Safety of care

Improving patient safety and reducing risks

Part-time practice, full-time safety: Reducing clinical workload while addressing risks

Originally published June 2015
P1503-3-E

According to the 2010 National Physician Survey, most physicians work about 49 hours per week. For those with on-call responsibilities the number climbs significantly.

Some doctors, however, limit their clinical work to accommodate other commitments — to conduct research, teach, pursue further learning, transition into retirement, accommodate health issues, or fulfill family responsibilities. Whatever the reason, a reduced clinical workload doesn’t diminish a physician’s obligation to provide safe patient care.

Part-time clinical work can translate into a reduced work day or work week; shift restrictions (only days or only nights); weekend hours or alternate weekend coverage; or job sharing with another physician. The permutations of practice arrangements are abundant, depending on the clinical setting and the type of medical practice.

Physicians, for instance, who practise in a broad specialty but only see patients with certain specific, non-acute illnesses, may find it fairly manageable to limit their clinical work. On the other hand, surgeons or physicians working in a surgery subspecialty may find that the difficulties of complex operations or treatments make part-time practice less likely.1 Practices that are typically found in shift-oriented settings, such as emergency rooms, may lend themselves to working fewer hours. Settings such as group practices may be more amenable to reduced hours than solo practices because coverage from other physicians may be more easily accessible.

In 2010, 14.6% of physicians identified themselves as being in a part-time medical practice or semi-retired from the medical labour force.2

Coverage

Physicians looking to limit their clinical workload will want to assess what after-hours coverage is appropriate for their practice and their patients, and make the necessary arrangements. Some medical regulatory authorities (Colleges) also outline what coverage is expected of physicians, and the obligations to arrange after hours, weekend, and holiday coverage for their patients.

For instance, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia expects physicians to make specific arrangements to transfer the care of a patient, whether it is to a physician working in the nearby emergency department or another practitioner in private practice. As the requirements will vary from province to province, physicians should check with their College.

Part-time doctors in office-based practices will have different coverage needs than physicians working limited hours or shifts in a hospital or clinic setting. Two pediatricians who are job-sharing in an office-based practice, for instance, may require intermittent coverage from an outside physician on rare occasions when both primary practitioners are away at the same time. Family doctors in solo practices with limited hours may need to find one or more colleagues in the community who are interested in providing care to patients during absences. And in a group practice, off-hour coverage arrangements may be built right into the practice model.

Finally, patients can be informed about when their physician is available for appointments and how to obtain care in the physician’s absence. For example, when patients arrive for their initial appointment, physicians could make a point of discussing their office hours and where patients should go if they need care outside those hours.

Handovers and transfers

Anytime the responsibility for a patient’s care is handed over or transferred from one provider to another, there is a risk that essential clinical information may be missed or will “fall between the cracks.” When physicians work limited hours, the number of patient handovers may increase.

To combat risks to patient safety, part-time physicians will want to be particularly vigilant about developing good communication and documentation habits. Relevant patient information must be available to any physicians providing coverage and to members of the healthcare team involved in the patient’s care.

Physicians should also be aware of possible barriers to an effective handover and consider how to avoid these. Ensuring the medical record includes all relevant information is essential, particularly regarding tests, medications, and the professional responsible for follow-up care.

To further strengthen continuity of care, physicians may consider if it is appropriate to involve the patient (and with the patient’s permission, the family) directly in the handover process. This approach informs the patient there is a change to a new team or most responsible physician, allows for clarification of the history and correction of any misinformation, and provides an opportunity to address any questions and concerns.

Referrals

Doctors working reduced hours and involved in a referral, either as the referring physician or the consultant, have the same responsibilities toward a patient as a full-time practitioner. They must respond in a timely fashion when a referral is initiated and they must be vigilant when a patient needs an urgent referral.

Physicians with a reduced clinical workload must consider how they can arrange their practice to meet their patients’ referral needs. Providing complete and clear information in the referral or consultation report is the first step. Further, part-time physicians should ensure the other healthcare provider participating in the referral knows their working hours, who is providing coverage during any absences, and how the replacement can be contacted, particularly in an emergency.

Other healthcare team members should also be informed when a referral is urgent and given instructions on how to contact the physician or the doctor providing coverage.

Finally, giving patients information about the referral may help keep the process on track. Patients may be told about why the referral is being made, if there is any urgency, and what they should expect to happen next. If the referral is not happening as explained, patients should be told whom to contact for assistance.

Managing test results

Irrespective of their clinical workload, physicians who order tests or investigations are expected to follow up on test results in a timely manner. This can prove more challenging for physicians with clinical hours that are intermittent.

