Duties and responsibilities

Expectations of physicians in practice

Pitfalls in assessing and treating children in hospitals

Originally published March 2015
P1501-1-E

Unanticipated clinical outcomes and patient safety incidents in hospital-based pediatric care settings are frequent1 and can be broadly categorized as either medical or surgical. The majority of related CMPA medico-legal cases closed between 2008 and 2012 concerned care in emergency departments. In this group, inadequate assessments were the most frequent issue. In surgical cases, intra-operative injuries were most frequent.

Unanticipated outcomes in the emergency department

Although the reasons were often multifactorial, the failure to appreciate the severity of a child’s condition was the final common pathway in many cases. Deficiencies in the phases of diagnosis commonly led to premature discharges from emergency departments (EDs) and included failures to:

Assess

  • read the previous medical records (including nursing notes)
  • obtain collateral history from the parents, especially related to teenagers
  • perform a complete physical examination (including taking, evaluating and re-evaluating vital signs)

Investigate

  • perform an appropriate test or procedure, or review test results
  • correctly interpret diagnostic tests

Manage

  • communicate effectively with healthcare team members
  • observe and monitor a child as appropriate
  • refer to a specialist as appropriate
  • reassess a patient before discharge
  • admit a patient to hospital as appropriate

Often, the diagnosis of diseases is delayed because an illness has not yet evolved significantly enough to allow it to be recognized or to at least prompt the physician to investigate further. One of the greatest difficulties ED physicians face is identifying children with dangerous medical conditions early in the course of their illnesses and distinguishing these children from the far greater number with less serious conditions. Accordingly, allegations of misdiagnosis or delayed diagnosis are frequent. While the care provided early in the course of illness could have been appropriate, it may, in the absence of careful documentation, appear negligent in hindsight.

Case example: Deficient assessment

A 13-year-old boy presents with abdominal pain. The pediatrician’s entry in the medical record describes a constant squeezing periumbilical pain with nausea and vomiting. Note is made of the absence of urinary symptoms, of a normal bowel movement the day prior, and of the absence of sick contacts or travel. The physical examination documents mild periumbilical tenderness, a soft abdomen and no peritoneal signs, negative Murphy’s sign, no tenderness at McBurney’s point, no costovertebral angle tenderness, and normal bowel sounds. The record of the history and the physical examination do not mention inquiry about, or an examination of, the boy’s testicles. Gastroenteritis is diagnosed.

Following improvement after a trial of PO fluids, the boy is discharged with instructions to return if his pain becomes constant or moves to the right lower quadrant. The patient returns 36 hours later with an 11-hour history of right testicular pain. Testicular torsion is diagnosed and a necrotic testicle is surgically removed.

A legal action is initiated alleging that the physician’s failure to evaluate the boy’s testicles at the time of the initial visit resulted in the delayed diagnosis of torsion and thus the loss of the testicle. At discovery, the pediatrician argues the torsion was not present at the time of the initial visit. He states, as per his usual practice, he had likely performed a brief genitourinary exam, but had simply not documented it. The parents and child deny the performance of a genital examination. A peer expert states all young males should have a genitourinary exam when presenting with abdominal pain. A settlement is paid by the CMPA on behalf of the member pediatrician.


Despite the pediatrician’s claim to the contrary in the case above, the medical record reinforced the family’s assertion that a testicular examination had not been done. The record supported that a differential diagnosis of appendicitis and pyelonephritis had been considered, but did not confirm that testicular torsion had been considered.

The documentation of a well-organized and logical process of care, including an adequate history and pertinent physical examination aimed at ruling out important differential diagnoses, is important in demonstrating a child was treated according to the relevant standard of care. Depending on the case, documenting a child is fully immunized or other reassuring aspects of the presentation such as the findings of moist mucous membranes or a normal level of activity, and pertinent negatives such as a normal fontanelle, or a normal genital examination, can be as important as documenting abnormal findings. Doing so speaks to the thoroughness of an assessment, helps peer experts assess the quality of care provided, and may be crucial in establishing the presence, absence, or even likeliness of a condition at the time of the assessment. Documenting a differential diagnosis will help demonstrate an erroneous diagnosis was the result of an exercise of judgment and not of negligent care.

