessary.

Other intra-operative problems concerned an injury to a nerve (e.g. sciatic, popliteal) during the hip or knee surgery, or injury to the popliteal artery during the knee surgery. These injuries were sometimes due to inadequate protection of surrounding anatomical structures in the surgical field.

In a few cases, the femur was fractured during surgery. Most of the time, however, experts considered this to be an inherent risk of the procedure.

Lastly, non-adherence to surgical safety protocols was responsible for the few wrong-sided surgeries in this series of cases.

Post-operative issues

In the post-operative period (both early and late), the timely recognition and treatment of complications was a major issue in the cases reviewed. Some of the diagnostic delays were attributed to a surgeon’s failure to do the following: adequately re-assess a patient, consider other causes for persistent or new symptoms, order further investigations, or follow up on test results. In some cases, other healthcare providers were also found to have contributed to the delays, including residents or nurses who did not communicate changes in patients’ conditions to the surgeon. In a few cases, inadequate office systems made it difficult for discharged patients to contact the surgeon with their questions or concerns.

Infection was more common following hip arthroplasty, while ongoing pain was more frequent with knee arthroplasty. Some patients required additional surgeries (e.g. revision) due to implant malposition, infection, intra-operative fractures, or implant dislocation; others required longer rehabilitation times.

Case example: A patient is left with ongoing knee pain, despite appropriate care

A 50-year-old man with severe osteoarthritis of the left knee undergoes an uneventful knee arthroplasty. After surgery, the patient has a great deal of pain that proves difficult to manage. He also does not comply well with physiotherapy because of the pain. When the patient’s knee pain and stiffness persist, the surgeon performs a left knee manipulation under anaesthesia to increase range of motion, which is repeated three weeks later. Following the second manipulation, the patient obtains 95° of flexion and some pain relief. The patient requires narcotic analgesia for a short time afterwards and his flexion subsequently increases to 110°. The patient does not return for follow-up appointments and complains to the College alleging failure to properly perform the surgery.

The College finds no fault with the surgeon’s care. There was clear indication for the arthroplasty, and the orthopaedic surgeon obtained a second opinion that concurred with the indication for surgery. The consent discussion was well documented and included the potential risks and benefits of the surgery, particularly the risks associated with his age and weight as well as those of DVT, mechanical failure, and infection. The post-operative X-rays showed the prosthesis to be in good position with no sign of loosening, and there was no documentation of any major complications from the surgery.

Risk management considerations

Based on a review of the expert opinions in the medical-legal cases involving hip or knee arthroplasty, the following risk management considerations have been identified:

  • Consider any relevant risk factors, including co-morbidities, that could have an impact on the patient’s surgery and recovery, and consider further specialist consultation if indicated.
  • The consent discussion should provide appropriate information on the risks and benefits of the proposed surgery, the alternative options, the expected outcomes, and how a patient’s pre-existing conditions could increase the risk of complications. The patient (and family or caregiver, if appropriate) should be given the opportunity to ask questions. The discussion should be adequately documented in the medical record.
  • Generally, a surgical safety checklist should be completed for procedures and should include:
    • a review of the patient’s medical record for relevant risk factors or considerations
    • confirmation of having obtained and documented the patient’s informed consent
    • verification of the patient’s identity, the planned procedure, and the operative site
    • confirmation that the correct operative site and side have been marked; for example, use an “operate through your initials” approach3
    • confirmation that pre-operative antibiotics were administered and venous thromboembolism prophylaxis was instituted, as appropriate
  • Exercise care to protect vital structures such as nerves and vasculature, and document, when appropriate, any efforts to visualize or protect these structures.
  • Document the operative report in a timely manner and include information on:
    • the technique and prosthesis
    • anatomical findings and variants
    • difficulties encountered in the procedure
  • Clarify the roles and responsibilities with respect to communication between all the healthcare team members caring for the patient.
  • Incorporate clinical care pathways, clinical practice guidelines, and decision tools, as appropriate.
  • Give patients or caregivers clear written or verbal pre- and post-operative instructions. The instructions should include the steps and special precautions that patients should take after the procedure, the symptoms and signs that should alert them to seek further medical attention, and when and who they should consult if they experience complications. Any verbal instructions should be recorded in patients’ medical records, and any written instructions should be added to the records with a notation of the date they were provided.
 
