Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Meningitis — Understanding the vulnerabilities

Originally published December 2015
P1505-2-E

Meningitis poses a significant risk of death and disability, especially in vulnerable populations. Rates of bacterial meningitis have dropped dramatically in Canada in recent decades, thanks in large part to routine vaccination against the most common bacteria that cause the disease, though youth remain especially susceptible.

Meningitis can evolve quickly, necessitating early treatment. Consequently, diagnostic issues are the biggest area of concern in medical-legal cases involving this disease. However, even with early diagnosis and appropriate treatment, severe outcomes can occur.

Forty CMPA medical-legal cases involving patients with meningitis closed over the last five years. Close to half of the patients were under age 20, with most being between the ages of 0 and 4. Only four patients were over age 65. All but three patients experienced serious outcomes. Of the patients with serious outcomes, 25 died or were left with catastrophic injuries, and the others experienced varying degrees of neurological impairment.

Patients presented with established meningitis in 28 cases, often with headache, nausea and vomiting, fever, or changes in neurological status (e.g. disorientation, drowsiness, visual disturbances), while some patients had an initial infectious process that later progressed to meningitis (e.g. sinusitis, tonsillitis, influenza, varicella, and tuberculosis). The majority of patients sought medical assistance more than once with similar or worsening complaints before the diagnosis of meningitis was made and treatment started.

Unique risks for young patients

The CMPA medical-legal cases involving young people shared common themes. These included:

  • inadequate examination and investigation
  • not appreciating the significance of “red flag” signs and symptoms (e.g. bulging fontanelle, fever, lethargy), or not considering meningitis in the differential diagnosis
  • anchoring on common childhood ailments to explain the child’s condition
  • not recognizing the severity or worsening of the child’s condition
  • multiple visits with the same or worsening symptoms

Pneumococcal disease was the most common cause of meningitis in pediatric cases. Initial presentation often included signs of upper respiratory infection (e.g. sore throat, runny nose, or cough), fever, and sometimes gastrointestinal symptoms. Progression of symptoms was often noted in subsequent visits and included lethargy, vomiting, or changes in neurological status.

Cases of neonatal meningitis — most often involving Group B Streptococcus infection — were not common. There were only two cases of meningococcal disease, both in older youth.

Case example: Baby with apparent viral illness deteriorates after several healthcare visits

A mother takes her 10-month-old to a walk-in clinic. The day before, a pediatrician had diagnosed a viral illness and recommended acetaminophen and fluids, but the baby’s condition is getting worse. She has persistent vomiting, a high fever, and is lethargic. The family physician at the clinic, concerned about the possibility of dehydration and believing the patient’s condition warrants further investigation, advises the mother to take her to the emergency department (ED). He writes a referral note asking for an assessment and communicating the information of vomiting, fever, and one diaper change in more than 16 hours.

At the hospital, the infant is given 60 cc of oral electrolyte solution, which she tolerates, as well as acetaminophen. The ED physician on duty performs a brief exam and notes that the infant’s temperature, which was 40.4oC at triage, has decreased slightly. He discharges the patient two hours later with a diagnosis of gastroenteritis. Several hours later, the parents return with the baby to the ED after witnessing a seizure-like event. This time, on examination, the baby appears mottled and is unresponsive. She dies just a few hours later of complications from acute bacterial meningitis. The parents file a regulatory authority (College) complaint alleging the ED physician did not adequately examine their child.

In its decision, the College acknowledges that while meningitis can resemble viral illness, the ED physician did not adequately assess this patient. It finds that the physician should have conducted a more thorough work-up in light of the two previous clinic visits, which included the ED referral and the mother’s documented concerns about her baby’s lethargy, most notably the claim that the baby would not sit up. The examination should have included assessment of the fontanelle, neck stiffness, level of consciousness, general neurological status, and how the infant was responding to her parents. He should have also ordered tests to rule out serious conditions that could have been causing the infant’s symptoms, including bacterial infections. The College asserts that the physician should not have discharged the child after such a short trial of electrolyte fluid.

The ED physician is required to attend the College to be cautioned about the appropriate management of fever and lethargy in an infant.1

 

CMPA medical-legal cases involving adult patients with meningitis

Organisms

  • S. pneumonia
  • E. coli
  • Cryptococcus
  • Enterovirus
  • Tuberculosis

Clinical issues

  • inadequate clinical assessment
  • meningitis that develops as a complication of an existing condition or disease process
  • multiple visits for worsening symptoms
  • system and communication issues (e.g. test result mix-ups, results not received; inadequate handovers)
 

Meningitis is relatively uncommon in the adult population. The CMPA medical-legal cases involving adults represented unusual clinical scenarios. When diagnosis was a factor in these cases, it was particularly challenging. Although most of the cases involving adults had unfavourable outcomes for the physicians, they were not necessarily related to the diagnosis.