Surgical cases

Cases involving intraoperative injuries are often deemed by peer experts to be non-negligent because they result from recognized inherent risks of the procedure. However, parents of children harmed during surgery often allege not having been informed of those possibilities during the consent process, resulting in the claim that they would not have agreed to the proposed surgery had they been properly informed of those risks.

Case example: Lack of informed consent

An 11-year-old obese child undergoes an appendectomy. The anesthesiologist advises the parents that he will perform a paravertebral block for post-op analgesia, but does not discuss the risks of this procedure. A lumbar paravertebral block is performed and post-operatively the child suffers profound respiratory depression and hemodynamic instability. On investigation, it is discovered that the child suffered an L2-L4 ischemic injury to the spinal cord as a complication of the block. The child is left with chronic permanent neurological deficits and neurogenic pain.

On review of the care, the peer experts question the necessity of the block, suggesting it was unnecessary and excessive in this case. The anesthesiologist acknowledges not having discussed the possibility of neurological complications with the parents. The CMPA pays a settlement to the patient on behalf of the member anesthesiologist.


It is a physician’s duty to obtain informed consent. This applies to all treatment, whether it is surgical or medical, and includes the initiation of medication.

In obtaining informed consent, physicians should discuss the following:

  • the diagnosis
  • the nature of the proposed treatment
  • its chances of success
  • alternative treatments available, including non-treatment and its potential consequences
  • the material and special risks* associated with the proposed and alternative treatments
  • any questions the patient may have

Simply asking a patient to sign a consent form does not constitute informed consent. Consent requires a discussion customized to the patient in their individual circumstances, which culminates in a mutual agreement to proceed with a given treatment.

The consent discussion should be documented in a consultation letter, a clinic note, or in a progress note. The purpose is to convince the reader of the medical record that a consent conversation took place. As such, it is not necessary to document every issue discussed. Rather, provision of a general statement to that effect, with additional specific details about the conversation itself (e.g. questions answered, a specific or unusual concern, or an anecdote raised by the patient during the conversation) should suffice.

Protecting patients

Providing competent care and obtaining informed consent, both supported by the medical record, are important to patient safety and increase trust between physicians and children’s parents. Before undertaking a procedure or discharging patients, consider the following actions:

  1. Discuss pertinent negative or reassuring findings with the patient or parents and document the discussion.
  2. Formulate and document a pertinent differential diagnosis.
  3. Document your reassessments and their timing.
  4. Conduct a thorough consent discussion including an opportunity for questions, and not merely to seek acquiescence of the plan.
  5. Discuss the benefits and risks of the proposed course of treatment, and discuss other therapeutic options.
  6. Ensure the medical record reflects the occurrence of that consent discussion, and avoid relying solely on a signed generic consent form.
  7. Provide and document appropriate discharge instructions.

 

* Material risks — Material risks are the risks that a reasonable person, in the same circumstances, would want to know before consenting to an investigation or treatment. This would include complications that occur commonly, and also complications that occur rarely but could have significant consequences for that patient.
Special risks — Special risks are those which are infrequent or unlikely but which, should they materialize in a particular patient, given their individual circumstances, could have a significant effect on them even though such a risk may not be significant for other patients with different circumstances.




References

  1. Matlow, A.G., Baker, G.R., Flintoft, V., Cochrane, D., Coffey, M., Cohen, E., et al., “Adverse events among children in Canadian hospitals: the Canadian Paediatric Adverse Events Study,” Canadian Medical Association Journal (Sept. 18, 2012) Vol.184 No.13, E709-18

DISCLAIMER: The information contained in this learning material is for general educational purposes only and is not intended to provide specific professional medical or legal advice, nor to constitute a "standard of care" for Canadian healthcare professionals. The use of CMPA learning resources is subject to the foregoing as well as the CMPA's Terms of Use.