 

References

  1. Canadian Institute for Health Information. Hip and Knee Replacements in Canada: Canadian Joint Replacement Registry 2014 Annual Report. Accessed May 28, 2015 from: https://secure.cihi.ca/free_products/CJRR%202014%20Annual%20Report_EN-web.pdf
  2. Canadian Institute for Health Information. Wait Times for Priority Procedures in Canada 2014. Accessed on May 4, 2015 from: https://secure.cihi.ca/free_products/2014_WaitTimesAiB_EN.pdf
  3. Canadian Orthopaedic Association, "COA Position statement for a surgical safety checklist," 2008. Accessed May 12, 2015 from: http://www.coa-aco.org/library/health-policy/guidelines-to-reduce-the-incidence-of-wrong-level-spinal-surgery.html

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

L’arthroplastie de la hanche et du genou

Publié initialement en septembre 2015
P1504-3-F

Le nombre d’arthroplasties de la hanche et du genou effectuées au Canada a augmenté au cours des cinq dernières années. Or, la demande pour ces interventions augmente encore plus rapidement. La situation est telle qu’il est difficile pour les provinces de respecter les délais de référence établis pour les temps d’attente.1,2

Les arthroplasties de la hanche et du genou sont aussi parmi les interventions les plus souvent en cause dans les dossiers d’orthopédie de l’ACPM. Ces interventions peuvent améliorer considérablement la qualité de vie, mais elles peuvent aussi comporter d’importants risques cliniques pour les patients.

Une analyse des dossiers médico-légaux ayant trait à l’arthroplastie non urgente de la hanche ou du genou, portant sur une période quinquennale, a révélé que les résultats sont généralement favorables pour le médecin. Les experts consultés dans ces dossiers ont appuyé les soins prodigués dans les cas où le médecin avait :

  • obtenu un consentement éclairé et documenté adéquatement la discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement;
  • respecté une norme de pratique acceptable lors de l’exécution de l’intervention et pris des dispositions pour que des soins de suivi postopératoire appropriés soient prodigués;
  • agi de façon appropriée dans le cas d’une complication, notamment un transfert des soins ou une demande de consultation, au besoin.

Les patients dans ces dossiers ont connu une incapacité temporaire ou permanente après l’intervention, conservant souvent une importante limitation fonctionnelle, tel un pied tombant, une inégalité dans la longueur des jambes ou une douleur persistante. Parmi les complications plus graves figuraient l’infection, la thrombose veineuse profonde (TVP), l’embolie pulmonaire, l’AVC ou la septicémie. Sept pour cent des patients sont décédés. L’obésité, comorbidité la plus courante, était fréquemment observée chez les patients ayant connu des complications chirurgicales. Il est possible que la maladie cardiovasculaire et le diabète aient aussi influé sur les résultats cliniques.

Dans les dossiers où les experts ont critiqué les soins, les trois quarts étaient liés à un incident survenu en période peropératoire.

Problèmes en période préopératoire

Le principal problème en période préopératoire dans les dossiers analysés était l’absence d’un consentement éclairé. Cette lacune était généralement attribuable au caractère inadéquat de la discussion et de la documentation de l’intervention envisagée, de la possibilité de complications et de risques, et des autres traitements raisonnablement disponibles. Les patients ont souvent allégué qu’ils n’avaient pas été informés de la possibilité de résultats défavorables et des complications possibles associées à l’intervention, telles une lésion vasculaire et une douleur persistante.

Dans un dossier lié à une plainte déposée auprès d’un organisme de réglementation (Collège), un patient est demeuré avec une inégalité de longueur des jambes de 2 cm à la suite d’une arthroplastie de la hanche et a allégué que le médecin n’avait pas obtenu de consentement éclairé. Bien que le Collège ait appuyé les soins chirurgicaux prodigués, il a offert du counseling au chirurgien sur l’importance de discuter de ce risque connu avec le patient avant l’intervention et de documenter la discussion.