Physicians will want to determine, in advance, how they will follow up on results. They may begin by considering what a timely response to test results means for their type of practice. When the patient population is vulnerable to rapid changes in clinical conditions and the work schedule creates important lag times, a mechanism for timely follow-up of results is important.

Would a “buddy system,” where test results are checked by a colleague in the physician’s absence, be effective? Or would it be necessary to personally check in regularly to retrieve and review test results? Could the physician providing coverage review test results?

After determining how they will handle test results in their practice, physicians should decide how they can communicate that information clearly and in a timely manner to their patients and families, and to the other doctors, health professionals, and laboratory, facility, and support staff involved in their patients’ care.

Engaging patients in their own care may also strengthen the follow-up of diagnostic tests. Physicians can consider discussing with their patients why an investigative test has been ordered. This allows patients to recognize the test’s importance to their clinical situation and the need for timely follow-up.

Clinical competence

Physicians who limit their clinical working hours may find it more challenging to maintain clinical skills in some aspects of their practice.

The Canadian Medical Association Code of Ethics states that it is a physician’s fundamental responsibility to “practise the art and science of medicine competently, with integrity, and without impairment…”3 and to engage in lifelong learning to maintain and improve skills.

Physicians with reduced clinical work have the same responsibility as full-time physicians — to practise in clinical areas where they are competent. With fewer opportunities to practise certain skills, practitioners will want to think about the skills they want to retain or develop, and the kind of clinical work that would allow them to achieve this.

They should also make a commitment to continuing education, and responding to the College’s norms. While physicians may have limited their clinical work, they may still have a full schedule with other responsibilities. It can be challenging to find the time for continuing education. Alternative and innovative solutions are key.

Ensuring continuity

Physicians who want to accommodate other responsibilities and activities may choose to limit their clinical work. By paying close attention to how they arrange their practice to meet their responsibilities in areas such as coverage, handovers or transfers of care, referrals, and follow up on test results, physicians can minimize risks and provide effective care of patients. Physicians also have a responsibility to maintain a commitment to professional development to ensure quality and safety of care.

 
 

References

  1. NEJM CareerCentre, “Part-Time Practice on the Rise,” 2010. Accessed on December 4 2013 from: http://www.nejmcareercenter.org/article/part-time-physician-practice-on-the-rise/
  2. The College of Family Physicians of Canada, Canadian Medical Association, The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, National Physician Survey 2010, National Results by FP/GP or Other Specialist, Sex, Age and All Physicians. Accessed on June 1, 2015 from: http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/current_status2.pdf
  3. Canadian Medical Association, “CMA Code of Ethics,” 2004. Accessed on March 19, 2014 from: http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/PolicyPDF/PD04-06.pdf

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Sécurité des soins

Amélioration de la sécurité des patients et réduction des risques

Sécurité en tout temps ... dans la pratique à temps partiel aussi : Réduire la charge de travail clinique tout en gérant les risques

Publié initialement en juin 2015
P1503-3-F

Selon le Sondage national des médecins réalisé en 2010, la plupart des médecins travaillent près de 49 heures par semaine. Pour ceux ayant des gardes, le nombre d’heures augmente de façon très importante.

Toutefois, certains médecins réduisent leur travail clinique pour respecter d’autres engagements, tels que mener un travail de recherche, poursuivre leurs études, prendre progressivement leur retraite, s’adapter à des problèmes de santé ou répondre à des obligations familiales. Quoi qu’il en soit, diminuer la charge de travail clinique ne dispense pas un médecin de son obligation de prodiguer des soins sécuritaires.

Le travail clinique à temps partiel peut prendre différentes formes : journée ou semaine de travail réduite; restrictions sur les quarts de travail (seulement le jour ou seulement la nuit); permanence des soins pendant les fins de semaine ou une fin de semaine sur deux; ou encore partage de la charge de travail avec un collègue. Il existe de nombreuses combinaisons d’arrangements de pratique selon le contexte clinique et le type d’exercice de la médecine.

Ainsi, les médecins qui exercent dans le cadre d’un grand domaine de spécialité, mais ne voient que des patients présentant des pathologies particulières et non aiguës, peuvent trouver relativement gérable de limiter leur travail clinique. D’un autre côté, les médecins et chirurgiens qui exercent dans le cadre d’une surspécialité peuvent estimer que les difficultés liées aux interventions ou aux traitements complexes rendent le travail à temps partiel moins réaliste.1 La modalité d’exercice de la médecine la plus souvent retrouvée dans le contexte des quarts de travail, comme aux services des urgences, peuvent se prêter plus facilement à une réduction des heures de travail. Les médecins travaillant en groupe peuvent plus facilement réduire leurs heures que les médecins qui exercent seuls, car il est plus facile de trouver d’autres médecins pour les remplacer pendant les heures d’absence.