Risk management considerations

Physicians should consider the following recommendations, based on peer expert opinions from the CMPA cases concerning the diagnosis and management of possible meningitis:
  • Obtain an adequate history and conduct an appropriate physical examination, taking into consideration the symptoms and signs of meningitis. Ensure that the patient’s (or parents’) concerns are acknowledged and addressed.
  • Pay attention to abnormal vital signs, which may point to a serious infection or disease process.
  • Review all key elements of the patient’s medical record, including earlier entries and referral notes, before establishing a diagnosis.
  • Take time to pause and reflect on the differential diagnosis, being careful to consider possibilities that may be life-threatening. Obtain a second opinion if you are unsure of your diagnosis and whether or not you should rule out meningitis.
  • Advise the patient or caregiver of symptoms and signs that should alert them to seek further medical attention.
  • Ensure that investigations are appropriately scheduled and performed, and the resulting report is received and followed-up in a timely manner.
  • Carefully document all aspects of the care provided, including pertinent clinical findings, treatment, and follow-up advice and recommendations.
  • Re-evaluate the diagnostic assumption when the patient returns with the same or worsening symptoms.
 
 

Notes:

  1. Details of the case have been modified to preserve confidentiality.

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

La méningite : Comprendre les vulnérabilités

Publié initialement en décembre 2015
P1505-2-F

La méningite comporte un risque important de mort et d’invalidité, surtout chez les populations vulnérables. Les taux de méningite bactérienne ont chuté considérablement au Canada au cours des dernières décennies, en grande partie grâce à la vaccination systématique contre les bactéries les plus courantes qui sont responsables de cette maladie, quoique les jeunes demeurent particulièrement vulnérables.

La méningite peut évoluer rapidement, d’où la nécessité d’un traitement rapide. Par conséquent, les problèmes de diagnostic sont en tête de liste des sujets de préoccupation dans les dossiers médico-légaux portant sur cette maladie. Or, même à la suite d’un diagnostic précoce et d’un traitement approprié, de graves complications peuvent en résulter.

Quarante dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM concernant des patients atteints de méningite ont été conclus au cours des cinq dernières années. Près de la moitié de ces patients avaient moins de 20 ans, la plupart étant âgés entre 0 et 4 ans. Seulement quatre patients avaient plus de 65 ans.

Tous les patients, sauf trois, ont subi de graves conséquences : 25 sont décédés ou demeurés aux prises avec des préjudices catastrophiques, alors que les autres ont conservé des séquelles neurologiques dont la gravité variait.

Dans 28 dossiers, les patients se sont présentés avec une méningite établie, souvent avec une céphalée, des nausées et vomissements, une fièvre ou des changements de l’état neurologique (p. ex., désorientation, somnolence, perturbations visuelles), alors que d’autres patients étaient initialement atteints d’un processus infectieux qui a évolué en méningite par la suite (p. ex., sinusite, amygdalite, grippe, varicelle et tuberculose). La majorité des patients ont consulté plus d’une fois, présentant les mêmes symptômes ou des symptômes qui s’aggravaient, avant que le diagnostic de méningite ne soit posé et qu’un traitement ne soit amorcé.

Risques particuliers pour les jeunes patients

Les dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM mettant en cause de jeunes patients avaient de nombreux thèmes en commun, dont les suivants :

  • évaluation et investigation incomplètes
  • incapacité du médecin à percevoir l’importance des signes et symptômes alarmants (p. ex., bombement de la fontanelle, fièvre, léthargie) ou omission d’envisager une méningite dans le diagnostic différentiel
  • ancrage sur des maladies infantiles courantes pour expliquer l’état de l’enfant
  • défaut de reconnaître la gravité ou l’aggravation de l’état de l’enfant
  • visites successives associées à des symptômes similaires ou qui s’aggravaient

L’infection pneumococcique s’avérait la cause la plus courante de méningite dans les dossiers pédiatriques. À la présentation initiale, des signes d’une infection des voies respiratoires supérieures (p. ex., mal de gorge, écoulement nasal ou toux) et de fièvre étaient fréquents, parfois accompagnés de symptômes gastrointestinaux. Une progression des symptômes était souvent constatée lors des visites successives, notamment de la léthargie, des vomissements ou des changements de l’état neurologique.

Les cas de méningite néonatale – le plus souvent liés à une infection à streptocoques du groupe B – étaient peu fréquents. Seuls deux cas de méningococcie ont été dénombrés, et ce, chez des enfants plus âgés.

Exemple de cas : L’état d’un bébé souffrant apparemment d’une maladie virale se détériore après plusieurs consultations

Une mère amène son bébé de 10 mois à une clinique sans rendez-vous. La veille, un pédiatre avait diagnostiqué une maladie virale et recommandé de l’acétaminophène et des liquides, mais l’état du bébé s’aggrave. Celui-ci présente des vomissements persistants et une fièvre élevée et de la léthargie. Préoccupé par la possibilité de déshydratation et d’avis que l’état de la patiente justifie une évaluation plus poussée, l’omnipraticien de la clinique suggère à la mère d’emmener son bébé à l’urgence. Il rédige une demande de consultation en vue d’une évaluation et précise la présence des vomissements, de la fièvre et de l’unique couche saturée sur une période de plus de 16 heures.