Problèmes en période peropératoire

Dans les dossiers comportant des problèmes en période peropératoire, une lacune au niveau du jugement clinique ou de la compétence technique, ou un manque d’expérience, constituait souvent un facteur contributif. La préoccupation la plus courante portait sur la compétence technique, notamment le mauvais choix de prothèse, ou la taille inexacte de celle-ci et le mauvais positionnement de l’implant. Dans quelques cas, l’imagerie peropératoire aurait pu contribuer à un meilleur positionnement ou au bon positionnement de l’implant. Ces problèmes étaient plus fréquents dans les cas d’arthroplastie de la hanche et une révision s’est parfois avérée nécessaire.

Les autres problèmes en période peropératoire concernaient une lésion nerveuse (p. ex., nerf sciatique poplité externe) durant l’arthroplastie de la hanche ou du genou ou une lésion à l’artère poplitée durant l’intervention sur le genou. Ces lésions étaient parfois attribuables à la protection inadéquate des structures anatomiques avoisinantes.

Dans quelques cas, le fémur a été fracturé lors de l’intervention. Or, la plupart du temps, les experts ont estimé qu’il s’agissait là d’un risque inhérent.

Enfin, dans cette série de dossiers, quelques interventions ont été pratiquées du mauvais côté en raison du non-respect des protocoles de sécurité chirurgicale.

Problèmes en période postopératoire

Durant la période postopératoire (immédiate et subséquente), l’absence de reconnaissance et de traitement des complications en temps opportun représentait un problème majeur dans les dossiers analysés. Certains des retards dans le diagnostic ont été attribués au fait que le chirurgien n’avait pas : réévalué un patient de façon adéquate, envisagé d’autres causes pour des symptômes persistants ou nouveaux, prescrit de nouveaux examens, ou donné suite aux résultats d’examens. Dans certains cas, d’autres professionnels de la santé ont aussi été tenus responsables de leur contribution aux retards, notamment des résidents ou des infirmières qui n’avaient pas communiqué au chirurgien un changement dans l’état du patient. Dans quelques cas, les patients ayant reçu leur congé avaient eu de la difficulté à communiquer leurs questions ou leurs préoccupations au chirurgien en raison de systèmes administratifs inadéquats.

Les problèmes d’infection étaient plus courants à la suite d’une arthroplastie de la hanche, alors que la douleur persistante était plus fréquente après une arthroplastie du genou. Certains patients ont nécessité une intervention supplémentaire (p. ex., une révision) en raison du mauvais positionnement de l’implant, d’une infection, de fractures peropératoires ou du déplacement de l’implant; d’autres ont connu de plus longues périodes de réadaptation.

Exemple de cas : Douleur persistante au genou en dépit de soins appropriés

Un homme de 50 ans atteint d’ostéoarthrite sévère au genou gauche subit une arthroplastie du genou sans complications. Après l’intervention, le patient éprouve une douleur très vive qui est difficile à gérer et qui l’empêche de participer pleinement à la physiothérapie. Comme la douleur et la raideur au genou persistent, le chirurgien effectue une manipulation du genou gauche sous anesthésie afin d’augmenter l’amplitude de mouvement. Une deuxième manipulation est effectuée trois semaines plus tard, après quoi le patient peut fléchir son genou à 95° et obtient un certain soulagement de la douleur. Il nécessite des analgésiques narcotiques pendant quelque temps et la flexion augmente à 110° par la suite. Le patient ne se présente pas aux rendez-vous de suivi et dépose une plainte au Collège, alléguant que le médecin n’a pas effectué l’intervention convenablement.

Le Collège n’a formulé aucune critique relative aux soins du chirurgien. Il existait une indication claire pour l’arthroplastie et l’orthopédiste avait obtenu un deuxième avis qui confirmait son indication. La discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement était bien documentée et précisait les risques et les avantages de l’intervention chirurgicale, notamment les risques associés à l’âge et au poids du patient, ainsi que les risques de thrombophlébite profonde, de problème mécanique et d’infection. Les radiographies postopératoires montraient que la prothèse était en bonne position, sans indication de descellement, et il n’y avait aucune documentation de quelque complication majeure liée à l’intervention.