En 2010, 14,6 % des médecins ont déclaré travailler à temps partiel ou être en semi-retraite. 2

Permanence des soins

Il est recommandé aux médecins qui souhaitent réduire leur charge de travail clinique d’évaluer la pertinence, pour leur pratique et leurs patients, d’un service après les heures normales, et de prendre les dispositions nécessaires. Certains organismes de réglementation de la médecine (Collèges) soulignent également l’étendue du service qu’ils attendent des médecins, et leur obligation de prendre des dispositions pour qu’un service soit offert à leurs patients en dehors des heures normales, les fins de semaines et pendant les vacances.

Par exemple, le Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique s’attend à ce que les médecins prennent des dispositions particulières pour assurer le transfert des soins d’un patient, que ce soit à un médecin qui exerce au service des urgences le plus proche ou à un autre médecin d’une pratique privée. Il est recommandé de vérifier ceci avec le Collège, étant donné que les exigences diffèrent selon la province ou le territoire.

Les médecins qui exercent dans un cabinet ont des besoins de remplacement différents de ceux qui exercent pendant un nombre limité d’heures ou de quarts de travail dans un hôpital ou une clinique. Deux pédiatres qui partagent la charge de travail en cabinet privé, par exemple, peuvent avoir, à de rares occasions, besoin d’un remplacement de la part d’un autre médecin lorsqu’ils sont tous deux absents au même moment. Les omnipraticiens qui exercent seuls en cabinet et dont les heures d’ouverture sont restreintes peuvent avoir besoin de trouver au moins un collègue dans leur communauté qui pourrait les remplacer auprès des patients pendant leurs absences. Par ailleurs, dans le cadre d’une pratique de groupe, les dispositions pour assurer un service en dehors des heures normales peuvent être intégrées au modèle de pratique.

Enfin, les patients peuvent être informés des jours où ils pourront rencontrer leur médecin et de la façon d’obtenir des soins en son absence. Par exemple, lorsqu’un patient arrive pour un premier rendez-vous, le médecin devrait l’informer de ses heures de consultation et du lieu où il devrait se présenter lorsque le cabinet est fermé.

Transfert des soins

Chaque fois que la responsabilité des soins d’un patient est confiée ou transférée à un autre médecin, il y a un risque que des informations cliniques essentielles manquent ou « passent entre les mailles du filet ». Lorsqu’un médecin travaille un nombre limité d’heures, le nombre de transferts peut augmenter.

Pour la sécurité des patients, il est recommandé aux médecins travaillant à temps partiel d’être particulièrement attentifs aux bonnes habitudes de communication et de documentation. Les renseignements pertinents sur les patients doivent être accessibles aux médecins qui assurent le remplacement et à l’ensemble de l’équipe soignante.

Les médecins doivent également être informés des obstacles possibles à un transfert efficace et s’interroger sur les approches à adopter pour les éviter. S’assurer que le dossier médical contient tous les renseignements importants constitue un élément essentiel, en particulier en ce qui a trait aux examens, aux médicaments et à la personne responsable du suivi.

Pour renforcer la continuité des soins, les médecins peuvent s’interroger sur la pertinence de mettre directement à contribution le patient, et sa famille s’il est d’accord, dans le processus de transfert. Cette approche informe le patient qu’il y a eu un changement d’équipe ou de médecin le plus responsable. Elle permet de clarifier les antécédents, de corriger les renseignements erronés, et de fournir une occasion d’aborder toute question ou préoccupation.

Demandes de consultation

Les médecins qui exercent pendant un nombre limité d’heures et participent aux demandes de consultation, que ce soit en tant que médecin traitant ou en tant que consultant, ont les mêmes responsabilités à l’égard d’un patient qu’un médecin travaillant à temps plein. Ils doivent répondre aux demandes en temps opportun et être attentifs lorsqu’un patient a besoin d’une consultation en urgence.

Les médecins dont la charge de travail clinique est réduite doivent s’interroger sur la manière d’organiser leur pratique pour satisfaire les besoins de consultation de leurs patients. Fournir des renseignements complets et clairs dans la demande ou le rapport de consultation est une première étape. Par ailleurs, un médecin travaillant à temps partiel doit s’assurer que l’autre professionnel qui participe à la consultation est au fait de ses heures de travail, de la personne qui assure le remplacement en cas d’absence et de la façon de communiquer avec cette personne, surtout en cas d’urgence.

D’autres membres de l’équipe soignante doivent également être avisés lorsqu’une consultation est requise en urgence et recevoir des directives sur la manière de communiquer avec le médecin ou son remplaçant.