Obligations et responsabilités

Les attentes des médecins en exercice

Les pièges de l’évaluation et du traitement des enfants en milieu hospitalier

Publié initialement en mars 2015
P1501-1-F

Les résultats cliniques imprévus et les accidents en matière de sécurité dans les hôpitaux dispensant des soins pédiatriques sont fréquents1 et peuvent de manière générale être catégorisés selon deux types de cas : médicaux ou chirurgicaux. En effectuant une analyse de ses dossiers médico-légaux conclus entre 2008 et 2012, l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (ACPM) a constaté que la majorité des événements était associée aux soins prodigués à l’urgence, le problème le plus fréquent étant des évaluations inadéquates. En ce qui avait trait aux événements de nature chirurgicale, les lésions peropératoires étaient les plus fréquentes.

Résultats imprévus survenus à l’urgence

Le défaut d’évaluer la gravité de l’état d’un enfant était le lien commun dans nombre de ces dossiers même si les raisons étaient souvent d’origine multifactorielle. Les déficiences dans l’établissement du diagnostic ont souvent conduit à des congés accordés de façon prématurée de l’urgence.

En ce qui a trait à l’évaluation de l’information, des manquements ont été relevés dans :

  • la lecture des dossiers médicaux antérieurs (y compris les notes d’observation des infirmières)
  • l’obtention des faits des parents, en particulier lorsqu’il était question d’adolescents
  • l’exécution d’un examen physique complet (y compris la prise, l’évaluation et la réévaluation des signes vitaux).

En ce qui a trait à l’investigation, des manquements ont été relevés dans :

  • le choix d’examens ou d’interventions appropriés ou la revue des résultats des examens
  • l’interprétation des examens diagnostiques.

En ce qui a trait à la prise en charge, des manquements ont été relevés dans :

  • la communication avec les membres de l’équipe de santé
  • l’observation et la surveillance de l’enfant
  • la demande de consultation d’un spécialiste au besoin
  • la réévaluation du patient avant l’accord de son congé
  • l’hospitalisation d’un patient au besoin.

Le diagnostic d’une pathologie est souvent retardé parce que la maladie n’est pas encore suffisamment installée pour permettre de la reconnaître ou au moins pour inciter le médecin à poursuivre l’investigation. L’un des plus grands problèmes auxquels font face les urgentologues est de déterminer dès le début quels enfants présentent des signes pouvant évoluer en pathologies plus sérieuses et de distinguer ces enfants du nombre beaucoup plus élevé de jeunes présentant des problèmes moins graves. Par conséquent, les allégations d’erreur ou de retard de diagnostic sont fréquentes. Alors que des soins prodigués dès l’apparition de la maladie auraient pu être appropriés, ces soins, en l’absence de documentation rigoureuse peuvent, avec du recul, sembler négligents.

Exemple de cas : Évaluation déficiente

Un adolescent de 13 ans consulte pour des douleurs abdominales. La note du pédiatre au dossier décrit une douleur périombilicale continue sous forme de serrement accompagnée de nausées et de vomissements. On y mentionne également que l’enfant a eu des selles normales la veille, qu’il n’a aucun trouble urinaire, aucun contact avec des gens malades et n’a fait aucun voyage. La documentation de l’examen physique au dossier précise : légère sensibilité périombilicale à la palpation, abdomen souple, aucun signe péritonéal, signe de Murphy négatif, aucune sensibilité à la palpation au point de McBurney et à l’angle costo-vertébral, et bruits intestinaux normaux. Les notes au dossier concernant l’anamnèse et l’examen physique ne font aucune mention de questions concernant les testicules de l’adolescent ni de l’examen de ceux-ci. On pose le diagnostic de gastroentérite.