Gestion des risques

Selon les experts consultés dans les dossiers médico-légaux portant sur l’arthroplastie de la hanche ou du genou, les considérations suivantes en matière de gestion des risques ont été soulevées :

  • Évaluer tout facteur de risque pertinent, notamment les comorbidités, qui pourraient influer sur l’intervention chirurgicale et le rétablissement du patient, et envisager une consultation avec un spécialiste au besoin.
  • Tenir une discussion en vue d’obtenir le consentement et fournir des renseignements appropriés au sujet des risques et des avantages de l’intervention proposée, des solutions de rechange, des résultats escomptés et de la possibilité que les maladies préexistantes augmentent le risque de complications. Le patient (et sa famille ou son proche aidant, le cas échéant) doit avoir l’occasion de poser des questions. La discussion doit être documentée adéquatement dans le dossier médical.
  • Utiliser, de façon générale, une liste de vérification d’une chirurgie sécuritaire pour toute intervention, qui devrait comprendre les éléments suivants :
    • revue du dossier médical du patient pour déterminer les facteurs de risque pertinents ou les considérations en matière de risque;
    • confirmation de l’obtention et de la documentation du consentement éclairé du patient;
    • vérification de l’identité du patient, de l’intervention prévue et du siège de l’intervention;
    • confirmation du marquage du siège de l’intervention; par exemple, utiliser l’approche « Pratiquez l’incision dans vos initiales »;3
    • confirmation de l’administration d’antibiotiques préopératoires et de l’amorce d’une anticoagulothérapie prophylactique, le cas échéant.
  • Faire preuve de précaution pour protéger les structures vitales tels les nerfs et le système vasculaire, et documenter, le cas échéant, tout effort déployé pour visualiser ou protéger ces structures.
  • Rédiger le protocole opératoire dès que possible et inclure l’information sur :
    • la technique chirurgicale et les prothèses
    • les découvertes et variantes anatomiques
    • les difficultés encourues durant l’intervention.
  • Clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités en matière de communication avec tous les membres de l’équipe qui prodiguent des soins au patient.
  • Incorporer des cheminements cliniques, des lignes directrices en matière de pratique clinique et des outils d’aide à la décision, le cas échéant.
  • Donner aux patients ou aux proches aidants des instructions écrites ou verbales claires concernant les soins préopératoires et postopératoires. Les instructions doivent inclure les mesures et les précautions spéciales que doit prendre le patient à la suite de l’intervention, les signes et les symptômes signalant la nécessité d’obtenir des soins médicaux, et quand et qui consulter en cas de complications. Toute instruction verbale doit être inscrite au dossier médical du patient et toute instruction écrite devrait y être ajoutée, avec indication de la date à laquelle elle a été fournie.
 
 

Références

  1. L’Institut canadien d’information sur la santé. Arthroplasties de la hanche et du genou au Canada : rapport annuel de 2014 du Registre canadien des remplacements articulaires, 2014. Consulté le 10 juin 2015. https://secure.cihi.ca/free_products/CJRR%202014%20Annual%20Report_FR-web.pdf
  2. L’Institut canadien d’information sur la santé. Les temps d’attente pour les interventions prioritaires au Canada 2014, 2014. Consulté le 10 juin 2015. https://secure.cihi.ca/free_products/2014_WaitTimesAiB_FR.pdf
  3. L’Association Canadienne d’Orthopédie. « Énoncé de position de l’ACO sur la création d’une liste de contrôle pour la sécurité chirurgicale », 2008. Consulté le 10 juin 2015. http://www.coa-aco.org/fr/documentation/politique-en-matiere-de-sante/enonce-de-position-de-laco-sur-la-creation-dune-liste-de-controle-pour-la-securite-chirurgicale.html

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.