Enfin, fournir des renseignements aux patients au sujet de la consultation peut aider à maintenir le processus sur la bonne voie. On peut dire aux patients pour quelles raisons la consultation est requise, s’il y a une urgence, et ce à quoi ils peuvent s’attendre par la suite. Si la consultation ne se déroule pas comme il avait été expliqué, il convient d’informer le patient du nom de la personne à joindre pour obtenir de l’assistance.

Gestion des résultats d’examen

Quelle que soit leur charge de travail, les médecins qui demandent des examens ou des investigations doivent effectuer le suivi des résultats en temps opportun. Ceci peut être plus difficile pour les médecins dont les heures de cliniques sont intermittentes.

Il est recommandé aux médecins de déterminer à l’avance comment ils assureront le suivi des résultats. Ils peuvent commencer par s’interroger sur ce qu’une réponse opportune aux résultats d’examen signifie pour leur type de pratique. Lorsque les patients sont susceptibles de subir des changements rapides de leur état clinique et que les horaires de travail créent des retards conséquents, il est important d’adopter un mécanisme de suivi en temps opportun des résultats d’examen.

Quelle serait l’efficacité d’un « système de surveillance mutuelle » permettant de s’assurer que les résultats d’examen sont vérifiés par un collègue en l’absence du médecin traitant? Serait-il nécessaire de s’assurer personnellement et régulièrement de la transmission et de la prise de connaissance des résultats? Le médecin qui assure le remplacement pourrait-il également examiner les résultats d’examen?

Après avoir déterminé quelle serait la prise en charge des résultats d’examen au sein de leur pratique, les médecins doivent décider comment ils peuvent communiquer cette information de façon claire et en temps opportun à leurs patients et leur famille, aux autres médecins et professionnels de la santé, aux laboratoires d’analyse, aux établissements et aux membres du personnel de soutien qui ont des contacts avec leurs patients.

Faire participer les patients à leurs soins peut également renforcer le suivi des tests diagnostiques. Les médecins peuvent discuter avec leurs patients des raisons pour lesquelles un examen d’investigation est demandé. Ceci permet aux patients de reconnaître l’importance de l’examen pour leur état clinique et la nécessité d’un suivi en temps opportun.

Compétence clinique

Les médecins qui limitent leurs heures de travail clinique peuvent trouver plus difficile de maintenir des habiletés cliniques pour certains aspects de leur pratique.

Le Code de déontologie de l’AMC stipule qu’il est de la responsabilité élémentaire d’un médecin de « pratiquer l’art et la science de la médecine avec compétence et intégrité, et sans incapacité »3 et de chercher à approfondir toujours son savoir afin de préserver et d’améliorer ses compétences.

Les médecins qui diminuent leur travail clinique ont les mêmes responsabilités que les médecins travaillant à temps plein, à savoir d’exercer dans un domaine clinique dans lequel ils sont compétents. Ayant moins d’occasions d’exercer certaines compétences, il est recommandé à ces médecins de réfléchir aux habiletés qu’ils souhaitent conserver ou acquérir, ainsi qu’au type de travail clinique qui leur permettrait d’atteindre cet objectif.

Ils devraient également s’engager à suivre des activités de DPC et à répondre aux normes de leur Collège. Même si certains médecins ont réduit leur travail clinique, ils peuvent continuer d’avoir un emploi du temps chargé d’autres responsabilités. Trouver du temps pour les activités de DPC peut alors représenter un défi et il donc essentiel de découvrir des solutions nouvelles et innovantes.

Continuité des soins

Les médecins qui souhaitent avoir d’autres responsabilités et activités peuvent décider de limiter leur travail clinique. En accordant une attention particulière aux dispositions prises dans leur pratique pour assumer leurs responsabilités dans le remplacement des collègues, les transferts, les demandes de consultation et le suivi des résultats d’examen, les médecins peuvent minimiser les risques et prodiguer des soins efficaces à leurs patients. Les médecins ont également la responsabilité de maintenir leur engagement en matière de développement professionnel pour assurer la qualité et la sécurité des soins.

 
 

Références

  1. NEJM CareerCentre, « Part-Time Practice on the Rise », 2010. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://www.nejmcareercenter.org/article/part-time-physician-practice-on-the-rise/
  2. Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, Association médicale canadienne, Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada. Sondage national des médecins, 2010 : Résultats nationaux par MF/omnipraticien ou autre spécialiste, sexe, âge et pour l’ensemble des médecins. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://nationalphysiciansurvey.ca/wp-content/uploads/2014/11/2014-National-FR.pdf
  3. Association médicale canadienne, « Code de déontologie de l’AMC », 2004. Consulté le 21 janvier 2015. http://policybase.cma.ca/dbtw-wpd/PolicyPDF/PD04-06.pdf

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.