L’état de l’adolescent s’améliore après l’essai de liquide per os et il reçoit son congé avec la directive de revenir si la douleur devient constante ou se déplace au quadrant inférieur droit. Le patient revient 36 heures plus tard, car il présente une douleur au testicule droit qui est apparue il y a 11 heures. On diagnostique une torsion testiculaire et le testicule nécrosé doit être excisé chirurgicalement.

Une action en justice est amorcée alléguant que le médecin n’a pas évalué les testicules de l’adolescent lors de la première visite, ce qui a causé le retard du diagnostic de torsion et, par conséquent, la perte du testicule.

Lors de l’interrogatoire préalable, le pédiatre déclare qu’il n’y avait pas de torsion au moment de la première visite. Il ajoute que, selon sa pratique usuelle, il a probablement effectué un examen génito-urinaire sommaire, mais qu’il ne l’a pas documenté. Les parents et l’adolescent nient l’exécution de l’examen génito-urinaire. Un médecin expert a déclaré que tous les jeunes adolescents devraient subir un examen génito-urinaire lorsqu’ils consultent pour des douleurs abdominales. L’ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier en concluant une transaction avec la partie demanderesse au nom du pédiatre.


Malgré les affirmations contraires du pédiatre dans l’exemple de cas présenté ci-dessus, le dossier médical a confirmé les dires de la famille : l’examen des testicules n’a pas été effectué. Les notes au dossier soutenaient que le diagnostic différentiel d’appendicite et de pyélonéphrite avait été envisagé, mais n’a pas confirmé que la torsion testiculaire avait été prise en compte.

La documentation d’un procédé de soins logique et structuré, y compris une anamnèse adéquate et un examen physique pertinent pour écarter les diagnostics différentiels importants, est nécessaire pour démontrer qu’un enfant a été traité conformément à la norme de pratique pertinente. Selon la situation, le fait de documenter qu’un enfant a reçu toutes ses immunisations ou présente des aspects rassurants (p. ex., l’observation de muqueuses humides, un niveau d’activité normal, des données pertinentes non alarmantes comme une fontanelle normale ou un examen génital normal) peut constituer des éléments aussi importants que la documentation de résultats anormaux. Cette démarche démontre la rigueur d’une évaluation, aide les médecins experts à évaluer la qualité des soins prodigués et peut être cruciale lorsqu’il s’agit d’établir la présence, l’absence ou même la possibilité d’un problème au moment de l’évaluation. La documentation d’un diagnostic différentiel aidera à démontrer qu’un diagnostic erroné était le résultat d’une réflexion critique et non de soins négligents.

Cas chirurgicaux

Les médecins experts considèrent souvent que les cas associés à des lésions peropératoires résultent de risques inhérents reconnus de l’intervention, et non de négligence ou faute professionnelle. Cependant, les parents dont les enfants ont subi un préjudice lors d’une intervention chirurgicale allèguent souvent ne pas avoir été informés des risques possibles lors de la discussion entourant le consentement; il en résulte une réclamation où les parents précisent qu’ils n’auraient pas donné leur consentement à l’intervention proposée s’ils avaient été informés adéquatement de ces risques.

Exemple de cas : Défaut de consentement éclairé

Un enfant obèse de 11 ans doit subir une appendicectomie. L’anesthésiologiste informe les parents qu’il effectuera un bloc paravertébral pour l’analgésie postopératoire, mais il ne leur parle pas des risques de cette intervention. Le bloc paravertébral lombaire est effectué et l’enfant présente, en période postopératoire, une dépression respiratoire profonde et une instabilité hémodynamique. L’enquête révèle que l’enfant a subi une lésion ischémique de la moelle épinière de L2 à L4 résultant d’une complication du bloc. L’enfant conservera des déficits neurologiques permanents et une douleur neurogénique.

Lors de l’analyse des soins, les médecins experts ont remis en question la nécessité du bloc et ils semblaient indiquer que cette intervention était inutile et excessive dans ce cas. L’anesthésiologiste a reconnu ne pas avoir discuté avec les parents de la possibilité de complications neurologiques. L’ACPM a choisi de régler le dossier en concluant une transaction avec le patient au nom de l’anesthésiologiste.