À l’hôpital, le bébé reçoit 60 cc d’une solution d’électrolytes par voie orale, ce qu’il tolère, ainsi que de l’acétaminophène. L’urgentologue de garde effectue un bref examen et constate que la température du bébé, qui s’élevait à 40,4 oC au triage, a diminué quelque peu. Il autorise le congé du bébé deux heures plus tard, ayant posé le diagnostic de gastroentérite. Plusieurs heures plus tard, les parents ramènent le bébé à l’urgence après avoir observé ce qui ressemblait à une crise convulsive. Cette fois-ci à l’examen, le bébé a la peau marbrée et ne répond pas aux stimuli. Il décède quelques heures plus tard de complications d’une méningite bactérienne aiguë. Les parents déposent une plainte à l’organisme de réglementation de la médecine (Collège) alléguant que l’urgentologue n’a pas évalué leur enfant de façon adéquate.

Dans sa décision, le Collège conclut que, bien que la méningite puisse ressembler à une maladie virale, l’urgentologue n’a pas évalué cette patiente de façon adéquate.

Il constate que le médecin aurait dû procéder à des investigations plus poussées à la lumière des deux visites antérieures à une clinique, d’où découlait la demande de consultation, et des préoccupations documentées de la mère au sujet de la léthargie de son bébé, notamment l’affirmation que le bébé ne voulait plus s’asseoir. L’examen aurait dû comprendre une évaluation de la fontanelle, de la raideur de la nuque, du niveau de conscience, de l’état neurologique en général et des réactions du bébé vis-à-vis de ses parents. De plus, l’urgentologue aurait dû prescrire des examens pour exclure des maladies graves qui pouvaient causer les symptômes du bébé, y compris des infections bactériennes. Le Collège affirme que le médecin n’aurait pas dû autoriser le congé du bébé après une aussi courte période d’essai d’une solution d’électrolytes.

L’urgentologue est convoqué devant le Collège et mis en garde au sujet de la prise en charge appropriée de la fièvre et de la léthargie chez un nourrisson.1

 

Dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM mettant en cause des patients adultes atteints de méningite

Agents pathogènes

  • S. pneumonia
  • E. coli
  • Cryptococcus
  • Enterovirus
  • Tuberculosis

Enjeux cliniques

  • évaluation clinique incomplète
  • méningite consécutive à une maladie ou à un processus pathologique préexistant
  • visites successives pour des symptômes qui s’aggravent
  • problèmes systémiques et de communication (p. ex., erreurs liées aux résultats d’examens, résultats non reçus, transferts des soins inadéquats)
 

La méningite est relativement rare chez la population adulte. Les dossiers médico-légaux de l’ACPM concernant la méningite chez des adultes représentaient des scénarios cliniques inhabituels. Lorsque le diagnostic constituait un facteur dans ces dossiers, il s’avérait particulièrement complexe. Quoique la plupart des dossiers concernant des adultes se soient soldés par un résultat défavorable pour le médecin, ces résultats n’étaient pas nécessairement liés au diagnostic.

Considérations en matière de gestion des risques

Les médecins devraient tenir compte des recommandations suivantes, qui se fondent sur les avis des experts consultés dans les dossiers de l’ACPM portant sur le diagnostic et la prise en charge d’une méningite possible :
  • Obtenir une anamnèse adéquate et effectuer un examen physique approprié, en tenant compte des signes et des symptômes de la méningite. Reconnaître et aborder les préoccupations du patient (ou des parents).
  • Prêter attention aux signes vitaux anormaux, qui peuvent signaler une infection ou un processus pathologique grave.
  • Lire les éléments clés du dossier médical du patient, y compris les premières notes et les notes de consultation, avant de poser un diagnostic.
  • Réfléchir au diagnostic différentiel et être attentif aux possibilités pouvant mettre la vie en danger. En cas d’incertitude par rapport au diagnostic ou à savoir s’il faut ou non exclure une méningite, obtenir un deuxième avis.
  • Informer le patient ou le proche aidant des signes et des symptômes signalant la nécessité d’obtenir des soins médicaux.
  • Veiller à ce que les rendez-vous d’investigations soient fixés correctement, que ces investigations soient effectuées, s’assurer d’avoir reçu les résultats et y donner suite en temps opportun.
  • Documenter soigneusement tous les aspects des soins prodigués, y compris les résultats cliniques pertinents, le traitement, ainsi que les conseils et les recommandations relatives au suivi.
  • Réévaluer le diagnostic provisoire si un patient se présente de nouveau avec les mêmes symptômes, ou si ses symptômes se sont aggravés.
 
 

Notes :

  1. Les détails du cas ont été modifiés afin de préserver la confidentialité.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.