Le médecin a le devoir d’obtenir un consentement éclairé. Cette obligation s’applique à tout traitement, qu’il soit chirurgical ou médical, et comprend la mise en œuvre de la médication.

Pour obtenir un consentement éclairé, les médecins doivent discuter des éléments suivants :

  • le diagnostic
  • la nature du traitement proposé
  • les chances de succès
  • les autres choix de traitement possibles, y compris le refus de traitement et les conséquences éventuelles
  • les risques importants et particuliers* associés aux traitements proposés et aux autres choix de traitement.
  • toute question que le patient pourrait avoir.

Le fait de simplement demander au patient de signer un formulaire de consentement ne constitue pas un consentement éclairé. Un consentement exige une discussion adaptée au patient et aux circonstances individuelles et mène à une entente mutuelle de donner suite au traitement envisagé.

La discussion entourant le consentement doit être documentée dans un rapport de consultation, une note clinique ou une note d’évolution. Le but d’une telle démarche est de convaincre le lecteur qui consulte le dossier médical qu’une discussion entourant le consentement a eu lieu. À ce titre, il n’est pas nécessaire de documenter chaque sujet discuté. Une déclaration générale à cet effet, contenant des détails supplémentaires relatifs à la discussion elle-même (p. ex., questions auxquelles le médecin a répondu, préoccupation inhabituelle ou particulière ou anecdote racontée par le patient lors de la conversation) devrait suffire.

Protéger les patients

La prestation de soins compétents et l’obtention du consentement éclairé documentés dans le dossier médical contribuent à la sécurité du patient et à l’établissement d’un lien de confiance entre les médecins et les parents des enfants. Avant d’exécuter une intervention ou d’autoriser un congé pour un patient, envisagez les actions suivantes :

  1. Discuter des résultats rassurants ou négatifs pertinents avec le patient ou ses parents et documenter la discussion.
  2. Formuler et documenter un diagnostic différentiel pertinent.
  3. Documenter les réévaluations et le moment.
  4. Mener une discussion rigoureuse entourant le consentement en donnant au patient l’occasion de poser des questions et non pas en recherchant uniquement son acquiescement.
  5. Parler des avantages et des risques du plan de traitement proposé et discuter des autres choix thérapeutiques.
  6. S’assurer que la discussion entourant le consentement est consignée dans le dossier médical et éviter de se fier uniquement sur la signature d’un formulaire de consentement générique.
  7. Fournir et documenter les instructions appropriées relativement au congé.

 

* Risques importants
Les risques importants sont ceux qu’une personne raisonnable, dans les mêmes circonstances, aimerait connaître avant de consentir à une investigation ou à un traitement. Ces risques pourraient inclure des complications qui surviennent couramment, ainsi que les complications qui surviennent rarement, mais qui entraîneraient des conséquences graves pour le patient.
Risques particuliers
Les risques particuliers sont peu fréquents ou improbables; s’ils se matérialisent chez un patient en raison de circonstances individuelles, ces risques pourraient être importants pour ce patient même si un tel risque pourrait n’avoir aucune conséquence importante pour d’autres patients dans des circonstances différentes.




Références

  1. Matlow, A.G., Baker, G.R., Flintoft, V., Cochrane, D., Coffey, M., Cohen, E., et coll., « Adverse events among children in Canadian hospitals: the Canadian Paediatric Adverse Events Study », Canadian Medical Association Journal (18 sept. 2012) vol.184, no 13, E709-18.

AVIS DE NON-RESPONSABILITÉ : Les renseignements publiés dans le présent document sont destinés uniquement à des fins éducatives. Ils ne constituent pas des conseils professionnels spécifiques de nature médicale ou juridique et n'ont pas pour objet d'établir une « norme de diligence » à l'intention des professionnels des soins de santé canadiens. L'emploi des ressources éducatives de l'ACPM est sujet à ce qui précède et à la totalité du Contrat d'utilisation de l'ACPM.